AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Martin Randall Travel

Martin Randall Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Martin Randall Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 898
Good 27
Average 4
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 929
Reviews Accepted: 929
Reviews Rejected: 0
929 reviews
Sort by:
Martin Randall Travel by Sir D I 22, 30 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

London Choral Day

Excellent

Excellent

Rating for tour operator:

MRT

Martin Randall Travel by Caroline, 28 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful gardens with a great guide

Visiting a variety of gardens in the Highlands of Scotland.

Visiting a variety of gardens in the Highlands of Scotland.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient, with extremely knowledgeable guides. I am unlikely to recommend Martin Randall to friends as they would not dream of going on such expensive tours staying at top-class hotels, though I guess you get what you pay for., which includes small-group numbers.

Martin Randall Travel by Harold, 27 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Martin Randall London Choral Day

A wonderful experience

A wonderful experience

Rating for tour operator:

Unbelievably well organised, Well researched presentations. Staff friendly and very helpful. Food excellent with a wide choice. The best choral music I’ve heard in a very long time.

Walking to Santiago by Prof. Foley, 26 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

walking the Camino in the mid-day sun

after several years of Covid delays I finally got to walk my dream holiday along the French Camino pilgrimage track with the tour company Martin Randall after several of my colleagues and friends had undertaken years ago and due to illness my trip was delayed sadly it appears most of the hotels were reluctant to provide double beds, and or breakfast at a suitable hour and we walked late, then we were forced to accept local conditions, eat far ...

after several years of Covid delays I finally got to walk my dream holiday along the French Camino pilgrimage track with the tour company Martin Randall after several of my colleagues and friends had undertaken years ago and due to illness my trip was delayed sadly it appears most of the hotels were reluctant to provide double beds, and or breakfast at a suitable hour and we walked late, then we were forced to accept local conditions, eat far too late at night, eat lunch in the mid afternoon and given heavily salted food., which at times was inedible. Suggestion, carry some fruit and health bars to survive if you are considering doing this trip with Martin Randall, or buy some food to compensate the low calorie budget meals you are served..

Rating for tour operator:

the tour operator is obviously in post Covid slump, hotels and connections are not smooth, guests are expected to walk in the mid-day heat, no provision for morning tea; late starts, extra late dinners and food quality that covered the spectrum of quality from excellent to inedible. Occupation health and safety rules were non-existent with heavily overweight walkers dragging out any potential timely eta's for meals or pickups. In addition they, the operator does not cater for vegetarians and non-alcoholic drinkers. Often I had to purchase my own drinks if I wanted anything else than table water or an allotted coke. Perhaps spend less on wine and more on food quality, if the operator was equitable drinkers should pay as they go or be truthful, advertise that this is a tour unsuitable for vegetarians, vegans and only wine swilling drinkers should participate! the day to day operation of the tour was held together by the experience and enthusiasm of the outstanding guide, without him it would have been a disaster. It was a expensive tour, the operator which spared no expense on wine however the clients received meal after meal on a set budget menu in a hotel that had better quality available to full fee paying guests. we were on a budget for food quality yet the wine flowed freely, to someone who was lucky to get A glass of soft drink a meal I financially supported the drinkers and my vegetarian partner who received a bowl of soggy lettuce meal after meal supported the other meat eaters. The tour operator therefor failed dismally in providing a positive tourist experience. Suggest that the tour operator revamp the itinerary and the accommodation which was overpriced and often questionable in overall comfort or services provided, I have stayed in better two star establishments in Thimbu Bhutan than these alleged 4 star establishments, in the alleged best hotel I was served uncooked frozen fish. Unsatisfactory! this is the reflection of the tour operator sitting on their laurels and not getting their professional act together, perhaps this is the post Covid experience that is a plague on tourist operations the world over as staff are no longer available in the hospitality industry however I paid for these shortcomings financially. If you get budget food, you don't mind if you are paying a budget price, this was not the case however.

Martin Randall Travel responded to this review on 04 Jul 2022:

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience on our Walking to Santiago tour.

While it is true that the travel landscape is more complicated post-Covid, our standards (and budget) have not changed and we whole-heartedly apologise that this tour did not meet your expectations.

We have discussed privately with you the measures we are taking to compensate and make amends, and we are glad to hear from you that, despite the shortcomings, you had a wonderful holiday.

