AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 203
Good 4
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 207
Reviews Accepted: 207
Reviews Rejected: 0
207 reviews
Sort by:
Mardi Himal in Nepal by Lloyd60, 4 May 2020
Holiday Rating:

Mardi Himal Ridge on the eve of Covid19

After lengthy discussion with TMC during which we always felt that no question was too much trouble or insignificant, we committed to the Mardi Himal Ridge trek. All logistics were perfect, the TMC team ensured we understood how it would run which made sure we were well prepared. The ancilary parts (transfers, guides, trips and hotels)all ran smoothly and everyone we met was both friendly and efficient.

After lengthy discussion with TMC during which we always felt that no question was too much trouble or insignificant, we committed to the Mardi Himal Ridge trek. All logistics were perfect, the TMC team ensured we understood how it would run which made sure we were well prepared. The ancilary parts (transfers, guides, trips and hotels)all ran smoothly and everyone we met was both friendly and efficient.

Rating for tour operator:

We can not praise TMC highly enough. Not only was the trek and related elements well run but the support in the growing wave of anxiety about Covid19 was first class and fully vindicated the choice of agency. The trek was completed just before the impact of Covid19 restrictions really hit in Nepal but with developing events it became paramount that we got back to KTM from rural Nepal asap. Not only did TMC arrange the relevant impromptu flight and transfers (with payment not needed until we got to KTM!!) but their team also supported our efforts to rebook early flights back to UK. Without doubt our prompt return to UK without difficulty (we arrived 20March 2/3 days before formal lockdown) was largely down to the ease with which TMC arranged our return to KTM and movements once we got there.

Luxury Classic Tour of Nepal by MaryP, 19 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

The Trip of a Lifetime

We travelled around Nepal in celebration of our Ruby Wedding anniversary. We stayed in Kathmandu, then travelled to Dhulikhel, then Bhaktapur by road. Then we flew to Pokhara, on to Chitwan National Park, then back to Kathmandu.

We travelled around Nepal in celebration of our Ruby Wedding anniversary. We stayed in Kathmandu, then travelled to Dhulikhel, then Bhaktapur by road. Then we flew to Pokhara, on to Chitwan National Park, then back to Kathmandu.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company tailored the trip to our specific requests, but added suggestions to our itinerary to further enhance our experience of the country. They informed each hotel of the special occasion we were celebrating, and each one organised special treats for us to mark the occasion. Thanks to TMC we have watched the sun rise over the Annapurnas, and watched rhinos and crocodiles up close in Chitwan. Everything ran like clockwork and the whole trip exceeded our expectations.

Reviewer's images:
Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by Alice E, 6 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Extraordinary adventure around the third highest mountain in the world

For our first ever trip to the Himalayas we chose the Kanchenjunga Circuit run by The Mountain Company. This might seem unwise, as it is billed as a remote and challenging trip. However the personalized care we received before, during and after our trip made us feel safe, comfortable, and exhilarated throughout. We are going back, and wouldn't dream of going with any other tour operator.

For our first ever trip to the Himalayas we chose the Kanchenjunga Circuit run by The Mountain Company. This might seem unwise, as it is billed as a remote and challenging trip. However the personalized care we received before, during and after our trip made us feel safe, comfortable, and exhilarated throughout. We are going back, and wouldn't dream of going with any other tour operator.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company was fantastic to deal with from start to finish. It was always clear whom we could contact, and during our initial communications that was Roland Hunter, the owner, who made sure this trip was right for us and that we were prepared. In the immediate run up to the trip we received immediate responses to all our questions, and then while on trek we were superbly cared for and motivated by Natalie Wilson, the Western Leader, and the highly experienced local sidar.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by Basher, 31 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfectly organised trek around Kanchenjunga

I have done many organised treks in a Nepal, with various operators, but this was my first one with TMC and I would certainly use them again. The route up the western side to the ‘northern’ base-camp at Pangpema took us through a range of different vegetation and scenery as we gently acclimatised. The views were stunning throughout. We were thus all well and fit for the ascent of the passes to cross to the eastern side and ‘south’ camp at Oktang...

I have done many organised treks in a Nepal, with various operators, but this was my first one with TMC and I would certainly use them again. The route up the western side to the ‘northern’ base-camp at Pangpema took us through a range of different vegetation and scenery as we gently acclimatised. The views were stunning throughout. We were thus all well and fit for the ascent of the passes to cross to the eastern side and ‘south’ camp at Oktang. We had good weather and all the team made it. The crew, from guide to cooks to porters, were all excellent and good fun.

Rating for tour operator:

First time I had used TMC - after bumping into the owner two years ago in Kathmandu and being impressed by his approach. I was not disappointed. Everything was well thought-through - the itinerary, the timing to avoid the bad weather (we had a couple of hours of rain in 3 weeks), the excellent choice of staff, the pace and length of days to allow acclimatisation, and provision of excellent information. I would certainly use the company again.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Laurie, 26 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

This was the number one item on my lifelong bucket list and it surpassed all expectations.

My holiday was an Everest Base Camp 14 day trek at the end of November 2019. My friend and I signed up for The Mountain Company’s Luxury Everest Base Camp trek. The weather was perfect as was all the organisation. The extreme cold at night, the inevitable effects of high altitude, and the steepness of some of the climbs made reaching our goal amazingly rewarding. This was an absolutely outstanding holiday.

My holiday was an Everest Base Camp 14 day trek at the end of November 2019. My friend and I signed up for The Mountain Company’s Luxury Everest Base Camp trek. The weather was perfect as was all the organisation. The extreme cold at night, the inevitable effects of high altitude, and the steepness of some of the climbs made reaching our goal amazingly rewarding. This was an absolutely outstanding holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

The planning, preparation and attention to detail was first class. The trek ran like clockwork and everyone involved from the Mountain Company, from the Guide and Porter to the team in Kathmandu and in the UK were all fantastic and so professional. . The route had been extremely well thought through and included 3 acclimatisation days to ensure the effects of altitude sickness were minimised. A brilliant holiday thanks to a brilliant company. Thank you .

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Rich, 24 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Luxury Everest base camp trek: the holiday of a lifetime

Our trip to Everest base camp was the holiday of a lifetime – except that now we can't wait to go back to the Himalayas. Spending time in the mountains we've read so much about was incredible, and we met wonderful people throughout our trip. We were very comfortable in the luxury lodges – and everyone was so hospitable and welcoming.

Our trip to Everest base camp was the holiday of a lifetime – except that now we can't wait to go back to the Himalayas. Spending time in the mountains we've read so much about was incredible, and we met wonderful people throughout our trip. We were very comfortable in the luxury lodges – and everyone was so hospitable and welcoming.

Rating for tour operator:

Superb! Flawless arrangements throughout and everyone at The Mountain Company was generous with knowledge and advice.

Snow Lake Hispar La in Pakistan by H, 22 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great adventure

Mountaineering in the Karakoram Pakistan Highlight Snow lake A great adventure and well put together by the mountain company. Hard days but worth it with the scenery and people.

Mountaineering in the Karakoram Pakistan Highlight Snow lake A great adventure and well put together by the mountain company. Hard days but worth it with the scenery and people.

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful throughout the lead up to the trip

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Mike, 14 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Dhaulagiri Circuit - fantastic camping trek with an outstanding owner-managed tour operator.

A fantastic trek. It's got everything; terraced hillsides, bamboo woodland, spectacular valleys between even more spectacular mountains, high passes and glaciers. The only thing it's not got are crowds of other trekkers. This was my first Nepal trip and I will certainly return.

A fantastic trek. It's got everything; terraced hillsides, bamboo woodland, spectacular valleys between even more spectacular mountains, high passes and glaciers. The only thing it's not got are crowds of other trekkers. This was my first Nepal trip and I will certainly return.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company are a very professionally run business. Roland, the owner met with us before and after the trek. The trek itinerary was well thought out to minimize the chance of developing altitude sickness. Pre trek info was excellent. Food quality and hygiene were excellent. Our European trek leader Natalie was outstanding. Her man-management and leadership skills were obviously borne of many years experience. She had a great manner and worked well with our local team leader. I'll definitely use The Mountain Company again.

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by tangledweb, 13 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

LUNANA SNOWMAN TREK ... WOW

What an incredible experience I had …. Truly challenging but thoroughly rewarding…. Both physically and mentally …. The Lunana Snowman trek was through a variety of beautiful, rugged and extraordinarily expansive landscapes …. Towering mountain peaks, spectacular mountain passes offering breathtaking views, glacier rock valleys, rhododendron covering mountain sides, miniature alpine flowers …. naming just a few of this expedition highlights …...

What an incredible experience I had …. Truly challenging but thoroughly rewarding…. Both physically and mentally …. The Lunana Snowman trek was through a variety of beautiful, rugged and extraordinarily expansive landscapes …. Towering mountain peaks, spectacular mountain passes offering breathtaking views, glacier rock valleys, rhododendron covering mountain sides, miniature alpine flowers …. naming just a few of this expedition highlights …. Absolutely there were times it was extremely demanding … whether that was due to weather, trail conditions, tiredness and/or exhaustion or the continual effort this trek demands from you …. Luckily, any negative feelings were short lived due to the total team commitment for everyone to succeed … this helped everyone through any and all difficulties A very special thanks to the team leaders and support staff … they were excellent in every way ….

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Company needs to be commended on its thoroughness and attention to detail … everything was covered within the information package … there was nothing omitted … all queries and questions answered promptly … google group formed for all participants … The trek team leaders and guides were exceptional and completely committed to the safety and welfare of everyone on the team…. The leaders and support staff were competent, personable and showed great hospitality. They shared their country and their culture with knowledge, pride and passion, which was very much appreciated. I highly recommend Mountain Company to everyone …

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Leo, 11 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Remote trekking in Bhutan

Remote 4 week trek in Bhutan - trek covered many passes at high altitude.

Remote 4 week trek in Bhutan - trek covered many passes at high altitude.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company run a standout organisational support for their treks with total involvement in all aspects of the trip. This is the main feature to set them apart from many large international competitors who contract out to a local agency while keeping a substantial part of the trip cost. I gave a couple of feedback points which were readily acknowledged and will be incorporated into future trips.