AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wilderness Scotland

Wilderness Scotland Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wilderness Scotland

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 848
Good 21
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 869
Reviews Accepted: 868
Reviews Rejected: 1
868 reviews
Sort by:
Self Guided: The Great Glen Way by Linney, 3 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Self Guided Hike for the Great Glen Way

Everything was great. The company provided information for the hike and getting to our lodgings. All the places we stayed were wonderful and the food was great. The Scottish Highlands are so beautiful!

Everything was great. The company provided information for the hike and getting to our lodgings. All the places we stayed were wonderful and the food was great. The Scottish Highlands are so beautiful!

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland worked with us so we were able to still do our hike even after it was postponed by Covid for 2 years. They were so helpful.

Road Cycling: North Coast 500 by Snow, 3 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

NC500 cycling holiday

We had a great cycling adventure along the NC500 in Scotland. Fabulous scenery, great guides, and other cycling enthusiasts really made for a special experience. We highly recommend this trip to any avid cyclist.

We had a great cycling adventure along the NC500 in Scotland. Fabulous scenery, great guides, and other cycling enthusiasts really made for a special experience. We highly recommend this trip to any avid cyclist.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland was able to work with us through all of the Covid delays and answer all of questions from dietary restrictions to Covid restrictions. Great company to deal with.

Wilderness Scotland by Jim, 1 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Family trip to Northern England and Scotland.

We had planned to go to two Scottish castles, but construction at one meant a change to Broughton Hall in England. This ws a very positive change.

We had planned to go to two Scottish castles, but construction at one meant a change to Broughton Hall in England. This ws a very positive change.

Rating for tour operator:

Wonderfully planned. And wonderful people.

Walking - Outer Hebrides & Skye by DEL, 30 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Trip with Wilderness Scotland

I did a weeklong hiking trip with Wilderness Scotland on the Isle of Skye and the Isles of Harris and Lewis.

I did a weeklong hiking trip with Wilderness Scotland on the Isle of Skye and the Isles of Harris and Lewis.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland had everything covered -- great hikes, hotel, food, guides and logistics. Highly recommended!

Road Cycling: North Coast 500 by Karin Karen, 30 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant

Beautiful nature, improved my climbing skills, nice group of cyclists, just brilliant!

Beautiful nature, improved my climbing skills, nice group of cyclists, just brilliant!

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised trip, excellent, attentive and enthusiastic guides, good meals and hotels on great spots. Stunning views!

Road Cycling - Outer Hebrides by DavidS, 29 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic fun on the Outer Hebrides Road Bike adventure

Guided trip on road bikes along the entire length of the Outer Hebrides, from Vatersay to the Butt of Lewis. Fantastic scenery, wildlife, and an overall sense of adventure on the journey. What a trip!

Guided trip on road bikes along the entire length of the Outer Hebrides, from Vatersay to the Butt of Lewis. Fantastic scenery, wildlife, and an overall sense of adventure on the journey. What a trip!

Rating for tour operator:

WS make this type of adventure trip their own. Very well organised, no sense of glitch or panic, even when there are ferries to catch and other minor logistics problems to deal with. Just unflappable.

Road Cycling - The 5 Countries by Danny P. , 29 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

The 5 Country Tour was nothing short of a delight.

There is no better way to see the lovely coasts and countryside of the British Isles. The accommodations were wonderful, and the routes well thought out. The days were timed splendidly and the trip flowed nicely.

There is no better way to see the lovely coasts and countryside of the British Isles. The accommodations were wonderful, and the routes well thought out. The days were timed splendidly and the trip flowed nicely.

Rating for tour operator:

Will and Neil shepherded our large group expertly, and did everything they could to make our experience a delight. They were knowledgeable and thoughtful!

Sea Kayaking Introduction Course by Mush, 27 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the lochs with great bonnie lassies

We had a great group of 8 over 55 women. At 70, I was the most experienced kayaker - but not at sea. Others had never even been in one. We started off slow, then as we learned, went further out into or beyond the loch and practiced our new skills. Our guides were the best ever and I'd probably go anywhere with them. The women were mature, fun, adventure seeking and fabulously supportive. Everybody got along great. Others in the UK or ...

We had a great group of 8 over 55 women. At 70, I was the most experienced kayaker - but not at sea. Others had never even been in one. We started off slow, then as we learned, went further out into or beyond the loch and practiced our new skills. Our guides were the best ever and I'd probably go anywhere with them. The women were mature, fun, adventure seeking and fabulously supportive. Everybody got along great. Others in the UK or Scotland will keep in touch - I being the only one from the USA am not quite so lucky! The scenery was magnificent, whether on the water, driving in the van, or looking out from the restaurant window. I'd improve a little on the Scottish food but I won't go into that here! I now know how to turn my boat faster and would love to have a kayak like those we used in addition to the touring one I have.

Rating for tour operator:

Stewart was knowledgeable, attentive to each and every last one of us, picked up if we might need some help or advice, towed us if we were too tired or having trouble with a skeg. He led us in a group chat each evening about what we liked during the day, what we found most challenging, and what we looked forward to improving on the next day. Emy his assistant was ever present as well, taking scads of wonderful pictures that we were not able to take the time to take and bringing up the rear or cooking eggs for us in the morning. Both were totally approachable and were in tune with our needs visually and emotionally. Just plain nice people as well. We laughed a lot.

Walking - The Orkney Isles by TooTicky, 23 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful small group experience exploring the Orkneys

A great mix of hiking coastal trails experiencing nature and wildlife and getting to know local history

A great mix of hiking coastal trails experiencing nature and wildlife and getting to know local history

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland arranged small group tours in various parts of Scotland with a tour leader

Canoeing - River Spey Descent by Jo, 21 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

Incredible experience

A chance to connect with a stunning part of the world and push your boundaries. Amazing

A chance to connect with a stunning part of the world and push your boundaries. Amazing

Rating for tour operator:

Knowledgeable. Incredibly hardworking. Dedicated. Responsible. Caring and thoughtful.