AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Martin Randall Travel

Martin Randall Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Martin Randall Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 878
Good 27
Average 2
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 907
Reviews Accepted: 907
Reviews Rejected: 0
907 reviews
Sort by:
Martin Randall Travel by FrancoBristolian, 23 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Music in Vienna at Christmas

Everything about the tour was at the extremely high standard that we know that we can rely on with Martin Randall.

Everything about the tour was at the extremely high standard that we know that we can rely on with Martin Randall.

Rating for tour operator:

It's hard to find anything to fault about Martin Randall tours.

Martin Randall Travel by Judy, 10 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Music, History, Art, and Architecture in Berlin

I have developed a new respect for Berlin and its history and achievements as well as an appreciation for its outstanding Christmas lighting, architecture, museums, ballet, and concerts. Our guide was very knowledgeable, continuously giving us information and explanations of what we saw -- historic sites, buildings, monuments, ancient artefacts, sculptures, paintings, music. He was also very considerate and patient and always positive in responding ...

I have developed a new respect for Berlin and its history and achievements as well as an appreciation for its outstanding Christmas lighting, architecture, museums, ballet, and concerts. Our guide was very knowledgeable, continuously giving us information and explanations of what we saw -- historic sites, buildings, monuments, ancient artefacts, sculptures, paintings, music. He was also very considerate and patient and always positive in responding to questions or special requests for help or more information. Meals and itinerary were very well planned, so that we were busy visiting key places in Berlin most of the time, yet still had some free time so that those who wanted to rest could do so and those who wanted to visit other places on their own were given help and advice on where to go and how to get there. The guide even made himself available to walk with us to see Berlin's spectacular New Year's fireworks at midnight.

Rating for tour operator:

See the above comment.

Munich at Christmas by Susan, 6 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Superbly treated, educated and entertained by Martin Randall Travel

One luxurious week of Christmas and Culture in Munich, with two day excursions to other Bavarian towns.

One luxurious week of Christmas and Culture in Munich, with two day excursions to other Bavarian towns.

Rating for tour operator:

I usually travel independently, because I don't like shopping, being herded around, etc. Martin Randall gets it all right: Culture, class, good hotels, good food, a judicious mixture of sightseeing and free time, and expert lecturers. My only regret is that I didn't discover this agency 20 years ago!

Martin Randall Travel by Wijehaba, 16 Dec 2014
Holiday Rating:

Sicily, October, 2014 - Excellent for body and soul

Apart from the obvious things which were very good I enjoyed the other participants very much. The tour guide went beyond the call of duty and seemed to be enjoying himself.

Apart from the obvious things which were very good I enjoyed the other participants very much. The tour guide went beyond the call of duty and seemed to be enjoying himself.

Rating for tour operator:

Apart from confusion arising from communicating from Aus and London, very good

Martin Randall Travel responded to this review on 22 Dec 2014:

Thank you, Mr Baillie, for taking the time to review your tour with MRT. We apologise that communication between the Australian office and MRT UK was not seamless (which we aim to provide) and that duplications occurred. We are looking into the causes to learn from and remedy this. We much appreciate your drawing our attention to it - our clients' feedback is invaluable to improving our service. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the tour and please do not hesitate to contact Stephanie or myself in the Australian office with any queries or feedback in future. With thanks, Kelly Ward, Director, Martin Randall Australasia

Martin Randall Travel by Nicki, 22 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Florence Revisited

Outstanding - very informative and well-managed.

Outstanding - very informative and well-managed.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well informed. passionate about his subject area.

Martin Randall Travel by Heidi, 20 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Intellectual excitement in the best of good company

A symposium about the First World War in Canterbury. Wor ld-class lecturers, excelleut accomodation

A symposium about the First World War in Canterbury. Wor ld-class lecturers, excelleut accomodation

Rating for tour operator:

Martin Randall is the best. A sure-fire recipe for pleasure and intellectual stimulation

Martin Randall Travel by Hal, 13 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Bilbao to Bayonne

This tour brought the Basque region to life through its food, wines, culture, architecture, art and people. Nothing could have been improved upon thanks to clearly superior planning and our tour guide,whose diverse background includes the very insides of Spanish cuisine, its history and kitchen. He knew everyone and everyone knew him. The menus were well balanced in every respect and the wines, married perfectly. We had so many "inside views" ...

