AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 657
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 659
Reviews Accepted: 659
Reviews Rejected: 0
659 reviews
Sort by:
Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Friend of the world , 9 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Turkey the Lycian way

A grand experience Combining history, exercise, and fabulous Food! A must for anyone of any age that an interest in world History seeing what had been accomplished thousands Of years ago was breathtaking! You can read about it but seeing is certainly best! This is our third time with the Peter Sommers group Put this on your ten things to do before you die list!

A grand experience Combining history, exercise, and fabulous Food! A must for anyone of any age that an interest in world History seeing what had been accomplished thousands Of years ago was breathtaking! You can read about it but seeing is certainly best! This is our third time with the Peter Sommers group Put this on your ten things to do before you die list!

Rating for tour operator:

This time we had Peter himself on board And now I see why everyone we had before Were so good! They learned from the best he is History knowledgeable Smart with hospitality and humility

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Bob, 7 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking and Gulet Cruising Lycia with History and Culture Experts

The trip was an ideal balance of meals and leisure on a gulet, with daytime hiking adventures to ruins and villages, frequently off the beaten path. Our tour guide, Peter Sommer, brought his knowledge and experience in Turkey to lead us through. The “local” (highly educated and professional) guide is a perfect partner with Peter and added more perspective on culture, language and food - and some entertaining stories. The small group size ...

The trip was an ideal balance of meals and leisure on a gulet, with daytime hiking adventures to ruins and villages, frequently off the beaten path. Our tour guide, Peter Sommer, brought his knowledge and experience in Turkey to lead us through. The “local” (highly educated and professional) guide is a perfect partner with Peter and added more perspective on culture, language and food - and some entertaining stories. The small group size of 10 guests made for super comfortable dynamics around dining, communication, traveling about, etc. Organization was seamless in making a couple of itinerary adjustments due to weather and hiking conditions. Food was fresh and diverse, representing Turkey and Mediterranean diet. Plenty of time planned for swimming in lovely moorages.

Rating for tour operator:

Attention to detail is obvious in all aspects of booking and tour conduct. Deep knowledge of and passion for the culture, language and history made the experience an education as well as a vacation. Highly professional, while also casual and comfortable. Our dining table felt like a (good) family gathering every day.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Ellen, 31 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring the Peloponnese

An absolutely amazing 2 week journey of the archeological history of the Peloponnese, including Sparta, ancient Olympia, Mycenae, the monestary of Agios Ioannis Prodromos built high into the cliffs of the Arcadia mountains, Monemvasia and many other UNESCO world heritage sights. The entire itinerary was so well planned & we were all so well cared for. I have already recommended this trip to several friends.

An absolutely amazing 2 week journey of the archeological history of the Peloponnese, including Sparta, ancient Olympia, Mycenae, the monestary of Agios Ioannis Prodromos built high into the cliffs of the Arcadia mountains, Monemvasia and many other UNESCO world heritage sights. The entire itinerary was so well planned & we were all so well cared for. I have already recommended this trip to several friends.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour guides, Heinrich Hall and Nota Karamaouna, are both archeologist & content experts. Both are warm, thoughtful & generous with their time, energy and immense knowledge.

Cruising to Ephesus by Pypo, 31 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

A very rewarding experience

Excellent communication with the tour operator. Beautiful Turkish gulet with comfortable accommodation and a great chef. Wondrous Turkish sites visited. Fabulous weather.

Excellent communication with the tour operator. Beautiful Turkish gulet with comfortable accommodation and a great chef. Wondrous Turkish sites visited. Fabulous weather.

Rating for tour operator:

Professional and highly competent. One feels that Peter Sommer and his colleagues genuinely want their customers to have the times of their lives.

From Kos to Patmos by Stuart E, 31 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Aegean Gulet cruise

A great experience with a small passenger group, filled with ancient Greek history, brilliantly explained by our resident archaeologists. The crew were very professional and attentive complimented by excellent food on board. Would thoroughly recommend this tour.

A great experience with a small passenger group, filled with ancient Greek history, brilliantly explained by our resident archaeologists. The crew were very professional and attentive complimented by excellent food on board. Would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and professional, with prompt communication.

From Kos to Patmos by A & Stu, 29 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Holiday Cruising Kos to Patmos

This cruise embodied a perfect balance of relaxation, amazing scenery, culture, historical education and great varieties of cuisine. With only ten passengers, two archeologists as our tour guides and a small crew who were responsive to our every need, this trip definitely ticks all the boxes.

