AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 129
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 132
Reviews Accepted: 132
Reviews Rejected: 0
132 reviews
Sort by:
Manaslu Circuit by Fernando, 8 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Awesome combination of landscapes and culture.

I did the Manaslu Circuit, a 13 day trekking holiday through the valleys and high passes of Nepal.

I did the Manaslu Circuit, a 13 day trekking holiday through the valleys and high passes of Nepal.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company provided an excellent service before and during my trip, with comprehensive advise and information and looking after every detail.

Reviewer's images:
Manaslu Circuit with Tsum Valley by SnoMo, 5 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Manaslu Circuit with Tsum Valley in Nepal

This is a 24 day trip with 19 trekking days. It was an amazing experience with magnificent view of Manaslu and other mountain ranges. Also learned about local culture from trekking through local villages. There were some long days but well worth the effort. The crew was always there to let a hand. I am very slow going down but never was left on my own or rushed as a crew member was always there with me.

This is a 24 day trip with 19 trekking days. It was an amazing experience with magnificent view of Manaslu and other mountain ranges. Also learned about local culture from trekking through local villages. There were some long days but well worth the effort. The crew was always there to let a hand. I am very slow going down but never was left on my own or rushed as a crew member was always there with me.

Rating for tour operator:

Great! Five-stars! The Mountain Company is an amazing tour operator. It provides timely response to questions, listen to feedback from clients and the crew. Implement changes if and when required to improve the experiences of its clients. Environmental friendly by participating in cleaning up the trails and promote environmental friendly practices. Ensure ethical treatment of crew by providing them with the necessary equipment and ensure they do not carry excess weight.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by Fox, 4 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

TRUE GRIT

The Mountain Company is a finely tuned guide service. It is professional, effective, efficient, organized, and highly affective to the needs of its clients. Who knows the width and depth of a guide service if absolutely everything goes smoothly. The 'True Grit' of a service organization is revealed when its staff/crew flawlessly problem solve any issues as they occur. It is noteworthy when highly acceptable solutions are presented. Kanchenjunga...

The Mountain Company is a finely tuned guide service. It is professional, effective, efficient, organized, and highly affective to the needs of its clients. Who knows the width and depth of a guide service if absolutely everything goes smoothly. The 'True Grit' of a service organization is revealed when its staff/crew flawlessly problem solve any issues as they occur. It is noteworthy when highly acceptable solutions are presented. Kanchenjunga... Five Treasures of the Eternal Snow. Natalie Wilson... Kanchenjunga's Sixth Treasure as lead guide for TMC Thank you to Natalie, Raj, Sangram, Jon, Sagar, Bal, and all porters/cook staff. In the 23 mountain climbs and treks that I have done on five continents, The Mountain Company rates an A+.

Rating for tour operator:

Please read review above.

Annapurna Luxury Lodges in Nepal by happy holiday, 29 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Stunning mountain scenery with great back-up

Easy walking in Nepal with fantastic mountain scenery

Easy walking in Nepal with fantastic mountain scenery

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised with excellent communication

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by Rogera65, 29 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Kanchenjunga Circuit - An amazing experience in a remote trekking region

A long three week trek in a remote part of Nepal visiting Kanchenjunga North and South base camps. A very well organised camping trek with the group supported by a hard working team of guides, cooking staff and porters. A mix of climates from temperate forests to cold high altitude tundra surrounding Himalayan mountains. Spectacular scenery. A special place.

A long three week trek in a remote part of Nepal visiting Kanchenjunga North and South base camps. A very well organised camping trek with the group supported by a hard working team of guides, cooking staff and porters. A mix of climates from temperate forests to cold high altitude tundra surrounding Himalayan mountains. Spectacular scenery. A special place.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company is a well organised and highly professional tour operator specialising in trekking holidays in the Himalayas. They pay special attention to ensure the safety and welfare of the trekkers. Highly recommended.

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal by Nick, 29 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Nepal Himalayan trek in Upper Dolpo region

This was a wonderful 30 day trek in a remote area of Nepal, along a section of the great himalayan trail. We were a group of ten, seven of whom are friends from New Zealand who have previously trekked together in Nepal, while the other three were from the UK. There were 25 days of walking, averaging 8 hours per day, mostly at altitudes over 4,000 metres and crossing six passes over 5,000 metres. This is a remote and quite arid region, with ...

