AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Safari Consultants

Safari Consultants Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 349
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 355
Reviews Accepted: 355
Reviews Rejected: 0
355 reviews
Sort by:
Safari Consultants by Berdewelle, 13 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Masai Mara Explorations

An excellent trip to Lewa and the Mara Conservancies. All arrangements ran smoothly. It was great to see Rhino again at Lewa, also the unusual Gerenuk (a first for us), while the Conservancies had their usual wide spectrum of wildlife on show, particularly big cats but also a Zorilla (another first) and an unusual daylight sighting of a Serval. Unfortunately the trip was marred by a bout of enteritis for one of us (hence the lowered rating), ...

An excellent trip to Lewa and the Mara Conservancies. All arrangements ran smoothly. It was great to see Rhino again at Lewa, also the unusual Gerenuk (a first for us), while the Conservancies had their usual wide spectrum of wildlife on show, particularly big cats but also a Zorilla (another first) and an unusual daylight sighting of a Serval. Unfortunately the trip was marred by a bout of enteritis for one of us (hence the lowered rating), but that can happen anywhere!

Rating for tour operator:

Lost count of the number of trips Safari Consultants have organised for us, as usual they listened to our requirements, came up with many suggestions and organised a customised trip that met our exacting requirements. Learning of the bout of sickness Safari Consultants made changes to the return journey and arranged assistance to ensure we travelled home comfortably and safely.

Reviewer's images:
Safari Consultants by Ossietwo, 12 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful and amazing experience

Two centre stay at Kicheche Laikipia and Kicheche Valley. Excellent facilities at both camps with incredible food. The hot water bottles provided for the early morning game drives and in the beds at night were most welcome. As a photographer the provision of beanbags in the Landcruisers was a welcome and a most useful accessory. Staff at both camps were very friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. The free laundry ...

Two centre stay at Kicheche Laikipia and Kicheche Valley. Excellent facilities at both camps with incredible food. The hot water bottles provided for the early morning game drives and in the beds at night were most welcome. As a photographer the provision of beanbags in the Landcruisers was a welcome and a most useful accessory. Staff at both camps were very friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. The free laundry service at each camps was much appreciated. The driver/guides were excellent with encyclopedic knowledge of the animals and birds. They were highly skilled drivers and I felt safe at all times with them even when traversing on difficult and rough terrain. There was an abundance of wildlife and we saw 4 of the big 5. The only disappointment being that the Leopard was allusive.

Rating for tour operator:

A friend had recommended Safari Consultants and they exceeded my expectations. We visited them in January 2019 and spent a considerable time with them discussing our requirements for a holiday in late February 2019 . Their Consultant, Frances, was very knowledgable and spent a great deal of time with us to understand what we wished to see and do. Comprehensive documentation was provided with options for us to consider. Having selected a holiday in Kenya, Safari Consultants were very quick to to update us on the terrible incident in Nairobi that took place shortly before our departure. Documents for our departure arrived in good time and were clear and accurate. All the arrangements worked well and their agents in Nairobi were professional and efficient. In short we could not fault them.

Safari Consultants by Sabine, 4 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife and White Sands

A tailor-made, ten-day itinerary including a safari in Kenya and beach time in Zanzibar.

A tailor-made, ten-day itinerary including a safari in Kenya and beach time in Zanzibar.

Rating for tour operator:

In one word: excellent! Our consultant listened to what was important to us, asked the right questions to make us think about aspects we had not considered, and made suggestions that turned out absolutely spot-on. As a result, our holiday was better than we had hoped for.

Safari Consultants by Mrs J I 19, 17 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Birding in Uganda

We spent 3 weeks touring the country with a local bird expert and staying in 8 different locations, all selected for their proximity to good birding locations. My husband is handicapped and the care shown to him by the guide and many others was outstanding. The lodges were all wonderful. I saw over 300 different species of birds and had so many amazing experiences

We spent 3 weeks touring the country with a local bird expert and staying in 8 different locations, all selected for their proximity to good birding locations. My husband is handicapped and the care shown to him by the guide and many others was outstanding. The lodges were all wonderful. I saw over 300 different species of birds and had so many amazing experiences

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with Safari Consultants [via Journeys a la Carte] before and have always been very pleased with their itineraries and efficiency

Safari Consultants by Mum and daughter on safari, 14 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Jaw-dropping safari experience

Safari in Kenya, staying in three different camps, 10 nights in total. Jaw-dropping wildlife viewing, and the camps were amazing. Although we were under canvas, technically, glamping would be a more accurate description. The team at each place could not have done more to make us feel so welcome and comfortable.

Safari in Kenya, staying in three different camps, 10 nights in total. Jaw-dropping wildlife viewing, and the camps were amazing. Although we were under canvas, technically, glamping would be a more accurate description. The team at each place could not have done more to make us feel so welcome and comfortable.

