AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Tangney Tours

Tangney Tours Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Tangney Tours

Overall Company Rating
95%
Excellent 382
Good 76
Average 16
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 478
Reviews Accepted: 477
Reviews Rejected: 1
477 reviews
Sort by:
Tangney Tours by Wenvoe, 14 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Holy Land Pilgrimage - Catenians group 13 to 20 Jan 2020

Fantastic experience both spiritually and culturally, visiting all the key sites in Jesus’ foot steps. Well organised and good choice of hotels. Local guide (Jonathan from Layla travel) and accompanying spiritual adviser (Fr Stephen Myers) were both excellent.

Fantastic experience both spiritually and culturally, visiting all the key sites in Jesus’ foot steps. Well organised and good choice of hotels. Local guide (Jonathan from Layla travel) and accompanying spiritual adviser (Fr Stephen Myers) were both excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Tangney tours (UK) and Layla travel (Bethlehem were excellent). Together they put together a comprehensive programme and Layla dealt with local requirements & security in the Holy Land very effectively. Thank you for an amazing experience.

Tangney Tours by Berda, 25 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Tangney Catenian Pilgrimage to Holy Land 13/01/20 -20/01/20

We visited many of the most sacred Christian sites in a party of 28 fellow pilgrims accompanied by a Spiritual Director and an accomplished local guide. Both the Spiritual Director and the tour guide were exceptionally good. The trip was very competently organised and passed without a hitch in sometimes testing circumstances due to crowds at sites visited. Hotel accomodation was of a very high quality in both towns in which we stayed. Food ...

We visited many of the most sacred Christian sites in a party of 28 fellow pilgrims accompanied by a Spiritual Director and an accomplished local guide. Both the Spiritual Director and the tour guide were exceptionally good. The trip was very competently organised and passed without a hitch in sometimes testing circumstances due to crowds at sites visited. Hotel accomodation was of a very high quality in both towns in which we stayed. Food was always good and sometimes very good. Our fellow pilgrims were a pleasure to meet and to travel with. Overall I cannot recommend the whole experience too highly.

Rating for tour operator:

Tangney Tours special in Catholic Tours to European religious sites and places of pilgrimage.

Tangney Tours by Steaddie, 24 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Very well organised tour with great local knowledge

We took part in a pilgrimage to the Holy Land organised by Tangney but run by a local tour company (Laila). Documentation was excellent and the local company were very well organised with a very very good guide (Jonathan). The only negative was the hotel in Bethlehem (Manger Square Hotel) where the food was rubbish.

We took part in a pilgrimage to the Holy Land organised by Tangney but run by a local tour company (Laila). Documentation was excellent and the local company were very well organised with a very very good guide (Jonathan). The only negative was the hotel in Bethlehem (Manger Square Hotel) where the food was rubbish.

Rating for tour operator:

Tangney tours documentation was very good. Local company (Laila) was excellent.

Tangney Tours responded to this review on 28 Jan 2020:

Thank you for your personal view on the food in Bethlehem, we will pass it on to the hotel, normally we only receive positive feedback.

Tangney Tours by Chris Mockler, 3 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Westminster Diocese Pilgrimage November 2019

The spiritual side well looked after by Fr John Farrell, one (who had been on an earlier Holy Land pilgrimage) saying that it had made a huge difference. This view was shared by all to whom I spoke. Fr Paul McDermott made excellent arrangements and was always in hand. The only criticism I would make (as did about six others to whom I spoke including one of the priests) is that the itinerary in Jerusalem was over-crowded. Some visits like ...

The spiritual side well looked after by Fr John Farrell, one (who had been on an earlier Holy Land pilgrimage) saying that it had made a huge difference. This view was shared by all to whom I spoke. Fr Paul McDermott made excellent arrangements and was always in hand. The only criticism I would make (as did about six others to whom I spoke including one of the priests) is that the itinerary in Jerusalem was over-crowded. Some visits like the Western Wall were irrelevant to the pilgrimage and others like Kings David's supposed tomb and the supposed Upper Room were really "fake" sites. With more free time, people would chose if they wanted to go to any of these or do something else.

Rating for tour operator:

All was well organised.

Tangney Tours by old traveller, 20 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Pilgrimage to Rome for the cananonsation of Cardinal John Henry Newman

The arrangements and care were just right and provided us with the time to appreciate this very special occasion. The good weather also helped us to enjoy the experience fully.

