AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Martin Randall Travel

Martin Randall Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Martin Randall Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 878
Good 27
Average 2
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 907
Reviews Accepted: 907
Reviews Rejected: 0
907 reviews
Sort by:
Martin Randall Travel by Bastet, 14 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

A well-planned tour with an excellent lecturer, tour manager and itinerary

The itinerary was well planned to introduce us to the Douro region, encompassing art and architectural history, palaeolithic remains and wine production. We stayed at 2 centres, Porto and Pinhao. The hotels we stayed in were both very comfortable, and were close to the heart of the respective towns. Wetravelled by the most efficient means, depending on the terrain. For instance, our coach was sent ahead on a 2 hour journey to meet us from the ...

The itinerary was well planned to introduce us to the Douro region, encompassing art and architectural history, palaeolithic remains and wine production. We stayed at 2 centres, Porto and Pinhao. The hotels we stayed in were both very comfortable, and were close to the heart of the respective towns. Wetravelled by the most efficient means, depending on the terrain. For instance, our coach was sent ahead on a 2 hour journey to meet us from the train, which had taken only 1 hour to reach the same location. We also travelled by boat and funicular, and these different modes of transport lent variety to our holiday. The tour was well paced, with enough time for people to stop for coffee or to linger a bit more looking at buildings or art. We saw a lot, but never felt pressurised. Our lecturer, Adam Hopkins, was well read and amusing, providing us with excellent commentaries underpinned with history (pure, social and economic) in a discursive and anecdotal way that was far more conducive to sharing information than a didactic approach would have been. He constantly invited participants to give their own opinions rather than blindly accepting his assessments. He struck exactly the right balance for our group, based no doubt on his shrewd assessment of our mix of personalities. Our tour manager, Gaby Macphedran, underpinned the endeavour with thoroughly efficient yet unobtrusive organisation. She always offered us choices when possible, kept the party to schedule (very necessary when catching trains), and still had time for delightful conversation. She always made sure that everyone was comfortable and happy at every stage. This was the most harmonious tour that we have been on, whether MRT or other study tours. The personalities of Adam and Gaby were responsible in no small measure for this happy result. The local gastronomy was not overlooked. Unlimited wine or soft drinks were generously included in all our meals, which were booked in different restaurants each night, in order to let us experience a good cross-section of local cuisine.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything in Martin Randall Tours's control was excellent. The brochure is well laid out, with detailed itineraries and background information. Booking online was easy and efficient, and from past experience, telephone/email enquiries are quickly and helpfully processed. Advance information was sent months ahead of the tour, and updated as flight times were changed (twice) by the airline. We were met by MRT’s representative at the airport to assist with checking-in. Our flight to Porto was eventually hit by a (literally) last minute strike just as check-in was due to begin. MRT’s representative at Gatwick kept us informed at all times, and MRT’s office worked hard to rebook us on a flight from Heathrow, transferred us seamlessly, albeit the nearest available destination that day being A Coruna in Spain. At A Coruna, we were met by our lecturer, tour manager and coach driver, and transferred on a 3-hour journey to Porto with food, wine and hospitality provided for the journey, arriving at midnight instead of 15.00. However, because MRT had strenuously worked to minimise the disruption cause by external factors, all the participants were philosophical about the setback. This is the fifth MRT tour we have been on, and we find it the best organised cultural tour operator that we have experienced.

Martin Randall Travel by Ibérico, 28 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Excellent historical and cultural tour of Extremadura

We greatly enjoyed this tour of Extremadura (western Spain). The well-designed itinerary took in places of historical and cultural interest in some out-of-the-way areas. Excellent hotels (mostly Paradors), good food and drink, and a small enough group (22) so that we were soon enjoying each other's company. All accompanied by a lecturer whose pleasantly relaxed manner belied considerable knowledge of a wide range of subjects, and a tour manager ...

We greatly enjoyed this tour of Extremadura (western Spain). The well-designed itinerary took in places of historical and cultural interest in some out-of-the-way areas. Excellent hotels (mostly Paradors), good food and drink, and a small enough group (22) so that we were soon enjoying each other's company. All accompanied by a lecturer whose pleasantly relaxed manner belied considerable knowledge of a wide range of subjects, and a tour manager who was unobtrusively and pleasantly efficient.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful pre-booking conversations by telephone. Well-planned itinerary by people who know the area and have in-depth local knowledge. Efficient administration throughout.

Martin Randall Travel by 'Victoria', 26 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Gardens and Villas of the Italian Campagna (MRT)

An excellent tour that takes in many of the key historic gardens in the Italian Campagna with input from an expert lecturer. Ninfa and the recently opened Castel Gandolfo were highlights. I would strongly recommend this tour.

An excellent tour that takes in many of the key historic gardens in the Italian Campagna with input from an expert lecturer. Ninfa and the recently opened Castel Gandolfo were highlights. I would strongly recommend this tour.

Rating for tour operator:

This was a very high-quality well-organised tour. Lecturers, hotels, food, travel were of a very good standard.

Martin Randall Travel by Portico, 15 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Palladian Perfection

We went on our first ever group tour with Martin Randall to see Palladian Villas. Our best hopes were exceeded. The organisation was impeccable and the hotel could not have been better. The itinerary was well planned and achieved without any problems. Our lecturer was unsurpassable, he was knowledgeable, not only on architectural matters but also on the historical, social and wider cultural context. His enthusiasm knew no bounds and included ...

