AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Tangney Tours

Tangney Tours Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Tangney Tours

Overall Company Rating
95%
Excellent 382
Good 76
Average 16
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 478
Reviews Accepted: 477
Reviews Rejected: 1
477 reviews
Sort by:
Tangney Tours by Frank, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Catholic retreat in Liseux in France.

4 nights accommodation in France, plus excursions.

4 nights accommodation in France, plus excursions.

Rating for tour operator:

The driver was excellent and very helpful.

Tangney Tours by Mary, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Nothing to worry about.

The pilgrimage to Lourdes was a special privilege. I learnt, prayed, rested, experienced and got to know folk in my parish better. What impressed me most about TangneyTours was that it was all so well organised that I had nothing to worry about.

The pilgrimage to Lourdes was a special privilege. I learnt, prayed, rested, experienced and got to know folk in my parish better. What impressed me most about TangneyTours was that it was all so well organised that I had nothing to worry about.

Rating for tour operator:

See above.

Tangney Tours by Bex47, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Pilgrimage to Rome - Assisi with Hexham St Marys Parish

Tangent Tours arranged the pilgrimage using Jet 2 flights which were first class. Our Rome Hotel Olympic was well placed near Vatican and rooms were pleasant, food good and staff very helpful. The highlight was seeing Pope Francis in St Peters Square, a fabulous experience! We stayed 4 days in Rome seeing all of the main Catholic pilgrimage places. Then we travelled by coach to Assisi via Greccio though I would have preferred the original ...

Tangent Tours arranged the pilgrimage using Jet 2 flights which were first class. Our Rome Hotel Olympic was well placed near Vatican and rooms were pleasant, food good and staff very helpful. The highlight was seeing Pope Francis in St Peters Square, a fabulous experience! We stayed 4 days in Rome seeing all of the main Catholic pilgrimage places. Then we travelled by coach to Assisi via Greccio though I would have preferred the original scheduled stop-off at Orvietto as Greccio, whilst pretty had few facilities for a coach load of people. Assisi was fantastic! A pretty town of cobbled streets set in a breathtaking location a few hours drive north of Rome. Plentiful cafes and shops and we visited some memorable holy places. Santa Maria deli Angeli was stunning. La Rocca Hotel provide excellent food and service. Our rooms were a five minute walk away, quite rustic but more than adequate. The return journey to Rome Airport was swift and comfortable, driver Francesco very experienced. A full and pleasurable week.

Rating for tour operator:

Tangent Tours are the main pilgrimage tour operators and having travelled to Paris and Lisieux as well as Lourdes before, I offing them to be a little old-fashioned and lacking email correspondence but very easy to contact by phone or letter. They are closed all weekend which is the time mast tours start and finish so it would be useful to be able to contact them with queries eg my insurance certificate was out of date, fortunately not needed! Bookings were fine and all went smoothly.

Tangney Tours responded to this review on 21 Sep 2016:

Hello Ms Beckwith, thank you for your comments. We are updating our website and improving our reservation systems in order to provide better communications for the future. We can be reached 24hours a day on our office number, and for nearly all departures we have representatives at the airport. With regards to your travel insurance, you were fully covered and an updated policy was sent to you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Thank you for your comments.

Tangney Tours by Meg, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Best pilgrimage to lourdes for many years

I have been travelling to Lourdes on Pilgrimage for over thirty years. This year 2016 was one of the best ever - well organised, catering for all from the youngest to the oldest, those needing assistance and the "healthy" pilgrims with interaction among all groups. It was peaceful and happy for everyone.

I have been travelling to Lourdes on Pilgrimage for over thirty years. This year 2016 was one of the best ever - well organised, catering for all from the youngest to the oldest, those needing assistance and the "healthy" pilgrims with interaction among all groups. It was peaceful and happy for everyone.

Rating for tour operator:

Tangney Tours have been operating pilgrimages to Lourdes for many years - and experience benefits all who travel with them.

Tangney Tours by Mary, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Pilgrimage to Lourdes

Pilgrimage to Lourdes

Rating for tour operator:

Due to a problem with the airplane the operator managed to find beds for 160 people with very little time and without leaving us waiting at the airport for long. The staff always work hard to accommodate all our needs.

Tangney Tours by monika, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Well orgnised pilgrimage with a tour representative visiiting the hotel every day to ensure that all was well.

It was a large pilgrimage and I was involved helping sick and disabled pilgrims. The tour operator had everything well organised.

It was a large pilgrimage and I was involved helping sick and disabled pilgrims. The tour operator had everything well organised.

