The Mountain Company

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 70
Reviews accepted: 70
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
68
Good
2
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Upper Dolpo, Nepal

By Pod51 on 9 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal >

This was an amazing trek in the remote region of Upper Dolpo, trekking through an area strongly influenced with Tibetan culture. The scenery is spectacular trekking through beautiful gorges - never far from a pounding river, staying alongside wonderful villages e.g. Ringmo, Shey and Tinje and spending time alongside side the turquoise blue lake of Phoksumdo.

There is challenge too ... regularly crossing spectacular passes with mountain vistas. The schedule is well planned with additional days to acclimatise, plenty of good food to provide us with the energy to complete the trek and enjoy the area.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I have regularly trekked with The Mountain Company, the itineraries are very well planned, the treks are extremely well led both with Western Leadership and local Sirdar and Guides. This trek in particular there was an excellent relationship and engagement between all the crew and trekkers.

It's great to see that as much care is taken regarding the health and well being of the crew on the trek as the clients. The trek leaders have access to high quality weather forecasts and satellite communication.

Very well managed trek.

Dolpo, Nepal : May 2017

By CB on 8 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal >

Fabulous trek through remote region of north-west Nepal.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company organised everything brilliantly!

Dhaulagiri Circuit Trek with The Mountain Company

By Melvin on 21 May 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal >

What a fantastic trip. It started at home with The Mountain Company's detailed website outlining the trip and continued with excellent communication from Roland. Once in Nepal, we were met at the airport and transported to a great hotel in Kathmandu. The trek started as outlined and we traveled through the terraced lowlands to the forested slopes and finally into the mighty Himalaya. The sights exceeded my expectations. The guides, kitchen staff and porters were very friendly and always helpful. I was humbled by the work they did. We were fed well prepared delicious meals and we were all amazed by the variety of meals that were prepared in the high altitude conditions. I will be traveling with The Mountain Company again and I highly recommend them.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I had an excellent experience with The Mountain Company---Top Notch

Brilliant Trek Around Dhaulagiri Circuit

By PaulaH on 13 May 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Everyday was an adventure on this trek ! We hiked through villages, cornfields, forests, steepsided gorges, wide open valleys, breathtaking mountain views and big skies. Wonderful !
For me, there were some challenging days towards the end of the trek, over the passes through the snow and long steep descents. I wouldn't have missed this experience for anything. It was everything I could have hoped for.
Our leader, guides and crew worked tirelessly and did a superb job of looking after us. They were all very knowledgable and friendly with a great sense of humour !!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The whole trip was well planned,organised and executed by The Mountain Company.
The Mountain Company works to very high standards and achieves them, whilst being sensitive to the fragile environment in which it operates and respectful of the local peoples.

From the off, the level of communication and personal advice offered is detailed, considered and personally tailored. Very impressive personal service.

It is pleasing that customer feedback is listened to, then, where appropriate, put into action to enhance the next treks experiences.

Well done and I hope to trek with you again in the near future.

Superb trek to remote Nepali villages

By Barty on 11 May 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Everest Luxury Lodge in Nepal >

11 day trek to Ama Dablam base camp flying into and out of Lukla

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company made the holiday an very special experience for us both. Small enough to deal with customers as individuals.

Outstanding

By Mat88 on 9 May 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal >

It was a trekking holiday around the Dhaulagiri circuit. 16 days camping and the rest in hotels. There was never any want for anything and the whole crew were very accommodating. All flights and transfers were spot on timing and service wise. Couldn't ask for better.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company organised everything to a tee. We never had to worry about anything as everything was taken care of giving us the time and space to enjoy Nepal.

