AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 226
Good 4
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 230
Reviews Accepted: 230
Reviews Rejected: 0
230 reviews
Sort by:
Ladakh Sky Trail GHT in India by Nina, 25 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Extraordinary trekking in Ladakh

The Ladakh Sky Trail was an amazing and very recommendable experience. The scenery was extraordinary and must be a dream for geologists. The trails are mostly on rocky or sandy underground, and nice to walk. One section of the trek goes through a remote gorge with more than 250 river crossings. This is definitely a highlight of the trek. This trek is a perfect choice if you like remoteness and dramatic scenery.

The Ladakh Sky Trail was an amazing and very recommendable experience. The scenery was extraordinary and must be a dream for geologists. The trails are mostly on rocky or sandy underground, and nice to walk. One section of the trek goes through a remote gorge with more than 250 river crossings. This is definitely a highlight of the trek. This trek is a perfect choice if you like remoteness and dramatic scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

Our guide Almas and the local crew were very competent and a fun team to be with. We always felt in safe hands and enjoyed the time with them very much. The organisation was flawless. Also the pre-trip information provided everything we needed. This was my second trip with The Mountain Company. Both times everything was really perfect.

Ladakh Sky Trail GHT in India by Simon, 16 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Ladahk Skytrail

The Ladahk Skytrail is a tough trek in a very interesting area. The trip starts in Leh and takes you through a high altitude desert with very interesting geological features. A part of the trek took place in a remote gorge with lots of river crossings. The gorge was used earlier as part of a salt route. The trip is well worth the effort! It's worth noting that the trek starts quite high as Leh is around 3500 meters above the sea. This can make ...

The Ladahk Skytrail is a tough trek in a very interesting area. The trip starts in Leh and takes you through a high altitude desert with very interesting geological features. A part of the trek took place in a remote gorge with lots of river crossings. The gorge was used earlier as part of a salt route. The trip is well worth the effort! It's worth noting that the trek starts quite high as Leh is around 3500 meters above the sea. This can make the first week or so a bit challenging for people who, like us, live at sea level.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second trip with the Mountain Company and as before the guide (Almas Khan) and the local crew were excellent. The pre-trip contact with the owner, Roland, as well as the pre-trip information provided is equally good and made us feel well-prepared.

Ladakh Sky Trail GHT in India by Felix, 15 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Ladakh Sky Trail GHT

The Ladakh trek was extraordinary. The guide was very professional and competent and the whole team provided us wonderful trek experience.

The Ladakh trek was extraordinary. The guide was very professional and competent and the whole team provided us wonderful trek experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Very good information and communication before the trip.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Pod51, 7 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Trekking to K2 is an amazing adventure

A special trek which was a true adventure in Pakistan, trekking up the Baltoro Glacier to K2 Basecamp. The Glacier is huge and the mountains on either side are so impressive, and everyone of them has the history of past mountaineering exploits.

A special trek which was a true adventure in Pakistan, trekking up the Baltoro Glacier to K2 Basecamp. The Glacier is huge and the mountains on either side are so impressive, and everyone of them has the history of past mountaineering exploits.

Rating for tour operator:

The support and service provided right from the start is excellent. Excellent website, with very prompt and enthusiastic response to any enquiries and questions. I regularly trek with The Mountain Company because I know they ensure their treks are very well planned, equipped and led.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Val, 3 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Trek to K2 Base Camp

An amazing trek into the Karakoram seeing 4 of the worlds 8000m peaks - K2, Broad Camp, Gasherbrum I and II. A complete escape from day to day life completely off grid and away from civilization in the most amazing scenery in every direction.

An amazing trek into the Karakoram seeing 4 of the worlds 8000m peaks - K2, Broad Camp, Gasherbrum I and II. A complete escape from day to day life completely off grid and away from civilization in the most amazing scenery in every direction.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour operator took care of everything so we could just focus on getting ourselves from camp to camp - which was at times challenging with altitude, heat and rough terrain. Plenty of unexpected challenges with bridges washed away but the logistics still all ran smoothly. Our leader, Nat Wilson, was outstanding and looking out to the whole teams health and well-being with all of us making it to K2 basecamp. Our local guides, chefs and porters all offered a great service. We met teams with other operators who had not had such a smooth experience with their logistics.

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal by Henry , 2 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Upper Dolpo Post Pandemic Magic Spring 2022

This was my 8th trek in 13 years with The Mountain Company and my second time in Upper Dolpo. Why go back? Because of the remote cultural magic; Shey Gompa with its spiritual mystery- because it is tough, stunningly beautiful, utterly rewarding and I got to spend a month with the most fascinating, diverse, friendly and like-minded travelers and crew. We soaked up this unique experience together, shared stories and we laughed. Congratulations ...

