AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 147
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 150
Reviews Accepted: 150
Reviews Rejected: 0
150 reviews
Sort by:
Saribung Expedition in Nepal by pb, 27 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Saribung trek

A great trip experiencing a wide variety of Nepali culture from a couple of days on the busy Annapurna circuit to the quieter valleys and the wonderful village of Phu. We then travelled on to the beautiful and remote areas of the pass before returning to Jomsom.

A great trip experiencing a wide variety of Nepali culture from a couple of days on the busy Annapurna circuit to the quieter valleys and the wonderful village of Phu. We then travelled on to the beautiful and remote areas of the pass before returning to Jomsom.

Rating for tour operator:

Used quality equipment for clients and provided good equipment for the crew. The crew were very supportive when help was required.

Saribung Expedition in Nepal by SK, 7 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Very well organized Trek across Saribung La with ascent of Saribung Peak

I trekked from Jagat across Saribung La to Upper Mustang, while also ascending Saribung Peak (6,328 m). I also extended the trek to Manang on the Annapurna circuit.

I trekked from Jagat across Saribung La to Upper Mustang, while also ascending Saribung Peak (6,328 m). I also extended the trek to Manang on the Annapurna circuit.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company runs very well organized trips. This was my second trip with them and I was very pleased. Roland Hunter and the primary guide for the trip, Jo Clark were both very prompt in addressing queries and concerns before the trip. Jo and assistant guides Bhim Bahadur Sunuwar, Arjun Tamang, Chongba Sherpa and Galden Sherpa did an excellent job during the trip. Food prepared by Suk Bahadur and Gyaljin Sherpa was excellent. Porters also went above and beyond their call of duty by assisting clients on the hard days.

Saribung Expedition in Nepal by Pod51, 31 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Stunning remote trek to Saribung and Upper Mustang

This was an exceptional trek up through Manang over the beautiful glacier Saribung and then through Upper Mustang to Lo Mantang before completing the trek in Jomsom. From Koto onward the trek steadily gets more and more remote with absolutely stunning mountain scenery. On route we stopped at the fascinating and ancient village of Phu before entering a period of 11 days where totally alone. The snow conditions provided a wonderful dimension ...

This was an exceptional trek up through Manang over the beautiful glacier Saribung and then through Upper Mustang to Lo Mantang before completing the trek in Jomsom. From Koto onward the trek steadily gets more and more remote with absolutely stunning mountain scenery. On route we stopped at the fascinating and ancient village of Phu before entering a period of 11 days where totally alone. The snow conditions provided a wonderful dimension leading up to the pass, down the glacier on the far side to then trek through the beautiful and arid scenery of Upper Mustang ending up in the interesting village of Lo Mantang. An outstanding expedition.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the seventh trek I have completed with The Mountain Company, which I think makes the point. The Mountain Company provide excellent quality treks, well managed, equiped and with highly skilled and experienced leaders and guides.

Manaslu Circuit by Rufus, 26 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Manaslu Circuit

This was my 5th trek in Nepal, and probably my most enjoyable. The trek commenced in Soti Khola and concluded at Jagat on the Annapurna road. We were blessed with beautiful weather for the 2 week trek. The scenery along the route was spectacular as we passed through many small villages where people still live largely traditional lives. We encountered friendly Nepalese people and lots of wildlife, including marmots and blue sheep. The walk itself ...

This was my 5th trek in Nepal, and probably my most enjoyable. The trek commenced in Soti Khola and concluded at Jagat on the Annapurna road. We were blessed with beautiful weather for the 2 week trek. The scenery along the route was spectacular as we passed through many small villages where people still live largely traditional lives. We encountered friendly Nepalese people and lots of wildlife, including marmots and blue sheep. The walk itself is challenging, but well within the capabilities of someone who maintains a very good level of physical fitness. The terrain has many up and downs, culminating with the climb up to Larkya La at 5106 metres. This was the first time I had stayed in tea houses, and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Rooms are clean and spacious and there is a comprehensive menu from which to choose. I was lucky in that my 2 trekking companions were an extremely nice couple and very good walkers to boot. We also met up along the route with fellow trekkers from many nations, and with whom we established a great rapport. We had a fantastic Nepalese crew in the Leader; Khadka, Assistant guide: Khampu, Porters: Parbat and Dil. Nothing was too much trouble for the guys. They did everything to ensure that we had both an enjoyable and safe holiday. Thank you to all of them. Thoroughly recommend this trip with The Mountain Company.