Exploring and Trekking in Nepal for the First Time

By Miss N S 17 on 2 May 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Annapurna Base Camp in Nepal >

I had a fabulous and eye-opening holiday in Nepal this year. Visiting the sights and learning about the history of Nepal in Kathmandu; seeing how the 2015 earthquake caused much destruction and how the people have picked themselves up and continue to operate their businesses and lives with joy, friendliness and an upbeat disposition; time spente in the lakeside village of Pokhara and; then finally enjoying trekking into the Himalayas to the Annapurna Base Camp. A memory that will stay with me for life! A holiday and tour I would highly recommend to anyone interested in Nepal.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company were absolutely fabulous, from start to finish! Before the trip I had many, many, many questions and concerns about the trip, what to pack, my fitness level and ability etc... and each email was responded to in full and in super-quick time!
Then arriving in Nepal, everything was organised and taken care of, from the airport transfer, to hotel bookings, sightseeing tours, the trekking itinerary, special needs that were required on the trek etc... Just brilliant!
I would highly recommend booking a trip with these guys (they were definitely one big step above the other operators we met on the trek. A lot more professional and organised.)

Excellent trip to Everest Base Camp with the Mountain Company.

By Ian on 1 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Everest Base Camp in Nepal >

Booked a trip with the Mountain Company to Everest base Camp from the 5th March - 23rd March 2017.

I cannot speak highly enough of the company, from getting collected from the airport in Kathmandu to being dropped off again 19 days later the drivers/guides and porters looked after us from start to finish.

The trek to base camp was outstanding, we also went to the summit of Kala Pattar and had clear blue sky's as the sun came up over the summit of Everest.

After the trek we returned to Kathmandu and Roland the company MD even made time to meet with us to gain feedback on the trip which shows he cares about his customers and likes to hear any positive or negative feedback from his clients.

There was 3 people in our group and we had nothing but praise for the guides and porters who looked after us on the mountains, I would have no hesitation in using the Mountain Company again for any future treks.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company

60th birthday celebration trekking in Nepal...

By Caroline - Ireland on 6 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Luxury Kathmandu Valley in Nepal >

As a birthday celebration we booked a luxury trekking holiday in Nepal with The Mountain Company. From our very first enquiry to the last day of our trip we were so so impressed with the organisation and professionalism of the company and with Roland. Every question was answered promptly and all our concerns were dealt with from reassurance to our fitness levels and to recommendations on staying extra night at resorts. We had ten magical days in Nepal and everyday brought different walks, sights and experiences. Our guide Bisho was fantastic, not only informative but also fun and we were sorry to say goodbye at the end of our stay as he was so much part of our trip. Our accommodation was wonderful - Dwarika Hotel Dhulikhel has to have a special mention as it was absolutely superb - Roland recommended that we stayed here two nights and it was so well worth it - pure luxury.
The days flew by and it was just magical - we are already planning our next trip to this beautiful and friendly country.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very professional - all questions answered promptly. Planned the trip according to our needs. Very reassuring on all our concerns. Available to discuss any time over email or phone. Will be planning our next holiday with The Mountain Company for next year. Very very pleased.

Superb classic Nepalese trek

By Graham on 27 Jan 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Kopra Ridge in Nepal >

This one wasn't as demanding as the ones I normally do with Mountain Company, but was no less enjoyable/invigorating for that. Faultlessly led as Mountain Company treks always are, Biswo, the leader, was as attentive, cheerful and authoritative as ever - he was "joint-leader" of the Dhaulagiri trek I did with Roland's company a few years ago. Though this trip didn't have the "breathtaking/dramatic altitude" element that many Himalayan treks have, it had everything else you could possibly want - villages, culture, Yaks (and dzos), forests, high alpine pastures and panoramic mountain views. Though near Annapurna, it's still off the beaten track, providing a glimpse of the "real" Nepal - a chance to see how regular Gurung people live. Despite this, no tents are required thanks to the excellent "village-owned" community lodges at Bayeli Kharka, Upper Chistibung, Kopra, Mohare Danda and Nangi. To cap it all of, there was a trully entrancing sunrise to be seen from the hill above Kopra lodge. A perfect Nepalese trek!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I've been on a number of treks run by the Mountain Company and this one was as good as ever. The combination of Roland's dilligence, talent with logistics and deep understanding of the Himalayan region make all the treks his company runs a thoroughly enjoyable experience. This is augmented by the personal touch that Roland brings to all the treks - Mountain Company is a small enterprise, but in the many years that Roland has spent in the Himalayan area he has got to know all the best people. The staff on this trek were no exception. Biswo Rai (who I've trekked with before, in Dhaulagiri) and his team were as good as ever. I plan to do many more treks with this company.