AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Safari Consultants

Safari Consultants Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 301
Good 4
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 305
Reviews Accepted: 305
Reviews Rejected: 0
305 reviews
Sort by:
Safari Consultants by Bagder, 3 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Botswana Safari in Kalahari and Delta

Mix of remote, comfortable mobile camping and staying in well appointed lodges. A magic 15 days of early starts and concentrated wildlife viewing in beautiful, quiet, uncrowded areas. Spent hours watching wild dogs, leopard, elephant, bat-eared foxes, lions, exotic bird life etc. etc. This time of year many species had young babies, came across one impala just minutes old. A very absorbing experience, the days just flash by !

Mix of remote, comfortable mobile camping and staying in well appointed lodges. A magic 15 days of early starts and concentrated wildlife viewing in beautiful, quiet, uncrowded areas. Spent hours watching wild dogs, leopard, elephant, bat-eared foxes, lions, exotic bird life etc. etc. This time of year many species had young babies, came across one impala just minutes old. A very absorbing experience, the days just flash by !

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants are with one the whole way through from planning to return home. Invaluable expert help in deciding the best options and then they monitor progress while one is actually on the trip. They know about any potential problems before we do and, as necessary, have a fix in place before we are inconvenienced. This was our 8th trip with Safari Consultants which speaks for itself.

Safari Consultants by Blue Hemmie, 28 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic family safari, great wildlife and accommodation

Travelled with two children to South Africa for a 10 night holiday. We stayed in two lodges, both with excellent facilities and, more importantly, great guides and wildlife.

Travelled with two children to South Africa for a 10 night holiday. We stayed in two lodges, both with excellent facilities and, more importantly, great guides and wildlife.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants are experts, have visited the places they recommend and offer a personalised holiday. This is is sixth time I have travelled with them and I wouldn't consider booking with anyone else when looking at a holiday in Africa

Safari Consultants by hereviewing, 4 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Experience

From our first contact With Frances to when we returned home every moment was excellent, what a way to celebrate out wedding Anniversary, Starting out in kenya flew to Zimbabwe Victoria falls Beautiful views from our hotel Ilala Lodge all staff attentive, all information passed on to all Hotels and camps regarding my wife's dietary requirements meant we could enjoy every minute of our holiday without worry,then back to Kenya Masai Mara every ...

From our first contact With Frances to when we returned home every moment was excellent, what a way to celebrate out wedding Anniversary, Starting out in kenya flew to Zimbabwe Victoria falls Beautiful views from our hotel Ilala Lodge all staff attentive, all information passed on to all Hotels and camps regarding my wife's dietary requirements meant we could enjoy every minute of our holiday without worry,then back to Kenya Masai Mara every site and sound, the Animals, birds and insects in there natural environment fantastic much more than we expected, from when our plane touched down to the last last early morning drive with our Guides Nelson and Vincent could not have done enough for us,then on to Zanzibar ( Tanzania ) Next Paradise Boutique hotel for some beach time again the staff could not do to make our stay perfect, understood that we been on Safari, did not try to push us into taking extras tours, the snorkeling here is special. They even put on a special celebration dinner on the Beach on our last night.

Rating for tour operator:

From our first contact With Frances to when we returned home every moment was excellent, what a way to celebrate out wedding Anniversary, we weren't sure about a Safari as it took us out of our comfort zone, help from Eloise with online visa when i got stick Thankyou All information was passed on to all Hotels and camps regarding my wife's dietary requirements meant we could enjoy every minute of our holiday without worry and having the sometimes embarrassing explanation as to why my wife did not eat something. Every flight connection and transfer to and from hotels went without a hitch.

Safari Consultants by Sandra, 1 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

WOW!!

We are keen wildlife photographers and have been to Africa many times . We had the most amazing trip – good flights, excellent ground agents, fantastic camps on conservancies with a very good standard of food, and guides with impressive knowledge and skills. However, of course we were there for the wildlife. As we said to Safari Consultants, we don’t make wish lists (“if you want to guarantee what you see, go to the zoo”), but we saw everything ...

We are keen wildlife photographers and have been to Africa many times . We had the most amazing trip – good flights, excellent ground agents, fantastic camps on conservancies with a very good standard of food, and guides with impressive knowledge and skills. However, of course we were there for the wildlife. As we said to Safari Consultants, we don’t make wish lists (“if you want to guarantee what you see, go to the zoo”), but we saw everything we could have hoped for and so much more, both in the variety of wildlife and animal behaviour.

