AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Tribes Travel

Tribes Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Tribes Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 101
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 103
Reviews Accepted: 103
Reviews Rejected: 0
103 reviews
Sort by:
Tribes Travel by dabsinthewoods, 1 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful safari adventure, close encounters with all the big beasts

A semi-participatory camping safari in Botswana. Mainly wild camping, with first and last nights in comfortable lodges. Excellent guides and wonderful encounters across Botswana.

A semi-participatory camping safari in Botswana. Mainly wild camping, with first and last nights in comfortable lodges. Excellent guides and wonderful encounters across Botswana.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient and responsive, did everything well.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 02 Oct 2015:

I'm so pleased you enjoyed the trip. I hope we can help you for another trip one day. It would be our pleasure. Amanda

Tribes Travel by Ecureuil Ann, 7 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Peru - a versatile friendly country

Starting in Lima with a city tour we soon left for Puerto Maldonado to spend 5 days in the Amazonian rainforest at a remote lodge. We enjoyed nature and wildlife and found it exciting with the animals and relaxing in the hammock. Then two days in Cusco and the Sacred Valley, weaving lessons in the village of local women included, from there to the 4-day- IncaTrail to MachuPicchu which was exhausting and amazing, especially the contact to our ...

Starting in Lima with a city tour we soon left for Puerto Maldonado to spend 5 days in the Amazonian rainforest at a remote lodge. We enjoyed nature and wildlife and found it exciting with the animals and relaxing in the hammock. Then two days in Cusco and the Sacred Valley, weaving lessons in the village of local women included, from there to the 4-day- IncaTrail to MachuPicchu which was exhausting and amazing, especially the contact to our porters, Inca ruins and snowcapped mountains. Back to Cusco we took the train to Puno through the Altiplano for 9 hours, sitting at the open back of the slow train and enjoying the landscape and a Pisco sour. We visited Lake Titicaca and stayed in two homestays at Isla Amantani and at Llachon Peninsula and then returned back home. It was nice to experience how people live, what they care about. However Peruvian people are very shy, but our different local guides gave us a good idea about daily life. And it seems to me very interesting that they still follow the old Inca rules to help the neighbour in the field and as a community to help the next village if necessary.

Rating for tour operator:

Paul Cook from Tribes Travel made good propositions, got a quick elaboration and inserted our personal ideas perfectly. It was a pleasure to communicate with him. I would recommend him and Tribes!

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 07 Sep 2015:

Annette we were very pleased to help you once again, and it sounds like you fell in love with Peru. With my best wishes, Amanda

The Jaguar Safari by Sweep, 22 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

A unique experience.

We visited The Pantanal in Brazil and it was a wonderful wildlife experience. The area is just teeming with tropical birds and a large variety of mammals.

We visited The Pantanal in Brazil and it was a wonderful wildlife experience. The area is just teeming with tropical birds and a large variety of mammals.

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes Travel were able to arrange our holiday quickly and efficiently. Sufficient information on our destination was supplied.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 23 Jun 2015:

Hi Kathryn. I've not yet managed to get to the Pantanal myself, but I'm so pleased you loved it. It always gets good reviews from everyone we send. Best wishes, Amanda

Tribes Travel by AJ, 17 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Perfection

We booked a trip to Machu Picchu followed by a weeks cruise around the Galapagos Islands. Two special places we were privileged to visit.

We booked a trip to Machu Picchu followed by a weeks cruise around the Galapagos Islands. Two special places we were privileged to visit.

Rating for tour operator:

We would like to thank all the staff at Tribes for planning the perfect holiday. The agents they used in both Peru and Ecuador couldnt have done more to help us and the guides they provided were so knowledgable and passionate. We would recommend Tribes to anyone planning a similar trip.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 18 May 2015:

Alan thanks for the nice feedback. We're glad the trip was as special as you'd hoped. Best wishes, Amanda

Tribes Travel by Mrs Y C 15, 25 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Essential Tour of Morocco

A really wonderful experince from beginning to end. A great country with so much variety.

A really wonderful experince from beginning to end. A great country with so much variety.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and everything went like clockwork.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 27 Apr 2015:

We're really pleased you had a good time Yvonne. That was your second trip with us of course, and we look forward to helping you with another before too long. Best wishes, Amanda

Five Rivers Safari Special by JvdB, 12 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Lodge and mobile camping safari visiting nature reserves in Botswana

Good and varied itinerary staying at 2 excellent Kwando Lodges (Nxai Pan and Tau Pan), flying in with very professional and competent pilots. Excellent facilities and first-class knowledgeable guides, wonderful scenery, animals and birds seen on game drives. A warm welcome, comfortable accommodation and excellent catering and hospitality in both lodges, very sorry I couldn't stay longer! Followed by 6 nights mobile camping safari. The guide ...

