AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Tribes Travel

Tribes Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Tribes Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 101
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 103
Reviews Accepted: 103
Reviews Rejected: 0
103 reviews
Sort by:
Tribes Travel by AndySue, 8 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

A travel operator just doesn't get any better

If we could give more than 10 stars we would! Undoubtedly the best customer service we’ve ever experienced – all the more remarkable for the dreadful times we’re in with Covid. Firstly booking. In truth Alex’s help during booking for our trip to Costa Rica was exemplary. He sorted everything out without fuss, especially sorting walking issues etc, boosting my confidence no end. Unfortunately Covid struck, but Tribes have kept us up to date, ...

If we could give more than 10 stars we would! Undoubtedly the best customer service we’ve ever experienced – all the more remarkable for the dreadful times we’re in with Covid. Firstly booking. In truth Alex’s help during booking for our trip to Costa Rica was exemplary. He sorted everything out without fuss, especially sorting walking issues etc, boosting my confidence no end. Unfortunately Covid struck, but Tribes have kept us up to date, and now (November), when we were due to leave in 3 weeks, and all travel has been cancelled, we asked for and received a refund in two days. A travel company just doesn’t get any better, and we really look forward to the pleasure of dealing with them again (although it would be nice to go somewhere!)

Rating for tour operator:

If we could give more than 10 stars we would! Undoubtedly the best customer service we’ve ever experienced – all the more remarkable for the dreadful times we’re in with Covid. Firstly booking. In truth Alex’s help during booking for our trip to Costa Rica was exemplary. He sorted everything out without fuss, especially sorting walking issues etc, boosting my confidence no end. Unfortunately Covid struck, but Tribes have kept us up to date, and now (November), when we were due to leave in 3 weeks, and all travel has been cancelled, we asked for and received a refund in two days. A travel company just doesn’t get any better, and we really look forward to the pleasure of dealing with them again (although it would be nice to go somewhere!)

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 09 Nov 2020:

Haha! Yes, it would indeed have been even nicer if we'd managed to give you a holiday!! Maybe next year :-)
Thanks for your lovely comments, they're much appreciated. Quality service is certainly part of our ethos and also part of the AITO association of companies.

Tribes Travel by Holiday Boy Glos, 4 Apr 2020
Holiday Rating:

Incredible support in India

Our much anticipated trip to India, arranged with great expertise by Paul Cook, commenced on 27 February, just as the Coronavirus was becoming an issue worldwide. Although our trip had to be curtailed after just 2 weeks, we really enjoyed our time in India and were very pleased with everything that Paul arranged for us. However, where Paul, Tribes and their local agents (Travel Inn) really came into their own and stepped up was when the spread ...

Our much anticipated trip to India, arranged with great expertise by Paul Cook, commenced on 27 February, just as the Coronavirus was becoming an issue worldwide. Although our trip had to be curtailed after just 2 weeks, we really enjoyed our time in India and were very pleased with everything that Paul arranged for us. However, where Paul, Tribes and their local agents (Travel Inn) really came into their own and stepped up was when the spread of Coronavirus within India meant that our travel arrangements (flights, accommodation, ground transport and services) had to be rearranged at short notice not once but twice in order to get us home safe and healthy. They monitored the situation constantly and acted swiftly when it became apparent that we could be stranded in India within a matter of hours. A great example of what you hope (but don't necessarily get) from a holiday company - excellent planning, great execution and outstanding support all the way through, especially when things don't go to plan.

Rating for tour operator:

Third holiday with Tribes. Usual great help in planning the trip, great itinerary and good local agents. Rather than just selling you the holiday and then letting you get on with it, their support whilst away is outstanding and crucial when our India trip had to be curtailed due to the Coronavirus.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 06 Apr 2020:

Thanks very much for the lovely feedback. We were very relieved to get you home in good time. Obviously we're sorry your trip didn't happen as it should, but thanks for your understanding. We'll have to try again when this is all over :-)

Tribes Travel by Pysgotwr, 25 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Coyhaique to Chiloe on the Carretera Austral.

5 weeks travelling in Chile. Epic drives interspersed with day hikes in the Andes with a bit of fishing thrown in. Wonderful people in beautiful country. Last week somewhat tarnished by the progress & worry of the global Coronavirus pandemic ( & an earthquake!).

5 weeks travelling in Chile. Epic drives interspersed with day hikes in the Andes with a bit of fishing thrown in. Wonderful people in beautiful country. Last week somewhat tarnished by the progress & worry of the global Coronavirus pandemic ( & an earthquake!).

Rating for tour operator:

All arrangements went according to plan up until advent Coronavirus crisis. Subsequently provided support & assistance with excellent lines of communication until we got home.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 26 Mar 2020:

I love Chile. I'm so pleased you got to get your trip before world shutdown began! Now you have gorgeous memories of stunning scenery to sustain you!

Tribes Travel by Macsusan, 4 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Wandering among the hills of the Western Ghats

A wonderful holiday staying in small homestays and plantations and immersed in the culture and nature of S India .

A wonderful holiday staying in small homestays and plantations and immersed in the culture and nature of S India .

Rating for tour operator:

A small ECO friendly and family run business providing excellent service and using Vamoos to ensure paperless documentation.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 26 Mar 2020:

How wonderful! I'd love to go there right now!

Classic Costa Rica adventure by Norfolk Broad, 18 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Costa Rica Adventure

Wildlife galore, Crazy and exciting boat trips, Lovely scenery, excellent lodges and hotels

Wildlife galore, Crazy and exciting boat trips, Lovely scenery, excellent lodges and hotels

Rating for tour operator:

From the word go enthusiastic, interested, knowledgeable, excellent app, Vamoos.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 26 Mar 2020:

Costa Rica is such a great country, isn't it? Glad you enjoyed it so much.

Tribes Travel by Kirstysmum, 18 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Costa Rica experience over two weeks.

As a mature couple, who enjoy the wildlife, habitat and culture of different counties, Tribes Travel arranged for us to see a great deal of the country, staying in 6 different style hotels, and all good. Beginning in the capital San Jose we travelled from the southern Caribbean Coast to the north, then inland to the volcanic region, on to the Cloud Forest Region, finishing off at the Pacific Coast. As it is a small country the travel between ...

As a mature couple, who enjoy the wildlife, habitat and culture of different counties, Tribes Travel arranged for us to see a great deal of the country, staying in 6 different style hotels, and all good. Beginning in the capital San Jose we travelled from the southern Caribbean Coast to the north, then inland to the volcanic region, on to the Cloud Forest Region, finishing off at the Pacific Coast. As it is a small country the travel between destinations was not too arduous and transportation varied from shared minuses to coaches, a school bus and boats enabling us to meet other travellers and share experiences. The food was good with plenty of choice, The excursions were well run with excellent knowledgeable guides. It was a perfect way to see this small friendly country and we always felt safe,

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes travel used Swiss Travel in Costa Rica and were amazed at their efficiency in all the transportation required for our busy itinerary, always there on time or communicating with us if there was a change in time.

Tribes Travel by Mrs P C 19, 20 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Unbelievable Galapagos

Madrid/Quito/Galapagos/Quito/London Galapagos was outstanding.

Madrid/Quito/Galapagos/Quito/London Galapagos was outstanding.

Rating for tour operator:

Always knowledgeable and helpful from beginning to end of booking process. Excellent Vamoos App. Excellent pre-departure information sheet with all the possible telephone numbers you could need in an emergency.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 06 Jan 2020:

We're delighted to hear that you loved your trip. Galapagos is so special!

Tribes Travel by Caro3, 17 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Tribes Travel

Custom made itinerary to Costa Rica. An excellent trip.

Custom made itinerary to Costa Rica. An excellent trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Highly organised, quick to respond to any queries, friendly and very helpful.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 06 Jan 2020:

We're so pleased you enjoyed yourselves Caroline. Costa Rica really does have the wow factor on so many levels.

Tribes Travel by TerryP, 4 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Tanzanian safari and beach holiday

A two part safari with private drivers - in central Tanzania then in northern Serengeti followed by a week in Zanzibar

A two part safari with private drivers - in central Tanzania then in northern Serengeti followed by a week in Zanzibar

Rating for tour operator:

Knowledgeable, responsive, coped rapidly with change of flights due to BA pilots' strike. Sadly no compensation for extra costs of rearranged flights.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 06 Jan 2020:

Thanks for your feedback John. We're glad we could still get you there and back for this trip despite the strike! It meant a holiday to remember for the right reasons not the wrong ones :-)

Tribes Travel by Benny, 28 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cape Town, Safaris and Victoria Falls

Trip to Cape Town, The Klaserie, Sabi Sands, Pilanesberg and Victoria Falls.

Trip to Cape Town, The Klaserie, Sabi Sands, Pilanesberg and Victoria Falls.

Rating for tour operator:

Tribes arranged everything for us and everything worked very smoothly. We saw too many wonderful sights to do justice in a short review however we havd many highlights and have many memories to look back on.

Tribes Travel responded to this review on 29 Nov 2019:

Oh, that's lovely. We're so pleased you had a great time. Good memories to treasure :-)