AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 612
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 614
Reviews Accepted: 614
Reviews Rejected: 0
614 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising the Dodecanese by Mr/Professor J E 22, 27 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Out of this world in the Dodecanese

My blogs on the trip can be found here, https://johnelkington.com/journal/page/2/, running backwards - from 13th June to 29th May. The guides, the crew, the visits, the food, the weather were all near perfect, though am not entirely sure we can credit the Peter Sommer team with the weather.

My blogs on the trip can be found here, https://johnelkington.com/journal/page/2/, running backwards - from 13th June to 29th May. The guides, the crew, the visits, the food, the weather were all near perfect, though am not entirely sure we can credit the Peter Sommer team with the weather.

Rating for tour operator:

The flights were not bundled, as they are with some other operators, but overall our experience exceeded our expectations. We certainly intend to travel with Peter Sommer again.

Cruising the Dodecanese by greengage summer, 27 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Sailing the Dodecanese

This trip was wonderful. We saw a lot, we learned a lot about the islands and their history, we had great meals both on and off the boat and we had time to explore both with the group and by ourselves. Our guides were exceptional, the captain and crew looked after us extremely well and I hope to travel with Peter Sommer Travels again before too long.

This trip was wonderful. We saw a lot, we learned a lot about the islands and their history, we had great meals both on and off the boat and we had time to explore both with the group and by ourselves. Our guides were exceptional, the captain and crew looked after us extremely well and I hope to travel with Peter Sommer Travels again before too long.

Rating for tour operator:

The trip was very well organised and we were sent a detailed itinerary before leaving. I felt very confident that they would be on hand should there be any problems. Much recommended as a tour operator. Both efficient and great to deal with on a personal level, which for me is important.

A Gastronomic Gulet Cruise by Emma, 27 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

A luxury cruise with fantastic ancient ruins and food!

A week's cruising at the end of May around Turkey with Seder our guide expertly showing us around some fabulous archaeological sites. The itinerary was so well balanced. There was just the right amount of time to relax, swim, read and sunbathe whilst also never feeling you were far from the next adventure - be that a new archeological site that was brought alive by Seder or a cooking lesson and just endless scrummy food. The boat was delightful ...

A week's cruising at the end of May around Turkey with Seder our guide expertly showing us around some fabulous archaeological sites. The itinerary was so well balanced. There was just the right amount of time to relax, swim, read and sunbathe whilst also never feeling you were far from the next adventure - be that a new archeological site that was brought alive by Seder or a cooking lesson and just endless scrummy food. The boat was delightful - the perfect size to feel luxurious, whilst not too big that it didn't feel like a boat any more. The crew were warm, endlessly helpful and tireless in their efforts. It really was a magical experience and we all agreed it was a very very special holiday. We also loved meeting our other guests too - and for them putting up with so many English girls!

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful, good communication The cruise should be renamed to highlight the archeological aspect and especially the guide

Cruising to the Cyclades by Delosios, 22 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Gulet cruise to the Cyclades

Most enjoyable and educational trip, amidst wonderful scenery layered with history and amongst charming and knowledgable guides and guests.

Most enjoyable and educational trip, amidst wonderful scenery layered with history and amongst charming and knowledgable guides and guests.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient at every point of the trip. Very confortable with great food on board and ashore and led with great spirit.

Exploring Ireland by Emma Griffin, 22 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Ireland 24 June 2022

10 day guided small group tour through the middle of Ireland. The tour had an archaeological/historical focus and the tour leader is an archaeologist by training. It was so interesting! Almost everything is included in the tour (meals, accommodation, entry fees etc) and everything was to a very high standard.

10 day guided small group tour through the middle of Ireland. The tour had an archaeological/historical focus and the tour leader is an archaeologist by training. It was so interesting! Almost everything is included in the tour (meals, accommodation, entry fees etc) and everything was to a very high standard.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour was organised perfectly, nothing was left to chance. I would absolutely travel with them again, no problem.

