AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wilderness Scotland

Wilderness Scotland Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wilderness Scotland

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 615
Good 17
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 632
Reviews Accepted: 632
Reviews Rejected: 0
632 reviews
Sort by:
Walking - Autumn Highlands by Jeremy, 29 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding walking holiday

A brilliant walking holiday with family to mark a 60th birthday. A wonderfully restorative journey through some of the Highlands' most magical landscapes - Glen Affric, Loch Oich, the Dundreggan Estate and more.

A brilliant walking holiday with family to mark a 60th birthday. A wonderfully restorative journey through some of the Highlands' most magical landscapes - Glen Affric, Loch Oich, the Dundreggan Estate and more.

Rating for tour operator:

Everyone we dealt with was delightful.

Wilderness Scotland responded to this review on 30 Oct 2020:

Happy Birthday!

So glad you had such a great time. The places you mention are truly ablaze with colour at this time of year. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Walking - Autumn Highlands by Satisfied customer, 10 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

A dream come true!

Wonderful, exillerating autumn walks in the Highlands with a brilliant guide and a friendly group.

Wonderful, exillerating autumn walks in the Highlands with a brilliant guide and a friendly group.

Rating for tour operator:

They were friendly, knowledgeable and excellent. Went out of their way to make sure we all had a great experience.

Wilderness Scotland responded to this review on 30 Oct 2020:

Superb, thanks so much for your feedback.

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by London Walker, 5 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Great wilderness walking with a great guide

Great wilderness walking with a great guide

Rating for tour operator:

Pretty much everything very well organised - but they are relatively expensive.

Sea Kayaking - Outer Hebrides by Penny, 27 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Invigorating, breathtaking and challenging

A back to nature sea kayaking adventure around the coasts of Harris and Lewis lead by experienced guides with an option to go on expedition for 2-3 days wild camping. With magnificent scenery and wildlife this is a trip not for the fainthearted as weather conditions can change rapidly, but we were able to explore a diverse and magnificent coastline from immense cliffs to calm sandy bays with turquoise water. We also saw orca, porpoises, seals, ...

A back to nature sea kayaking adventure around the coasts of Harris and Lewis lead by experienced guides with an option to go on expedition for 2-3 days wild camping. With magnificent scenery and wildlife this is a trip not for the fainthearted as weather conditions can change rapidly, but we were able to explore a diverse and magnificent coastline from immense cliffs to calm sandy bays with turquoise water. We also saw orca, porpoises, seals, wonderful jelly fish and sea/golden eagles. Guides are experienced and professional but also provide a personal touch.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient, generous and keen to keep the customer happy by listening to requests and doing their best to help provide the very best experience.

Wilderness Scotland responded to this review on 30 Oct 2020:

Thanks for such detailed feedback Penny, we were all green with envy in our distributed office when we heard the tales of your group having the orca experience. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Walking - The West Highland Way by LC, 25 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Walking the West Highland Way (WHW)

The WHW passes through some of the most varied and beautiful scenery in Scotland. In some places the terrain is rough and difficult walking. We walked the 96 miles over 7 days, staying in different accommodation each night, and with luggage transferred between. We were a group of 10 women with and excellent female guide.

The WHW passes through some of the most varied and beautiful scenery in Scotland. In some places the terrain is rough and difficult walking. We walked the 96 miles over 7 days, staying in different accommodation each night, and with luggage transferred between. We were a group of 10 women with and excellent female guide.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland specialises in active holidays in the most wild and beautiful areas of Scotland. The trip was very well organised.

Wilderness Scotland responded to this review on 25 Sep 2020:

Thank you so much for your kind feedback Linda and congrats on completing the West Highland Way!

Walking - Outer Hebrides & Skye by Sue, 10 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

breathtaking scenery and memorable experience

could not have asked for more gorgeous scenery and landscapes or better weather; I have always wanted to visit Skye and the outer Hebrides and this experience could not have been much better (only issue was Covid restrictions but being outdoors most of the time, it was much less of one than it could have been on other holidays). this was one of the most memorable trips I've ever been on - enjoyed all the walks, all the places that we visited ...

could not have asked for more gorgeous scenery and landscapes or better weather; I have always wanted to visit Skye and the outer Hebrides and this experience could not have been much better (only issue was Covid restrictions but being outdoors most of the time, it was much less of one than it could have been on other holidays). this was one of the most memorable trips I've ever been on - enjoyed all the walks, all the places that we visited and appreciated the attention to detail and flexibility of our tour guide who took into account the wants and needs of the group and what was happening on the ground to ensure we got the opportunity to do was much as possible but also what we would most enjoy.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland were superb organisers - we had a fantastic guide and all their communications before the trip - Covid included - were clear and timely. the trip itself was well organised and ensured that whatever restrictions were in place, we had the best experience we could have while being safe.

Wilderness Scotland responded to this review on 10 Sep 2020:

Susan, this is a genuine delight to hear and thanks so much for taking the time to pen your feedback. We're all moved by the feedback that's coming in from our trips given the effort that's gone into making our travellers feel comfortable and we're so happy you've taken away some lovely memories.

Walking - The Orkney Isles by CJ, 4 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Stunning

5 days walking in the Orkneys.

5 days walking in the Orkneys.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland.

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by Richmond Lass, 4 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Wilds of Assynt

Great walking, scenery with excellent accommodation

Great walking, scenery with excellent accommodation

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised and professional

Wilderness Scotland responded to this review on 10 Sep 2020:

Thanks for taking the time to post your kind words. We read them all as they come in. Happy travels and hope to welcome you back again.

Walking - The Orkney Isles by Lady of Lewes, 3 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Antidote to lockdown blues

A wonderful well organised walking holiday in the beautiful and historical Orkney Islands with superb guides and excellent food and accommodation

A wonderful well organised walking holiday in the beautiful and historical Orkney Islands with superb guides and excellent food and accommodation

Rating for tour operator:

Attention to detail

Wilderness Scotland responded to this review on 10 Sep 2020:

Ha ha, yes I think we all need a little Orkney to blow away the lockdown blues. Thanks for your kind feedback :)

Road Cycling - The Grand Tour by JG in DC, 8 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Experience

It was my first cycling tour and my one regret is that after pondering it for a few years, I didn't do it sooner. We biked through Scotland and the experience was amazing, going through places you wouldn't normally and at a pace at which you could really take it in and appreciate the culture and beauty of it all.

It was my first cycling tour and my one regret is that after pondering it for a few years, I didn't do it sooner. We biked through Scotland and the experience was amazing, going through places you wouldn't normally and at a pace at which you could really take it in and appreciate the culture and beauty of it all.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland put together a great tour, with a manageable daily itineraries, and enjoyable excursions and comfortable accommodations. But most importantly, their guides were fantastic--knowledgable, thoughtful, patient, pleasant folks who did everything they could to make the trip as enjoyable as possible for a group of 9 people with varied interests and abilities.