AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 499
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 500
Reviews Accepted: 499
Reviews Rejected: 1
499 reviews
Sort by:
Walking and Cruising Dalmatia by Charles, 4 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fun and educational

The people at Peter Sommer Travels worked closely with us before the trip, previewing and explaining everything. Ours was an "archeology-theme" trip, our guide was a doctoral student in Ancient Classics at the University of Zagreb, and his descriptions of the sites we visited were superb. The Turkish gulet was a fun way to cruise, the crew was friendly, and the food was good. There were only six of us guests, and everybody felt like we received ...

The people at Peter Sommer Travels worked closely with us before the trip, previewing and explaining everything. Ours was an "archeology-theme" trip, our guide was a doctoral student in Ancient Classics at the University of Zagreb, and his descriptions of the sites we visited were superb. The Turkish gulet was a fun way to cruise, the crew was friendly, and the food was good. There were only six of us guests, and everybody felt like we received a customized tour. I would go on another Peter Sommers trip to a different part of the world.

Rating for tour operator:

A Peter Sommers staff person called us in the U.S. from London several times, and she answered all of our questions until we were comfortable in committing to the trip. She also recommended a land tour operator for tours before and after the cruise who was also excellent. The entire experience could not have been better arranged or conducted.

Cruising to the Cyclades by happy traveller, 2 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

a brilliant and magical Greek islands tour

Wonderful accommodation, amazing sights both land and seascapes, and beautiful objects in museums and on archaeological sites. Our guide brought these vividly to life. We covered a lot of ground, but the holiday felt relaxed. Food and drink were completely delicious. Swimming in the Mediterranean was a joy.

Wonderful accommodation, amazing sights both land and seascapes, and beautiful objects in museums and on archaeological sites. Our guide brought these vividly to life. We covered a lot of ground, but the holiday felt relaxed. Food and drink were completely delicious. Swimming in the Mediterranean was a joy.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels was excellent from start to finish. We had very good pre-holiday info, and were looked after wonderfully from the moment we were met at Bodrum Airport.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by jim, 31 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

perfect

we were on a 14 day gullet trip on the Turkish coast with Peter Sommer as our guide. Every day Peter planned a different walk. Some were long and some short but in very walk we learned about ancient civilizations, their tombs, their theatres and how they lived 2000 years ago or more. I spent three enjoyable days just staying on the gullet . Each day a new secret cove was found for swimming and relaxing. Or we could just sit on the deck , have ...

we were on a 14 day gullet trip on the Turkish coast with Peter Sommer as our guide. Every day Peter planned a different walk. Some were long and some short but in very walk we learned about ancient civilizations, their tombs, their theatres and how they lived 2000 years ago or more. I spent three enjoyable days just staying on the gullet . Each day a new secret cove was found for swimming and relaxing. Or we could just sit on the deck , have a beer and have time to read a few books that I brought with me. It was a great experience and we fond the people of Turkey to be wonderful.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter and his pal organized each day to perfection. Everything went smoothly, right on time and I think the 14 passengers on board all raved about our tour operator as world class.

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Hugh , 28 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A combination of walking on and cruising around the Dodecanese

A delightful week’s cruise on a gulet around various of the Dodecanese islands, with daily guided walks to visit places of historical interest and to enjoy the varied countryside.

A delightful week’s cruise on a gulet around various of the Dodecanese islands, with daily guided walks to visit places of historical interest and to enjoy the varied countryside.

Rating for tour operator:

This was a very well planned and organised holiday, with a knowledgeable and friendly leader and local expert, on a well run gulet.

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Ursula, 28 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant combination of walking and island cruising

A very relaxing trip which combined sightseeing and walking in the Dodecanese with gulet cruising and swimming, not to mention delicious food both on and off the boat.

A very relaxing trip which combined sightseeing and walking in the Dodecanese with gulet cruising and swimming, not to mention delicious food both on and off the boat.

Rating for tour operator:

Two very knowledgeable and pleasant guides, one British and one Greek, who between them ensured the trip ran smoothly and provided as much information as we wanted on history, local customs etc

Gastronomic Gulet Cruise Croatia by WeeCanadianGirl, 25 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Everything I expected, and more!

As a somewhat overly cautious single traveller, I had been keeping an eye on the reviews for Peter Somers travels for some time before committing to a tour with them. Everything I was reading/researching was gushing with compliments. It was only after finally committing to do a culinary gulet tour in Croatia that I got firsthand experience as to why that was so. I had the opportunity to sail the Croatian coast for 8 days on one of the most ...

