AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Safari Consultants

Safari Consultants Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 399
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 405
Reviews Accepted: 405
Reviews Rejected: 0
405 reviews
Sort by:
Safari Consultants by Berdewelle, 14 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Un-seasonal rain, long grass plains, challenging driving conditions.

The headline really says it all; the storms of December and January had inundated the Mara closing some camps with flooding and producing high levels of grass growth across the plains. The long grass and the challenging driving conditions made game difficult to find, as did the recurrence of thunder storms during the safari. However patience and some skilled guiding did produce many successful sightings even if a little less prolific and exciting ...

The headline really says it all; the storms of December and January had inundated the Mara closing some camps with flooding and producing high levels of grass growth across the plains. The long grass and the challenging driving conditions made game difficult to find, as did the recurrence of thunder storms during the safari. However patience and some skilled guiding did produce many successful sightings even if a little less prolific and exciting when compared with our earlier trips.

Rating for tour operator:

As always Safari Consultants had constructed a trip tailor-made to our requirements with all the logistics working seamlessly.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 16 Mar 2020:

Hi Stephen
Many thanks for your review and kind comments. As you know it has been un-seasonally wet throughout January and February in East Africa, however I am glad you still had a good holiday.
Speak soon, Rob

Safari Consultants by TOPI, 3 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Kenyan Safari

This was my first ever Safari so understandably I was a little hesitant. As it turned out it was one of the best experiences in all my travels around the world and I saw many amazing animals and birds. I have seen and learned a lot.

This was my first ever Safari so understandably I was a little hesitant. As it turned out it was one of the best experiences in all my travels around the world and I saw many amazing animals and birds. I have seen and learned a lot.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants Ltd arranged and guided me through planning the trip. They asked me at the outset what my objective was, what type of accommodation I wanted and how much my overall budget was so the trip was basically tailor made for me.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 04 Mar 2020:

Thank you Chris for your lovely words.
Best wishes, Mary

Safari Consultants by Sue & Tony, 2 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

South African variety

Three weeks, six very different experiences, one very enjoyable holiday

Three weeks, six very different experiences, one very enjoyable holiday

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Safari consultants many times and would always use them for this type of trip. Everything worked as it should and the variety of experiences was very well chosen.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 03 Mar 2020:

Dear Tony and Sue
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to put this varied trip together for you and we are delighted that you had such a good time.
Best wishes, Mary

Safari Consultants by Sam, 16 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Incredible Okavango safari

2 weeks in Botswana of which the final week was organised through Safari Consultants as a fly in safari of the Okavango Delta staying at two different lodges: Mma Dinare and Sable Alley. Incredible experience.

2 weeks in Botswana of which the final week was organised through Safari Consultants as a fly in safari of the Okavango Delta staying at two different lodges: Mma Dinare and Sable Alley. Incredible experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Knowledgeable. Competitive pricing. Clear and prompt communication. Itinerary supplied to us in useful leather wallet. Cannot fault them.

Safari Consultants by Steph, 15 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Kenya Safari and Beach Holiday

First rate experience at Offbeat Mara Camp and relaxing stay on Galu Beach

First rate experience at Offbeat Mara Camp and relaxing stay on Galu Beach

Rating for tour operator:

Fantastic service and easy to work with

Safari Consultants by dbdb, 13 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Cape Explorer

A holiday full of variety with city, coast, winelands and wilderness. Fabulous hotel locations with great views from our patios.

A holiday full of variety with city, coast, winelands and wilderness. Fabulous hotel locations with great views from our patios.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with Safari Consultants on a number of occasions. They know our interests and preferences and help us develop an itinerary each time that meets our requirements, as was the case with this holiday. Their organisation was faultless. They have extensive knowledge of the area and are prepared to undertake further research if necessary. An outstanding company.

Safari Consultants by Mac39, 6 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Masai Mara and Zanzibar

Stayed in two Safari camps in the northern conservancy both operated by Kicheche. Couldn’t fault the camps. Great tents, guides and the food was excellent and plentiful. Wonderful ethos of supporting the local schools and medical facilities. Wouldn’t recommend the village trip which was very commercial and a lot of pressure to buy their wares. Saw all the big five, bar the rhino - not in this area. Stayed at the Next Paradise Boutique resort ...

Stayed in two Safari camps in the northern conservancy both operated by Kicheche. Couldn’t fault the camps. Great tents, guides and the food was excellent and plentiful. Wonderful ethos of supporting the local schools and medical facilities. Wouldn’t recommend the village trip which was very commercial and a lot of pressure to buy their wares. Saw all the big five, bar the rhino - not in this area. Stayed at the Next Paradise Boutique resort in the NE of Zanzibar. Lovely surrounding, but the food was very disappointing. For being on the ‘Spice Island’ the food was very bland. Great for relaxation - nothing to do. Moved to the Park Hyatt hotel in Stone Town. Very upmarket comfortable hotel, centrally located for easy walking around the capital. Interesting place for a few days. Friendly locals.

Rating for tour operator:

Pleasant to deal with. Helpful with chasing visa application.

Safari Consultants by Berdewelle, 3 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

The Lower Zambezi.

A great trip to return to two lodges in the Zambian Lower Zambezi National Park. At the end of a comfortable charter flight down to Jeki International gravel airstrip the pilot made his approach by flying out in a big arc over the river and Zimbabwe to show the mighty Zambezi river in all its glory, a spectacular start to our third visit to the area. Our first stop, Old Mondoro, was better than ever, particularly for leopard sightings. The river ...

A great trip to return to two lodges in the Zambian Lower Zambezi National Park. At the end of a comfortable charter flight down to Jeki International gravel airstrip the pilot made his approach by flying out in a big arc over the river and Zimbabwe to show the mighty Zambezi river in all its glory, a spectacular start to our third visit to the area. Our first stop, Old Mondoro, was better than ever, particularly for leopard sightings. The river transfer up to Chiawa an interesting change. The service, the food, the guides, the chalets, the staff, the everything !, all combine to make Chiawa one of the best lodges in all Africa. With the changes planned for this closed season I can't wait to return for another visit.

Rating for tour operator:

Having planned fourteen or so trips with Rob of Safari Consultants he knows our preferences and requirements well and is always willing to consider new options for travel and different combinations of lodges. The result is always an exceptional personalized trip. Itineraries are quickly built, usually with options, and importantly for us the travel stress of International travel is minimized. With great support staff to handle the paperwork and Admin' Safari Consultants is, for us, the ideal agent to book our regular trips to Africa.

Safari Consultants by Claire, 19 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

A trip of a lifetime!

We spent seven nights on safari in Kenya spilt between the Lewa Conservancy and the Masai Mara. That was followed by a week in the Seychelles. We saw the most amazing wildlife and stayed in fantastic places. It really was a trip of a lifetime.

We spent seven nights on safari in Kenya spilt between the Lewa Conservancy and the Masai Mara. That was followed by a week in the Seychelles. We saw the most amazing wildlife and stayed in fantastic places. It really was a trip of a lifetime.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third safari holiday we have booked with Safari Consultants and the third amazing holiday we have been on. They are an outstanding company in every way - from the personal insights and experience to personalise your itinerary, to the administration which works like clockwork, to the holiday itself which once again was fantastic all round. We had some particular requirements but nothing is too much trouble. I can not recommend Safari Consultants highly enough.

Safari Consultants by Kirstie Ski, 8 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Safari in Madikwe, South Africa & a few days in Capetown

We have just returned from the most fabulous family celebration holiday in South Africa. Safari Consultants planned the trip for us perfectly. We flew into JNB, transferred to Sun City for a night before being transferred by mini bus to The Bush House in Madikwe. After 4 fabulous days an nights staying in The Bush House and experiencing some incredible safari drives we flew down to Capetown for a couple of relaxing days staying in Sea 5 Boutique ...

We have just returned from the most fabulous family celebration holiday in South Africa. Safari Consultants planned the trip for us perfectly. We flew into JNB, transferred to Sun City for a night before being transferred by mini bus to The Bush House in Madikwe. After 4 fabulous days an nights staying in The Bush House and experiencing some incredible safari drives we flew down to Capetown for a couple of relaxing days staying in Sea 5 Boutique Hotel. Both hotels exceeded our expectations and we can highly recommend them and would love to return one day.

Rating for tour operator:

Rob at Safari Consultants was so helpful in planning this amazing trip for us. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was thought and dealt with in advance so that the whole oldie ran so smoothly (transfers, flights, hotels etc) . I cannot recommend Safari Consultants highly enough, and will definitely be booking with them again.

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 08 Jan 2020:

Hi Kistie, many thanks for your review and as mentioned previously we are really thrilled your big family celebration went so well! Best wishes Rob