AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Undiscovered Destinations

Undiscovered Destinations Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Undiscovered Destinations

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 175
Good 23
Average 1
Poor 0
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 200
Reviews Accepted: 200
Reviews Rejected: 0
200 reviews
Sort by:
Oman - Desert to the coast by Sheila, 21 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Oman

We had a 7 day tour which included watching gree turtles come up on the beach at night to lay their eggs, a stay in the desert, and visits to the historical places in the mountainous centre of Oman. Very varied.

We had a 7 day tour which included watching gree turtles come up on the beach at night to lay their eggs, a stay in the desert, and visits to the historical places in the mountainous centre of Oman. Very varied.

Rating for tour operator:

Professional, welcoming, knowledgeable

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 22 Oct 2014:

Thank you for your feedback.

Ethiopia - Historic Ethiopia by Reddragon, 21 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

A fascinating trip to a country with so much to offer

It was the historic parts of Ethiopia, including Lalibela, Tigray, Axum,Gondar. Many churches castles and lots of history. Very hectic and much travelling but it was a fascinating trip to a country that has huge potential for tourism once the infrastructure is improved. Excellent organisation on our trip, all went without a hitch.

It was the historic parts of Ethiopia, including Lalibela, Tigray, Axum,Gondar. Many churches castles and lots of history. Very hectic and much travelling but it was a fascinating trip to a country that has huge potential for tourism once the infrastructure is improved. Excellent organisation on our trip, all went without a hitch.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation all the way through with Undiscovered Destination and Jacaranda as the local company.

Undiscovered Destinations by Mr K O 14, 9 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Very Good

Well panned itinerary, good accommodation, vehicles, drivers, guide and Vegetarian food highly satisfactory.

Well panned itinerary, good accommodation, vehicles, drivers, guide and Vegetarian food highly satisfactory.

Rating for tour operator:

All qerries were promptly answered. Everything on or before time like LOI, and other useful information.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 09 Oct 2014:

Thank you for the feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed the Turkmenistan Encompassed tour. all the best.

Undiscovered Destinations by Mr M D 14, 30 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Heart of the Silk Road: Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan and Tajikistan

This holiday was chosen because apart from Samarkand, Bukhar and Khiva it also included Turkmenistan and Tajikistan. Itinerary was good and sites were excellent. However, it was not clear why Termez was included as we saw nothing there after a cramped journey of 280 miles (see below) and a further journey the following day of 170 miles to Dushanbe in the same vehicle.

This holiday was chosen because apart from Samarkand, Bukhar and Khiva it also included Turkmenistan and Tajikistan. Itinerary was good and sites were excellent. However, it was not clear why Termez was included as we saw nothing there after a cramped journey of 280 miles (see below) and a further journey the following day of 170 miles to Dushanbe in the same vehicle.

Rating for tour operator:

UK operator, Undiscovered Destinations, carried out its function efficiently and did all it could to make it a memorable experience. Flight bookings were carried out to my exact requirements. UK operator was excellent. The fact that I have used this UK operator for a few years now shows that I am well satisfied with the service it provides - some of these journeys have been tailor made. However, the local tour operator in Uzbekistan etc had only reserved a single room at most locations in spite of the single suplement. UK operator specified twin. In Ashgabat (Margush hotel) a claustrophobic single was all that was available so I had to pay $100 cash to have the only other room available (suite). It was necessary to press the local guide to get the rooms changed. This is unfair on the guides. Vehicles were generally good but for 2 long journeys: Samarkand to Termez and then on to Dushanbe the next day; 3 people + driver + guide were crammed into a standard saloon car with luggage filling the boot, the rear parcel shelf and on the floor. It was totally unsuitable - particularly for 3 people aged about 70 who need to have room to keep their joints moving. Guides in Turkmenistan and Tajikistan were excellent but in Uzbekistan the guide was inexperienced (age 21), was often late and had to be pushed to give us a reasonable service.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 02 Oct 2014:

Hi, thank you for your feedback and positive comments. We are aware that the journey via Termez to Dushanbe is a long couple of days. Ideally we would cross in to Tajikistan near to Samarkand and we would not travel this route but as the border is closed at the Samarkand crossing, this is the only option available to cross overland. We do mention the long drives in the tour dossier but accept that this needs to have a greater emphasis and made clearer to travellers on the tour. We will carry out a full review of the routing to see if there is a better way to cover the three countries.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 02 Oct 2014:

Thank you and we look forward to you travelling with us again.

