AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Tribes Travel

Tribes Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Tribes Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 101
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 103
Reviews Accepted: 103
Reviews Rejected: 0
103 reviews
Sort by:
Tribes Travel by Trisho, 3 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely brilliant experience.

We went to Brazil for 3 weeks - The Pantanal, Amazonia and Salvador. The whole experience was marvellous and I would not hesitate to recommend Tribes to my friends and family.

We went to Brazil for 3 weeks - The Pantanal, Amazonia and Salvador. The whole experience was marvellous and I would not hesitate to recommend Tribes to my friends and family.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent all round.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 03 Oct 2014:

Tricia we're so pleased you enjoyed Brazil with us, and thanks for your recommendation.

The Jaguar Safari by SantaFeSky, 29 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Magnificent!

Tribes was the only company I could find that knew Brazil thoroughly, and would book a tailor made holiday for us. We live in the US and after one email from Guy Marks I knew there would be issue working with a company out of the country. I research things quite thoroughly and knew where we wanted to go. I just needed someone to help us get there. Guy Marks made it clear that he knew where we were interested in going, but he also knew the best ...

Tribes was the only company I could find that knew Brazil thoroughly, and would book a tailor made holiday for us. We live in the US and after one email from Guy Marks I knew there would be issue working with a company out of the country. I research things quite thoroughly and knew where we wanted to go. I just needed someone to help us get there. Guy Marks made it clear that he knew where we were interested in going, but he also knew the best times to go and while we thought we had all the time in the world to plan a trip for the following year - one of the places we wanted to stay at was already nearly sold out. As a matter of fact, there was just one weekend left if we wanted to visit it in 2014. Here we thought we were way ahead of the game! Guy booked us immediately into the Southwild Flotel in the Pantanal. And then we booked everything else around it - Rio, the amazon, Iguazu Falls, and Isle de grande. We had a year to get ready and a year of outstanding communication from Guy Marks with Tribes. We just returned last week, from a vacation that far exceeded all expectations. There was not a single company I contacted who could put this trip together for us. I contacted 5 or 6, some who did not even know what the Southwild Flotel was! When I first found Tribes on line, I thought it sounded quite good. after the first email with Guy I knew we were going to work together. It was just so clear that he knew the country and knew how to get us where we wanted to go. Wherever we went, people in Brazil told us "you're seeing more of my country than I've ever seen!" That would not have happened without Tribes. Everything was perfectly communicated to us ahead of time, well organized, and we were absolutely thrilled with our guides and our transportation and our accommodations. We have thousands of memories, all wonderful.

Rating for tour operator:

We had a tour guide in Southwild Flotel by the name of KiKi. He was superb.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 30 Sep 2014:

Gail, we're delighted that you had such a good holiday and I'm pleased that I was able to put together the itinerary that you wanted. We pride ourselves on having the expertise to do this and to give good service. We are selling a fabulous experience here so this is how it should be!

Safari, Sand and Spice by Mike M, 23 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

A series of outstanding experiences.

Flying into Dar Es Salaam and taking a 5 hour train ride was immersion in local life and culture. 4 days in Sable Lodge for various Safari experiences, then a flight in a 5 seat plane to Zanzibar for 4 nights at the Zanzibari on the beautiful north coast followed by 2 exciting days in Stone Town. Phenomenal.

Flying into Dar Es Salaam and taking a 5 hour train ride was immersion in local life and culture. 4 days in Sable Lodge for various Safari experiences, then a flight in a 5 seat plane to Zanzibar for 4 nights at the Zanzibari on the beautiful north coast followed by 2 exciting days in Stone Town. Phenomenal.

Rating for tour operator:

A personal service and always there to answer any question, no matter how silly. Lovely people who made us feel like part of the family.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 24 Sep 2014:

Michael we're so pleased you loved the trip. You stayed at some great places and it sounds like you particularly loved Sable. Thanks for your nice comments, and we hope to help you again with another trip one day. Best wishes Amanda

Tribes Travel by Annie, 6 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Excellent African experience - wilderness to beachfront luxury.

Well organised and executed by a Tribes. The holiday experience was diverse and interesting. We had super guides, transfers which on the whole were great ( just the return wait in Dar es salam an issue). And the accommodation was very good both on safari and at the beach in Zanzibar.

Well organised and executed by a Tribes. The holiday experience was diverse and interesting. We had super guides, transfers which on the whole were great ( just the return wait in Dar es salam an issue). And the accommodation was very good both on safari and at the beach in Zanzibar.

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes website was good, the direct contact and tailor-made approach from their consultants was easy and responsive. When we discovered a glitch in the travel plans it was immediately resolved at no cost to ourselves and with satisfaction.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 08 Sep 2014:

We're so pleased you had a good time Anne. Loved the story you told us of the elephant family being right next to your tent. I'd love to see the photos of that. I hope we can find leopards for you on the next trip!

