Safari Consultants

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 279
Reviews accepted: 279
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
275
Good
4
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Uganda safari and gorilla trek

By N&L on 8 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

9 fabulous days exploring the SW of Uganda by road, from Entebbe through Queen Elizabeth National Park to Bwindi Impenetrable Forest to Lake Mburu National Park and return to Entebbe. Seeing the "real" Uganda up close was as much a highlight as the abundant and varied wildlife viewing. The gorilla trekking is extremely strenuous but worth every shattering moment for the privilege of spending time with these magnificent animals; the UWA guides and porters do an amazing job. All our lodges were immaculate and super-comfortable, with friendly invested staff and spectacular locations. Our driver was friendly, fun, knowledgeable, discreetly efficient and lifted the holiday to a whole new level that we would've missed out on had we transferred by air. We can't wait to go back and see the northern part of this gorgeous country.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants in UK / ground agent in Uganda Great Lakes Safaris - both efficient, thorough, clearly know their territory and their business. All information provided to us was comprehensive, largely accurate and sent in plenty of time.

Photography in the Masai Mara

By Harlequin on 3 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Stayed at Kicheche Mara in North Conservancy, 5* as always and the game viewing was superb, guides were knowledgeable and went out of their way to get us good views and a selection of animals.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

As always professional, organised and very helpful with assistance applying for eVisa for Kenya

our best Africa experience yet

By George on 26 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The holiday was to Zambia, the South luangwa national park in particular.
The three camps chosen for us were all of a very high standard both in facilities and service.
My partner has some mobility problems but the staff at all the camps were extremely helpful.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We were confident that we would receive the service we did because of the care that Safari Consultants take with their choice camps and their knowledge of our tastes and requiremnts.

Zimbabwe Safari and Victoria Falls

By Mrs M E 17 on 25 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Good

Safari Consultants organized a wonderful safari holiday to Zimbabwe and visit to Victoria Falls. The Mana Pools National Park is beautifully situated along the Zambezi River and offers canoeing and boat trips. Hwange National Park has a remarkable population of elephants which can be seen drinking at the many water holes each night.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants has organized all of our African safari vacations in Southern and East Africa. They are extremely knowledgeable and always tailor each vacation to our personal preferences for accommodation and activities.

Fantastic trip

By Sarah on 19 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

I travelled with a friend to climb Kilimanjaro, and she then returned to the UK, whilst I travelled back to meet my family in Nairobi, before flying to the Masai Mara, and then to Kinondo Kwetu near Diani Beach.
Pre and post climb, we stayed at Rivertrees near Arusha - a very relaxed and informal property. The staff were attentive and friendly, and the quality of the food was excellent.
Hoopoe safaris ran the climb. The guides and porter team were superb - we had everything we needed, and they certainly exceeded our expectations. I was particularly impressed with the food provided, and the safety procedures that we went through every day. All of us made it to the summit, which was fantastic!
Kicheche Mara camp was brilliant - and Rachel, the camp manager, was extremely attentive and well organised. Special thanks to Moses who looked after our tent, and to Francis, our guide. He was superb - so knowledgeable and passionate about the wildlife and conservation. Our daughter had an amazing time and has declared she's refusing to go anywhere other than Africa on future holidays!
We then finished off with an idyllic week at Kinondo Kwetu - total relaxation, but with lots of activities. Tennis, horse riding, snorkelling, scuba diving. A lovely big property but low capacity (max 38 guests, I think),so you could always find a quiet spot - we pretty much had the beautiful beach to ourselves most days.
A couple of observations re responsible tourism:
- there was quite a lot of litter on Kili (mainly toilet paper). When you check in at the gate, people should be asked to keep their rubbish in a small bag and then dispose of it when they are at a camp. This should be reinforced by the guides.
- we were lucky to be in.a private conservancy, but in the National Park, the amount of land rovers following animals was quite disturbing and I am sure was stressing the animals. I know this is a real balancing act, but I can see how this pressure will ultimately change the behaviours of the animals.
- Consistency on tipping advice. On Kili we had differing advice from Safari Consultants, Hoopoe and the Park itself. We took the middle ground, but we didn't really know which on etc follow -we didn't want to overtip, but also didn't want to appear ungrateful, as the service we had received was excellent.
Overall, we had the most amazing trip - and I think I can honestly say, this has been the best summer I've had!!!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The support in putting the holiday together was fantastic - Michele was able to make great recommendations based on our requirements, and even had Hoopoe change the dates of their group climb to fit in with our timetable! She and Eloise dealt with all the questions we had, and the communication was excellent. I honestly felt as though nothing was too much trouble, and they really listened to what we wanted, in order to give us the best experience we could have possibly had. I was recommended to Safari Consultants by a friend, and would have no hesitation in recommending them to other travellers.

Three centre African safari

By Ms L W 17 on 16 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Two friends travelling together. Flew BA to Nairobi and stayed overnight at the beautiful Boma Hotel recommended by SCs. Transferred next morning to internal airport to fly via Safarilink to Samburu - Elephant Watch Camp - splendid camp with the most welcoming hosts who went well out of their way to make our stay very special including a visit to the Save the Elephants Research Centre. Onward flight to Mara North Conservancy to Kicheche Mara Camp. Game drives exceeded all expectations. Camp host caring and supportive. Back to Nairobi for dinner at the Boma before transfer to JKI. All transfers handled by Benroso Safaris, timely and courteous service. All in all a most wonderful experience. Well planned and smoothly operated with the most stunning wildlife experiences and superb camps.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This was my fourth safari managed by Safari Consultants and I would not hesitate to use them again. They are extremely helpful and not only responsive but pre-empt your every need. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Their pre-travel processes are clear and support is available at the end of the telephone or by email. The information and ticket pack they provide contains all the necessary details for the trip and this year was provided in a very well designed wallet. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

Fantastic Honeymoon

By Nikki and Andrew on 5 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We had the most amazing time in Zambia and Kenya. We had four stops on our journey, each of which were very different. Everywhere we stayed reached beyond our expectations in facilities and the staff who looked after us. Particular highlights were Victoria Falls, tracking black rhino, seeing a herd of over 100 elephants, spotting leopards and watching two cheetahs hunt a poor little Thompson gazelle! We won't forget this amazing trip and everything we saw.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants and in particular Michele Seamark went above and beyond in helping organise our honeymoon. We had to rearrange several times due to family illness and Michele was understanding and accommodating. She gave us a lot of advice in working out where we should go to visit and she did not let us down. We had an amazing time.

Relaxing, adventure, interesting

By African Adventurers on 3 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We were met at the airport by African Breeze and driven to Jembisa Lodge. We had the same driver throughout the holiday and it was good to have that consistent service. Ian was punctual atnd reliable at all times as well as knowledgeable. Jembisa Lodge is luxourious with beautiful views across the valley. Service was excellent. The guided drives and walks were interesting and enjoyable. Our guide Ed was very experienced and an expert on the local fauna and flora. We also went zip lining at Lekhalo safari nearby which was good fun. It was good to have a relaxing start to the holiday interspersed with some activities. We were then driven to the Botswana border and met by a representative of Mashatu tented camp. The tent was luxurious with an ensuing outside bathroom and it was warm enough to use comfortably even in the winter. We were out game viewing at 6.30 am everyday and again late afternoon. Every time I thought we had seen everything we saw something new no doubt due to the expertise of our guide. We returned to Johannesburg and stayed at the Peech Boutique Hotel. The next day we had a very interesting tour of Johannesburg and Soweto.. This was a trip taken by a mother and 17 year old son and needed to meet the interests of two diverse people and did.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The arrangements made by the tour operator were reliable throughout the holiday even though there were a number of operators in South Africa and Botswana that they had to liaise with. Information was sent in advance and there was always someone answering the phone when I rang and able to give advice. Our tour rep Mary arranged fthe requirements I had specified perfectly.

Fui Ling, Stephen and Tristram Bolton

By Bolton family on 31 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Well organised, exactly as we expected and very personal service.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Gave very personal service and good advice.

Photographic safari in the North Mara conservancy, staying at Offbeat Mara Camp - brilliant, best holiday ever

By Dotty on 29 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Had the best week ever for the holiday. The experience was more than we ever expected. From the moment we arrived to when we departed, we were seeing wild animals at close proximity, a dream come true. Considering we stayed at a camp in the bush, the facilities and service were superb. Everyone was very friendly and pleasant and was there to please. We felt safe and at ease during the stay. We will definitely go back.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We are very pleased with Safari Consultants, you were very well informed before the holiday and the journey there and back was very well organised and the advice given was practical. Michele dealt with our queries promptly and the holiday was exactly as planned. Would definitely use them again.