This was my 8th trek in 13 years with The Mountain Company and my second time in Upper Dolpo. Why go back? Because of the remote cultural magic; Shey Gompa with its spiritual mystery- because it is tough, stunningly beautiful, utterly rewarding and I got to spend a month with the most fascinating, diverse, friendly and like-minded travelers and crew. We soaked up this unique experience together, shared stories and we laughed. Congratulations to Roland and TMC for having the courage, foresight and skill to get this logistically tricky camping trek going again in that first post- pandemic window. No easy task and the crew were simply top notch. This was undoubtedly in my mind a complete success with the bonus of a 30 minute snow leopard sighting. I love that place- three months on those lovely memories remain vivid and linger. I’ll keep on trekking and I would even go back again. Mark S

Rating for tour operator:

Roland and TMC are first class. Personable, honest, speedily answer queries and very happy to hear from you, even if a minor question.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Trevor, 24 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

K2 Base Camp & Concordia trek

During July/August, 2022, as part of our project (Project Base8000) we trekked to four base camps with TMC - K2, Broad Peak, Gasherbrum 1/2. It was an amazing experience, great views, great crew and were all well looked after by the local logistics provider. There were no issues with security and would definitely consider going back to Pakistan in a heart beat. .

During July/August, 2022, as part of our project (Project Base8000) we trekked to four base camps with TMC - K2, Broad Peak, Gasherbrum 1/2. It was an amazing experience, great views, great crew and were all well looked after by the local logistics provider. There were no issues with security and would definitely consider going back to Pakistan in a heart beat. .

Rating for tour operator:

TMC is one of the best trekking companies going around - Roland is an excellent communicator and no question is difficult. His clear and concise communication and risk management is the best in the business. We’ve now undertaken 2 treks with TMC (Nepal and Pakistan) and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend TMC over some other companies.

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal by David Buccigrossi, 23 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

Amazing step back into former times

Debbie and I have trekked six times in the Himalaya over a total of eight months. This trek leads one through multiple ecological zones, eventually into the Dolpo region of Nepal, where the way of life is still largely as it was decades ago. There is some encroachment of modernity, but nothing compared with most other areas of Nepal. We saw this firsthand as we descended into the Kali Gandaki River Valley of Annapurna fame at the end of our trip...

Debbie and I have trekked six times in the Himalaya over a total of eight months. This trek leads one through multiple ecological zones, eventually into the Dolpo region of Nepal, where the way of life is still largely as it was decades ago. There is some encroachment of modernity, but nothing compared with most other areas of Nepal. We saw this firsthand as we descended into the Kali Gandaki River Valley of Annapurna fame at the end of our trip. We had trekked there in 1984 and 1989 and the changes are significant. Your friends may not know where Dolpo is, but you will never forget it.

Rating for tour operator:

Dolpo requires perseverance and flexibility, something The Mountain Company possesses in abundance. The very professional staff were great fun and wonderful to get to know. This company also treats its porters very well. The planning was top notch and incorporated adequate time for acclimatization. This is our third trip with The Mountain Company, and I would give them our highest recommendation and without reservation.

K2 & Gondogoro La in Pakistan by Richard, 15 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

A superb 3 week trekking holiday in Pakistan.

A three week trek to K2 Base Camp and over the Gondogoro Pass, superbly delivered by The Mountain Company.

A three week trek to K2 Base Camp and over the Gondogoro Pass, superbly delivered by The Mountain Company.

Rating for tour operator:

Great service throughout, with the pre trip support particularly exceptional.

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal by SnoMo, 13 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom

Upper Dolpo is a remote region in mid West Nepal close to the Tibet border. The scenery throughout the trek is amazing … forest environment, snowy mountain peaks and dry arid mountain ranges. The trek goes through Shey Phoksundo National Park. Camping at Phoksundo Lake with lake front view from the tent is like staying at a five-star resort. Encountered a variety of wild life … different species of birds, blue sheeps and a SNOW LEOPARD. ...

Upper Dolpo is a remote region in mid West Nepal close to the Tibet border. The scenery throughout the trek is amazing … forest environment, snowy mountain peaks and dry arid mountain ranges. The trek goes through Shey Phoksundo National Park. Camping at Phoksundo Lake with lake front view from the tent is like staying at a five-star resort. Encountered a variety of wild life … different species of birds, blue sheeps and a SNOW LEOPARD. Though it is a strenuous trek, it is well worth the effort because the remoteness enable one to connect with oneself and Mother Nature by taking one away from the hectic pace of modern life. One also gets a sense of history and lives in this region by interacting with friendly villagers and visiting gompas/monasteries.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company (TMC) offers a variety of trekking holidays. Each trek is well researched and are tested by TMC guides. The itineraries are designed for getting the best experience and acclimatisation when altitude is involved. Roland, the Managing Director, is very responsive to all inquiries. He is committed to responsible and ethical tourism. He ensures no garbage is left behind. He also ensures the well-being and safety of clients and crew are well look after. Roland set up a Hardship Fund so the trekking crew got paid even though there was no trekking during COVID. The crew really appreciate the caring nature of Roland. In return, they show their appreciation by taking care of the trekkers. I have completed five treks with TMC since 2015. If no COVID, I would have completed a couple more. Looking forward to more trekking with TMC!