AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 612
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 614
Reviews Accepted: 614
Reviews Rejected: 0
614 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising the South-East Aegean by rwhiteha, 22 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

I am going back for more.

Peter Sommers Travel provides enjoyable well planned, well managed and interesting tours that I would recommend to anyone with an inquisitive mind who wants to learn about the world while on holiday. We travelled the coast of Turkey and Greek Dodecanese Islands visiting historical and natural sites during which we learned just how much was achieved in the ancient world before darkness descended with the coming of Middle Ages. It is no hardship ...

Peter Sommers Travel provides enjoyable well planned, well managed and interesting tours that I would recommend to anyone with an inquisitive mind who wants to learn about the world while on holiday. We travelled the coast of Turkey and Greek Dodecanese Islands visiting historical and natural sites during which we learned just how much was achieved in the ancient world before darkness descended with the coming of Middle Ages. It is no hardship either as the comfort of the boats used, the quality of the accommodation and excellent catering means you have a first class hotel on call wherever you go. All without having to pack and unpack and repack. Stress free all round.

Rating for tour operator:

They kept us well informed before hand about the tour.The descriptions given in the brochures and web site are accurate and not misleading at all. They answer any questions quickly and accurately and provide value for money. What more could you ask for?

Cruising to the Cyclades by Jeanie, 28 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful mix of Ancient History, Relaxation & Entertainment

We have been on several Peter Sommer holidays now and find them the perfect mix of archaeology and ancient history (our hobby and passion) as well as a wonderful opportunity to relax. The tours are excellently planned to the finest detail and orchestrated by incredibly well-informed, entertaining tour guides.

We have been on several Peter Sommer holidays now and find them the perfect mix of archaeology and ancient history (our hobby and passion) as well as a wonderful opportunity to relax. The tours are excellently planned to the finest detail and orchestrated by incredibly well-informed, entertaining tour guides.

Rating for tour operator:

Administration is always excellent. The tours are well planned down to the smallest detail to ensure their clients get the most out of the trips. Great value for money.

Peter Sommer Travels by Robin, 24 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Lycian Coast of Turkey

Peter Sommer personally led our cruise around the Lycian Coast. He is an expert professional archaeologist and we could not have asked for a better guide and companion as we visited numerous ancient sites. A notewothy feature was that, when we went for a meal ashore, he always chose a really good restaurant and selected a delicious menu regardless of the cost. So often tour operators take their parties to expensive restaurants and then ...

Peter Sommer personally led our cruise around the Lycian Coast. He is an expert professional archaeologist and we could not have asked for a better guide and companion as we visited numerous ancient sites. A notewothy feature was that, when we went for a meal ashore, he always chose a really good restaurant and selected a delicious menu regardless of the cost. So often tour operators take their parties to expensive restaurants and then choose the cheapest possible set menu.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is a highly professional organisation. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone contemplating touring the ancient sites of the Meditterranean.

Peter Sommer Travels by LenDC2, 14 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous trip

We thoroughly enjoyed our one-week gulet trip along the Turquoise Coast of Turkey. The trip was fabulous - a perfect combination of sailing along beautiful coasts, swimming in secluded coves with truly turquoise water, eating three delicious meals every day, and hiking to an interesting archaeological site every day. Fellow travelers were very nice and guides and crew were excellent.

We thoroughly enjoyed our one-week gulet trip along the Turquoise Coast of Turkey. The trip was fabulous - a perfect combination of sailing along beautiful coasts, swimming in secluded coves with truly turquoise water, eating three delicious meals every day, and hiking to an interesting archaeological site every day. Fellow travelers were very nice and guides and crew were excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer and everyone who works for him and on the boat did everything to make this a superb trip.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Richard from Reading, 13 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Sublime Cyclades

A fantastic trip from Bodrum to Santorini and back on a Turkish gulet with a friendly crew and perhaps more important friendly fellow passengers. The best way to see the Greek Islands. A holiday that combines, phenomenally well researched and guided archaeology with gentle cruising, great local food (and wine) and swimming in isolated coves. My passion is the archaeology but the environment on the boat means you get the best of all worlds ...

A fantastic trip from Bodrum to Santorini and back on a Turkish gulet with a friendly crew and perhaps more important friendly fellow passengers. The best way to see the Greek Islands. A holiday that combines, phenomenally well researched and guided archaeology with gentle cruising, great local food (and wine) and swimming in isolated coves. My passion is the archaeology but the environment on the boat means you get the best of all worlds combining visits to great sites with relaxation and making new friends. Our guides Heinrich and Nota were friendly and knowledgeable about the islands, their history, culture and food! We've booked our next trip already, see you in Crete!

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing is too much trouble and everything seems to run seamlessly. I'm sure that involves a lot of hard work and experience behind the scenes. They provide lots of information prior to travel and will respond to queries and advise how best to add a few days on to your stay in say Athens or Istanbul. Having traveled with them several times now I know that they can be relied upon to go beyond what a customer should reasonably expect!

