AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Safari Consultants

Safari Consultants Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 420
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 426
Reviews Accepted: 426
Reviews Rejected: 0
426 reviews
Sort by:
Safari Consultants by jennyv, 26 Jan 2022
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant

Michele at Safari Consultants put together a tremendous trip for us, visiting two Kicheche camps in the Masai Mara. Michele dealt with everything from a meet-and-greet, private transfers to and from hotels, day rooms, charter flights and of course the accommodation with suitable guides and facilities for photography. It really could not have been better. Both Kicheche camps were superb (Kicheche Mara North and Kicheche Bush) with fantastic ...

Michele at Safari Consultants put together a tremendous trip for us, visiting two Kicheche camps in the Masai Mara. Michele dealt with everything from a meet-and-greet, private transfers to and from hotels, day rooms, charter flights and of course the accommodation with suitable guides and facilities for photography. It really could not have been better. Both Kicheche camps were superb (Kicheche Mara North and Kicheche Bush) with fantastic tents and first rate staff, guides, managers and food. The wildlife was exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing was too much trouble, including comprehensive help with all the required visas and paperwork associated with travel in these covid times.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 26 Jan 2022:

Dear Jenny and Graham,

Thank you so much for your review. I know it was a long time waiting for this trip and so delighted you had such a good time with incredible sightings!

Best wishes,
Michele

Safari Consultants by mr j h 21, 24 Dec 2021
Holiday Rating:

Winter sun

Great family holiday. 4 time to la Paradis

Great family holiday. 4 time to la Paradis

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organising by the team especially with the covid requirments.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 04 Jan 2022:

Dear Joe, Thanks so much for your review. I am so glad that everything went smoothly in the end, and you all had a great time. It's always a pleasure to organise your trips. Best wishes, Frances.

Safari Consultants by Janey, 19 Dec 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful safari in Kenya, very high animal and bird count, great tented camps

As soon as we were allowed in, we visited Kenya for two weeks safari in the Mara Conservancies. There was a profusion of animals and birds, and we spent eight highly enjoyable days there made even better by the excellent tented camps chosen for us by Safari Consultants. Great food and superb guiding from both Kicheche Valley and Offbeat Safaris. Both camps had excellent managers.

As soon as we were allowed in, we visited Kenya for two weeks safari in the Mara Conservancies. There was a profusion of animals and birds, and we spent eight highly enjoyable days there made even better by the excellent tented camps chosen for us by Safari Consultants. Great food and superb guiding from both Kicheche Valley and Offbeat Safaris. Both camps had excellent managers.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants were outstanding throughout. Our agent, Mary, helped us from the start with choice of camps to suit our preference for a more traditional safari. She was extremely knowledgeable and helpful at all times. They also guided us through the complex paperwork we needed for our journey. They answered all questions immediately, and patiently explained the many forms we had to complete. Without a doubt they made our safari the huge success that it turned out to be. We will always use them for this kind of holiday in the future.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 22 Dec 2021:

Dear Janey, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We were delighted, given all the uncertainty, that you were able to travel and more importantly that the Mara delivered its usual amazingly high standard of game viewing. With very best wishes, Mary

Safari Consultants by Berdewelle, 10 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

At last we are allowed back to Kenya.

After being grounded for twenty months when Kenya came off the red list and travel was again permitted for fully vaccinated travellers we were eager to return again. Just a short trip to renew acquaintances; we had always wanted to return to the Lewa Conservancy, and Lewa House, for their outstanding hospitality and to re-visit the rhino population, both black and white. We were not disappointed with many opportunities to watch and study both ...

After being grounded for twenty months when Kenya came off the red list and travel was again permitted for fully vaccinated travellers we were eager to return again. Just a short trip to renew acquaintances; we had always wanted to return to the Lewa Conservancy, and Lewa House, for their outstanding hospitality and to re-visit the rhino population, both black and white. We were not disappointed with many opportunities to watch and study both varieties plus of course the usual plains game and the special Gerenuk. We also returned to one of our favourite camps on the Mara North Conservancy, Richard's River Camp. Here we enjoyed four outstanding days of safari and our guide and spotter were particularly successful at finding the main carnivores: numerous lion prides at work and play, three generations of a leopard family and other single leopards, and a very special cheetah mother with v small cubs who had just taken down an impala for the family. It was great to be back.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Safari Consultants for many years and many trips to east and southern Africa. But non requiring such immediate organisation with the competing difficulties of limited flight schedules, some availability issues and of course the unfamiliar rules of travelling during covid. In short time the itinerary was put together, International flights organised, and private charter flights arranged for internal transfers to Lewa, the Mara and the return to Nairobi. And very importantly a briefing paper produced covering all the paperwork, form filling, testing, etc. necessary for travelling during the pandemic. With only the occasional stressful panic, like when my mobile phone proved to have a UK only SIM card and would not work in Kenya, all arrangements worked perfectly and we enjoy a great and safe trip. Our thanks to Safari Consultants and all who made the trip possible.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 11 Nov 2021:

Many thanks Stephen, I am so glad that yourself and Jean were able to get back to Africa so quickly after restrictions were lifted! As always it was a pleasure helping you and I was also pleased to hear that the Covid paperwork did not overshadow the wonderful game-viewing! Best wishes Rob

Safari Consultants by Henry, 9 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Trip of a lifetime with close family after a difficult year!

