AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 152
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 155
Reviews Accepted: 155
Reviews Rejected: 0
155 reviews
Sort by:
Everest Base Camp in Nepal by SnoMo, 1 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Everest Base Camp in Hillary's Footsteps

Trek to Everest Base Camp along the trail taken by Sir Edmund Hillary. The trek was led Robert Mads Anderson and Peter Hillary.

Trek to Everest Base Camp along the trail taken by Sir Edmund Hillary. The trek was led Robert Mads Anderson and Peter Hillary.

Rating for tour operator:

Provided all the necessary information (required equipment, hours of trekking per day, condition of the trails, etc) regarding the trek. Very responsive to all inquiries. Ensure everything is taken care of from start to finish.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by MJP3, 24 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

Everest Base Camp Trek / In The Footsteps of Hillary

Kathmandu to Lukla to Everest Base Camp and back.

Kathmandu to Lukla to Everest Base Camp and back.

Rating for tour operator:

Top people who know their business and know the terrain, the challenges, the many details of a long, complicated trip, and are able to adapt to the changing needs of the group and somehow manage to run a successful trip at great odds.

Luxury Kathmandu Valley in Nepal by Zendog1402, 18 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Magical Nepal

Our second trek with The Mountain Company in Nepal. A wonderful experience again. It’s not just the views and the mountains but it’s also the people you meet that makes Nepal a mad but magical place to be. Everyone from the management down to the taxi drivers put in maximum effort in order to make the holiday stress free. The cultural guides were both knowledgeable and enthusiastic and helped us to understand what we were seeing and our trekking ...

Our second trek with The Mountain Company in Nepal. A wonderful experience again. It’s not just the views and the mountains but it’s also the people you meet that makes Nepal a mad but magical place to be. Everyone from the management down to the taxi drivers put in maximum effort in order to make the holiday stress free. The cultural guides were both knowledgeable and enthusiastic and helped us to understand what we were seeing and our trekking guide looked after our every need and kept us safe.

Rating for tour operator:

Totally professional and knowledgeable. Every part of our holiday ran to plan and we felt completely safe in the hands of our guides. Can not recommend The Mountain Company highly enough.

Laya Gasa in Bhutan by Fhamer, 18 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic trek in Bhutan

I took the Laya Gasa trek in Bhutan for three weeks. It was the longest and highest trek I’ve ever taken. We had a group of 3 people, a crew of 6 and 9 horses. We also visited many dzongs and enjoyed other cultural activities. I felt immersed in Bhutanese Buddhist culture and village life. It was a great experience.

I took the Laya Gasa trek in Bhutan for three weeks. It was the longest and highest trek I’ve ever taken. We had a group of 3 people, a crew of 6 and 9 horses. We also visited many dzongs and enjoyed other cultural activities. I felt immersed in Bhutanese Buddhist culture and village life. It was a great experience.

Rating for tour operator:

The guide made sure we had lots of time to acclimate before hiking to the highest altitudes. This made it possible for me, a 72-year old female, to accomplish the trek — without any altitude sickness. We went up to 16,400 feet (5005 meters). The guide was fantastic, extremely encouraging, and the crew was great, too. I was impressed with the organization, friendliness, attention, and safety. It was a trip that tested the limits of my strength and an experience I’ll never forget. Also gave me major bragging rights at home!

Annapurna Luxury Lodges in Nepal by Gertie, 1 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Annapurna trek

We trekked for 6 days/5 nights with The Mountain Company staying at Ker & Downey properties. It was magnificent. Notably it was our second time doing the trek with same company. They were terrific first time around too.

We trekked for 6 days/5 nights with The Mountain Company staying at Ker & Downey properties. It was magnificent. Notably it was our second time doing the trek with same company. They were terrific first time around too.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company - superb in every way

Manaslu Circuit with Tsum Valley by Eric S., 25 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Manaslu/Tsum Valley Trek

I had never been to Nepal, which was a hole in my outdoor resume. I am a climber, but at 63, decided I'd rather do a trek in Nepal than a climb. I was delighted with my experience and the professionalism of The Mountain Company. I found that, contrary to what I thought before I went on the trip, my experience was at least as much cultural as it was loving being in the mountains. I want to thank The Mountain Company for an excellent holiday.

