AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 202
Good 4
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 206
Reviews Accepted: 206
Reviews Rejected: 0
206 reviews
Sort by:
Chomolhari Base Camp in Bhutan by brugo, 2 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

four cooperative friends

Immersione nella cultura e paesaggio bhutanese

Immersione nella cultura e paesaggio bhutanese

Rating for tour operator:

Molto competente, capace e simpatico

The Mountain Company responded to this review on 02 Jan 2017:

This comment translated into English reads "Immersion in the culture and landscape of Bhutan." Thanks, Marco.

The Mountain Company responded to this review on 02 Jan 2017:

This comment translated into English reads "Very competent, capable and likeable." Thanks, Marco.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by Nina, 19 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Kanchenjunga Circuit - perfectly organized from A to Z

First time in Nepal, I wanted a trek in a secluded, remote area with breathtaking mountain views. The Kanchenjunga Circuit offered all this and much more. I would highly recommend this trek to anyone who wants to escape the "crowds" in the Everest and Annapurna region. For me as a newcomer to Nepal and high altitude it was also a very suitable trek as the acclimatization is very well taken care of in the itinerary. The trek visits both the ...

First time in Nepal, I wanted a trek in a secluded, remote area with breathtaking mountain views. The Kanchenjunga Circuit offered all this and much more. I would highly recommend this trek to anyone who wants to escape the "crowds" in the Everest and Annapurna region. For me as a newcomer to Nepal and high altitude it was also a very suitable trek as the acclimatization is very well taken care of in the itinerary. The trek visits both the North and the South Base camp of Kanchenjunga, which are linked by the Mirgin La pass. The scenery is breathtaking and diverse on both sides. Our trek leader, Almas Khan, is certainly one of the best you can get. With his wealth of mountain experience I always felt 100% safe in his hands. Furthermore, he is an excellent leader and people manager with a fun sense of humor. Also the local crew did a very good job, that is the local mountain guides, porters and kitchen crew. The food was tasty and varied, and there was no lack of it. I was more worried of gaining weight than losing weight. The camp sites became more spectacular the higher we went. The tents were spacious and of high quality. The whole trek was perfectly organized from A to Z. E.g. even the tents were numbered so that one has the same tent every night. Also pre-departure information and support was excellent. Roland, the owner of the company, answered all my questions to full satisfaction and in no time. Before leaving Kathmandu for the trek he met the whole group for a final info session together with Almas.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company is an outstanding and trustful tour operator with a personal touch. They are very professional in every aspect, from the the webpage, to the pre-departure information, to the trek itself and the final survey. I have never been on such a well-organized trip, where I felt that they can handle any situation. The customer service is really top, very professional, personal and friendly. I haven't seen better in the tour operator business so far. For example, I arrived few weeks before the trek in Kathmandu and Roland, the owner of the company, invited me for a coffee to answer further questions or simply chat about the trek. Where else does one get such a personal gesture as a standard customer nowadays! My next trek in the Himalayas will for sure be with The Mountain Company again.

Ama Dablam Base Camp in Nepal by Sara, 19 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Khumbu trekking off the beaten track

An excellent alternative to the usual Everest Base Camp trek - slightly shorter and easier, but with quieter paths and visits to small villages.

An excellent alternative to the usual Everest Base Camp trek - slightly shorter and easier, but with quieter paths and visits to small villages.

Rating for tour operator:

Small group, operator provided plenty of care and attention, both before the trip and during the trip. The guides were very helpful, and made the trek interesting and culturally enlightening.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by john w, 12 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Awesome

best experience of my life.

best experience of my life.

Rating for tour operator:

perfectly organised from beginning to end.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Susan, 12 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Everest Base Camp trek

Amazing three weeks in a beautiful part of the world. The scenery was spectacular and seeing the sun rising and setting over Everest was very special. Some tough days hiking but our Sherpa was great and really supportive. The whole trip was an experience I'll never forget and would highly recommend it to everyone.

Amazing three weeks in a beautiful part of the world. The scenery was spectacular and seeing the sun rising and setting over Everest was very special. Some tough days hiking but our Sherpa was great and really supportive. The whole trip was an experience I'll never forget and would highly recommend it to everyone.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company were brilliant from start to finish. Roland responded very quickly to any queries I had and made the effort to meet me at the Hotel in Kathmandu. From being picked up at the airport, the entire trip ran smoothly and his staff in Nepal were great and couldn't do enough to ensure I had a great time. I wouldn't hesitate to use this company again.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Mr r h 16, 10 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Trip with The Mountain Company on the the Luxury Everest Base Camp Trek

Fantastic trip, my first time to nepal and we did the Luxury Everest Base Camp Trek. The itinerary that the Mountain Company set was great and allowed plenty of time to acclimatize to the altitude and include great side treks along the route. Accommodations and food were excellent.