We spent a very memorable week at Le Paradis hotel in Mauritius

We spent a very memorable week at Le Paradis hotel in Mauritius

Rating for tour operator:

Rob Slater was an excellent and trusted advisor throughout the difficult COVID period with ,multiple rearrangements to navigate. He was unfailingly patient and honest about our options and likely costs. Highly recommend and would use again!

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 09 Nov 2021:

Hi Henry, many thanks for your comments and it was a pleasure helping you and your family. I was thrilled that the holiday was a huge success for your whole family in the end, especially after so much waiting and the need to change things around several times. I hope we can help you again in the future, especially as that Kenya safari hasn't yet been completed! Best wishes, Rob.

Safari Consultants by Abel, 8 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Family holiday in Mauritius

As a grandmother I took my family of 9 to Paradis Beachcomber in Mauritius at half term having cancelled our trip to Kenya due to the pandemic. This proved to be an A1 success with all watersports thrown in, a beautiful golf course and tennis courts so masses to do all round. Lovely hotel in a great position with perfect rooms overlooking the sea. The staff were fantastic, so willing, so polite and even got the measure of a large family gathering ...

As a grandmother I took my family of 9 to Paradis Beachcomber in Mauritius at half term having cancelled our trip to Kenya due to the pandemic. This proved to be an A1 success with all watersports thrown in, a beautiful golf course and tennis courts so masses to do all round. Lovely hotel in a great position with perfect rooms overlooking the sea. The staff were fantastic, so willing, so polite and even got the measure of a large family gathering enjoying themselves! Thanks to them!

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants were recommended to us by a friend - one of the best recommendations ever received. Superb organisation from the beginning by Rob slater and his team. Hidden extras like booking our seats and arranging a late check out without moving out of our rooms, worth its weight in gold as we didn't leave until the evening. The paperwork was made as comprehensive as possible (difficult for the oldies!)As a result a terrific holiday for all. Thanks to Rob and SC!

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 09 Nov 2021:

Hi Annabel, many thanks for your review and after all the changes and paperwork I was so pleased that the holiday was a great success and that you enjoyed Paradis. It was a pleasure working with you and I hope we can get you out to Kenya for that elusive safari as soon as possible! Many thanks and best wishes, Rob.

Safari Consultants by Canadian Client, 13 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Mount Kenya & Tanzania Safari

Safari Consultants provided us with an outstanding itinerary and detailed arrangements for our recent climb of Mount Kenya and safari in Tanzania's Serengeti National Park. The quality of the lodges and private guiding was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our time in East Africa.

Safari Consultants provided us with an outstanding itinerary and detailed arrangements for our recent climb of Mount Kenya and safari in Tanzania's Serengeti National Park. The quality of the lodges and private guiding was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our time in East Africa.

Rating for tour operator:

We would highly recommend Safari Consultants as having the necessary local expertise of lodges, guides, and local transportation to plan a safari that meets your specific preferences and needs.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 09 Nov 2021:

Thank you so much Maureen for your feedback. Its always a pleasure arranging your safaris. I am so pleased you had such a great time. Best wishes, Michele

Safari Consultants by BryceandCarley , 30 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Africa

We spent a little over two weeks traveling throughout Africa. The staff from Safari Consultants put together an amazing trip for my spouse and i. We spent a few days in Johannesburg, then traveled to Zambia to see the amazing Victoria Falls! After that spent the rest of the trip in Botswana and went to multiple camps in the delta and topped it off in the Makadikadi Salt Pans! Every single camp we stayed at was absolutely amazing!

We spent a little over two weeks traveling throughout Africa. The staff from Safari Consultants put together an amazing trip for my spouse and i. We spent a few days in Johannesburg, then traveled to Zambia to see the amazing Victoria Falls! After that spent the rest of the trip in Botswana and went to multiple camps in the delta and topped it off in the Makadikadi Salt Pans! Every single camp we stayed at was absolutely amazing!

Rating for tour operator:

We worked with a couple of Safari Consultants, one was Julia who we worked with in the beginning of planning the trip who did a phenomenal job. Without her we wouldn’t have been able to go to any of the places we did. Then we worked with Frances who was incredible to work with! She is so knowledgeable at her job. She answered every single question or concern i had and got back to me right away. We seriously couldn’t have done this trip without either of them. We enjoyed every single moment we had in Africa. The best part was everything went smoothly, especially traveling during Covid, we didn’t run into a single problem. We will definitely be recommending Safari Consultants!

