AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Undiscovered Destinations

Undiscovered Destinations Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Undiscovered Destinations

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 171
Good 23
Average 1
Poor 0
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 196
Reviews Accepted: 196
Reviews Rejected: 0
196 reviews
Sort by:
Undiscovered Destinations by Mrs M P 14, 30 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Touring holiday

Good accommodation, good transport, excellent local guide. To be recommended.

Good accommodation, good transport, excellent local guide. To be recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered Destinations, trips off the beaten track that are suitable not only for youngsters but suitable for any reasonably fit adult. Very well planned and executed.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 01 Oct 2014:

Thank you for your feedback

Secrets of Madagascar by Trail, 26 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

SECRETS OF MADAGASCAR

An excellent experience to discover such an exotic place, unique culture and wonderful, charming people. Madagascar is a charming country.

An excellent experience to discover such an exotic place, unique culture and wonderful, charming people. Madagascar is a charming country.

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered Destinations provided us with prompt, reliable information and helped us find the kind of tour we were searching for. They were efficient and friendly and a pleasure to work with. I would recommend them to others and would consider using them again.

Undiscovered Destinations by Happy Kiwi, 23 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Discovery of a hitherto area of mystery

Offerred a focus on the historical and cultural aspects of Georgia and Armenia

Offerred a focus on the historical and cultural aspects of Georgia and Armenia

Rating for tour operator:

Both were very helpful, knowledgeable and accommodating.

Romania - Land that Time Forgot by US Traveler, 13 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful Romanian Adventure

There is no doubt that the best part of our holiday was that we were fortunate to have Andrei as our guide. He was fantastic and always went that bit extra to make what is a great tour into a fantastic tour. He was friendly, efficient, extremely knowledgeable and was proud to be Romanian so that journeying through the country was a delight. Consequently, there were too many highlights for us to single out any one experience as the most memorable...

There is no doubt that the best part of our holiday was that we were fortunate to have Andrei as our guide. He was fantastic and always went that bit extra to make what is a great tour into a fantastic tour. He was friendly, efficient, extremely knowledgeable and was proud to be Romanian so that journeying through the country was a delight. Consequently, there were too many highlights for us to single out any one experience as the most memorable. Every day was memorable and for all the right reasons. However, if forced to name one best attribute of the holiday as the most memorable, it would have to be the home stays and the opportunities it offers to meet the "real" Romanians and some very interesting fellow travellers.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent.

Undiscovered Destinations by Intrepid traveller from South-West London, 9 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan, along the Pamir Highway

A great trip to a remote, little-known area. Stunning scenery.

A great trip to a remote, little-known area. Stunning scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered Destinations provide an efficient service and personal attention that is rare in the mass markets of today.

Secrets of Madagascar by L.Fuller, 8 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Madagascar

We travelled with Patrick then Ghislaine who were both excellent, extremely friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Nothing was too much trouble, they were attentive and very sensitive to our needs. The whole trip felt as if we were travelling with good friends. Patrick in particular was outstanding. We should also mention our drivers Giorgio and Mami who were equally excellent in their roles. The high standard of accommodation was a real ...

We travelled with Patrick then Ghislaine who were both excellent, extremely friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Nothing was too much trouble, they were attentive and very sensitive to our needs. The whole trip felt as if we were travelling with good friends. Patrick in particular was outstanding. We should also mention our drivers Giorgio and Mami who were equally excellent in their roles. The high standard of accommodation was a real surprise and very welcome. Anyone who thinks that they will have to lower their standards to travel in Madagascar will be pleasantly surprised, we felt that standards were at least as good as Africa. We have travelled a great deal and Madagascar has proved to be one of our favourite destinations. The people, the wildlife, the countryside were all fantastic.

Rating for tour operator:

Very Satisfied

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 08 Aug 2014:

Thank you for such positive feedback. We will pass this on to the team in Madagascar.

Russia - Kamchatka Discovery by world Rambler, 7 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

KAMCHATKA, Russia

The trip lived up to the description given in the brochure. What we could not do was due to forces of nature, ie, the weather. We were met and provided with all the necessary aids that were listed in the dossier. Transport was good; in fact the local ground staff could not be faulted. Overall, we were happy with the trip

The trip lived up to the description given in the brochure. What we could not do was due to forces of nature, ie, the weather. We were met and provided with all the necessary aids that were listed in the dossier. Transport was good; in fact the local ground staff could not be faulted. Overall, we were happy with the trip

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient and supportive where necessary. Provided all information requested in good time. Friendly and communicative. Thank you Undiscovered Destinations.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 08 Aug 2014:

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed this spectacular region.

Undiscovered Destinations by Antina, 31 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Was it true or just a dream?

