AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Undiscovered Destinations

Undiscovered Destinations Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Undiscovered Destinations

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 171
Good 23
Average 1
Poor 0
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 196
Reviews Accepted: 196
Reviews Rejected: 0
196 reviews
Sort by:
Burma – Beyond the Tourist Trail by Ali W, 25 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Myanmar private group tour

wonderful visit to the main tourist spots in Myanmar plus a few other places that our parents and grandparents lived

wonderful visit to the main tourist spots in Myanmar plus a few other places that our parents and grandparents lived

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered destinations in UK and Khiri Travel in Myanmar. Both very efficient, helpful and reliable.

Secrets of Madagascar by CK78, 2 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful trip

Just as advertised. A diverse island with unique endemic species.

Just as advertised. A diverse island with unique endemic species.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent, exceptional service particularly in multiple rearrangements due to Air France strike . Good local operators who were able to be flexible and adaptive.

Iran -Treasures of Persia by mightymouse, 30 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

A Fabulous Middle Eastern Experience

Iran is a country well worth visiting. It has some wonderful historical sites and the people are friendly and hospitable. The food is varied with a choice for all dietary requirements. The women are fashion conscious and not all wear full length black chadors. On arrival, we bought a mantor which is a tunic that falls below the knee and wore a head scarf everywhere except within our own room or private houses. All colours of clothing are ...

Iran is a country well worth visiting. It has some wonderful historical sites and the people are friendly and hospitable. The food is varied with a choice for all dietary requirements. The women are fashion conscious and not all wear full length black chadors. On arrival, we bought a mantor which is a tunic that falls below the knee and wore a head scarf everywhere except within our own room or private houses. All colours of clothing are acceptable but out of respect to the people, skirts should have long sleeves and accompany either trousers or long skirt. Make up and nail polish can also we worn. Once there, it is not expensive but the currency needs some time to get the head around. Credit and debit cards are generally not acceptable but some credit cards are accepted in the bazaars and shops for more costly items such as carpets and jewellery.

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered Destinations was very efficient, friendly and knowledgeable about their holidays. I will certainly use them again.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 30 Oct 2014:

Some excellent advice for female travellers, thank you.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 30 Oct 2014:

Thank you for your kind comments.

Secrets of Madagascar by Tags Along, 30 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Far more of an adventure than a holiday

A very enjoyable time . We underestimated the travel time between different areas and with hindsight would not choose to be driven for 10-12 hours on any day (the striking Air France pilots added to our problems, meaning we had to occasionally travel by road rather than fly). Madagascar is a country of great contrasts and at the end of the day the long travelling time did mean we saw much of the island as we wanted to. Four nights on two separate ...

A very enjoyable time . We underestimated the travel time between different areas and with hindsight would not choose to be driven for 10-12 hours on any day (the striking Air France pilots added to our problems, meaning we had to occasionally travel by road rather than fly). Madagascar is a country of great contrasts and at the end of the day the long travelling time did mean we saw much of the island as we wanted to. Four nights on two separate beaches at the end of our adventure was needed and fantastic!

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered Distinations did everything possible to meet our requirements and were very helpful when AIr France cancelled our flights 24 hours before we were due to leave.

Undiscovered Destinations by Explorer007, 24 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Turkmenistan was a fascinating country to visit

15 day tour of Turkmenistan with Undiscovered Destinations. From the white marble buildings of Ashgabat, to camping around the burning gas crater at Darwaza, to luxury hotel by the Caspian Sea, to exploring dinosaur footprints in the Kugitang mountains, to meeting some fabulous welcoming locals, exploring the sights - the mosques, architecture, history, bazaars, to relaxing in the hot springs in Kowata Underground Lake, to the stunning scenery ...

15 day tour of Turkmenistan with Undiscovered Destinations. From the white marble buildings of Ashgabat, to camping around the burning gas crater at Darwaza, to luxury hotel by the Caspian Sea, to exploring dinosaur footprints in the Kugitang mountains, to meeting some fabulous welcoming locals, exploring the sights - the mosques, architecture, history, bazaars, to relaxing in the hot springs in Kowata Underground Lake, to the stunning scenery in the Balkan Mountains and Yangikala Canyons. A trip I will always remember.

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered Destinations

Oman - Desert to the coast by Jan, 23 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic experience

We travelled to Oman. We spent 6 days touring with a private guide and then 5 days in a 5/ star hotel. It was an amazing experience and somewhere we would never have thought of going without the advice of Undiscovered Destinations. We were able to experience real Omani culture, see turtles, spend a night in the dessert and just enjoy this beautiful country.