This cruise embodied a perfect balance of relaxation, amazing scenery, culture, historical education and great varieties of cuisine. With only ten passengers, two archeologists as our tour guides and a small crew who were responsive to our every need, this trip definitely ticks all the boxes.

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional and organised. We were pleased that the original price was honoured from our 2019 booking.

Cruising to the Cyclades by CTS, 27 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Blissful!

It was a perfect combination of intellectual, aesthetic, sensual and physical experiences. The very knowledgeable guides who were with us throughout the trip brought the history and culture of the Aegean islands alive, the range of activities was excellent, the scenery was breathtaking, swimming in the Aegean was magical, and the boat was very comfortable.

It was a perfect combination of intellectual, aesthetic, sensual and physical experiences. The very knowledgeable guides who were with us throughout the trip brought the history and culture of the Aegean islands alive, the range of activities was excellent, the scenery was breathtaking, swimming in the Aegean was magical, and the boat was very comfortable.

Rating for tour operator:

We were incredibly well cared for! Logistics were smooth, transfers reliable, and EVERYTHING was included in the package cost, including not just meals, but generous amounts of wine.

From Kos to Patmos by Lenore D., 24 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

A True Dream!

From swimming in the perfect blue waters in quiet coves in the South Aegean to listening, wrapt, to our archeologist guides spin history into living tales, this was a magnificent trip! Our boat's captain was also an excellent chef and delighted us with beautifully prepared Turkish cuisine and other specialties. The crew took great care of us, and the atmosphere among guests on board was congenial and convivial.

From swimming in the perfect blue waters in quiet coves in the South Aegean to listening, wrapt, to our archeologist guides spin history into living tales, this was a magnificent trip! Our boat's captain was also an excellent chef and delighted us with beautifully prepared Turkish cuisine and other specialties. The crew took great care of us, and the atmosphere among guests on board was congenial and convivial.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers team thoughtfully prepared a wonderful itinerary and all the practical arrangements seamlessly. Excellent communication and very helpful throughout.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by 'Captain', 23 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Without doubt the best conceived, organised, planned and run I have ever experienced by clearly highly experienced professionals

A highly organised and well planned cruise by a real archeological expert who clearly loves his subject along the Turkish Coast that took in extraordinary archeological sites liberally interspersed with downtime for swimming and good food. From the outstandingly clean, well run gulet with a very welcoming and friendly captain and crew and fed by an outstanding Turkish chef to our mentor and guide Peter Sommer who gave unstintingly of his unique ...

A highly organised and well planned cruise by a real archeological expert who clearly loves his subject along the Turkish Coast that took in extraordinary archeological sites liberally interspersed with downtime for swimming and good food. From the outstandingly clean, well run gulet with a very welcoming and friendly captain and crew and fed by an outstanding Turkish chef to our mentor and guide Peter Sommer who gave unstintingly of his unique knowledge and scholarship at all the very well chosen and planned walks of exploration and discovery. This is the third trip I have experienced with Peter Sommer Travels and all have been outstanding but this one surpasses them not least because of how very well it was planned and tuned to cater for all of us. From our well chosen nightly mooring places to the arrangements ashore and the people we met everything worked without a hitch and was part of the unique and fabulous experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels are outstanding. Highly professional, very flexible, always ready to answer questions and utterly reliable in every way - from booking through travel arrangements, detailed organisation, standard of all personnel and outstanding expertise and scholarship invariably delivered on sites with verve, humour and knowledge. Peter's ability to finely judge his tour party's ability to 'keep up' and enjoy everywhere we went was outstanding. Everything we were promised in his brochure was more than just delivered - it was very much exceeded. I cannot rate this operator highly enough. I cannot wait to go again!

Cruising the Dodecanese by Dick and Jane from Houston, 22 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Great Gulet tour of the Dodecanese islands

Two-week gulet tour of the Dodecanese islands with excellent guides and great food.

Two-week gulet tour of the Dodecanese islands with excellent guides and great food.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Somers attracts highly educated tour guides who care deeply about their clients and the quality of the excursion. As a result, the clients they attract are themselves highly accomplished and interesting and flexible to the vicissitudes of international travel in this region.