AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Tribes Travel

Tribes Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Tribes Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 101
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 103
Reviews Accepted: 103
Reviews Rejected: 0
103 reviews
Sort by:
Tribes Travel by Suzy2, 8 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Truely amazing

A self drive holiday to Namibia. We had an amazing tour which was so well planned out for us. The itinerary took us to the most varied sections and each day was spectacular.

A self drive holiday to Namibia. We had an amazing tour which was so well planned out for us. The itinerary took us to the most varied sections and each day was spectacular.

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes were so good from the beginning when I first contacted them. Everything was efficiently organised and any queries I had were quickly dealt with. I felt I was very well looked after throughout. Christine Mcdougal was our link person and she was excellent. The booklet outlining our trip was excellent and included all the information we needed. Car hire was well organised, emergency numbers given etc.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 11 Mar 2019:

What a lovely feedback. Thanks so much Mair. Chris was delighted to be able to help you, and we're so pleased you enjoyed Namibia. It's a gorgeous country!

Tribes Travel by SRD, 4 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

wildlife adventure

Diverse experiences at customer service focused hotels, with informed guides and efficient transfer transportation.

Diverse experiences at customer service focused hotels, with informed guides and efficient transfer transportation.

Rating for tour operator:

We were advised well so no surprises on the holiday. so able to relax with confidence in arrangements, despite high number of transfers on boats, planes and automobiles.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 08 Mar 2019:

Thanks for you feedback Steve. We're very pleased you enjoyed it all!

Classic Costa Rica adventure by FrankN, 26 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Varied Costa Rica

Travelled from Caribbean coastover to the Pacific, visiting 4 national parks. Excellent viewings of wildlife, and wonderful beaches. Only drawbacks were the poor state of many of the roads.

Travelled from Caribbean coastover to the Pacific, visiting 4 national parks. Excellent viewings of wildlife, and wonderful beaches. Only drawbacks were the poor state of many of the roads.

Rating for tour operator:

Very knowledgeable and helpful. Suggested itinerary was excellent, and all travel arrangements worked well.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 08 Mar 2019:

Thanks Frank. Yes, some roads leave a bit to be desired, but Costa Rica is SO worth the odd bit of discomfort as I'm sure you'll agree. Delighted you had a great trip.

Tribes Travel by Nicolas, 24 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

2 weeks trip to Botswana-Zanzibar

This was our honeymoon gateway. We started with 2 camps in Botswana (2x4days in Chobe and in the delta) where we saw a plentiful wildlife, followed by 4-5days in Zanzibar to relax in a paradisiac place by the ocean.

This was our honeymoon gateway. We started with 2 camps in Botswana (2x4days in Chobe and in the delta) where we saw a plentiful wildlife, followed by 4-5days in Zanzibar to relax in a paradisiac place by the ocean.

Rating for tour operator:

We used Tribes to find us gems where we could see wildlife (for safaris) and a place to relax in Zanzibar, while having in mind we wanted a social responsible holiday, not intrusive (in a bad way) and respectful of the beauty of the places we would visit.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 08 Mar 2019:

Thanks for choosing us for such a special trip, and we're really pleased you saw so much and enjoyed it. Best wishes.

Tribes Travel by Jimmy, 12 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife experience

2 weeks in Costa Rica with fabulous birds and other nature walks and hikes

2 weeks in Costa Rica with fabulous birds and other nature walks and hikes

Rating for tour operator:

Everything worked as was promised without a hitch

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 08 Mar 2019:

We always try to keep to our promises! We're so pleased you had a good time!

Tribes Travel by ScillyUs, 11 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fascinating Chile and Rapa Nui

A three-centre trip to Santiago, the Atacama Desert and Rapa Nui, all of which we thoroughly enjoyed.

A three-centre trip to Santiago, the Atacama Desert and Rapa Nui, all of which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our fifth trip organised by Tribes. We are impressed by their ability to suggest enjoyable itineraries that match our interests. On this holiday we had a few hiccups, particularly with internal flights in Chile, but overall we had a great time.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 08 Mar 2019:

Thanks so much Katharine. It's always our pleasure to help you, and I'm really pleased Chile hit the spot, despite a few flight hiccups!

