AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wilderness Scotland

Wilderness Scotland Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wilderness Scotland

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 577
Good 17
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 594
Reviews Accepted: 594
Reviews Rejected: 0
594 reviews
Sort by:
Walking: Uists, Barra & Mingulay by SuperSprings R S 19, 10 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Outer Hebrides

Just an amazing experience!

Just an amazing experience!

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland deserves excellent ratings!!!

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by PhillyHiker, 9 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Planning from Wilderness Scotland

I took a week-long hiking trip in Scotland with Wilderness Scotland. Everything was great except the weather and when a tour company can control that, they'll take over the world. The guide was amazing and always had multiple backup plans for when the weather got too bad. The food was the best plan I've had on any trip. The accommodations were lovely with great scenic views. I would definitely book another trip with Wilderness Scotland again.

I took a week-long hiking trip in Scotland with Wilderness Scotland. Everything was great except the weather and when a tour company can control that, they'll take over the world. The guide was amazing and always had multiple backup plans for when the weather got too bad. The food was the best plan I've had on any trip. The accommodations were lovely with great scenic views. I would definitely book another trip with Wilderness Scotland again.

Rating for tour operator:

Everyone I talked to before and during the trip was great - very friendly, responsive, and full of accurate information. I didn't need too much help, but someone was always there when needed. The guide made an effort to understand why each client had selected the trip so that she could try her best to make the trip meet their expectations.

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by Mel, 9 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent walking trip in the north west highland area of Assynt in Scotland

7 days walking in Assynt, doing 3 challenging climbs of Cul Mor, Suileven and Stac Pollidah and a number of other great walks in the area.

7 days walking in Assynt, doing 3 challenging climbs of Cul Mor, Suileven and Stac Pollidah and a number of other great walks in the area.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland was really well organised from booking through to accommodation and food. Our guide was first rate, Knowledgeable friendly, professional, ensuring the group was well looked after.

Walking: North Highland Coast by Rick, 9 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent walking holiday

Excellent guide, walks, food and accomodation.

Excellent guide, walks, food and accomodation.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent in every respect

Walking - The West Highland Way by etribole, 6 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Experience--The West Highland Way with Wildnerness Scotland

An incredible 7-day adventure, which was very organized (new hotel/village every day). The scenery was extraordinary, our guide was exceptional--with the rare mix of leadership and fun.

An incredible 7-day adventure, which was very organized (new hotel/village every day). The scenery was extraordinary, our guide was exceptional--with the rare mix of leadership and fun.

Rating for tour operator:

Highest recommendation for Wilderness Scotland

Walking - The West Highland Way by Ahab, 4 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wilderness Scotland Makes the Wild, Mild

Wilderness Scotland and their team of guides, make it possible to do something that is so challenging in total wilderness a totally achievable accomplishment. They give you the confidence and show you easier ways of approaching challenges. They take the time, in sometimes, uncomfortable conditions to gather up some grit and do what needs to be done.

Wilderness Scotland and their team of guides, make it possible to do something that is so challenging in total wilderness a totally achievable accomplishment. They give you the confidence and show you easier ways of approaching challenges. They take the time, in sometimes, uncomfortable conditions to gather up some grit and do what needs to be done.

Rating for tour operator:

In my opinion, the best there is!!

Knoydart and the Small Isles by Anne Marie, 4 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Rugged countryside with a knowledgeable guide

We spent 6 days hiking around the small islands and Knoydart Peninsula. At the beginning we had very nice weather and spectacular views. Toward the end of the week, the weather turned, raising the difficulty of our day trips and causing our plans to change on the fly. Our guide was very knowledgeable and able to adapt the walks accordingly. It was obvious he loved what he did and knew not only about the history of the areas we hiked, but also ...

We spent 6 days hiking around the small islands and Knoydart Peninsula. At the beginning we had very nice weather and spectacular views. Toward the end of the week, the weather turned, raising the difficulty of our day trips and causing our plans to change on the fly. Our guide was very knowledgeable and able to adapt the walks accordingly. It was obvious he loved what he did and knew not only about the history of the areas we hiked, but also about the geology and forestry planning policies in place. We learned a great deal and everyone in the group contributed positive energy to the experience. I would definitely consider another trip with Wilderness Scotland. The weather is the only reason I can’t give it an excellent overall rating. And I understand that is no one’s fault, but it did impact my enjoyment.

Rating for tour operator:

Responsive, helpful, encouraging.

Walking - Cairngorms & Deeside by nell, 4 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

joy of walking in the cairngorms

walking holiday, small group, expert guide, loads learnt, well picked routes, charming accommodation, spectactular countryside,

walking holiday, small group, expert guide, loads learnt, well picked routes, charming accommodation, spectactular countryside,

Rating for tour operator:

wilderness scotland not only devised this perfect trip but also showed admirable commitment to the environment

Walking - Cairngorms & Deeside by New England Walker, 4 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wilderness Scotland Cairngorms Walking Trip

A week of wonderful walks in a variety of Cairngorms settings including lochs, rivers, glens, lins, bothys, tracks, paths, level and mostly gradual ascents, occasionally rocky. We were very fortunate with the weather and midges (though those pesky critters found us anyway to some extent!). Our guide was terrific; the two bed and breakfasts were excellent with comfortable rooms and delicious breakfasts. The group was small and compatible. It ...

A week of wonderful walks in a variety of Cairngorms settings including lochs, rivers, glens, lins, bothys, tracks, paths, level and mostly gradual ascents, occasionally rocky. We were very fortunate with the weather and midges (though those pesky critters found us anyway to some extent!). Our guide was terrific; the two bed and breakfasts were excellent with comfortable rooms and delicious breakfasts. The group was small and compatible. It was a very worthwhile experience.

Rating for tour operator:

He was really terrific - great driver who taught us so much about Scotland and the Cairngorms. He knew the area very well and selected walks each day that were interesting and varied. He was flexible and able to be helpful to each one of our group. He's funny and real, knowledgeable and friendly. I really appreciated having him as our guide for this trip. He even asked his wife for recipes for some of our favorite desserts and then shared the recipes with us.

Walking - Cairngorms & Deeside by Beachdreamer20, 3 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wilderness Scotland goes above and beyond

A walking adventure week in the Cairngorms. We stayed in a beautiful lodge that had once been a stable but converted beautifully. Very comfortable place to come home to each evening. The days were spent hiking/exploring different parts of the Cairngorm National Park and Glen Feshie. A beautiful experience each day.

A walking adventure week in the Cairngorms. We stayed in a beautiful lodge that had once been a stable but converted beautifully. Very comfortable place to come home to each evening. The days were spent hiking/exploring different parts of the Cairngorm National Park and Glen Feshie. A beautiful experience each day.

Rating for tour operator:

This was my second holiday adventure with Wilderness Scotland. Everything about it was top notch. The office staff handles the arrangements and happily answers questions, they are very helpful. The adventure itself was planned beautifully with a super comfortable and unique accommodation, excellent food and a stellar guide.