AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Martin Randall Travel

Martin Randall Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Martin Randall Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 808
Good 24
Average 2
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 834
Reviews Accepted: 834
Reviews Rejected: 0
834 reviews
Sort by:
Martin Randall Travel by Puck, 3 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Drenched in Mozart

A huge privilege to be able to consume so much Mozart in one very special place

A huge privilege to be able to consume so much Mozart in one very special place

Rating for tour operator:

Professionally thought through for all aspects of the tour.

Martin Randall Travel by Jock, 2 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

A cultural feast in Amsterdam

The holiday centred on the second String Quartet Biennale held in Amsterdam. It consisted of 11 concerts given by a number of top and emerging string quartets alongside guided cultural visits within Amsterdam. The holiday, though short, had the "wow" factor, with 4 excellent lectures to enhance the musical experience given by a local composer and musicologist.

The holiday centred on the second String Quartet Biennale held in Amsterdam. It consisted of 11 concerts given by a number of top and emerging string quartets alongside guided cultural visits within Amsterdam. The holiday, though short, had the "wow" factor, with 4 excellent lectures to enhance the musical experience given by a local composer and musicologist.

Rating for tour operator:

Martin Randall Travel is an operator that pays attention to the smallest details that make a real difference to the experience of their clients. Their cultural holidays are second to none.

Martin Randall Travel by hapitravla, 1 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Beautifully planned, expertly led, a complete pleasure

We had a holiday in France visiting medieval monuments primarily, but also some later ones en route, with especially beautiful and fertile landscape. We have had other Martin Randall Travel holidays in other countries, usually in summer but also in wintertime. We like to focus on art, architecture, and history., but have also greatly enjoyed their well-planned music holidays as well.

We had a holiday in France visiting medieval monuments primarily, but also some later ones en route, with especially beautiful and fertile landscape. We have had other Martin Randall Travel holidays in other countries, usually in summer but also in wintertime. We like to focus on art, architecture, and history., but have also greatly enjoyed their well-planned music holidays as well.

Rating for tour operator:

We have been on perhaps ten Martin Randall tours in the UK and on the continent. Each has been admirably planned,. The hotels range from luxurious to comfortable, always clean, well located. The lecturers have all been excellent with one exception who was not re-hired (even that one had many good moments). The itineraries and travel arrangements are carefully managed, including stationing staff throughout a town during the Bach festival to see that we all reach the music venues. This is definitely the travel agency of choice for people who enjoy cultural travel. We have found almost all our fellow passengers to be people with whom we would enjoy ongoing friendships, and some have indeed become friends. We have recommended MRT to many others who have been grateful to us, and of course, also to MRT.

Martin Randall Travel by Fluffy, 18 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Venice at Christmas

Looked at museums and churches with excellent lecturer. Had private views of parts of Doges Palace, St Mark's Basilica, went to Padua for the day. Stayed at excellent hotel, went out for delicious meals.

Looked at museums and churches with excellent lecturer. Had private views of parts of Doges Palace, St Mark's Basilica, went to Padua for the day. Stayed at excellent hotel, went out for delicious meals.

Rating for tour operator:

Martin Randall made the whole trip unbelievably easy. They organised everything. One did'nt have to make decisions or take responsibility for anything!Mrs

Oman, Landscapes & Peoples by Julie London, 17 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Oman - January 2020

We stayed in Muscat, Jabal Akhdar (the mountains), Wahiba Sands, Sur and Salalah in five and four star acccommodation. Whilst there, Sultan Qaboos died and there were three days of mourning, so sites and museums were closed, but other activities were arranged at short notice to make up for this. The only part of the tour which I was disappointed with was the Desert Nights camp. I found the staff surly, compared to the friendliness and profes...

We stayed in Muscat, Jabal Akhdar (the mountains), Wahiba Sands, Sur and Salalah in five and four star acccommodation. Whilst there, Sultan Qaboos died and there were three days of mourning, so sites and museums were closed, but other activities were arranged at short notice to make up for this. The only part of the tour which I was disappointed with was the Desert Nights camp. I found the staff surly, compared to the friendliness and professionalism at all the other hotels. People have taken to ridiing quad bikes until the early hours of the morning, so this meant a very poor night's sleep. The best hotel was the Anantara in the mountains - pure luxury. Unlike other parts of the gulf no buildings over 10 storeys are allowed, so the country still has a human feel to it. I would love to go back in, say, five years.

Rating for tour operator:

MRT are always excellent. Especially, when last minute changes are required which are out of their control.

Martin Randall Travel responded to this review on 17 Jan 2020:

Thank you very much for your feedback, Ms Reason - we gratefully receive any feedback from our clients so that we may improve, so I will make sure that your comments about the Desert Nights camp are seen by the tour's supervisors.

We are happy to hear that otherwise you enjoyed the experience and would be interested in visiting again in the future.

With best wishes,
Catriona
Marketing Assistant

Martin Randall Travel by Arty, 28 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Venice at Christmas with Aqua Alta

A brilliant tour of Venice and Padua to appreciate the art and architecture of this great city. Incredibly knowledgeable guide who lives in the area and gave up her Christmas afternoon and free time to take us on a walking tour to parts of Venice we would not otherwise have covered. Excellent hotel at the centre of the city and brilliant food in up market restaurants. We experienced Aqua Alta as well, an added bonus that did not affect our itiner...

A brilliant tour of Venice and Padua to appreciate the art and architecture of this great city. Incredibly knowledgeable guide who lives in the area and gave up her Christmas afternoon and free time to take us on a walking tour to parts of Venice we would not otherwise have covered. Excellent hotel at the centre of the city and brilliant food in up market restaurants. We experienced Aqua Alta as well, an added bonus that did not affect our itinerary, and allowed us to experience the resilience of the Venetians. High tide in the morning in St Marks and 3 hours later drinking coffee in the same square. Amazing.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised tour with Martin Randall: excellent hotel in the centre of Venice, lovely choice of restaurants and variety of food. Excellent art specialist as our guide who knowledgeable on Venetian art and history and living near Venice knew the city exceptionally well. Good value for money.

Martin Randall Travel by HJW, 10 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful experience!

A one day magical experience of advent choral music in three interesting and different Church venues in London.

A one day magical experience of advent choral music in three interesting and different Church venues in London.

Rating for tour operator:

Martin Randall take care of everything. I've been on another of their tours and find their attention to detail really good. they are a first class company and I would trust them for any other tours I might take.

Martin Randall Travel by Des, 7 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Musical treat

Wonderful string quartet performing four concerts from the 19th and 19th centuries. Very informative pre-concert talks. Comfortable hotel, excellent food.

Wonderful string quartet performing four concerts from the 19th and 19th centuries. Very informative pre-concert talks. Comfortable hotel, excellent food.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient.

Martin Randall Travel by Vera, 1 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Musical Weekend

A weekend in a country hotel to listen to Chamber Music played by a String Quartet

A weekend in a country hotel to listen to Chamber Music played by a String Quartet

Rating for tour operator:

As always with Martin Randall a great weekend at a fine hotel with beautiful music. Well organised and run with an excellent speaker and great quartet.

Art in Japan by SM, 29 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

The very best

Superb organisation from the start - beyond excellent lecturer, couldn’t have been better from start to finish.

Superb organisation from the start - beyond excellent lecturer, couldn’t have been better from start to finish.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient. Professional. Friendly. Reliable.