AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wilderness Scotland

Wilderness Scotland Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wilderness Scotland

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1021
Good 26
Average 1
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 1048
Reviews Accepted: 1047
Reviews Rejected: 1
1047 reviews
Sort by:
Self Guided: West Highland Way by MikeB, 13 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

West Highland Way self guided

Bucket list to do a multi day walk in Scotland

Bucket list to do a multi day walk in Scotland

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland were very helpful in meeting our needs and providing useful advice on planning the trip. When the time came to embark we had all the information we needed and every check in went smoothly.

Walking - Cairngorms & Deeside by Anna a curious traveler, 10 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Cairngorms National Park & Royal Deeside trip with Wilderness Scotland: Immersion in landscape and history

The small group and focused itinerary that did not require endless driving time was very important. The choice of walking areas introduced us to a wonderful variety of Cairngorms ecosystems and geography. Time spent walking and immersed in the landscape was essential for our experience.

The small group and focused itinerary that did not require endless driving time was very important. The choice of walking areas introduced us to a wonderful variety of Cairngorms ecosystems and geography. Time spent walking and immersed in the landscape was essential for our experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Both Wilderness Scotland and our Guide were professional, efficient and quick to replay and answered questions before the tour and during. I felt like we were in safe and knowledgeable hands and was able to relax and enjoy the experience.

Walking - Outer Hebrides & Skye by Ann A, 10 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Hiking the Hebrides

We did a family trip hiking on the Isles of Skye and Harris. Every day brought a new outdoor adventure, complete with wild weather, fantastic hikes and views, and exploration of the islands. We loved every minute of it.

We did a family trip hiking on the Isles of Skye and Harris. Every day brought a new outdoor adventure, complete with wild weather, fantastic hikes and views, and exploration of the islands. We loved every minute of it.

Rating for tour operator:

If there was such a thing as a perfect guide, Craig Tweedie of Wilderness Scotland would be it!

Wilderness Scotland by Flutterby, 9 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely Fabulous

For a group of friends who enjoy being outdoors it is hard to imagine any more delightful vacation. Stunning scenery of majestic peaks, roaring rivers, waterfalls and verdant valleys speckled with white sheep. We were incredibly fortunate to have good weather making our hikes all the more enjoyable.

For a group of friends who enjoy being outdoors it is hard to imagine any more delightful vacation. Stunning scenery of majestic peaks, roaring rivers, waterfalls and verdant valleys speckled with white sheep. We were incredibly fortunate to have good weather making our hikes all the more enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator:

Professional, talented, incredibly knowledgeable about the region’s natural world and history. Great educator.

Walking - The West Highland Way by Allison, 8 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

West Highland Way hike

Hiked the West Highland Way

Hiked the West Highland Way

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland was a wonderful, responsive tour operator who listened to our needs and designed a door to door trip for us. Luggage was taken care of, food was included and great route guides were provided. I highly recommend Jane Gilles from Wilderness Scotland.

Walking - The Isle of Skye by JTRVA, 7 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

hiking in the Highlands

1week hiking trip isle ok skye

1week hiking trip isle ok skye

Rating for tour operator:

wonderful guide. great hikes. lots of fun

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by KS, 7 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Assent walking

It was a walking tour of the Assynt region of Scotland. Unfortunately the weather was terrible so we couldn't complete the hikes on the itinerary.

It was a walking tour of the Assynt region of Scotland. Unfortunately the weather was terrible so we couldn't complete the hikes on the itinerary.

Rating for tour operator:

Smart, capable, flexible, competent, friendly, professional.

Wilderness Scotland by DK, 6 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Hiking the Scottish Highlands

We booked a 5 day hiking tour with Wilderness Scotland. We hiked daily and stayed at a local hotel in Fort Augustus.

We booked a 5 day hiking tour with Wilderness Scotland. We hiked daily and stayed at a local hotel in Fort Augustus.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland did an excellent job. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, helpful and good humored.

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by SNG, 6 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Wilds of Assynt hiking

Seven days hiking in the northern Highlands, women's only group based in Ullapool for one week

Seven days hiking in the northern Highlands, women's only group based in Ullapool for one week

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland was amazing, our guide was very laid back, organised, patient and organised hikes that all the group could complete

Self Guided: West Highland Way by Al and Noreen, 6 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Excellent West Highland Way self guided walking tour

We had an absolutely enjoyable experience despite the finest Scottish weather that was thrown at us. We managed to book our trip during the middle of a severe weather front that provided cold, blustery conditions throughout the week. There was a day or two of sunshine but aside from that every day was full on rain gear and warm clothes. The scenery was beyond any imaginable expectation. I reluctantly put my camera away as each new turn brought ...

We had an absolutely enjoyable experience despite the finest Scottish weather that was thrown at us. We managed to book our trip during the middle of a severe weather front that provided cold, blustery conditions throughout the week. There was a day or two of sunshine but aside from that every day was full on rain gear and warm clothes. The scenery was beyond any imaginable expectation. I reluctantly put my camera away as each new turn brought forth stunning images. We planned for every weather condition and were very glad we did. The Highlands are an area that should be seen by all. Even late in the season, there were a fair number of walkers but, we never felt the trail was too crowded, most days we were all alone on the trail.

Rating for tour operator:

We booked through Wilderness Scotland. They provided excellent communication, direction and follow up, before, during and after our trip. The accommodations were first rate and exceeded our expectations. Daily summaries were provided for each town and included turn by turn directions to our B&B/Hotel. Restaurant options and whether or not reservations were suggested or required. Local hospital/healthcare information with contact information. A brief historical account of the areas we would be walking in. During trip contact information. We most highly recommend Wilderness Scotland for your trip/planning needs.