AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 203
Good 4
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 207
Reviews Accepted: 207
Reviews Rejected: 0
207 reviews
Sort by:
Everest Base Camp in Nepal by SnoMo, 3 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing trekking experience with The Mountain Company since 2015.

All the treks that I have been on were very well organized. The trekking days took into consideration of acclimatization. The cultural activities made the treks even more meaningful.

All the treks that I have been on were very well organized. The trekking days took into consideration of acclimatization. The cultural activities made the treks even more meaningful.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company is always very responsive to all enquiries. All the treaks are well planned. The right equipment, such safety gears are planned for each trek. Roland Hunter, the owner, is very ethical and environmentally friendly. He ensures all the Nepalese crew are well taken care of and safety is a priority for all. He promotes environmentally friendly trekking and even pay the crew to pick up garbage on the trail. I have been trekking with The Mountain Company since 2015 and would continue to do so until I cannot trek anymore.

Manaslu Circuit by LF, 3 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant Trek

We did the Manaslu Circuit Trek in April 2019, and it was one of the best experiences we've ever had. The Trek itself is absolutely stunning. The scenery we passed through on a day-to-day basis was exceptional, and the trek was quiet and remote. It was hard work, with some long days of walking, but we wanted a challenge and it felt so good to complete it.

We did the Manaslu Circuit Trek in April 2019, and it was one of the best experiences we've ever had. The Trek itself is absolutely stunning. The scenery we passed through on a day-to-day basis was exceptional, and the trek was quiet and remote. It was hard work, with some long days of walking, but we wanted a challenge and it felt so good to complete it.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company were great, particularly before we went on the trek - they helped us to prepare and answered any questions we had really quickly with helpful advice. We had never been on a long trek before, but Roland told us what we could expect and how best to prepare. They were really well equipped in terms of safety, and we always felt well looked after.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by Mountain Misty, 3 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

2019 Kanchenjunga Circuit

A spectacular, challenging three-week trek into a rugged, remote area of eastern Nepal. Extremely well organized, from airport pickup to the gear check in Kathmandu through to the full 3 week trek, meeting every logistical and organizational challenge. A well-organized, hard working team of guides, cooking staff and porters provided excellent service throughout the trek, meeting every logistical challenge head-on. Make no mistake, Kanchenjunga ...

A spectacular, challenging three-week trek into a rugged, remote area of eastern Nepal. Extremely well organized, from airport pickup to the gear check in Kathmandu through to the full 3 week trek, meeting every logistical and organizational challenge. A well-organized, hard working team of guides, cooking staff and porters provided excellent service throughout the trek, meeting every logistical challenge head-on. Make no mistake, Kanchenjunga Circuit is a serious undertaking for even experienced trekkers, but ultimately I felt very well prepared for the challenges of the altitude, the weather and the rugged trekking. Truly memorable.

Rating for tour operator:

I have used The Mountain Company on a couple of occasions for lengthy "Circuit" treks in Manaslu and Kanchenjunga, and have found them very experienced and well-prepared. These are challenging treks to relatively remote areas and the operators need to be on their toes to "expect the unexpected" and act quickly when necessary. On both occasions I felt well prepared, well fed, safe, and able to focus on enjoying the scenery and cultural experiences. I always felt comfortable sharing any concerns I had. TMC are experts, no question, and I honestly wouldn't use anyone else for trekking in Nepal.

Langtang & Laurebina La in Nepal by Pete H, 3 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Langtang Valley to Laurebina La Nepal trek

Superbly organized. Epic views on this 13 day trek in one of less explored regions in Nepal. Physically one of the toughest treks I’ve ever done but certainly worth the effort.

Superbly organized. Epic views on this 13 day trek in one of less explored regions in Nepal. Physically one of the toughest treks I’ve ever done but certainly worth the effort.

Rating for tour operator:

Great communications throughout. Very safety conscious and thorough in all preparations. Would strongly recommend.

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by deadwood, 3 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

A smoothly run and very enjoyable adventure in the high Himalayas

We spent ask excellent 35 days in Bhutan hiking in the mountains and visiting remote villages and temples. The trip was very professionally organised and executed.

We spent ask excellent 35 days in Bhutan hiking in the mountains and visiting remote villages and temples. The trip was very professionally organised and executed.

Rating for tour operator:

At any stage before our during the trip we were able to get prompt and comprehensive answers to questions and the execution of the trip was perfect.

Reviewer's images:
Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Mr. H K 19, 3 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exceptional, outstanding and beyond all expectations!!

The tour, leader and crew were exceptional in all respects. Every detail was attended to and every person involved in trek support, leaders, porters and cooking crew provided service and that went above and beyond. The attention to safety and the quality of the experience were paramount, the food was consistently outstanding and the trek was designed (daily mileage, quality and beauty of campsites, the number of acclimatization days, etc.) to ...

