AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Safari Consultants

Safari Consultants Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 404
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 410
Reviews Accepted: 410
Reviews Rejected: 0
410 reviews
Sort by:
Safari Consultants by Canadian Client, 13 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Mount Kenya & Tanzania Safari

Safari Consultants provided us with an outstanding itinerary and detailed arrangements for our recent climb of Mount Kenya and safari in Tanzania's Serengeti National Park. The quality of the lodges and private guiding was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our time in East Africa.

Safari Consultants provided us with an outstanding itinerary and detailed arrangements for our recent climb of Mount Kenya and safari in Tanzania's Serengeti National Park. The quality of the lodges and private guiding was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our time in East Africa.

Rating for tour operator:

We would highly recommend Safari Consultants as having the necessary local expertise of lodges, guides, and local transportation to plan a safari that meets your specific preferences and needs.

Safari Consultants by BryceandCarley , 30 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Africa

We spent a little over two weeks traveling throughout Africa. The staff from Safari Consultants put together an amazing trip for my spouse and i. We spent a few days in Johannesburg, then traveled to Zambia to see the amazing Victoria Falls! After that spent the rest of the trip in Botswana and went to multiple camps in the delta and topped it off in the Makadikadi Salt Pans! Every single camp we stayed at was absolutely amazing!

We spent a little over two weeks traveling throughout Africa. The staff from Safari Consultants put together an amazing trip for my spouse and i. We spent a few days in Johannesburg, then traveled to Zambia to see the amazing Victoria Falls! After that spent the rest of the trip in Botswana and went to multiple camps in the delta and topped it off in the Makadikadi Salt Pans! Every single camp we stayed at was absolutely amazing!

Rating for tour operator:

We worked with a couple of Safari Consultants, one was Julia who we worked with in the beginning of planning the trip who did a phenomenal job. Without her we wouldn’t have been able to go to any of the places we did. Then we worked with Frances who was incredible to work with! She is so knowledgeable at her job. She answered every single question or concern i had and got back to me right away. We seriously couldn’t have done this trip without either of them. We enjoyed every single moment we had in Africa. The best part was everything went smoothly, especially traveling during Covid, we didn’t run into a single problem. We will definitely be recommending Safari Consultants!

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 04 Oct 2021:

Hi Carley, thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to help organise such an exciting trip with you and thanks for your patience in getting to grips with the testing requirements. So glad it all went smoothly. Your trip sounded amazing and I loved seeing your pictures! Best wishes, Frances

Safari Consultants by Robb High, 13 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Seamless despite the restrictions.

We spent 6 days in the Botswana bush in mid-July: 3 nights in the Chobi area and 3 nights in the Okavango Delta area, All arranged by Mary at Safari Consultants. This was our second trip to Botswana and our fourth to Africa, We had been vaccinated but were nonetheless concerned about traveling during the pandemic. We flew Qatar Airways through Doha. Their precautions were very strict, so we felt perfectly safe. We had a PCR test in New York ...

We spent 6 days in the Botswana bush in mid-July: 3 nights in the Chobi area and 3 nights in the Okavango Delta area, All arranged by Mary at Safari Consultants. This was our second trip to Botswana and our fourth to Africa, We had been vaccinated but were nonetheless concerned about traveling during the pandemic. We flew Qatar Airways through Doha. Their precautions were very strict, so we felt perfectly safe. We had a PCR test in New York before leaving which was required in order to board the plane. We had allowed for an extra night at Johannesburg Airport in case problems arose (they did not) so we needed to get another test at JNB to fly into Botswana. It was free and fast. We also decided to add an overnight in Kasane to accommodate any issues (there were none). We were picked by our representative from Muchenje Camp and then spent 3 amazing days in the bush and out on the Chobi River with our guide, Ali. From there we transferred by small aircraft to Khwai Deadwood Camp which is very new and elegantly designed and had another 3 great days of bush drives with our private guide, Dutch. Both camps were in perfect condition, fully staffed and able to treat guests as well as Botswana camps have always done. While we had some reservations beforehand, we are so glad we went ahead with our trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Mary Grimwood from Safari Consultants. Very experienced and personable.

Safari Consultants by Bea, 9 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding Wildlife viewing in the Maasai Mara, Kenya

Covid may have put a damper on international travel, but I am so very happy I "endured" the C19 testing going and coming back. The camps were maybe not fully booked, but the animals didn't care! Huge herds of wildebeest crossing the Mara River on their way to the Serengeti,. We saw large herds of Buffalo, Impala, Zebra, Topi, Thompson Gazelle, seizable herds of Elephant, large groups of Giraffe, and El;and, Several prides of lions, (hunting ...

Covid may have put a damper on international travel, but I am so very happy I "endured" the C19 testing going and coming back. The camps were maybe not fully booked, but the animals didn't care! Huge herds of wildebeest crossing the Mara River on their way to the Serengeti,. We saw large herds of Buffalo, Impala, Zebra, Topi, Thompson Gazelle, seizable herds of Elephant, large groups of Giraffe, and El;and, Several prides of lions, (hunting and playing) one had 8 cubs,. Also 2 Leopards,, one of them high up in a tree devouring a Zebra. the other resting in the thicket. Saw several (4 +2) Cheetah, one female had 2 cubs., another female was hunting by herself, two brothers hunting together. Lots of Hyena feasting on dead Hippo or Wildebeest, and huge crocodiles also enjoying the same fare. Both my camps were located along the Mara River, one on level ground, where I literally had breakfast with Hippos! the other was high up overlooking the river. Accommodation and food was excellent, and I "loved" my Maasai guide and driver., they even drove me to meet the people from the Mara Elephant Project which was an enlightening experience. I could go on and on. Again, so happy I went, regardless of Covid.

