AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Tangney Tours

Tangney Tours Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Tangney Tours

Overall Company Rating
95%
Excellent 369
Good 75
Average 16
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 464
Reviews Accepted: 463
Reviews Rejected: 1
463 reviews
Sort by:
Tangney Tours by Mary, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Pilgrimage to Lourdes

Pilgrimage to Lourdes

Rating for tour operator:

Due to a problem with the airplane the operator managed to find beds for 160 people with very little time and without leaving us waiting at the airport for long. The staff always work hard to accommodate all our needs.

Tangney Tours by monika, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Well orgnised pilgrimage with a tour representative visiiting the hotel every day to ensure that all was well.

It was a large pilgrimage and I was involved helping sick and disabled pilgrims. The tour operator had everything well organised.

It was a large pilgrimage and I was involved helping sick and disabled pilgrims. The tour operator had everything well organised.

Rating for tour operator:

Always at hand to answer queries.

Tangney Tours by Pilgrim, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Lourdes - one of the great experiences of my life

My wife and I were on the Catholic Association pilgrimage to Lourdes, part of the Portsmouth diocese contingent. Everything was very well-organised, and the hotel almost too comfortable! We had never been to Lourdes before, and it was a wonderful experience. The Grotto, with its unique atmosphere with people praying there at all hours, the nightly torchlight processions, and the baths which are one of the most intense and profound experiences ...

My wife and I were on the Catholic Association pilgrimage to Lourdes, part of the Portsmouth diocese contingent. Everything was very well-organised, and the hotel almost too comfortable! We had never been to Lourdes before, and it was a wonderful experience. The Grotto, with its unique atmosphere with people praying there at all hours, the nightly torchlight processions, and the baths which are one of the most intense and profound experiences - hard to put into words. The whole week was a wonderful one - like nothing we had ever experienced before.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was very smooth and unobtrusive.

Tangney Tours by Mrs P H 16, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Service beyond the call of duty.

As usual, I experienced the very best of quiet, unobtrusive service which included the prompt, friendly appearance of local agents each evening. This daily courtesy was delightful. On this journey, however, mechanical problems with aircraft necessitated an aborted flight, return to Lourdes, an overnight delay and subsequent very delayed return home. The reaction to this unavoidable delay couldn't have been finer. Every attention was paid to ...

As usual, I experienced the very best of quiet, unobtrusive service which included the prompt, friendly appearance of local agents each evening. This daily courtesy was delightful. On this journey, however, mechanical problems with aircraft necessitated an aborted flight, return to Lourdes, an overnight delay and subsequent very delayed return home. The reaction to this unavoidable delay couldn't have been finer. Every attention was paid to the off loading, transport and hotel accommodation - including meals -for all on board. The senior Director flew out - although unnecessary as local agents appeared from nowhere and dealt with everything - but such attention was greatly appreciated and gave further confidence - should any be needed - in the tour company. In all, a first rate job was delivered and completed. Makes one proud, again, in the demonstration of excellence - quietly delivered.

Rating for tour operator:

See comments above. Tangney Tours are, in my opinion, first class. Perhaps the fact that this last journey was, perhaps, something like my eighteenth or more with this Company, proves the point

Tangney Tours by Lizbee, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Catholic Association Lourdes Pilgrimage

1 week pilgrimage, using chartered flight from my local airport (Southampton). There was a problem on the return but the tour operator responded to the situation quickly and very efficiently - all praise to Tangney Tours in this situation.

1 week pilgrimage, using chartered flight from my local airport (Southampton). There was a problem on the return but the tour operator responded to the situation quickly and very efficiently - all praise to Tangney Tours in this situation.

Rating for tour operator:

Tangney Tours is a specialist pilgrimage company which I use every year. For my particular pilgrimage they offer full board only. I prefer a half board so I have been taking a "flight only" option, but I have no qualms about booking fully next year as it would have turned out cheaper, and I am so impressed by the service received. Their response to a problem on the return flight was second to none, quickly arranging an extra night in a 4 star hotel with evening meal, breakfast and an early flight out the following day including all transfers - with some 20+ disabled passengers.

Tangney Tours by Love@Lourdes, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

A dream realised

Meeting the woman I know will become my wife at the shrine of our Blessed Mother, to pray together, laugh together and share our deepest thoughts together brought us both the confirmation we needed that our love was centred on doing the will of God and the joy of knowing how happy we were with each other. Not only did we fall more deeply in love, we also were comforted and strengthened in our faith. Our specially designed programme of events ...

Meeting the woman I know will become my wife at the shrine of our Blessed Mother, to pray together, laugh together and share our deepest thoughts together brought us both the confirmation we needed that our love was centred on doing the will of God and the joy of knowing how happy we were with each other. Not only did we fall more deeply in love, we also were comforted and strengthened in our faith. Our specially designed programme of events gave us a structured pilgrimage to 'fall back on' when we wanted guidance as to what to do each day and our rep, Linda, was most helpful as were the hotel staff at the Elisio. Everything was perfect for us.

