AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Safari Consultants

Safari Consultants Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 419
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 425
Reviews Accepted: 425
Reviews Rejected: 0
425 reviews
Sort by:
Safari Consultants by JT, 17 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

A dream come true (and other cliches)

My partner and I had not been abroad for a bit longer than the pandemic but equally we generally do all our own plans from itinerary to accommodation etc. So this time, for my 40th and for our long awaited break from the neoliberal mess in the UK, we invested our money in safari consultants, as we new Fran and trusted her - rightly so! Madikwe game reserve and bush house were excellent. We lived, breathed and indulged in wildlife everyday. ...

My partner and I had not been abroad for a bit longer than the pandemic but equally we generally do all our own plans from itinerary to accommodation etc. So this time, for my 40th and for our long awaited break from the neoliberal mess in the UK, we invested our money in safari consultants, as we new Fran and trusted her - rightly so! Madikwe game reserve and bush house were excellent. We lived, breathed and indulged in wildlife everyday. Whilst I found the service awkward (I have never really experienced it before and the power imbalance was weird, I could never expect someone to run around after me) it was also exceptional. We then had a smooth journey to Cape Town and Waterfront village was a delightful, safe and well located apartment. We climbed Table Mountain, went the the Cape of Good Hope, Botanical Gardens, Bo Kaap and ate well! We will be back and I would love to take kids on safari.

Rating for tour operator:

Errrm, we got transport from airports to Madikwe and in Cape Town. They were efficient and friendly.

Safari Consultants by Silver Jons, 21 Apr 2022
Holiday Rating:

Glorious and superbly organised

Safari of Northern Namibia and Etosha, staying in a number of lodges, self drive car hire, collected and returned at Windhoek airport

Safari of Northern Namibia and Etosha, staying in a number of lodges, self drive car hire, collected and returned at Windhoek airport

Rating for tour operator:

Fantastic help, even supplied road map, colour highlighted in different colours for each section of trip and instructions and directions absolutely spot on

Safari Consultants by Berdewelle, 29 Mar 2022
Holiday Rating:

Returning to the Mara Conservancies

Delayed twelve months by Covid restrictions this was an excellent return to the three main conservancies while celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary. Thankfully the almost daily storms at the start of the trip did not have too significant an impact on our safari outings round the Mara North and Olare-Motorogi conservancies with cheetah mothers and young cubs being the star attraction followed by Lion, active not just sleeping! Kicheche ...

Delayed twelve months by Covid restrictions this was an excellent return to the three main conservancies while celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary. Thankfully the almost daily storms at the start of the trip did not have too significant an impact on our safari outings round the Mara North and Olare-Motorogi conservancies with cheetah mothers and young cubs being the star attraction followed by Lion, active not just sleeping! Kicheche Mara North Camp was the usual welcoming comfortable camp. While Kicheche Bush camp was much improved with new managers and and the installation of hot and cold plumbed showers (in lieu of bucket showers) in the bathrooms. The game viewing in Naboisho conservancy was outstanding with the standout being a long, very ambitious, very exciting, and very successful hunt by a female cheetah. Asilia Naboisho camp was the ideal ending with high levels of service and comfort. The food was excellent, as usual, and improved with some new dishes and some excellent sauces added to old favourites.

Rating for tour operator:

Dealt efficiently with all the issues surrounding the delays due to Covid restrictions. Provided detailed briefings on all the paperwork and testing protocols needed for international travel and entry into Kenya and also on the now compulsory on-line visa purchase. Very efficiently responding to all questions to make travel as easy and successful as current regulations allow.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 29 Mar 2022:

Many thanks Stephen, you certainly enjoyed some great game-viewing on this trip and we are pleased your celebration holiday went so well, especially given the stresses of Covid requirements, which thankfully are now being lifted! Best wishes Rob

Safari Consultants by Chubbycheetah, 28 Mar 2022
Holiday Rating:

Kenyan safari

A 10 day trip to two Kicheche camps in two very different Kenyan wildlife conservancies.

