AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wilderness Scotland

Wilderness Scotland Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wilderness Scotland

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 365
Good 11
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 376
Reviews Accepted: 376
Reviews Rejected: 0
376 reviews
Sort by:
Walking - Torridon & Wester Ross by Sia, 18 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent walks and I felt safe doing them

Great experience on quite challenging walks which I would not have wanted to go alone. Beautiful scenery and helpful informations.

Great experience on quite challenging walks which I would not have wanted to go alone. Beautiful scenery and helpful informations.

Rating for tour operator:

I felt looked after very well. Questions were answered promptly. Guide was knowledgeable and knew what he was doing.

Walking - Glencoe & Highlands by Dr. John, 17 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Hiking the Highlands of Scotland

We had a wonderful 7-day experience hiking the Munros and trails for Scotland. We enjoyed the accommodations that were provided. Every aspect of the day's activities was taken care of- meals, travel to hiking sites, excellent support of hiking excursions, insights into the history and culture, and great team building. We had such a great time that we are scheduling a return next year with Wilderness Scotland.

We had a wonderful 7-day experience hiking the Munros and trails for Scotland. We enjoyed the accommodations that were provided. Every aspect of the day's activities was taken care of- meals, travel to hiking sites, excellent support of hiking excursions, insights into the history and culture, and great team building. We had such a great time that we are scheduling a return next year with Wilderness Scotland.

Rating for tour operator:

Our main tour guide, John Walker, was a very skilled and patient leader. He was supportive and helpful at every opportunity. We thoroughly enjoyed his stories about the countryside and local culture. He even helped us locate and obtain some of our luggage that was lost by the commercial air line that brought us to Scotland. That kind of dedication was wonderful and has convinced us of the quality of the services that Wilderness Scotland provided.

Road Cycling - Outer Hebrides by mikeandsamval2018, 17 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wilderness Scotland Road-cycling Outer Hebrides

A fabulous week riding across the Hebrides with WS.

A fabulous week riding across the Hebrides with WS.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland were represented by two guides; Dave and Al. They were outstanding.

Road Cycling - The Grand Tour by Helen, 16 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wilderness Scotland Grand Tour

Fantastic scenic week-long ride from Inverness to Edinburgh with stops at local cafes, Balmoral, Royal Lochnagar distillery, Glamis castle tour, St Andrews. We enjoyed the lavish picnic lunches, the beautiful views, the hotel bathtubs!, dinner at Taypark House and the scotch selection at Glenesk Hotel.

Fantastic scenic week-long ride from Inverness to Edinburgh with stops at local cafes, Balmoral, Royal Lochnagar distillery, Glamis castle tour, St Andrews. We enjoyed the lavish picnic lunches, the beautiful views, the hotel bathtubs!, dinner at Taypark House and the scotch selection at Glenesk Hotel.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland did a great job with all aspects of the trip. Our fun & knowledgable guides Will & Simon really made the trip for us, with their attentiveness and cheerful accommodation of everyone's needs.

Walking - Glencoe & Highlands by Mike, 16 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wilderness Scotland hill walking in Glen Lyon and Glencoe.

Hill walking in a small group (6) with a guide, staying in luxury hotels and eating lots of good food.

Hill walking in a small group (6) with a guide, staying in luxury hotels and eating lots of good food.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland did a wonderful job both in the pre-trip phase and on the trip itself. Our guide, Mike Brian, was superb.

MTB - Bike Across Scotland by Tom, 15 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wilderness Scotland

We followed the the Great Glenn Way on mountain bikes.

We followed the the Great Glenn Way on mountain bikes.

Rating for tour operator:

We really like the guides.

Sea Kayaking Introduction Course by PMC, 14 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous introduction to sea kayaking course in the stunning north west highlands of Scotland

It was a five day sea kayaking course for beginners. We stayed in a bunkhouse and went to five different locations where we were given some instruction and then plenty of time to work on developing our kayaking skills. We were provided with all specialist equipment required and a kit list prior to joining the holiday to make sure we had the right clothes etc with us. The leaders were well qualified and experienced and I felt very well looked ...

It was a five day sea kayaking course for beginners. We stayed in a bunkhouse and went to five different locations where we were given some instruction and then plenty of time to work on developing our kayaking skills. We were provided with all specialist equipment required and a kit list prior to joining the holiday to make sure we had the right clothes etc with us. The leaders were well qualified and experienced and I felt very well looked after, so important when trying out a new outdoor activity. It was a busy few days, and thoroughly enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland ran the trip and was efficient and helpful throughout the booking process. They communicated well and some of the office staff knowledgeable about the trip as they had been on it themselves. There were several participants who had been on previous trips with Wilderness Scotland which is always a good sign. I would certainly consider using this company again.

Road Cycling - Outer Hebrides by Cynthia K., 14 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Trip of a lifetime

We took a 7 day bike trip through the Outer Hebrides islands, Bara to Lewis, starting and ending in Inverness. Our trip involved some van travel, several ferries, lots of biking, always really good food, and vistas beyond compare.

We took a 7 day bike trip through the Outer Hebrides islands, Bara to Lewis, starting and ending in Inverness. Our trip involved some van travel, several ferries, lots of biking, always really good food, and vistas beyond compare.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland made sure we stayed in the best places, ate the most amazing food, rode on really excellent equipment, and kept us on a pace that was perfect as well as flexible when it needed to be. Our guides were terrific. The trip planners I worked with were so nice. Nice job! Of course they are working with a piece of heaven over there in Scotland. If you haven't been yet you absolutely must go.

MTB - The Hebridean Trail by StepT, 11 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

AMAZING tour of the Outer Hebrides....epic rides, stunning scenery, great folks.

We spent a week on mountain bikes on the Outer Hebrides. Everything was handled for us...it was like being a kid at camp...leave the thinking brain behind and just PLAY. Just what we needed!

We spent a week on mountain bikes on the Outer Hebrides. Everything was handled for us...it was like being a kid at camp...leave the thinking brain behind and just PLAY. Just what we needed!

Rating for tour operator:

WS was fantastic all the way around. VERY responsive during the research/booking phase, proactive in the pre trip period, organized, knowledgeable, flexible guides.

Road Cycling - Coast to Coast by K & T , 9 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

“Wow” - Wilderness Scotland

Being in our own way seasoned cyclists and having experienced the services of other cycling holiday organisations we can truly say our most recent trip with Wilderness Scotland, will take some beating. Putting aside the fact that we have been blessed with amazing weather the attention to details, the standard of accommodation, quality of food including the amazing picnic lunches and coffee/refreshment stops in the wildest areas of Scotland ...

Being in our own way seasoned cyclists and having experienced the services of other cycling holiday organisations we can truly say our most recent trip with Wilderness Scotland, will take some beating. Putting aside the fact that we have been blessed with amazing weather the attention to details, the standard of accommodation, quality of food including the amazing picnic lunches and coffee/refreshment stops in the wildest areas of Scotland have all contributed in making this trip so special. Equally having guides share their passion, knowledge and insight of of the local geography, geology, fauna and flora provided an tier to the trip and service provided by Wilderness Scotland.

Rating for tour operator:

See above...