Rating for tour operator:

Tangney helped me to arrange this special pilgrimage for my love and I to travel independently to Lourdes then to have rooms booked at the Elisio hotel. The rep, Linda, was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful in allowing us to have time for ourselves but also keeping us informed as to what was available to do during the week. It was all done with great care and appreciation of our needs.

Tangney Tours by Puremagic, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Lourdes 2016

I have been travelling with Tangney Tours to Lourdes for many years, I would highly recommend this company, so professional they do their research on hotels and everything runs very smoothly. I would like to add, JohnTangney was extremely helpful when my brother died in 2014 claiming a refund on my Insurance. I wouldn't want to go with any other Company, ok it's expensive but believe me you get what you pay for. And I would like to add their ...

I have been travelling with Tangney Tours to Lourdes for many years, I would highly recommend this company, so professional they do their research on hotels and everything runs very smoothly. I would like to add, JohnTangney was extremely helpful when my brother died in 2014 claiming a refund on my Insurance. I wouldn't want to go with any other Company, ok it's expensive but believe me you get what you pay for. And I would like to add their reps are so good and very knowledgable. Excellent all round very professional I would highly recommend this Company, they are outstanding. Ann Croft (anniekennedy@live.co.uk)

Rating for tour operator:

See comments above.

Tangney Tours by Puremagic, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Lourdes 2016

I have been travelling with Tangney Tours to Lourdes for many years, I would highly recommend this company, so professional they do their research on hotels and everything runs very smoothly. I would like to add, JohnTangney was extremely helpful when my brother died in 2014 claiming a refund on my Insurance. I wouldn't want to go with any other Company, ok it's expensive but believe me you get what you pay for. And I would like to add their ...

I have been travelling with Tangney Tours to Lourdes for many years, I would highly recommend this company, so professional they do their research on hotels and everything runs very smoothly. I would like to add, JohnTangney was extremely helpful when my brother died in 2014 claiming a refund on my Insurance. I wouldn't want to go with any other Company, ok it's expensive but believe me you get what you pay for. And I would like to add their reps are so good and very knowledgable. Excellent all round very professional I would highly recommend this Company, they are outstanding. Ann Croft (anniekennedy@live.co.uk)

Rating for tour operator:

See comments above.

Tangney Tours by Director Of Operations, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful, uplififting pilgrimage with excellent support from Tangney Tours

Lancaster Diocese had their annual pilgrimage to Lourdes 22-29th July 2016. It is always a wonderful experience for all pilgims to travel to Lourdes to the shrine where Our Blessed Lady appeared to Bernadette. This year was no exception. Able bodied, sick pilgrims, nurses, clergy etc all had a spiritual and uplifting week under the leadership Bishop Michael Campbell.

Lancaster Diocese had their annual pilgrimage to Lourdes 22-29th July 2016. It is always a wonderful experience for all pilgims to travel to Lourdes to the shrine where Our Blessed Lady appeared to Bernadette. This year was no exception. Able bodied, sick pilgrims, nurses, clergy etc all had a spiritual and uplifting week under the leadership Bishop Michael Campbell.

Rating for tour operator:

From the moment we were met at the airport by the Tangney Tours reps it was excellent service and a perfect week. The personal care and support given from the Tangney Team was once again outstanding. There is never anything that is too much trouble. The co-odination between reps and the office is first-class. They are prompt to help when in need and their care and courtesy with our pilgrims is commendable. Thank you Tangney Tours - See you next Year.

Tangney Tours by becks, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

good

I went as part of a parish group for mother theresa's Canonisation. The hotel room was only satisfactory and the hotel food was not very appetising at times. Some of the group were less mobile and getting to and from the Vatican could have been improved. The lack of seats in St Peters Square was a great dissapointment as we got seperated and i stood alone for six hours.

I went as part of a parish group for mother theresa's Canonisation. The hotel room was only satisfactory and the hotel food was not very appetising at times. Some of the group were less mobile and getting to and from the Vatican could have been improved. The lack of seats in St Peters Square was a great dissapointment as we got seperated and i stood alone for six hours.

Rating for tour operator:

I had a lot of confidence in them as they seemed organised at first . However at the departure airport it was left to us to try and find and contact the rest of the group. We were all scattered in different areas throughout the plane and one lady even missed the plane. At Rome our tour representative was very good but we needed to see more of her and should have been informed that our tickets for the canonisation could be used again the next day. She should have asked if our rooms and the meals were ok. Also my passport name was incorrect on my airplane ticket,fortunately this did not cause an issue but scared me somewhat,

Tangney Tours responded to this review on 21 Sep 2016:

Thank you for your feedback. St Peters was extremely busy for this wonderful event. Seat were removed in order to accommodate for the volumes of Pilgrims wishing to celebrate the Canonisation.