AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wilderness Scotland

Wilderness Scotland Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wilderness Scotland

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 848
Good 21
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 869
Reviews Accepted: 868
Reviews Rejected: 1
868 reviews
Sort by:
Wilderness Scotland by Hugo, 29 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

A challenging walk with highly rewarding views

We were provided very good information from the tour provider for the West Highland Way. Having a light day prior to the 18 mile day was a very good idea, and we were blessed with weather we could not even have dreamt of. Accommodations and food were much better than anticipated, with some very lovely hosts and rooms.

We were provided very good information from the tour provider for the West Highland Way. Having a light day prior to the 18 mile day was a very good idea, and we were blessed with weather we could not even have dreamt of. Accommodations and food were much better than anticipated, with some very lovely hosts and rooms.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent and prompt service. Route details and information were quite thorough, and the equipment list was very good.

Wilderness Scotland by Andrew Nash, 19 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Excellent and safe introduction to winter mountaineering skills.

I found this Wilderness Scotland 'Winter Skills' holiday to be friendly and well-organised. With an excellent and experienced guide I was able to see some fantastic scenery and get a first taste of walking with crampons and ice-axe. The accommodation and food were very good too. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone wanting a similar experience.

I found this Wilderness Scotland 'Winter Skills' holiday to be friendly and well-organised. With an excellent and experienced guide I was able to see some fantastic scenery and get a first taste of walking with crampons and ice-axe. The accommodation and food were very good too. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone wanting a similar experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland provided an excellent guide, who clearly had substantial experience, flexibility and good people skills to ensure we have a safe introduction winter mountaineering. The company also provided detailed information on what equipment I would need for this trip.

Wilderness Scotland by Gerry, 18 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

excellent winter walking experience

3 .5 days winter walking in Cairngorms; lots of walking and winter skills learnt

3 .5 days winter walking in Cairngorms; lots of walking and winter skills learnt

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland were excellent leader very good highly recommended

Wilderness Scotland by Sandy Travis, 18 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Winter Walking in Cairngorms with Wilderness Scotland from 11-Mar-2015

The holiday was great fun, I learnt a lot, the guide, accommodation, food & walking were all superb. The walking was strenuous - so may not be for everybody - but was a superb experience.

The holiday was great fun, I learnt a lot, the guide, accommodation, food & walking were all superb. The walking was strenuous - so may not be for everybody - but was a superb experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland are excellent - I have travelled with them twice and may well go on more courses with them in the future.

The Winter Highlands: North West by Feral, 12 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Winter Walking - The Winter Highlands North West

This trip piggybacked the Winter Walking Cairngorms the previous week. The North West Highlands walking was a fascinating insight into the variety of weather the west coast of Scotland can deliver. It opened my eyes in terms of what the locals and guides consider acceptable weather for outdoor activities, I loved the irrelevance of the howling gale and driving rain, one just gets on with it!!.

This trip piggybacked the Winter Walking Cairngorms the previous week. The North West Highlands walking was a fascinating insight into the variety of weather the west coast of Scotland can deliver. It opened my eyes in terms of what the locals and guides consider acceptable weather for outdoor activities, I loved the irrelevance of the howling gale and driving rain, one just gets on with it!!.

Rating for tour operator:

I selected two walk tours offered by Wilderness Scotland, coming from half way around the world to do the trips they confirmed my bookings despite not many other people booking. As it turned out there was only 3 on one walk and two of us on the other. The fact that Wilderness Scotland honoured the bookings really impressed me, other operators may have cancelled the trip(s).

The Winter Highlands: Cairngorms by Feral, 4 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Wilderness Scotland's winter walking in the Cairngorms.

Five days of easy winter walking with a guide along various trails in the Cairngorms. Overnight accomodation in a beautiful Hotel at Boat of Garten.

Five days of easy winter walking with a guide along various trails in the Cairngorms. Overnight accomodation in a beautiful Hotel at Boat of Garten.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland advertised a number of winter walking options that tantalised. Easy short walks at the end of the winter season that would showcase the best of the Cairngorms to the uninitiated. The number of places offered was perfect for small group travel and ensured their guide was engaging with all participants.

The Winter Highlands: Cairngorms by Teuchter , 12 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Great guiding, great walking, good company , in Cairngorms

5 days walking in Cairngorms. Trip was diligently put together, well planned & perfect.. Kirsty was most attentive & her good humour & expertise shone throughout . Careful choice of hotel & resturants meant that we ate to a very high standard. 10/10 I am happy for these comments to be published but without my email address please or any detail that would engender unwanted correspondence .

5 days walking in Cairngorms. Trip was diligently put together, well planned & perfect.. Kirsty was most attentive & her good humour & expertise shone throughout . Careful choice of hotel & resturants meant that we ate to a very high standard. 10/10 I am happy for these comments to be published but without my email address please or any detail that would engender unwanted correspondence .

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent & provided good information & attention to detail I am happy for my comments to be published , but as above , please no personal details to be used that would engender unwanted correspondence. I value my privacy .

The Winter Highlands: Cairngorms by jemima, 11 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

A really good short break in the Highlands - we were so lucky with the weather so enjoyed stunning scenery.

A really good short break in the Highlands - we were so lucky with the weather so enjoyed stunning scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

Very good indeed

The Summer Isles by Roberta, 15 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

very professionally guided in a beautiful location

Amazing holiday in the Summer Isles in North Scotland. Everything was very well organised. The guides were very professional. I always felt very safe with them. They were very good at giving us challenges in a supportive and safe way. The food was great - especially considering it was all taken with us and cooked on a camp stove.

Amazing holiday in the Summer Isles in North Scotland. Everything was very well organised. The guides were very professional. I always felt very safe with them. They were very good at giving us challenges in a supportive and safe way. The food was great - especially considering it was all taken with us and cooked on a camp stove.

Rating for tour operator:

very good

Walking - Applecross & Torridon by SWEST, 30 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wild walking at it's best

Walking in Torridon in the rain

Walking in Torridon in the rain

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland - a top class outfit.