The tour, leader and crew were exceptional in all respects. Every detail was attended to and every person involved in trek support, leaders, porters and cooking crew provided service and that went above and beyond. The attention to safety and the quality of the experience were paramount, the food was consistently outstanding and the trek was designed (daily mileage, quality and beauty of campsites, the number of acclimatization days, etc.) to maximize the quality of the experience.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator and the local lead guide were brilliant. Knowledge of the local villages and culture, familiarity with the route, effective management of the crew, attention to health, comfort and safety of all were exceptional. There were a couple of medical issues that came up on the trip (one that had been missed by the individual's home health care provider and picked up by the tour leader before the trek began) and were effectively resolved due to the experience, persistence and attention to detail by the tour operator. The tour operator actively engaged with each trekker and the group as a whole which supported a positive group (and team) experience.

Kitiphu Ridge in Bhutan by Martinet, 2 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Discovering Bhutan

A 14 day varied trip combining visits to Paro, Thimpu, the ancient capital Punakha, Bumthang, and seeing the rare black necked cranes wintering in the remote Phobkika valley together with a 3 day camping trek over Kitiphu Ridge affording views of Mount Gangkar Punsum, the highest unclimbed mountain in the world..

A 14 day varied trip combining visits to Paro, Thimpu, the ancient capital Punakha, Bumthang, and seeing the rare black necked cranes wintering in the remote Phobkika valley together with a 3 day camping trek over Kitiphu Ridge affording views of Mount Gangkar Punsum, the highest unclimbed mountain in the world..

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company, a British Company specialising in Trekking and Cultural trips in the Himalayan region

Ganesh Himal in Nepal by LeoW, 2 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

an amazing cultrual experience with intresting walking and beautiful views of the mountains

We had a brilliant time very interesting walking a real cultural experience away from the crowds. We had excellent views of al the mountains in the area. The villages we stayed in were very accommodating towards us and everyone was very friendly along the way. Our were team were exceptional in looking after us we were fed very well our guides were very knowledgeable and we felt like we were part of one big team all with the same goal to achieve ...

We had a brilliant time very interesting walking a real cultural experience away from the crowds. We had excellent views of al the mountains in the area. The villages we stayed in were very accommodating towards us and everyone was very friendly along the way. Our were team were exceptional in looking after us we were fed very well our guides were very knowledgeable and we felt like we were part of one big team all with the same goal to achieve our journey

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour operator was very helpful with plenty of information for what we needed and what to expect for the trip. Everything went smoothly. Our taxi too and from airport was booked for us and on time and our hotels were booked for us which made thing easy for us . Roland looked after our valuable gear whilst we were on our trip which was very kind and gave us peace of mind that things would be safe.

Lamjung Himal trek in Nepal by trekrookie, 1 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Camping in undiscovered Nepal

My husband and I have been thinking of trekking in Nepal for years but we only booked our holiday a few weeks before going and we were the only 2 participants in our trek. Our first surprise on the first day was discovering our large entourage of guides, cooks and porters just for the 2 of us. The next 9 days of the trek were fantastic discovering Nepalese villages and walking up to 4300m through fantastic scenery. The Anapurna was never far ...

My husband and I have been thinking of trekking in Nepal for years but we only booked our holiday a few weeks before going and we were the only 2 participants in our trek. Our first surprise on the first day was discovering our large entourage of guides, cooks and porters just for the 2 of us. The next 9 days of the trek were fantastic discovering Nepalese villages and walking up to 4300m through fantastic scenery. The Anapurna was never far away but far enough such that we always camped in very remote areas.

Rating for tour operator:

We were recommended The Mountain Company by a friend and we recommend them too. We chose them because they were one of the few companies doing a 2 weeks treks that seemed challenging enough together with walking through unvisited parts of Nepal. We have liked their personalised attention before the holiday and their support throughout the holiday whether in Kathmandu, Pokhara or during the trek was excellent. We always felt completely safe and we were very well looked after.

Annapurna Luxury Lodges in Nepal by Basil, 28 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Adventure

From start to finish the holiday proved a wonderful experience trekking in the Annapurna region of Nepal. Beautiful countryside, amazing scenery, stunning mountain views and trekking through small local mountain villages. From first thing in the morning when we had our early morning coffees, until last thing at night when we met up with other trekkers and enjoyed happy hour, great food and company, we loved it. Everyone was extremely friendly ...

From start to finish the holiday proved a wonderful experience trekking in the Annapurna region of Nepal. Beautiful countryside, amazing scenery, stunning mountain views and trekking through small local mountain villages. From first thing in the morning when we had our early morning coffees, until last thing at night when we met up with other trekkers and enjoyed happy hour, great food and company, we loved it. Everyone was extremely friendly and the lodges and staff were excellent Our guide and porter were so helpful giving us confidence and supporting us the whole time. They were full of information about the Himalayas and local culture and we enjoyed many laughs daily. Fully recommend the trip.

Rating for tour operator:

We investigated many options prior to booking. Roland Hunter and his team at The Mountain Company offered us the best options for our adventure. The company were excellent throughout, giving us full and detailed pre trip information and answered every question we had very promptly. Once we arrived in Kathmandu we were met by Jo who works directly for TMC and she set us up brilliantly for the trip. She also organised our day tours in both Kathmandu and Pokhara which are well worth doing. I would fully recommend the Mountain Company.