AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Safari Consultants

Safari Consultants Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 301
Good 4
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 305
Reviews Accepted: 305
Reviews Rejected: 0
305 reviews
Sort by:
Safari Consultants by JSomerset, 24 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic safari "once in a lifetime" experience

This is the second time we have travelled with Safari Consultants and again we had a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Their organisation really defines what will suit their travellers best - sometimes more than you even know yourself! Their arrangements were second to none, everything worked seamlessly and we felt they were there with us all the way. The camp they chose for us, Rekero, is amazing. No fences and really close to nature but ...

This is the second time we have travelled with Safari Consultants and again we had a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Their organisation really defines what will suit their travellers best - sometimes more than you even know yourself! Their arrangements were second to none, everything worked seamlessly and we felt they were there with us all the way. The camp they chose for us, Rekero, is amazing. No fences and really close to nature but always safe. The service and facilities were great - and the management superb. Rekero develops its staff, gives them opportunities to progress and thus share their knowledge and enthusiasm with their guests. Our Safari Consultant consultant, Mary, is totally professional, really knows her business and has personal knowledge of the hotels and camps so she can fully advise. We thank Mary so very much for our wonderful trip.

Rating for tour operator:

See above - extremely knowledgeable and professional, Safari Consultants operate to the highest standards.

Safari Consultants by Safun, 18 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Awesome!

We went to South Africa staying in Capetown then going to Franschoek ending up with a stay on a game reserve (Kichaka)

We went to South Africa staying in Capetown then going to Franschoek ending up with a stay on a game reserve (Kichaka)

Rating for tour operator:

The whole experience from deciding what type of holiday we wanted right through to having such a well organised vacation that didn't disappoint at any level The information we were given about locations, hotels, tours were accurate and informative and honest We asked a huge amount of questions from booking to just before we travelled on topics such as dress code to security concerns and these were answered in really good detail and helped provide assurance and really useful information The whole holiday was well executed , no issues and just fabulous We are very happy customers!

Safari Consultants by Cruiser84, 18 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

1st Safari but not our last

This was our 1st Safari and it will not be our last, we had such a great experience and it far exceeded our expectations. Looking forward to arranging our next one We stayed in Kicheche LaiKipia and North Mara offbeat and enjoyed both camps and it would be easier to list what wildlife we did not see rather than what we did. Within 20 minutes of arriving in the 1st conservancy we were watching lions just a few yards away at the bottom of a tree...

This was our 1st Safari and it will not be our last, we had such a great experience and it far exceeded our expectations. Looking forward to arranging our next one We stayed in Kicheche LaiKipia and North Mara offbeat and enjoyed both camps and it would be easier to list what wildlife we did not see rather than what we did. Within 20 minutes of arriving in the 1st conservancy we were watching lions just a few yards away at the bottom of a tree. Although we had rain each day @ Offbeat it did not stop us enjoying the experience nor having a puncture knowing that there lions just yards away in the bush. We made great friends in Sheridan & David and will be seeing them again in the future All the staff at each camp made us feel very welcome and nothing was to much trouble even to surprising me with a birthday cake at each camp

Rating for tour operator:

This was our 1st safari and No matter how small our question all staff were happy to answer and were very professional even with our concerns of knowing our 1st Grandchild was due the day after we were due back and how would our family get word to us if any thing happened sooner. Happy to say India Lily arrive 2 weeks early what a birthday present knowing we could enjoy our holiday knowing she had safely arrived. we look forward to seeing the consultants at the Olympia show in February and have already recommended them to friends

Safari Consultants responded to this review on 18 Nov 2014:

Great to know you were on a high when you left, and an equal high on your return. Grand children and Africa take you to such special places.

Safari Consultants by rjc, 18 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Birding Hotspots of the Fairest Cape and KwaZuluNatal

Great combination of birding, sightseeing, whale watching, walking in the mountains (Drakensberg) and safari - self guided, with a bird guide and at a private reserve. Accommodation and food were all to a very high standard.

Great combination of birding, sightseeing, whale watching, walking in the mountains (Drakensberg) and safari - self guided, with a bird guide and at a private reserve. Accommodation and food were all to a very high standard.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants provided great advice prior to travel and were happy to devise, and adjust, a personalised itinerary to meet our interests. Their organisation of all travel arrangements was excellent. They are approachable and quick to respond to emails.

Safari Consultants by Mr R W 14, 10 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

an amzing safari to South Africa

superb accommodation at Dulini Lodge, great transfers and flexible domestic flight tickets

superb accommodation at Dulini Lodge, great transfers and flexible domestic flight tickets

Rating for tour operator:

first class customer service in all respects

Safari Consultants by dougie, 5 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

9 days on highly entertaing game drives and 5 days relaxation in beautiful surroundings

The holiday was in Tanzania. We began with 4 days in 2 very comfortable Lodges. The first day recovering from the journey followed by visiting Arusha, Lake Manyara and Ngorogoro Crater game reserves seeing a wealth of wild animals. This was followed by 3 days in tented camps in each of Serengeti and Selous National Parks with very knowledgeable guides showing us wild life in even wilder surroundings. We were not sharing and had the advantage ...