The arrangements and care were just right and provided us with the time to appreciate this very special occasion. The good weather also helped us to enjoy the experience fully.

Rating for tour operator:

Our booking. travelling arrangements and hotel were very well handled and we appreciated the additional provision of name badges and information booklets

Tangney Tours by Liz, 16 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cardinal Newman Canonization

Four day trip for the Canonization

Four day trip for the Canonization

Rating for tour operator:

We met the wonderful James who we believed was to be our tour guide for a tour of Rome on Friday 12th October. Unfortunately he was replaced by an Italian guide who was quite frankly awful. Several of our group simply gave up and handed in our ear pieces. I gave the tour over an hour and apologised to James who was with us but was not leading the tour and left the group. Such a shame since James is a superb guide and his enthusiasm and knowledge was so uplifting and interesting.

Tangney Tours by Mary, 6 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

An Absolutely Wonderful Experience!

An Unbelievable 1 Day Tour to Lourdes! Marvellous Idea!

An Unbelievable 1 Day Tour to Lourdes! Marvellous Idea!

Rating for tour operator:

An Absolutely 5 Star Tour Operator! I Am Lost for Words!

Tangney Tours by Noisy one at the back, 4 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Pilgrimage to Lisieux

The pilgrimage was bespoke and organised on our behalf by Tangey. Overall the trip was well organised, there were a few communication issues for some of the travellers prior to the tour, but I suspect that this may have been as much to do with the recipients rather than Tangey. The Tour manager Ken and Coach driver Alan were excellent - we should have followed Alan's lead and eat out in the evenings as the Ermitage Retreat Centre delivered ...

The pilgrimage was bespoke and organised on our behalf by Tangey. Overall the trip was well organised, there were a few communication issues for some of the travellers prior to the tour, but I suspect that this may have been as much to do with the recipients rather than Tangey. The Tour manager Ken and Coach driver Alan were excellent - we should have followed Alan's lead and eat out in the evenings as the Ermitage Retreat Centre delivered exactly as promised. It was clean, basic but right for the job - the only downside was the food in the evenings

Rating for tour operator:

See above

Tangney Tours by Fran, 23 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

life changing

as one of 49 pilgrims I found the experience educational and deeply moving being welcomed by locals who provided accommodation and provided food . the various resturants were enjoyed local produce and experienced culture was enriching. seeing, touching and smelling the story of our faith is life changing. thanks to excellent leaders as well as local guide and careful coach driver who understood all our needs. the only expectation on us was ...

as one of 49 pilgrims I found the experience educational and deeply moving being welcomed by locals who provided accommodation and provided food . the various resturants were enjoyed local produce and experienced culture was enriching. seeing, touching and smelling the story of our faith is life changing. thanks to excellent leaders as well as local guide and careful coach driver who understood all our needs. the only expectation on us was to be at the coach for 7.30am - extraordinary really how everything fell into place. we didnt have to wait wherever we went . the Holy Sepulchre was wonderful and everything else that followed .

Rating for tour operator:

very efficient from first enquiry to returning home including choosing airline which provided comfort and excellent food.

Reviewer's images:
Tangney Tours by Rita, 23 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

First rate introduction to Lourdes!

My friend and I were delighted by the level of care and expertise on this Tangney Tour to Lourdes (September 2019) From the introductory book at the outset to the attention from the 2 Tangney reps (Lisa and Linda) and their knowledge and care for our group, everything was first rate. The Hotel Beau Site was clean and comfortable, with helpful staff who went out of their way to provide me with a dairy-free diet. It meant so much that we were ...

My friend and I were delighted by the level of care and expertise on this Tangney Tour to Lourdes (September 2019) From the introductory book at the outset to the attention from the 2 Tangney reps (Lisa and Linda) and their knowledge and care for our group, everything was first rate. The Hotel Beau Site was clean and comfortable, with helpful staff who went out of their way to provide me with a dairy-free diet. It meant so much that we were able to attend all the services and learned a lot about Lourdes and St Bernadette, thanks to Lisa and Linda was a wonderful first visit, tremendous value and I would love to travel with this company again

Rating for tour operator:

Tangney Tours- an established company that advertises in the Catholic press with tours which appeal to people of faith.