AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 765
Good 4
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 769
Reviews Accepted: 769
Reviews Rejected: 0
769 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Sicily by Dr P F 24, 28 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily .ArcheologicalTour of Sicily with Peter Sommer April2024

Fantastic trip to Sicily with an emphasis on archeology . Fantastic guides, wonderful food and wine , lovely little hotels .Well thought out itinerary that maximizes the enjoyment . The professor of archeology who was our expert guide Prof Henry was amazing Peter Sommer does a wonderful job

Fantastic trip to Sicily with an emphasis on archeology . Fantastic guides, wonderful food and wine , lovely little hotels .Well thought out itinerary that maximizes the enjoyment . The professor of archeology who was our expert guide Prof Henry was amazing Peter Sommer does a wonderful job

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is excellent, they have really good pre trip information , reading lists etc and take great care of each guest during the trip.

Exploring Crete by D &.S, 26 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Fascinating archeology and history of Crete

Sites and museums the length and breadth of Crete gave us a thorough insight into the history and archeology of this fascinating island. Including some of the stories of the archaeologists who made the discoveries added a further level of interest.

Sites and museums the length and breadth of Crete gave us a thorough insight into the history and archeology of this fascinating island. Including some of the stories of the archaeologists who made the discoveries added a further level of interest.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellently organised itineraries, excellent accommodation, delicious local food, and knowledgeable guides who explained everything so well.

Exploring Sicily by Libby Ann, 24 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Exploring the history, art and culture of ancient Sicily.

The holiday was a very stimulating exploration of the many ancient sites on Sicily, together with deep and at times, dramatic explanation of the peoples who lived and died and shaped Sicily’s ancient landscape. This, together with the fine food, wine and accommodation and the endless enthusiasm of our guides made for a holiday which will give me memories to enjoy for years to come.

The holiday was a very stimulating exploration of the many ancient sites on Sicily, together with deep and at times, dramatic explanation of the peoples who lived and died and shaped Sicily’s ancient landscape. This, together with the fine food, wine and accommodation and the endless enthusiasm of our guides made for a holiday which will give me memories to enjoy for years to come.

Rating for tour operator:

The documentation and information was clear and informative, the arrangements were faultless and everything was supplied to a high standard. Nothing was too much trouble.

Exploring Sicily by Freestyle, 23 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily with Peter Sommer April 2024

Yet another outstanding trip with Peter Sommer . Exploring Sicily was a wonderfully sculpted tour with an amazing guide Professor Olivier Henry . The tour not only took us to the most interesting sites of Sicily but brought the history we were viewing to life . In addition to fantastic food, wine paring meals and lovely accommodations. Peter Sommer truly takes care of their guests .

Yet another outstanding trip with Peter Sommer . Exploring Sicily was a wonderfully sculpted tour with an amazing guide Professor Olivier Henry . The tour not only took us to the most interesting sites of Sicily but brought the history we were viewing to life . In addition to fantastic food, wine paring meals and lovely accommodations. Peter Sommer truly takes care of their guests .

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is a wonderful tour operator taking exceptional care of their guests.

Walking & Cruising Western Lycia by SLR, 22 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Exceptional hiking and cruising Western Lycia

What a joy to join this Peter Sommer Travel’s trip. Traveling on a gulet with a like minded group, enjoyed exceptional food onboard and at local restaurants, walking and hiking to and in examples of ancient and modern history with knowledgeable guides. Highly recommended!

What a joy to join this Peter Sommer Travel’s trip. Traveling on a gulet with a like minded group, enjoyed exceptional food onboard and at local restaurants, walking and hiking to and in examples of ancient and modern history with knowledgeable guides. Highly recommended!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer and his team put together an interesting, rewarding, educational and active trip exploring Western Lycia.

A Turkish Odyssey by Dr. M U 23, 1 Feb 2024
Holiday Rating:

Private Gulet Charter in Turkey

Two weeks of travel by gulet along with southwestern coast of Turkey with a focus on archeology, cuisine and culture.

Two weeks of travel by gulet along with southwestern coast of Turkey with a focus on archeology, cuisine and culture.

Rating for tour operator:

the consumate professional in tours. amazing hospitality with fascinating trip itinerary and excellent crew and guides.

From Dubrovnik to Split by Bob , 20 Jan 2024
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Dalmatian Coast: from Dubrovnik to Split

Fabulous tour guide and traveling companions. Sailing and touring on the mainland and the islands. The boat was delightful, the food superb ( I don't know how the cook did it with only a small kitchen), and the amount of free time vs. touring time was perfect.

Fabulous tour guide and traveling companions. Sailing and touring on the mainland and the islands. The boat was delightful, the food superb ( I don't know how the cook did it with only a small kitchen), and the amount of free time vs. touring time was perfect.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer

Exploring the Peloponnese by Greta T, 13 Jan 2024
Holiday Rating:

Touring Greece in sickness and in health...

My husband and I took a wonderful tour of the Peloponnesian peninsula in October of 2023. Every aspect of the tour was well done - the itinerary, the choice of archaeological and historical sites, the amazingly knowledgeable guides, the accommodation, the delicious food, and the plentiful wine. We also found our fellow tour members to be very well-traveled, with interesting stories of their own. We could not have asked for a better experience!...

My husband and I took a wonderful tour of the Peloponnesian peninsula in October of 2023. Every aspect of the tour was well done - the itinerary, the choice of archaeological and historical sites, the amazingly knowledgeable guides, the accommodation, the delicious food, and the plentiful wine. We also found our fellow tour members to be very well-traveled, with interesting stories of their own. We could not have asked for a better experience!

Rating for tour operator:

I had the misfortune to become ill about half way through the tour. The tour guides helped to arrange for a safe accommodation for my recuperation, convenient transportation to the accommodation, kept tabs on me during the entirety of the time I was away from the tour, and enabled me to rejoin the tour once I recovered. Afterwards, the tour operators were extremely helpful when I needed to submit documentation for my successful travel insurance claim for the missed portion of the tour. We subsequently enjoyed another terrific Peter Sommer tour, this time of Athens and environs, and have recently signed up for our third tour with them.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Steve , 13 Jan 2024
Holiday Rating:

Extraordinary Experience in the Peloponnese

Two-week tour with Peter Sommer Travels of the Peloponnese region of Greece, with an emphasis on historical, archeological and artistically significant sites. Plus excellent tour guides, great food and wine, and congenial travel companions.

Two-week tour with Peter Sommer Travels of the Peloponnese region of Greece, with an emphasis on historical, archeological and artistically significant sites. Plus excellent tour guides, great food and wine, and congenial travel companions.

Rating for tour operator:

The guides were very knowledgeable, interesting, and attentive to the group's interests and needs.

From Dubrovnik to Split by Jim, 5 Jan 2024
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer Travels: Cruising the Dalmatian Coast from Dubrovnik to Split

This week-long cruise was delightful, from the urban splendors of Dubrovniok and Split, to the pastoral beauty of the off-shore islands along the coast. The accommodations onboard were most comfortable, and the foods and wines were delicious.

This week-long cruise was delightful, from the urban splendors of Dubrovniok and Split, to the pastoral beauty of the off-shore islands along the coast. The accommodations onboard were most comfortable, and the foods and wines were delicious.

Rating for tour operator:

Mislav was very knowledgeable, and his informative and often witty commentaries on the sites we visited added greatly to our enjoyment of the trip.