AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Inside Travel Group

Inside Travel Group Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Inside Travel Group

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 448
Good 15
Average 3
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 466
Reviews Accepted: 466
Reviews Rejected: 0
466 reviews
Sort by:
Inside Travel Group by MKLG, 22 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Inside Japan Tours were amazing in every detail

We had two weeks in Japan staying in Tokyo (4), Tsumago (1), Takayama (3) and Kyoto (4). We had a range of accommodation from Western hotels to Ryokans in more rural areas that enabled us to experience a more traditional way of life. The Japan Rail Pass and Metro cards were excellent and we made full use of the trains and local buses to get around. We fell in love with Japan....it's quirkiness, efficiency, cleanliness, the warmth and friendliness ...

We had two weeks in Japan staying in Tokyo (4), Tsumago (1), Takayama (3) and Kyoto (4). We had a range of accommodation from Western hotels to Ryokans in more rural areas that enabled us to experience a more traditional way of life. The Japan Rail Pass and Metro cards were excellent and we made full use of the trains and local buses to get around. We fell in love with Japan....it's quirkiness, efficiency, cleanliness, the warmth and friendliness of complete strangers, it's train systems, the food, customer service, hot baths and electronic toilets. We plan to return in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

INSIDE JAPAN TOURS - This was out first trip to Japan and was a good compromise from being on an escorted tour and allowed us to travel independently, confident in the knowledge that we had support if required. The comprehensive travel documents and information provided before the trip were amazing in their detail and proved invaluable throughout the trip. Ali Muskett our travel consultant rang us during the trip which was a nice touch and it says a lot about how Inside Japan look after their customers. The service that we received was exceptional. Right from the start of planning this trip Ali listened to what we wanted making some great suggestions around our interests and preferences. At no time was there any hard sell. Nothing was too much trouble despite our (very) many questions. Her knowledge was outstanding and greatly helped us get the most out of our trip. All our contact with Ali felt as though she was a fellow experienced traveller helping us plan this trip, rather than a Travel Agent just selling us a product. We received a high quality, personable service.

Inside Travel Group by Alemarml, 22 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Amazing family vacation in Japan

We had an amazing 2 week whirlwind tour of Japan. Customized to meet the needs of a family with two kids, it was a trip of a lifetime.

We had an amazing 2 week whirlwind tour of Japan. Customized to meet the needs of a family with two kids, it was a trip of a lifetime.

Rating for tour operator:

Anyone can book a trip. What sets InsideJapan apart is their customer service. The information provided is detailed and customized to the individual traveller. They are available 24/7 to help when unforeseen problems arise. They helped us plan an amazing trip and allowed us to experience Japanese culture through unique experiences, personal tours, hidden local gems, culinary delicacies and a mix of traditional and modern accommodations.

Inside Travel Group by Ros, 21 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Tokaido trail small group tour with added on personal tour

A small group tour of Tokyo, Kanagawa, Hakone, Kyoto with an interesting group of 12 people with a young Japanese guide. A packed tour covering many aspects of Japan ancient and modern with plenty of opportunities to experience the Japanese cuisine. We also had 5 days of an individual tour to Kanasawa and Takayama. We stayed in comfortable, moderately priced hotels and made ample use of the excellent public transport.

A small group tour of Tokyo, Kanagawa, Hakone, Kyoto with an interesting group of 12 people with a young Japanese guide. A packed tour covering many aspects of Japan ancient and modern with plenty of opportunities to experience the Japanese cuisine. We also had 5 days of an individual tour to Kanasawa and Takayama. We stayed in comfortable, moderately priced hotels and made ample use of the excellent public transport.

Rating for tour operator:

A young group of enthusiastic consultants, who create interesting tours catering for differing groups. Flexible plans but good value for money.

Inside Travel Group by Lori W, 21 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Everything Was Perfect

We took a nine night independent tour and could not be more pleased. It was a great value for money and every aspect went off like clockwork. All our guides were great, the hotels were amazing and the instructions were so easy to follow for everything we needed to do. Japan is a wonderful country and we would definitely go back.

We took a nine night independent tour and could not be more pleased. It was a great value for money and every aspect went off like clockwork. All our guides were great, the hotels were amazing and the instructions were so easy to follow for everything we needed to do. Japan is a wonderful country and we would definitely go back.

Rating for tour operator:

Top Notch. Everything was perfect. The follow up and response to our questions was great. We had to call once while in Japan due to the typhoon and the response was immediate and helpful. Would highly recommend them.

Inside Travel Group by Ignacius13, 15 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Great trip on one amazing country

Trip started in Tokyo, and after went to Kyoto, Nara, Hiroshima, Osaka and back to Tokyo again. Always on the Shinkasen. Beautiful places, so many things to see.

Trip started in Tokyo, and after went to Kyoto, Nara, Hiroshima, Osaka and back to Tokyo again. Always on the Shinkasen. Beautiful places, so many things to see.

Rating for tour operator:

Good support and advice. Allowed to planned the best solution for the available time.

Inside Travel Group by Piedmerlin, 14 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Far East

Travelled to the other side of the world to see something different. I wasn't disappointed. Japan is a wonderful, welcoming place for inquisitive holidaymakers. Scenery and landscapes were second to none, while City dwellers and gadget lovers wont be disappointed with all of the new technology on offer in Tokyo!

Travelled to the other side of the world to see something different. I wasn't disappointed. Japan is a wonderful, welcoming place for inquisitive holidaymakers. Scenery and landscapes were second to none, while City dwellers and gadget lovers wont be disappointed with all of the new technology on offer in Tokyo!

