AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Inside Travel Group

Inside Travel Group Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Inside Travel Group

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 448
Good 15
Average 3
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 466
Reviews Accepted: 466
Reviews Rejected: 0
466 reviews
Sort by:
Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Muffin Master, 7 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Birthday trip to Japan

11 night holiday to Japan from the UK visiting Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, and back to Tokyo. The holiday consisted of a range of activities and free time with a detailed itinerary containing maps, tips, and general knowledge of the areas. Took me from Nanako Broadway all the way to Universal Studios Japan.

11 night holiday to Japan from the UK visiting Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, and back to Tokyo. The holiday consisted of a range of activities and free time with a detailed itinerary containing maps, tips, and general knowledge of the areas. Took me from Nanako Broadway all the way to Universal Studios Japan.

Rating for tour operator:

They provided an excellent service before, during, and after the holiday ensuring it met all my requirements as well as addressing any inquires I had. Before the holiday their consultant helped me prepare and plan my holiday in advance to what I wished to do around my birthday as well as including any small details at the last minutes (At my request the week before). During the holiday they kept me up to date on the changes that occurred to any of my activities as well as checked up on how I was during my trip. Afterwards they contacted me to ensure my trip was as expected and that everything went well.

Reviewer's images:
Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Janecs, 5 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Tailor-made excellence

We took 8 days in Japan on our way to Australia and packed in lots of activity in a short time. Inside Japan provided an extremely well organised trip to exact specification and with excellent instructions as to how to travel around and what to do.

We took 8 days in Japan on our way to Australia and packed in lots of activity in a short time. Inside Japan provided an extremely well organised trip to exact specification and with excellent instructions as to how to travel around and what to do.

Rating for tour operator:

Inside Japan really know and love the country and this reflected in the service provided. We got a call to find out how things were going when we were there, and in-country customer support was exceptional when I lost my phone. They recovered it and sent it on.

Reviewer's images:
Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Abigail (South Africa), 29 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Conflicted about Japan!

We spent 11 nights in Japan and saw quite a lot of it in that time. We would have been LOST without the amazing guidance of InsideJapan Tours. Under their guidance we stayed in the best parts of cities, saw some of the best countryside towns, and did a wide variety of things. We loved so many aspects of Japan, but were also disappointed about so many aspects too. The things we LOVED were the people, the temples, the wild forested hills towards ...

We spent 11 nights in Japan and saw quite a lot of it in that time. We would have been LOST without the amazing guidance of InsideJapan Tours. Under their guidance we stayed in the best parts of cities, saw some of the best countryside towns, and did a wide variety of things. We loved so many aspects of Japan, but were also disappointed about so many aspects too. The things we LOVED were the people, the temples, the wild forested hills towards the south, the incredible Japanese design in the boutique clothing and paper shops (especially in Kyoto), and a lot of the FOOD! What disappointed us was the relatively ugly architecture everywhere - so if we werent at a tourist site, we found the buildings all ugly and that made walking around not a pleasure (ie: if you walk around a city, unless its the highrises of Tokyo- the buildings are ugly). We often saw disregard for historical buildings or natural sites, with huge electricity poles right on top of an ancient house, or an ugly '80s cafe built right next to a stunning waterfall.

Rating for tour operator:

InsideJapan Tours delivered more value-add than I could ever have imagined possible from a travel company. Right from my first phone call with them, to them returning the phone we left on a bullet train on our last day! All their knowledge, online client portals, information packs (posted and available online), arrangements for transport tickets, wifi modems, english GPS in our rental car, restaurant bookings etc etc made the holiday as smooth as possible. I cannot recommend them highly enough. I just wish they offered their services in many MORE countries in the world!

Classic Japan by Ez, 14 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Just Fantastic

My husband is not well he has Stage IV brain cancer which is terminal, during a treatment break, and one of his 'bucket list' items, was to visit Japan. Due to his illness it was imperative that we enjoy a good overview of the Country. After much research, and a personal referral we chose Inside Japan Tours. They were able to advise us expertly on the type of tour we should take, ultimately the one we chose was their Small Group Tour. We had ...

