The Mountain Company

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 74
Reviews accepted: 74
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
72
Good
2
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

High altitude trek with stunning mountain views

By Eng57 on 10 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about K2 & Gondogoro La in Pakistan >

All along the trek, strong is the feeling of the immensity of the surrounding environment. The route is often on a rough terrain, with sections exposed to falling rocks, and includes steep slopes on a loose ground and crossing of streams. In general the weather was quite warm and it was never really cold even at night. The length of all the stages is comfortable and allows a good acclimatization, including also an appropriate rest day at Urdukas.
The local staff supporting us was always very friendly and helpful. In general, I never perceived an hostile attitude from locals both in villages and towns. People I met was always kind, both while taking a walk in Skardu and during the visit to the Faisal Mosque and the Daman-e-Koh viewpoint in Islamabad.
Sadly a significant amounts of rubbish is present along the route and especially at some camps. The overall management of the garbage has to be improved to reduce human impact.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I had complete pre-trip information regarding all the aspects of the travel, as well as all the necessary documental support to obtain entry visas. Along the trek the western leader has proved himself competent and effective in all circumstances. We also had prompt remote support from UK by phone, including meteo forecasts. All the staff of the local Agency gave us a very good support. Pakistani guides, cooks, their helpers and the porters made the trip successful.

High altitude trek along endless moraines and glaciers surrounded by mighty peaks

By Sid61 on 2 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about K2 & Gondogoro La in Pakistan >

Adventurous trek passing near roaring mighty rivers and on immense glaciers covered by rocks in a unique, severe and stunning alpine environment that transmits the feeling of immensity and the perception of an unpredictable and precarious environment. In general, main technical challenges, even with good weather, can be related to stream crossing, walk on rough and/or slippery terrain and to the descend of steep slopes of unstable rocks (crossing Gondogoro La). Observed need to improve garbage and excrement collection to reduce tourism impact. Experience of friendly relationships and mutual aid with the local staff supporting us. Perception of a quiet and safe condition in the places visited with the local guides in villages and towns (Skardu, Islamabad); local people I met was always kind and respectful showing interest in speaking with tourists.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Tour Operator provided effective and detailed pre-trip informations (description of the itinerary, general ethical and environmental consideration, practical infos related to altitude problems, climate, clothing and equipment, documents required to get VISA/ trekking permit...), competent western trek leader, prompt remote support from UK during the trek as regard meteo forecasts and evacuation of sick people. Very good local technical support and service (guides, porters, food) were provided by the chosen local agency.

Exceptional trek

By nikkyb on 17 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about K2 Base Camp in Pakistan >

It was a long, hot trek. The sun was brutal and the water was a light shade of brown. But I would have had it any other way. Trekking in the Karakoram up the Baltoro Glacier to K2 base camp is a challenge that is rewarded daily by spectacular scenery. But if it wasn't also a test of mental strength and endurance it would not have been nearly as much fun.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company is a small UK-based specialized tour operator that arranges interesting high altitude and mountain journeys in great locations. Regional / trekking / outdoor expertise is high, and the feeling that you are part of a large commercial trek is non-existent. Highly recommended.

Scenery, Culture, Wildlife and History. Upper Dolpo has it all

By Paul C on 26 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal >

Recently completed a 4 week trek with The Mountain Company in the Upper Dolpo region of Nepal, it was challenging but immensely rewarding to see such a rich tapestry of culture, landscapes and wildlife. I highly recommend this trek. The route takes in six x five thousand metre passes and you get the chance to stay at Phoksundo Lake and Shey Gompa. The area is full of Tibetan influence. The stunning views of Upper Dolpo will stay with me for a long time. We saw Tibetan Wolf, Jackal, lots of Blue Sheep and Marmots and more than 40 species of birds including regular Lammergeier and Griffon Vulture.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company are a small British based tour operator who specialise in Himalaya treks and importantly for me, they genuinely care about their Sherpa guides, kitchen and porter staff. They plan their treks in great detail and plan rest days at strategic points to ensure that everyone has the best chance of completing the trek.
The quality and experience of their group leaders and Sirdhars is second to none. This was my 5th trek with The Mountain Company which speaks for itself!

Upper Dolpo, Nepal

By Pod51 on 9 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal >

This was an amazing trek in the remote region of Upper Dolpo, trekking through an area strongly influenced with Tibetan culture. The scenery is spectacular trekking through beautiful gorges - never far from a pounding river, staying alongside wonderful villages e.g. Ringmo, Shey and Tinje and spending time alongside side the turquoise blue lake of Phoksumdo.

There is challenge too ... regularly crossing spectacular passes with mountain vistas. The schedule is well planned with additional days to acclimatise, plenty of good food to provide us with the energy to complete the trek and enjoy the area.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I have regularly trekked with The Mountain Company, the itineraries are very well planned, the treks are extremely well led both with Western Leadership and local Sirdar and Guides. This trek in particular there was an excellent relationship and engagement between all the crew and trekkers.

It's great to see that as much care is taken regarding the health and well being of the crew on the trek as the clients. The trek leaders have access to high quality weather forecasts and satellite communication.

Very well managed trek.

Dolpo, Nepal : May 2017

By CB on 8 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal >

Fabulous trek through remote region of north-west Nepal.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company organised everything brilliantly!

Dhaulagiri Circuit Trek with The Mountain Company

By Melvin on 21 May 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal >

What a fantastic trip. It started at home with The Mountain Company's detailed website outlining the trip and continued with excellent communication from Roland. Once in Nepal, we were met at the airport and transported to a great hotel in Kathmandu. The trek started as outlined and we traveled through the terraced lowlands to the forested slopes and finally into the mighty Himalaya. The sights exceeded my expectations. The guides, kitchen staff and porters were very friendly and always helpful. I was humbled by the work they did. We were fed well prepared delicious meals and we were all amazed by the variety of meals that were prepared in the high altitude conditions. I will be traveling with The Mountain Company again and I highly recommend them.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I had an excellent experience with The Mountain Company---Top Notch

Brilliant Trek Around Dhaulagiri Circuit

By PaulaH on 13 May 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Everyday was an adventure on this trek ! We hiked through villages, cornfields, forests, steepsided gorges, wide open valleys, breathtaking mountain views and big skies. Wonderful !
For me, there were some challenging days towards the end of the trek, over the passes through the snow and long steep descents. I wouldn't have missed this experience for anything. It was everything I could have hoped for.
Our leader, guides and crew worked tirelessly and did a superb job of looking after us. They were all very knowledgable and friendly with a great sense of humour !!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The whole trip was well planned,organised and executed by The Mountain Company.
The Mountain Company works to very high standards and achieves them, whilst being sensitive to the fragile environment in which it operates and respectful of the local peoples.

From the off, the level of communication and personal advice offered is detailed, considered and personally tailored. Very impressive personal service.

It is pleasing that customer feedback is listened to, then, where appropriate, put into action to enhance the next treks experiences.

Well done and I hope to trek with you again in the near future.

Superb trek to remote Nepali villages

By Barty on 11 May 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Everest Luxury Lodge in Nepal >

11 day trek to Ama Dablam base camp flying into and out of Lukla

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company made the holiday an very special experience for us both. Small enough to deal with customers as individuals.

Outstanding

By Mat88 on 9 May 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal >

It was a trekking holiday around the Dhaulagiri circuit. 16 days camping and the rest in hotels. There was never any want for anything and the whole crew were very accommodating. All flights and transfers were spot on timing and service wise. Couldn't ask for better.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company organised everything to a tee. We never had to worry about anything as everything was taken care of giving us the time and space to enjoy Nepal.