AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 657
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 659
Reviews Accepted: 659
Reviews Rejected: 0
659 reviews
Sort by:
A Gastronomic Tour of Sicily by Tom, 20 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

A Gastronomic Tour of Sicily

excellent mix of good food good drink history and local sites

excellent mix of good food good drink history and local sites

Rating for tour operator:

she is amazing and really raised the bar to outstanding

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Gretchen , 18 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Cruising and hiking the Lycian Way

2 weeks of wonder, both in in-depth history and archeology and meeting and making amazing friends.

2 weeks of wonder, both in in-depth history and archeology and meeting and making amazing friends.

Rating for tour operator:

What a great fortune to have Peter and Gem leading the group. If i can retain 5% of the knowledge and experience of those two, I’ll be happy. So much passion for what they bring to their guests.

A Gastronomic Gulet Cruise by David, 18 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Turkish Gastronomic Gulet Cruise

If you're looking for a nice balance of history, cuisine and relaxation this cruise achieves that. Our attentive crew and great chef provided a very pleasant onboard experience while our guide, Serdar, provided engaging activities while ensuring we still had time for our pre-dinner swim.

If you're looking for a nice balance of history, cuisine and relaxation this cruise achieves that. Our attentive crew and great chef provided a very pleasant onboard experience while our guide, Serdar, provided engaging activities while ensuring we still had time for our pre-dinner swim.

Rating for tour operator:

From our initial booking communication through to the cruise experience itself, we found a consistent attention to detail that ensured the cruise not only matched expectations but certainly exceeded them.

Cruising the Carian Coast - A2M by 80 year old experienced world traveler, 15 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous and fun, our one week archaeological cruise on Peter Sommer's "Crusing the Carion Coast" of SW Turkey

Virtually everything about this extremely well conceived and well-executed scholar-escorted Turkish gulet (luxury wooden yacht) was even better than anyone could realistically wish for. Can't wait to take another gulet cruise with Peter Sommer Scholar-Escorted small group (13 passengers) Tours. So relaxing, great crew and food, great swimming off the schooner in seclude coves, magnificent ancient Greek ruins to be explored, wonderful fellow ...

Virtually everything about this extremely well conceived and well-executed scholar-escorted Turkish gulet (luxury wooden yacht) was even better than anyone could realistically wish for. Can't wait to take another gulet cruise with Peter Sommer Scholar-Escorted small group (13 passengers) Tours. So relaxing, great crew and food, great swimming off the schooner in seclude coves, magnificent ancient Greek ruins to be explored, wonderful fellow passenger. Food was great, service was great, our double bed cabin with its private bathroom and good ventilation from two openable windows was comfortable There were 8 cabins on this particular gulet and the Turkish captain and crew. were greaqt

Rating for tour operator:

Stunningly well managed with superb quality control, great scholar-escorts and cruise personnel carefully selected...this was our second Peter Sommer scholar-escorted gulet cruise, both one week long, the first was 3 years ago along the Dalmatian Coast of Croatia.

Peter Sommer Travels by Jx, 14 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Amazing cultural, culinary and relaxing holiday

A gulet tour around the beautiful Turkish coastline accompanied by excellent guides and crew who catered for our every need.

A gulet tour around the beautiful Turkish coastline accompanied by excellent guides and crew who catered for our every need.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer was very professional, extremely helpful and friendly tailoring our cruise to cater for all our needs

Peter Sommer Travels by grandparent, 12 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

private cruise and family celebration

Family celebration on a Gulet cruise Our family includes 14 members in three generations, living on three continents. The 50th anniversary of our wedding this year called for a special celebration with the entire family. My wife and I had made excellent experience in 2021 on a Peter Sommer Travels gullet cruise in Turkey. The idea to celebrate our anniversary on a similar private cruise matured and in July we organised with the help ...