Rating for tour operator:

We were safari first-timers. Didnl’t know where or when we should go for the best experience, taking all our requirements into consideration. Agent Joe from Safari Consultants guided us through the process with patience and humour (and a huge amount of knowledge) resulting in an amazing holiday for me and my 87 year old mother

Safari Consultants by LinC, 14 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous safari to Kenya

Everything from initial booking, to the check when we got home was, as usual, excellent.

Everything from initial booking, to the check when we got home was, as usual, excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Personal service with excellent information so you know exactly what to expect and when. Faultless.

Safari Consultants by Gillian and Dennis, 10 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Big Game Safari in Style

Our visit to Lewa House was splendid. Sophie and Callum were very friendly and hospitable. Our 'Earth Pod' was delightful and the views and wildlife did not disappoint. Jimmy was most helpful and knowledgeable and guided us every day to new experiences. We also went back for a return visit to Kicheche Valley and yet again it was absolutely brilliant in all ways. Marietta was outstanding in her care for us and also John was extremely attentive...

Our visit to Lewa House was splendid. Sophie and Callum were very friendly and hospitable. Our 'Earth Pod' was delightful and the views and wildlife did not disappoint. Jimmy was most helpful and knowledgeable and guided us every day to new experiences. We also went back for a return visit to Kicheche Valley and yet again it was absolutely brilliant in all ways. Marietta was outstanding in her care for us and also John was extremely attentive. We thoroughly recommend both camps.

Rating for tour operator:

Mary from Safari Consultants is always very informative and prompt with all responses. She balances the requirements of the customer with the most suitable itinerary. Her knowledge and expertise provide the best holiday possible.

Safari Consultants by Phil Holmes, 6 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Kenya and Tanzania get better and better

We flew to Nairobi and had one night in the Palacina which was very good. Then flew to Lewa House for our third stay there. As ever, Callum and Sophie were wonderful hosts and Jimmy was an excellent guide. We flew to Angama Mara (perched at the top of the escarpment over-looking the Great Rift Valley). The staff were excellent and our guide, Geoffrey was very good. We saw excellent wildlife and birds. We just feel that Angama could loosen ...

We flew to Nairobi and had one night in the Palacina which was very good. Then flew to Lewa House for our third stay there. As ever, Callum and Sophie were wonderful hosts and Jimmy was an excellent guide. We flew to Angama Mara (perched at the top of the escarpment over-looking the Great Rift Valley). The staff were excellent and our guide, Geoffrey was very good. We saw excellent wildlife and birds. We just feel that Angama could loosen up a little bit - there was too much concentration on fixed style of service when eating. We took the land crossing to Tanzania and met our guide, Kakae, from Nomad. It was our third holiday with him. We stayed at Lamai Serengeti (a fabulous place, and lovely to meet manager Julien again) and then Kuro Tarangire (great area and accommodation - watch out for the tsetses) where Ombeni looked after us very well indeed, and finally to Sand Rivers Selous where Kakae was joined in guiding with Ernest. Great area, rather hot for the Brits and Michelle was an excellent host. To summarise - peerless organisation from Safari Consultants and Rob and excellent accommodation and guiding. What more could we want?

Rating for tour operator:

Fantastic organisation and communications from start to finish.

Safari Consultants by Tojo, 6 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Masai Mara Magic

We returned to the Mara for yet another wonderful experience. We have never been disappointed. Asilia camps provide excellent attention to detail and are very comfortable. They go out of their way to provide everything a client could wish for. From our experience they provide possibly the most knowledgeable and friendly guides in the Mara.

We returned to the Mara for yet another wonderful experience. We have never been disappointed. Asilia camps provide excellent attention to detail and are very comfortable. They go out of their way to provide everything a client could wish for. From our experience they provide possibly the most knowledgeable and friendly guides in the Mara.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants are very efficient and have provided us with excellent services. All arrangements have run like clockwork. Mary Grimwood has been very helpful.

Safari Consultants by Susan Howe, 28 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

South African Explorations

We started at the Easter Cape game reserve Lalibela for 3 nights and 6 amazing game drives. We then drove the garden route stopping for 3 nights in Plettenberg bay and 2 night in Hermanus before ending our holiday with 5 nights in Cape Town.

We started at the Easter Cape game reserve Lalibela for 3 nights and 6 amazing game drives. We then drove the garden route stopping for 3 nights in Plettenberg bay and 2 night in Hermanus before ending our holiday with 5 nights in Cape Town.

Rating for tour operator:

As we were travelling as a large group of 8 (2 families) and over the Christmas and New year period, our requirements were not that straight forward. We booked with Safari Consultants, as unlike other operators we spoke to, they took the time to get to know us and what we wanted and to tailor the holiday to our needs giving us some really good advice, support and suggestions. As a result we had a fantastic holiday that far exceeded our expectations and we have and would recommend Safari Consultants to anyone planning to travel in Africa. Thank you Rob and team.