AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 499
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 500
Reviews Accepted: 499
Reviews Rejected: 1
499 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Jason, 20 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Explorinmg Hadrian's Wall

One week touring Harian's Wall with Peter Sommer Travels. Fabulous itinerary and excellent organisation by Peter Sommer Travels. Exquisite accomodation and a well thought out meal program at super local restaurants. Our lecturer , Paul Beston brought the history of the area to life. He is one of the best that you can have guiding you through anamazing landscape and history.

One week touring Harian's Wall with Peter Sommer Travels. Fabulous itinerary and excellent organisation by Peter Sommer Travels. Exquisite accomodation and a well thought out meal program at super local restaurants. Our lecturer , Paul Beston brought the history of the area to life. He is one of the best that you can have guiding you through anamazing landscape and history.

Rating for tour operator:

I have done many holidays with Peter Sommer Travels. First class all the way in all respects. It doesnt get any better than this!

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Larry L, 18 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking and Crusing the Lycian Shore

The holiday was a fifteen day trip on a Turkish gullet, a thirty metre sailboat, along the south west coast of Turkey. There were twelve days of hiking to historic sites in Turkey where we were accompanied by an extremely knowledgeable Archeologist that would provide detailed information on what we were seeing. The information provided us historic context that was educational and fascinating. We also enjoyed incredibly beautiful vistas of ...

The holiday was a fifteen day trip on a Turkish gullet, a thirty metre sailboat, along the south west coast of Turkey. There were twelve days of hiking to historic sites in Turkey where we were accompanied by an extremely knowledgeable Archeologist that would provide detailed information on what we were seeing. The information provided us historic context that was educational and fascinating. We also enjoyed incredibly beautiful vistas of the Aegean coast and as well as many oppourtunities to swim in the Mediterranean. All meals were included and the food was delicious and well prepared. The crew on our sailboat were hardworking, capable and handled all of their duties handily. Our experience was fantastic and we highly recommend that anyone considering this trip book it now since there are only seven cabins on the gullet.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels dealt with all of the details efficiently and easily. The gullet was very well outfitted and had cabins that exceeded expectations. Transfers were in high quality vehicles and were always on time. We received all details of our trip about a month prior to the start of the trip. Questions prior to the trip were responded to in a timely manner. Peter put considerable effort in preparing for his mini lectures and they were informative and interesting.

Walking and Cruising Dalmatia by Mitchell Mob, 15 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer Travels "Walking and Cruising Southern Dalmatia"

A fantastic trip up the beautiful Croatian coastline between Dubrovnik and Split, visiting a number of islands on the way. Tremendous walking, interesting historical sites, wonderful island towns, all the time being superbly looked after by our guide Mislav and the wonderful crew of the Perla.

A fantastic trip up the beautiful Croatian coastline between Dubrovnik and Split, visiting a number of islands on the way. Tremendous walking, interesting historical sites, wonderful island towns, all the time being superbly looked after by our guide Mislav and the wonderful crew of the Perla.

Rating for tour operator:

Our second trip with Peter Sommer Travels - - a brilliant operation -organisation, itinerary and outstanding ground staff (guides and gulet crew) again made for a memorable holiday

Cruising the Dodecanese by HKW, 14 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

A Wonderful Way To Tour The Greek Islands

It was all I hoped it would be - a lovely mix of history, culture, food, wine, sailing and swimming. What I hadn’t imagined was the added bonus of 2 excellent guides who also provided entertaining accounts of mythology, brilliant storytelling and lots of laughs.

It was all I hoped it would be - a lovely mix of history, culture, food, wine, sailing and swimming. What I hadn’t imagined was the added bonus of 2 excellent guides who also provided entertaining accounts of mythology, brilliant storytelling and lots of laughs.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer put together a great trip. The boat and Captain were great. The two guides, Maria and Heinrich, made it extraordinary. Maria, aside from her great knowledge of history, took great care of us and made sure we wanted for nothing. The meals she organized off the boat were wonderfully varied, delicious and plentiful. Her Mythological re-enactments are classic! Heinrich’s knowledge of history and archeology was presented in a wonderfully entertaining and accessible way. And his after dinner storytelling was brilliant!