Rating for tour operator:

It was the first time we had booked with Safari Consultants. They were recommended by our previous tour operator, who was no longer offering a service, due to retirement. Safari Consultants booked us exactly what we asked for, plus helpful additions (like booking us a hotel within the confines of Nairobi airport for our return). A friendly, professional and expert company.

Safari Consultants by Mr P B 17, 29 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Great combination culture in Zambia, wild life in Botswana and scenery in South Africa

.

.

Rating for tour operator:

.

Safari Consultants by Richard, Leicestershire , 27 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Ruaha Tanzania Safari

7 nights at Mwagusi Camp. Beautiful area despite being the end of the dry season. Camp well situated and run but a little worn in places and will need a gentle updating. Very good guide, knowledgeable and good at anticipating the games habits and movements. Game viewing was excellent despite the whole area being very lightly trafficked meaning few eyes out there but quiet viewings with very few vehicles even at rarer game. Vehicles a bit tired ...

7 nights at Mwagusi Camp. Beautiful area despite being the end of the dry season. Camp well situated and run but a little worn in places and will need a gentle updating. Very good guide, knowledgeable and good at anticipating the games habits and movements. Game viewing was excellent despite the whole area being very lightly trafficked meaning few eyes out there but quiet viewings with very few vehicles even at rarer game. Vehicles a bit tired compared to some other camps, perfectly serviceable but again might not be to some expectations. Camp food was of a good standard, freshly prepared, varied, plentiful and suitable for most tastes. My first time to Tanzania having visited Kenya a number iof times, would definitely recommend it, choose your time if year, was unseasonably hot for mid November but minimised the biting insects which are apparently more prolific once the short rains start. Overall a super safari and an area I will definitely return to.

Rating for tour operator:

Having set out my wish list I trusted Safari Consultants to guide and recommend a safari that met my criteria and budget. This they did, and I felt that their personal knowledge of the reserves and camps enabled them to provide very fair and honest advice. I have used them previously and will doubtlessly be doing so again.

Safari Consultants by Phill71, 12 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic organisation, a trip of a lifetime with lots of memories created

We travelled in Zambia visiting Vic falls and then into Botswana to visit 2 camps for 3 nights each. My wife and I took our 10 and 14 year old children For their first African safari trip. My wife and I travelled to Zimbabwe with Safari consultants a number of years ago and wanted this holiday to give our children some great memories at an early age. Safari consultants were brilliant and created a magical trip.

We travelled in Zambia visiting Vic falls and then into Botswana to visit 2 camps for 3 nights each. My wife and I took our 10 and 14 year old children For their first African safari trip. My wife and I travelled to Zimbabwe with Safari consultants a number of years ago and wanted this holiday to give our children some great memories at an early age. Safari consultants were brilliant and created a magical trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari consultants (rob slater) were fantastic. We used them a number of years ago and my parents subsequently. An important trip for me that I wanted to get right, one because of costs involved and also giving my wife and children an exsperience they will not forget quickly. Rob took my brief to the letter and created a wonderful exsperience with adventure and excitement. Lots of memories that will stay with my family for a long long while. Well done safari consultants

Safari Consultants by tigerpants, 1 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Astonishing stuff

We had 5 days on safari at Offbeat Mara followed by 2 weeks in Mauritius for our honeymoon. The safari was out of this world and totally fulfilled our expectations. Most importantly it was very authentic and we felt privileged share those 5 days with incredibly polite, kind, helpful, knowledgeable, enthusiastic staff and guides. Being woken by a Masai tribesman at 6am bringing coffee to the tent was just one of a million things that set it ...

