AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Tribes Travel

Tribes Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Tribes Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 101
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 103
Reviews Accepted: 103
Reviews Rejected: 0
103 reviews
Sort by:
Tribes Travel by Kezza, 23 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfect African Adventure

We had a 3 location holiday with personal driver. Amboseli, Lake Nakuru and Maasai Mara. We saw animals and birds closer than we ever imagined we would. The whole experience was truly magical in a wildlife paradise. Topped off with a balloon flight over the Maasai Mara. The accommodation was excellent everywhere we went and the staff were just exceptional.

We had a 3 location holiday with personal driver. Amboseli, Lake Nakuru and Maasai Mara. We saw animals and birds closer than we ever imagined we would. The whole experience was truly magical in a wildlife paradise. Topped off with a balloon flight over the Maasai Mara. The accommodation was excellent everywhere we went and the staff were just exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes were very attentive from the word go. They tailored the holiday to us perfectly and managed to answer a whole host of questions that then seamlessly guided us through what was a perfect trip.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 29 Oct 2019:

Well, what a lovely review. Thanks so much for taking the trouble to write this as well as the review you did for us directly. Tracy was really pleased to be able to help you with a second trip with us. What next?!

Tribes Travel by Philippa, 16 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Victoria Falls And Botswana safari

Our holiday exceeded our expectations. The accommodation was excellent and the wildlife sightings spectacular.

Our holiday exceeded our expectations. The accommodation was excellent and the wildlife sightings spectacular.

Rating for tour operator:

We received excellent advice and the itinerary suited us perfectly. It was easy to contact someone when we had queries. I would not hesitate to recommend Tribes Travel to others and would use them again.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 17 Sep 2019:

Thanks so much for your lovely feedback. We're really pleased you had such a good time, and we'd be very pleased to help you in the future. Best wishes, Amanda

Tribes Travel by JvdB, 30 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Safaris

I had 3 3-night stays at contrasting safari venues (Liwonde and Nyika in Malawi and South Luangwa in Zambia). Game viewing was very professionally conducted, the vehicles not crowded and the driver/guides excellent. I saw a wonderful lot of animals, especially in South Luangwa, animals and birds everywhere! I was also interested in the scenery, a focus on going to Zomba but unfortunately vehicle limitations meant I didn't get to the top ...

I had 3 3-night stays at contrasting safari venues (Liwonde and Nyika in Malawi and South Luangwa in Zambia). Game viewing was very professionally conducted, the vehicles not crowded and the driver/guides excellent. I saw a wonderful lot of animals, especially in South Luangwa, animals and birds everywhere! I was also interested in the scenery, a focus on going to Zomba but unfortunately vehicle limitations meant I didn't get to the top of the plateau to the famous viewpoints. From Zomba Forest Lodge and Luwala on the Viphya Plateau, I was able to ride through the forests from local riding stables, both under the same first-class management. Seeing the Lake en route was a must, but apparently the weather precluded boat trips during the day I was there. Lodges were all very comfortable and guests really well looked after throughout - and very well fed too. Management and staff were always friendly and helpful, which seemed typical of the Malawians. Travelling overland with a guide was a great experience, enabling me to see so much of the countryside in Malawi and benefit from a personal guided tour. Finishing at Flatdogs Camp just outside South Lwangwa Park was the icing on the cake: expertly run and there were huge concentrations and variety of animals in the Park. First class accommodation and activities all round.

Rating for tour operator:

This was a tailor-made tour because most tours I have considered have concentrated more on the Lake and not gone up to Nyika in the north. I had already had a wonderful holiday in Botswana arranged by Tribes, and when I saw from their website that they had first-hand experience of Nyika and other places I wished to visit, I was confident of ending up with a fairly comprehensive tour focusing primarily on game reserves, preferably staying in excellent accommodation - and that's how it was!

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 12 Sep 2019:

Janet, it's always a pleasure to help you. I'm so delighted you enjoyed this trip as you've waited for it for a long time!

Tribes Travel by HRAL, 12 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding

5 nights safari at lake Manze camp in Selous followed by 5 nights at Butiama Beach on Mafia island - both in Tanzania.

5 nights safari at lake Manze camp in Selous followed by 5 nights at Butiama Beach on Mafia island - both in Tanzania.

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes Travel -very helpful, knowledgeable and absolutely correct in their reccommendations

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 12 Sep 2019:

You chose two great places there! We're so glad you enjoyed Tanzania and were very pleased to be able to help you.

Tribes Travel by Jim, 13 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

One amazing trip

A fantastic safari holiday. Stunning locations and wildlife. The locations we stayed in were extremely well run with very high levels of service, great staff and food.

A fantastic safari holiday. Stunning locations and wildlife. The locations we stayed in were extremely well run with very high levels of service, great staff and food.

