AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Undiscovered Destinations

Undiscovered Destinations Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Undiscovered Destinations

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 174
Good 23
Average 1
Poor 0
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 199
Reviews Accepted: 199
Reviews Rejected: 0
199 reviews
Sort by:
Undiscovered Destinations by Antina, 31 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Was it true or just a dream?

I paste here just a few thought that I wrote in my diary during the trip. There would be thousands of things to say about Sulawesi, but the very first is that I felt to be at home! I kept travelling from south to north, the landscapes changed quite a lot as well as vegetation, weather, habits, food and traditions...but everywhere I went I met friendly and smiling people. In some villages we have been asked to take a picture with them because ...

I paste here just a few thought that I wrote in my diary during the trip. There would be thousands of things to say about Sulawesi, but the very first is that I felt to be at home! I kept travelling from south to north, the landscapes changed quite a lot as well as vegetation, weather, habits, food and traditions...but everywhere I went I met friendly and smiling people. In some villages we have been asked to take a picture with them because they meet tourists very rarely! I was very lucky this time, more than ever, with the travel agency (UK and local ones) I contacted. They really do eco tourism, that means that we are out of the track of massive tourism and away from "all inclusive resorts". We visit villages that we reach on foot and we eat in their houses with them. Of course they have been trained about hygienic so that we don`t put ourselves under risks. And, at least so far, we enjoyed always their food without any problem or consequences. Our guide, Meriba, love his job and his country; he is also very smart with a long experience and, above all, a wise man. This combination gives him something special that he makes concrete in taking us into his world, natural and extra natural. So in a place he gives us information, but he also adds the philosophy or the religious belief that are beyond what we see. In Kambira, we visited a sacred place in the forest that had a high bread tree in the middle. That was the children tree. In fact, Toraja people buried, since five ago, the babies (age: when they died without teeth) in its trunk. They made a hole for each dead child, put him-her in the position that they had inside the mother, that closed it with a special wood and leaves. Toraja believe that these children through the tree reach quickly the Heaven and become angels. It was so moving... The colours that prevailed were light green for the rice fields, the dark green of the forest... huge thick forests, the blue with plenty of nuances of the ocean. I think that they do work as they do in chrome therapy because I feel so calm and in peace, deeply in peace with myself.

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered Destinations: very professional. I got all the answers as soon as I asked. I was very well informed before travelling. When I needed some changes of the programme, I was contacted by phone in order to make the things easier. I had no problems at all. Thank you very much to all the staff.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 05 Aug 2014:

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We will pass these on to Meriba.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 05 Aug 2014:

Thank you. At Undiscovered Destinations, we aim to make your trip run as simply and smoothly as possible.

Undiscovered Destinations by Travelling Lady, 24 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

An amazing experience

Torajaland in Sulawesi was an amazing experience: the intense culture as well as the stunning architecture. I enjoyed every moment of it. Thanks to the flexibility and connections of the guide, I was able to take part in the last two days of a typical Toraja funeral. A memory for life. The whole trip passed through beautiful landscapes. Sulawesi is definitely a place which so much to explore that you feel that you want to return even before ...

Torajaland in Sulawesi was an amazing experience: the intense culture as well as the stunning architecture. I enjoyed every moment of it. Thanks to the flexibility and connections of the guide, I was able to take part in the last two days of a typical Toraja funeral. A memory for life. The whole trip passed through beautiful landscapes. Sulawesi is definitely a place which so much to explore that you feel that you want to return even before you have left the island.

Rating for tour operator:

I particularly appreciated the help with identifying domestic air travel to tie my entire itinerary together, of which only a part was organized by UD. This help was invaluable.

Undiscovered Destinations by Kiboko, 17 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

A unique adventure rather than a holiday to an area that might change forever

We travelled from Nairobi north to the Samburu NP and then on to Marsabit. From Marsabit, we travelled across the Chalbi Desert via Kalacha to Siboloi on the northern shores of Lake Turkana. We then headed south to Loyangalani and on to the Mara NP via Maralal, Baringo, Bagoria, Nakuru and Naivasha. The area in north western Kenya will change forever. Oil, a dubious resource, has been discovered in the area and the Chinese have proposed a railway ...

We travelled from Nairobi north to the Samburu NP and then on to Marsabit. From Marsabit, we travelled across the Chalbi Desert via Kalacha to Siboloi on the northern shores of Lake Turkana. We then headed south to Loyangalani and on to the Mara NP via Maralal, Baringo, Bagoria, Nakuru and Naivasha. The area in north western Kenya will change forever. Oil, a dubious resource, has been discovered in the area and the Chinese have proposed a railway through the region to South Sudan and then further south to Burundi. I found the area, the people and the wild-life in the Lake Turkana and Chalbi Desert region of north-western Kenya, fascinating.

Rating for tour operator:

I have been on 3 tours with Undiscovered Destinations and have always been satisfied.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 17 Jul 2014:

This really is one of our most pioneering tours and is truly special.

Secrets of Madagascar by Lisa, 16 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

An excellent experience all round

We have travelled a great deal and Madagascar has proved to be one of our favourite destinations. The people, the wildlife, the countryside were all fantastic. We had lowered our expectations in relation to accommodation/food etc but this turned out to be a highlight.