Peter Sommer Travels by bobnbob, 8 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Athens Off the Beaten Track, by Peter Sommer Tours, Oct. 5-9, 2019

This was a small, personalized guided tour of Athens area locations we might not have seen, even after three previous trips to the area. It included lesser-visited locations like the archaeological museum in Piraeus, as well as the Pynx near the Acropolis, and the Benaki Museum in Athens. The guide, Anastasios Papadopoulos -- Tassos -- was well-educated and very informative and could not have been nicer. A very worthwhile guided trip.

This was a small, personalized guided tour of Athens area locations we might not have seen, even after three previous trips to the area. It included lesser-visited locations like the archaeological museum in Piraeus, as well as the Pynx near the Acropolis, and the Benaki Museum in Athens. The guide, Anastasios Papadopoulos -- Tassos -- was well-educated and very informative and could not have been nicer. A very worthwhile guided trip.

Rating for tour operator:

We have taken five tours with Peter Sommer, of which this was the fourth. We highly recommend the tour operator for their itineraries, expert tour guides, and accommodations.

Exploring Crete by bobnbob, 8 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Explolring Crete, by Peter Sommer Tours

An extended tour of Crete, taking in fascinating towns, archaeological sites and cultural encounters. The tour guides, Heinrich and Maria, were superb at narration, local expertise, logistics and general helpfulness. We greatly enjoyed this tour.

An extended tour of Crete, taking in fascinating towns, archaeological sites and cultural encounters. The tour guides, Heinrich and Maria, were superb at narration, local expertise, logistics and general helpfulness. We greatly enjoyed this tour.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our fifth tour with Peter Sommers, after tours of the Peloponnesus, Athens and the Dodecanese Islands in Greece, and a tour of rural Ireland. Their tour guides are particularly superb in expertise and logistics.

Gastronomic Gulet Cruise Croatia by Brian/Judith, USA, 8 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

A Gastronomic Gulet Cruise in Croatia. September 2019

A gulet is the only way to visit the islands of the Dalmatian coast. What more can one say about gulet travel than our eleven guests, the guide/host/sommelier, and the crew of four...talk about personalized service. Unpack once and spend your nights anchored in secluded coves with swimming and kayaking before dinner...or before breakfast if that appeals. Meals aboard the Croatia gulet were a gastronomical feat and treat in themselves...accompanied ...

A gulet is the only way to visit the islands of the Dalmatian coast. What more can one say about gulet travel than our eleven guests, the guide/host/sommelier, and the crew of four...talk about personalized service. Unpack once and spend your nights anchored in secluded coves with swimming and kayaking before dinner...or before breakfast if that appeals. Meals aboard the Croatia gulet were a gastronomical feat and treat in themselves...accompanied by exceptional local wines selected and described by our incomparable guide and host, Filip Budic. Filip was our land host as well and led us to locations not on typical tours...eating oysters and mussels aboard a floating restaurant nestled among aquatic oyster farms; cheeses, wines and olive oils at local establishments he selected for their accessibility and quality in relaxing and comfortable settings; and, when not dining on the gulet, meals at local favorite establishments with the usual selection of Croatian appetizers and entrees but always a few "you have to try this" specialties. Five-star treatment on a fully equipped and staffed vessel capable of the smallest ports and remote coves! GO!

Rating for tour operator:

This was our fifth tour with Peter Sommer Travels. We continually return to their offerings because we know the tours are ALWAYS superbly led and organized, and an exceptional value for the money. We know that our guide(s) will be not only experts on local culture, food, and historical and archeological sites, but have led many tours successfully, and have the kind of personalities that ensure they sync very well with each and every guest. Peter Sommer has evolved to offer an extensive array of land and gulet tours across Europe/Asia, but with attention to his personal sweet spot of Turkey. Peter Sommer Travels is our "go to" travel company without question!! In fact, we are booked for Crete in April/May 2020!

