Safari Consultants

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 279
Reviews accepted: 279
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
275
Good
4
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

The holiday experience was outstanding, well organized and professional.

By Eric on 19 Nov 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We flew from London to Jo'berg, South Africa, and on to Nelspruit. We stayed two nights at the Rissington Inn in Hazyview before going to Tanda Tula Safari Camp. We then drove through Kruger National Park for four days on a self-driven tour. Returning to Jo'berg, we flew to PE, picked up another vehicle and drove to Knysna for four nights. We then drove through the Swartberg Pass to Prince Albert for two nights, then to Hermanus for three nights. From Hermanus we drove to Franschhoek for two nights and then on the Cape Town for our final five nights.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Bill Adams listened carefully to our ideas and requests, responded quickly and professionally to all of our queries and provided us with an itinerary that fitted our travel plans perfectly. He continued to monitor our progress and was helpful through our time in South Africa. He provided travel information, maps, web sites and activity suggestions for each area. The hotel and guest house bookings he made for us were uniformly excellent. We could not have been more satisfied.

Tanzania fabulous.

By Silver Jones on 19 Nov 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Stayed in Dar es Salaam in Southern Sun, good hotel, 4 nights Lake Manze Camp, brilliant and lovely staff, very helpful and very welcoming and friendly. 4 nights Mdonya Old River camp (in Selous), food excellent, although ran out of lemon for my tea and no diet coke (but these are the only things I can think to complain about) then 3 nights at Shooting Star Lodge in Zanzibar, fabulous infinity pool, small and charming, beautiful grounds and views from gorgeous room, staff very friendly. Only negative not the mosquitoes as anticipated but tsetse flies.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The organisation, information and travel arrangements by Safari Consultants superb.

Driving the Caprivi Strip from Windhoek in Namibia to Kasane in Botswana via Etosha National Park.

By Pete on 9 Nov 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Owing to the condition of the tracks leading to some Lodges we were advised to hire a Toyota Hi-Lux 4x4 which was supplied by Caprivi Car Hire in Windhoek. This was very comfortable to drive and easily managed some of the very sandy tracks. We stayed overnight in a variety of camps with tented, chalet and room accommodation, all of which were comfortable. The meals varied from average to a 5 course. Personally we think a 2 or 3 course meal is sufficient, as you usually eat late in the evening. All the camps provided an excellent Africa experience with vehicle safari's or boat trips with plenty of information available if you wanted to travel on your own. All the staff we met were helpful and loved a joke which made travelling such a pleasure. Safari Consultants Namibia agents were Namibia Tracks and Trails which provided a large folder and a colourful itinerary full of information on our accommodation and other relevant details.
We were fortunate in having some excellent views of animals and birds and had an excellent trip. It was very hot during the day 38 to 40c. and we even got wet in a storm whilst out on a boat. Travelling with only one or two overnight stops requires you to live out of your cases. A number of places advertising accommodation for two, only provided one stand to put your case on, in some we had to put our cases on the floor which is awkward.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have been with Safari Consultants for a number of years and find them very helpful in every way.

wonderful

By docrog on 5 Nov 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

travelled to tanzania visiting dar es salaam for 1 night which was a worthwhile experience stayed at southern sun hotel excellent facilities and position then selous game reserve impala camp excellent accomodation food and viewing + river boat trips were excellent hippos crocodiles and colourful birdlife giraffes impala etc then ruaha np once again brilliant all round + 2 leopards 4 cheetahs one with 4 cubs lions with cubs elephants giraffs ostrich jackals etc ended on zanzibar coast and stone town a different experience all in all great trip

Rating for tour operator Excellent

safari consultants were excellent all round trip went smoothly organised really well kept us informed + gave excellent advice would definitely use again

Excellent accommodation and safari experiences

By The_webbs on 1 Nov 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We spent 2 weeks in Botswana staying in 4 different properties, all of which were different but equally of excellent standard.
This enabled us to view wildlife not only from the back of the traditional Land Rover, but also by boat, Mokoro and importantly on foot.
Chobe National Park and Okovango Delta are stunning.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have used Safari Consultants on 4 different occasions now and have never been disappointed. I would recommend them to everyone.

An Amazing Experience in Africa

By Mrs T P 13 on 31 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Four of us were travelling together. We first went to Zambia for 3 nights and stayed at Waterberry - the river farmhouse - we couldnt believe the accommodation it was so lovely. So well looked after and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed here as we wanted to visit Victoria Falls, and so glad we decided to do that as we would not have wanted to miss this part of our holiday. Zambia is an amazing place and Country and the people are lovely and there was so much wildlife which was so unexpected. We were staying right by the Zambezi river. We had hippos in the river which came up to our lawn in the night, and opposite was a Zimbabwe national park so we saw lots of animals down at the waters edge, giraffes, gibbons, lots of deer, etc. We had 3 elephants that had got into the lodge grounds where we were staying which was really exciting for us. A walking safari took us to see White Rhino. Victoria Falls was a bit disappointing as not as much water this time of year. We then went on to South Africa, stayed in Cape Town for 3 nights staying in Winchester Mansions. Table mountain views were amazing. We had a car, but took the city open top bus as one of the stops was Table Mountain right outside the ticket office. Then onto Lavender Manor at Hermanus for 2 nights. The whale watching was fantastic, we didnt realise that we would see them so close to the waters edge. A sight to see! Then onto La Plume for 2 nights which was a working Ostrich Farm. Again an amazing place and we were well looked after. Then onto Candlewood Lodge in Knysu for 3 nights. Again a very nice place to stay and what views from the bedroom of the lagoon and in the distance was the Indian Ocean. Lovely town to stay. Our final stop was Kichaka Game Lodge. We were not disappointed, it was a fantastic place to stay and wonderful game watching. The people there were so nice. Everything about this holiday was perfect. Considering we had 6 flights and stayed at 6 different places, we came home so relaxed and felt as if we had been away a lot longer than the 18 days of the holiday. We saw so much scenery in South Africa travelling between locations - it was lovely.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants have been brilliant. From the time we met them at Earls Court earlier this year to arriving back from our holiday, they have been very thoughtful. Everything that Mary Grimwood booked for us went like a dream. Mary listened to were we wanted to visit in Africa, the type of places we liked to stay and all the places booked were amazing and exactly as described. The additional road tours, through the passes, provided on the way to each destination were well worth it. Mary and the company were very thoughtful in the itinerary they prepared just for us, it went like clockwork. I would say that we have travelled a lot before, and this company is the best one we have been with to date. I would certainly go with them again no hesitation and would highly recommend them. They made a special holiday, very special!

9 night safari at Naboisho Camp, Naboisho Conservancy

By lion man on 31 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Superb 9 night safari at Naboisho Camp thanks to Mary for her help and recommendation.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This is the third time that we have traveled with Safari Consultants and they have always been excellent. All tickets and arrangements have always been sent in good time and all transfers and pickups are always waiting at arrivals. Always there to give lots of help and advice.

This was a holiday of a lifetime and superbly organised by Mary Grimwood at Safari Consultants

By Les&jon on 31 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We travelled to Kenya and stayed in the Kicheche Laikipia camp followed by 5 wonderful days in the Kicheche Bush camp in the Mara conservancy. We ended the holiday with a fantastic stay at the Royal Livingstone Hotel in Zambia.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We were complete novices in terms of organising a safari. This was a special occasion being my 60th birthday so had to be special!! Mary was excellent in putting together an itinerary that completely fulfilled our hopes and expectations. We managed to view all the 'big five' as well as witnessing some spectacular sights- a new born elephant taking its first steps was unforgettable!

South Africa East & Western Capes sight seeing, whale watching and safari

By Large and large on tour on 26 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A fifteen day holiday primarily to watch whales started in Constantia, Capetown with outstanding accommodation at Glen Avon Lodge. Travelling by hire car we visited many of the recommended tourist sites, enjoying Kirstenbosch Gardens and the V &A Waterfront. We then travelled to Hermanus and spent four nights at the Mosselberg on Grotto Beach. Fantastic view of whales and fantastic room with panoramic view of Walkers bay. Three nights at Hog Hollow near to Plettenberg Bay followed, which gave the opportunity to visit Knysna Elephant Sanctuary and the Birds of Eden Aviary- well worth a visit. Our final destination, Kichaka Private Game Lodge provided total luxury, outstanding service, game drives with a very knowledgeable guide and an outstanding finale to our holiday.

Wherever we ate the food was really good and reasonably priced, even at Port Elizabeth Airport! Food at the accommodations was excellent.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This is the third holiday that we have taken using Safari Consultants and I would recommend them totally. All communication is excellent and their knowledge enables them to plan an itinerary guaranteed to meet our needs. All aspects of their arrangements went smoothly, and we knew that the accommodation booked would be first class.

Safari holiday in two camps with a bush wedding

By Dodge's Dad on 24 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Flew into Nairobi and spent first night at the Palacina Hotel (beautiful hotel and very secure). Then flew out to Amboseli and stayed three nights at the Tortilis Camp, where we went out on safari twice a day. The camp was immaculate and very luxurious. The game viewing was superb with many animals seen and often, totally on our own. Had a bush breakfast with chef and waitress out in the bush and sundowner drinks on a hill totally alone - both amazing experiences! Also visited a Maasai village to see how they lived and to purchase items. Some of our group found this really rewarding but some felt the pressure to purchase a little too much, even though the Maasai guide at the village said we were under no obligation to buy.
We then flew across to Kicheche Valley Camp in the Mara, again for three nights stay and game viewing twice daily. This was a very personal experience, with the guides tailoring the drives to suit our group. All guides were very knowledgeable and extremely good spotters. The managers treated you as family and the staff were so attentive. The tents were luxurious and as this was an unfenced camp, there were Maasai men guarding us all night so we felt totally safe. The wedding was amazing - held out in the bush with a Maasai welcoming party followed by a 3 course wedding breakfast served by chefs and waiters and all guarded by an armed ranger.
The service and food was amazing at both camps and the staff couldn't do enough for us. All in all an amazing and truly memorable holiday and wedding!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants Ltd were very professional and thorough. Every detail was sorted for us, including all the flights, being met from airports and transferred to another or to a hotel to have a meal while we waited for connecting flights. They chose the camps for us according to our needs and preferences within our group. The camp for the wedding was perfect and provided exactly the experience that the bride and groom were after. All the information we needed was provided in detail to cover all paperwork, clothing to take weight limits and tipping guidelines. Whenever we had a question or concern we could ring their office and they were only too happy to advise or contact the camp for information on our behalf. Totally outstanding service!