AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 481
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 482
Reviews Accepted: 481
Reviews Rejected: 1
481 reviews
Sort by:
Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Ursula, 28 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant combination of walking and island cruising

A very relaxing trip which combined sightseeing and walking in the Dodecanese with gulet cruising and swimming, not to mention delicious food both on and off the boat.

A very relaxing trip which combined sightseeing and walking in the Dodecanese with gulet cruising and swimming, not to mention delicious food both on and off the boat.

Rating for tour operator:

Two very knowledgeable and pleasant guides, one British and one Greek, who between them ensured the trip ran smoothly and provided as much information as we wanted on history, local customs etc

Gastronomic Gulet Cruise Croatia by WeeCanadianGirl, 25 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Everything I expected, and more!

As a somewhat overly cautious single traveller, I had been keeping an eye on the reviews for Peter Somers travels for some time before committing to a tour with them. Everything I was reading/researching was gushing with compliments. It was only after finally committing to do a culinary gulet tour in Croatia that I got firsthand experience as to why that was so. I had the opportunity to sail the Croatian coast for 8 days on one of the most ...

As a somewhat overly cautious single traveller, I had been keeping an eye on the reviews for Peter Somers travels for some time before committing to a tour with them. Everything I was reading/researching was gushing with compliments. It was only after finally committing to do a culinary gulet tour in Croatia that I got firsthand experience as to why that was so. I had the opportunity to sail the Croatian coast for 8 days on one of the most beautifully maintained sailboats, with an extremely attentive staff, a beautiful room, on-board meals to die for, and daily excursions with the most enthusiastic guide to explore the local foods and wines of the region. With a great group of fellow travellers, I couldn’t ask for more!

Rating for tour operator:

From the professional and very personal way I was treated in the booking process with the main office, to the fact that every single detail of our tour was so well thought out and balanced between amazingly unique experiences and relaxing time on the boat, it was all I could have hoped for in terms of value/high level of professionalism/service for the cost. Having been travelling the world for over 25 years and relying often on the services of small tour operators, never have I experienced one with the same extremely high level of service as Peter Somers in every facet of what they do. I only hope that I get the chance to do more tours with them in the future.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Ancient Mariner, 21 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

The cruise of a lifetime. Everything was without doubt the best managed, best planned and executed holiday I have ever had

The cruise and walk along the Lycian Shore was everything and more that I had come to expect from Peter Somer and his outstanding team. The gulet was very good indeed and the food, served with unfailing cheerfulness by the highly efficient crew beyond praise. The itinerary was very well planned and the walks and places we visited conducted by Peter Somer himself was brilliantly explained by someone who clearly knew and was passionate about his ...

The cruise and walk along the Lycian Shore was everything and more that I had come to expect from Peter Somer and his outstanding team. The gulet was very good indeed and the food, served with unfailing cheerfulness by the highly efficient crew beyond praise. The itinerary was very well planned and the walks and places we visited conducted by Peter Somer himself was brilliantly explained by someone who clearly knew and was passionate about his subject. He was very ably supported by a hugely knowledgeable colleague who dealt with all the admin totally effectively. In short - the perfect way to visit such an amazing country.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Somer Travel are exceedingly efficient, their administration outstanding and their brochure and Pré-trip brief just what was required to enable clients to get the most out of their unique experience. Sadly my wife had a knee problem which meant that she could not do some of the more challenging walks however that did not faze the team at all and they made sure she was able to enjoy herself to the full which she certainly did. We cannot rate them highly enough and we are already planning what will be our third trip with Peter and his team.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Rob & Chris, 21 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A really memorable travel experience

A wonderful trip which we thoroughly enjoyed. The tour leader and guide were extremely professional, knowledgeable, helpful and full of infectious enthusiasm. Food was outstanding and a great example of local cuisine. The gulet crew were very hard working, helpful and their experience and knowledge of local conditions made for a very comfortable voyage.

A wonderful trip which we thoroughly enjoyed. The tour leader and guide were extremely professional, knowledgeable, helpful and full of infectious enthusiasm. Food was outstanding and a great example of local cuisine. The gulet crew were very hard working, helpful and their experience and knowledge of local conditions made for a very comfortable voyage.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels were very professional and extremely helpful. Their organisational skills were excellent and replies always prompt with helpful advice and information.

Cruising the Carian Coast - M2A by Fair weather sailor, 18 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Lovely gulet trip

A week of life on board, being wonderfully well looked after by a great crew and an expert tour manager. Swimming and cruising in beautifully clear seas, interspersed with delicious meals. Archeological walks with a real enthusiast made each day different and were interesting and expert.

A week of life on board, being wonderfully well looked after by a great crew and an expert tour manager. Swimming and cruising in beautifully clear seas, interspersed with delicious meals. Archeological walks with a real enthusiast made each day different and were interesting and expert.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was very well organised and we had a superb tour manager and expert guide.

