Safari Consultants

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 265
Reviews accepted: 265
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
261
Good
4
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Excellent accommodation and safari experiences

By The_webbs on 1 Nov 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We spent 2 weeks in Botswana staying in 4 different properties, all of which were different but equally of excellent standard.
This enabled us to view wildlife not only from the back of the traditional Land Rover, but also by boat, Mokoro and importantly on foot.
Chobe National Park and Okovango Delta are stunning.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have used Safari Consultants on 4 different occasions now and have never been disappointed. I would recommend them to everyone.

An Amazing Experience in Africa

By Mrs T P 13 on 31 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Four of us were travelling together. We first went to Zambia for 3 nights and stayed at Waterberry - the river farmhouse - we couldnt believe the accommodation it was so lovely. So well looked after and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed here as we wanted to visit Victoria Falls, and so glad we decided to do that as we would not have wanted to miss this part of our holiday. Zambia is an amazing place and Country and the people are lovely and there was so much wildlife which was so unexpected. We were staying right by the Zambezi river. We had hippos in the river which came up to our lawn in the night, and opposite was a Zimbabwe national park so we saw lots of animals down at the waters edge, giraffes, gibbons, lots of deer, etc. We had 3 elephants that had got into the lodge grounds where we were staying which was really exciting for us. A walking safari took us to see White Rhino. Victoria Falls was a bit disappointing as not as much water this time of year. We then went on to South Africa, stayed in Cape Town for 3 nights staying in Winchester Mansions. Table mountain views were amazing. We had a car, but took the city open top bus as one of the stops was Table Mountain right outside the ticket office. Then onto Lavender Manor at Hermanus for 2 nights. The whale watching was fantastic, we didnt realise that we would see them so close to the waters edge. A sight to see! Then onto La Plume for 2 nights which was a working Ostrich Farm. Again an amazing place and we were well looked after. Then onto Candlewood Lodge in Knysu for 3 nights. Again a very nice place to stay and what views from the bedroom of the lagoon and in the distance was the Indian Ocean. Lovely town to stay. Our final stop was Kichaka Game Lodge. We were not disappointed, it was a fantastic place to stay and wonderful game watching. The people there were so nice. Everything about this holiday was perfect. Considering we had 6 flights and stayed at 6 different places, we came home so relaxed and felt as if we had been away a lot longer than the 18 days of the holiday. We saw so much scenery in South Africa travelling between locations - it was lovely.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants have been brilliant. From the time we met them at Earls Court earlier this year to arriving back from our holiday, they have been very thoughtful. Everything that Mary Grimwood booked for us went like a dream. Mary listened to were we wanted to visit in Africa, the type of places we liked to stay and all the places booked were amazing and exactly as described. The additional road tours, through the passes, provided on the way to each destination were well worth it. Mary and the company were very thoughtful in the itinerary they prepared just for us, it went like clockwork. I would say that we have travelled a lot before, and this company is the best one we have been with to date. I would certainly go with them again no hesitation and would highly recommend them. They made a special holiday, very special!

9 night safari at Naboisho Camp, Naboisho Conservancy

By lion man on 31 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Superb 9 night safari at Naboisho Camp thanks to Mary for her help and recommendation.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This is the third time that we have traveled with Safari Consultants and they have always been excellent. All tickets and arrangements have always been sent in good time and all transfers and pickups are always waiting at arrivals. Always there to give lots of help and advice.

This was a holiday of a lifetime and superbly organised by Mary Grimwood at Safari Consultants

By Les&jon on 31 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We travelled to Kenya and stayed in the Kicheche Laikipia camp followed by 5 wonderful days in the Kicheche Bush camp in the Mara conservancy. We ended the holiday with a fantastic stay at the Royal Livingstone Hotel in Zambia.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We were complete novices in terms of organising a safari. This was a special occasion being my 60th birthday so had to be special!! Mary was excellent in putting together an itinerary that completely fulfilled our hopes and expectations. We managed to view all the 'big five' as well as witnessing some spectacular sights- a new born elephant taking its first steps was unforgettable!

South Africa East & Western Capes sight seeing, whale watching and safari

By Large and large on tour on 26 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A fifteen day holiday primarily to watch whales started in Constantia, Capetown with outstanding accommodation at Glen Avon Lodge. Travelling by hire car we visited many of the recommended tourist sites, enjoying Kirstenbosch Gardens and the V &A Waterfront. We then travelled to Hermanus and spent four nights at the Mosselberg on Grotto Beach. Fantastic view of whales and fantastic room with panoramic view of Walkers bay. Three nights at Hog Hollow near to Plettenberg Bay followed, which gave the opportunity to visit Knysna Elephant Sanctuary and the Birds of Eden Aviary- well worth a visit. Our final destination, Kichaka Private Game Lodge provided total luxury, outstanding service, game drives with a very knowledgeable guide and an outstanding finale to our holiday.

Wherever we ate the food was really good and reasonably priced, even at Port Elizabeth Airport! Food at the accommodations was excellent.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This is the third holiday that we have taken using Safari Consultants and I would recommend them totally. All communication is excellent and their knowledge enables them to plan an itinerary guaranteed to meet our needs. All aspects of their arrangements went smoothly, and we knew that the accommodation booked would be first class.

Safari holiday in two camps with a bush wedding

By Dodge's Dad on 24 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Flew into Nairobi and spent first night at the Palacina Hotel (beautiful hotel and very secure). Then flew out to Amboseli and stayed three nights at the Tortilis Camp, where we went out on safari twice a day. The camp was immaculate and very luxurious. The game viewing was superb with many animals seen and often, totally on our own. Had a bush breakfast with chef and waitress out in the bush and sundowner drinks on a hill totally alone - both amazing experiences! Also visited a Maasai village to see how they lived and to purchase items. Some of our group found this really rewarding but some felt the pressure to purchase a little too much, even though the Maasai guide at the village said we were under no obligation to buy.
We then flew across to Kicheche Valley Camp in the Mara, again for three nights stay and game viewing twice daily. This was a very personal experience, with the guides tailoring the drives to suit our group. All guides were very knowledgeable and extremely good spotters. The managers treated you as family and the staff were so attentive. The tents were luxurious and as this was an unfenced camp, there were Maasai men guarding us all night so we felt totally safe. The wedding was amazing - held out in the bush with a Maasai welcoming party followed by a 3 course wedding breakfast served by chefs and waiters and all guarded by an armed ranger.
The service and food was amazing at both camps and the staff couldn't do enough for us. All in all an amazing and truly memorable holiday and wedding!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants Ltd were very professional and thorough. Every detail was sorted for us, including all the flights, being met from airports and transferred to another or to a hotel to have a meal while we waited for connecting flights. They chose the camps for us according to our needs and preferences within our group. The camp for the wedding was perfect and provided exactly the experience that the bride and groom were after. All the information we needed was provided in detail to cover all paperwork, clothing to take weight limits and tipping guidelines. Whenever we had a question or concern we could ring their office and they were only too happy to advise or contact the camp for information on our behalf. Totally outstanding service!

holiday of a lifetime (till the next one!!)

By rasberry on 23 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

a six day safari experience across two different camps followed by 3 days in stone town, chumbie island then six days of luxury on the beach in baraza hotel. We had a fantastic time with many contrasting experiences --all helped by meeting some great, like minded, other people.It would be difficult to get better --the game drives were stunning as was the baraza hotel. Well done safari consultants

Rating for tour operator Excellent

in the main I dealt with michelle who helped us put the itinery together after doing a complete "fact find". She was able to explain the pro's and con's of the different options we were looking at






first class --michelle did a comprehensive "fact find" and then was able to give us great advice on the different options we were considering. The end result a perfect schedule and everything went like clockwork. The fact that they had first hand experience of the places we were looking to go was invaluable










Rewarding

By King Edward on 16 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A rich and rewarding safari experience marred only by exceptional heat and those darn tsetse flies!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Knowledgable, sensible and enthusiastic - listen carefully to your ideas and wishes and take into consideration your previous safari experience; use initiative to make your programme run smoothly.

Sightseeing, safari and relaxation

By teepee on 11 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Two days spent in Victoria Falls followed by seven days in 3 different safari lodges in Zimbabwe and Botswana. Finally, five nights on a beach in Mozambique. The variety was lovely and everything that Safari Consultants arranged happened without a single hitch. Considering the multiple flights, lodges and activities this was pretty impressive. Any hiccoughs were of the Act of God variety and no prearrangements would have changed them!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Rob from Safari Consultants worked our itinary out and really seemed to listen to our requests. He was accurate throughout and obviously knows his stuff. A bonus luncheon in Suffolk added to our feelgood factor, well done team.

A profusion of animal and bird life in Botswana

By keithg on 4 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Africa novices, we travelled through Botswana, from the desert to the delta and on to the rivers, in September 2013, finishing in Zambia at the Victoria Falls. The itinerary was highly varied without being rushed, and all connections worked flawlessly. The staff in the locations we visited were uniformly impressive, and the fellow guests most personable.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Highly knowledgeable, full briefings, clearly expert.