I had never been to Nepal, which was a hole in my outdoor resume. I am a climber, but at 63, decided I'd rather do a trek in Nepal than a climb. I was delighted with my experience and the professionalism of The Mountain Company. I found that, contrary to what I thought before I went on the trip, my experience was at least as much cultural as it was loving being in the mountains. I want to thank The Mountain Company for an excellent holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

See above. The Mountain Company ,was exceptionally responsive to my pre-trip inquiries, and its organizational skills during my stay in Nepal were wonderful. Roland met us at the hotel and was available to answer questions and deal with logistics while we were in Kathmandu. I felt well taken care of. On the trek, the head guide, Bishwoo, was well organized, communicated very well and was very attentive to detail. The other guides were also wonderful in their attentiveness.

Upper Dolpo to Jomsom GHT Nepal by YakforXmas, 19 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

High adventure

Trekking from Dunai through lower and upper Dolpo to Johnsom. This is a fabulous but demanding trek past the beautiful Lake Phoksundo and over 6 x 5,000+ passes. Absolutely stunning scenery and challenging walking which was exactly what we hoped for. We were extremely well looked after.

Trekking from Dunai through lower and upper Dolpo to Johnsom. This is a fabulous but demanding trek past the beautiful Lake Phoksundo and over 6 x 5,000+ passes. Absolutely stunning scenery and challenging walking which was exactly what we hoped for. We were extremely well looked after.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour was very well organised and the staff knowledgeable, professional and fun. I highly recommend them

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by NZpixie, 18 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Kangchenjunga adventure

21 days of trekking through amazing villages where the people were so friendly and welcoming. Right from the start until the very end I was engrossed in the trip. We were well looked after by our guide and Sherpa,s

21 days of trekking through amazing villages where the people were so friendly and welcoming. Right from the start until the very end I was engrossed in the trip. We were well looked after by our guide and Sherpa,s

Rating for tour operator:

They were well organised with spare equipment, ie extra tents, very good first aid kits, and looked after us well at altitude

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Paul , 15 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

A superbly organised holiday to Everest Base Camp (EBC) which perfectly satisfied the lifelong ambitions of three ageing Fogies!

A fourteen consecutive day luxury trek in Nepal from Lukla to EBC and back to Lukla. The fourteen days included three acclimatisation days. The Mountain Company provided two guides, each of whom were professionally fantastic at their jobs and kept us moving and safe over the fortnight, and lovely guys to boot. They also provided two porters, also great at their jobs. The pre-tour info, answering of questions/queries, communications, accommodation, ...

A fourteen consecutive day luxury trek in Nepal from Lukla to EBC and back to Lukla. The fourteen days included three acclimatisation days. The Mountain Company provided two guides, each of whom were professionally fantastic at their jobs and kept us moving and safe over the fortnight, and lovely guys to boot. They also provided two porters, also great at their jobs. The pre-tour info, answering of questions/queries, communications, accommodation, itinerary, were all faultless in our view.

Rating for tour operator:

See answer to question just above. In summary I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending The Mountain Company.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Jeannette Gravett, 15 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

A Great Privilege walking amongst Massive Mountains!

Wild and Ab Fab!

Wild and Ab Fab!

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Co. Is the way to go When you want a trek with some substance. You'll enjoy the grub In the mountain hub Of Karakoram's paths of great distance. The staff is hard-working with much to do - Yet they know how to care for a Motley Crew! They watch out for your safety; For your comfort - that's key. These leaders are tho-rough And they look out for ya! Karakoram's a BEAUTY - Hard to put into words; A place for adventurers And even for nerds! You'll be out in the bundu And should trouble pursue The crew is well-trained, You will not be disdained! Contact with London is maintained throughout, Of the personal touch there is no doubt. Itinerary's well-planned; Lotsa rocks and some sand; Good giggles with fellow trekkers, That's the life! we say as back packers. If you want a great trip - this is the place to be, Just don't hesitate - choose TMC! Consider these thoughts I've penned down here, So, to you, a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!