I paste here just a few thought that I wrote in my diary during the trip. There would be thousands of things to say about Sulawesi, but the very first is that I felt to be at home! I kept travelling from south to north, the landscapes changed quite a lot as well as vegetation, weather, habits, food and traditions...but everywhere I went I met friendly and smiling people. In some villages we have been asked to take a picture with them because ...

I paste here just a few thought that I wrote in my diary during the trip. There would be thousands of things to say about Sulawesi, but the very first is that I felt to be at home! I kept travelling from south to north, the landscapes changed quite a lot as well as vegetation, weather, habits, food and traditions...but everywhere I went I met friendly and smiling people. In some villages we have been asked to take a picture with them because they meet tourists very rarely! I was very lucky this time, more than ever, with the travel agency (UK and local ones) I contacted. They really do eco tourism, that means that we are out of the track of massive tourism and away from "all inclusive resorts". We visit villages that we reach on foot and we eat in their houses with them. Of course they have been trained about hygienic so that we don`t put ourselves under risks. And, at least so far, we enjoyed always their food without any problem or consequences. Our guide, Meriba, love his job and his country; he is also very smart with a long experience and, above all, a wise man. This combination gives him something special that he makes concrete in taking us into his world, natural and extra natural. So in a place he gives us information, but he also adds the philosophy or the religious belief that are beyond what we see. In Kambira, we visited a sacred place in the forest that had a high bread tree in the middle. That was the children tree. In fact, Toraja people buried, since five ago, the babies (age: when they died without teeth) in its trunk. They made a hole for each dead child, put him-her in the position that they had inside the mother, that closed it with a special wood and leaves. Toraja believe that these children through the tree reach quickly the Heaven and become angels. It was so moving... The colours that prevailed were light green for the rice fields, the dark green of the forest... huge thick forests, the blue with plenty of nuances of the ocean. I think that they do work as they do in chrome therapy because I feel so calm and in peace, deeply in peace with myself.

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered Destinations: very professional. I got all the answers as soon as I asked. I was very well informed before travelling. When I needed some changes of the programme, I was contacted by phone in order to make the things easier. I had no problems at all. Thank you very much to all the staff.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 05 Aug 2014:

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We will pass these on to Meriba.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 05 Aug 2014:

Thank you. At Undiscovered Destinations, we aim to make your trip run as simply and smoothly as possible.

Undiscovered Destinations by Travelling Lady, 24 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

An amazing experience

Torajaland in Sulawesi was an amazing experience: the intense culture as well as the stunning architecture. I enjoyed every moment of it. Thanks to the flexibility and connections of the guide, I was able to take part in the last two days of a typical Toraja funeral. A memory for life. The whole trip passed through beautiful landscapes. Sulawesi is definitely a place which so much to explore that you feel that you want to return even before ...

Torajaland in Sulawesi was an amazing experience: the intense culture as well as the stunning architecture. I enjoyed every moment of it. Thanks to the flexibility and connections of the guide, I was able to take part in the last two days of a typical Toraja funeral. A memory for life. The whole trip passed through beautiful landscapes. Sulawesi is definitely a place which so much to explore that you feel that you want to return even before you have left the island.

Rating for tour operator:

I particularly appreciated the help with identifying domestic air travel to tie my entire itinerary together, of which only a part was organized by UD. This help was invaluable.

Undiscovered Destinations by Kiboko, 17 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

A unique adventure rather than a holiday to an area that might change forever

We travelled from Nairobi north to the Samburu NP and then on to Marsabit. From Marsabit, we travelled across the Chalbi Desert via Kalacha to Siboloi on the northern shores of Lake Turkana. We then headed south to Loyangalani and on to the Mara NP via Maralal, Baringo, Bagoria, Nakuru and Naivasha. The area in north western Kenya will change forever. Oil, a dubious resource, has been discovered in the area and the Chinese have proposed a railway ...

We travelled from Nairobi north to the Samburu NP and then on to Marsabit. From Marsabit, we travelled across the Chalbi Desert via Kalacha to Siboloi on the northern shores of Lake Turkana. We then headed south to Loyangalani and on to the Mara NP via Maralal, Baringo, Bagoria, Nakuru and Naivasha. The area in north western Kenya will change forever. Oil, a dubious resource, has been discovered in the area and the Chinese have proposed a railway through the region to South Sudan and then further south to Burundi. I found the area, the people and the wild-life in the Lake Turkana and Chalbi Desert region of north-western Kenya, fascinating.

Rating for tour operator:

I have been on 3 tours with Undiscovered Destinations and have always been satisfied.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 17 Jul 2014:

This really is one of our most pioneering tours and is truly special.