AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Inside Travel Group

Inside Travel Group Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Inside Travel Group

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 448
Good 15
Average 3
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 466
Reviews Accepted: 466
Reviews Rejected: 0
466 reviews
Sort by:
Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Poppy, 1 Apr 2020
Holiday Rating:

Alpine Adventure, and then some

This was our second tour via Inside Japan. Their knowledge, enthusiasm and organisation are superb. We travelled from Osaka to Kanazawa and back, were offered an excellent range of accommodation, with excellent information provided, and plenty of detail re transport and places to visit. The whole experience was terrific. We would use them again, and have already recommended them to friends.

This was our second tour via Inside Japan. Their knowledge, enthusiasm and organisation are superb. We travelled from Osaka to Kanazawa and back, were offered an excellent range of accommodation, with excellent information provided, and plenty of detail re transport and places to visit. The whole experience was terrific. We would use them again, and have already recommended them to friends.

Rating for tour operator:

So knowledgeable and efficient.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Catherine, 2 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Extremely well detailed itinerary with maps and transport tickets and details so that we could manage a self guided tour with confidence

We traveled to Japan in November, and traveled from Tokyo, to Matsumoto, Takayama, Nakasendo Highway, Kyoto, Hakone national Park and back to Tokyo over a period of 15 days in all. The organisation and attention to detail to put together the itinerary was first rate. The booklet with the details in, maps etc was our 'bible' for the trip. The accompanying short brochures on the different areas we visited were very helpful. The accommodation in ...

We traveled to Japan in November, and traveled from Tokyo, to Matsumoto, Takayama, Nakasendo Highway, Kyoto, Hakone national Park and back to Tokyo over a period of 15 days in all. The organisation and attention to detail to put together the itinerary was first rate. The booklet with the details in, maps etc was our 'bible' for the trip. The accompanying short brochures on the different areas we visited were very helpful. The accommodation in the hotels and ryokans were superb...better than we expected. Train travel went smoothly. We did have to top up the Manaca cards to get around on the Tokyo and Kyoto subways, but that was to be expected. Unforgettable holiday!

Rating for tour operator:

Anna of Inside Japan Tours listened to what we wanted to do in Japan, and put together a super itinerary within our budget, and as happy to change flights at our request, as I wasn't to sure about changing flights in Paris and preferred direct flights.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Miss R M 19, 1 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

First time holiday to Japan - Tokyo, Hakone and Kyoto

Went to Tokyo and on our first full day InsideJapan has organised a half day tour where we were shown the ropes on how to use the metro system and visited lots of places including Ginza, Harajuku, the Meiji Shrine and Shibuya and we were given directions and suggestions of other places to visit so the next day on our guides suggestion went to Tokyo Bay and wandered the area and then saw an exhibition there then on the way back to our hotel went ...

Went to Tokyo and on our first full day InsideJapan has organised a half day tour where we were shown the ropes on how to use the metro system and visited lots of places including Ginza, Harajuku, the Meiji Shrine and Shibuya and we were given directions and suggestions of other places to visit so the next day on our guides suggestion went to Tokyo Bay and wandered the area and then saw an exhibition there then on the way back to our hotel went to Sensoji Temple to see it lit up a night. After Tokyo went to Hakone to explore the mountains and while it got to misty to see Mount Fuji saw some shrines and we did see it on the train later after exploring the area and had an experience staying in an traditional inn with hot springs and futon and traditional food. Took the bullet train to Kyoto and had another half day tour where we visited temples and saw the Geisha districts and some gardens as well and managed to see all the autumn colours. While in the area we also visited Arashima for the bamboo forest and saw lots of gardens there full of red maple leaves that looked incredible and went to see the Golden Pavilion which looked amazing when we went on a clear day with the blue sky and reflected in the lake. Went to Himeji Castle and gardens as well on another day which was incredible and then back to Tokyo for a final day where our tour operator had organised tickets for us to go up the Skytree to get a full view of Tokyo before we went home and we got some incredible views.

