AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 99
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 101
Reviews Accepted: 101
Reviews Rejected: 0
101 reviews
Sort by:
Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal by Henry , 15 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

A magical hidden kingdom.

An incomparable and profound journey into isolation and stunning beauty. A highly challenging trek into Upper Dolpo that denmanded blood, sweat and tears.

An incomparable and profound journey into isolation and stunning beauty. A highly challenging trek into Upper Dolpo that denmanded blood, sweat and tears.

Rating for tour operator:

First class. Clearly a company that delivers what it promises and deals fairly, squarely, honestly and with efficiency with any problems that arise through exemplary leadership. Roland Hunter remains as personable and committed as ever to his clients and company. Almas, Chandra Rai and Jo are highly professional managers and accomplished grass roots troubleshooters!

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal by MartinX, 12 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

A different world - remote and beautiful mountain scenery

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom trek in a seldom visited part of Nepal close to the China/Tibet border. A 25 day trek camping near remote villages in astonishing scenery and seeing a very different way of life.

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom trek in a seldom visited part of Nepal close to the China/Tibet border. A 25 day trek camping near remote villages in astonishing scenery and seeing a very different way of life.

Rating for tour operator:

Their pre-trip information was excellent-both accurate and detailed. All my advance enquiries were answered fully and promptly. The trek itself was very well organised and every effort was made to ensure our group (10 in number) got the maximum enjoyment from the trip (in sometimes very difficult conditions both in terms of remoteness and climate).

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Base Camp Trekker, 29 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Everest Base Camp - so much for the rest fo the Bucket List

This was a culmination of a number of adventures undertaken by someone old enough to know better. As a septuagenarian, I think I was saving the best until last, I certainly don't know now what I can do to top it. The tour was structured so very well, and our guide judged our ability admirably. Although we had trained hard for it, there is no substitute for doing a trek like this at high altitude. The Everest region is the most unspoilt and ...

This was a culmination of a number of adventures undertaken by someone old enough to know better. As a septuagenarian, I think I was saving the best until last, I certainly don't know now what I can do to top it. The tour was structured so very well, and our guide judged our ability admirably. Although we had trained hard for it, there is no substitute for doing a trek like this at high altitude. The Everest region is the most unspoilt and remarkable place I have seen in many years of travelling, and will forever occupy a place in my mind, and my heart.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company came recommended by a friend, and rightly so. Our guide ensured we got away to and from Lukla airport on time, when others were less fortunate because of the weather. We did so because we were first there and as anyone who knows the region, mornings are clearest. The lodges chosen were as good as any I imagine are available unless one is opting for luxury travel, and the overnight stops were planned to allow us to acclimatise properly, with the 'days off' used to climb high, sleep low. We will probably never know if it was this or the Diamox, or a combination of the two which prevented us suffering from altitude sickness, but the fact that we didn't is testament to the tour operators experience and pre-tour advice. The latter included recommendations on the kit we would need, and because of our age, they insisted on a sensible vetting process. The fact that we achieved our goal is in no small measure down to this and the preparation beforehand. I would not hesitate to recommend The Mountain Company to anyone.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Pierre, 20 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Adveture

Trekking up to Everest Base Camp in the Himalaya's.

Trekking up to Everest Base Camp in the Himalaya's.

Rating for tour operator:

First class. Very organised. The pre-trip information was excellent and the trek guide and porter were extremely helpful and caring. Very professionally run and organised.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by Rufus, 15 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Kanchenjunga Circuit Himalayan Trek

I recently spent a wonderful 3 weeks trekking in the remote Kanchenjunga region of eastern Nepal. The trek was very demanding, with long days and plenty of prolonged ascents and descents over rough terrain. The scenery was superb and varied from lush, tropical vegetation to stark, snow capped mountain peaks. The weather was quite warm in the early stages of the trek. Later on we experienced some days of snow and also light rain. All just part ...

I recently spent a wonderful 3 weeks trekking in the remote Kanchenjunga region of eastern Nepal. The trek was very demanding, with long days and plenty of prolonged ascents and descents over rough terrain. The scenery was superb and varied from lush, tropical vegetation to stark, snow capped mountain peaks. The weather was quite warm in the early stages of the trek. Later on we experienced some days of snow and also light rain. All just part and parcel of trekking in the Himalaya. Luckily the tents that we slept in were very roomy and bomb proof. Another highlight of the trek was meeting the local people. They were unfailingly friendly and welcoming towards us. Having the opportunity to witness their culture first hand was a real privilege. None of this would have been possible of course without the devoted assistance of The Mountain Company staff. This included the trek leader, sirdar, guides, cook and his assistants, and of course the porters. I shall always look back on my trek to Kanchenjunga with a great deal of pleasure. It certainly exceeded all my expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