As a somewhat overly cautious single traveller, I had been keeping an eye on the reviews for Peter Somers travels for some time before committing to a tour with them. Everything I was reading/researching was gushing with compliments. It was only after finally committing to do a culinary gulet tour in Croatia that I got firsthand experience as to why that was so. I had the opportunity to sail the Croatian coast for 8 days on one of the most beautifully maintained sailboats, with an extremely attentive staff, a beautiful room, on-board meals to die for, and daily excursions with the most enthusiastic guide to explore the local foods and wines of the region. With a great group of fellow travellers, I couldn’t ask for more!

Rating for tour operator:

From the professional and very personal way I was treated in the booking process with the main office, to the fact that every single detail of our tour was so well thought out and balanced between amazingly unique experiences and relaxing time on the boat, it was all I could have hoped for in terms of value/high level of professionalism/service for the cost. Having been travelling the world for over 25 years and relying often on the services of small tour operators, never have I experienced one with the same extremely high level of service as Peter Somers in every facet of what they do. I only hope that I get the chance to do more tours with them in the future.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Chris H, 22 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A trip to be remembered

Swimming in crystal clear warm water, kayaking in beautiful bays, hiking on a variety of terrains with stunning valley and ocean views. Meeting the local people and learning about their way of life, culture and wonderful cuisine. Our guides Peter and Cem were extremely knowledgeable in the history, archaeology of the area and the gulet crew were very competent and hard working. Every member of the team worked well together and went out of ...

Swimming in crystal clear warm water, kayaking in beautiful bays, hiking on a variety of terrains with stunning valley and ocean views. Meeting the local people and learning about their way of life, culture and wonderful cuisine. Our guides Peter and Cem were extremely knowledgeable in the history, archaeology of the area and the gulet crew were very competent and hard working. Every member of the team worked well together and went out of their way to make our trip a wonderful experience. The gulet was beautifully maintained and the food on board was excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels were extremely thorough, efficient, knowledgeable and helpful in organizing our travel plans.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Patsy , 21 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A very polished and extremely informative and in parts relaxing experience

Loved walking and cruising the Lycian Shore . Walking somewhat limited for me due to very dodgy knees however Peter Sommers allayed my initial fears and I joined them on the easier walks. Peter and Cem his right hand man looked after me superbly. Life on the Gulet was very comfortable and every care taken to give us the best holiday . I didn’t want the holiday to end .

Loved walking and cruising the Lycian Shore . Walking somewhat limited for me due to very dodgy knees however Peter Sommers allayed my initial fears and I joined them on the easier walks. Peter and Cem his right hand man looked after me superbly. Life on the Gulet was very comfortable and every care taken to give us the best holiday . I didn’t want the holiday to end .

Rating for tour operator:

We first came across Peter Sommers Travel in The Oldie publication and in The Daily Telegraph newspaper. This is the second holiday with them and I hope plenty more. As a company they are outstanding.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Ancient Mariner, 21 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

The cruise of a lifetime. Everything was without doubt the best managed, best planned and executed holiday I have ever had

The cruise and walk along the Lycian Shore was everything and more that I had come to expect from Peter Somer and his outstanding team. The gulet was very good indeed and the food, served with unfailing cheerfulness by the highly efficient crew beyond praise. The itinerary was very well planned and the walks and places we visited conducted by Peter Somer himself was brilliantly explained by someone who clearly knew and was passionate about his ...

The cruise and walk along the Lycian Shore was everything and more that I had come to expect from Peter Somer and his outstanding team. The gulet was very good indeed and the food, served with unfailing cheerfulness by the highly efficient crew beyond praise. The itinerary was very well planned and the walks and places we visited conducted by Peter Somer himself was brilliantly explained by someone who clearly knew and was passionate about his subject. He was very ably supported by a hugely knowledgeable colleague who dealt with all the admin totally effectively. In short - the perfect way to visit such an amazing country.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Somer Travel are exceedingly efficient, their administration outstanding and their brochure and Pré-trip brief just what was required to enable clients to get the most out of their unique experience. Sadly my wife had a knee problem which meant that she could not do some of the more challenging walks however that did not faze the team at all and they made sure she was able to enjoy herself to the full which she certainly did. We cannot rate them highly enough and we are already planning what will be our third trip with Peter and his team.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Rob & Chris, 21 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A really memorable travel experience

A wonderful trip which we thoroughly enjoyed. The tour leader and guide were extremely professional, knowledgeable, helpful and full of infectious enthusiasm. Food was outstanding and a great example of local cuisine. The gulet crew were very hard working, helpful and their experience and knowledge of local conditions made for a very comfortable voyage.

A wonderful trip which we thoroughly enjoyed. The tour leader and guide were extremely professional, knowledgeable, helpful and full of infectious enthusiasm. Food was outstanding and a great example of local cuisine. The gulet crew were very hard working, helpful and their experience and knowledge of local conditions made for a very comfortable voyage.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels were very professional and extremely helpful. Their organisational skills were excellent and replies always prompt with helpful advice and information.