AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Safari Consultants

Safari Consultants Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 421
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 427
Reviews Accepted: 427
Reviews Rejected: 0
427 reviews
Sort by:
Safari Consultants by K ... F, 25 Feb 2014
Holiday Rating:

Superb safaries and a beachside haven!

Two nights at one amazing Kicheche camp and 3 nights at another on the Masai Mara, Kenya - excellent hosts, knowledgeable guides, amazing animals, stunning landscapes and amazing teams at both camps going above and beyond to make our safaris truly amazing. Onto Diani Beach staying at a haven called Asha Cottage, comprising 6 rooms, pool, delicious dining and lovely "ledge" overlooking the beach. We were made to feel so welcome and so well ...

Two nights at one amazing Kicheche camp and 3 nights at another on the Masai Mara, Kenya - excellent hosts, knowledgeable guides, amazing animals, stunning landscapes and amazing teams at both camps going above and beyond to make our safaris truly amazing. Onto Diani Beach staying at a haven called Asha Cottage, comprising 6 rooms, pool, delicious dining and lovely "ledge" overlooking the beach. We were made to feel so welcome and so well cared for by the hosts and their team. An exceptional holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants Limited were efficient and helpful.

Safari Consultants by Pat&JF, 23 Feb 2014
Holiday Rating:

Two wonderful safari experiences in Selous and Ruaha and then relaxing by the beach - our retirement trip

We have just returned from Tanzania after a wonderful trip. We spent 4 nights at the Impala Camp in Selous, 4 nights at Kwihala in Ruaha, followed by 5 nights at The Tides Lodge, Pangani. We were so well looked after everywhere, staff wonderful, guides so knowledgeable, game drives amazing. Nothing was too much trouble from when we first enquired at Safari Consultants to the whole time we were away. Thoroughly recommend our trip - and February ...

We have just returned from Tanzania after a wonderful trip. We spent 4 nights at the Impala Camp in Selous, 4 nights at Kwihala in Ruaha, followed by 5 nights at The Tides Lodge, Pangani. We were so well looked after everywhere, staff wonderful, guides so knowledgeable, game drives amazing. Nothing was too much trouble from when we first enquired at Safari Consultants to the whole time we were away. Thoroughly recommend our trip - and February was a good time to travel.

Rating for tour operator:

We met Safari Consultants last year at the Travel Show in London, having researched our trip beforehand. They were so helpful, professional, knowledgeable,(a Director had just come back from Selous and Ruaha, so could advise on climate in February)friendly and responded promptly to our various email enquiries, before we made our decision. We were offered various alternative dates/flight times/etc - they were keen to tailor the trip to our exact needs. All paperwork received was informative and the tickets/vouchers clear and concise. We felt very safe having booked this trip with them.

Safari Consultants by Elephant Jane, 22 Feb 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wow, you ain't seen nothing yet!

It was the most exciting few days being in pursuit of wild animals - a wonderful Masai, Reuben, was our guide. His ability to spot, smell or hear wildlife was amazing. He saw animals, birds etc a good 5 mins before we did and that was even when we had stopped for them. Our highlight was a cheetah on the bonnet of our rangerover - up she jumped, stared at us and the box of tissues through the windscreen and the decided to poke her head around ...

It was the most exciting few days being in pursuit of wild animals - a wonderful Masai, Reuben, was our guide. His ability to spot, smell or hear wildlife was amazing. He saw animals, birds etc a good 5 mins before we did and that was even when we had stopped for them. Our highlight was a cheetah on the bonnet of our rangerover - up she jumped, stared at us and the box of tissues through the windscreen and the decided to poke her head around the free passenger side as if to ask if anyone was sitting there!!!!!! I swear she would have sat in the seat and hitched a lift if Reuben had not started the car ( very gently) and she decided better of it. Off she jumped, walked around us again and then went to join her son who was waiting patiently just ahead of us! Phew, I can still feel my heart beating now but the thrill and intimacy was surreal. and the baby hippo in her own tiny little pool was just adorable. She went for a swim on her own, mummy was way out in the lake. Came back, walked up to us to have a look, was getting a bit warm, so decided to go back into her pool for a lie down - could easily have thought she was a rock in the pool but not Reuben, he spotted her a mile off! Could go on and on but I'm savouring my memories and just recalling some wonderful privileges I'd been able to share thanks to some beautiful animals who let us share their land for a few precious hours. Thank you to them all and safe journey.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised and smoothly completed at every stage. They obviously know their Africa very well and would happily ask their advice and travel through them again.

Safari Consultants by Hil, 17 Feb 2014
Holiday Rating:

Kenya

First time visit to plains of East Africa. Different experience.Pleased to see Masai so involved and conservation of animals becoming a priority. Quiet time to visit (animal-wise)- which we enjoyed as not many other visitors and we had wildlife to ourselves. Kenyans very hospitable.

First time visit to plains of East Africa. Different experience.Pleased to see Masai so involved and conservation of animals becoming a priority. Quiet time to visit (animal-wise)- which we enjoyed as not many other visitors and we had wildlife to ourselves. Kenyans very hospitable.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants outstanding. 24 hours notice to arrange long-ish w/e and they came up trumps. No hitches. All small details well thought out - ie Boma Hotel to shower and have meal rather than long wait in airport

Safari Consultants by Niggle, 5 Feb 2014
Holiday Rating:

Safari in Tanzania and beach holiday on Zanzibar

Flight from London to Nairobi to Kilimanjaro to Serengeti for a 3-day safari in a tented camp in the Serengeti, and then 7 day stay at Blue Bay Hotel on Zanzibar. Included a visit to Stone Town.