We have travelled a great deal and Madagascar has proved to be one of our favourite destinations. The people, the wildlife, the countryside were all fantastic. We had lowered our expectations in relation to accommodation/food etc but this turned out to be a highlight.

Rating for tour operator:

We travelled with Patrick then Ghislaine who were both excellent, extremely friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Nothing was too much trouble, they were attentive and very sensitive to our needs. The whole trip felt as if we were travelling with good friends. Patrick in particular was outstanding. We should also mention our drivers Giorgio and Mami who were equally excellent in their roles.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 16 Jul 2014:

Thank you for the feedback. We really appreciate your kind words and have passed these on to our team in Madagascar.

Ethiopia - Historic Ethiopia by Lisa P, 2 Jun 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Memories of Ethiopia

We visited the rock cut churches of lalibela and tigray, waking up in the crisp cool morning in tigray with the gheralta mtns in clear view, right in front of my room in beautiful gheralta lodge, nice evenings by the lake tana - just wonderful

We visited the rock cut churches of lalibela and tigray, waking up in the crisp cool morning in tigray with the gheralta mtns in clear view, right in front of my room in beautiful gheralta lodge, nice evenings by the lake tana - just wonderful

Rating for tour operator:

Second time with UD and just as good as the first - looking at the next trip already

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 02 Jun 2014:

It is one of our favourite destinations - really glad you enjoyed it

Oman - Desert to the coast by Emma's Travels, 25 Apr 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Oman

Myself and two friends travelled with Undiscovered Destinations on the 'Oman - From the Desert to the coast' group tour in March. It was a great experience even when our itinerary had to be modified due to flooding of some of the Wadis, but this only added to the excitement of the tour as we had to cross quite deep water on several occasions. Our guide was excellent, very friendly and took time to explain his culture and religion and helped ...

Myself and two friends travelled with Undiscovered Destinations on the 'Oman - From the Desert to the coast' group tour in March. It was a great experience even when our itinerary had to be modified due to flooding of some of the Wadis, but this only added to the excitement of the tour as we had to cross quite deep water on several occasions. Our guide was excellent, very friendly and took time to explain his culture and religion and helped us with our Arabic.

Rating for tour operator:

Thanks for a fantastic trip and superb organisation.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 25 Apr 2014:

Hi Emma, Thanks for the feedback. We will pass on your feedback to Abhi and the team.

Oman - Desert to the coast by Janice, 8 Apr 2014
Holiday Rating:

A magical Oman desert holiday

We went on Undiscovered Destinations 'Desert to the coast' tour to Oman in March. It was a wonderful experience and a beautiful country. The local guide was very friendly and spoke good English. Our hotels were clean and comfortable but it was the scenery and people that really made the holiday. The country has something for everyone. Our favourite area was Jebel Shams, an amazing location and an adventure to reach.

We went on Undiscovered Destinations 'Desert to the coast' tour to Oman in March. It was a wonderful experience and a beautiful country. The local guide was very friendly and spoke good English. Our hotels were clean and comfortable but it was the scenery and people that really made the holiday. The country has something for everyone. Our favourite area was Jebel Shams, an amazing location and an adventure to reach.

Rating for tour operator:

Knowledgeable and efficient when we booked. Good price compared to other operators and friendly staff. Will use them again.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 08 Apr 2014:

Thank you for the feedback, Oman really is a special destination. We shall pass your comments on to our local team in Muscat and thank you for travelling with us.

Undiscovered Destinations by Silverback, 25 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

A great holiday put together with care, understanding and expert knowledge

We had a tailor-made holiday arranged in Uganda, specifically to see the wildlife. During the holiday, everything went smoothly and as we had expected it to. The highlight of the whole tour was the gorilla trek - a once in a lifetime experience. A wonderful country and very friendly people, we would not hesitate to recommend Uganda or Undiscovered Destinations.

We had a tailor-made holiday arranged in Uganda, specifically to see the wildlife. During the holiday, everything went smoothly and as we had expected it to. The highlight of the whole tour was the gorilla trek - a once in a lifetime experience. A wonderful country and very friendly people, we would not hesitate to recommend Uganda or Undiscovered Destinations.

Rating for tour operator:

We booked with Undiscovered Destinations after approaching a number of different companies offering tours in Uganda. We were impressed with the way they dealt with us from the first enquiry onwards. They listened to what we wanted, explained what was possible and put together a perfect trip within our budget.

Secrets of Madagascar by WildlifeMan, 7 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

Madagascar - Secrets of Madagascar (small group tour)

We have both travelled extensively but this trip was without doubt one of the best holidays we have ever had. Our drivers and local guides were, without exception, highly efficient and knowledgeable.

We have both travelled extensively but this trip was without doubt one of the best holidays we have ever had. Our drivers and local guides were, without exception, highly efficient and knowledgeable.

Rating for tour operator:

From our initial communication with Undiscovered Destinations all of our queries were handled promptly and constructively. We were always treated by yourselves as individuals rather than as simply just another customer.