Safari Consultants

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 231
Reviews accepted: 231
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
228
Good
3
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Wonderful Kichechi Mara

By 46Gnome on 18 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

An absolutely wonderful trip - superbly organised to the very smallest detail by all parties involved. Kichechi Camp Hosts excellent, friendly and always helpful. My thanks to everyone for such a fabulous safari that has ensured I have so many special and treasured memories that I now cannot wait to go back.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Marvellous organisation down to the smallest detail. It meant I had a wonderful holiday without any worries at all.

Outstanding adventure: guides were excellent, accomodations excellent (though food at Serena Ngorongoro was mediocre.

By Ms R P 17 on 15 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A memorable adventure: well planned, lots of game, great food at the camps, very knowledgeable drivers as well as exceptional safari guide (Russell Gammon).

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Communications were just right: what I needed to know when and just the right amount of information.

Another excellent safari

By Oxford Phil on 14 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

My holiday consisted of an 8 day safari in Kenya followed by 10 days safari in Tanzania staying in lodges with organised game drives.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This was my forth safari holiday organised by Safari Consultant’s. I cannot express how professional their service is down to the smallest detail. Highly recommended.

South Africa - Cape Town, Garden Route and Safari

By Brooke on 8 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

An excellent 3 week itinerary covering Cape Town, Franschhoek, Outshoorn, Plettenberg and Kwandwe safari.
Good hotel choices together with suggestions of activities along the way. Air and road transfers very good and a very good car hire experience.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Second trip in a year with Safari Consultants following a full scale Kenya experience in 2016. First class service on both occasions.

Fantastic safari with Safari Consultants

By Mare on 7 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Had a 6 day safari booked through Safari Consultants. Rob was excellent to deal with extremely informative, and arranged our holiday seamlessly.
we stayed 3 nights at Kichwa Tembo camp and 3 nights at Cottars 1920's camp in Masai Mara.
It was the best holiday I had ever had, took my 17 and 21 year old sons, and they loved it.
Saw all the wonderful animals, wonderful sights of lions, cheetahs and leopard. Amazing holday, the camps were amazing, guides and staff were brilliant, as was the food.

Marie march 2017

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants ,,as above

Brief holiday along the Garden Route and the Timbavati Game Reserve

By arbourmac on 1 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Flew into Cape Town and on to Port Elizabeth, picked up a car and drove back down the Garden Route over the next 4 days stopping at Tarn Country House near Plettenberg for 2 nights and La Plume Guesthouse Oudtshoorn. Both hotels were small and delightful with good food.The ostrich steak at La Plume deserves a special mention. We drove over the Prince Alfred pass using the dirt road which was very quiet and well worth the time. A stop in Barrydale was ideal timing for coffee and cake plus a browse around an African craft shop.
In Cape Town we stayed at Winchester Mansions which was a good medium sized hotel.Cape Town has many attractions, most of the major ones need to be booked early in busy times. The hop on hop off bus tours are a good way to get around and see the city. From there we flew into the Kruger and had 3 nights at Simbavati River Lodge. It was lovely, the staff really friendly and the large tables for dinner ensured people mixed well. The game drives were at 5.30am and 4.30pm each lasting about 3.5 hours and the ranger and tracker managed to always find much of interest and were very knowledgeable. The food was again very good, the only issue being the lack of exercise to get rid of some of the calories! I think 3 nights in one location was the right amount of time, it gave us 6 drives and time to get to know the people and understand a little of the area.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The holiday was booked at the last minute due to circumstances. We checked with 3 operators, and Safari Consultants were way ahead of the others in response timing, making suggestions, providing cost estimates. They were responsive to changes we thought of as a result of their suggestions and when the programme was nearing the agreement, provisionally booked everything as it was very busy in S Africa when we went. The general information supplied was all relevant and useful, the directions to each hotel got us there without any issues. The person who arranged our holiday was timely with responses, and if any promise could not be met advised the reason and gave new timing. Last but not least our contact was friendly and nice to deal with.

An African Adventure

By Jules on 19 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We have recently returned from four weeks in Tanzania, Rwanda, Kenya and Zambia. Amazing wildlife viewing in and around tented camps in the Serengeti and Masai Mara, gorilla trekking in the amazing Volcanoes National Park, and swimming on the edge of the incredible Victoria Falls - it was fantastic!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants were great. They listened to our requests and organised a quite complicated itinerary to the last detail. The connections and contacts with guides and local representatives at each location were seamless. Our accommodation was just what we asked for and our guides in each country had great personalities and a wealth of local knowledge.

Amazing First-Time Safari in Kenya

By Miss M R 17 on 10 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

6 nights at Kicheche Mara Camp organized for me by Frances from Safari Consultants. Not only organized for me, but also organized in just two weeks! Francis helped choose my destination with exemplary suggestions, taking into account my budget and what I was interested in seeing and doing. Tanzania had been at the top of my list, but I'm so glad I went with Kenya and the Masai Mara. She also helped me ensure that I had all the proper vaccines, set up my flights from Nairobi, and gave me the full itinerary to keep me in the know.

