AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 153
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 156
Reviews Accepted: 156
Reviews Rejected: 0
156 reviews
Sort by:
Ladakh Sky Trail GHT in India by Paul C, 26 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

A challenging trek in a remote area of Northern India entitled the Ladakh Sky Trail

A challenging trek where we crossed four x 5,000m passes and slept out in tents one night at an altitude of over 5,200m. Our guides had extensive local knowledge of the region and took us to villages not normally visited by Western Trekkers. We visited several Buddhist Monasteries and were lucky to learn so much about the local religion and culture

A challenging trek where we crossed four x 5,000m passes and slept out in tents one night at an altitude of over 5,200m. Our guides had extensive local knowledge of the region and took us to villages not normally visited by Western Trekkers. We visited several Buddhist Monasteries and were lucky to learn so much about the local religion and culture

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company are small enough to provide a personal service to customers that is second to none and experienced enough provide a varied number of treks in remote places. Detailed planning and experienced leaders ensure the safety of trekkers and guides alike.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Bernal, 1 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic

I totally enjoyed my trip to K2 Base Camp. The Mountain Company with on-site support from Hunza Guides in Pakistan make sure the trip went without a hitch from booking until our return to Islamabad for the return home. Our western leader, Robert, was extremely helpful and well-liked by all the trekkers. Our Pakistani guides were also very helpful and friendly. Even the weather cooperated to have magnificent views of K2, Broad Peak, Trango ...

I totally enjoyed my trip to K2 Base Camp. The Mountain Company with on-site support from Hunza Guides in Pakistan make sure the trip went without a hitch from booking until our return to Islamabad for the return home. Our western leader, Robert, was extremely helpful and well-liked by all the trekkers. Our Pakistani guides were also very helpful and friendly. Even the weather cooperated to have magnificent views of K2, Broad Peak, Trango Towers and neighboring peaks. I won’t hesitate to book another trip with Mountain Company in the near future.

Rating for tour operator:

See above.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by HOS, 30 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

K2 & Concordia

An amazing Trek in a stunningly beautiful remote location. The isolation and scale of the Karakoram range are very humbling and make you feel very privileged to be there and really appreciative of the Universe we live in

An amazing Trek in a stunningly beautiful remote location. The isolation and scale of the Karakoram range are very humbling and make you feel very privileged to be there and really appreciative of the Universe we live in

Rating for tour operator:

The mountain company is very organized feel very well looked after from the minute I picked up the phone to Roland to enquire about the trip

Snow Lake Hispar La in Pakistan by Emina, 27 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Snow lake and hispar la

I trekked through the beautiful mountains and on the Biafo glacier crossing over snow lake and the hispar la pass in Pakistan with the mountain company.

I trekked through the beautiful mountains and on the Biafo glacier crossing over snow lake and the hispar la pass in Pakistan with the mountain company.

Rating for tour operator:

The trek was organised by The Mountain Company. I have trekked with the mountain company 3 times and each trek was run using a western leader. The Mountain Company always executes trips that operationally run smoothly and focus on clients safety whilst ensuring that everyone has an unforgettable travelling experience.

K2 & Gondogoro La in Pakistan by becklectic, 25 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

K2 and Gondogoro La - Awesome is an understatement

A challenging but thoroughly enjoyable trip to some of the most spectacular scenery in the world. You pass such lesser sights as the Trango Towers, Cathedral Peak and the Gasherbrum group on the way to Concordia, the confluence of two massive glaciers, where you get your first views of K2 standing 4000m above you with Broad Peak sharing the valley. The immensity of the place is breathtaking. There are four 8000m peaks within sight. You're not ...

A challenging but thoroughly enjoyable trip to some of the most spectacular scenery in the world. You pass such lesser sights as the Trango Towers, Cathedral Peak and the Gasherbrum group on the way to Concordia, the confluence of two massive glaciers, where you get your first views of K2 standing 4000m above you with Broad Peak sharing the valley. The immensity of the place is breathtaking. There are four 8000m peaks within sight. You're not done after the trek to K2 basecamp and back to Concordia as you head off in the opposite direction to cross the 5600m Gondogoro La and descend into the beautiful Hushe valley. Quite an experience. You can do this trip just to K2 basecamp and back down the Baltoro Glacier, but I highly recommend that you continue over the Gondogoro La since the valley you descend has a completely different character than the hike in.

Rating for tour operator:

I can't say enough good things about The Mountain Company. Pre-booking information was plentiful, and any questions I had were immediately addressed. The pre-departure information was extremely useful - everything from gear selection to a fitness program, assistance in arranging visas, suggested airline routings... wow. I had several back and forth interactions about what gear to take and my inquiries were always answered promptly. Then there was the trip. Everything on the ground went smoothly from the time I was met after picking up my bags in Islamabad until I was dropped off again on departure. Our leader, Robert, was exceptional, extremely experienced, good natured with a positive outlook that helped in the difficult days. He was keyed into the needs of the individuals in the group and made the logistics trivial for us. The local operator was of high quality and the local guides friendly, funny, helpful and accommodating to us. Any issues with porters/muleteers or logistics were unseen by us. I am an experienced traveler and have used a half dozen tour operators over the years. This trip with TMC was the best of them, and I will be booking other trips with TMC in the future.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Peanut, 5 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Everest base camp

It was an amazing trek, very well prepared and organised. The guides were outstanding and really helped us in learning about Nepal and the culture.

It was an amazing trek, very well prepared and organised. The guides were outstanding and really helped us in learning about Nepal and the culture.

Rating for tour operator:

Hebi and Bal were wonderful. Professional, personal and fun. They took very good care of us, and made us feel at ease. They were a pleasure with which to travel.