Family celebration on a Gulet cruise Our family includes 14 members in three generations, living on three continents. The 50th anniversary of our wedding this year called for a special celebration with the entire family. My wife and I had made excellent experience in 2021 on a Peter Sommer Travels gullet cruise in Turkey. The idea to celebrate our anniversary on a similar private cruise matured and in July we organised with the help of Peter Sommer a one week cruise with all members of the family. Our expectations were high and they were not only met but exceeded. Peter Sommer Travel organised the Trip perfectly, the gulet was comfortable and very well equipped, had a highly professional and welcoming crew of 7 including an excellent chef who provided 3 meals per day as well as regular snacks of high quality every day. The Peter Sommer Travels manager on board, Cem, was extremely helpful and committed to make the cruise enjoyable for everybody, and the archaeologist on board, Heinrich, organised the archaeological excursions with competence and dedication. The anchoring each evening t in beautiful bays was appreciated by everyone and provided ample opportunities for a wide range of water sports in the sea. The crew organised a wonderful party on the day of our anniversary with delightful meals and decoration. We all will remember this cruise and celebration as the special occasion we had in mind.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator was very helpful right from the beginning of the planning and throughout the cruise. The tour manager and the on board were essential for the overall great success of the cruise.archaeologist

Walking and Cruising the Carian by Lizzie, 11 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking & culture on a wonderful gulet trip in SW Turkey

A great way of exploring a relatively deserted coastline with history, hiking, swimming & excellent food thrown in.

A great way of exploring a relatively deserted coastline with history, hiking, swimming & excellent food thrown in.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels provides excellent personal and friendly service from initial booking enquiry through all aspects of the trip, including excellent leaders and staff on the gulet.

Walking and Cruising the Carian by Steve, 11 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Excellent gulet trip in South West Turkey

The holiday provided a highly enjoyable means of exploring a relatively deserted coastline, based on a comfortable gulet with excellent food and swimming opportunities but with the added interest of hikes of 3-4 hours a day, including visits to archaeological and historical sites.

The holiday provided a highly enjoyable means of exploring a relatively deserted coastline, based on a comfortable gulet with excellent food and swimming opportunities but with the added interest of hikes of 3-4 hours a day, including visits to archaeological and historical sites.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels has been a consistently excellent provider of cultural tours for small groups - I have now been on 5 holidays with them, either cruising or cruising/walking in South West Turkey or the Dodecanese, and have greatly enjoyed them all.

Cruising to Ephesus by Helen, 11 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Superb gulet trip cruising to Ephesus

What a wonderful trip! I loved being on the gulet cruising along the coast. The whole experience - the amazing sights, the knowledgeable guides, the delicious food, the good company, the lovely weather and the beautiful boat - made for a delightful 7 days.

What a wonderful trip! I loved being on the gulet cruising along the coast. The whole experience - the amazing sights, the knowledgeable guides, the delicious food, the good company, the lovely weather and the beautiful boat - made for a delightful 7 days.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers gives a personal, well organised and very professional service. I couldn’t fault them.

Cruising to Ephesus by BluAgave, 9 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fun and education on the Aegan

We had 7 fun and educational-filled days cruising from Bodrum to Ephesus on a lovely wooden gulet with 14 other like-minded people. The accommodations and meals were excellent, and the hardworking crew ensured that our every need was met. The tours to various archaeological sites exceded my expectations so much so that I wanted more time at each site. I appreciated having a subject matter expert guiding us through the sites; his outstanding ...

We had 7 fun and educational-filled days cruising from Bodrum to Ephesus on a lovely wooden gulet with 14 other like-minded people. The accommodations and meals were excellent, and the hardworking crew ensured that our every need was met. The tours to various archaeological sites exceded my expectations so much so that I wanted more time at each site. I appreciated having a subject matter expert guiding us through the sites; his outstanding knowledge was enhanced by his theatrical presentation style. The local Turkish tour leader was an invaluable source of information about the country and bent over backwards to accommodate his guests. This was a thoroughly enjoyable trip that I highly recommend to able-bodied folks interested in history and archaeology who are looking for a small cruise, instead of a floating city.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is an excellent tour operator with a nice selection of inviting holidays. The information provided at every stage of the process was comprehensive without being overwhelming. They made it easy to book the holiday. I highly recommend this operator.