AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
TransIndus - The leading Asia Specialist

TransIndus - The leading Asia Specialist Traveller Reviews

Reviews of TransIndus - The leading Asia Specialist

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 95
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 100
Reviews Accepted: 99
Reviews Rejected: 1
99 reviews
Sort by:
Rajasthan,LandofKings-Private T by E Thomas, 16 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

An exemplary tour operator

We enjoyed every aspect of our holiday. The itinerary was expertly devised to break up the travel and share it between cars, trains and a flight with timings cleverly arranged to maximise visits while minimising the exhaustion of covering so many sites in a short time. On the ground, everything worked a dream with local reps always present, even for the simplest of transfers. the guides were also knowledgable, flexible and went the extra mile ...

We enjoyed every aspect of our holiday. The itinerary was expertly devised to break up the travel and share it between cars, trains and a flight with timings cleverly arranged to maximise visits while minimising the exhaustion of covering so many sites in a short time. On the ground, everything worked a dream with local reps always present, even for the simplest of transfers. the guides were also knowledgable, flexible and went the extra mile to show us the very best that India has to offer.

Rating for tour operator:

Transindus were simply exemplary from start to end in their planning and management of our two week tour around Rajasthan and beyond. I can’t recommend their services highly enough. If you’re not sure about paying for them or using a cheaper company don’t waste your time in looking elsewhere. Every pound we have them was well spent. We really felt that they went the extra mile at every stage of the trip.

TransIndus - The leading Asia Specialist responded to this review on 16 Jul 2019:

Thank you! We're so pleased to hear that you've enjoyed your recent holiday with us and we sincerely look forward to having you travel with TransIndus again soon.

Glimpse of India- TransIndus by Amy J, 3 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing 2 week holiday in India through Transindus

I've just returned from a 2 week holiday in India organised with Transindus. I was travelling by myself and for the first week I joined the Transindus Glimpse of India small group tour. There were onky 9 of us on the tour and the group of people were fantastic - it was a genuine pleasure to spend time with them. We travelled and saw the sight in Delhi, Agra and Jaipur and were accompanied with a guide, Mohender who was very friendly, helpful ...

I've just returned from a 2 week holiday in India organised with Transindus. I was travelling by myself and for the first week I joined the Transindus Glimpse of India small group tour. There were onky 9 of us on the tour and the group of people were fantastic - it was a genuine pleasure to spend time with them. We travelled and saw the sight in Delhi, Agra and Jaipur and were accompanied with a guide, Mohender who was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, a driver who safely drove us around the Golden Triangle on the, somewhat crazy, Indian roads, and a lovely assistant who maintained the mini bus and gave out bottles of water, cartons of juice, crisps and snacks on our journeys (a nice touch, to save us having to stop at convenience stores). The rickshaw ride through the streets of Delhi was a fantastic experience, the Taj Mahal was absolutely magnificnet (as was the Baby Taj) and the colours of Jaipur were amazing. 5 of the tour, including myself, then travelled to Rantahmbore (by mini bus organised by Transindus) where we stayed for 2 nights at the Ranthambore Kothi (which I;d definitely recommend) and took 4 game drives. We were incredibly fortunate to see a sloth bear on our first drive (apparently quite rare to see), a tiger on our second drive (the first time you see one is absolutely breathtaking) then we spent nearly 1.5 hours watching/following a tiger on our second game drive, incredible. The tigers come fairly close to the cars and walk between them, Out guide and drivers were absolutely fantastic, knowing which direction the tiger woul walk in and quikly manouvering round to ensure the best vantage points. Aster Ranthambore the 5 of us took the train to Delhi and were escorted to the station and shown to our carriage and then met at Delhi by Transindus reps to drive us to our respective hotels. I then travelled by myself from Delhi to Shimla for 3 nights. I was a little nervous about this part, as I would be on my own and not part of a group, but I needn;'t have worried because a Transindus rep accompanied me to the station in Delhi and to my seat, then a rep met me in Kalka and came with me on the Toy Train to Shimla. All very effiicient. The ride on the Toy Train was fantastic, circling up through the foothills of the Himalayas and seeing the amazing hillside villages. Shimla was beautiful. The air was so pure, the people were lovely (I'd highly recommend the Clarkes Hotel) and I had a fantastic half day tour with an amazing guide, Dinesh, who told me lots of interesing mythological stories and facts about the histroy of Shimla. It was incredible to see the snow-capped Himalays in the distance, to walk the Heritage Walk and the Bazaar and to watch sunset over the foothills. An incredible 2 weeks, I'll never forget.

