Safari Consultants

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 265
Reviews accepted: 265
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
261
Good
4
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

A perfect holiday in Zambia for bird watching and wild life

By Smart Cookie on 10 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This was our 8th trip to Africa, all of them organised by Safari Consultants. This was our second visit to Zambia but this time our son and his family joined us for most of the time. We are all keen bird watchers and our teenage grandchildren have particularly sharp eyes and limitless enthusiasm. We take Safari Consultants' expert knowledge and meticulous planning for granted but they do excel when organising a more complicated holiday for different activities and age groups. We started the holiday at Chongwe River House in Lower Zambezi then the younger members did four days bush walking with Robin Pope Safaris while the two grandparents stayed in Chindeni and Chamilandu and we all met for the final three days at Luangwa Safari house. A wonderfully successful holiday with luxurious accommodation throughout and spectacularly good guiding.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants have never failed to provide exactly the kind of holiday we want. We have used them for ten years now and they know our priorities without our needing to reiterate them. A successful tailor-made holiday requires detailed sensitive appraisal of each of the camps recommended and we know we can count on Safari consultants for sound advice and meticulous attention to detail in the all important planning stage.

Fantastic Experience enhanced by perfect logistics

By KevinT on 9 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

For two of us it was a return to Ulusaba, for our children (29 and 25) it was entirely new. They loved it as much as we did and are itching to go back. We book complex itineraries through Journeys a la Carte who, because they are independent can seek the best provider for you. In this case Safari Consultants.
Game viewing on a private reserve like Sabi Sands is a far better experience than travelling on tarmac roads in the Kruger. Here tacking big cats through the bush is exhilarating and the expert guide and tracker are a fund of information and enthusiasm. Our flights to South Africa and pre stay hotel accommodation were perfect. The flights to the game reserve are an experience endured but not particularly enjoyable, but the alternative is a very long drive.
I cannot recommend Journey's a la Carte, Safari Consultants and Ulusaba highly enough.
We are already looking at returning next year.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This is our second trip with Safari Consultants and we would not hesitate to use them again or recommend them. Their information about the trip and about South Africa were comprehensive and entirely to the point. It went well beyond what you would expect from a tour operator. Documentation and packaging, in a leather wallet, was spot on. The real beauty though is in stating what you want and Safari Consultants ability to tailor the trip exactly to your needs. They worked closely with our independent travel agent Journeys a la Carte to create that perfect experience for us.

A fantastic family holiday to Zambia

By Chequer on 9 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We enjoyed every minute of our family holiday to Zambia. Superb guides enhanced the viewing experience for us all, their knowledge and information about wildlife around us was outstanding. We have memories that will last a lifetime.

The houses we stayed in were extremely well run, set in beautiful locations and were very well appointed. The wildlife was often literally on our doorstep.

The food was outstanding - creative and delicious. Considering our location I don't know how everything was kept so fresh.

Everyone we met was friendly and helpful and really added to our experience.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Rob listened to our requirements and the holiday he arranged for us really cannot be faulted. We were provided with detailed itineraries which gave us loads of information about where we were going and what we would be able to do. Any questions we had were answered promptly. Everywhere we went we were met by representatives who smoothed our journey through the airports etc and ensured we made our connections- the organisation behind this showed real attention to detail. All the people involved along the way were friendly and helpful.

I think I caught the safari bug

By Jessica Circe on 31 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This holiday was amazing. I really enjoyed almost everything about it. Particularly when I was in the bush. I got the opportunity to take so many amazing photos and see/experience so many wonderful things. I am already thinking about planning another one with my mom for her 70th birthday... but I'm not sure I can wait that long to go again.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari consultants were excellent. Very professional and very accommodating.

Amazing

By safaridave on 23 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

3 nights at Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
2 nights Chobe Princess
3 nights Okuti Camp, Botswana
3 nights Kanana Camp, Botswana

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Recommended to us by another agent.
Highly professional, making our 30th Wedding Anniversary very special.
Listened to our requests & interests putting forward an excellent itinerary.
Prompt & patient when replying to queries & e-mails.
Always keen to help.
highly recommended.

Beyond Expectations Safari: Big Game and Rolling Plains

By HK_In_Kenya on 20 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

3 nights at the Kicheche Laikipia Camp: every single moment was memorable
Sightings: Elephants, Giraffes, Buffalos, Zebras, Gazelles, Jackals, Hyenas are in abundance. White and Black Rhinos are not very hard to find - exception is Jupiter, a black Rhino with his second horn being longer than his first. Lucky enough to spot two brother Cheetahs, a couple of Lionesses, a joyful group of Bat Eared Foxes, and during a night game drive we also saw some White-tailed Mongooses [or is it Mongeese?]
Highlight: The visit to the Ol Pejeta Conservancy, the place where the world's last three Northern White Rhinos are under 24/7 safeguarding from poachers. The work the keeps do is unbelievable and definitely worth checking how they progress with the experimental trials [via IVF] on reproducing the species [www.gofundme.com/makearhino]
We got to actually feed and pet Sudan, the last male, and watch from a very close distance Najin and Fatu, the last two females.
--
3 nights at Kicheche Mara Camp: an open-to-the-nature camp where the wildlife casually strolls around the tents during the night hours. NOTHING to be afraid of, though, apart from the cheecky Monkeys that will try to unzip your tent - even if you are inside.
Sightings: A lot of stunning colorful birds with funny making-total-sense names [but too hard to remember them all]. Lionesses, Lions and cubs are not hard to spot in the Mara Conservancy; in every single game drive we encountered the big cats and even witnessed a 6 lionesses' unsuccessful hunt. A collared huge bull Elephant with tusks almost scraping the ground, named Hugo/Yugo, being highly intelligent, was using his foot to chop the grass off. Hippos and Crocs at the shores of the Mara River will make the Wildebeest's crossing a challenge.
Highlight: Two separate incidents of spotting the 'spotted cat', a young male and a female Leopard. These animals are so sleek and beautiful, words cannot describe.
--
3 nights at the Diani Beach: off-season but still crystal blue wavy waters crushing onto a white sandy beach
Highlight: A snorkeling dive at the Coral Reef

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Frances from Safari Consultants has been fantastic from start to finish. Very professional, easy to contact and fast with her responses. Quite knowledgeable and her recommendations proved to be spot on [pun unintended]; combining these two locations, which were very complimentary to each other, was a great suggestion and a recipe that gave us about 2500 pics and memories of a lifetime.

An African Safari is the ONLY once in a lifetime experience, which you actually do repeat. #StartSavingMoniesAgain
I would strongly consider Safari Consultants for the next African adventure and have already started trying to convince colleagues to think about it.

Fantastic wildlife viewing in Masai Mara

By CJK on 19 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

After a short overnight stay at the Fairview hotel, Nairobi, we took the 10:00 Safarilink flight to the Olare Motorogi conservancy and stays for 5 nights at Kicheche Bush Camp. Fantastic wildlife watching: magnificent lion prides (males at sunrise, manes glowing); 5 male cheetah hunting gazelle and gnu then being chased by lion and robbed by hyena; female leopard and her cub every day. Bush camp wonderfully sited and comfortable - good food and congenial hosts.,

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants organised everything to make transit through Nairobi as painless as possible. I have used them many times before and they never fail to impress with their attention to detail.

Wildlife, Wilderness and White Sands

By The Chalk family on 19 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We stayed at two camps in Tanzania;, Lake Manze in the Selous Game reserve and Old Mdonya in Ruha National Park. The game viewing was spectacular, the camps were comfortable with a great welcoming atmosphere which reflected the professionalism of all the staff; the food was delicious and the game viewing was breath taking. Would recommend both camps without hesitation and we have been on a number of safaris. We also spent 6 nights in Zanzibar at the Pongwe Beach hotel which is a delightful boutique hotel with what must be one of the prettiest beaches in Zanzibar. The setting was spectacular..

Rating for tour operator Excellent

They were very professional both in terms of coming up with an itinerary and then in providing all relevant information to us. Everything worked like clockwork and all our expectations were met. We have used other companies before when going on safari but would have no hesitation in using Safari Consultants again when looking to book our next trip in Africa.

Wonderful journey around southern Africa

By Malawi40 on 18 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

My wife and I had a five week trip to Johannesburg, the Okavango Delta in Botswana, Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe, and South Luangwa National Park in Zambia, all arranged by Safari Consultants (Michele Seamark). We ended up with a three week road trip around Zimbabwe - organised by friends in Harare.
This is the second trip organised for us by Safari Consultants. Everything went perfectly well, all arrangements were well explained and were met to the letter. All the information and helpful hints we were given enhanced our holiday.
We were certainly in good hands with Safari Consultants.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Extremely helpful; kept us fully informed; discussed all the options with us before we settled on the final itinerary. Michele Seamark really knows Africa.

Best Holiday we have ever had

By Gary & Marianne on 11 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

My wife and I travelled to Kenya for 9 days after booking with Safari consultants. We stayed at Kicheche Laikipia and Kicheche Mara Camp on the advice of Julia from Safari Consultants. These were small tented Eco Gold Safari camps located in the Ol Pejeta and Mara North Conservancies.

The camps and the associated wildlife complemented each other perfectly and were a perfect mix of wilderness and luxury. We saw such a variety of animals and camp away with great memories, experiences and photos!

This was the best holiday my wife an I have ever had and without doubt that is due to Safari Consultants knowledge and expertise in tailoring us the perfect Safari adventure.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Julia from Safari Consultants was fantastic from start to finish. She was easy to contact and responded promptly to phone and email and even in her absence other members of the team responded to our correspondences. She never tired of answering questions and provided a faultless service. The holiday she tailored for us was perfect from start to finish and I found the suggestions she made really suited our needs and preferences. She managed to work out what we wanted better than we could have! Although not the cheapest holiday it was worth every penny and I will be booking with them again.

It was clear that Safari Consultants have a special relationship with the camps they recommend and that they have visited the camps from the level of detail they were able to provide before we arrived. I think it is important operators do this so they are informed enough to make recommendations.

Safari Consultants embrace a cradle to the grave philosophy which meant everything was done for us including pre-booking our plane seats. We were given a comprehensive itinerary and pack of information well in advance of the holiday which meant we could relax which everything well in hand. We even met another Safari Consultant team member who was at one of the same camps. Despite being on holiday herself Mary made sure we were having a good trip and which is a credit to Safari Consultants.

I would thoroughly recommend Safari Consultants to anyone planning on booking an African adventure.