Rating for tour operator:

This was my 2nd trek with the Mountain Company, having done their Kanchenjunga Trek 12 months previously, and which I loved. I once again found The Mountain Company to be extremely professional and helpful. Their website gives comprehensive information about the trek itself and informative reports from previous treks. My email enquiries to Roland were always answered very promptly, giving loads of helpful information. The organisation at the Kathmandu end was first rate as well. Airport transfers went smoothly, and accommodation and meals at Hotel Tibet were first rate. Thank you to Tulsi and Prashant. Once the trek itself started the Nepalese crew excelled. Nothing was too much trouble. They were friendly and diligent and very patient in doing everything to ensure that we had a fantastic experience in their beautiful country. And they succeeded. Thank you to Khadka, Khampu, Parbat and Dil. I would thoroughly recommend The Mountain Company. They do everything in a professional manner from start to finish, and have a longstanding and well earned reputation for putting trekkers safety above all else. They leave nothing to chance and don't rush or do things by half measure. We had 2 acclimatisation days once we reached altitude. This proved to be extremely beneficial when it came time to tackle the pass. Even though this was a tea house trek, our porters carried 2 tents to cater for any unforeseen emergencies, and even though there were only 3 trekkers and 4 Nepalese crew. As I mentioned above this was probably my most enjoyable trek. A major reason for that can be attributed to the expertise of The Mountain Company at the London and Kathmandu ends, and then of course on the ground during the trek itself.

Annapurna Base Camp in Nepal by Hippo, 3 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Annapurna Basecamp trek

First trip to Asia and first Himalayan trekking holiday. 12 days tough trekking in the most amazing place. Beautiful forested valleys and then into soaring mountains and snow.

First trip to Asia and first Himalayan trekking holiday. 12 days tough trekking in the most amazing place. Beautiful forested valleys and then into soaring mountains and snow.

Rating for tour operator:

It was important to me that I chose a reputable and experienced company. It turned out I chose a very good operator. Excellent pre tour information , advice and guidance. Quick responses to questions. In country everything ran smoothly from reception, pre trek briefing, tour and transport arrangements. Changes to itinerary caused by weather and conditions were handled effectively and professionally. Our guide and porter were outstanding, with a lot of focus on our safety and our health. Could not have asked for more.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by SnoMo, 1 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Everest Base Camp in Hillary's Footsteps

Trek to Everest Base Camp along the trail taken by Sir Edmund Hillary. The trek was led Robert Mads Anderson and Peter Hillary.

Trek to Everest Base Camp along the trail taken by Sir Edmund Hillary. The trek was led Robert Mads Anderson and Peter Hillary.

Rating for tour operator:

Provided all the necessary information (required equipment, hours of trekking per day, condition of the trails, etc) regarding the trek. Very responsive to all inquiries. Ensure everything is taken care of from start to finish.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by MJP3, 24 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

Everest Base Camp Trek / In The Footsteps of Hillary

Kathmandu to Lukla to Everest Base Camp and back.

Kathmandu to Lukla to Everest Base Camp and back.

Rating for tour operator:

Top people who know their business and know the terrain, the challenges, the many details of a long, complicated trip, and are able to adapt to the changing needs of the group and somehow manage to run a successful trip at great odds.

Luxury Kathmandu Valley in Nepal by Zendog1402, 18 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Magical Nepal

Our second trek with The Mountain Company in Nepal. A wonderful experience again. It’s not just the views and the mountains but it’s also the people you meet that makes Nepal a mad but magical place to be. Everyone from the management down to the taxi drivers put in maximum effort in order to make the holiday stress free. The cultural guides were both knowledgeable and enthusiastic and helped us to understand what we were seeing and our trekking ...

Our second trek with The Mountain Company in Nepal. A wonderful experience again. It’s not just the views and the mountains but it’s also the people you meet that makes Nepal a mad but magical place to be. Everyone from the management down to the taxi drivers put in maximum effort in order to make the holiday stress free. The cultural guides were both knowledgeable and enthusiastic and helped us to understand what we were seeing and our trekking guide looked after our every need and kept us safe.

Rating for tour operator:

Totally professional and knowledgeable. Every part of our holiday ran to plan and we felt completely safe in the hands of our guides. Can not recommend The Mountain Company highly enough.

Laya Gasa in Bhutan by Fhamer, 18 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic trek in Bhutan

I took the Laya Gasa trek in Bhutan for three weeks. It was the longest and highest trek I’ve ever taken. We had a group of 3 people, a crew of 6 and 9 horses. We also visited many dzongs and enjoyed other cultural activities. I felt immersed in Bhutanese Buddhist culture and village life. It was a great experience.

I took the Laya Gasa trek in Bhutan for three weeks. It was the longest and highest trek I’ve ever taken. We had a group of 3 people, a crew of 6 and 9 horses. We also visited many dzongs and enjoyed other cultural activities. I felt immersed in Bhutanese Buddhist culture and village life. It was a great experience.

Rating for tour operator:

The guide made sure we had lots of time to acclimate before hiking to the highest altitudes. This made it possible for me, a 72-year old female, to accomplish the trek — without any altitude sickness. We went up to 16,400 feet (5005 meters). The guide was fantastic, extremely encouraging, and the crew was great, too. I was impressed with the organization, friendliness, attention, and safety. It was a trip that tested the limits of my strength and an experience I’ll never forget. Also gave me major bragging rights at home!

Annapurna Luxury Lodges in Nepal by Gertie, 1 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Annapurna trek

We trekked for 6 days/5 nights with The Mountain Company staying at Ker & Downey properties. It was magnificent. Notably it was our second time doing the trek with same company. They were terrific first time around too.

We trekked for 6 days/5 nights with The Mountain Company staying at Ker & Downey properties. It was magnificent. Notably it was our second time doing the trek with same company. They were terrific first time around too.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company - superb in every way