This was a wonderful 30 day trek in a remote area of Nepal, along a section of the great himalayan trail. We were a group of ten, seven of whom are friends from New Zealand who have previously trekked together in Nepal, while the other three were from the UK. There were 25 days of walking, averaging 8 hours per day, mostly at altitudes over 4,000 metres and crossing six passes over 5,000 metres. This is a remote and quite arid region, with endless spectacular vistas, and rich with Tibetan culture. It was superbly organised by The Mountain Company, in partnership with their Kathamandu agent: www.themountaincompany.co.uk

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company is based in the UK with a partner in Kathamandu. They are experienced mountain trekking operators, and we have previously trekked with them up to the base of Mt Kachenjunga in the east Nepalese Himalaya.

Reviewer's images:
Langtang & Laurebina La in Nepal by GrahamDuthie, 27 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Langtang, Laurebina-la and Gosainkund trek

trek to the Langtang valley then to the Gosainkund lakes followed by crossing Laurebina La pass and finally descending through Helabu to the north rim of Kathmandu valley. This area was the epicentre of the terrible 2015 earthquake. Much of the region has been rebuilt but the natural beauty remains intact. The area is getting back on it's feet and starting to attract visitors from Kathmandu city as well as abroad. Fabulous trek.

trek to the Langtang valley then to the Gosainkund lakes followed by crossing Laurebina La pass and finally descending through Helabu to the north rim of Kathmandu valley. This area was the epicentre of the terrible 2015 earthquake. Much of the region has been rebuilt but the natural beauty remains intact. The area is getting back on it's feet and starting to attract visitors from Kathmandu city as well as abroad. Fabulous trek.

Rating for tour operator:

Superb. I've trekked with Mountain Company many times since 2008. Always been great! Roland Hunter is very good at this and knows the Himalayas and it's people well.

Half Annapurna Circuit in Nepal by Nick B, 23 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

An amazing holiday experience trekking in the Himalayas

My wife and I booked a 3 week holiday including a 2 week trek with The Mountain Company. We flew into Kathmandu and had a fantastic time in the mountains throughout. Our experiences in Nepal were amazing and the country is truly beautiful, along with the wonderful people.

My wife and I booked a 3 week holiday including a 2 week trek with The Mountain Company. We flew into Kathmandu and had a fantastic time in the mountains throughout. Our experiences in Nepal were amazing and the country is truly beautiful, along with the wonderful people.

Rating for tour operator:

From the moment that we expressed an interest in this holiday to the time we got home, The Mountain Company were keen to help us have a great experience. The company is attentive without being intrusive and has a wealth of knowledge on specialist trekking trips. We were really pleased with the level of service we received.

Manaslu Circuit by Becky, 22 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Manaslu Circuit Trek in Nepal with The Mountain Company

Every day of the trek was different with a constant supply of fantastic scenery. We were looked after extremely well by our guide and porters, with plenty of great food and attention to detail. The itinerary was planned to allow optimal acclimatisation, this also allowed time to explore above the highest villages where the Manaslu views were at their most dramatic.

Every day of the trek was different with a constant supply of fantastic scenery. We were looked after extremely well by our guide and porters, with plenty of great food and attention to detail. The itinerary was planned to allow optimal acclimatisation, this also allowed time to explore above the highest villages where the Manaslu views were at their most dramatic.

Rating for tour operator:

The organisation and advice received before the trek was brilliant with lots of attention to detail and rapid responses to emails. I felt we had the best guide and porters, we seemed to be the only group with a satellite phone and I felt our safety was a high priority. The excellent planning and the way we were looked after on trek made for a fantastic experience where I could just walk and enjoy being in such an amazing place.

Naar to Upper Mustang GHT Nepal by jerry, 22 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Naar-Mustang

Trek in Nepal to Mustang, spectacular setting in alpine and subalpine terrain and high altitiude desert-type conditions. Superb days in several villages along the way.

Trek in Nepal to Mustang, spectacular setting in alpine and subalpine terrain and high altitiude desert-type conditions. Superb days in several villages along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

Fantastic service from the very beginning to the end. Amazingly prompt responses by email during my preparation and a very helpful dossier which covers every conceivable detail. The best food I have ever had on a camping trek. Very attentive service during the trek with alot of effort to continually tune the daily details to maximize our experience.