AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 612
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 614
Reviews Accepted: 614
Reviews Rejected: 0
614 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising the Lycian Shore by ace of spades, 9 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Quest fulfilled

This was my 4th trip to Turkey. Turkey does not disappoint in it's varied and extensive history. I love learning and this trip offered that plus beautiful scenery and the lovely turquoise waters I had heard so much about. My mornings were spent reading about the history of the area. The food was amazing and I loved every dish! Each of the historical sites offered something a little different. What a Joy my trip was!

This was my 4th trip to Turkey. Turkey does not disappoint in it's varied and extensive history. I love learning and this trip offered that plus beautiful scenery and the lovely turquoise waters I had heard so much about. My mornings were spent reading about the history of the area. The food was amazing and I loved every dish! Each of the historical sites offered something a little different. What a Joy my trip was!

Rating for tour operator:

If your passion is a mix of travel, history, beautiful scenery, and good food then Peter Sommer Travel will fulfill your quest. I was on the tour: Cruising the Lycian Shore. Our archeologist Richard Bayliss helped us to imagine what life was like 2,000 years ago while the Captain and his crew made sure we were well fed with traditional Turkish dishes and could enjoy the turquoise waters in the scenic coves of the Mediterranean.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Craig, 8 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Time Cruising the Lycian Coast

We did a small boat (Gulet) tour of the Lycian coast in Turkey. It was an amazing time that I will never forget. I know how much work it takes to make these experiences look so easy. Our guides were excellent, the food quality was high, and the boat crew took very good care of us. We also really enjoyed all the stops along the way - the views were stunning and the archaeology sites were impressive. I just can't say enough good things about ...

We did a small boat (Gulet) tour of the Lycian coast in Turkey. It was an amazing time that I will never forget. I know how much work it takes to make these experiences look so easy. Our guides were excellent, the food quality was high, and the boat crew took very good care of us. We also really enjoyed all the stops along the way - the views were stunning and the archaeology sites were impressive. I just can't say enough good things about this tour. I would use this tour company again.

Rating for tour operator:

The guides and crew all went above and beyond to take care of us. They coordinated everything flawlessly and even helped me get a haircut in port.

Peter Sommer Travels by cgsquared, 8 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely wonderful experience for the whole family

Our group ranged in age from 10 to 83, and everyone loved every minute of it. Philip and Chem were outstanding as guides, and the crew of the ship was friendly and helpful at all times. We loved the accommodations and the informative tours. Food was also delicious.

Our group ranged in age from 10 to 83, and everyone loved every minute of it. Philip and Chem were outstanding as guides, and the crew of the ship was friendly and helpful at all times. We loved the accommodations and the informative tours. Food was also delicious.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything went smoothly from start to finish. The guides were particularly outstanding. Philip was excellent with the two kids, particularly the 10-year-old, engaging them in the historical discussions.

A Gastronomic Gulet Cruise by Fulhamfan, 7 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Gastronomic and Archeological Gulet Tour on the Gorgeous Coast of Turkey

Cruising for seven days along the tranquil azure colored coast of Turkey and encountering unexpected gastronomic and archeological delights at every turn was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Our lovely expert guide Serdar can only be described as a Turkish National Treasure! Serdar's extensive knowledge of Turkish history, culinary arts, archeological sites, and coastal geography was second to none. I cannot express enough in words how ...

Cruising for seven days along the tranquil azure colored coast of Turkey and encountering unexpected gastronomic and archeological delights at every turn was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Our lovely expert guide Serdar can only be described as a Turkish National Treasure! Serdar's extensive knowledge of Turkish history, culinary arts, archeological sites, and coastal geography was second to none. I cannot express enough in words how much this gentle and thoughtful man is utterly filled with knowledge and experiences regarding his beautiful country. From his 40-plus years as an archeologist working in various sites along the Turkish Coast, Serdar was able to introduce us to small non-touristy villages, breathtaking hiking trails, family-owned restaurants serving absolutely delicious Turkish food, and undiscovered and rarely visited archeological sites. Did I mention the delicious Turkish food?! We were treated daily to the most amazing Turkish meals and received personalized cooking classes from our talented cruise chef, family-owned village restaurants, and village homes. All these experiences were shared with the other lovely tour guests with whom we thoroughly enjoyed their company.

Rating for tour operator:

Wonderful organizational skills and timely-helpful communication.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Ms B M 22, 6 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Traveling in the Aegean Sea

We waited 2 1/2 years for this trip!

We waited 2 1/2 years for this trip!

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful

Cruising to the Cyclades by Tom , 6 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Trip of a lifetime

Great guides, fabulous boat, great food, excellent itinerary. Well worth 2year Covid delay.

Great guides, fabulous boat, great food, excellent itinerary. Well worth 2year Covid delay.

