AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 152
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 155
Reviews Accepted: 155
Reviews Rejected: 0
155 reviews
Sort by:
The Mountain Company by Mrs J B 14, 28 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

We would go with The Mountain Company again at the drop of a hat.

We had the most wonderful time in Nepal.

We had the most wonderful time in Nepal.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything worked beautifully; The Mountain Company employs excellent people.

The Mountain Company by Daveyrush, 19 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic experience

The trek to EBC was a life changing experience.

The trek to EBC was a life changing experience.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company provided an excellent service from end-to-end. From the outset I was provided with a great deal of information. During the trip the guides were fantastic and I felt very safe. An alround great experience.

The Mountain Company by ET, 17 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Well organised from start to finish and excellent home and local leaders

This is a 2-weeks trekking holiday up to the Ama Dablam Base Camp at 4600 metres altitude in the Himalaya, close to Everest in Nepal. We met up in Kathmandu, then flied up to busy Lukla in flying taxis (small ~20 seater planes) to start our trek. The sight(s) of Everest and Ama Dablam were amazing/mesmerising and did not forget about those nice looking yaks and amazingly fit shepherds and porters. Making to the Base Camp without adverse effect ...

This is a 2-weeks trekking holiday up to the Ama Dablam Base Camp at 4600 metres altitude in the Himalaya, close to Everest in Nepal. We met up in Kathmandu, then flied up to busy Lukla in flying taxis (small ~20 seater planes) to start our trek. The sight(s) of Everest and Ama Dablam were amazing/mesmerising and did not forget about those nice looking yaks and amazingly fit shepherds and porters. Making to the Base Camp without adverse effect was truly a relief as well as a big achivement for me....wonderful feeling!

Rating for tour operator:

The trek was well planned and organised in such a way that there were sufficient time to acclimatise with rising altitudes. The local guides were very knowledgeable with good communication and patience with us. The lodges were surprisingly quite well equipped and foods were resonable considering their location up in the mountain.

The Mountain Company by Mr. Plod, 14 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

An Everest Pilgrimage

A lifetime's ambition achieved reaching Everest Base Camp on December 2014 to celebrate my 60th year.It was fair to say I was not the fittest and I struggled with the altitude, however with the help of the very caring guides and porters we finally reached our goal. I will take away wonderful memories of beautiful vistas and fantastic weather. Many thanks to all at the Mountain Company for organising such a well planned programme aiding acclimatis...

A lifetime's ambition achieved reaching Everest Base Camp on December 2014 to celebrate my 60th year.It was fair to say I was not the fittest and I struggled with the altitude, however with the help of the very caring guides and porters we finally reached our goal. I will take away wonderful memories of beautiful vistas and fantastic weather. Many thanks to all at the Mountain Company for organising such a well planned programme aiding acclimatisation and giving us the best possible chance of reaching our destination.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company from website to delivery of the Trek itself were impressive in all aspects of their organisation. They were always available on the phone prior to the trip to answer any queries I had. All their staff on the trek were brilliant and very professional. If ever I go to the Himalayas again these are the only people I would go with. Job well done

The Mountain Company by Trekker, 14 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Kanchenjunga Circuit Trek - Nepal

The Kanchenjunga Circuit Trek takes place in northeastern Nepal. It is a 21 day walk through low valleys, Tibetan villages and the high Himalaya. The scenery is spectacular. This is one of my favorite treks.

The Kanchenjunga Circuit Trek takes place in northeastern Nepal. It is a 21 day walk through low valleys, Tibetan villages and the high Himalaya. The scenery is spectacular. This is one of my favorite treks.

Rating for tour operator:

I traveled with The Mountain Company (TMC) on their Kanchenjunga Circuit trek in Nepal in October 2014. The trek was well planned and organized and the pre-trip information provided made sure everyone was prepared for the trek. The equipment provided by TMC was very good and the trekking staff was excellent. TMC is a top notch company. This was my second trip with The Mountain Company and I will certainly travel with them again.

The Mountain Company by DaveG999, 13 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Life changing

our trip was the everest luxery trek, worth every penny. I always wanted to see the Himalya, meet sherpa peoples and tenbouche monestry, this trip encompassed all

our trip was the everest luxery trek, worth every penny. I always wanted to see the Himalya, meet sherpa peoples and tenbouche monestry, this trip encompassed all

Rating for tour operator:

having wanted to visit the Himalaya since I was 15, I eventually arrive in Nov 2013. Researching travel companies I found the ethics of the Mountain Company were alongside my own . Roland was helpful, professional and passionate about our trip from day one. The trek from booking to our return to UK was superb. I can't recommend them highly enough, so much so I've booked to return

The Mountain Company by Trusty Trekker, 13 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Annapurna Sanctuary Trek, Nepal

We had 12 nights on trek to Annapurna Base Camp and also 3 nights in Kathmandu and 2 nights in Pokhara. Before starting the trek we flew from Kathmandu to Pokhara and then drove to Nayapul where the trek started. On the return leg we drove back to Kathmandu - a very interesting and worthwhile road trip!

We had 12 nights on trek to Annapurna Base Camp and also 3 nights in Kathmandu and 2 nights in Pokhara. Before starting the trek we flew from Kathmandu to Pokhara and then drove to Nayapul where the trek started. On the return leg we drove back to Kathmandu - a very interesting and worthwhile road trip!

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company provided an excellent all round service both in UK and Nepal. Roland Hunter and his team are extremely well organised and willing to adapt the trip to suit where possible. Problems which arose on the trek (no fault of TMC)were professionally dealt with by the guide and staff in Kathmandu resulting in no inconvenience to us at all. We cannot thank Roland and his team enough(especially Prem Gurung and Tara our guides) for helping us have the time of our lives!

The Mountain Company by Judy, 12 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Perfect

I had a wonderful trek in Nepal with fantastic weather and excellent support from the trekking crew. I think Nepal is the best place in the world to trek.

I had a wonderful trek in Nepal with fantastic weather and excellent support from the trekking crew. I think Nepal is the best place in the world to trek.

Rating for tour operator:

I have trekked 5 times in Nepal with The Mountain Company, everything was first class from speaking to Roland at The Mountain Company, the ground agents in Kathmandu and all the crew in the treks. I wouldn't use any other company and I am already planning my next one in 2015.

The Mountain Company by Anita, 10 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Experience of a life time. Throughly enjoyed it

Experience of a life time. Throughly enjoyed it

Rating for tour operator:

Great organisation. Very well planned Super guides

The Mountain Company by Dave C, Wales, 10 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Nepal, Trekking, Annapurna Circuit.

Great, well organised, thoroughly enjoyable, looking forward to getting back to Nepal again and going to a another area of this fascinating country.

Great, well organised, thoroughly enjoyable, looking forward to getting back to Nepal again and going to a another area of this fascinating country.

Rating for tour operator:

Roland Hunter was happy to answer any questions about their treks whilst we were looking to plan our trek. We received direct, straight forward honest replies which speaks volumes about the way TMC is run and how it treats customers. This was an influential factor in deciding to go with them, it felt right. The contact was there throughout, from the initial enquiry through to and during the trip itself. He is a top man. Would have no hesitation in recommending TMC to anyone looking to go trekking and the such like in Nepal and that part of the world, and have done so. Give them a call, make your mind up