Fantastic trip, my first time to nepal and we did the Luxury Everest Base Camp Trek. The itinerary that the Mountain Company set was great and allowed plenty of time to acclimatize to the altitude and include great side treks along the route. Accommodations and food were excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

From start to finish excellent company...i was taken care of the whole trip from the airport and everything went smooth. The owner Roland personally met me at my hotel for pre-trip briefing. Even before the trip started he personally answered all my trip questions fast via email and in great detail. His staff from the the drivers to the the guides are all professional and top notch. I recommend The Mountain Company to anyone and will be using them again on my future trips.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by HJ, 11 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Luxury Everest Base Camp Trek

Great Experience, no stress, no issues, plenty of good memories. I was quite worried about altitude sickness but our tour was tailored to allow for acclimatisation, such that I didn't even require prophylactic altitude sickness medicine. I was also worried about getting an upset stomach in Nepal but our guide recommended safe places and foods to eat so there were no issues on the trek.

Great Experience, no stress, no issues, plenty of good memories. I was quite worried about altitude sickness but our tour was tailored to allow for acclimatisation, such that I didn't even require prophylactic altitude sickness medicine. I was also worried about getting an upset stomach in Nepal but our guide recommended safe places and foods to eat so there were no issues on the trek.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was taken care of. We were picked up and dropped off at the international airport. On the trail our guide was informative and friendly. He made sure our meals and rooms were also good quality.

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Simon, 8 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Lunana Snowman Trek 2016

We joined the 2016 snowman trek with the Mountain Company with Almas Khan as trek leader. The entire trek from pre-purchase, pre-trip information, paying, getting picked up in Paro and actually doing the trek has been excellent. Roland was great at informing via email prior to the trip and Almas was superb as trek leader. All in all the entire trip was well-planned and well executed. Highly recommended and we would definitely go with the Mountain ...

We joined the 2016 snowman trek with the Mountain Company with Almas Khan as trek leader. The entire trek from pre-purchase, pre-trip information, paying, getting picked up in Paro and actually doing the trek has been excellent. Roland was great at informing via email prior to the trip and Almas was superb as trek leader. All in all the entire trip was well-planned and well executed. Highly recommended and we would definitely go with the Mountain Company again.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company seems to take their clients seriously and give them a safe and enjoyable trekking experience without spoon-feeding anyone. The itineary was well thought through with several extra days for safe acclimatizing. This was a major selling point for us since it seems they care about safety instead of just selling the maximum number of trips. It payed of since no one got altitude sickness.

Chomolhari Base Camp in Bhutan by MARCO, 7 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Cultural Buthan:Paro to Bumthang plus Chomolhari trekking via Bonthe La

road Punhaka to Bumthang is now under construction and some landslide or rockslide problems may occur. Some very narrow drives upon huge cliffs. Beautiful district Festival at Thangbi Mani monastery (Bumthang). From the Chomolhari B.C. our return way was via Bonthe La (a bridge collapsed at Barshong in the return way Lingshi to Thimpu). Our local guide believes the Bonthe La way offers better scenery views, compared to the return way via Lingshi...

road Punhaka to Bumthang is now under construction and some landslide or rockslide problems may occur. Some very narrow drives upon huge cliffs. Beautiful district Festival at Thangbi Mani monastery (Bumthang). From the Chomolhari B.C. our return way was via Bonthe La (a bridge collapsed at Barshong in the return way Lingshi to Thimpu). Our local guide believes the Bonthe La way offers better scenery views, compared to the return way via Lingshi. Actually we camped at Tsom Lakes with tremendous views on Jitchu Drake. Even better at top of this valley. Our trip has been everyday excellent!

Rating for tour operator:

I have a strong respectful opinion about "The Mountain Company". It is motivated by this recent experience: Buthan 14 October to 3rd November, and from my previous experience. -2013 Mera Peak expedition in Nepal - very accurate organisation, I summited (62y.old) -2012 Snowman trekking in Buthan, challenging and difficult to organise: for the weather and many high passes to cross. Perfectly organised, all went well eberyday.

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Hutch, 1 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

A tough adventure

The 27 day Snowman Trek was a tough challenge, both physically and mentally. The terrain was remote and often spectacular. Sandwiched between the monsoon and the start of the winter snows it pays to be well equipped for all weather. The many ascents are not technical but are often long. The steep descents often require a lot of concentration. Paths vary from smooth and dry to mud and rocks. The 3 day pre-trek acclimatisation process was ...

The 27 day Snowman Trek was a tough challenge, both physically and mentally. The terrain was remote and often spectacular. Sandwiched between the monsoon and the start of the winter snows it pays to be well equipped for all weather. The many ascents are not technical but are often long. The steep descents often require a lot of concentration. Paths vary from smooth and dry to mud and rocks. The 3 day pre-trek acclimatisation process was well thought out and none of the group suffered any significant altitude sickness. The three day cross-country return to Paro gave a good insight to Bhutan life.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company organised an excellent Snowman trek in Bhutan. The pre-trek information and advice was very helpful and the trek was expertly led in country by Almas Khan, a very experienced trek leader who has now completed numerous Snowman treks.