Rating for tour operator:

For the Company to have such a varied type of user profile they accommodated all of us with ease, and excelled in catering to our wishes.

Inside Travel Group by S. Luebke, 8 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

A Honeymoon That Lived Up To 10 Years of Expectations!

When we were married, we did not have the time or the money to have a real honeymoon. Several years later we decided that what we would do, was save and have a delayed honeymoon in Japan for our tenth anniversary. As we approached that ten year mark and started to seriously plan, we looked at several tour packages and always felt as if they would be nice, but not everything we wanted. The trip we did take was everything we asked for and ...

When we were married, we did not have the time or the money to have a real honeymoon. Several years later we decided that what we would do, was save and have a delayed honeymoon in Japan for our tenth anniversary. As we approached that ten year mark and started to seriously plan, we looked at several tour packages and always felt as if they would be nice, but not everything we wanted. The trip we did take was everything we asked for and more, and lived up to ten years of anticipation of the day we would get to really go and be there in person to soak in an onsen, walk through a bamboo forest, explore the shops of Akihabara, and see the otorii of Miyajima. It was the best two weeks of our lives, and we are so grateful to have had an excellent tour company to work with.

Rating for tour operator:

When we contacted InsideJapan Tours, we had a tour in mind, but it was sold out. Disappointed, we expected to go back to the stack of brocheres but instead, John offered something else, a self guided experience tailored specifically to what we wanted to see and do, but booked, coordinated, and overseen by IJT. We were leery, but open to the idea. He insisted on having a phone call with both of us present and got a list of just everything we could think of that we'd been looking forward to for ten years. We were presented with a proposal that hit everything we wanted to do, with some surprises of things we loved but never knew were possible to do. The entire trip from planning to checking on us after we returned was full of amazing support, incredible dedication to making sure it was perfect, and so much information that we never felt like two lost tourists fourteen hours from home, but two honeymooners a phone call away from fixing anything that could have gone wrong. We hope someday that we can return to Japan, and that InsideJapan Tours will be there to help us plan.

Inside Travel Group by Helen&Lis, 31 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

The Best of Japan Tour. Literally.

From the initial point of enquiry to being back on Terra firma the Inside Japan Tour company were absolute professionals and so 'in the know' about all the best sights to see and things to do including the smaller, local reccomendations of places to eat and local dialect and handy crafts of the region. We had an absolutely fantastic trip which was impecably organised and balanced in its design to flow between busy city sightseeing to relaxing ...

From the initial point of enquiry to being back on Terra firma the Inside Japan Tour company were absolute professionals and so 'in the know' about all the best sights to see and things to do including the smaller, local reccomendations of places to eat and local dialect and handy crafts of the region. We had an absolutely fantastic trip which was impecably organised and balanced in its design to flow between busy city sightseeing to relaxing in the Japanese cointryside. We will! Never forget the private onsen bath that was pre-booked for us which we took under the stars in the Hakone region-so perfect! It would!d be possible to say more and more about how wonderful this trip was-but I think you should find out for yourselves! I'm reluctant to say it was a trip of a lifetime because I want to go back again on a different tour to see some of Japan now and I hope that won't be too far off, and certainly whislt I'm still alive to enjoy the magnificent opportunity.

Rating for tour operator:

They are the real pros at this. No competition.

Inside Travel Group by Botan, 14 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

A fantasticindependent touring holiday in Japan

We had 15 nights touring Japan by public transport travelling by shinkansen bullet train and local trains,trams,subway and buses. We travelled from Tokyo to Hiroshima staying in a mix of western hotels and traditional Japanese ryokans. We tried lots of Japanese food, climbed many tall buildings took the cable car to the top of Miyajima island and experienced the Gion festival in Kyoto. The hotels were fantastic and the Japanes people very ...

We had 15 nights touring Japan by public transport travelling by shinkansen bullet train and local trains,trams,subway and buses. We travelled from Tokyo to Hiroshima staying in a mix of western hotels and traditional Japanese ryokans. We tried lots of Japanese food, climbed many tall buildings took the cable car to the top of Miyajima island and experienced the Gion festival in Kyoto. The hotels were fantastic and the Japanes people very friendly and helpful

Rating for tour operator:

Inside Japan provided us with excellent information in our itinerary with a day by day plan, full details of all hotels, maps and guides. The trip was tailor made to our requirements and they were happy to adjust the itinerary several times before we agreed it. All transfers, hotels and rail passes were booked in advance and everything happened just as planned. I would definitely recommend them.

Inside Travel Group by June, 11 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Japan Honeymoon

InsideJapan Tours has friendly, attentive, detailed and knowledgeable staff in both the US and Japan. Because of this excellent service, we felt expertly guided yet independent during our time in Japan. It was a wonderful experience that we will always remember.

InsideJapan Tours has friendly, attentive, detailed and knowledgeable staff in both the US and Japan. Because of this excellent service, we felt expertly guided yet independent during our time in Japan. It was a wonderful experience that we will always remember.

Rating for tour operator:

Amy carefully went through the process of planning this trip with us from beginning to end. She was very patient and thoughtful when finding out the kind of experience we wanted in Japan, and helped us decide which cities to stay in. She also consulted us on activities we could afford according to our budget. There were a lot of decisions up front to make with Amy, but this made for an enjoyable and smooth trip. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Japan and credit this experience to Amy's consultation.