AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 290
Good 5
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 295
Reviews Accepted: 295
Reviews Rejected: 0
295 reviews
Sort by:
Makalu Base Camp in Nepal by Tim, 10 Jun 2024
Holiday Rating:

PN0424MBC01

Makalu Base Camp Trek with the Mountain Company

Makalu Base Camp Trek with the Mountain Company

Rating for tour operator:

We had a wonderful holiday. The planning pre trip was friendly and straightforward, our travel and accommodation was arranged very efficiently and was readily adapted to changing circumstances. The trek itself was a joy, with the kindness and experience of our group leader - Galden - and his team a stand out strength of the trip

Makalu Base Camp in Nepal by Martin61, 30 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Makalu Base Camp

A trek from Num to Makalu Base Camp. We had the opportunity to meet many Nepalese on this trek and, as is always the case, they were kind, fun, happy and hard working. They are a major reason as to why I have returned to Nepal numerous time. The Mountain views, often the first reason people travel to Nepal were outstanding, particularly around Makalu itself. The trek was very well organised, plans b& c always in place when needed (as can be ...

A trek from Num to Makalu Base Camp. We had the opportunity to meet many Nepalese on this trek and, as is always the case, they were kind, fun, happy and hard working. They are a major reason as to why I have returned to Nepal numerous time. The Mountain views, often the first reason people travel to Nepal were outstanding, particularly around Makalu itself. The trek was very well organised, plans b& c always in place when needed (as can be the case in Nepal) with excellent communication from the local trek leader at all times. You need to be reasonably fit for this trek but you’ll come back even fitter! A new hand built rock pathway covers much of the route, presumably to protect against erosion which has its pros and cons…….and also frequent ups and downs. Crossing the Shipton La was great fun experience for me, requiring micro spikes much of the time as even at the end of April/beginning of May there was still much snow and ice about. The tea houses were largely new but basic but I am aware they are already plans to upgrade them. The tea house at base camp was the best of the lot and very comfortable given its location. I wouldn’t necessarily say this should be the first trek you undertake, but if you have trekked before and are looking to trek again, then definitely one to do.

Rating for tour operator:

Before and after booking Roland at TMC was very approachable , easy to contact and always looking to help and guide. This communication continued whilst in Nepal and since returning. Roland is always keen to receive feedback and has always come back to discuss the points raised to see what improvements can be made. The Nepalese team at Sanctuary are first class, very helpful and reliable and without fail the trekking crew are absolutely excellent.

Makalu Base Camp in Nepal by Dr Jim, 27 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Makalu Base Camp

Guided trek to Makalu Base Camp (Nepal) staying at teahouses. Breakfast at 6.30, walking from 7-7.30 with regular water breaks and relaxed lunch, a arriving at teahouse around 2-30 pm. Simple, pleasant accommodation and food and pleasant welcoming hosts. Beautiful scenery, remote and peaceful. Excellent birdwatching. No cars and no phones for two weeks, how wonderful! Decent levels of fitness required with a good sense of achievement at the ...

Guided trek to Makalu Base Camp (Nepal) staying at teahouses. Breakfast at 6.30, walking from 7-7.30 with regular water breaks and relaxed lunch, a arriving at teahouse around 2-30 pm. Simple, pleasant accommodation and food and pleasant welcoming hosts. Beautiful scenery, remote and peaceful. Excellent birdwatching. No cars and no phones for two weeks, how wonderful! Decent levels of fitness required with a good sense of achievement at the end of the trek. Excellent organisation and guides provided by the Mountain Company.

Rating for tour operator:

All transport, transfers on time and efficient. Hotel in Kathmandu excellent. Pre trek information comprehensive and clear. 10/10 for quality of tour operator

Makalu Base Camp in Nepal by Dave, 26 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Excellent trek to Makalu Base Camp

Extremely well-organised trek with great leaders/porters/management, would very much recommend Makalu BC for it's remoteness and the fact that there are very few other trekkers, making a real wilderness experience.

Extremely well-organised trek with great leaders/porters/management, would very much recommend Makalu BC for it's remoteness and the fact that there are very few other trekkers, making a real wilderness experience.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company was excellent from start to finish. Roland's advice on choice of trek was invaluable and a great deal of useful detailed information was provided pre-departure. Organisation in Nepal was flawless and all TMC team members were professional and inspired confidence.

Makalu Base Camp in Nepal by Pod51, 24 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Adventure

A beautiful remote teahouse trek to Makalu Basecamp. Stunning mountain views, lovely forests in the Braun Valley … plus cultural scenes in the villages of Seduwa and Tashigoan.

A beautiful remote teahouse trek to Makalu Basecamp. Stunning mountain views, lovely forests in the Braun Valley … plus cultural scenes in the villages of Seduwa and Tashigoan.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent knowledge and experience of Himalayan trekking, superb planning and communication. Plus excellent support throughout

Manaslu Circuit by Kate Walton, 11 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely incredible

We trekked the Manaslu Circuit in April 2024 and it was absolutely phenomenal. The scenery was so varied so every day was a little but different, and we felt like The Mountain Company's itinerary was perfect to make sure we were all acclimatised and absolutely fine for crossing the 5100m Larkya Pass at the end. Having never done a multi-day trek before, I was expecting the trekking to be far more challenging than it actually was, which was a ...

We trekked the Manaslu Circuit in April 2024 and it was absolutely phenomenal. The scenery was so varied so every day was a little but different, and we felt like The Mountain Company's itinerary was perfect to make sure we were all acclimatised and absolutely fine for crossing the 5100m Larkya Pass at the end. Having never done a multi-day trek before, I was expecting the trekking to be far more challenging than it actually was, which was a pleasant surprise! What I really loved about the Manaslu Circuit was that it was still quite quiet compared to many of the other Nepal treks, so you really feel at one with nature and not just stuck in traffic jams of tourists!

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company were amazing - Roland makes sure that you have all the information you could possibly need in advance, and you don't have to think about anything while on the trek. All the guides and porters were so lovely, kind and a lot of fun - so you feel like a big family! Having been on a biking trip in Mustang with a different tour operator straight after the trek, I realised just how great The Mountain Company guides and porters are in comparison. We couldn't recommend more highly!

Manaslu Circuit by vicky, 1 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Manaslu Circuit : a real adventure !

2 week trek in Nepal around Manaslu - fantastic

2 week trek in Nepal around Manaslu - fantastic

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful, responsive, knowledgeable

Lamjung Himal trek in Nepal by RJOfford, 14 Feb 2024
Holiday Rating:

Amazing trek in the Lamjung Himal

We did a 8 day camping trek in the Lamjung Himal region with The Mountain Company (TMC). This was our third trek with TMC, and we would not hesitate to book with them again. The pre trip information is fantastic, and the owner of the company, Roland Hunter, is always available to answer any questions and provide helpful guidance. He is in Kathmandu throughout the trekking season and always gives an in-person pre-trek briefing, which is a ...

We did a 8 day camping trek in the Lamjung Himal region with The Mountain Company (TMC). This was our third trek with TMC, and we would not hesitate to book with them again. The pre trip information is fantastic, and the owner of the company, Roland Hunter, is always available to answer any questions and provide helpful guidance. He is in Kathmandu throughout the trekking season and always gives an in-person pre-trek briefing, which is a really nice touch. He also welcomed us to his UK head office prior to departure to answer some questions that we had. The trek itself was great, with a fantastic crew and a truly incredible guide in Dorji Tamang. Really kind, really friendly, really knowledgeable, and in someone whom we had complete trust. He simply could not do enough for us. The views of the Annapurnas towards the end of the trek were simply incredible, and made up for some of the bad weather we had on route up to the higher elevations.

Rating for tour operator:

TMC are simply fantastic in all respects. There is so much helpful information on their website, and the MD Roland Hunter as an experienced trekker and climber is able to answer any questions in advance, and during the trek. I don't think he ever sleeps, as it doesn't seem to matter what time you send a message, a detailed response is generally received within an hour or two. The organisation of the treks is second to none, and I am confident that trekkers with TMC get looked after much better than those travelling with other companies. It's the little touches like providing hand sanitiser on the dining table as soon as you sit down to eat that sets them apart from other companies.

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by happy trekker, 30 Jan 2024
Holiday Rating:

Dhaaulagiri Circuit Trek

An amazing trek through a wide variety of scenery from lowland forests to snowy high altitude passes. I would definitely recommend this trek if you're up for a challenge and you like quiet trails.

An amazing trek through a wide variety of scenery from lowland forests to snowy high altitude passes. I would definitely recommend this trek if you're up for a challenge and you like quiet trails.

Rating for tour operator:

From my first phone call to Roland at The Mountain Company to my return to the Uk the service and attention to detail was outstanding. Roland was always quick to reply to any questions and ensured I was on the right trek for me. I would absolutely recommend booking with The Mountian Company if you're looking to travel to the Himalayas

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by RMM, 27 Jan 2024
Holiday Rating:

Luxury Everest Trek done right!

Three weeks of trekking, customized by Roland to provide the right experience for us - lodging, guide, itinerary, and support. From booking the bespoke trek to returning home after the experience, The Mountain Company provided thorough, professional, and excellent service and attention...making it a memorable experience. It was the second trek I have arranged with The Mountain Company - and certainly won't be the last.

Three weeks of trekking, customized by Roland to provide the right experience for us - lodging, guide, itinerary, and support. From booking the bespoke trek to returning home after the experience, The Mountain Company provided thorough, professional, and excellent service and attention...making it a memorable experience. It was the second trek I have arranged with The Mountain Company - and certainly won't be the last.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company, run by Roland Hunter and supported by a solid team of local professionals, provides a terrific personalized experience. Whether joining an existing group or having him and his team organize a customized itinerary and experience, I found other trekkers I encountered jealous...from the itinerary and care taken to safely and successfully complete the trek, to the local connections that gave us an advantage with existing and ongoing relationships with lodges and tea houses. Walking into lodges with The Mountain Company made us feel so welcomed by the lodge owners and staff. From planning, to execution, Roland and Team is my go-to for any trek in Asia.