Rating for tour operator:

Well planned. Expertise of guides Heinrich and Maria was exceptional

Cruising the Carian Coast - M2A by pip, 4 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely Outstanding

A wonderful tour of archeological sites along the stunning remote Carian coast based aboard a beautiful elegant comfortable wooden gulet. Our guide's enthusiasm and knowledge brought these ancient places to life and left us all wanting to explore more. We travelled along the coast mooring in remote coves where we could swim, kayak or just relax. The food was delicious. I honestly couldn't recommend this trip too highly and will be booking another ...

A wonderful tour of archeological sites along the stunning remote Carian coast based aboard a beautiful elegant comfortable wooden gulet. Our guide's enthusiasm and knowledge brought these ancient places to life and left us all wanting to explore more. We travelled along the coast mooring in remote coves where we could swim, kayak or just relax. The food was delicious. I honestly couldn't recommend this trip too highly and will be booking another Peter Sommer adventure next year.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent in all respects from initial contact through booking ,transfers, general organisation. Easy to contact, efficient and friendly!

Cruising to Ephesus by SMM, 4 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Cruising to Ephesos

We enjoyed an exquisite immersion into ancient Greek and Carian sites, a fabulous gulet and Aegean experience and a wonderful cultural and culinary "deep dive."

We enjoyed an exquisite immersion into ancient Greek and Carian sites, a fabulous gulet and Aegean experience and a wonderful cultural and culinary "deep dive."

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer did an excellent job, start to finish. Our guide and all staff were super organised, caring and helpful. We wanted for nothing! We'll be travelling with PS again next year.

Cruising the Carian Coast - M2A by ASF, 4 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Life and Times of in BC Mediterranean

A wonderful historical journey through BC Mediterranean times which was well presented and balanced with other activities as we progress through the tour.

A wonderful historical journey through BC Mediterranean times which was well presented and balanced with other activities as we progress through the tour.

Rating for tour operator:

Top shelf. We are planning on another tour as soon as we can

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by santclan, 3 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wow!

From Wallsend to Maryport there was hardly any stopping! We learned, we explored, we walked, and we learned while we were entertained again and again. For us, Julie Siblie has been the face (or more accurately the e-voice) of Peter Sommer Travels. From our initial trepidatious inquiries about walking the entire length of Hadrian’s Wall in 2016, to our original booking in 2019, to finally being able to travel in June 2022, both she and Peter ...

From Wallsend to Maryport there was hardly any stopping! We learned, we explored, we walked, and we learned while we were entertained again and again. For us, Julie Siblie has been the face (or more accurately the e-voice) of Peter Sommer Travels. From our initial trepidatious inquiries about walking the entire length of Hadrian’s Wall in 2016, to our original booking in 2019, to finally being able to travel in June 2022, both she and Peter (himself!) hung in with us! 
This summer we were picked up from (and returned to) the Newcastle airport, and spent an action-packed week learning as much as we could possibly absorb about the impact of Rome on England! Paul Baston is an incredibly knowledgeable guide - and totally brought alive life in those times. His initial orientation to the wall and how Roman fortifications are set up (in Wallsend), to the final iteration of the wall’s structure later (in Maryport) were linear and easy to absorb. There were several times I had to step back and watch how his "showmanship" was impacting our group - how everyone was hanging on to his every word in anticipation of the "rest of the story!” The help and behind-the-scenes coordination of the ever-faithful Sam was much noticed and appreciated by the entire tour group. We traveled first to our charming lodgings in a medieval monastery (the Lord Crewe Arms in the small town of Blanchland), in the middle of verdant fields filled with sheep. Our room was cozy - and could hardly have been more accommodating - with tea (!!), coffee, cookies, and brownies replaced as needed - in addition to all the usual toiletries and accessories. And while there was even a fireplace in the room, we learned how to run a wall radiator! I ask myself WHY oh why did we wait ’til the end of our time there to tour the Abbey at Blanchford when it was immediately adjacent to the hotel??
 Every day the scenery was amazing - and the walks were neither too far nor too long: but walk we did! (My personal favorite was walking along and between the wall and green sheep pastures in Brampton - although the day we spent walking some 5 miles along the wall - passing the Sycamore Tree was a close second.) We spent a week touring and learning not only about Hadrian’s wall, but touring an active archeological site (with its display of single shoes!) in Vindolanda & Hexham as well as touring an incredible castle in Bamburgh (I wonder if Peter arranged for the bagpipes and dog show just for us!) - that is still occupied by its owners! The food. Oh, my goodness - I don’t know how others did it - but we could not eat every meal! Breakfast at the Lord Crewe was tasty and contented us through to dinner - but of course we had lunch as well! “If you feed them, they will be happy” - and we most certainly were! (Did I mention the Beef Suet Pudding with Sticky Toffee Sauce?)

Rating for tour operator:

Paul is an incredibly knowledgeable guide - and totally brought alive life in those times. His initial orientation to the wall and how Roman fortifications are set up (in Wallsend), to the final iteration of the wall’s structure later (in Maryport) were linear and easy to absorb.