AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Safari Consultants

Safari Consultants Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 407
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 413
Reviews Accepted: 413
Reviews Rejected: 0
413 reviews
Sort by:
Safari Consultants by lion man, 31 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

9 night safari at Naboisho Camp, Naboisho Conservancy

Superb 9 night safari at Naboisho Camp thanks to Mary for her help and recommendation.

Superb 9 night safari at Naboisho Camp thanks to Mary for her help and recommendation.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third time that we have traveled with Safari Consultants and they have always been excellent. All tickets and arrangements have always been sent in good time and all transfers and pickups are always waiting at arrivals. Always there to give lots of help and advice.

Safari Consultants by Les&jon, 31 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

This was a holiday of a lifetime and superbly organised by Mary Grimwood at Safari Consultants

We travelled to Kenya and stayed in the Kicheche Laikipia camp followed by 5 wonderful days in the Kicheche Bush camp in the Mara conservancy. We ended the holiday with a fantastic stay at the Royal Livingstone Hotel in Zambia.

We travelled to Kenya and stayed in the Kicheche Laikipia camp followed by 5 wonderful days in the Kicheche Bush camp in the Mara conservancy. We ended the holiday with a fantastic stay at the Royal Livingstone Hotel in Zambia.

Rating for tour operator:

We were complete novices in terms of organising a safari. This was a special occasion being my 60th birthday so had to be special!! Mary was excellent in putting together an itinerary that completely fulfilled our hopes and expectations. We managed to view all the 'big five' as well as witnessing some spectacular sights- a new born elephant taking its first steps was unforgettable!

Safari Consultants by Large and large on tour, 26 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

South Africa East & Western Capes sight seeing, whale watching and safari

A fifteen day holiday primarily to watch whales started in Constantia, Capetown with outstanding accommodation at Glen Avon Lodge. Travelling by hire car we visited many of the recommended tourist sites, enjoying Kirstenbosch Gardens and the V &A Waterfront. We then travelled to Hermanus and spent four nights at the Mosselberg on Grotto Beach. Fantastic view of whales and fantastic room with panoramic view of Walkers bay. Three nights at Hog ...

A fifteen day holiday primarily to watch whales started in Constantia, Capetown with outstanding accommodation at Glen Avon Lodge. Travelling by hire car we visited many of the recommended tourist sites, enjoying Kirstenbosch Gardens and the V &A Waterfront. We then travelled to Hermanus and spent four nights at the Mosselberg on Grotto Beach. Fantastic view of whales and fantastic room with panoramic view of Walkers bay. Three nights at Hog Hollow near to Plettenberg Bay followed, which gave the opportunity to visit Knysna Elephant Sanctuary and the Birds of Eden Aviary- well worth a visit. Our final destination, Kichaka Private Game Lodge provided total luxury, outstanding service, game drives with a very knowledgeable guide and an outstanding finale to our holiday. Wherever we ate the food was really good and reasonably priced, even at Port Elizabeth Airport! Food at the accommodations was excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third holiday that we have taken using Safari Consultants and I would recommend them totally. All communication is excellent and their knowledge enables them to plan an itinerary guaranteed to meet our needs. All aspects of their arrangements went smoothly, and we knew that the accommodation booked would be first class.

Safari Consultants by Dodge's Dad, 24 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Safari holiday in two camps with a bush wedding

Flew into Nairobi and spent first night at the Palacina Hotel (beautiful hotel and very secure). Then flew out to Amboseli and stayed three nights at the Tortilis Camp, where we went out on safari twice a day. The camp was immaculate and very luxurious. The game viewing was superb with many animals seen and often, totally on our own. Had a bush breakfast with chef and waitress out in the bush and sundowner drinks on a hill totally alone - both ...

Flew into Nairobi and spent first night at the Palacina Hotel (beautiful hotel and very secure). Then flew out to Amboseli and stayed three nights at the Tortilis Camp, where we went out on safari twice a day. The camp was immaculate and very luxurious. The game viewing was superb with many animals seen and often, totally on our own. Had a bush breakfast with chef and waitress out in the bush and sundowner drinks on a hill totally alone - both amazing experiences! Also visited a Maasai village to see how they lived and to purchase items. Some of our group found this really rewarding but some felt the pressure to purchase a little too much, even though the Maasai guide at the village said we were under no obligation to buy. We then flew across to Kicheche Valley Camp in the Mara, again for three nights stay and game viewing twice daily. This was a very personal experience, with the guides tailoring the drives to suit our group. All guides were very knowledgeable and extremely good spotters. The managers treated you as family and the staff were so attentive. The tents were luxurious and as this was an unfenced camp, there were Maasai men guarding us all night so we felt totally safe. The wedding was amazing - held out in the bush with a Maasai welcoming party followed by a 3 course wedding breakfast served by chefs and waiters and all guarded by an armed ranger. The service and food was amazing at both camps and the staff couldn't do enough for us. All in all an amazing and truly memorable holiday and wedding!

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants Ltd were very professional and thorough. Every detail was sorted for us, including all the flights, being met from airports and transferred to another or to a hotel to have a meal while we waited for connecting flights. They chose the camps for us according to our needs and preferences within our group. The camp for the wedding was perfect and provided exactly the experience that the bride and groom were after. All the information we needed was provided in detail to cover all paperwork, clothing to take weight limits and tipping guidelines. Whenever we had a question or concern we could ring their office and they were only too happy to advise or contact the camp for information on our behalf. Totally outstanding service!

Safari Consultants by rasberry, 23 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

holiday of a lifetime (till the next one!!)

a six day safari experience across two different camps followed by 3 days in stone town, chumbie island then six days of luxury on the beach in baraza hotel. We had a fantastic time with many contrasting experiences --all helped by meeting some great, like minded, other people.It would be difficult to get better --the game drives were stunning as was the baraza hotel. Well done safari consultants

a six day safari experience across two different camps followed by 3 days in stone town, chumbie island then six days of luxury on the beach in baraza hotel. We had a fantastic time with many contrasting experiences --all helped by meeting some great, like minded, other people.It would be difficult to get better --the game drives were stunning as was the baraza hotel. Well done safari consultants

Rating for tour operator:

in the main I dealt with michelle who helped us put the itinery together after doing a complete "fact find". She was able to explain the pro's and con's of the different options we were looking at first class --michelle did a comprehensive "fact find" and then was able to give us great advice on the different options we were considering. The end result a perfect schedule and everything went like clockwork. The fact that they had first hand experience of the places we were looking to go was invaluable

Safari Consultants by King Edward, 16 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Rewarding

A rich and rewarding safari experience marred only by exceptional heat and those darn tsetse flies!

A rich and rewarding safari experience marred only by exceptional heat and those darn tsetse flies!

Rating for tour operator:

Knowledgable, sensible and enthusiastic - listen carefully to your ideas and wishes and take into consideration your previous safari experience; use initiative to make your programme run smoothly.

Safari Consultants by teepee, 11 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Sightseeing, safari and relaxation

Two days spent in Victoria Falls followed by seven days in 3 different safari lodges in Zimbabwe and Botswana. Finally, five nights on a beach in Mozambique. The variety was lovely and everything that Safari Consultants arranged happened without a single hitch. Considering the multiple flights, lodges and activities this was pretty impressive. Any hiccoughs were of the Act of God variety and no prearrangements would have changed them!

Two days spent in Victoria Falls followed by seven days in 3 different safari lodges in Zimbabwe and Botswana. Finally, five nights on a beach in Mozambique. The variety was lovely and everything that Safari Consultants arranged happened without a single hitch. Considering the multiple flights, lodges and activities this was pretty impressive. Any hiccoughs were of the Act of God variety and no prearrangements would have changed them!

Rating for tour operator:

Rob from Safari Consultants worked our itinary out and really seemed to listen to our requests. He was accurate throughout and obviously knows his stuff. A bonus luncheon in Suffolk added to our feelgood factor, well done team.

Safari Consultants by keithg, 4 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

A profusion of animal and bird life in Botswana

Africa novices, we travelled through Botswana, from the desert to the delta and on to the rivers, in September 2013, finishing in Zambia at the Victoria Falls. The itinerary was highly varied without being rushed, and all connections worked flawlessly. The staff in the locations we visited were uniformly impressive, and the fellow guests most personable.

Africa novices, we travelled through Botswana, from the desert to the delta and on to the rivers, in September 2013, finishing in Zambia at the Victoria Falls. The itinerary was highly varied without being rushed, and all connections worked flawlessly. The staff in the locations we visited were uniformly impressive, and the fellow guests most personable.

Rating for tour operator:

Highly knowledgeable, full briefings, clearly expert.

Safari Consultants by gerryb, 3 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Kenya at its best beautiful lanscapes, wildlife and a warm welcome

We visited three different locations all offering something new for our third trip to Kenya. Being taken through the Mara is always special but to be surrounded by so many Wildebeest made for a very special stay. Staying at Topi House was wonderful but the guiding of Salaash was outstanding. Both Kickeche were new to us and had fascination new things for us to see including Wild Dog Pups and of course many Predators. We particularly enjoyed ...

We visited three different locations all offering something new for our third trip to Kenya. Being taken through the Mara is always special but to be surrounded by so many Wildebeest made for a very special stay. Staying at Topi House was wonderful but the guiding of Salaash was outstanding. Both Kickeche were new to us and had fascination new things for us to see including Wild Dog Pups and of course many Predators. We particularly enjoyed the stunning landscapes of Laikipia and the energy of the thunderstorms in the Mara.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our first trip with Safari Consultants who were superb from the word go. The first hand information they gave was very informative and the organisation of the Safari was excellent. Our consultant Michele was helpful, patient and key to our enjoyment of the Safari. Everything worked well even though "Africa Time" proved testing at times.

Safari Consultants by Angelika, 3 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

2 weeks Namibia / Botswana Safari

We stayed 3 days at Impalila Island Lodge (Namibia). After that we did an 8 days mobile Camping Safari through Savuti and Moremi. At the end we've spent 3 days in the Okavango Delta at Kanana. The mobile Camping Safari was a real adventure and perfectly organised. The team from SGS was amazing and we had a wonderful Safari. After 8 days in the bush, Kanana was a bit overwhelming at first, but it's a great place to stay at the Delta. Only our ...

We stayed 3 days at Impalila Island Lodge (Namibia). After that we did an 8 days mobile Camping Safari through Savuti and Moremi. At the end we've spent 3 days in the Okavango Delta at Kanana. The mobile Camping Safari was a real adventure and perfectly organised. The team from SGS was amazing and we had a wonderful Safari. After 8 days in the bush, Kanana was a bit overwhelming at first, but it's a great place to stay at the Delta. Only our first 3 days at Impalila Island Lodge were a bit disturbed by comments from an officer about numerous thefts at the lodge.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants asked all the right questions and came up with a very interesting itinerary. Communication is very good and I would contact them again, if we want to go on another Safari.