The holiday was in Tanzania. We began with 4 days in 2 very comfortable Lodges. The first day recovering from the journey followed by visiting Arusha, Lake Manyara and Ngorogoro Crater game reserves seeing a wealth of wild animals. This was followed by 3 days in tented camps in each of Serengeti and Selous National Parks with very knowledgeable guides showing us wild life in even wilder surroundings. We were not sharing and had the advantage of the guides exclusive attention. The most memorable sighting was a female cheetah and 4 cubs in Serengeti. Our one night in Stone Town was a total contrast to life out in the open but most interesting and we finished the trip in a fabulous beach resort on the north east of Zanzibar. Altogether a wonderful experience

Rating for tour operator:

The arrangements were very personal and made to suit us. The advise and attention to detail were terrific with all the places we stayed being perfect and all the transport arrangements on time and, in the case of the small plane trips highly entertaining. Their advise in respect of the preparation was very welcome and helpful and we feel that we have had the holiday of a lifetime

Safari Consultants by ISLAND GIRL , 30 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Another awesome African adventure with Safari Consultants

This is our third holiday with Safari Consultants and boy, do they know their stuff. Each camp we stayed in was simply amazing, a real home-from-home in terms of comfort. Healthy, delicious meals served by the sunniest race on earth. Great game viewing daily, stunning scenery, a plethora of visual treats for the eye. All our internal flights went like clockwork ( we thought we were in Switzerland, actually, so reliable were they). Knowledgable ...

This is our third holiday with Safari Consultants and boy, do they know their stuff. Each camp we stayed in was simply amazing, a real home-from-home in terms of comfort. Healthy, delicious meals served by the sunniest race on earth. Great game viewing daily, stunning scenery, a plethora of visual treats for the eye. All our internal flights went like clockwork ( we thought we were in Switzerland, actually, so reliable were they). Knowledgable and friendly guides who go out of their way to make your day special. We knew we were in good hands when we planned this holiday …. Safari Consultants always go the extra mile with their suggestions, ideas, information, knowledge. They check out each and every place first and if it doesn't meet their requirements, forget it, they won't entertain it. We thought our third holiday on this wonderful continent might be our last but actually, all it did was reignite our passion and we will be back again. Thanks SC Team.

Rating for tour operator:

Safari Consultants are a local company - we found them at the Suffolk show a few years ago. We happened to be thinking about going to Africa and decided to pursue it. One of their staff members came round at our request and we discussed what we wanted from a safari holiday, apart from seeing game. Rob Slater is a genius. He listens to what we say, makes suggestions, guides us through the whole holiday. We always try to pack as much into 3 weeks as possible, without it becoming a slog. We are happy to pay perhaps bit more than the average holidaymaker on a budget. And it's worth every penny to do so …. comfortable, luxurious lodges, with private guides and in some cases, private planes. Safari Consultants tick all the boxes and we could not recommend them higher.

Safari Consultants by Mrs S W 14, 25 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Holiday

We travelled to Kenya for 14 days - safaris in three different places, Meru, Laikipia and the Mara plus a stay at Diani Beach.

We travelled to Kenya for 14 days - safaris in three different places, Meru, Laikipia and the Mara plus a stay at Diani Beach.

Rating for tour operator:

We would highly recommend Safari Consultants. From the very start of planning our holiday to our return home earlier this week, everything was very professionally done - we have no complaints whatsoever.

Safari Consultants by RJ, 21 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

9 night safari

We stayed at Naboisho Camp in the Naboisho Conservancy bordering the Masai Mara in Kenya. This was our second consecutive visit to this camp which tells you how much we enjoyed it. everything from the hosting, accommodation, staff, food, wildlife and setting makes, in our opinion, for a perfect safari experience.

We stayed at Naboisho Camp in the Naboisho Conservancy bordering the Masai Mara in Kenya. This was our second consecutive visit to this camp which tells you how much we enjoyed it. everything from the hosting, accommodation, staff, food, wildlife and setting makes, in our opinion, for a perfect safari experience.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our 4th holiday with Safari Consultants all of which have involved multiple flights, land transfers and hotels and on every occasion everything has been in place for a seamless journey. All the information provided pre holiday has proved spot on!

Safari Consultants by birding babes, 10 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

the birds and animals of Kenya

A fantastically well organised 11 night tour of three bush camps in Kenya. We saw everything including wild dogs and around 200 species of birds. We watched the massing of Wildebeast along the Mara and were amazed by the overwhelming numbers. Our guides were knowledgeable and the food was fabulous. We are at the "older end" of the travelling fraternity and really appreciate the comfort that these camps are able to offer without compromising ...

A fantastically well organised 11 night tour of three bush camps in Kenya. We saw everything including wild dogs and around 200 species of birds. We watched the massing of Wildebeast along the Mara and were amazed by the overwhelming numbers. Our guides were knowledgeable and the food was fabulous. We are at the "older end" of the travelling fraternity and really appreciate the comfort that these camps are able to offer without compromising a genuine bush experience yet still managing to maintain environmentally friendly facilities

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Safari Consultants many times now. They always seem to know just the right places for us to stay, they keep within budget and their travel plans and organisation are faultless. We receive a friendly and personal service and their knowledge of the areas we visit is invaluable. They are not afraid to offer advice about a visit and pay every attention to detail including provision of extra help where needed. Their pre-travel information is excellent. We have recommended them to many and will continue to do so.