AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Safari Consultants

Safari Consultants Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 301
Good 4
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 305
Reviews Accepted: 305
Reviews Rejected: 0
305 reviews
Sort by:
Safari Consultants by Dave, 31 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

An Unforgettable African Safari

It was an experience of a lifetime going to a Safari. My wife and I had planned this safari with the excellent advice and planning from Safari Consultants and it turned out to be beyond our expectations. The itinerary was just perfect and every detail from the time we were picked up from the airport by a very courteous driver to the 5 Star Camp (not forgetting the fine dining that came with it, and the game drive led by very experienced guide, ...

It was an experience of a lifetime going to a Safari. My wife and I had planned this safari with the excellent advice and planning from Safari Consultants and it turned out to be beyond our expectations. The itinerary was just perfect and every detail from the time we were picked up from the airport by a very courteous driver to the 5 Star Camp (not forgetting the fine dining that came with it, and the game drive led by very experienced guide, was well planned and organised. The experience we had watching the wildlife in their natural habitat was just incredible and make us more appreciative of the animals which live on this earth of ours. Its a holiday which surpasses all the holidays I have taken in my life and will always remain in my memory forever.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Conultants who organised the Safari in collboration with Asilia and Kicheche was simply excellent. Very professional, knowledgeable, hospitable, and above all, took care of every trivial needs.

Safari Consultants by Maite, 28 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Kenyan Safari

Fabulous experience for a first trip to Kenya on Safari with both my daughters. Exceeded our expectations.

Fabulous experience for a first trip to Kenya on Safari with both my daughters. Exceeded our expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation of holiday and pre holiday information. As it was my first time to Africa, I relied solely on the information provided by Safari Consultants. They really listened to what I wanted and delivered it perfectly.

Safari Consultants by Williamson Family, 16 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

A perfect introduction to Kenya - we all long to go back.

Just wanted to send you a quick email to thank you so much for putting together such a fantastic holiday for us - your advice was spot on and we really have had a family holiday of a lifetime. The combination of camps, and the order we visited them in, was perfect. We got to do all the activities we wanted to do in Sosian, & more .... Riding was as magical as I had hoped, and, yes, I did get to ride right up to giraffe, as well as canter ...

Just wanted to send you a quick email to thank you so much for putting together such a fantastic holiday for us - your advice was spot on and we really have had a family holiday of a lifetime. The combination of camps, and the order we visited them in, was perfect. We got to do all the activities we wanted to do in Sosian, & more .... Riding was as magical as I had hoped, and, yes, I did get to ride right up to giraffe, as well as canter along with impala, zebra and guinea fowl (the latter not quite keeping up!). Fly camping, game walks, hurling ourselves off waterfalls and presenting ourselves as live, colour tv to the Samburu with their goats as the children swung across a river were all pretty memorable ... And Kenya, its wildlife and its people have enchanted us. Wherever we went the hosts, guides and other guests were brilliant with teenagers too. I hung back a day before writing this, to see if I could control the gushing, but it has not made a bit of difference! I really am grateful to you for your great advice and for putting together a fantastic holiday that went like clockwork - not a hassle in sight! As for game - we saw everything we could hope for. The most noteworthy in terms of rarity were: A large pack of wild dogs at Laikipia, plus the rhino (black & white), and Grevy zebra two a penny. Distant view of wild dogs at Sosian, and more elephant than you could shake a stick at - and the birds were amazing. A serval cat was the treat at the Mara, plus lions and hippo a plenty - we also watched a baboon take a baby gazelle, then fend off a jackal and several hyenas, and lions mating like it was going out of fashion. We did see a crossing, including two crocodiles taking down a wildebeast. I hadn't expected any primates, but baboon and vervet monkeys entertained us. At Kicheche Mara we sat on our tent veranda, and without moving an inch during one post lunch "siesta" we counted 13 different species. Saw a cheetah at both Kicheche camps, and glimpsed a leopard in the dark while fly camping at Sosian. Not to mention my favourites - the common or garden gazelle, impala, topi, eland, kudu, buffalo, water buck, zebra, & wart hog.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants took the time to talk to me about the individual hopes and expectations of each member of the family, and designed an itinerary that was genuinely bespoke to those needs. They made sure they understood us, and that we understood exactly what they were proposing - by telephone conversation, email, written itinerary, and links to websites. They even host an annual "picnic lunch" for clients, where we had the chance to speak freely to previous fellow travellers, to find out how to make the most of our trip. At each of our camps, our hosts commented that Safari Consultants had taken the time to visit personally and really understood what the camps were like. All of their arrangements ran like clockwork, and the timings of transfers were carefully thought through to ensure a stress-free trip. I would highly recommend Safari Consultants to anyone else planning an African safari.

