AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 108
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 111
Reviews Accepted: 111
Reviews Rejected: 0
111 reviews
Sort by:
Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Hels, 7 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing journey to the top of the world

This was the most amazing journey I have ever made. I spent a day in Kathmandu before heading up the Everest trail, trekking through the various villages, enjoying the most unbelievable scenery imaginable and being treated to a warm Nepali welcome. We spent several days acclimatising on the way up, getting off the beaten track to places like Ama Dablam base camp and enjoying the peace of being off the main trail. The trip takes you as far as ...

This was the most amazing journey I have ever made. I spent a day in Kathmandu before heading up the Everest trail, trekking through the various villages, enjoying the most unbelievable scenery imaginable and being treated to a warm Nepali welcome. We spent several days acclimatising on the way up, getting off the beaten track to places like Ama Dablam base camp and enjoying the peace of being off the main trail. The trip takes you as far as Everest Basecamp and then Kala Pattar for the view of Everest itself, before returning to Lukla via a different route. Having the extra couple of days at the end of the trek gave you a buffer in case of bad weather (so you didn’t miss your flight home!) or some extra sightseeing days in Kathmandu if the weather was in your favour. All in all, the most amazing trip I have ever done. I’ll definitely return to Nepal and will definitely use the Mountain Company again.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company was very well organised and communication throughout was excellent and speedy. From the moment we arrived in Kathmandu we were very well looked after. All individuals were met from their various flights throughout the day and taken to the hotel. We received a comprehensive pre-trek briefing and were given some extra kit for the unexpected weather conditions, before being taken on a day’s sightseeing trip round Kathmandu. Our guides and porters were exceptional and we couldn’t have done this trip without them. Our welfare was the top priority. We had 2 guides for 5 people, they carried first aid kits & satellite phones everywhere. We were monitored for symptoms of altitude sickness every day and, when one of the group became very ill, the company were first class in arranging a speedy helicopter evacuation to Kathmandu where our team member received excellent care and made a speedy recovery. They even then helped arrange a couple of days in Pokhara for them while the rest of us were still trekking. Nothing was too much trouble. I couldn’t recommend them highly enough.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Nicola, 14 Feb 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful trek to Everest Base Camp

We did a luxury trek to Everest Base camp with the Mountain Company. It was fantastic from start to finish. We were very well looked after by Raj and Tipanta for the whole trip. It was our honeymoon, we are very happy to spend it with the Mountain Company trekking to Everest Base camp.

We did a luxury trek to Everest Base camp with the Mountain Company. It was fantastic from start to finish. We were very well looked after by Raj and Tipanta for the whole trip. It was our honeymoon, we are very happy to spend it with the Mountain Company trekking to Everest Base camp.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company looked after us very well. It was an excellent trip. The Mountain Company dealt with all of our queries beforehand and during the trek too

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Nicky, 29 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

An adventure!

Excellent organisation which meant that everything was thought of and catered for in advance. Accommodation standard was very good for Nepal standards but hot water was sometimes a challenge. Extensive medical kit was carried which meant we felt safe and secure that nothing could go horribly wrong. Food was excellent through out and the guides and porters were superb - nothing was too much trouble - including running back to get things we had ...

Excellent organisation which meant that everything was thought of and catered for in advance. Accommodation standard was very good for Nepal standards but hot water was sometimes a challenge. Extensive medical kit was carried which meant we felt safe and secure that nothing could go horribly wrong. Food was excellent through out and the guides and porters were superb - nothing was too much trouble - including running back to get things we had left behind.

Rating for tour operator:

First class organisation and very experienced and knowledgeable about the area. Honest and not a rip off - if it was a little more expensive it was absolutely worth it in terms of your safety and comfort. I have NO hesitation in recommending them and would choose over others again. !00 % record in getting people to base camp - speaks for itself!

Annapurna Base Camp in Nepal by Cork, 24 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Annapurna Base Camp Trek

Well planned, well structured, experienced guides, the perfect time to take to get to a destination. Been 30 years since I went to 4130m, could not have asked for a better trek to revisit that height

Well planned, well structured, experienced guides, the perfect time to take to get to a destination. Been 30 years since I went to 4130m, could not have asked for a better trek to revisit that height

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company did a lot of background checks to ensure I was suitable for the trek, and maintained a strong medical presence throughout the trek to ensure our safety

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by The Rennies, 17 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exhausting but Exhilarating!