Rating for tour operator:

Amazing service offered and the info packs, maps and the printed itinerary outlining suggested train times an routes were all really helpful as well as suggestions of places to visit with information about each place and also recommendations of places eat in were all really useful to have to hand. On the whole InsideJapan Tours kept in contact at all stages of the holiday while I was discussing the trip, when it was being booked and even when we were out there every one I spoke to was really helpful and we ended up with a stress free holiday as all the travel, hotels and any connections we needed to make was all planned for us and we received everything we needed before we went or it was waiting in the first hotel to be picked up which made everything so easy. My travel consultant, Sophie was superbly helpful and when I first spoke to her with only vague ideas of what kind of thing I wanted to see on my first trip to Japan she made some suggestions and offered some ideas of what was in the same area as the places I wanted to visit. While I was planning my trip I had a sudden change of circumstances that meant I had to put in on hold for a while before I could book anything and I never felt any pressure about when to get back to her. Sophie always kept me in the loop and emailed while we were in Japan notifying us of a change in tour guide and made sure everything went well when we got back.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Renster , 23 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Anime and Manga trip to Japan

A fantastic self guided holiday with all the essentials covered. All the recommended locations were exactly what I was looking for, lots of shopping, history and nature all combined into one package. I was able to explore the geek capital of the world plus dive into the hidden gems located in Tokyo.

A fantastic self guided holiday with all the essentials covered. All the recommended locations were exactly what I was looking for, lots of shopping, history and nature all combined into one package. I was able to explore the geek capital of the world plus dive into the hidden gems located in Tokyo.

Rating for tour operator:

It was so easy to book everything with my tour operator. My travel agent had so much knowledge about the country and knew all of the amazing spots throughout the cities. All the accommodations were great. All the extra locations I wanted to see were so easily booked and fit perfectly into my itinerary. The information provided in my travel documents was so easy to understand and helped me throughout the journey.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Aussie travellers, 17 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Amazing Japan

Inside Japan organised our Japan 18 day independent travel experience. We started by learning about crowds and trains in Tokyo and ventured on a day trip to Nikko. The 3 day Hakone experience was a highlight staying in a traditional inn, enjoying the onsen and cooking our catered breakfast and dinner . There was a clear blue sky with Mt Fuji clearly seen in the distance. Then off to explore Kyoto, with side trip to Fushimi Inari and walking ...

Inside Japan organised our Japan 18 day independent travel experience. We started by learning about crowds and trains in Tokyo and ventured on a day trip to Nikko. The 3 day Hakone experience was a highlight staying in a traditional inn, enjoying the onsen and cooking our catered breakfast and dinner . There was a clear blue sky with Mt Fuji clearly seen in the distance. Then off to explore Kyoto, with side trip to Fushimi Inari and walking the entire path as well as visiting Nara and stopping off at Uji. Then on to Nagasaki with a cruise trip to Gunkanjima and touring the Peace Park and Museum. Next the Shinkansen through to Kagoshima for the day and see the smoking volcano and return to Kumamoto for accommodation and exploring the city and Castle being restored, followed by a day trip to Mt Aso with a 1 km exclusion zone because of its activity. We went to Fukuoka and worked our way back to Tokyo via Hiroshima, Takayama, Kanazawa and Noto Peninsula. Wow, what a trip and what a lot of exercise for our feet. We found walking and trains are the best way to travel. Our holiday was amazing and we found Japan clean, the people polite and helpful and a wonderful transport system. We thought this trip would be our one and only but now we are ready to explore the Northern area of Japan again with the assistance of Inside Japan.

Rating for tour operator:

Inside Japan office in Australia assisted with putting together an independent tour for us because our travel time did not align with any organised tour. The suggestions and detail provided enable us to enjoy an amazing experience under our own guidance without have to be up and fit in with other people. It was a benefit to be able to squeeze 2 extra people onto an already crowded train. We received detailed instructions for daily itinerary with options and train times and accommodation details and how to find it. Excellent attention to detail and can thoroughly recommend Inside Japan to anyone want to plan a trip to Japan.

Japan Unmasked by Gini-San, 12 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Temples and Gardens of Japan

The Japan Unmasked tour with tour operator Inside Japan was a fantastic introduction to Japan. A great mix of cities, temples, museums, gardens, palaces and castles, heritage buildings, dining experiences and accommodation in Japanese guesthouses with onsen as well as western hotels meant a huge amount to take in. The tour guide was completely enthusiastic, knowledgeable, professional and thorough, ensured everyone was well informed, and provided ...