Good and varied itinerary staying at 2 excellent Kwando Lodges (Nxai Pan and Tau Pan), flying in with very professional and competent pilots. Excellent facilities and first-class knowledgeable guides, wonderful scenery, animals and birds seen on game drives. A warm welcome, comfortable accommodation and excellent catering and hospitality in both lodges, very sorry I couldn't stay longer! Followed by 6 nights mobile camping safari. The guide was excellent, despite difficult driving after an unseasonal amount of rain. He and the chefs/support staff looked after the group very well and the catering was exceptionally excellent. It was a chance to see a fantastic amount of animals and birds, in beautiful and varied places and to learn more about them, and of course to take lots of photographs! Finished with 2 nights at Victoria Falls, which were nearly at full spate and awesomely scenic, a great holiday!

Rating for tour operator:

After several discussions and proposals, an excellent and affordable itinerary was produced, with helpful advice and answers to all my questions. It was the first time I have had a fairly customised holiday, (rather than a group tour) with good first-hand advice and I was very impressed. I only met the ground agent's representatives briefly but they were very friendly and helpful and probably had quite an input into the final itinerary.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 13 Apr 2015:

Janet it was a pleasure to help you with this trip. I know you've been wanting to get to Botswana for some time, and I'm so very pleased that it lived up to expectations! Can't wait to work with you on a trip to Zambia and Malawi! Best wishes Amanda.

Tribes Travel by Wendy, 9 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Ecuador and the Galapagos

We spent 2 weeks in mainland Ecuador, with time in Quito, the Amazonian rainforest, the cloudforest and in the Andes to the north and south of Quito. On the Carnaval weekend we were in Ambato for the Fiesta de Frutas y Flores. Our third week was in the Galapagos cruising around the eastern islands on the Eric, a 20-berth boat with 2 naturalist guides.

We spent 2 weeks in mainland Ecuador, with time in Quito, the Amazonian rainforest, the cloudforest and in the Andes to the north and south of Quito. On the Carnaval weekend we were in Ambato for the Fiesta de Frutas y Flores. Our third week was in the Galapagos cruising around the eastern islands on the Eric, a 20-berth boat with 2 naturalist guides.

Rating for tour operator:

Our holiday was tailor-made for us by Tribes who offered much help and advice during the planning stages, making suggestions and researching various options, including the Fiesta in Ambato which was new to them. They put all the arrangements together, a fairly complex itinerary, and booked everything for us including flights .. and it all worked perfectly without a hitch. We were very happy with the places we visited on our itinerary, the standard of accommodation, the knowledgeable and helpful guides, the internal travel arrangements by car, plane and boat and the balance of guided to 'free' time. We had a very interesting, absorbing and varied holiday, and no hassles, thanks to Tribes.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 10 Mar 2015:

Wendy we're so pleased it all went so well for you. It sounds like you saw many superb things from the wildlife in the Galapagos to the rainforest and cloudforest as well as the fiesta. Thanks for choosing us and we look forward to helping you again one day. Amanda.

Quito and Galapagos by Ms A S 15, 8 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Galapagos trip aboard the 'Beagle'

It was a privilege to be there.

It was a privilege to be there.

Rating for tour operator:

They were very pleasant and helpful at all times.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 09 Mar 2015:

Ann we're so pleased you enjoyed your Galapagos cruise. It's such a special place.

Rainforest and Galapagos by ScillyMe, 3 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Very interesting trip to Ecudorian rainforest and Galapagos

See above.

See above.

Rating for tour operator:

Very good at tailoring holidays to our requirements and at finding great accommodation.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 03 Feb 2015:

I'm delighted you had a great time!

Tribes Travel by George&Jaki, 4 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic trip - a lot of variety all with excellent accomodation and service

Botswana, Vic Falls, and the Blue Train to Cale Town - Marvellous!

Botswana, Vic Falls, and the Blue Train to Cale Town - Marvellous!

Rating for tour operator:

We do like to get a lot of detail before we travel and Tracy provided all of the information we wanted. We were delighted to find that all of the places we stayed were prepared with our dietary and other preferences. This was very much appreciated. We had quite a complicated itinerary and Tracy did a great job - it all worked perfectly.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 05 Jan 2015:

George and Jaki, we're so pleased you enjoyed this latest trip with us. It was a bit special! Amanda