This was my 3rd attempt to do the Kanchenjunga trek; the first 2 attempts with another operator having unfortunately failed to proceed. The Mountain Company was recommended to me by a friend of a friend; this person having previously done several treks with them. Right from my first contact with the owner, Roland Hunter I was confident that I had made the correct choice. Roland is a person of vast mountaineering and trekking experience. It was a pleasure dealing with someone who is very hands on, and who had been there and done that many times before. Some other larger organisations employ people who are basically salespersons, and have probably never been on a trek themselves. The Mountain Company is extremely professional, both in their very informative website, and also in the very detailed and relevant information which they provide to participants on any of their treks. Any pre trip queries which I had were answered very promptly and helpfully by Roland himself. It was also a pleasure to meet Roland in person in Kathmandu just prior to the trek commencing. We stayed in the Tibet hotel in Kathmandu both before and after the trek. The rooms were basic, but roomy and clean and comparatively inexpensive. This is all that one requires. There is absolutely no need for expensive, up market accommodation, when one spends a minimal amount of time in your room. The trek leader Almas is a person of great leading experience. He has been guiding treks for 24 years, the past 14 years with The Mountain Company. I found him to be very approachable and helpful over the 3 week trek duration. Nothing was too much trouble and nothing seemed to fluster him. This also applied to the Sirdar, trekking guides, kitchen staff and the porters. I could not fault them. Everything was done willingly and with a smile, no matter what the request may have been. The staff were ever aware of our safety and welfare, and did everything to ensure that we had an enjoyable holiday experience in their country. All in all The Mountain Company is an extremely professional and well run organisation. I had a wonderful trekking holiday, and would have no hesitation in joining them for another trek if the opportunity arose.

Kopra Ridge in Nepal by Kam, 30 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Superb trekking experience

Stunning mountain views, remote trails, entertaining guides

Stunning mountain views, remote trails, entertaining guides

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient in all respects

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Mark R, 26 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

It was the trek of a lifetime - to and from Everest Basee Camp - extraordinary!!!! And this was thanks to The Mountain Company.

It was a 19 day trip, starting(1/4/18) and finishing in Kathmandu, focused on a 14 day trek to and from Everest Base Camp. You fly to Lukla a little airport 30 mins from Kathmandu. The trek is through landscape that seems other-worldly but the increasing altitude (EBC is 5300m) and more basic facilities makes it a significant physical and resilience stretch. It is one of the most exhilarating and rewarding things I have ever done in a stunning ...

It was a 19 day trip, starting(1/4/18) and finishing in Kathmandu, focused on a 14 day trek to and from Everest Base Camp. You fly to Lukla a little airport 30 mins from Kathmandu. The trek is through landscape that seems other-worldly but the increasing altitude (EBC is 5300m) and more basic facilities makes it a significant physical and resilience stretch. It is one of the most exhilarating and rewarding things I have ever done in a stunning part of the world. The trip had been put together as a ‘luxury’ trek. In that part of the world where remoteness dominates ‘luxury’ is a relative concept but much of the lower accommodation was great and every effort was made to find the best higher lodges - albeit they were not great.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company operate out of London and Kathmandu and was founded and is led by a successful Everest climber - Roland. He and his team did everything in their power to organise a trip that have you the best chance possible to succeed despite the altitude and to make the trip as comfortable as possible. Roland met us in Kathmandu before and after the trek to brief and debrief us and that attention to detail and quality of service was continued by his team, most notably our Sherpa guide. I find it hard to imagine that any other company could do a better job and would unreservedly recommend this to others.

Kopra Ridge in Nepal by Alex, 23 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Treking at Kopra Ridge Nepal

VG as described, the Mountain Company staff were excellent

VG as described, the Mountain Company staff were excellent

Rating for tour operator:

Very Professional with every care taken, pre-trip information and attentive staff thro-out duration of the trip.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Chris H, 23 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

A trek of a lifetime to Everest Base Camp

Our amazing trek through the Himalayas was very well organised by Mountain Company. Plenty of contact before the trip, with detailed requirements with regard to fitness, health & equipment. The trip itself was smoothly run, , our guides were excellent & a joy to spend time with. The pace was carefully managed to reflect altitude & we were reviewed medically daily, which I thought was very thorough. We had a few minor issues with accommodations, ...

Our amazing trek through the Himalayas was very well organised by Mountain Company. Plenty of contact before the trip, with detailed requirements with regard to fitness, health & equipment. The trip itself was smoothly run, , our guides were excellent & a joy to spend time with. The pace was carefully managed to reflect altitude & we were reviewed medically daily, which I thought was very thorough. We had a few minor issues with accommodations, which were quickly resolved to our satisfaction & really shows how Mountain Company care for their guests. The whole experience was physically & mentally challenging, but we wouldn't have missed it for the world. Can't recommend Mountain Company highly enough.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Company are a quality tour operator, I can't recommend them highly enough for a trek to EBC.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Tom Preshal, 9 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

A beautiful trek towards Everest base camp

A trek up from Lukla towards EBC, using Lodges for accommodating and T-houses for lunch. A very well arranged trek with three acclimatisation days and an excellent guide and assistant guide. Arranged by The Mountain Company who I couldn't recommend highly enough.

A trek up from Lukla towards EBC, using Lodges for accommodating and T-houses for lunch. A very well arranged trek with three acclimatisation days and an excellent guide and assistant guide. Arranged by The Mountain Company who I couldn't recommend highly enough.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company are a very well organised and knowledgeable company with experts in the UK and Kathmandu. They offer exactly the sort of support you need when trekking to remote areas. Their response to emails and inquiries is second to none.