We had 5 days on safari at Offbeat Mara followed by 2 weeks in Mauritius for our honeymoon. The safari was out of this world and totally fulfilled our expectations. Most importantly it was very authentic and we felt privileged share those 5 days with incredibly polite, kind, helpful, knowledgeable, enthusiastic staff and guides. Being woken by a Masai tribesman at 6am bringing coffee to the tent was just one of a million things that set it apart and took me by surprise. Nothing was ever too much trouble and they genuinely wanted to make sure you had a great experience. Needless to say we got very close to the game and saw the most beautiful selection of animals which all looked healthy and thriving. Joseph was our guide and his knowledge of the animals and conservancy was incredible. It was fabulous to have bush breakfast with him each day and learn about his family and the Masai people. The conservancy was really well managed and everyone took pride in maintaining it that way. The camp is expertly managed by Jesse and a team of dedicated staff who make you feel so welcome and proceed look after you like you are a king. Our final evening was probably the most exceptional with a walking safari, followed by bush dinner, followed by a night drive. The safari really was an unbelievable experience and "astonishing stuff". We then travelled back to Nairobi for an overnight stay at the amazing Emakoko Lodge before flying on to Mauritius. The Emakoko Lodge is stunning and a real hidden gem within Nairobi National Park. Apart from its beautiful and stylish decor, the food is out of this world and the staff are extremely welcoming and pleased to have you enjoy their hospitality. An afternoon game drive enabled us to capture photos of black & white Rhinos. I would totally recommend a stay (or even a short pit-stop) here if you get the chance. Mauritius was our choice destination for windsurfing on the south coast in Le Morne as it has famous reef breaks. We stayed in the St Regis hotel which was pure luxury and provided everything you could possibly need .....and then some! Our timing was such that we had a 9 day spell without any wind but we did plenty of SUP surfing instead. One day we arranged to do a tour of the island visiting many of their beautiful sights, tea-tasting experience and rum factory. We also did a day of big game fishing and managed to catch 8 fabulous tuna. The wind arrived for our last 4 days and so we managed to fulfil our ambitions to sail on some amazing waves. A truly memorable trip and now 2000 photos to edit.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants were a pleasure to work with and always keen to ensure the itinerary met our requirements. It is very re-assuring to know that all of the consultants have been to the places that they offer and therefore advise from a position of first-hand knowledge. Michele was our consultant and she has a huge amount of experience when it came to discussing safaris. I found this tremendously helpful as the choice is so vast and rather daunting at the outset. However, by asking the salient questions and using her personal experience of all the camps she was able to help us crystallise our ideas and suggest a smaller selection that would meet our expectations (and budget). Perfect! We had a fairly complicated itinerary but Michele managed to take advantage of the "bridal" discounts (for both parts of our trip) and pull it all together in a very professional manner. Thereafter, all of the follow-up documentation and travel advice was timely, relevant and extremely helpful. Thank you Safari Consultants.

Safari Consultants by caron m, 31 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Zambian revisited - wild and wonderful

another amazing experience of Zambian wilderness and wildlife. having only spent time in the Luangwa valley, we visited Kafue for the first time. it was more wild and had less tourists- a perfect combination. lots of walking helped burn off the wonderful food we were served at the camps.

another amazing experience of Zambian wilderness and wildlife. having only spent time in the Luangwa valley, we visited Kafue for the first time. it was more wild and had less tourists- a perfect combination. lots of walking helped burn off the wonderful food we were served at the camps.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari consultants offer a very personable and personal service. our agent has got to know us very well which results in a highly satisfactory trip tailormade to suit our interests and experience.

Safari Consultants by Berdewelle, 23 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Waterfalls and great Wildlife.

Our first trip to Zimbabwe. Flying into the new Victoria Falls International airport allowed for a stress free international journey and convenient entry into Zimbabwe. Victoria Falls River Lodge was a great base for a trip to the Falls. Two camps in Hwange NP completed the trip: Somalisa, a little ‘corporate’ was a slight disappointment but Camp Hwange was simply outstanding, very comfortable, good food and a great guide called Washington. ...

Our first trip to Zimbabwe. Flying into the new Victoria Falls International airport allowed for a stress free international journey and convenient entry into Zimbabwe. Victoria Falls River Lodge was a great base for a trip to the Falls. Two camps in Hwange NP completed the trip: Somalisa, a little ‘corporate’ was a slight disappointment but Camp Hwange was simply outstanding, very comfortable, good food and a great guide called Washington. A great trip to fulfil a long-term ambition to visit Victoria Falls and to Safari in Zimbabwe.

Rating for tour operator:

Our seventh trip with Safari Consultants. As usual Rob came up with plenty of advice on accommodation and itinerary and we quickly agreed a trip that fulfilled our long-term ambition to visit the Falls and Zimbabwe. Using Ethiopian Airlines for a first time all the logistics worked perfectly, and it was a great trip.