Peter Sommer Travels by CJD- NZ, 8 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Gulet Archeological Cruise of the Carian Coast, Turkey

We joined the gulet in Fetiye and cruised for 7 days, stopping every day at archeological sites. The sites varied in their degree of development and Peter's knowledge of the archeology and passion for the subject made the experience "come alive". He had an excellent assistant, Cem, and the crew were great. Superb Turkish meals were produced 3 times a day - you will not lose weight!! Carole Davies

We joined the gulet in Fetiye and cruised for 7 days, stopping every day at archeological sites. The sites varied in their degree of development and Peter's knowledge of the archeology and passion for the subject made the experience "come alive". He had an excellent assistant, Cem, and the crew were great. Superb Turkish meals were produced 3 times a day - you will not lose weight!! Carole Davies

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is a very knowledgeable archeologist, with a passion for his subject. As mentioned above he, his assistant Cem and the crew were marvellous.

Peter Sommer Travels by vickimm, 3 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Best of Holiday Times

I have experienced two of Peter Sommer's gulet trips in Turkey: one with Peter as host and the second with Michael and Cem as hosts. Each trip was a wonderful blend of caring and entertaining hosts that are first and foremost great storytellers; picturesque landscapes and seascapes, a variety of honey-pot and lost places and local delicious food and hospitality. In addition to the gullet trips, both holidays provided the opportunity for ...

I have experienced two of Peter Sommer's gulet trips in Turkey: one with Peter as host and the second with Michael and Cem as hosts. Each trip was a wonderful blend of caring and entertaining hosts that are first and foremost great storytellers; picturesque landscapes and seascapes, a variety of honey-pot and lost places and local delicious food and hospitality. In addition to the gullet trips, both holidays provided the opportunity for extensive extra travel in Turkey, which Peter Sommer Travels assisted with. I returned from these trips feeling renewed and full of energy.

Rating for tour operator:

I had a lot of direct dealings with Peter in the organisation of both trips. Nothing was every too much trouble and Peter and his office and tour staff were always extremely professional. The additional service provided to recommend other places to visit in Turkey and with organising local flights, accommodation and hire cars was seamless.

Cruising the Amalfi Coast by Montana Linda, 1 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful educational/sailing adventure

First trip: learning about and sailing the Dodecanese with Peter Sommer was amazing. Knowledgeable guide Heinrich who has excellent people skills and helped us discover ancient Greek sites. Small sailing boat with great accomodations and fabulous local food. Second trip: Learning about the Southern Coast of Italy and sailing the Amalfi Coast with Peter Sommer. Michael, a knowlegeable guide was so helpful when touring Pompei and other ancient ...

First trip: learning about and sailing the Dodecanese with Peter Sommer was amazing. Knowledgeable guide Heinrich who has excellent people skills and helped us discover ancient Greek sites. Small sailing boat with great accomodations and fabulous local food. Second trip: Learning about the Southern Coast of Italy and sailing the Amalfi Coast with Peter Sommer. Michael, a knowlegeable guide was so helpful when touring Pompei and other ancient sites, Baia and Capri. Great accomodations on a small sailing boat, with wonderful local Italian food.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is most helpful when planning and executing a trip. He has wonderful choices and tours and is available to answer any questions and advice for travel. His tour guides have PhD's in ancient history and are so knowlegeable. Local guides are also excellent. A first class experience. We have done two tours with Peter Sommer and plan to do more.

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by Matthew from Australia, 28 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Extraordinary - ancient history meets modernity

We travelled in Turkey with Peter in late April and early May 2013 - in the footsteps of Alexander the Great. Peter's seemingly limitless knowledge of Alexander and his conquests, combined with the delights of Turkey - food, weather, history etc, made for a wonderful holiday which we are eager to repeat as soon as we can.

We travelled in Turkey with Peter in late April and early May 2013 - in the footsteps of Alexander the Great. Peter's seemingly limitless knowledge of Alexander and his conquests, combined with the delights of Turkey - food, weather, history etc, made for a wonderful holiday which we are eager to repeat as soon as we can.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer combines the best aspects of what you might seek in a tour guide. He is warm and friendly and, as an archeologist, he has a vast knowledge of the ancient world and an infectious enthusiasm for relating that. And the tour was incredibly well-organised. We could not recommend Peter and his company (Peter Sommer Travels) highly enough. If you are looking to travel with a small group of like-minded people and experience the best of small group travel, you should look no further than Peter Sommer Travels.

Cruising to Ephesus by SimonT, 26 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Relaxing, informative and delicious

We went on an archaeological tour of part of Turkey's coastline by boat. Very comfortable accommodation on board, delicious food, a well thought-through itinerary and led by a knowledgeable archaeologist and tour guide.

We went on an archaeological tour of part of Turkey's coastline by boat. Very comfortable accommodation on board, delicious food, a well thought-through itinerary and led by a knowledgeable archaeologist and tour guide.

Rating for tour operator:

Every aspect of the holiday seemed well planned from the pre-tour reading list to the transfers.