Undiscovered Destinations by Mrs M P 14, 30 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Touring holiday

Good accommodation, good transport, excellent local guide. To be recommended.

Good accommodation, good transport, excellent local guide. To be recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered Destinations, trips off the beaten track that are suitable not only for youngsters but suitable for any reasonably fit adult. Very well planned and executed.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 01 Oct 2014:

Thank you for your feedback

Secrets of Madagascar by Trail, 26 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

SECRETS OF MADAGASCAR

An excellent experience to discover such an exotic place, unique culture and wonderful, charming people. Madagascar is a charming country.

An excellent experience to discover such an exotic place, unique culture and wonderful, charming people. Madagascar is a charming country.

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered Destinations provided us with prompt, reliable information and helped us find the kind of tour we were searching for. They were efficient and friendly and a pleasure to work with. I would recommend them to others and would consider using them again.

Undiscovered Destinations by Happy Kiwi, 23 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Discovery of a hitherto area of mystery

Offerred a focus on the historical and cultural aspects of Georgia and Armenia

Offerred a focus on the historical and cultural aspects of Georgia and Armenia

Rating for tour operator:

Both were very helpful, knowledgeable and accommodating.

Romania - Land that Time Forgot by US Traveler, 13 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful Romanian Adventure

There is no doubt that the best part of our holiday was that we were fortunate to have Andrei as our guide. He was fantastic and always went that bit extra to make what is a great tour into a fantastic tour. He was friendly, efficient, extremely knowledgeable and was proud to be Romanian so that journeying through the country was a delight. Consequently, there were too many highlights for us to single out any one experience as the most memorable...

There is no doubt that the best part of our holiday was that we were fortunate to have Andrei as our guide. He was fantastic and always went that bit extra to make what is a great tour into a fantastic tour. He was friendly, efficient, extremely knowledgeable and was proud to be Romanian so that journeying through the country was a delight. Consequently, there were too many highlights for us to single out any one experience as the most memorable. Every day was memorable and for all the right reasons. However, if forced to name one best attribute of the holiday as the most memorable, it would have to be the home stays and the opportunities it offers to meet the "real" Romanians and some very interesting fellow travellers.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent.

Undiscovered Destinations by Intrepid traveller from South-West London, 9 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan, along the Pamir Highway

A great trip to a remote, little-known area. Stunning scenery.

A great trip to a remote, little-known area. Stunning scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered Destinations provide an efficient service and personal attention that is rare in the mass markets of today.

Secrets of Madagascar by L.Fuller, 8 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Madagascar

We travelled with Patrick then Ghislaine who were both excellent, extremely friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Nothing was too much trouble, they were attentive and very sensitive to our needs. The whole trip felt as if we were travelling with good friends. Patrick in particular was outstanding. We should also mention our drivers Giorgio and Mami who were equally excellent in their roles. The high standard of accommodation was a real ...

We travelled with Patrick then Ghislaine who were both excellent, extremely friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Nothing was too much trouble, they were attentive and very sensitive to our needs. The whole trip felt as if we were travelling with good friends. Patrick in particular was outstanding. We should also mention our drivers Giorgio and Mami who were equally excellent in their roles. The high standard of accommodation was a real surprise and very welcome. Anyone who thinks that they will have to lower their standards to travel in Madagascar will be pleasantly surprised, we felt that standards were at least as good as Africa. We have travelled a great deal and Madagascar has proved to be one of our favourite destinations. The people, the wildlife, the countryside were all fantastic.

Rating for tour operator:

Very Satisfied

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 08 Aug 2014:

Thank you for such positive feedback. We will pass this on to the team in Madagascar.