AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 138
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 141
Reviews Accepted: 141
Reviews Rejected: 0
141 reviews
Sort by:
Annapurna Luxury Lodges in Nepal by Gertie, 1 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Annapurna trek

We trekked for 6 days/5 nights with The Mountain Company staying at Ker & Downey properties. It was magnificent. Notably it was our second time doing the trek with same company. They were terrific first time around too.

We trekked for 6 days/5 nights with The Mountain Company staying at Ker & Downey properties. It was magnificent. Notably it was our second time doing the trek with same company. They were terrific first time around too.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company - superb in every way

Manaslu Circuit with Tsum Valley by Eric S., 25 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Manaslu/Tsum Valley Trek

I had never been to Nepal, which was a hole in my outdoor resume. I am a climber, but at 63, decided I'd rather do a trek in Nepal than a climb. I was delighted with my experience and the professionalism of The Mountain Company. I found that, contrary to what I thought before I went on the trip, my experience was at least as much cultural as it was loving being in the mountains. I want to thank The Mountain Company for an excellent holiday.

I had never been to Nepal, which was a hole in my outdoor resume. I am a climber, but at 63, decided I'd rather do a trek in Nepal than a climb. I was delighted with my experience and the professionalism of The Mountain Company. I found that, contrary to what I thought before I went on the trip, my experience was at least as much cultural as it was loving being in the mountains. I want to thank The Mountain Company for an excellent holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

See above. The Mountain Company ,was exceptionally responsive to my pre-trip inquiries, and its organizational skills during my stay in Nepal were wonderful. Roland met us at the hotel and was available to answer questions and deal with logistics while we were in Kathmandu. I felt well taken care of. On the trek, the head guide, Bishwoo, was well organized, communicated very well and was very attentive to detail. The other guides were also wonderful in their attentiveness.

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal by YakforXmas, 19 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

High adventure

Trekking from Dunai through lower and upper Dolpo to Johnsom. This is a fabulous but demanding trek past the beautiful Lake Phoksundo and over 6 x 5,000+ passes. Absolutely stunning scenery and challenging walking which was exactly what we hoped for. We were extremely well looked after.

Trekking from Dunai through lower and upper Dolpo to Johnsom. This is a fabulous but demanding trek past the beautiful Lake Phoksundo and over 6 x 5,000+ passes. Absolutely stunning scenery and challenging walking which was exactly what we hoped for. We were extremely well looked after.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour was very well organised and the staff knowledgeable, professional and fun. I highly recommend them

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by NZpixie, 18 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Kangchenjunga adventure

21 days of trekking through amazing villages where the people were so friendly and welcoming. Right from the start until the very end I was engrossed in the trip. We were well looked after by our guide and Sherpa,s

21 days of trekking through amazing villages where the people were so friendly and welcoming. Right from the start until the very end I was engrossed in the trip. We were well looked after by our guide and Sherpa,s

Rating for tour operator:

They were well organised with spare equipment, ie extra tents, very good first aid kits, and looked after us well at altitude

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Paul , 15 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

A superbly organised holiday to Everest Base Camp (EBC) which perfectly satisfied the lifelong ambitions of three ageing Fogies!

A fourteen consecutive day luxury trek in Nepal from Lukla to EBC and back to Lukla. The fourteen days included three acclimatisation days. The Mountain Company provided two guides, each of whom were professionally fantastic at their jobs and kept us moving and safe over the fortnight, and lovely guys to boot. They also provided two porters, also great at their jobs. The pre-tour info, answering of questions/queries, communications, accommodation, ...

A fourteen consecutive day luxury trek in Nepal from Lukla to EBC and back to Lukla. The fourteen days included three acclimatisation days. The Mountain Company provided two guides, each of whom were professionally fantastic at their jobs and kept us moving and safe over the fortnight, and lovely guys to boot. They also provided two porters, also great at their jobs. The pre-tour info, answering of questions/queries, communications, accommodation, itinerary, were all faultless in our view.

Rating for tour operator:

See answer to question just above. In summary I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending The Mountain Company.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Jeannette Gravett, 15 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

A Great Privilege walking amongst Massive Mountains!

Wild and Ab Fab!

Wild and Ab Fab!

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Co. Is the way to go When you want a trek with some substance. You'll enjoy the grub In the mountain hub Of Karakoram's paths of great distance. The staff is hard-working with much to do - Yet they know how to care for a Motley Crew! They watch out for your safety; For your comfort - that's key. These leaders are tho-rough And they look out for ya! Karakoram's a BEAUTY - Hard to put into words; A place for adventurers And even for nerds! You'll be out in the bundu And should trouble pursue The crew is well-trained, You will not be disdained! Contact with London is maintained throughout, Of the personal touch there is no doubt. Itinerary's well-planned; Lotsa rocks and some sand; Good giggles with fellow trekkers, That's the life! we say as back packers. If you want a great trip - this is the place to be, Just don't hesitate - choose TMC! Consider these thoughts I've penned down here, So, to you, a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Ladakh Sky Trail GHT in India by Mac , 14 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

The wonderful scenery of Ladach.

This was an adventurous 23 trek through 3 different areas in the ladach region. Three days in Leh before that to acclimatise, A drive to lamayara then over the first pass. A trip organised and run by Almas who everyone new of from previous treks. Little rain in this mountain desert just wonderful rock features and a little dust. The second phase of the canyons on the old spice route added some real excitement followed by the high grazing country ...

This was an adventurous 23 trek through 3 different areas in the ladach region. Three days in Leh before that to acclimatise, A drive to lamayara then over the first pass. A trip organised and run by Almas who everyone new of from previous treks. Little rain in this mountain desert just wonderful rock features and a little dust. The second phase of the canyons on the old spice route added some real excitement followed by the high grazing country (over 5000 mtrs) of rolling country. Goats by the thousands and yaks. A pleasant finish by the lake and a wee drive back to Leh the next day.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company has a good reputation on these harder treks and seem to be able to deliver what they promise. Their guide Almas on this trip would have to be one of the best.

Annapurna Base Camp in Nepal by SL1, 13 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Happy Trekking

It was a 2 week trek to Annapurna Base Camp, staying in lodges

It was a 2 week trek to Annapurna Base Camp, staying in lodges

Rating for tour operator:

Plenty of pre booking information - well laid out, and easily digestible. Post booking more information is sent. You are able to discuss your requirements by phone and by e mail - no question is taken as too small. Organisation is V good

Ama Dablam Base Camp in Nepal by Jamie S, 13 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

A "breath taking" trek through the Himalayas to the Ama Dablam Base Camp.

A trip to put on your bucket list. The difficulties associated with altitude on this trip, disappeared into insignificance. The experience was one of joy and elation at having the opportunity to trek through these sacred lands. We were humbled not only by the landscape but by the wonderful people who live and work in this special place. True and honourable custodians of this land.

A trip to put on your bucket list. The difficulties associated with altitude on this trip, disappeared into insignificance. The experience was one of joy and elation at having the opportunity to trek through these sacred lands. We were humbled not only by the landscape but by the wonderful people who live and work in this special place. True and honourable custodians of this land.

Rating for tour operator:

All our needs and requirements were catered for with good grace in a courteous manner.

Manaslu Circuit by Fernando, 8 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Awesome combination of landscapes and culture.

I did the Manaslu Circuit, a 13 day trekking holiday through the valleys and high passes of Nepal.

I did the Manaslu Circuit, a 13 day trekking holiday through the valleys and high passes of Nepal.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company provided an excellent service before and during my trip, with comprehensive advise and information and looking after every detail.

Reviewer's images: