The Mountain Company

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 90
Reviews accepted: 90
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
88
Good
2
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Wonderful trek to Everest Base Camp

By Nicola on 14 Feb 2018

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal >

We did a luxury trek to Everest Base camp with the Mountain Company. It was fantastic from start to finish. We were very well looked after by Raj and Tipanta for the whole trip. It was our honeymoon, we are very happy to spend it with the Mountain Company trekking to Everest Base camp.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company looked after us very well. It was an excellent trip. The Mountain Company dealt with all of our queries beforehand and during the trek too

An adventure!

By Nicky on 29 Jan 2018

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal >

Excellent organisation which meant that everything was thought of and catered for in advance. Accommodation standard was very good for Nepal standards but hot water was sometimes a challenge. Extensive medical kit was carried which meant we felt safe and secure that nothing could go horribly wrong. Food was excellent through out and the guides and porters were superb - nothing was too much trouble - including running back to get things we had left behind.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

First class organisation and very experienced and knowledgeable about the area.
Honest and not a rip off - if it was a little more expensive it was absolutely worth it in terms of your safety and comfort. I have NO hesitation in recommending them and would choose over others again.
!00 % record in getting people to base camp - speaks for itself!

Annapurna Base Camp Trek

By Cork on 24 Jan 2018

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Annapurna Base Camp in Nepal >

Well planned, well structured, experienced guides, the perfect time to take to get to a destination. Been 30 years since I went to 4130m, could not have asked for a better trek to revisit that height

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company did a lot of background checks to ensure I was suitable for the trek, and maintained a strong medical presence throughout the trek to ensure our safety

Exhausting but Exhilarating!

By The Rennies on 17 Jan 2018

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Everest Base Camp in Nepal >

It is only now we are back home and wrapped up in the minutiae of everyday life that I can fully appreciate what my husband Mark and I experienced during our 14-day trek to Everest Base Camp with The Mountain Company. I look back at photographs of us smiling and pointing up at Everest in the distance and can hardly believe that is me all togged up in a down jacket and woolly hat. The things my eyes have seen and the paths my tired legs have followed will stay with me for the rest of my life. And all the while, we were buoyed along by Khadka, our guide, who was part teacher, part doctor, and part hilarious little brother! We stayed smiling (most of the time), even through the toughest ‘ups’ and the steepest ‘downs’. We made it to Base Camp and up Kala Patar, we even survived the suspension bridges, and have returned home with a passion for the Himalaya and deep gratitude to The Mountain Company for making our trip possible.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We felt supported by The Mountain Company at all times, both during the booking process and also once we were we in Kathmandu and then on the trek itself. One of the reasons we chose this operator was that Roland Hunter, the Managing Director, visits the area regularly and personally selects the tea houses that are used on the trek, so we were confident of decent facilities. We had read great reviews about trekking with the company and we weren’t disappointed. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend The Mountain Company and would certainly use them again ourselves.

Well organised trip to Everest Base Camp

By MitchDA on 15 Jan 2018

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal >

Well organised & thought out itinerary allowing enough time for acclimatisation to the altitude. A good group atmosphere helped by the pre-trip information provided & the experience requirements up front. An excellent local guide for the trek, plus good to meet Roland the owner before & after the trip in Kathmandu.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Well organised trip.

Excellent Trek to Everest Base Camp

By Rutland Trekker on 14 Jan 2018

Rating for this holiday Good
Find more about Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal >

Excellent Trek to Everest Base Camp. Lodges and food were generally to a good standard, but you should be aware that 'Luxury' in Nepal is not qauite the same as 'Luxury' in other places. Tour guides were very experienced and dealt with any small issues that arose. Itinerary was well planned, although a little more time on trek would have been helpful as we were not able to complete the ascent of Kala Pattar due to lack of time. Otherwise everything went well and would recommend The Mountain Company.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Excellent pre trek communications and follow up post trek. Roland Hunter is an experienced climber very familiar with the area and issues that may occur. Organisation was second to none and much better than we had experienced with a different operator in the area. Would whole heartedly recommend The Mountain Company and would use them again in future.

Excellent guides & organisation

By Siouxie on 9 Jan 2018

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Everest Base Camp in Nepal >

Everything was well organised & the pre trip info was accurate so no real surprises.
Guides were well versed in English so communication was not a problem.
The trip was well paced for me & the length of the trip worked well for acclimatisation.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Plenty of pre trip info & advice. Also very easy to get in touch for little bits of extra info if needed.

By Mr U L 17 on 9 Jan 2018

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal >

irst days extremley hot, beatiful weather

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Excellent trek with a grat leader

A fascinating holiday in Nepal and Bhutan

By JCM on 4 Jan 2018

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Annapurna Luxury Lodges in Nepal >

I did a beautiful trek in the Annapurna foothills using the wonderful comfort lodges with ensuite showers. Afterwards flew onto Bhutan with highlights walking up to Tiger's Nest monastery and the black necked cranes in Gangtey.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Highly recommended, they were knowledgeable and helpful with pre trip and in country support.

Challenging but amazing trek from Naar to Upper Mustang

By SnoMo on 11 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Naar to Upper Mustang GHT Nepal >

This was a challenging trek with lots of ups and downs and a few long days. However, it is worth the physical challenge. Got to meet local villagers and learned about their way of life. The colour and stratification of the mountains and rock formation in the Mustang region are just amazing and very unique.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company (TMC) is a first-class tour operator. This is my second trek with them. There are three main factors that are important to me when I am selecting a trekking tour operator and they are: 1) safety, 2) environmentally friendly, and 3) ethical treatment of trekking crew.

TMC ensures safety of its clients by having a guide at the front and one bringing up the rear. This is important to me as I am slow on descend. During the many descends, a crew member was always there to lend a hand and I never felt pressured to keep up with others.

TMC participates in a project called PROTECT … People/ Resources/ Outreach/ Tourism/Environment/ Conservation/ Tomorrow. This project promotes sustainable tourism and help clean up the garbage found on trails in the Himalaya and Karakoram mountains. TMC encourages its crew and clients to pick up garbage during the trek. We did and felt great to be able to help. Though what we did maybe insignificant, but every little bit helps. I believe in the long run that this will help bring awareness and change the behaviour of those using the trails. I am very pleased that TMC takes on this project.

Ethical treatment of the crew involves TMC enforcing weight limit of how much the crew carries. As well, the English guides on the treks are monitoring the well-being of the crew. I witnessed this first-hand on the Naar to Upper Mustang trek. Our English guide, Ade Summers, changed the itinerary to allow time for the crew to rest and hired horses when down on lower elevation to help out. A young crew member was not feeling well, he ensured the young man rested and provided the necessary medical treatment.

My entire experience from start to finish have been a positive one. Roland Hunter, owner of TMC, was very helpful and responsive. He provided all the necessary information and answers all inquiries on a timely manner. He is hands-on managing the treks and ensures all the details are looked after. He is also very proactive in accepting feedbacks at the end of the treks from his guides and clients, and make the necessary changes if required.