Rating for tour operator:

I have been traveling with Safari Consultants since 2011 and always had exceptional experiences whether on safari in Kenya, Tanzania, Botswana, Zimbabwe and Zambia, or on the beach in Zanzibar and Mafia island. I made two of these trips as solo woman traveler, and never had the slightest concern, everything was organized to a T, Inland flights from camp to camp, being "collected" upon arrival and dropped off for departure. There wasn't one camp that I didn't enjoy,! My advisors at Safari Consultants clearly understood my wishes and preferences (small camps whenever possible) and suggested just the right places. I'm already looking forward to my next trip to see the Gorillas in Uganda!

Safari Consultants by Bonnie, 26 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

Once in a life time gorilla track!

There is no way to describe the magnificants of Gorillas in their natural habitat. Our trip was seamless from arrival to departure. Rwandas lodges were luxurious and attention to detail over-the-top. I strongly encourage a helicopter ride over the vast landscape of Rwanda....stunning!!

There is no way to describe the magnificants of Gorillas in their natural habitat. Our trip was seamless from arrival to departure. Rwandas lodges were luxurious and attention to detail over-the-top. I strongly encourage a helicopter ride over the vast landscape of Rwanda....stunning!!

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants at every turn had your back and very attentive. Rob Slater and his staff were amazing, friendly, patience and highly educated on experiencing The Best of Africa. To prove the point....my husband and I are using them for next years travel back to Africa. We have traveled the world and would not consider using anyone other than Safari Consultants for an amazing experience to Africa....their knowledge of Africa is at their finger tips!!!!

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 27 Nov 2020:

Many thanks Bonnie, it is a pleasure dealing with you and I am thrilled you had such a great time in Rwanda - and got to experience the wonderful gorillas! Also glad the helicopter was a good experience - the landscape is incredible! Next year will be very different, but equally amazing. Best wishes, Rob

Safari Consultants by Berdewelle, 14 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Un-seasonal rain, long grass plains, challenging driving conditions.

The headline really says it all; the storms of December and January had inundated the Mara closing some camps with flooding and producing high levels of grass growth across the plains. The long grass and the challenging driving conditions made game difficult to find, as did the recurrence of thunder storms during the safari. However patience and some skilled guiding did produce many successful sightings even if a little less prolific and exciting ...

The headline really says it all; the storms of December and January had inundated the Mara closing some camps with flooding and producing high levels of grass growth across the plains. The long grass and the challenging driving conditions made game difficult to find, as did the recurrence of thunder storms during the safari. However patience and some skilled guiding did produce many successful sightings even if a little less prolific and exciting when compared with our earlier trips.

Rating for tour operator:

As always Safari Consultants had constructed a trip tailor-made to our requirements with all the logistics working seamlessly.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 16 Mar 2020:

Hi Stephen
Many thanks for your review and kind comments. As you know it has been un-seasonally wet throughout January and February in East Africa, however I am glad you still had a good holiday.
Speak soon, Rob

Safari Consultants by TOPI, 3 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Kenyan Safari

This was my first ever Safari so understandably I was a little hesitant. As it turned out it was one of the best experiences in all my travels around the world and I saw many amazing animals and birds. I have seen and learned a lot.

This was my first ever Safari so understandably I was a little hesitant. As it turned out it was one of the best experiences in all my travels around the world and I saw many amazing animals and birds. I have seen and learned a lot.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants Ltd arranged and guided me through planning the trip. They asked me at the outset what my objective was, what type of accommodation I wanted and how much my overall budget was so the trip was basically tailor made for me.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 04 Mar 2020:

Thank you Chris for your lovely words.
Best wishes, Mary

Safari Consultants by Sue & Tony, 2 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

South African variety

Three weeks, six very different experiences, one very enjoyable holiday

Three weeks, six very different experiences, one very enjoyable holiday

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Safari consultants many times and would always use them for this type of trip. Everything worked as it should and the variety of experiences was very well chosen.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 03 Mar 2020:

Dear Tony and Sue
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to put this varied trip together for you and we are delighted that you had such a good time.
Best wishes, Mary

Safari Consultants by Sam, 16 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Incredible Okavango safari

2 weeks in Botswana of which the final week was organised through Safari Consultants as a fly in safari of the Okavango Delta staying at two different lodges: Mma Dinare and Sable Alley. Incredible experience.

2 weeks in Botswana of which the final week was organised through Safari Consultants as a fly in safari of the Okavango Delta staying at two different lodges: Mma Dinare and Sable Alley. Incredible experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Knowledgeable. Competitive pricing. Clear and prompt communication. Itinerary supplied to us in useful leather wallet. Cannot fault them.

Safari Consultants by Steph, 15 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Kenya Safari and Beach Holiday

First rate experience at Offbeat Mara Camp and relaxing stay on Galu Beach

First rate experience at Offbeat Mara Camp and relaxing stay on Galu Beach

Rating for tour operator:

Fantastic service and easy to work with