My husband is not well he has Stage IV brain cancer which is terminal, during a treatment break, and one of his 'bucket list' items, was to visit Japan. Due to his illness it was imperative that we enjoy a good overview of the Country. After much research, and a personal referral we chose Inside Japan Tours. They were able to advise us expertly on the type of tour we should take, ultimately the one we chose was their Small Group Tour. We had a great adventure visiting a great deal of the country and the were able to really truly experience the traditional and modern cultures of Japan.

Rating for tour operator:

Inside Japan fully reviewed our personal situation, within a very short time frame. They were able to accommodate and advise on the best tour for us. Each contact with our travel consultant was efficient and informative.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Retired Scot, 20 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Self Guided Tour of Japan - 14 days

A great experience, visiting seven cities and trying local cuisine as much as possible - there is more to Japan than sushi! The JR Pass and IC Card makes travel so easy. The Peace Park and Museum in Hiroshima is, for me, a must see - deeply poignant. Overall a first class experience.

A great experience, visiting seven cities and trying local cuisine as much as possible - there is more to Japan than sushi! The JR Pass and IC Card makes travel so easy. The Peace Park and Museum in Hiroshima is, for me, a must see - deeply poignant. Overall a first class experience.

Rating for tour operator:

A very well organised tour - our consultant understood our needs and helped all along - on planning, during the tour and afterwards. The documentation providing travel details and city guides / restaurant were superb! No hesitation in recommending them.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by GEM, 15 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cultural and Traditional visit to Japan

Our first visit to Japan with our family (2 teenage boys). Holiday was amazing: a great combination of cities, countryside, traditional and modern. An inspiring experience for us all.

Our first visit to Japan with our family (2 teenage boys). Holiday was amazing: a great combination of cities, countryside, traditional and modern. An inspiring experience for us all.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely impressed with Inside Japan Tours. Incredibly efficient, intuitive and helpful. I felt like the travel consultant was genuinely interested in our experience, and she did everything she could to make it special, which it was.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Harriet, 24 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A trip free of worries and full of adventure

On my trip to Japan, I visited Tokyo before travelling by train to Kyoto. This would have been daunting to organise on my own, as I'm a nervous traveller, and having Inside Japan organise every part of the trip (including taxis from the airport to the hotel, and vice versa) made the whole thing so much more enjoyable and took away all my worries. In Tokyo, we stayed in The Gate Hotel in Asakusa. The transport links were perfect and we were ...

On my trip to Japan, I visited Tokyo before travelling by train to Kyoto. This would have been daunting to organise on my own, as I'm a nervous traveller, and having Inside Japan organise every part of the trip (including taxis from the airport to the hotel, and vice versa) made the whole thing so much more enjoyable and took away all my worries. In Tokyo, we stayed in The Gate Hotel in Asakusa. The transport links were perfect and we were able to get to a number of popular destinations quickly and easily. Inside Japan provided us with a transport card with money already on it, so we didn't have to worry about buying tickets. Just wondering around the streets without a set plan was perfect, as Tokyo is such a beautiful, exciting city. I must have taken hundreds of pictures of atmospheric alleys, hidden shrines tucked away between buildings, artwork dotted around the city, and even shop signs. As a woman I've never felt so safe in city, and my friend and I walked around at 2am without running into any trouble. If you're a female solo traveller, I can't recommend Tokyo more highly. We organised our luggage to be sent to our second hotel, which was a really simple thing to do, and not expensive at all. It saved us having to get a busy train with a load of suitcases, so again, would recommend this to other travellers. When we arrived in Kyoto we got a taxi to the Gracery Kyoto Sanjo - a cosy, welcoming hotel right in the middle of a shopping mall, and a short walk from the station. Kyoto is much less polished than Tokyo, which I actually really loved about. The locals were perhaps a little less welcoming to tourists (but it's Japan so they're still incredibly polite), but that's unsurprising considering how many there are. Inside Japan had a lot of advice on where to eat, where to go, and interesting day trips we could take. Needless to say I didn't have time to do everything I wanted to do. No wonder people keep going back to Japan. Inside Japan were so helpful from start to finish, and my trip wouldn't have been as successful if it wasn't booked through them. I couldn't recommend them more, and will definitely be using them again in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