Safari Consultants by Mr J E 14, 12 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

First class on all counts

Having taken most of my family on safari to Botswana and Zimbabwe 25 years ago with everything arranged by Safari Consultants, when my wife's nephew announced his engagement to a Luo girl from the edge of Lake Victoria in Kenya, I asked Safari Consultants to arrange our trip for us to cover the wedding at Asembo with 6 nights on Safari afterwards and then 4 nights on the coast before flying home. Everything was perfectly organised with a ...

Having taken most of my family on safari to Botswana and Zimbabwe 25 years ago with everything arranged by Safari Consultants, when my wife's nephew announced his engagement to a Luo girl from the edge of Lake Victoria in Kenya, I asked Safari Consultants to arrange our trip for us to cover the wedding at Asembo with 6 nights on Safari afterwards and then 4 nights on the coast before flying home. Everything was perfectly organised with a superb tented safari camp in the Mara run by a delightful English girl who was born in Kenya and a great team of Maasai guides and staff who dealt with our every need. The guides had eyes like hawks and we saw a lot of game and learnt a lot about the Maasai too. The finale was 4 nights at Diani Beach on the Kenya-Tanzania border where we stayed in a small boutique guest house where the food was magnificent and the managers delightful. I can confidently recoomend Safari Consultants to organise an African holiday --aklwyas provided one tells them precisely what is required--which in our case was to be under canvas in a bush camp living pretty close to nature. They got this plum right when we first went to Africa and they got it right this time.

Rating for tour operator:

They listen to your brief and select accordingly. In our case, they also switched the last part of our holiday to the very southern tip of Kenya when there was a terrorist incident north of Mombasa without me having to ask. Excellent service by people who know what they are talking about.

Safari Consultants by Jane, 11 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

safari with a 10 year old child

Both lodges were excellent, in particular the expertise of the guides and trackers as well as the hospitality. Our granddaughter was enchanted from the first day till the last.

Both lodges were excellent, in particular the expertise of the guides and trackers as well as the hospitality. Our granddaughter was enchanted from the first day till the last.

Rating for tour operator:

We have been put I touch with Safari Consultants through our agent, Journeys a la Carte [always outstanding in the service they provide]. We give details of what we are interested in and they deliver the goods!

Safari Consultants by NanaLou, 10 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely amazing!

We had a 16 day trip to Kenya. We began with 2 nights in Nairobi and then a flight to our first tented camp. Kicheche Laikipia was fantastic especially the gourmet food and beautiful table decor. Great hosts! We had a stay at Mara House and then went onto Kicheche Bush Camp. This stop was our favourite-great hosts, good food, excellent guides, convenient location for the Mara and just a general feeling of being right in the middle of the bush! ...

We had a 16 day trip to Kenya. We began with 2 nights in Nairobi and then a flight to our first tented camp. Kicheche Laikipia was fantastic especially the gourmet food and beautiful table decor. Great hosts! We had a stay at Mara House and then went onto Kicheche Bush Camp. This stop was our favourite-great hosts, good food, excellent guides, convenient location for the Mara and just a general feeling of being right in the middle of the bush! We finished with 4 nights at Kinondo Kwetu on Galu Beach. The resort was beautiful and everything we had hoped for at the end of 9 days of safari. We needed to rest before our long trip home to Canada. It was unfortunate that this resort is experiencing many cancellations due to the terrorism in the Mombassa area.

Rating for tour operator:

Robert Slater of Safari Consultants has worked with my family of six for over a year to plan a once in a lifetime holiday in Kenya for myself, my daughter, son in law and three grandchildren aged 14,12 and 9.From the very beginning we have had excellent suggestions and advice from Rob, particularly when we became nervous about the terrorism in Kenya.The trip surpassed our expectations. When there was a slight problem with one of our stays Rob looked into it immediately. We live in Canada and using an English company was a bit more complicated but we would use this company again!! We will recommend it to friends as well.

Safari Consultants by julia, 4 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

incredible Namibia

We had a wonderful experience in Namibia, especially Skeleton Coast Safari, amazing¡. Namibia is a beautiful desert contry with lots of incredible places to visit.

We had a wonderful experience in Namibia, especially Skeleton Coast Safari, amazing¡. Namibia is a beautiful desert contry with lots of incredible places to visit.

Rating for tour operator:

very good, everything was set on time, airplanes and transports were excellent.

Safari Consultants by JanJan, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Safari in Southern Tanzania

This was our first safari trip and was amazing! We started off in Selous Game Reserve (boat, walking and jeep safaris), then moved onto Ruaha National Park, ending with a beach relaxation on the mainland south of Pangani. The lodges were well run, game viewing good, guides well informed and rarely saw any other safari vehicles. A fantastic experience!

This was our first safari trip and was amazing! We started off in Selous Game Reserve (boat, walking and jeep safaris), then moved onto Ruaha National Park, ending with a beach relaxation on the mainland south of Pangani. The lodges were well run, game viewing good, guides well informed and rarely saw any other safari vehicles. A fantastic experience!

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants provided extremely comprehensive information before the trip. Our consultant created a package for us that suited us perfectly and was always on hand to answer any queries we had. We had 8 flights and transfers and everything ran to clockwork. Attention to detail was excellent, even down to having the best airline seats reserved and the best sited accommodation at the camps.

Safari Consultants by Mrs S T 14, 17 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

African holiday including safari

we had an amazing trip to Africa! We started in Cape Town - a beautiful city, travelled to Kuger where we stayed in the luxury tent camping lodge of Tanda Tula and ended w incredible river views and activities in Zambia!! Rob of Safari Consultants was extremely helpful in coordinating every little detail and all of his recommendations were perfect. We were worried about the tent camping, but he was totally right- it was our favorite part of the trip...

we had an amazing trip to Africa! We started in Cape Town - a beautiful city, travelled to Kuger where we stayed in the luxury tent camping lodge of Tanda Tula and ended w incredible river views and activities in Zambia!! Rob of Safari Consultants was extremely helpful in coordinating every little detail and all of his recommendations were perfect. We were worried about the tent camping, but he was totally right- it was our favorite part of the trip. Each place was totally different but great. And everywhere the people were amazingly friendly and helpful. Our daughters, 20 and 18, loved every minute of the trip!

Rating for tour operator:

Very thorough, all details perfect and taken care of. We did not have one issue while we were away, someone was always there to meet and guide us. The service was perfect, even arranged our dinner reservations.

Safari Consultants by Jan, 9 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Botswana, fantastic!

We had a brilliant time on Safari in Botswana. People are lovely and the guides very knowledgeable. The four sites we stayed at (Muchenjie Safari Lodge,Lagoon Camp, Little Kwara Camp & Kanana Camp) were really nice and the staff very helpful. We can't wait to go back!

We had a brilliant time on Safari in Botswana. People are lovely and the guides very knowledgeable. The four sites we stayed at (Muchenjie Safari Lodge,Lagoon Camp, Little Kwara Camp & Kanana Camp) were really nice and the staff very helpful. We can't wait to go back!

Rating for tour operator:

Brilliant