A 10 day trip to two Kicheche camps in two very different Kenyan wildlife conservancies.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent attention to detail in providing a holiday which suited exactly what we were wanting. Very friendly and professional service covering absolutely everything. We felt very well-advised and looked after. Perfect.

Safari Consultants by Josh Williams, 8 Mar 2022
Holiday Rating:

Beyond All Expectations

Started with three days of mountain Gorilla Trekking in the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest followed by five nights with Richard Costin in the Masai Mara for Big Cats. Everything went smoothly and I was very happy with what was an experience of a lifetime.

Started with three days of mountain Gorilla Trekking in the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest followed by five nights with Richard Costin in the Masai Mara for Big Cats. Everything went smoothly and I was very happy with what was an experience of a lifetime.

Rating for tour operator:

Mary at Safari Consultants was simply amazing. She prepared me for everything and had an answer to all of my questions.

Safari Consultants by Jerry, 3 Mar 2022
Holiday Rating:

Uganda & Kenya Bucket List Trip

We are older US citizens who were looking to plan a bucket list trip to see Mountain Gorillas in Uganda. We asked some friends (US & Canadian ex-pats living in Europe) who had traveled to Namibia and they gave us the name of Rob Slater of Safari Consultants in Suffolk UK who they thought was terrific. Previously, we had been to Africa twice, once to Egypt and once to Tanzania (Serengeti & Zanzibar). We contacted Rob by email, and he called ...

We are older US citizens who were looking to plan a bucket list trip to see Mountain Gorillas in Uganda. We asked some friends (US & Canadian ex-pats living in Europe) who had traveled to Namibia and they gave us the name of Rob Slater of Safari Consultants in Suffolk UK who they thought was terrific. Previously, we had been to Africa twice, once to Egypt and once to Tanzania (Serengeti & Zanzibar). We contacted Rob by email, and he called us in Aug 2019 to start planning a mid-year 2020 trip. Obviously Covid intervened and the trip was delayed twice, for a total of 505 days. We finally left in mid-February 2022 and returned in early March. The itinerary was flying into Entebbe, Uganda on Qatar (JFK/Doha/Entebbe) and then light aircraft to/from Bwindi for 3 nights to see Mountain Gorillas. Then light aircraft to Mara North airstrip for 4 nights on safari in the Mara. Finally light aircraft to Nairobi and again Qatar home (Nairobi/Doha/JFK).

Rating for tour operator:

To start with the elevator “pitch” first, Rob Slater and Safari Consultants are absolutely the best!! Rob and Safari Consultants took care of all the arrangements once we stepped off Qatar in Entebbe until we stepped back on to Qatar in Nairobi. All the arrangements inside Africa were made by Rob, including taxi’s, Covid tests, guides, accommodations, even down to recommending tips for all guides, porters, and staff members we encountered (which was important as we needed to bring the correct amount of cash in the correct denominations). The entire trip went seamlessly, even after I fell and injured my knee on the first morning of our visit. Rob coordinated with the hotel to get me seen by a doctor (with x-rays) and when I was still limping, arranged via his local agent to get me carried large portion of the way in our Bwindi gorilla trek. So, despite being injured (due to my own fault), I still got to the Mountain Gorillas and proceed onto a great safari experience on the Mara in Kenya, seeing wonderful animals close up!! If you want an outstanding safari experience, with the best of everything, Rob Slater and Safari Consultants should be your only call.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 04 Mar 2022:

Dear Jerry, many thanks for your comments and I am so pleased that after such a long time and so many changes you were finally able to enjoy some time with the amazing mountain gorillas, as well as explore the iconic Masai Mara. It has been great working with you and I hope you have some wonderful memories from the trip. Best wishes Rob

Safari Consultants by Anon, 2 Mar 2022
Holiday Rating:

Well run, both by Safari Consultants' angle and by the operators on the ground.

Safaris were consistently well arranged, with staff at camps being helpful and willing. The guides were very knowledgeable and gave good service, the only minor issue being that their English was not always easy to follow.

Safaris were consistently well arranged, with staff at camps being helpful and willing. The guides were very knowledgeable and gave good service, the only minor issue being that their English was not always easy to follow.

