Safari Consultants

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 279
Reviews accepted: 279
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
275
Good
4
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Amazing Mara

By Mar10CC on 25 Sep 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

As with our previous trips, we just had the most fantastic time staying at 2 very different camps, one in the Naboisho conservancy, the other on the Mara itself for the migration. Both gave us brilliant animal and bird sightings - just what we needed for our photography. Camps were flexible, comfortable and even luxurious! Food was outstanding, exactly what we now come to expect from any camp recommended by Safari Consultants.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We've returned many times to Kenya (and previously Zambia) through Safari Consultants and they have always judged everything perfectly. Their description and detailed data about camps and what we should expect have always been spot on. Transfers work perfectly, giving a lovely relaxed holiday without worry about whether timings or something else will work out right. They take the time to really understand what you want from a holiday and then match you to appropriate camps.

Amazing safari in Kenya

By Ripley on 23 Sep 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We spent 10 days in Kenya, staying at Lewa Wilderness, Naboishi Camp and Serian Camp.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Rob Slater at Safari Consultants was extremely professional and provided great recommendations for our trip. We decided to go with his suggestions and couldn't have been happier with the result.

Magical combination

By Noodle51 on 22 Sep 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We travelled to Kenya and visited KIcheche Laikipia and KIcheche Bush camp.Both camps
are special in their own unique way offering the ingredients to make a perfect holiday.
Laikipia provided us with the magical view of wild dogs and their tents were of high quality
as well as the food. Bush camp offered a varied list of sightings with a camp that oozes
a charm that leaves you feeling like you have stayed with friends as opposed to a camp.
Both camps provide inside knowledge to the area with a clear passion and this is also
evident in the quality and knowledge of their drivers.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants provided us with a package hand made to suit our requirements..
I felt comfortable to ask any question or make amendments whilst we finalised the holiday
without feeling like I was creating more work for them. No ask is too much and no question
silly!

Magical Tanzania

By Julie on 5 Sep 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Wonderful safari combination of Lake Manze in Selous & Kwihala in Ruaha in southern Tanzania - great to be able to do a couple of boat safaris in Selous getting up close to hippos & crocodiles, as well as a fantastic variety of bird life. The hosting & guiding at both camps was outstanding & nothing was too much trouble. The main appeal for us was the quietness of both areas so when we witnessed a lion kill there were only a couple of other vehicles around rather than the usual "bun fight". Such a shame that we had to come home!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Mary at Safari Consultants had organised our previous two safaris to Kenya & recommended this latest trip for us to try something a little different. She certainly had extensive knowledge to put together a very memorable trip for us & was always available to answer any questions if needed. The company certainly looks after its clients with attention to detail of utmost importance.
Would certainly recommend them to anyone considering an African safari.

An Unforgettable African Safari

By Dave on 31 Aug 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

It was an experience of a lifetime going to a Safari. My wife and I had planned this safari with the excellent advice and planning from Safari Consultants and it turned out to be beyond our expectations. The itinerary was just perfect and every detail from the time we were picked up from the airport by a very courteous driver to the 5 Star Camp (not forgetting the fine dining that came with it, and the game drive led by very experienced guide, was well planned and organised. The experience we had watching the wildlife in their natural habitat was just incredible and make us more appreciative of the animals which live on this earth of ours. Its a holiday which surpasses all the holidays I have taken in my life and will always remain in my memory forever.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Conultants who organised the Safari in collboration with Asilia and Kicheche was simply excellent. Very professional, knowledgeable, hospitable, and above all, took care of every trivial needs.

Kenyan Safari

By Maite on 28 Aug 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Fabulous experience for a first trip to Kenya on Safari with both my daughters. Exceeded our expectations.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Excellent organisation of holiday and pre holiday information. As it was my first time to Africa, I relied solely on the information provided by Safari Consultants. They really listened to what I wanted and delivered it perfectly.

A perfect introduction to Kenya - we all long to go back.

By Williamson Family on 16 Aug 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Just wanted to send you a quick email to thank you so much for putting together such a fantastic holiday for us - your advice was spot on and we really have had a family holiday of a lifetime. The combination of camps, and the order we visited them in, was perfect.

We got to do all the activities we wanted to do in Sosian, & more .... Riding was as magical as I had hoped, and, yes, I did get to ride right up to giraffe, as well as canter along with impala, zebra and guinea fowl (the latter not quite keeping up!). Fly camping, game walks, hurling ourselves off waterfalls and presenting ourselves as live, colour tv to the Samburu with their goats as the children swung across a river were all pretty memorable ... And Kenya, its wildlife and its people have enchanted us. Wherever we went the hosts, guides and other guests were brilliant with teenagers too.