It is only now we are back home and wrapped up in the minutiae of everyday life that I can fully appreciate what my husband Mark and I experienced during our 14-day trek to Everest Base Camp with The Mountain Company. I look back at photographs of us smiling and pointing up at Everest in the distance and can hardly believe that is me all togged up in a down jacket and woolly hat. The things my eyes have seen and the paths my tired legs have ...

It is only now we are back home and wrapped up in the minutiae of everyday life that I can fully appreciate what my husband Mark and I experienced during our 14-day trek to Everest Base Camp with The Mountain Company. I look back at photographs of us smiling and pointing up at Everest in the distance and can hardly believe that is me all togged up in a down jacket and woolly hat. The things my eyes have seen and the paths my tired legs have followed will stay with me for the rest of my life. And all the while, we were buoyed along by Khadka, our guide, who was part teacher, part doctor, and part hilarious little brother! We stayed smiling (most of the time), even through the toughest ‘ups’ and the steepest ‘downs’. We made it to Base Camp and up Kala Patar, we even survived the suspension bridges, and have returned home with a passion for the Himalaya and deep gratitude to The Mountain Company for making our trip possible.

Rating for tour operator:

We felt supported by The Mountain Company at all times, both during the booking process and also once we were we in Kathmandu and then on the trek itself. One of the reasons we chose this operator was that Roland Hunter, the Managing Director, visits the area regularly and personally selects the tea houses that are used on the trek, so we were confident of decent facilities. We had read great reviews about trekking with the company and we weren’t disappointed. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend The Mountain Company and would certainly use them again ourselves.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by MitchDA, 15 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Well organised trip to Everest Base Camp

Well organised & thought out itinerary allowing enough time for acclimatisation to the altitude. A good group atmosphere helped by the pre-trip information provided & the experience requirements up front. An excellent local guide for the trek, plus good to meet Roland the owner before & after the trip in Kathmandu.

Well organised & thought out itinerary allowing enough time for acclimatisation to the altitude. A good group atmosphere helped by the pre-trip information provided & the experience requirements up front. An excellent local guide for the trek, plus good to meet Roland the owner before & after the trip in Kathmandu.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised trip.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Rutland Trekker, 14 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Trek to Everest Base Camp

Excellent Trek to Everest Base Camp. Lodges and food were generally to a good standard, but you should be aware that 'Luxury' in Nepal is not qauite the same as 'Luxury' in other places. Tour guides were very experienced and dealt with any small issues that arose. Itinerary was well planned, although a little more time on trek would have been helpful as we were not able to complete the ascent of Kala Pattar due to lack of time. Otherwise everything ...

Excellent Trek to Everest Base Camp. Lodges and food were generally to a good standard, but you should be aware that 'Luxury' in Nepal is not qauite the same as 'Luxury' in other places. Tour guides were very experienced and dealt with any small issues that arose. Itinerary was well planned, although a little more time on trek would have been helpful as we were not able to complete the ascent of Kala Pattar due to lack of time. Otherwise everything went well and would recommend The Mountain Company.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent pre trek communications and follow up post trek. Roland Hunter is an experienced climber very familiar with the area and issues that may occur. Organisation was second to none and much better than we had experienced with a different operator in the area. Would whole heartedly recommend The Mountain Company and would use them again in future.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Siouxie, 9 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent guides & organisation

Everything was well organised & the pre trip info was accurate so no real surprises. Guides were well versed in English so communication was not a problem. The trip was well paced for me & the length of the trip worked well for acclimatisation.

Everything was well organised & the pre trip info was accurate so no real surprises. Guides were well versed in English so communication was not a problem. The trip was well paced for me & the length of the trip worked well for acclimatisation.

Rating for tour operator:

Plenty of pre trip info & advice. Also very easy to get in touch for little bits of extra info if needed.

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Mr U L 17, 9 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

irst days extremley hot, beatiful weather

irst days extremley hot, beatiful weather

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent trek with a grat leader

Annapurna Luxury Lodges in Nepal by JCM , 4 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

A fascinating holiday in Nepal and Bhutan

I did a beautiful trek in the Annapurna foothills using the wonderful comfort lodges with ensuite showers. Afterwards flew onto Bhutan with highlights walking up to Tiger's Nest monastery and the black necked cranes in Gangtey.

I did a beautiful trek in the Annapurna foothills using the wonderful comfort lodges with ensuite showers. Afterwards flew onto Bhutan with highlights walking up to Tiger's Nest monastery and the black necked cranes in Gangtey.

Rating for tour operator:

Highly recommended, they were knowledgeable and helpful with pre trip and in country support.