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 04 Oct 2021:

Hi Carley, thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to help organise such an exciting trip with you and thanks for your patience in getting to grips with the testing requirements. So glad it all went smoothly. Your trip sounded amazing and I loved seeing your pictures! Best wishes, Frances

Safari Consultants by Robb High, 13 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Seamless despite the restrictions.

We spent 6 days in the Botswana bush in mid-July: 3 nights in the Chobi area and 3 nights in the Okavango Delta area, All arranged by Mary at Safari Consultants. This was our second trip to Botswana and our fourth to Africa, We had been vaccinated but were nonetheless concerned about traveling during the pandemic. We flew Qatar Airways through Doha. Their precautions were very strict, so we felt perfectly safe. We had a PCR test in New York ...

We spent 6 days in the Botswana bush in mid-July: 3 nights in the Chobi area and 3 nights in the Okavango Delta area, All arranged by Mary at Safari Consultants. This was our second trip to Botswana and our fourth to Africa, We had been vaccinated but were nonetheless concerned about traveling during the pandemic. We flew Qatar Airways through Doha. Their precautions were very strict, so we felt perfectly safe. We had a PCR test in New York before leaving which was required in order to board the plane. We had allowed for an extra night at Johannesburg Airport in case problems arose (they did not) so we needed to get another test at JNB to fly into Botswana. It was free and fast. We also decided to add an overnight in Kasane to accommodate any issues (there were none). We were picked by our representative from Muchenje Camp and then spent 3 amazing days in the bush and out on the Chobi River with our guide, Ali. From there we transferred by small aircraft to Khwai Deadwood Camp which is very new and elegantly designed and had another 3 great days of bush drives with our private guide, Dutch. Both camps were in perfect condition, fully staffed and able to treat guests as well as Botswana camps have always done. While we had some reservations beforehand, we are so glad we went ahead with our trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Mary Grimwood from Safari Consultants. Very experienced and personable.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 22 Dec 2021:

Thank you Robb and Carol for your feedback. We were delighted that you were amongst our first clients to return to Africa this year and thrilled that you had such a good time. With best wishes, Mary

Safari Consultants by Bea, 9 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding Wildlife viewing in the Maasai Mara, Kenya

Covid may have put a damper on international travel, but I am so very happy I "endured" the C19 testing going and coming back. The camps were maybe not fully booked, but the animals didn't care! Huge herds of wildebeest crossing the Mara River on their way to the Serengeti,. We saw large herds of Buffalo, Impala, Zebra, Topi, Thompson Gazelle, seizable herds of Elephant, large groups of Giraffe, and El;and, Several prides of lions, (hunting ...

Covid may have put a damper on international travel, but I am so very happy I "endured" the C19 testing going and coming back. The camps were maybe not fully booked, but the animals didn't care! Huge herds of wildebeest crossing the Mara River on their way to the Serengeti,. We saw large herds of Buffalo, Impala, Zebra, Topi, Thompson Gazelle, seizable herds of Elephant, large groups of Giraffe, and El;and, Several prides of lions, (hunting and playing) one had 8 cubs,. Also 2 Leopards,, one of them high up in a tree devouring a Zebra. the other resting in the thicket. Saw several (4 +2) Cheetah, one female had 2 cubs., another female was hunting by herself, two brothers hunting together. Lots of Hyena feasting on dead Hippo or Wildebeest, and huge crocodiles also enjoying the same fare. Both my camps were located along the Mara River, one on level ground, where I literally had breakfast with Hippos! the other was high up overlooking the river. Accommodation and food was excellent, and I "loved" my Maasai guide and driver., they even drove me to meet the people from the Mara Elephant Project which was an enlightening experience. I could go on and on. Again, so happy I went, regardless of Covid.

Rating for tour operator:

I have been traveling with Safari Consultants since 2011 and always had exceptional experiences whether on safari in Kenya, Tanzania, Botswana, Zimbabwe and Zambia, or on the beach in Zanzibar and Mafia island. I made two of these trips as solo woman traveler, and never had the slightest concern, everything was organized to a T, Inland flights from camp to camp, being "collected" upon arrival and dropped off for departure. There wasn't one camp that I didn't enjoy,! My advisors at Safari Consultants clearly understood my wishes and preferences (small camps whenever possible) and suggested just the right places. I'm already looking forward to my next trip to see the Gorillas in Uganda!

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 09 Nov 2021:

Thank you so much for all your feedback Beate. I am so delighted you had another wonderful trip to Africa. Look forward to talking to you soon about your next safari adventure! Best wishes, Michele