It was a pleasure to plan my trip with Laura. I really felt like I got an inside insight on Japan. She was so generous with her advice, but I never felt pressured into booking anything or going for a more expensive option. In fact she actually recommended taking a day off my trip to Tokyo in order to save money, and because she was worried I’d go ‘stir-crazy’. I feel like most agents wouldn’t be concerned about this, so it was refreshing to have this kind of advice. The hotels she booked were perfect, and she really took into consideration what I wanted from this trip. The result was a perfectly tailored holiday that I’ll remember forever.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Dan, 22 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

There is no better way to experience Japan than with Inside Japan Tours!

Japan is without doubt the greatest country in the world. From the sophistication and elegance found in every detail of the Japanese experience to the gentle and warm people. The incredible food and deep history and culture. The civility and sense of humanity in the Japanese way of life, to the unbridled creativity in the street culture and arts. Japan is simply on another level of evolution compared to the rest of the world.

Japan is without doubt the greatest country in the world. From the sophistication and elegance found in every detail of the Japanese experience to the gentle and warm people. The incredible food and deep history and culture. The civility and sense of humanity in the Japanese way of life, to the unbridled creativity in the street culture and arts. Japan is simply on another level of evolution compared to the rest of the world.

Rating for tour operator:

Japan is the greatest country in the world and seeing it with Inside Japan Tours as your guide is the only way to travel. We have done two trips with the team at Inside Japan and they have succeeded in giving us a once in a lifetime experience - twice! Outstanding planning, itinerary creation and communications. Swift and responsive service that is friendly and knowledgable. Brilliant local knowledge and guiding revealing the inside local stuff that makes trips really memorable and not just tourist fare. Impeccable travel instructions and detail that makes moving around simple and stress free and great value for money. We feel we have seen the beauty of Japan and it's people from an insiders perspective twice now and can't wait to go back again.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Helen, 9 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Self guided tour of The Bestof Japan

We had a fantastic time experiencing Japan for two weeks with Inside Japan Tours self guided option. For first time travellers to Japan the information provided was excellent and made it very easy for us to travel around using public transport, visit the sites (some well known others not so well known), find places to eat or just to explore the local areas on our own at our own pace. The organised accommodation was excellent and we especially ...

We had a fantastic time experiencing Japan for two weeks with Inside Japan Tours self guided option. For first time travellers to Japan the information provided was excellent and made it very easy for us to travel around using public transport, visit the sites (some well known others not so well known), find places to eat or just to explore the local areas on our own at our own pace. The organised accommodation was excellent and we especially enjoyed the experience of staying at some traditional ryokan/inns. The food was fantastic.

Rating for tour operator:

Inside Japan Tours provided us with all the information we needed for each place we stayed at with individual info packs for each city/town. The advice re transport from city to city was valuable when using our Japan Rail pass. Knowing how we were going to get from A to B and where we were staying each day meant we could spend more time exploring and enjoying the local area.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Fiona W, 7 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great family holiday - well planned, but independent travel

My family with two adult daughters travelled in Japan for two weeks. We had many experiences which were very memorable from hot tubs in Hakkone to the Nara Deer Park and a food tour in Osaka. We got to see both the traditional side of Japanese culture as well as the great outdoors, beautiful gardens and country side. It was very easy to travel around with the Rail Pass and IC card and the pocket WiFi organised by Inside Japan gave us confidence ...

My family with two adult daughters travelled in Japan for two weeks. We had many experiences which were very memorable from hot tubs in Hakkone to the Nara Deer Park and a food tour in Osaka. We got to see both the traditional side of Japanese culture as well as the great outdoors, beautiful gardens and country side. It was very easy to travel around with the Rail Pass and IC card and the pocket WiFi organised by Inside Japan gave us confidence to get around on our own with little stress.

Rating for tour operator:

They organised everything, suggested the itinerary’s and included our requests such as a Cat Cafe in Tokyo, a trip to Studio Ghibili and the Nara Deer Park. We had instructions on everything we needed to do to get where we needed to be in the easiest possible way. Our guides helped us get comfortable with the public transport in each city and were able to answer any questions we had to help us have a great time.