Rating for tour operator:

Transindus were absolutely brilliant. Everthing was thoughtfully taken care off from as soon as I booked, until my return. Before my departure I was sent hard copy documentation in a little folder to carry with me, with my itinerary, hotel details, contact numbers, currency and other information etc and was given access to a mobile app with the same information which I could access in India also. All transfers and journeys went completely smoothly and I was always met promptly by the reps, who were all very friendly and helpful, and I never had to wait anywhere or travel anywhere on my own. I was also given the mobile number for my tour guides and Transindus office on Delhi for comfort and the office phoned to check in with me several times in the second week, which was reassuring. The only slight negative feedback is that, although Transinduc provided helpful advice on the suggested level of tip for various services, you actually end up tipping a lot more people than you realise and I spent almost twice what I had estimated in tips over the 2 weeks (although I was happy to do so as the services was generally very good). Also it is very hard to obtain smaller notes for tips, especially because the airport tends to give you only larger notes, which even hotels and restaurants sometimes refuse to take. Overall I was extremely satisfied with Transindus, will definitely recommend them to friends and family and certainly tend to use them for future trips

TransIndus - The leading Asia Specialist responded to this review on 02 Jan 2019:

Dear Amy,

It is always a pleasure to look after our guests and we are delighted you had a great holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back to other part of Asia including China, Japan, Central Asia and 'Sri Lanka.... the Destination of the year 2019' where our services are equally refined.

TransIndus - The leading Asia Specialist responded to this review on 02 Jan 2019:

Hi Amy,

Thank you once again for your kind words.

I fully understand about tipping getting out of hand at times because the people delivering the services are so warm and engaging but its worth keeping tabs. Re. getting hold of small notes, we have advised our local teams to offer assistance with this and we will highlight in our documentation for future departures.

China Experience - TransIndus by Mairi, 1 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

China - around the karst mountain towns of Guilin and Yangshou

A great experience of Guilin for two nights - Yao mountain, the local area, dragon's back bone, local villages - and down the Li River to Yangshou where we stayed for four days. Although the weather in November 2018 was particularly wet and we didn't see much more than low cloud and rain most days, our local guide Fei and driver Lin made our time and experience memorable with their stories of local traditions, culture and knowledge of the area ...

A great experience of Guilin for two nights - Yao mountain, the local area, dragon's back bone, local villages - and down the Li River to Yangshou where we stayed for four days. Although the weather in November 2018 was particularly wet and we didn't see much more than low cloud and rain most days, our local guide Fei and driver Lin made our time and experience memorable with their stories of local traditions, culture and knowledge of the area and food. We tried many local dishes, explored the area and met lots of people that we wouldn't have known about without Fei and TransIndus' planning. Thank you from us both (Daughter 44 and Mum mid 70s) :)

Rating for tour operator:

We we wanted to tag on an extra week to our previously booked holiday and so researched tour operators who could provide a more bespoke experience for our last week in China. Aidan at TransIndus gave us sensible advice and helpful expectations. It all went smoothly and at a pace we were happy with.

TransIndus - The leading Asia Specialist responded to this review on 02 Jan 2019:

Dear Mairi and Alexandra,

We are all delighted you had a memorable holiday in China and got to experience so many different things and tried such a variety of foods in the company of our tour guide and driver. We have especially written to Fei & Lin to pass on your kind words about them.

China Experience - TransIndus by Mairi, 1 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

China - around the karst mountain towns of Guilin and Yangshou

A great experience of Guilin for two nights - Yao mountain, the local area, dragon's back bone, local villages - and down the Li River to Yangshou where we stayed for four days. Although the weather in November 2018 was particularly wet and we didn't see much more than low cloud and rain most days, our local guide Fei and driver Lin made our time and experience memorable with their stories of local traditions, culture and knowledge of the area ...

A great experience of Guilin for two nights - Yao mountain, the local area, dragon's back bone, local villages - and down the Li River to Yangshou where we stayed for four days. Although the weather in November 2018 was particularly wet and we didn't see much more than low cloud and rain most days, our local guide Fei and driver Lin made our time and experience memorable with their stories of local traditions, culture and knowledge of the area and food. We tried many local dishes, explored the area and met lots of people that we wouldn't have known about without Fei and TransIndus' planning. Thank you from us both (Daughter 44 and Mum mid 70s) :)

Rating for tour operator:

We we wanted to tag on an extra week to our previously booked holiday and so researched tour operators who could provide a more bespoke experience for our last week in China. Aidan at TransIndus gave us sensible advice and helpful expectations. It all went smoothly and at a pace we were happy with.

Splendours of the South by David Allen, 19 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

An excellently planned and delivered trip to Southern India

From Hampi to Madurai to Chennai (no easy feat of planning) taking in all the major temple architecture

From Hampi to Madurai to Chennai (no easy feat of planning) taking in all the major temple architecture

Rating for tour operator:

We first used TransIndus in 1997 to go to North India (on the recommendation of a colleague who has travelled with them for the past 20 or more years) and had an excellently planned private tour; this time we went to South India and the planning and delivery were as good as ever, and at a bargain price. I can't recommend TransIndus highly enough.

TransIndus - The leading Asia Specialist responded to this review on 20 Nov 2018:

Thank you David, we are honoured to have you as a loyal client and thank you for your kind words of praise.

With warm regards,
Amrit Singh, owner and MD

Splendours of the South by Bears in India, 4 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous South India - a perfect adventure

My wife and I have just spent the most fabulous time touring South India. We planned our trip with good advice and experience from Transindus. We wanted to experience, the true colours, smells, spices, tigers, elephants, wildlife and beauty of South India and we did. The whole trip was truly spectacular and way above our expectations. This was our second adventure in India and it will not be our last. It is a beautiful country with lovely people, ...

My wife and I have just spent the most fabulous time touring South India. We planned our trip with good advice and experience from Transindus. We wanted to experience, the true colours, smells, spices, tigers, elephants, wildlife and beauty of South India and we did. The whole trip was truly spectacular and way above our expectations. This was our second adventure in India and it will not be our last. It is a beautiful country with lovely people, incredibly different to anywhere in Europe, which makes it very special and an incredible place to have a holiday. I would not hesitate to recommend TransIndus, particularly the understanding and involvement they are prepared to offer during the booking process.

Rating for tour operator:

We have been to India before, so we had a fair idea of the sort of things we wanted to see, the type of places we wanted to stay and also the amount of time we were prepared to spend traveling. Plus it is easy to research and discover things for yourself on the Internet. However, we also know TransIndus has the experience and infrastructure to help put together a holiday without fault. This meant that we got exactly what we wanted, with the professional advice and security of booking through TransIndus. Even down to the driver who was available throughout our adventure, safe, calm and professional was the only way to describe him. I would highly recommend Transindus to anyone looking for a superb bespoke adventure in India.

TransIndus - The leading Asia Specialist responded to this review on 06 Apr 2018:

Dear Mr & Mrs Blake,
I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday. I thank you for your kind words of praise and confidence. We are truly blessed with a wonderful destination and fantastic teams both her in London and on the ground in India.
Regards
Amrit Singh

Splendours of the South by Duncan, 21 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Perfect service throughout

My wife and I went on an independent wildlife focussed holiday in Southern India - Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala. 17 nights in 8 different hotels

My wife and I went on an independent wildlife focussed holiday in Southern India - Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala. 17 nights in 8 different hotels

Rating for tour operator:

My wife and I had an independent holiday planned by Transindus in Southern India. The itinerary was perfectly suited to us as were the hotels. We were met at every airport and guided to our car or through check in. The guides were first class and our driver was outstanding - NOTHING was too much trouble. This is our second holiday with Transindus and I would recommend them every time.