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by Mrs J G 19, 18 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Much more than expected

Relaxing but educational archealogical tour. . Fabulous food, it was all genuine Turkish. The swimming was superb. Each site was different and we came away with a real appreciation and understanding of the ancients. Throughly enjoyed the entire experience.

Relaxing but educational archealogical tour. . Fabulous food, it was all genuine Turkish. The swimming was superb. Each site was different and we came away with a real appreciation and understanding of the ancients. Throughly enjoyed the entire experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything ran smoothly. Nothing was too much trouble. The information given on site was interesting . Great sense of humour and patience. Both guide and assistant were really helpful when we faced challenging walks up some sites.

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by MikeG, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic, sun and water, great people, and expert archeological guides and site visits.

The 10 cabin gullet sail boat with 15 guests was roomy and comfortable, interesting and friendly people to socialise with, great food, and daily land excursions to amazing archeological sites with a true expert guide. We have already booked another trip with Peter Sommer’s company for next year, this time travelling through the south eastern Greece Islands. Whether you like swimming in warm crystal clear water, stimulating conversation with ...

The 10 cabin gullet sail boat with 15 guests was roomy and comfortable, interesting and friendly people to socialise with, great food, and daily land excursions to amazing archeological sites with a true expert guide. We have already booked another trip with Peter Sommer’s company for next year, this time travelling through the south eastern Greece Islands. Whether you like swimming in warm crystal clear water, stimulating conversation with interesting people, walking through amazing sites occupied by various civilisations that lived between 1,800BC to 500AD, or all the above, then this is for you.

Rating for tour operator:

We were well looked after by the operator, from being collected from the hotel, to drop off at the airport at the end of the holiday. Our comfort and safety was top priority, and from the information shared by our archeological guide he proved himself to be beyond doubt an expert in his field.

Cruising to Ephesus by Xerxes991, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Intellectually exhilarating...and lots of fun, friendship and good living

The cruise was all we hoped it would be - a lovely cruise along the Turkish coast in a gorgeous gulet, with visits to archaeological sites that would have been difficult for us to see any other way. And all in the excellent company of a small group of like-minded fellow passengers from around the world. Perhaps best of all was the leadership and knowledge of Olivier, our amazing and enthusiastic archaeologist, supported by Ugur, the Tour Manager...

The cruise was all we hoped it would be - a lovely cruise along the Turkish coast in a gorgeous gulet, with visits to archaeological sites that would have been difficult for us to see any other way. And all in the excellent company of a small group of like-minded fellow passengers from around the world. Perhaps best of all was the leadership and knowledge of Olivier, our amazing and enthusiastic archaeologist, supported by Ugur, the Tour Manager. We all learned so much from them - not just about the history of the region, but also about the culture, politics and daily life in modern Turkey. It was an enriching experience that we will not forget.

Rating for tour operator:

Before the holiday, the tour operator was helpful in responding to our questions about logistics. This was particularly important to us since the cruise was just one part of an extended holiday, and we were planning to continue through other parts of eastern and western Europe. There was one minor glitch when our Bodrum airport pickup arrangements fell down, but that was sorted with a phone call and out of hours support from UK and from the local Tour Manager. During the one week cruise we were well supported by the full time presence of Ugur, our Tour Manager, constantly alert to any concerns or preferences that any of the passengers may have - he even turned up with fresh figs from his home town when we stopped there.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Mrs R C 19, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Relaxing the spirit, toning up the body

Cruise on a gulet along the Lycian coast

Cruise on a gulet along the Lycian coast

Rating for tour operator:

very attentive to the requests of clients

Cruising the Carian Coast - M2A by Richard, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Carian Coast Sept 14-21 2019

My wife, Regina and our friends Marina, Ricardo and Silvia and myself spent a very enjoyable week on the gulet Sun World IX, cruising the Carian Coast. We learned a lot about the events and personalities in the Carian region cerca 400 BC, in an entertaining manner, from our expert archeologist, Olivier Henry, who is in charge of the excavations at the nearby Carian site of Labraunda. We particularly enjoyed visiting Kaunus and Knidos. Our experience ...

My wife, Regina and our friends Marina, Ricardo and Silvia and myself spent a very enjoyable week on the gulet Sun World IX, cruising the Carian Coast. We learned a lot about the events and personalities in the Carian region cerca 400 BC, in an entertaining manner, from our expert archeologist, Olivier Henry, who is in charge of the excavations at the nearby Carian site of Labraunda. We particularly enjoyed visiting Kaunus and Knidos. Our experience on board our gullet was also excellent, including the well-appointed cabins, the choice of anchorages, sailing when possible, good food and services, thanks to the efforts of our captain Tayfun, cook Mustafa and crew members Cumali, Kadir and Koray. And, finally, everything ran very smoothly due to the impeccable organization of the logistics by our tour manager, Cem Yucesoy. A big thank you to all of you from all of us!

Rating for tour operator:

Everthing ran very smoothly, from our booking with Julie Sibley in the UK, to the logistics in Turkey with our tour manager Cem Yucesoy.

Reviewer's images: