AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Safari Consultants

Safari Consultants Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 337
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 343
Reviews Accepted: 343
Reviews Rejected: 0
343 reviews
Sort by:
Safari Consultants by Rick's trip, 20 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Big Game Safari, Cape Town & Garden Route

Flight to Johannesburg and Hoedspruit with 3 night superb safari at Kambaku River Sands on Timbavati game reserve in Kruger Park followed by a week sight seeing in Cape Town and surrounding area, followed by 3 nights in the wine growing region based out of Franschhoek and trip down the Garden route via Oudtshoorn and Knysna, completing the holiday with return flights from Port Elizabeth & Johannesburg.

Flight to Johannesburg and Hoedspruit with 3 night superb safari at Kambaku River Sands on Timbavati game reserve in Kruger Park followed by a week sight seeing in Cape Town and surrounding area, followed by 3 nights in the wine growing region based out of Franschhoek and trip down the Garden route via Oudtshoorn and Knysna, completing the holiday with return flights from Port Elizabeth & Johannesburg.

Rating for tour operator:

Faultless itinerary creation with ideal choices of accommodation and locations and recommendations of what to do whilst on holiday. Personal touch given by Michele Seamark provided the extra local knowledge.

Safari Consultants by Mark, 18 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Safari to Okavango Delta - Botswana

Two centre safari 3 days Kanana and 4 days Okuti (Ker Downey) with a mixture of jeep, walking, mokoro and cruiser safaris plus a sleep-out under the stars from Kanana. 2 very hospitable camps with excellent food. Across the 2 camps game viewing was good, the mix of terrain was beautiful. Having experienced the Mara and plethora of game safari in the Okavango meant a little more effort and good luck was needed to find the cats. Good sightings ...

Two centre safari 3 days Kanana and 4 days Okuti (Ker Downey) with a mixture of jeep, walking, mokoro and cruiser safaris plus a sleep-out under the stars from Kanana. 2 very hospitable camps with excellent food. Across the 2 camps game viewing was good, the mix of terrain was beautiful. Having experienced the Mara and plethora of game safari in the Okavango meant a little more effort and good luck was needed to find the cats. Good sightings of wild dog (3 times in 7 days) hunting. Not really a cheetah area. Connections from Manchester to Man worked well. Very knowledgeable guides and proactive in finding animals. Enjoyed our time on the water which gives a different perspective on the meaning of safari.

Rating for tour operator:

The bespoke safari put together by Safari Consultants (Mary Grimwood) was excellent and met our requirements. A benefit was that they had personal experience of both the camps. Flights, connections and ground staff all worked very well. The general advice they give regarding the forthcoming holiday was excellent eg check the bags all the way through to Maun was really helpful. We have used Safari Consultants for 12 years now and see no reason in changing to any other agent.

Safari Consultants by KT, 8 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Third time with Safari Consultants and very happy

This was a five night safari at Sabi Sands (Ulusaba) in South Africa. We were provided with our preferred flights with South African Airlines to Johannesburg and on with Federal Air to Ulasaba landing strip. Accommodation was as requested and the service at the game reserve was exceptional. We asked Safari consultants to request a guide and tracker we had used previously at Ulusaba and again they came up with the goods. Wonderful experience ...

This was a five night safari at Sabi Sands (Ulusaba) in South Africa. We were provided with our preferred flights with South African Airlines to Johannesburg and on with Federal Air to Ulasaba landing strip. Accommodation was as requested and the service at the game reserve was exceptional. We asked Safari consultants to request a guide and tracker we had used previously at Ulusaba and again they came up with the goods. Wonderful experience all round with excellent game viewing opportunities, fantastic accommodation and food. Staff went out of their way to provide exactly the holiday we needed, even down to getting me some medical assistance for an eye infection.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants provided everything we needed via our travel agent Journeys a la Carte. They both met all of our expectations and the trip went smoothly and hassle free, even down to our preferred seating on the plane.

Safari Consultants by Lisa,Andrew,Albany , 3 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Unforgettable

We combined a safari with offbeat Mara in Masai Mara then flew to Diani beach on the south coast of Kenya and stayed at ocean spa lodge. What an amazing holiday we loved it all such special places and fantastic staff.

We combined a safari with offbeat Mara in Masai Mara then flew to Diani beach on the south coast of Kenya and stayed at ocean spa lodge. What an amazing holiday we loved it all such special places and fantastic staff.

Rating for tour operator:

So professional, helpful, brilliant. Could not fault them in anyway.

Safari Consultants by Joni, 28 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking Safari in Zambia

3 nights in lower Zambezi chongwee camp 3 nights in south lawangwa 5 days walking Safari

3 nights in lower Zambezi chongwee camp 3 nights in south lawangwa 5 days walking Safari

Rating for tour operator:

Safari consultants put together the perfect holiday to incorporate our requirements. Second time we have used them and didn’t disappoint. Lower Zambezi was beautiful and the bush/river combination was so interesting.

Safari Consultants by Berdewelle, 28 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exploring the South Luangwa National Park.