Saribung Expedition in Nepal by pb, 27 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Saribung trek

A great trip experiencing a wide variety of Nepali culture from a couple of days on the busy Annapurna circuit to the quieter valleys and the wonderful village of Phu. We then travelled on to the beautiful and remote areas of the pass before returning to Jomsom.

A great trip experiencing a wide variety of Nepali culture from a couple of days on the busy Annapurna circuit to the quieter valleys and the wonderful village of Phu. We then travelled on to the beautiful and remote areas of the pass before returning to Jomsom.

Rating for tour operator:

Used quality equipment for clients and provided good equipment for the crew. The crew were very supportive when help was required.

Saribung Expedition in Nepal by SK, 7 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Very well organized Trek across Saribung La with ascent of Saribung Peak

I trekked from Jagat across Saribung La to Upper Mustang, while also ascending Saribung Peak (6,328 m). I also extended the trek to Manang on the Annapurna circuit.

I trekked from Jagat across Saribung La to Upper Mustang, while also ascending Saribung Peak (6,328 m). I also extended the trek to Manang on the Annapurna circuit.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company runs very well organized trips. This was my second trip with them and I was very pleased. Roland Hunter and the primary guide for the trip, Jo Clark were both very prompt in addressing queries and concerns before the trip. Jo and assistant guides Bhim Bahadur Sunuwar, Arjun Tamang, Chongba Sherpa and Galden Sherpa did an excellent job during the trip. Food prepared by Suk Bahadur and Gyaljin Sherpa was excellent. Porters also went above and beyond their call of duty by assisting clients on the hard days.

Saribung Expedition in Nepal by Pod51, 31 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Stunning remote trek to Saribung and Upper Mustang

This was an exceptional trek up through Manang over the beautiful glacier Saribung and then through Upper Mustang to Lo Mantang before completing the trek in Jomsom. From Koto onward the trek steadily gets more and more remote with absolutely stunning mountain scenery. On route we stopped at the fascinating and ancient village of Phu before entering a period of 11 days where totally alone. The snow conditions provided a wonderful dimension ...

This was an exceptional trek up through Manang over the beautiful glacier Saribung and then through Upper Mustang to Lo Mantang before completing the trek in Jomsom. From Koto onward the trek steadily gets more and more remote with absolutely stunning mountain scenery. On route we stopped at the fascinating and ancient village of Phu before entering a period of 11 days where totally alone. The snow conditions provided a wonderful dimension leading up to the pass, down the glacier on the far side to then trek through the beautiful and arid scenery of Upper Mustang ending up in the interesting village of Lo Mantang. An outstanding expedition.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the seventh trek I have completed with The Mountain Company, which I think makes the point. The Mountain Company provide excellent quality treks, well managed, equiped and with highly skilled and experienced leaders and guides.

Manaslu Circuit by Rufus, 26 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Manaslu Circuit

This was my 5th trek in Nepal, and probably my most enjoyable. The trek commenced in Soti Khola and concluded at Jagat on the Annapurna road. We were blessed with beautiful weather for the 2 week trek. The scenery along the route was spectacular as we passed through many small villages where people still live largely traditional lives. We encountered friendly Nepalese people and lots of wildlife, including marmots and blue sheep. The walk itself ...

This was my 5th trek in Nepal, and probably my most enjoyable. The trek commenced in Soti Khola and concluded at Jagat on the Annapurna road. We were blessed with beautiful weather for the 2 week trek. The scenery along the route was spectacular as we passed through many small villages where people still live largely traditional lives. We encountered friendly Nepalese people and lots of wildlife, including marmots and blue sheep. The walk itself is challenging, but well within the capabilities of someone who maintains a very good level of physical fitness. The terrain has many up and downs, culminating with the climb up to Larkya La at 5106 metres. This was the first time I had stayed in tea houses, and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Rooms are clean and spacious and there is a comprehensive menu from which to choose. I was lucky in that my 2 trekking companions were an extremely nice couple and very good walkers to boot. We also met up along the route with fellow trekkers from many nations, and with whom we established a great rapport. We had a fantastic Nepalese crew in the Leader; Khadka, Assistant guide: Khampu, Porters: Parbat and Dil. Nothing was too much trouble for the guys. They did everything to ensure that we had both an enjoyable and safe holiday. Thank you to all of them. Thoroughly recommend this trip with The Mountain Company.

Rating for tour operator:

This was my 2nd trek with the Mountain Company, having done their Kanchenjunga Trek 12 months previously, and which I loved. I once again found The Mountain Company to be extremely professional and helpful. Their website gives comprehensive information about the trek itself and informative reports from previous treks. My email enquiries to Roland were always answered very promptly, giving loads of helpful information. The organisation at the Kathmandu end was first rate as well. Airport transfers went smoothly, and accommodation and meals at Hotel Tibet were first rate. Thank you to Tulsi and Prashant. Once the trek itself started the Nepalese crew excelled. Nothing was too much trouble. They were friendly and diligent and very patient in doing everything to ensure that we had a fantastic experience in their beautiful country. And they succeeded. Thank you to Khadka, Khampu, Parbat and Dil. I would thoroughly recommend The Mountain Company. They do everything in a professional manner from start to finish, and have a longstanding and well earned reputation for putting trekkers safety above all else. They leave nothing to chance and don't rush or do things by half measure. We had 2 acclimatisation days once we reached altitude. This proved to be extremely beneficial when it came time to tackle the pass. Even though this was a tea house trek, our porters carried 2 tents to cater for any unforeseen emergencies, and even though there were only 3 trekkers and 4 Nepalese crew. As I mentioned above this was probably my most enjoyable trek. A major reason for that can be attributed to the expertise of The Mountain Company at the London and Kathmandu ends, and then of course on the ground during the trek itself.