Quito and Galapagos by Mrs j p 14, 3 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

galagagos cruise

fantastic, we had 2 nights in Quito 7days on the Beluga ship,and 1 Night in Guaquil

fantastic, we had 2 nights in Quito 7days on the Beluga ship,and 1 Night in Guaquil

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful, we told them what we wanted and they organised it for us.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 04 Sep 2014:

Jane, we're so pleased you loved the Galapagos, and happy that we could organise it for you.

Tribes Travel by JT, 28 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

South Luangua Safari

Zambia is an excellent Wildlife destination. Quality of accommodation and particularly the guides were outstanding Lions and Leopards with cubs in the day and watching the kill on the night drives. Large male Hippos fighting, lots of elephant family's crossing the river Too many encounters to tell!!!!! Can not wait to return

Zambia is an excellent Wildlife destination. Quality of accommodation and particularly the guides were outstanding Lions and Leopards with cubs in the day and watching the kill on the night drives. Large male Hippos fighting, lots of elephant family's crossing the river Too many encounters to tell!!!!! Can not wait to return

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organization of our trip with the knowledgeable team at Tribes travel. We worked together to design an itinerary combining our wish list and Tribes expertise Will definitely use them again and would recommend them

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 02 Sep 2014:

Thanks so much for your feedback Jillian. I'm so pleased that Zambia was as good as you'd hoped. We appreciate that you keep coming back to us for your trips, and will always be happy to help you. Best wishes, Amanda

Safari, Sand and Spice by Lesley A, 22 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Tanzania safari and beach holiday

Being new to this sort of holiday I didn't know what to expect but it was amazing. My husband was also very impressed having done safaris before. The whole holiday was most memorable - there were so many special times! But moments like seeing an elephant eye to eye for the first time made me cry! The turtles hatching out and making sure they got to the sea was really special. As for all the animals, fruit bats, birds - all were incredible. Swim...

Being new to this sort of holiday I didn't know what to expect but it was amazing. My husband was also very impressed having done safaris before. The whole holiday was most memorable - there were so many special times! But moments like seeing an elephant eye to eye for the first time made me cry! The turtles hatching out and making sure they got to the sea was really special. As for all the animals, fruit bats, birds - all were incredible. Swimming with dolphins will always be remembered and the sound will live on in our memories forever.

Rating for tour operator:

It gave so much confidence to book with someone who cares about what we wanted to do, and with such great knowledge. And it was lovely to know that every single aspect of the holidays was to some sort of benefit to the environment and local villages and people. Thank you so much!

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 22 Jul 2014:

Lesley, it was a pleasure to arrange this special birthday trip for you both. I'm so pleased you loved it, and saw so much wildlife as well as relaxing on Zanzibar.

Tribes Travel by MHughes, 21 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Mobile camping safari in Botswana

It surpassed my expectations. An excellent safari. We saw wonderful things. One early morning a pride of 6 lions walked into our camp as we were about to leave. they came within feet of us! They were not remotely aggressive, just curious. I could have touched them - lovely! We followed 2 leopards for about 2 hours. She was on heat and they mated at least 12 times. The male stopped and drank at a little stream. A wonderful experience. We also ...

It surpassed my expectations. An excellent safari. We saw wonderful things. One early morning a pride of 6 lions walked into our camp as we were about to leave. they came within feet of us! They were not remotely aggressive, just curious. I could have touched them - lovely! We followed 2 leopards for about 2 hours. She was on heat and they mated at least 12 times. The male stopped and drank at a little stream. A wonderful experience. We also saw 2 leopard brothers up a tree where they had hauled their kill - an impala - and we watched them for ages. And then there were the 2 cheetahs we watched for about an hour, sitting under a mopane tree, and the hyena pups, and the wild dogs, and lots of elephants close up ...

Rating for tour operator:

I am very happy with Tribes having had an excellent trip to Brazil a few years back and seen jaguars for over 5 hours, and now this trip was excellent from the safari/wildlife/birdlife point of view.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 21 Jul 2014:

We're so delighted that you had such a good safari. The jaguar trip was always going to be a hard act to follow, but thankfully it seems Botswana came up trumps for you! Best wishes, Amanda

Kenya Safari & Beach by Chris, 12 May 2014
Holiday Rating:

Kenyan Family Holiday

a brilliant blend of bush and beach

a brilliant blend of bush and beach

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes have arranged a few holidays for us each one has been perfectly run with no problems and the accomodation has always been perfect.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 19 May 2014:

Thanks for the great comments, and we're delighted to have been able to plan you some good holidays!

Kenya Safari & Beach by lewisbrown, 9 May 2014
Holiday Rating:

First trip to Kenya

Tribes Travel organised a fantastic introduction to Kenya (and Africa) for me - a really good safari followed by relaxation at some excellent hotels on the south coast. I have already booked another trip with them and will be returning many times in the future, I'm sure.

Tribes Travel organised a fantastic introduction to Kenya (and Africa) for me - a really good safari followed by relaxation at some excellent hotels on the south coast. I have already booked another trip with them and will be returning many times in the future, I'm sure.

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes handled everything with consummate professionalism, including a last-minute, mid-trip change of itinerary that I sprung on them. I am already a repeat customer and expect to be again.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 09 Jun 2014:

We're delighted that we could help start your love of Kenya!