Rating for tour operator:

Good in every way.

Safari Consultants by Five Enjoy a Safari, 18 Feb 2022
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding service - second to none.

This was a holiday to celebrate my sixtieth birthday and it really was a magical experience and the expert advice and genuine continued care we received from Frances our agent really was quite exceptional. The wildlife we saw was quite simply breath taking and I was treated to no less than two birthday cakes accompanied by African singing and dancing. The accommodation was very comfortable and I can honestly say that I never felt nervous about ...

This was a holiday to celebrate my sixtieth birthday and it really was a magical experience and the expert advice and genuine continued care we received from Frances our agent really was quite exceptional. The wildlife we saw was quite simply breath taking and I was treated to no less than two birthday cakes accompanied by African singing and dancing. The accommodation was very comfortable and I can honestly say that I never felt nervous about our proximity to wild animals because we were so well looked after. Even though we had to postpone the holiday due to Covid, we never felt any pressure whatsoever. I can't recommend Safari Consultants highly enough and wouldn't hesitate to use them again.

Rating for tour operator:

Our agent Frances helped us to select the perfect holiday for a family who had never experienced a safari before. The holiday was exactly as described and we received lots of help and guidance to make sure we had the very best, safest possible experience. The holiday massively exceeded all expectations and we will definitely be going on safari again. We had to postpone the holiday for a year due to covid but never felt any pressure whatsoever to go before we felt ready.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 21 Feb 2022:

Hi Louise, thanks so much for such a lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure booking the trip for you and I am so glad you got to Kenya in the end and it exceeded your expectations. What amazing game viewing you had! Best wishes, Frances

Safari Consultants by Georgia, 16 Feb 2022
Holiday Rating:

Samburu and Mara 8 night safari

2 excellent camps chosen for their intimacy and more remote location - both just 7 luxury tents making for a more personal and remarkable experience. Staff at both camps went out of their way to ensure a very special holiday. Food was extraordinary bearing in mind the location. Animal sightings were spectacular with lots of animals seen, lot’s of animal action and lot’s of babies born. The Mara was beautiful and green having had some unexpected ...

2 excellent camps chosen for their intimacy and more remote location - both just 7 luxury tents making for a more personal and remarkable experience. Staff at both camps went out of their way to ensure a very special holiday. Food was extraordinary bearing in mind the location. Animal sightings were spectacular with lots of animals seen, lot’s of animal action and lot’s of babies born. The Mara was beautiful and green having had some unexpected rain, Samburu was very hot and more parched due to lack of rain.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Safari Consultants many times and wouldn’t use anyone else. They are experts at tailoring the holiday to meet your needs, are happy to provide a choice of potential itineraries, are always on hand to answer questions and use first class operators in Kenya making sure the holiday runs smoothly. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending them as they give me confidence every time I travel with them.

Safari Consultants by jennyv, 26 Jan 2022
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant

Michele at Safari Consultants put together a tremendous trip for us, visiting two Kicheche camps in the Masai Mara. Michele dealt with everything from a meet-and-greet, private transfers to and from hotels, day rooms, charter flights and of course the accommodation with suitable guides and facilities for photography. It really could not have been better. Both Kicheche camps were superb (Kicheche Mara North and Kicheche Bush) with fantastic ...

Michele at Safari Consultants put together a tremendous trip for us, visiting two Kicheche camps in the Masai Mara. Michele dealt with everything from a meet-and-greet, private transfers to and from hotels, day rooms, charter flights and of course the accommodation with suitable guides and facilities for photography. It really could not have been better. Both Kicheche camps were superb (Kicheche Mara North and Kicheche Bush) with fantastic tents and first rate staff, guides, managers and food. The wildlife was exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing was too much trouble, including comprehensive help with all the required visas and paperwork associated with travel in these covid times.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 26 Jan 2022:

Dear Jenny and Graham,

Thank you so much for your review. I know it was a long time waiting for this trip and so delighted you had such a good time with incredible sightings!

Best wishes,
Michele