A Gastronomic Gulet Cruise by Carolyn, 21 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

A Gastronomic Gulet Cruise in Turkey

Emerging from Lockdown this was a special time for a group of friends to be together and to remind themselves just how much fun it is to travel. Our guide was exceptional and life on a gulet exceeded all our expectations. It was immaculate and comfortable; the crew were always around to help and mealtimes were wonderful. Not only was the food absolutely delicious (and healthy), but we all thoroughly enjoyed meeting our other guests. It is a ...

Emerging from Lockdown this was a special time for a group of friends to be together and to remind themselves just how much fun it is to travel. Our guide was exceptional and life on a gulet exceeded all our expectations. It was immaculate and comfortable; the crew were always around to help and mealtimes were wonderful. Not only was the food absolutely delicious (and healthy), but we all thoroughly enjoyed meeting our other guests. It is a concept that works and we would love to do it all again!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Travel: Extremely professional, always helpful and with a personal touch.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Frogmarch, 19 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

One of our best travel experiences

A fourteen-day cultural cruise aboard a small sailing boat around the archaeological and historic sites of the Cyclades islands of Greece, beginning on 15 May 2022, visiting about a dozen different islands, mostly relatively unknown, wih two expert guides and a similarly expert crew. All accommodation was aboard the boat, and most meals were taken aboard as well. The trip attracted a varied, but compatible, group of 13 people from the US and the UK...

A fourteen-day cultural cruise aboard a small sailing boat around the archaeological and historic sites of the Cyclades islands of Greece, beginning on 15 May 2022, visiting about a dozen different islands, mostly relatively unknown, wih two expert guides and a similarly expert crew. All accommodation was aboard the boat, and most meals were taken aboard as well. The trip attracted a varied, but compatible, group of 13 people from the US and the UK.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels have been excellent throughout. This trip was first booked before the Covid pandemic, in 2019, and they were extremely helpful in retaining the booking for us with minimum fuss. Organisation and people (both in their office and aboard ship)were first class.

Cruising the Carian Coast - M2A by Fair Lady, 14 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fun Learning

Joined with some old friends for 'Cruising the Carian Coast.' First experience for me of gulet life but it was all made so easy by Peter Sommer and his crew. Very comfortable life on board with excellent and plentiful food and drinks. The excursions led by Peter were so informative and educational - he is a wonderful and inspiring lecturer.

Joined with some old friends for 'Cruising the Carian Coast.' First experience for me of gulet life but it was all made so easy by Peter Sommer and his crew. Very comfortable life on board with excellent and plentiful food and drinks. The excursions led by Peter were so informative and educational - he is a wonderful and inspiring lecturer.

Rating for tour operator:

I was lucky in that Peter himself was 'my guide' and one could not have wished for better. Adminstratively the holiday was without criticism, everthing was on time and well organised.

Peter Sommer Travels by Virginia , 11 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

A Turkish delight

Our family had a wonderful 7 days sailing the Turquoise Coast in a trip arranged by Peter Sommers. Our archaeological guide, Filip, was excellent and had our grandchildren (ages 10 and 14) enthralled, The grownups, too.

Our family had a wonderful 7 days sailing the Turquoise Coast in a trip arranged by Peter Sommers. Our archaeological guide, Filip, was excellent and had our grandchildren (ages 10 and 14) enthralled, The grownups, too.

Rating for tour operator:

He responded to our questions promptly and cheerfully complied with our requests.

Cruising the Carian Coast - M2A by Red Baron, 11 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Educational and recreational cruising

Wonderful experience in southern Turkey with Peter Sommer. A hugely experienced and enthusiastic guide, tour leader and archaeologist who is able to impart so much information about the area and what is being examined. First class.

Wonderful experience in southern Turkey with Peter Sommer. A hugely experienced and enthusiastic guide, tour leader and archaeologist who is able to impart so much information about the area and what is being examined. First class.

Rating for tour operator:

A seamless holiday throughout - even the flights were on time!