We travelled to Oman. We spent 6 days touring with a private guide and then 5 days in a 5/ star hotel. It was an amazing experience and somewhere we would never have thought of going without the advice of Undiscovered Destinations. We were able to experience real Omani culture, see turtles, spend a night in the dessert and just enjoy this beautiful country.

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered destination were extremely knowledgable about the holiday we took and were very professional in all their dealings with us.

Oman - Desert to the coast by Sheila, 21 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Oman

We had a 7 day tour which included watching gree turtles come up on the beach at night to lay their eggs, a stay in the desert, and visits to the historical places in the mountainous centre of Oman. Very varied.

We had a 7 day tour which included watching gree turtles come up on the beach at night to lay their eggs, a stay in the desert, and visits to the historical places in the mountainous centre of Oman. Very varied.

Rating for tour operator:

Professional, welcoming, knowledgeable

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 22 Oct 2014:

Thank you for your feedback.

Ethiopia - Historic Ethiopia by Reddragon, 21 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

A fascinating trip to a country with so much to offer

It was the historic parts of Ethiopia, including Lalibela, Tigray, Axum,Gondar. Many churches castles and lots of history. Very hectic and much travelling but it was a fascinating trip to a country that has huge potential for tourism once the infrastructure is improved. Excellent organisation on our trip, all went without a hitch.

It was the historic parts of Ethiopia, including Lalibela, Tigray, Axum,Gondar. Many churches castles and lots of history. Very hectic and much travelling but it was a fascinating trip to a country that has huge potential for tourism once the infrastructure is improved. Excellent organisation on our trip, all went without a hitch.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation all the way through with Undiscovered Destination and Jacaranda as the local company.

Undiscovered Destinations by Mr K O 14, 9 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Very Good

Well panned itinerary, good accommodation, vehicles, drivers, guide and Vegetarian food highly satisfactory.

Well panned itinerary, good accommodation, vehicles, drivers, guide and Vegetarian food highly satisfactory.

Rating for tour operator:

All qerries were promptly answered. Everything on or before time like LOI, and other useful information.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 09 Oct 2014:

Thank you for the feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed the Turkmenistan Encompassed tour. all the best.

Undiscovered Destinations by Mr M D 14, 30 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Heart of the Silk Road: Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan and Tajikistan

This holiday was chosen because apart from Samarkand, Bukhar and Khiva it also included Turkmenistan and Tajikistan. Itinerary was good and sites were excellent. However, it was not clear why Termez was included as we saw nothing there after a cramped journey of 280 miles (see below) and a further journey the following day of 170 miles to Dushanbe in the same vehicle.

This holiday was chosen because apart from Samarkand, Bukhar and Khiva it also included Turkmenistan and Tajikistan. Itinerary was good and sites were excellent. However, it was not clear why Termez was included as we saw nothing there after a cramped journey of 280 miles (see below) and a further journey the following day of 170 miles to Dushanbe in the same vehicle.

Rating for tour operator:

UK operator, Undiscovered Destinations, carried out its function efficiently and did all it could to make it a memorable experience. Flight bookings were carried out to my exact requirements. UK operator was excellent. The fact that I have used this UK operator for a few years now shows that I am well satisfied with the service it provides - some of these journeys have been tailor made. However, the local tour operator in Uzbekistan etc had only reserved a single room at most locations in spite of the single suplement. UK operator specified twin. In Ashgabat (Margush hotel) a claustrophobic single was all that was available so I had to pay $100 cash to have the only other room available (suite). It was necessary to press the local guide to get the rooms changed. This is unfair on the guides. Vehicles were generally good but for 2 long journeys: Samarkand to Termez and then on to Dushanbe the next day; 3 people + driver + guide were crammed into a standard saloon car with luggage filling the boot, the rear parcel shelf and on the floor. It was totally unsuitable - particularly for 3 people aged about 70 who need to have room to keep their joints moving. Guides in Turkmenistan and Tajikistan were excellent but in Uzbekistan the guide was inexperienced (age 21), was often late and had to be pushed to give us a reasonable service.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 02 Oct 2014:

Hi, thank you for your feedback and positive comments. We are aware that the journey via Termez to Dushanbe is a long couple of days. Ideally we would cross in to Tajikistan near to Samarkand and we would not travel this route but as the border is closed at the Samarkand crossing, this is the only option available to cross overland. We do mention the long drives in the tour dossier but accept that this needs to have a greater emphasis and made clearer to travellers on the tour. We will carry out a full review of the routing to see if there is a better way to cover the three countries.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 02 Oct 2014:

Thank you and we look forward to you travelling with us again.