The Japan Unmasked tour with tour operator Inside Japan was a fantastic introduction to Japan. A great mix of cities, temples, museums, gardens, palaces and castles, heritage buildings, dining experiences and accommodation in Japanese guesthouses with onsen as well as western hotels meant a huge amount to take in. The tour guide was completely enthusiastic, knowledgeable, professional and thorough, ensured everyone was well informed, and provided nice touches like wifi connection on the train journeys, and excellent recommendations for restaurants and food. A real whirlwind of an experience, I absolutely recommend it!

Rating for tour operator:

Inside Japan provided excellent information in advance of arriving in Japan, and a subway card to get from the airport to the first hotel - a great help after many hours of air travel. If all of the guides are as good as ours was, you can be assured you will be thoroughly looked after, with a balanced program of travel and touring, and just enough free time to discover a few treasures on your own.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Bingara, 3 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding service from Inside Japan, Tours. This company is way ahead of any other we have dealt with.Their knowledge and desire to share their love of this country is evident in their thoughtfulness.

We had an amazing month in Japan on a self guided tour organised by Dan Campbell., Brisbane The itinerary covered all our interests-food, modern art, gardens, low key cycling, rural life and meeting the locals The time at each place was perfect. The accommodation ranged from ryokans to hotels. The detail in the itinerary was extraordinary as was the organisation of rail passes so there was no time wasting. We will definitely return to Japan ...

We had an amazing month in Japan on a self guided tour organised by Dan Campbell., Brisbane The itinerary covered all our interests-food, modern art, gardens, low key cycling, rural life and meeting the locals The time at each place was perfect. The accommodation ranged from ryokans to hotels. The detail in the itinerary was extraordinary as was the organisation of rail passes so there was no time wasting. We will definitely return to Japan with this company.

Rating for tour operator:

Outstanding and able to tailor a trip to your exact wishes. In a month there was not one problem. Should there have been an issue there was 24hour assistance. We were also able to go to places off the beaten track which added to the experience Fabulous consultant.

Hidden Japan by Skytree, 30 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exhilarating Japan

A really varied small group tour of Japan from expansive high rise cities to quiet traditional towns. We travelled around using public transport and private coach and ate a variety of different foods all exquisitely prepared. The hotels were comfortable and provided a good choice of breakfast dishes. The holiday included visits to castles, temples, shrines, gardens, theatres, performances, galleries and more.

A really varied small group tour of Japan from expansive high rise cities to quiet traditional towns. We travelled around using public transport and private coach and ate a variety of different foods all exquisitely prepared. The hotels were comfortable and provided a good choice of breakfast dishes. The holiday included visits to castles, temples, shrines, gardens, theatres, performances, galleries and more.

Rating for tour operator:

Inside Japan Tours were excellent, the tour exceeded my expectations as everything was well thought out and meticulously planned. The guides were knowledgeable and made us feel special.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Ross, 26 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

An incredible Trip to Japan

I spent three weeks exploring Japan, and visited Tokyo, Hakone, Kyoto, Osaka, Hiroshima, Hiraizumi, Morioka and Sendai. I had an incredible time, saw many beautiful sites, ate some great food and met some lovely people. I definitely want to go again.

I spent three weeks exploring Japan, and visited Tokyo, Hakone, Kyoto, Osaka, Hiroshima, Hiraizumi, Morioka and Sendai. I had an incredible time, saw many beautiful sites, ate some great food and met some lovely people. I definitely want to go again.

Rating for tour operator:

Inside Japan were incredibly helpful, both with planning the trip and our tour guide when I was on the tour portion of the holiday. Everyone was a pleasure to deal with.

Reviewer's images:
Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Pauline, 19 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Self-guided tour of Japan

Tokyo, Kyoto & Japanese Alps

Tokyo, Kyoto & Japanese Alps

Rating for tour operator:

The self-guided tour was perfect and the documents from InsideJapan were invaluable for helping us get around and make the most of our time. InsideJapan is by far the best tour operator I've travelled with.

Reviewer's images: