Safari Consultants

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 279
Reviews accepted: 279
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
275
Good
4
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

A wonderful East African celebration holiday spent in national parks and in areas that are more 'off the beaten track'

By Elle on 21 Mar 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This was a celebration holiday comprising visits to Amboseli,Ngorongoro Crater, Serengeti, Masai Mara and also included a sentimental journey to some 'off-the beaten track' areas visited many years ago. It was a challenging wish list, but Rob Slater at Safari Consultants rose to the challenge and produced an itinerary that met our needs perfectly. To sum the holiday up in two words - absolutely fantastic!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have used Safari Consultants a number of times before and have had superb holidays on each occasion. This was no exception. Safari Consultants are very approachable and spend a great deal of time understanding the client's objectives and interests and exploring options. Their knowledge of the countries; the game reserves; where to see what and when; the local tour operators and camps and the people who run them is second to none. Because of the close relationships they maintain with tour operators and camps we can, as two women travelling together, always be confident that we are in good hands. Furthermore attention to detail is very good; the arrangements always work as they should and all the paperwork and general information is spot on.

The wish list for this holiday was challenging as it involved visiting areas that are not mainstream tourist/safari destinations. Rob Slater at Safari Consultants rose to the challenge and worked on many options to produce an itinerary that met our needs perfectly. We had a fantastic holiday and a big thank you to Rob and Safari Consultants. I cannot recommend this company highly enough.

A great introduction to Kenya and the Mara in particular.

By Berdewelle on 5 Mar 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

3 days - Kicheche Laikipia on Ol Pejeta Conservancy.
3 Days - Kicheche Valley on the Mara Naboisho Conservancy.
4 Days - Serian on the Mara North Conservancy.
Great itinerary, outstanding hospitality, excellent food, some amazing wildlife experiences including Aardvark and Aardwolf (never before seen by us on any previous trips nor by our guide) on the same late night drive. Enjoyed all three camps, Kicheche Valley was the favourite. The only disappointment: the size and furnishings of the tent at Serian. In total a hugely enjoyable trip with all arrangements working well.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants were excellent, Rob in particular, listened patiently to our requirements and our likes and dislikes, helped rule out a number of possible destinations before we settled on Kenya – a new destination for us. Then discussed many different itinerary options and lodge suggestions before we settled on the final itinerary which was totalled tailored to our specific requirements.
The whole trip worked well and was thoroughly enjoyed by both of us.

Superb safaries and a beachside haven!

By K ... F on 25 Feb 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Two nights at one amazing Kicheche camp and 3 nights at another on the Masai Mara, Kenya - excellent hosts, knowledgeable guides, amazing animals, stunning landscapes and amazing teams at both camps going above and beyond to make our safaris truly amazing. Onto Diani Beach staying at a haven called Asha Cottage, comprising 6 rooms, pool, delicious dining and lovely "ledge" overlooking the beach. We were made to feel so welcome and so well cared for by the hosts and their team. An exceptional holiday.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants Limited were efficient and helpful.

Two wonderful safari experiences in Selous and Ruaha and then relaxing by the beach - our retirement trip

By Pat&JF on 23 Feb 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We have just returned from Tanzania after a wonderful trip. We spent 4 nights at the Impala Camp in Selous, 4 nights at Kwihala in Ruaha, followed by 5 nights at The Tides Lodge, Pangani. We were so well looked after everywhere, staff wonderful, guides so knowledgeable, game drives amazing. Nothing was too much trouble from when we first enquired at Safari Consultants to the whole time we were away. Thoroughly recommend our trip - and February was a good time to travel.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We met Safari Consultants last year at the Travel Show in London, having researched our trip beforehand. They were so helpful, professional, knowledgeable,(a Director had just come back from Selous and Ruaha, so could advise on climate in February)friendly and responded promptly to our various email enquiries, before we made our decision. We were offered various alternative dates/flight times/etc - they were keen to tailor the trip to our exact needs. All paperwork received was informative and the tickets/vouchers clear and concise. We felt very safe having booked this trip with them.

Wow, you ain't seen nothing yet!

By Elephant Jane on 22 Feb 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

It was the most exciting few days being in pursuit of wild animals - a wonderful Masai, Reuben, was our guide. His ability to spot, smell or hear wildlife was amazing. He saw animals, birds etc a good 5 mins before we did and that was even when we had stopped for them. Our highlight was a cheetah on the bonnet of our rangerover - up she jumped, stared at us and the box of tissues through the windscreen and the decided to poke her head around the free passenger side as if to ask if anyone was sitting there!!!!!! I swear she would have sat in the seat and hitched a lift if Reuben had not started the car ( very gently) and she decided better of it. Off she jumped, walked around us again and then went to join her son who was waiting patiently just ahead of us! Phew, I can still feel my heart beating now but the thrill and intimacy was surreal. and the baby hippo in her own tiny little pool was just adorable. She went for a swim on her own, mummy was way out in the lake. Came back, walked up to us to have a look, was getting a bit warm, so decided to go back into her pool for a lie down - could easily have thought she was a rock in the pool but not Reuben, he spotted her a mile off! Could go on and on but I'm savouring my memories and just recalling some wonderful privileges I'd been able to share thanks to some beautiful animals who let us share their land for a few precious hours. Thank you to them all and safe journey.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Well organised and smoothly completed at every stage. They obviously know their Africa very well and would happily ask their advice and travel through them again.

Kenya

By Hil on 17 Feb 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

First time visit to plains of East Africa. Different experience.Pleased to see Masai so involved and conservation of animals becoming a priority. Quiet time to visit (animal-wise)- which we enjoyed as not many other visitors and we had wildlife to ourselves. Kenyans very hospitable.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants outstanding. 24 hours notice to arrange long-ish w/e and they came up trumps. No hitches. All small details well thought out - ie Boma Hotel to shower and have meal rather than long wait in airport

Safari in Tanzania and beach holiday on Zanzibar

By Niggle on 5 Feb 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Flight from London to Nairobi to Kilimanjaro to Serengeti for a 3-day safari in a tented camp in the Serengeti, and then 7 day stay at Blue Bay Hotel on Zanzibar. Included a visit to Stone Town.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants arranged all flights and the safari stay at Olakira camp in the Serengeti; and then logistics for stay at Blue Bay Hotel on Zanzibar. All arrangements were very professionally made and all travel connections worked perfectly. An excellent service backed up with all the information we needed for a successful and enjoyable holiday.

two weeks in safari camps in Kenya

By The bike on 31 Jan 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We spent just over 2 weeks in 4 different safari camps to the North of the Masai Mara in Kenya. It was one of the best holidays we have ever had over the last 40 years of marriage.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari consultants have the advantage of being a niche practice and are experts in all forms of safari holidays especially in Africa. We went to them with no knowledge of such holidays and spent a long time talking to them. They could answer all our questions largely because they had been to al the camps, they knew the owners, managers and chief guides well. Their advice proved to be consistently accurate. Their first draft itinerary was too long and too expensive for us but within 24 hours the amended version was within our budget. and was accompanied by a well written summary of each camp, the mode of transfer and the standard of comfort, food, guiding and access to wild life. Wwe accepted this itinerary and their description and their advice proved to be dead right in every detail. We have and we will continue to recommend them to others

Experience of a lifetime

By OLIVIA77 on 29 Jan 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Ten day safari to Tanzania - staying at Olivers Camp, Plantation Lodge and Olakira Camp - a truly memorable holiday. We were looked after so well, nothing was too much trouble, in fact I doubt if Royalty were treated any better, I cannot praise Safari Consultants or their agents in Tanzania, Asilia, enough. From the moment of contacting Safari Consultants, the holiday of a lifetime became reality and what a wonderful experience it was, seeing so much wildlife, no wonder people get hooked on safaris!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Excellent service, especially from Michele, our travel consultant. Her knowledge and experience helped to put together a holiday of a lifetime. Thank you Michele.

Very well organised, fabulous holiday

By Lin on 20 Jan 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Travelled to Kenya Laikipia, spending 1 week at Kicheche Laikipia and the next at Lewa Wilderness. A brilliant mix of two truly superb camps/lodges where the attention to detail, accommodation, food, wildlife sightings etc. all could not be beaten.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Didn't just say where we should go, but listened to what we wanted to do and the type of place we preferred to stay and only then made various suggestions from which we chose the final itinerary. Extremely clear details given of what to expect at each camp and on the transfers etc.