This tour brought the Basque region to life through its food, wines, culture, architecture, art and people. Nothing could have been improved upon thanks to clearly superior planning and our tour guide,whose diverse background includes the very insides of Spanish cuisine, its history and kitchen. He knew everyone and everyone knew him. The menus were well balanced in every respect and the wines, married perfectly. We had so many "inside views" of the culinary life of Spain on this tour.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our third tour with Martin Randall. As with the previous two, all the administration and operations were professionally handled. Questions were answered efficiently and politely. We have already booked for next year and are laying plans for the next years ahead.

Walking to Santiago by Hal, 13 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Walking to Santiago with Martin Randall Travel: Far more than simple walking holiday

Walking to Santiago--more a hike--surpassed our expectations on every level, beginning with booking and responses to our numerous questions, to the daily experience, the meals, and the superb quality of the tour leader and manager and driver. We gained an enormously profound appreciation of Spanish history, culture, architecture, and hospitality, no less of the diverse geography, villages, cities and fields. Our group proved to one of the most ...

Walking to Santiago--more a hike--surpassed our expectations on every level, beginning with booking and responses to our numerous questions, to the daily experience, the meals, and the superb quality of the tour leader and manager and driver. We gained an enormously profound appreciation of Spanish history, culture, architecture, and hospitality, no less of the diverse geography, villages, cities and fields. Our group proved to one of the most cohesive we've experienced right from the start. For those on the tour for spiritual reasons, they did indeed find "miracles" all along the route and of course in Santiago de Compostela itself. For others, there was certainly plenty of serendipity.

Rating for tour operator:

Having been in the travel industry for 25 years and experienced tours of all kinds, I can fully appreciate the high quality of the entire company, whose tone is clearly set by Martin Randall himself. There are many personal stories of interactions with him. The employees could not have been more responsive, professional, courteous and indeed patient. The tour leader, manager, and driver were not only were at the top of their professions, but were genuinely nice, attentive, and concerned people, who made sure that all of our needs--expressed and unexpressed--were met. Kudos to them all.

The Cathedrals of England by mdh, 31 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Cathedrals of England

The holiday was very good from start to finish. I often make up my mind on the company I choose from the assistance of the company staff. I met Helen and Alice who gave me the information I requested with a great deal of pleasantness. The itinerary was perfect for me. The hotels were very good and the food was quite good. The lecturer, Jon Cannon, was superior in knowledge and kindness to all travelers and staff. He made the tour for me. The ...

The holiday was very good from start to finish. I often make up my mind on the company I choose from the assistance of the company staff. I met Helen and Alice who gave me the information I requested with a great deal of pleasantness. The itinerary was perfect for me. The hotels were very good and the food was quite good. The lecturer, Jon Cannon, was superior in knowledge and kindness to all travelers and staff. He made the tour for me. The program guide was very pleasant and helpful. She was there if you needed her but not intrusive. If I had done this tour on my own, I would not have had the great fortune to have the lecturer and would have been too concerned about the arrangements to enjoy it as much. My fellow travelers were pleasant and made the trip even more special. This was my trip of a lifetime and I indulged my passion for England's Cathedrals with the best tour company.

Rating for tour operator:

Martin Randall Company was excellent in handling my booking. What they told you would happen, did. They made the trip so relaxing for me and I just sat back and enjoyed every minute. The staff never minded any questions and handled requests efficiently. The tour guide made the trip pleasant for us and had all the hotel keys ready for us when we arrived. She just made things flow easily. The lecturer, Jon, was excellent and made the trip for me. What else can I say except that this became the trip of a lifetime for me.

Walking in Southern Tuscany by mef, 29 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Walking/wine-tasting in Southern Tuscany during October 2014

An excellent week's walking and wine-tasting in a very sunny Italy. Flight to Pisa and coach travel thereafter.

An excellent week's walking and wine-tasting in a very sunny Italy. Flight to Pisa and coach travel thereafter.

Rating for tour operator:

Martin Randall - I have travelled with Martin Randall before and each time I am impressed by the attention to detail, so that we holidaymakers are virtually unaware of the practicalities which are dealt with behind the scenes and which make the holiday so relaxing.