We went on our first ever group tour with Martin Randall to see Palladian Villas. Our best hopes were exceeded. The organisation was impeccable and the hotel could not have been better. The itinerary was well planned and achieved without any problems. Our lecturer was unsurpassable, he was knowledgeable, not only on architectural matters but also on the historical, social and wider cultural context. His enthusiasm knew no bounds and included a passion for the gastronomy and viniculture of the region. We came back feeling we had been immersed not only in Palladio but in the region as well. It was perfect and we owe a great debt to Martin Randall.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything promised was delivered. The tour manager smoothed out the minor matters effortlessly and worked harmoniously with the guide. Our coach driver was ever helpful. They and everyone at Martin Randall could not have performed better.

Martin Randall Travel responded to this review on 16 Apr 2015:

We are delighted you enjoyed your first small group tour with MRT, Peter. We look forward to seeing you again soon. With best wishes, MRT.

Martin Randall Travel by Poppy, 3 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Martin Randall Travel review

MRT pay attention to detail. Everything that I want in a holiday is included.

MRT pay attention to detail. Everything that I want in a holiday is included.

Martin Randall Travel by CameronLondon, 20 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic Art tour in Italy

For a week a group of 15 of us, together with an excellent art historian and a helpful and efficient tour guide, travelled around central and northern Italy mainly looking at the work of Piero della Francesca. It was a visual feast to see Renaissance art and architecture in towns from Arezzo to Urbino, Florence to Milan. The tour was intensive but there was time for tasty Italian meals and convivial conversation. I enjoyed everything!

For a week a group of 15 of us, together with an excellent art historian and a helpful and efficient tour guide, travelled around central and northern Italy mainly looking at the work of Piero della Francesca. It was a visual feast to see Renaissance art and architecture in towns from Arezzo to Urbino, Florence to Milan. The tour was intensive but there was time for tasty Italian meals and convivial conversation. I enjoyed everything!

Rating for tour operator:

Every detail was carefully planned and the tour ran smoothly. It was my first holiday with Martin Randall and it exceeded my high expectations!

Martin Randall Travel by Chang sisters, 20 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Experience of Courts of Northern Italy

A most informative and eye feasting tour.Did visit some of the sites last year on our own but this tour has given us more insight.The life of the Courts come alive! We were especially pleased to be able to taste the local food and wine at some of the family run resturants.Tour Manager was most helpful to guide us through the menu and explain all the dishes.A real bonus of this trip

A most informative and eye feasting tour.Did visit some of the sites last year on our own but this tour has given us more insight.The life of the Courts come alive! We were especially pleased to be able to taste the local food and wine at some of the family run resturants.Tour Manager was most helpful to guide us through the menu and explain all the dishes.A real bonus of this trip

Rating for tour operator:

Administration before the tour excellent.I asked Martin Randall travel London to send separate forms and information to my sister in New Jersy USA with no difficulty.The itinerary well planned .The lecturer Dr Douglas Scott was enthusiastic and kowledgeable.He is passionate about printings and books.We were able to visit some old library not included in the itinerary.Tour manager Charlotte Howlett Jones was efficient and thoughtful.She gave us chances to taste the local gems from her knowledgeable experiences on 'slow cooking'----movement to use fresh local produce and cooking traditionally.Most stimulating tour.

Martin Randall Travel by Bradley, 4 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Connoisseur's Rome - was all I expected it to be. Excellent organization as usual with Martin Randall. Excellent lecturer. The itinerary fulfilled my expectations. Hotel excellent and travel arrangements perfectly satisfactorily. Tour Manager very sympathetic to all my requirements. My fourth holiday with this company and I would not choose anyone else.

Connoisseur's Rome - was all I expected it to be. Excellent organization as usual with Martin Randall. Excellent lecturer. The itinerary fulfilled my expectations. Hotel excellent and travel arrangements perfectly satisfactorily. Tour Manager very sympathetic to all my requirements. My fourth holiday with this company and I would not choose anyone else.

Rating for tour operator:

Martin Randall Travel

Martin Randall Travel responded to this review on 04 Mar 2015:

Thank you very much for your positive feedback Lynda. We are delighted you enjoyed the tour and look forward to welcoming you on another one soon. With best wishes, MRT.

Martin Randall Travel by JA, 7 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

All meals, hotels,venues were top notch

Mozart in Salzburg. Excellent tour. Well organized everything kept to a high standard.

Mozart in Salzburg. Excellent tour. Well organized everything kept to a high standard.

Rating for tour operator:

Intelligent, expert, articulate, well organized approchable.

Martin Randall Travel by Londoner, 5 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Excellent quality, fascinating and educational day at the Italina renaissance collection, National Gallery London.

One day guided tour themed around the Italian Renaissance paintings at the National Gallery in London. Superb guide, small group, very good lunch and refreshments. I learned a lot - not just about Italian art but how to look at paintings. Also a very congenial group.

One day guided tour themed around the Italian Renaissance paintings at the National Gallery in London. Superb guide, small group, very good lunch and refreshments. I learned a lot - not just about Italian art but how to look at paintings. Also a very congenial group.

Rating for tour operator:

Martin Randall again showed superb organisation and provided an expert guide who engaged well with us all. The Gallery staged a strike on that day - we were warned about this and the team adapted superbly to the changed conditions and still delivered a wonderful day.