For the bulk of our trip we enjoyed exceptional game viewing in the northern sector of the South Luangwa National Park during a seven day return visit to Kaingo camp. A thirteen and three-quarter hour all-day trip allowed us to reach parts of the park not usually visited by tourists. We also spent time at two camps in the central region; much busier but with some interesting sightings. With customised travel to the local airport via Lilongwe ...

For the bulk of our trip we enjoyed exceptional game viewing in the northern sector of the South Luangwa National Park during a seven day return visit to Kaingo camp. A thirteen and three-quarter hour all-day trip allowed us to reach parts of the park not usually visited by tourists. We also spent time at two camps in the central region; much busier but with some interesting sightings. With customised travel to the local airport via Lilongwe and a charter flight travel was much easier and we were able to maximise the time spent in the park. An outstanding trip again.

Rating for tour operator:

After ten or so trips with Safari Consultants I feel they know well our needs as seasoned elderly travellers. But they still listened to our exacting requirements, were always prepared to discuss options and alternatives and were always willing to think outside the box. Always prompt and detailed in their responses they constructed an itinerary that fully met our requirements. An excellent safari was the result.

Safari Consultants by Maggie, 24 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Zambian safari

Two weeks in Zambia at three small unfenced camps, two in South Luanga and one on the lower Reaches of the Zambezi. Some really good sightings including a pride of lions hunting ending, in devouring an impala in about ten minutes, a crocodile and hippo locking jaws and elephants eating flowers off the roof of our hut as we watched from inside inches away. Great guiding on foot, in the jeep and on the river.

Two weeks in Zambia at three small unfenced camps, two in South Luanga and one on the lower Reaches of the Zambezi. Some really good sightings including a pride of lions hunting ending, in devouring an impala in about ten minutes, a crocodile and hippo locking jaws and elephants eating flowers off the roof of our hut as we watched from inside inches away. Great guiding on foot, in the jeep and on the river.

Rating for tour operator:

Good understanding of our interests by Safari Consultants meant all the camps suggested suited us. We were then able to make informed choices. Travel all worked easily. Highly recommended.

Safari Consultants by L&C, 21 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic wedding anniversary trip!

This was our first Safari and we chose to tour Tanzania taking in the Northern Serengeti, Ruaha, Selous and Mafia Island. The whole trip was exceptional and the game viewing incredible. A wonderful experience and great way to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

This was our first Safari and we chose to tour Tanzania taking in the Northern Serengeti, Ruaha, Selous and Mafia Island. The whole trip was exceptional and the game viewing incredible. A wonderful experience and great way to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our first time working with Safari Consultants. Rob and the team took time to listen and put together an itinerary for Tanzania that reflected exactly what we wanted. The organisation was excellent (we made 6 internal flights) and the choice of camps (we stayed at 4) spot on.

Safari Consultants by Rosemary, 18 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

The best safari experience we have ever had

We have done many safaris and our main criteria is always game viewing away from the crowds so Safari Consultants picked us two private conservancies to the north of the Mara in Kenya and they were perfect. Lovely people, excellent knowledgeable guides, awesome game viewing, first rate accommodation, delicious food - what more could you ask for. The two conservancies were very different - the first concentrating on rhino which we had seen ...

We have done many safaris and our main criteria is always game viewing away from the crowds so Safari Consultants picked us two private conservancies to the north of the Mara in Kenya and they were perfect. Lovely people, excellent knowledgeable guides, awesome game viewing, first rate accommodation, delicious food - what more could you ask for. The two conservancies were very different - the first concentrating on rhino which we had seen very little of before and the second farther south where we were hoping to see the great migration. Sadly it was delayed this year and had not started but the game viewing was so amazing and diverse that it really did not matter.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants made the whole experience of choosing a holiday enjoyable. I had never used them before but was recommended them by my previous safari specialist who was retiring. They listened to what we wanted to do and see and took it all on board and came up with a choice of half a dozen different camps - all of which fitted our criteria but gave us slightly different options. The flights, including the little hopper flights, the transfers, the accommodation all worked like clockwork and the holiday experience could not have been better.

Safari Consultants by g on the go, 16 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

High expectations surpassed!

Hoopoe Safaris were wonderful for the Kilimanjaro climb. Excellent staff who made a challenging climb fun. Our safaris in Tarangire, Ngorongoro crater and the Serengeti were unforgettable. We were well cared for, saw remarkable wildlife and the interaction of nature in a way we never expected. Wonderful people. From Tanzania we travelled to Rwanda to see the gorillas and golden monkeys. All in all, our guides educated us in both the way ...

Hoopoe Safaris were wonderful for the Kilimanjaro climb. Excellent staff who made a challenging climb fun. Our safaris in Tarangire, Ngorongoro crater and the Serengeti were unforgettable. We were well cared for, saw remarkable wildlife and the interaction of nature in a way we never expected. Wonderful people. From Tanzania we travelled to Rwanda to see the gorillas and golden monkeys. All in all, our guides educated us in both the way of their home countries and the natural world around them.

Rating for tour operator:

Julia at Safari Consultants was invaluable. Generous with her time, she helped us select a combination of activities that was perfect. Her knowledge of the countries and tours available provided us with a remarkable experience. Highly recommend Safari Consultants and their staff for travel in Africa.