Flight from London to Nairobi to Kilimanjaro to Serengeti for a 3-day safari in a tented camp in the Serengeti, and then 7 day stay at Blue Bay Hotel on Zanzibar. Included a visit to Stone Town.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants arranged all flights and the safari stay at Olakira camp in the Serengeti; and then logistics for stay at Blue Bay Hotel on Zanzibar. All arrangements were very professionally made and all travel connections worked perfectly. An excellent service backed up with all the information we needed for a successful and enjoyable holiday.

Safari Consultants by The bike, 31 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

two weeks in safari camps in Kenya

We spent just over 2 weeks in 4 different safari camps to the North of the Masai Mara in Kenya. It was one of the best holidays we have ever had over the last 40 years of marriage.

We spent just over 2 weeks in 4 different safari camps to the North of the Masai Mara in Kenya. It was one of the best holidays we have ever had over the last 40 years of marriage.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari consultants have the advantage of being a niche practice and are experts in all forms of safari holidays especially in Africa. We went to them with no knowledge of such holidays and spent a long time talking to them. They could answer all our questions largely because they had been to al the camps, they knew the owners, managers and chief guides well. Their advice proved to be consistently accurate. Their first draft itinerary was too long and too expensive for us but within 24 hours the amended version was within our budget. and was accompanied by a well written summary of each camp, the mode of transfer and the standard of comfort, food, guiding and access to wild life. Wwe accepted this itinerary and their description and their advice proved to be dead right in every detail. We have and we will continue to recommend them to others

Safari Consultants by OLIVIA77, 29 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

Experience of a lifetime

Ten day safari to Tanzania - staying at Olivers Camp, Plantation Lodge and Olakira Camp - a truly memorable holiday. We were looked after so well, nothing was too much trouble, in fact I doubt if Royalty were treated any better, I cannot praise Safari Consultants or their agents in Tanzania, Asilia, enough. From the moment of contacting Safari Consultants, the holiday of a lifetime became reality and what a wonderful experience it was, seeing ...

Ten day safari to Tanzania - staying at Olivers Camp, Plantation Lodge and Olakira Camp - a truly memorable holiday. We were looked after so well, nothing was too much trouble, in fact I doubt if Royalty were treated any better, I cannot praise Safari Consultants or their agents in Tanzania, Asilia, enough. From the moment of contacting Safari Consultants, the holiday of a lifetime became reality and what a wonderful experience it was, seeing so much wildlife, no wonder people get hooked on safaris!

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent service, especially from Michele, our travel consultant. Her knowledge and experience helped to put together a holiday of a lifetime. Thank you Michele.

Safari Consultants by Lin, 20 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

Very well organised, fabulous holiday

Travelled to Kenya Laikipia, spending 1 week at Kicheche Laikipia and the next at Lewa Wilderness. A brilliant mix of two truly superb camps/lodges where the attention to detail, accommodation, food, wildlife sightings etc. all could not be beaten.

Travelled to Kenya Laikipia, spending 1 week at Kicheche Laikipia and the next at Lewa Wilderness. A brilliant mix of two truly superb camps/lodges where the attention to detail, accommodation, food, wildlife sightings etc. all could not be beaten.

Rating for tour operator:

Didn't just say where we should go, but listened to what we wanted to do and the type of place we preferred to stay and only then made various suggestions from which we chose the final itinerary. Extremely clear details given of what to expect at each camp and on the transfers etc.

Safari Consultants by BJ, 6 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

A fabulous experience on my first trip to sub Saharan Africa.

The bespoke 2-week itinerary in Botswana provided a range of inspiring activities, including a water level view of the Okavango Delta in mekoros/canoes, safaris on foot and by 4x4. We saw a wealth of wildlife, including three amazing encounters with a wild dog pack. Whether we stayed in luxury camps or more basic accommodation, we were always well catered for by the professional and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

The bespoke 2-week itinerary in Botswana provided a range of inspiring activities, including a water level view of the Okavango Delta in mekoros/canoes, safaris on foot and by 4x4. We saw a wealth of wildlife, including three amazing encounters with a wild dog pack. Whether we stayed in luxury camps or more basic accommodation, we were always well catered for by the professional and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

Designed an exceptional itinerary based on obvious firsthand knowledge of the area. Advice before departure was very useful.

Safari Consultants by Katie J, 31 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

Christmas in Kenya

A Christmas Safari week in Kenya at two locations: Lewa Wilderness and Kikeche Bush Camp. Pure, unadulterated joy. Dazzling sun-filled days, sensational animals, a spectacular landscape all combined to make us feel cocooned in happiness. Our Kenyan hosts looked after us beautifully: Christmas Day lunch, drinks round the campfire, knowledgeable Safari guides. We saw lions, leopards, cheetahs, elephants, zebra, giraffes and many more. It ...

A Christmas Safari week in Kenya at two locations: Lewa Wilderness and Kikeche Bush Camp. Pure, unadulterated joy. Dazzling sun-filled days, sensational animals, a spectacular landscape all combined to make us feel cocooned in happiness. Our Kenyan hosts looked after us beautifully: Christmas Day lunch, drinks round the campfire, knowledgeable Safari guides. We saw lions, leopards, cheetahs, elephants, zebra, giraffes and many more. It was sheer bliss!

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants were fantastic. They were so knowledgeable about the area. They had clearly been to all the camps and knew them well so were able to talk us through our choices. Any questions that we had were dealt with immediately by someone who really knew the answer. Everything worked like clockwork when we were in Kenya thanks to them.