Rating for tour operator:

A real sense that they know first hand the places they're sending you. Interpreted our requirements extremely well even though we didn't know what they were ourselves. Would recommend them to anybody.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 15 Jul 2019:

Wow, thanks for such a lovely feedback. It's always nice to hear that someone is happy to tell friends. We're so pleased you had such an amazing time.

Tribes Travel by Jules, 21 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

A beautiful Safari holiday and a dream come true.

We went on a Safari in Botswana which we had wanted to do for a long time. We had the most wonderful and amazing time both in seeing the beautiful animals in their natural environment along with the scenery. Truly very special memories to treasure.

We went on a Safari in Botswana which we had wanted to do for a long time. We had the most wonderful and amazing time both in seeing the beautiful animals in their natural environment along with the scenery. Truly very special memories to treasure.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour operator was fantastic. Very reliable and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend using them to anyone. And I will use them to book our next holiday.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 22 May 2019:

Thanks very much for the lovely feedback. We're so pleased you had such a good time. Botswana is one of those incredible places where wilderness really is wild!

Rainforest and Galapagos by Tigger, 12 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

Latin America’s best kept secret: Ecuador

Most people know about Galapagos as a unique destination, but few realise that Ecuador mainland has great places to visit. Quito’s old town, Cloud forest lodges, high class haciendas in the country, Cotopaxi volcano, devil nose railway and horse riding in national parks took us two weeks before we flew to Galapagos for a top class cruise on a 16 guest catamaran. Wow factor 10.

Most people know about Galapagos as a unique destination, but few realise that Ecuador mainland has great places to visit. Quito’s old town, Cloud forest lodges, high class haciendas in the country, Cotopaxi volcano, devil nose railway and horse riding in national parks took us two weeks before we flew to Galapagos for a top class cruise on a 16 guest catamaran. Wow factor 10.

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes helped us to understand the range of options and March them to our preferences to produce a fantastic three week holiday that exceeded our expectations. Rory was responsive, knowledgeable and resourceful and we would recommend him highly.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 12 Apr 2019:

Thanks for the great feedback Anne. What a trip you had! I know what you mean about Ecuador - it's just amazing!

Classic Costa Rica adventure by Nick Tucker, 5 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic holiday to Costa Rica visiting San Jose, Tortuguero National Park, Arenal Volcano, Monteverde and Playa Potrero.

A perfect combination of locations to experience the stunning scenery and wildlife of Costa Rica. Travelling by boat through the Tortuguero National Park rainforest and observing the wildlife was a highlight for us. But so was seeing the volcano summit at Arenal and the hummingbirds at Monteverde. We drove across the country from the Caribbean to the Pacific in a 4x4 and always felt safe. The people we met were all very friendly and helpful.

A perfect combination of locations to experience the stunning scenery and wildlife of Costa Rica. Travelling by boat through the Tortuguero National Park rainforest and observing the wildlife was a highlight for us. But so was seeing the volcano summit at Arenal and the hummingbirds at Monteverde. We drove across the country from the Caribbean to the Pacific in a 4x4 and always felt safe. The people we met were all very friendly and helpful.

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes were efficient, professional and good value.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 12 Apr 2019:

Costa Rica is such a wonderful country, and we're so pleased you had such a great time.

Classic Costa Rica adventure by A&J Smith, 31 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife tour of Costa Rica

Wonderful variety of wildlife and ecosystems, staying in lovely accommodation

Wonderful variety of wildlife and ecosystems, staying in lovely accommodation

Rating for tour operator:

They listened to what we wanted and put together an excellent tour for us. They were good at answering questions, providing information and communicating with us

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 01 Apr 2019:

We're very pleased that you had such a good time in Costa Rica with us.

Classic Costa Rica adventure by SlothGirl, 26 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

All life is here!

A 2 week trip in Costa Rica gave us cloud and rain forests, beaches and volcanoes, trails, waterfalls and hot springs. All life is here. We were blessed with πŸ¦ŽπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸ¦πŸ¦œπŸπŸΏπŸπŸ•·πŸ¦‡πŸžπŸΈπŸ›πŸ¦‚πŸ¦œπŸ¦œπŸ¦œ at every turn and only scratched the surface of all that Costa Rica has to offer.

A 2 week trip in Costa Rica gave us cloud and rain forests, beaches and volcanoes, trails, waterfalls and hot springs. All life is here. We were blessed with πŸ¦ŽπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸ¦πŸ¦œπŸπŸΏπŸπŸ•·πŸ¦‡πŸžπŸΈπŸ›πŸ¦‚πŸ¦œπŸ¦œπŸ¦œ at every turn and only scratched the surface of all that Costa Rica has to offer.

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes helped us pull together a suitably paced holiday with good range of activities and rest. The hotels were all good locations and having a car meant we could visit local restaurants and bars as we wished,

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 01 Apr 2019:

How wonderful. Sounds to me like you need to go back :-)!!