Rating for tour operator:

Always at hand to answer queries.

Tangney Tours by Pilgrim, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Lourdes - one of the great experiences of my life

My wife and I were on the Catholic Association pilgrimage to Lourdes, part of the Portsmouth diocese contingent. Everything was very well-organised, and the hotel almost too comfortable! We had never been to Lourdes before, and it was a wonderful experience. The Grotto, with its unique atmosphere with people praying there at all hours, the nightly torchlight processions, and the baths which are one of the most intense and profound experiences ...

My wife and I were on the Catholic Association pilgrimage to Lourdes, part of the Portsmouth diocese contingent. Everything was very well-organised, and the hotel almost too comfortable! We had never been to Lourdes before, and it was a wonderful experience. The Grotto, with its unique atmosphere with people praying there at all hours, the nightly torchlight processions, and the baths which are one of the most intense and profound experiences - hard to put into words. The whole week was a wonderful one - like nothing we had ever experienced before.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was very smooth and unobtrusive.

Tangney Tours by Mrs P H 16, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Service beyond the call of duty.

As usual, I experienced the very best of quiet, unobtrusive service which included the prompt, friendly appearance of local agents each evening. This daily courtesy was delightful. On this journey, however, mechanical problems with aircraft necessitated an aborted flight, return to Lourdes, an overnight delay and subsequent very delayed return home. The reaction to this unavoidable delay couldn't have been finer. Every attention was paid to ...

As usual, I experienced the very best of quiet, unobtrusive service which included the prompt, friendly appearance of local agents each evening. This daily courtesy was delightful. On this journey, however, mechanical problems with aircraft necessitated an aborted flight, return to Lourdes, an overnight delay and subsequent very delayed return home. The reaction to this unavoidable delay couldn't have been finer. Every attention was paid to the off loading, transport and hotel accommodation - including meals -for all on board. The senior Director flew out - although unnecessary as local agents appeared from nowhere and dealt with everything - but such attention was greatly appreciated and gave further confidence - should any be needed - in the tour company. In all, a first rate job was delivered and completed. Makes one proud, again, in the demonstration of excellence - quietly delivered.

Rating for tour operator:

See comments above. Tangney Tours are, in my opinion, first class. Perhaps the fact that this last journey was, perhaps, something like my eighteenth or more with this Company, proves the point

Tangney Tours by Lizbee, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Catholic Association Lourdes Pilgrimage

1 week pilgrimage, using chartered flight from my local airport (Southampton). There was a problem on the return but the tour operator responded to the situation quickly and very efficiently - all praise to Tangney Tours in this situation.

1 week pilgrimage, using chartered flight from my local airport (Southampton). There was a problem on the return but the tour operator responded to the situation quickly and very efficiently - all praise to Tangney Tours in this situation.

Rating for tour operator:

Tangney Tours is a specialist pilgrimage company which I use every year. For my particular pilgrimage they offer full board only. I prefer a half board so I have been taking a "flight only" option, but I have no qualms about booking fully next year as it would have turned out cheaper, and I am so impressed by the service received. Their response to a problem on the return flight was second to none, quickly arranging an extra night in a 4 star hotel with evening meal, breakfast and an early flight out the following day including all transfers - with some 20+ disabled passengers.

Tangney Tours by Love@Lourdes, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

A dream realised

Meeting the woman I know will become my wife at the shrine of our Blessed Mother, to pray together, laugh together and share our deepest thoughts together brought us both the confirmation we needed that our love was centred on doing the will of God and the joy of knowing how happy we were with each other. Not only did we fall more deeply in love, we also were comforted and strengthened in our faith. Our specially designed programme of events ...

Meeting the woman I know will become my wife at the shrine of our Blessed Mother, to pray together, laugh together and share our deepest thoughts together brought us both the confirmation we needed that our love was centred on doing the will of God and the joy of knowing how happy we were with each other. Not only did we fall more deeply in love, we also were comforted and strengthened in our faith. Our specially designed programme of events gave us a structured pilgrimage to 'fall back on' when we wanted guidance as to what to do each day and our rep, Linda, was most helpful as were the hotel staff at the Elisio. Everything was perfect for us.

Rating for tour operator:

Tangney helped me to arrange this special pilgrimage for my love and I to travel independently to Lourdes then to have rooms booked at the Elisio hotel. The rep, Linda, was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful in allowing us to have time for ourselves but also keeping us informed as to what was available to do during the week. It was all done with great care and appreciation of our needs.