Tribes Travel by KG, 2 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Delhi, Agra and Festivals of Rajasthan

It was a three week tailor-made trip for two, with a driver and car, knowledgeable local guides and great hotels. It took in all the top sights and included Diwali in Jaipur, the horse fair at Bateshwar and the religious and camel fair at Pushkar.

It was a three week tailor-made trip for two, with a driver and car, knowledgeable local guides and great hotels. It took in all the top sights and included Diwali in Jaipur, the horse fair at Bateshwar and the religious and camel fair at Pushkar.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Tribes in the past and have come to expect high standards. We were not disappointed. They constructed an itinerary perfectly suited to our interests and structured in a way that enabled us to accomplish a huge amount without feeling pressured or tired. Their in-country arrangements were excellent, everything went smoothly and we were very well supported throughout.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 04 Dec 2018:

Thanks so much Karen. It's always our pleasure to help you. Taj Mahal at dawn, sitting close to tigers, walking around the Bateshwar horse fair, rickshaw rides in Delhi, seeing where Gandhi spent his last hours ... you really did see some amazing stuff. Thanks for choosing Tribes once again.

Classic Costa Rica adventure by Andy from Surrey, 22 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife trip to Costa Rica

We spent 2 weeks in 4 different parts of Costa Rica. We had all our transfers arranged and some excursions.

We spent 2 weeks in 4 different parts of Costa Rica. We had all our transfers arranged and some excursions.

Rating for tour operator:

We felt Tribes were extremely organised and developed the exact trip we had requested. They provided a very detailed itinerary well ahead of the date of travel and provided lots of useful information. they definitely listened to the types of accommodation I requested and booked accordingly. I loved the app and all the detailed information. it meant everything was easy to check and the maps were very useful too.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 04 Dec 2018:

We're chuffed that you had such a good time. Thanks for booking with us.

Highlights of Bhutan by Wendy, 19 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A very exciting, well-organised holiday in Bhutan.

A wonderful week in Bhutan with an excellent varied programme. We visited temples and monasteries , watched school children dancing, trekked two hours downhill to a nunnery, where the nuns honoured us with a chant for long life. We did white water rafting, tried archery, stayed in magical places, saw beautiful birds and flowers. And, of course, we climbed up to the Tiger’s Nest, which was as amazing as everyone told us it would be.

A wonderful week in Bhutan with an excellent varied programme. We visited temples and monasteries , watched school children dancing, trekked two hours downhill to a nunnery, where the nuns honoured us with a chant for long life. We did white water rafting, tried archery, stayed in magical places, saw beautiful birds and flowers. And, of course, we climbed up to the Tiger’s Nest, which was as amazing as everyone told us it would be.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Tribes Travel before and have always been so impressed with the way they seem to make the trip fit what we want.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 19 Oct 2018:

Hi Wendy, Paul loves helping you and Anne-Brit. I loved reading about your Bhutan experiences. Best wishes from Amanda, Guy and Paul

Tribes Travel by Liz, 28 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful Botswana

A nine day camping safari in Chobe National Park and the Okavango Delta. Not having camped for many years it was a bit out of my comfort zone but I need not have worried it was an amazing experience from start to finish. We had incredible sightings of wild dog hunting and fighting over territory, many sightings of leopards, lions and hyenas as they went about their lives as well as a huge range of other birds and animals. We made new friends, ...

A nine day camping safari in Chobe National Park and the Okavango Delta. Not having camped for many years it was a bit out of my comfort zone but I need not have worried it was an amazing experience from start to finish. We had incredible sightings of wild dog hunting and fighting over territory, many sightings of leopards, lions and hyenas as they went about their lives as well as a huge range of other birds and animals. We made new friends, both in our holiday group and also with the guide and camp staff who were a pleasure to be with, the camping experience was wonderful and the camp food was 5*.

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes Tailormade travel I came across them through an internet search and they could not have been more helpful. Easy to contact by phone and e.mail, and nothing was too much trouble.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 19 Oct 2018:

The wildlife sightings you had sounded amazing - what a safari! I'm pleased we could help you. Do let us know if we can ever help again.