As discussed also, it is our policy to offer a discount (arranged in advance) to those who do not wish to have any alcohol during the tour. In our pre-tour documentation (Country guide to Spain), we highlight vegetarianism is not well catered for in Spain, though we take care to discuss individual dietary requests with restaurants. We will also follow up with restaurants where you found the meals unsatisfactory as we have high expectations of the restaurants we work with since the evening group meal is such an important and convivial part of the tour experience.

Timings in Spain are a more difficult matter to address. These are embedded in the culture, and to experience Spain, is also to flow with the patterns of the local people.

It pains us greatly if a client experiences disappointment on tour. We aim to address issues in situ where possible, but will work to put things right after the tour otherwise. We do hope our measures to do so are satisfactory to you and we much appreciate your detailed feedback which will enable us to make improvements.

Martin Randall Travel by Music lover, 25 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Bach in Leipzig

An unforgettable experience listening to musicians of the highest order in wonderful settings

An unforgettable experience listening to musicians of the highest order in wonderful settings

Rating for tour operator:

Martin Randall a specialist operator offering cultural and music tours in small groups with subject experts.

Martin Randall Travel by Gippo, 19 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Early Australian Art

Excellent presentations and exhibits of development of aboriginal art

Excellent presentations and exhibits of development of aboriginal art

Rating for tour operator:

Have used Martin Randall tours all over the world. Always excellent service.

Connoisseur's Prague by Mark M., 15 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Connoisseur's Prague--the name of the Martin Randall tour we went on.

It was an outstanding experience, in terms of the setting of beautiful Prague, the immense amount which we learned about Prague, the Czech Republic, the very capable tour manager, and the superb lecturer. We've been on several Martin Randall tours, and this group of fellow tour participants was extraordinarily kind, intelligent and just plain fun companions.

It was an outstanding experience, in terms of the setting of beautiful Prague, the immense amount which we learned about Prague, the Czech Republic, the very capable tour manager, and the superb lecturer. We've been on several Martin Randall tours, and this group of fellow tour participants was extraordinarily kind, intelligent and just plain fun companions.

Rating for tour operator:

Martina was our Czech tour manager, and was extremely knowledgeable to all matters related to Czech history, art, architecture and politics. We saw and visited a huge number of sites in and around Prague.

Martin Randall Travel by CindyS, 15 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Inspiring and Enjoyable

I signed up last minute for a tour to go to Munich for four days and then on to Oberammeragau - it was one of the best things I have ever done in my life. The tour was very well organized, and the lecturer and tour manager superb. It was a most enjoyable tour.

I signed up last minute for a tour to go to Munich for four days and then on to Oberammeragau - it was one of the best things I have ever done in my life. The tour was very well organized, and the lecturer and tour manager superb. It was a most enjoyable tour.

Rating for tour operator:

Martin Randall Travel was our tour operator - I cannot complain about anything from the initial contact right through to the end of the tour. The arrangements were excellent and the staff amazing.

Martin Randall Travel by JohnB, 11 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Martin Randall Travel Music Festival - Polyphony in Portugal 2022

The tour consisted of 7 concerts provided by three groups of musicians in a variety of venues in the Alentejo region of Portugal. Accommodation was in Pousadas, some meals were included in the package and the rest were our choice.

The tour consisted of 7 concerts provided by three groups of musicians in a variety of venues in the Alentejo region of Portugal. Accommodation was in Pousadas, some meals were included in the package and the rest were our choice.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with Martin Randall Travel many times before and found they operate to a very high standard, with carefully arranged itineraries. The organisation of their tours excellent. The staff are friendly and efficient.

Martin Randall Travel by Teacher, 11 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Gardens of Sintra

This was a tour led by someone who had worked on several of the gardens visited and which are of national importance. We thus had the best possible lecturer. However there were some disappointments because visits to some gardens had to be cancelled - a death in the family of the owners of one garden and road closures that made it impossible to get to others. Nevertheless these last minute problems were well handled by the tour leader and tour ...

This was a tour led by someone who had worked on several of the gardens visited and which are of national importance. We thus had the best possible lecturer. However there were some disappointments because visits to some gardens had to be cancelled - a death in the family of the owners of one garden and road closures that made it impossible to get to others. Nevertheless these last minute problems were well handled by the tour leader and tour manager.

Rating for tour operator:

I have travelled with this tour operator on several occasions and only once had a lecturer that was not excellent. (Unfortunately that lecturer does a large number of garden tours.) Otherwise I have always found the lecturers engaging well with the subject of the tour. Hotels are always good and the operator will make alternative arrangements for return flights if one want to prolong one's stay.