I hung back a day before writing this, to see if I could control the gushing, but it has not made a bit of difference! I really am grateful to you for your great advice and for putting together a fantastic holiday that went like clockwork - not a hassle in sight!

As for game - we saw everything we could hope for. The most noteworthy in terms of rarity were: A large pack of wild dogs at Laikipia, plus the rhino (black & white), and Grevy zebra two a penny. Distant view of wild dogs at Sosian, and more elephant than you could shake a stick at - and the birds were amazing. A serval cat was the treat at the Mara, plus lions and hippo a plenty - we also watched a baboon take a baby gazelle, then fend off a jackal and several hyenas, and lions mating like it was going out of fashion. We did see a crossing, including two crocodiles taking down a wildebeast. I hadn't expected any primates, but baboon and vervet monkeys entertained us. At Kicheche Mara we sat on our tent veranda, and without moving an inch during one post lunch "siesta" we counted 13 different species. Saw a cheetah at both Kicheche camps, and glimpsed a leopard in the dark while fly camping at Sosian. Not to mention my favourites - the common or garden gazelle, impala, topi, eland, kudu, buffalo, water buck, zebra, & wart hog.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants took the time to talk to me about the individual hopes and expectations of each member of the family, and designed an itinerary that was genuinely bespoke to those needs. They made sure they understood us, and that we understood exactly what they were proposing - by telephone conversation, email, written itinerary, and links to websites. They even host an annual "picnic lunch" for clients, where we had the chance to speak freely to previous fellow travellers, to find out how to make the most of our trip. At each of our camps, our hosts commented that Safari Consultants had taken the time to visit personally and really understood what the camps were like. All of their arrangements ran like clockwork, and the timings of transfers were carefully thought through to ensure a stress-free trip. I would highly recommend Safari Consultants to anyone else planning an African safari.

First class on all counts

By Mr J E 14 on 12 Aug 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Having taken most of my family on safari to Botswana and Zimbabwe 25 years ago with everything arranged by Safari Consultants, when my wife's nephew announced his engagement to a Luo girl from the edge of Lake Victoria in Kenya, I asked Safari Consultants to arrange our trip for us to cover the wedding at Asembo with 6 nights on Safari afterwards and then 4 nights on the coast before flying home.

Everything was perfectly organised with a superb tented safari camp in the Mara run by a delightful English girl who was born in Kenya and a great team of Maasai guides and staff who dealt with our every need. The guides had eyes like hawks and we saw a lot of game and learnt a lot about the Maasai too.

The finale was 4 nights at Diani Beach on the Kenya-Tanzania border where we stayed in a small boutique guest house where the food was magnificent and the managers delightful.

I can confidently recoomend Safari Consultants to organise an African holiday --aklwyas provided one tells them precisely what is required--which in our case was to be under canvas in a bush camp living pretty close to nature. They got this plum right when we first went to Africa and they got it right this time.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

They listen to your brief and select accordingly. In our case, they also switched the last part of our holiday to the very southern tip of Kenya when there was a terrorist incident north of Mombasa without me having to ask. Excellent service by people who know what they are talking about.

safari with a 10 year old child

By Jane on 11 Aug 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Both lodges were excellent, in particular the expertise of the guides and trackers as well as the hospitality. Our granddaughter was enchanted from the first day till the last.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have been put I touch with Safari Consultants through our agent, Journeys a la Carte [always outstanding in the service they provide]. We give details of what we are interested in and they deliver the goods!

Absolutely amazing!

By NanaLou on 10 Aug 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We had a 16 day trip to Kenya. We began with 2 nights in Nairobi and then a flight to our first tented camp. Kicheche Laikipia was fantastic especially the gourmet food and beautiful table decor. Great hosts! We had a stay at Mara House and then went onto Kicheche Bush Camp. This stop was our favourite-great hosts, good food, excellent guides, convenient location for the Mara and just a general feeling of being right in the middle of the bush! We finished with 4 nights at Kinondo Kwetu on Galu Beach. The resort was beautiful and everything we had hoped for at the end of 9 days of safari. We needed to rest before our long trip home to Canada. It was unfortunate that this resort is experiencing many cancellations due to the terrorism in the Mombassa area.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Robert Slater of Safari Consultants has worked with my family of six for over a year to plan a once in a lifetime holiday in Kenya for myself, my daughter, son in law and three grandchildren aged 14,12 and 9.From the very beginning we have had excellent suggestions and advice from Rob, particularly when we became nervous about the terrorism in Kenya.The trip surpassed our expectations. When there was a slight problem with one of our stays Rob looked into it immediately. We live in Canada and using an English company was a bit more complicated but we would use this company again!! We will recommend it to friends as well.