TransIndus - The leading Asia Specialist responded to this review on 21 Mar 2018:

Dear Mr Payne,

Thank you for your generous feedback. I am delighted you had a memorable holiday and that everything ran smoothly despite the number of different places you visited.

I will thank our teams on the ground for their exceptional excellent work in looking after you and pass on my gratitude to them for their consistent and committed work.

I do hope we will welcome to other parts of India and Asia with us.

with warm regards
Amrit Singh, MD

Glimpse of India- TransIndus by Traveller Gillian, 15 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic holiday. Travel and hotel arrangements were great.

This was my sixth visit to Jaipur and the Diggi Palace Hotel. Great holiday.

This was my sixth visit to Jaipur and the Diggi Palace Hotel. Great holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

TransIndus have always handled the bookings for me. I have always been very satisfied with the service provided by the company.

TransIndus - The leading Asia Specialist responded to this review on 21 Mar 2018:

Delighted you enjoy the craft workshops hosted by the Jaipur Virasat and the Diggi Palace.

TransIndus - The leading Asia Specialist responded to this review on 21 Mar 2018:

Thank you.

A Tiger Encounter - TransIndus by MFM, 13 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Super 3rd trip to India with Transindus

Our itinerary was a bit complicated involving six internal flights but apart of a few delays everything went smoothly. Our tour included Pench and Kanha NP (saw tigers), Hyderabad , part of Odisha and Varanasi. Pick ups were always on time. Comfortable cars with excellent drivers. We had good, interesting and friendly guides who did not take us shopping as requested in advance. Hotels were all great with super service. Excellent suggestion to ...

Our itinerary was a bit complicated involving six internal flights but apart of a few delays everything went smoothly. Our tour included Pench and Kanha NP (saw tigers), Hyderabad , part of Odisha and Varanasi. Pick ups were always on time. Comfortable cars with excellent drivers. We had good, interesting and friendly guides who did not take us shopping as requested in advance. Hotels were all great with super service. Excellent suggestion to stay in the Suryaudai Haveli in Varanasi where we could explore at leisure.

Rating for tour operator:

As previously, Alex prepared a great tour to suit our demands. The tour management company in India (AKORN) has to be praised too for its ground work and keeping in touch with us several times. Already looking into making another trip to India next year with Transindus: that says it all.

TransIndus - The leading Asia Specialist responded to this review on 21 Mar 2018:

Thank you. We are delighted you had another good holiday with TransIndus and we look forward to welcoming you back.

GoldenTriangle-Kerala:TransIndus by Topat, 10 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Well organised from start to finish

We are just back from a two week holiday o India, The Golden Triangle & Backwaters of Kerala. From the moment we arrived we were well taken care of by our guides and drivers. We were met at the airport arrivals after dealing with our tourist e-visa and getting our passports stamped. Have to say that the shedule was pretty hectic as we were only a few days in each City so clever packing is a must. Our guides took over everything and kept ...

We are just back from a two week holiday o India, The Golden Triangle & Backwaters of Kerala. From the moment we arrived we were well taken care of by our guides and drivers. We were met at the airport arrivals after dealing with our tourist e-visa and getting our passports stamped. Have to say that the shedule was pretty hectic as we were only a few days in each City so clever packing is a must. Our guides took over everything and kept us well informed about all of our travel plans. North India was the busy part of the holiday, the golden triangle and a jeep safari in Ranthamnbore. The next part was spent in the Kerala region, Cochin, Alleppey back waters and Kovalam. The south is a much slower pace which was needed after all of the sight seeing in the busy north. We have enjoyed this holiday and have so many wonderful memories to share.

Rating for tour operator:

TransIndus have been over all very good to deal with, in the initial stages just needed to chase up a few flight request details. They certainly know there stuff when it comes to India, everything was extremely well planned. I am sure we will be using TransIndus again in the future.

TransIndus - The leading Asia Specialist responded to this review on 21 Mar 2018:

Thank you for choosing to travel with TransIndus. We are delighted you had a good holiday and look forward to welcoming you back.