AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 195
Good 4
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 199
Reviews Accepted: 199
Reviews Rejected: 0
199 reviews
Sort by:
Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by tangledweb, 13 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

LUNANA SNOWMAN TREK ... WOW

What an incredible experience I had …. Truly challenging but thoroughly rewarding…. Both physically and mentally …. The Lunana Snowman trek was through a variety of beautiful, rugged and extraordinarily expansive landscapes …. Towering mountain peaks, spectacular mountain passes offering breathtaking views, glacier rock valleys, rhododendron covering mountain sides, miniature alpine flowers …. naming just a few of this expedition highlights …...

What an incredible experience I had …. Truly challenging but thoroughly rewarding…. Both physically and mentally …. The Lunana Snowman trek was through a variety of beautiful, rugged and extraordinarily expansive landscapes …. Towering mountain peaks, spectacular mountain passes offering breathtaking views, glacier rock valleys, rhododendron covering mountain sides, miniature alpine flowers …. naming just a few of this expedition highlights …. Absolutely there were times it was extremely demanding … whether that was due to weather, trail conditions, tiredness and/or exhaustion or the continual effort this trek demands from you …. Luckily, any negative feelings were short lived due to the total team commitment for everyone to succeed … this helped everyone through any and all difficulties A very special thanks to the team leaders and support staff … they were excellent in every way ….

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Company needs to be commended on its thoroughness and attention to detail … everything was covered within the information package … there was nothing omitted … all queries and questions answered promptly … google group formed for all participants … The trek team leaders and guides were exceptional and completely committed to the safety and welfare of everyone on the team…. The leaders and support staff were competent, personable and showed great hospitality. They shared their country and their culture with knowledge, pride and passion, which was very much appreciated. I highly recommend Mountain Company to everyone …

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Leo, 11 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Remote trekking in Bhutan

Remote 4 week trek in Bhutan - trek covered many passes at high altitude.

Remote 4 week trek in Bhutan - trek covered many passes at high altitude.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company run a standout organisational support for their treks with total involvement in all aspects of the trip. This is the main feature to set them apart from many large international competitors who contract out to a local agency while keeping a substantial part of the trip cost. I gave a couple of feedback points which were readily acknowledged and will be incorporated into future trips.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by JimS, 9 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Everest Base Camp with Hillarys

Wonderful trek from Lukla to Base Camp in the footsteps of the Edmund Hillary with members of his family

Wonderful trek from Lukla to Base Camp in the footsteps of the Edmund Hillary with members of his family

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company were very professional and well organised.

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Ali, 9 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

An amazing experience! A journey with unforgettable landscapes and soundscapes.

I enjoyed every step! The experience of walking across stunning landscapes and feeling so small will remain a memory forever. I had the privilege to be surrounded by new friends and a great team. Our group leader, Nat, was incredible! Thank you, once again!

I enjoyed every step! The experience of walking across stunning landscapes and feeling so small will remain a memory forever. I had the privilege to be surrounded by new friends and a great team. Our group leader, Nat, was incredible! Thank you, once again!

Rating for tour operator:

TMC are a very professional and caring operator. For me, safety on such trips is key. TMC aligned with my expectations and even exceeded it at times. The group leader, Nat, and the supporting team did an excellent job in looking after us! We were fed very well, kept warm and enjoyed some very funny and unforgettable moments. Thank you TMC, will be back for more!

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Tom, 9 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Best company, best trek, best people

This was an experience from a company that is at the top of their game. Well planned and well executed by guides and staff that can't be surpassed. The food was varied and of a quality you would expect in a restaurant. Also it was always all you could eat. Tremendous hygiene practiced by all and no one got sick. The trek was designed to be as safe as possible and practiced with use of a sat phone for weather reports and oxy meter readings ...

This was an experience from a company that is at the top of their game. Well planned and well executed by guides and staff that can't be surpassed. The food was varied and of a quality you would expect in a restaurant. Also it was always all you could eat. Tremendous hygiene practiced by all and no one got sick. The trek was designed to be as safe as possible and practiced with use of a sat phone for weather reports and oxy meter readings at all dinners to stay up on everyone's health. Good differentiator as to why choose this company. Overall a great experience that I will always cherish.

Rating for tour operator:

Tour operator has the vast experience and relationships with the on the ground guides, staff and cooks to run a 1st class trip. Has the best website and the best safety practices based on years in the business. You have the feeling that Roland really cares about his clients.

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by KW, 9 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Challenging

The views of the trek were amazing, the guide knowledgeable and the food and hospitality are excellent. This is a life-changing experience for me.

The views of the trek were amazing, the guide knowledgeable and the food and hospitality are excellent. This is a life-changing experience for me.

Rating for tour operator:

Well planning and experienced staff. The tour guides, porters and chefs are all helpful and supportive. I am happy to join the trip through The Mountain Company.

K2 & Gondogoro La in Pakistan by Celt, 9 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

K2 Basecamp and Gondogoro La

This trek was brilliant - walking along glaciers and into the middle of some of the world's most impressive mountains, with K2 majestically towering over them all. Then over the challenging Gondogoro La pass and down the Hushe valley, more alpine in nature, beautiful flowers and colours. A wonderful circuit journey through amazing scenery.

This trek was brilliant - walking along glaciers and into the middle of some of the world's most impressive mountains, with K2 majestically towering over them all. Then over the challenging Gondogoro La pass and down the Hushe valley, more alpine in nature, beautiful flowers and colours. A wonderful circuit journey through amazing scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent pre-trip information, questions answered promptly, highly personalised service, logistics on the ground in Pakistan great, equipment first rate, western trek leader brilliant, local guides experienced, knowledgeable and helpful. The first time I have travelled with The Mountain Company and the best I have experienced. Highly recommend.

Mardi Himal in Nepal by Ian Grey, 9 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic views.

A very well organised trekk. Flexible staff who ensure that customers receive the best possible trip and endeavour to solve problems quickly.

A very well organised trekk. Flexible staff who ensure that customers receive the best possible trip and endeavour to solve problems quickly.

Rating for tour operator:

Very prompt to respond The any questions.

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Tufty, 8 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Dhualagiri Circuit October 2019

...

Thoroughly enjoyed , met all expectations and was exactly as described on the web site by The Mountain Company. We ate very well, food was amazing , how they produce it on burners never failed to amaze and delight me. The structure of the holiday worked really well, people were like minded and quickly the friendship dynamic was established. The knowledge and good sense from The Moutain Company , particularly with the rest days , so important to our altitude acclimatisation paid off and allowed us to enjoy an absolutely fantastic area. Nepal holds a very special place in my heart and Dhulagiri further confimed this for me. I felt safe and supported every step of the way.

Rating for tour operator:

From first investigation of the website when planning my trip followed by the information and speedy response with all communication The Mountain Company are first class. No surprises everything exactly as described. Very knowledgeable putting a fantastic itinerary together with UK and local guides a combination that I had not previously experienced that works really well and I will certainly look for in the future. Travelling with a PAC chamber real piece of mind with expert guides. Before we set off a proper kit check and an emphasis for hygiene soap and water hand washing and antibacterial hand wash allowed our group no sickness a real result.

Snow Lake Hispar La in Pakistan by chimpanzee, 8 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Unique experience

Excellent remote mountain and glacier experience.

Excellent remote mountain and glacier experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Good personal service,