Cruising to the Cyclades by AndyT, 7 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cruising to the Cyclades

A fourteen day gulet cruise around the Dodecanese and Cyclades islands, with a focus on visiting sites of archaeological and historical interest. The two tour guides made the history come alive, and expertly adapted our cruise to take into account some strong winds. The gulet captain and crew were wonderful, and made us feel safe and looked after at all times. Pre-tour information was comprehensive, and logistics well handled. All in all, a ...

A fourteen day gulet cruise around the Dodecanese and Cyclades islands, with a focus on visiting sites of archaeological and historical interest. The two tour guides made the history come alive, and expertly adapted our cruise to take into account some strong winds. The gulet captain and crew were wonderful, and made us feel safe and looked after at all times. Pre-tour information was comprehensive, and logistics well handled. All in all, a wonderful experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels arrange cruise and land-based tours in several European countries including Greece, Turkey, Croatia, Ireland and the UK. From our experience, they are experts in what they do, and we would not hesitate to book with them in the future.

Exploring Crete by Ken, 4 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Extremely educational and a wonderful culinary and cultural experience.

We explored a variety of archaeological sites in Crete--mostly Minoan but also a healthy sampling of Greek, Roman and Byzantine centers as well. Our tour had two wonderful guides who were very knowledgeable about the history and archaeological significance of the sites we visited, and could explain it all with great precision and clarity. They also arranged lodging for us in some unusual and delightful hotels and villages. An additional plus ...

We explored a variety of archaeological sites in Crete--mostly Minoan but also a healthy sampling of Greek, Roman and Byzantine centers as well. Our tour had two wonderful guides who were very knowledgeable about the history and archaeological significance of the sites we visited, and could explain it all with great precision and clarity. They also arranged lodging for us in some unusual and delightful hotels and villages. An additional plus of this trip was the great variety of Cretan cuisine, both food and wines, that we got to enjoy. By the end of the trip, I felt that I had experienced a college course in a Study Abroad location condensed into two weeks, and it was absolutely wonderful. One of the highlights for me was having a dinner prepared by a food archaeologist using the foods, techniques and cooking vessels characteristic of the Proto/Neopalatial periods of Minoan history. Our guides (Heinrich and Maria) were terrific at making the history of the sites come alive, but they also conveyed an appreciation of the contemporary culture of Crete as we were experiencing it daily. Now, if only I could crack Linear A.

Rating for tour operator:

This was the first Peter Sommers tour that my wife and I had taken. Everything was extremely well organized. They were unusually helpful with arranging transfers and accommodations for extra days we were in Crete but not yet part of the tour. The housing, food, transportation and site visits all were so seamlessly well managed that I felt quite pampered. I certainly don't live this well at home!

Exploring Crete by Deb , 4 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding Tour of Crete

We spent almost two weeks exploring archaeological sites across Crete. The tour guides were excellent and made each site extremely interesting. The accommodations and food provided were superb, and we were especially happy to able to enjoy ancient Minoan dinner prepared in traditional cooking vessels. It was a real highlight of the trip!

We spent almost two weeks exploring archaeological sites across Crete. The tour guides were excellent and made each site extremely interesting. The accommodations and food provided were superb, and we were especially happy to able to enjoy ancient Minoan dinner prepared in traditional cooking vessels. It was a real highlight of the trip!

Rating for tour operator:

The tour (Exploring Crete, October 10-22, 2019) was very well organized, and Peter Sommers Travel provided great information prior to our departure so that we could get the most out of our site visits. They also arranged transfers to the airport before and after the tour. We appreciated the free day in the middle of the tour allowing us to explore Chania on our own and enjoy a private dinner at a lovely restaurant in the old part of the city. The transportation provided and the driver were excellent as well.