Upon my arrival at the Mara North Conservancy, I was greeted by my knowledgable and outgoing guide, David. He was with me everyday, even when we walked the plains, and he also took me to the rhino sanctuary and Aitong village market. Service at the Kicheche Mara Camp was amazing - from being greeted like I was being welcomed home to delicious meals every day. The managers, Andrea and Manuela are wonderful, down to earth, funny, and completely on top of things. The staff were quickly greeting me by name and were always interested in hearing about the sights I had seen that day.

I also loved how open the camp was - no electric fences. One day I walked out of my luxurious tent (if this is camping, I'll live this way!) to find giraffes grazing not 30 paces from me! Game drives did not disappoint either - lionesses with cubs, elephant, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, many different types of antelope, cheetah, leopard, and even a serval!

From the last-minute organization to the holiday itself, everything went incredibly smoothly. And for a first-time safari-goer, I could not have asked for a more amazing and humbling experience.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

6 nights at Kicheche Mara Camp organized for me by Francis from Safari Consultants. Not only organized for me, but also organized in just two weeks! Frances helped choose my destination with exemplary suggestions, taking into account my budget and what I was interested in seeing and doing. Tanzania had been at the top of my list, but I'm so glad I went with Kenya and the Masai Mara. She also helped me ensure that I had all the proper vaccines, set up my flights from Nairobi, and gave me the full itinerary to keep me in the know.

Upon my arrival at the Mara North Conservancy, I was greeted by my knowledgable and outgoing guide, David. He was with me everyday, even when we walked the plains, and he also took me to the rhino sanctuary and Aitong village market. Service at the Kicheche Mara Camp was amazing - from being greeted like I was being welcomed home to delicious meals every day. The managers, Andrea and Manuela are wonderful, down to earth, funny, and completely on top of things. The staff were quickly greeting me by name and were always interested in hearing about the sights I had seen that day.

I also loved how open the camp was - no electric fences. One day I walked out of my luxurious tent (if this is camping, I'll live this way!) to find giraffes grazing not 30 paces from me! Game drives did not disappoint either - lionesses with cubs, elephant, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, many different types of antelope, cheetah, leopard, and even a serval!

From the last-minute organization to the holiday itself, everything went incredibly smoothly. And for a first-time safari-goer, I could not have asked for a more amazing and humbling experience.

Fantastic safari in Kenya and Tanzania

By Phil in Suffolk on 3 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We spent 3 weeks at various camps in Kenya and Tanzania. We started at Elsa's camp in Meru - wonderful food and an amazing number of elephants. Then Sarara camp in the Namunyak region - excellent guiding and a fantastic location and surrounding. We returned to Lewa House (we were there last time) with excellent animals and birds and fantastic hosting from Calum and Sophie. To the Mara to take advantage of the land crossing to Tanzania and 2 lovely nights at Angama Mara. Met up with our friend and guide Kakae at Lamai Serengeti and had an excellent time game viewing. Then a long flight to Greystoke Mahale with Kakae. We were there for the isolation and environment with chimps as a bonus. So not too disappointed that they were hiding for our first two days. The third day they appeared and we spent a fabulous time in the middle of M group, with the Alpha male (Primus) play fighting his rivals.

Overall - a wonderful holiday.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

As ever, Rob was careful to match what we wanted to so with what was arranged, and he created a perfectly choreographed holiday.

An amazing experience in Botswana

By DC on 2 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We started with 4 days in Cape Town for some R&R with visits to the winelands around Stellenbosch and other typical sightseeing trips eg table Mountain and Cape of Good Hope nature reserve and seal watching at Duiker Island. WEe then travelled to Maun and onto the Central Kalahari game reserve for 2 days mobile safari in Deception Valley then onto Moremi via "Meno a Kwena" for a further 3 days camping. The finals was 2 nights at Vumbura Plains before heading back on the trek to London via Maun and Johannesburg.
It was something of a holiday of lifetime. It was made by Nkosi our guide whilst undertaking the mobile element of the safari. His passion and encyclopaedic knowledge of the bush and all it has to offer was incredible - and such a lovely person to boot.
Meeting the TV stars - "The safari Brothers" - Grant and Brent Reed who run Letaka safaris when we landed back at Maun was also a highlight. We were able to thank them in person for the very high standards set and for the care which Nkosi, Mousa, Sisko and Banda had shown to us over the 7 days in the bush. They certainly did not have to take time out of their day to come to the airport to meet us; it was a nice touch and says something about their culture of exceeding client expectations.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The trip was exceptionally well planned and went off without a hitch, no doubt as a result of the major effort Frances and others put into planning and making all the necessary arrangements.