AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 400
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 401
Reviews Accepted: 401
Reviews Rejected: 0
401 reviews
Sort by:
Peter Sommer Travels by CraigK, 10 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Two day tour of London

We spent two terrific days with Paul Bestom focusing on Roman London on day 1 and the Sloan and British Museum on day 2. We asked Paul to plan a trip that would be somewhat unique as we have been to London many times....both days were unique and unbelievable interesting......it was very clear that Paul had worked very hard at planning two perfect days!

We spent two terrific days with Paul Bestom focusing on Roman London on day 1 and the Sloan and British Museum on day 2. We asked Paul to plan a trip that would be somewhat unique as we have been to London many times....both days were unique and unbelievable interesting......it was very clear that Paul had worked very hard at planning two perfect days!

Rating for tour operator:

There are so many great tour operators but Peter Sommer’s tours are truly unique with a focus on ancient history and culture lead by guides who are PHD level in their knowledge and training!

Cruising to the Cyclades by NickM , 7 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful, life enhancing experience

Cruising the Cyclades in a charming and comfortable Turkish gulet, expertly guided across the rich history of islands both large and small, dense with tourists or much quieter, eating local cuisine in spectacular locations and swimming in remote and tranquil coves. Difficult to think of a better holiday to combine relaxation and stimulation.

Cruising the Cyclades in a charming and comfortable Turkish gulet, expertly guided across the rich history of islands both large and small, dense with tourists or much quieter, eating local cuisine in spectacular locations and swimming in remote and tranquil coves. Difficult to think of a better holiday to combine relaxation and stimulation.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels were excellent in the pre-travel instructions and the tour guides were wonderful, both in their expert knowledge and their conduct of the tour.

Exploring the Peloponnese by M.A, 6 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

All as good as I'd expected

Well organised; caring; all I could have expected

Well organised; caring; all I could have expected

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful in all the organisation

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by Cathie, 5 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommers tours always excel

In the Footsteps of Alexander was exceptionally well organized, enjoyable and historically enlightening. Both Peter Sommer as our educational guide and our many guest lecturers delivered the facts on the fascinating history and archeology of relating to Alexander as well as local history such as Gallipoli during WW1. Local food and wines were thoroughly explored and enjoyed and the hotels were all very special in 'flavour' and comfortable.

In the Footsteps of Alexander was exceptionally well organized, enjoyable and historically enlightening. Both Peter Sommer as our educational guide and our many guest lecturers delivered the facts on the fascinating history and archeology of relating to Alexander as well as local history such as Gallipoli during WW1. Local food and wines were thoroughly explored and enjoyed and the hotels were all very special in 'flavour' and comfortable.

Rating for tour operator:

This was my fourth trip with Peter Sommer Travels and as usual it was well organized in every detail; dining, communication, transportation and accommodations are all excellent. Our comfort is always considered and I appreciate the reference materials that are recommended ahead of a trip. A highlight of this trip was the very Turkish picnic at the site of Alexanders second battle in Asia Minor.

Exploring the Peloponnese by GS, 3 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring the Peloponnese

Each day traveling with the Peter Sommer's archeologist superb guides, Heinrich and Nota brought new knowledge and joy. The knowledge and fun; a great combination.

Each day traveling with the Peter Sommer's archeologist superb guides, Heinrich and Nota brought new knowledge and joy. The knowledge and fun; a great combination.

Rating for tour operator:

Heinrich and Nota have inspired me to learn more about Greece's people and their history.

Exploring the Peloponnese by al, 25 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Traveling through the Peloponnese with informed archaeologists and guides opened up new vistas for us

2 weeks visiting all of the major and even minor sites in this area of Greece was excellent. Spent 7 weeks in total on 3 different Peter Sommer trips with separate visits to Naxos and Rodas and Thessaloniki. Gave one a comprehensive understanding of this civilization over the past 6-7,000 years.

2 weeks visiting all of the major and even minor sites in this area of Greece was excellent. Spent 7 weeks in total on 3 different Peter Sommer trips with separate visits to Naxos and Rodas and Thessaloniki. Gave one a comprehensive understanding of this civilization over the past 6-7,000 years.

Rating for tour operator:

well organized. concerned for every aspect of the client's experience from lodging to meals to understanding the history and culture of these societies.

Exploring Crete by HJA, 22 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Crete: a complete and joyful experience

The tour covered all aspects of Cretan archaeology, history, gastronomy and scenery, conducted by enthusiastic experts combined with brilliant organisation. The leaders were attentive to our every need. The tour was so well structured that we never felt stressed or tired.

The tour covered all aspects of Cretan archaeology, history, gastronomy and scenery, conducted by enthusiastic experts combined with brilliant organisation. The leaders were attentive to our every need. The tour was so well structured that we never felt stressed or tired.

Rating for tour operator:

Small company with much expertise and experience with very personal service.

Exploring Crete by Gina, 21 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Stimulating and enriching mental, physical and social experience

This holiday was meant to introduce a small group to archeological sites under the guidance of a Greek historian and an archeologist.We visited many interesting sites and nearby museums and learned from an expert the basic principles of archeology as an evidence based science that attempts to discern how people of the past lived. The other focuses of the trip were nature and food. During the two weeks, we sampled foods from many different areas ...

This holiday was meant to introduce a small group to archeological sites under the guidance of a Greek historian and an archeologist.We visited many interesting sites and nearby museums and learned from an expert the basic principles of archeology as an evidence based science that attempts to discern how people of the past lived. The other focuses of the trip were nature and food. During the two weeks, we sampled foods from many different areas of Crete. We also experienced the natural variation in topography of the region through extensive travel in rural areas and by staying in accommodations in traditional Cretan villages. The small group allowed for many interactions and the develop,ent of close relationships with people of like minded interests.

Rating for tour operator:

This is a very professional, well organized tour that offers a variety of wonderful experiences that encompass archeology, culture and nature. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them to anyone!

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by Ian S, 20 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

A fascinating tour led by experts who helped bring the history to life.

The tour was led by Peter Sommer, whose unrivalled personal and professional knowledge of the area and its history was complemented by special experts of the highest quality in Istanbul, Gallipoli, Troy and Smyrna. On top of this our guide, Cem, ensured that the logistics ran smoothly; that our accommodation, was the best available, with an emphasis on character; and that we ate and drank plentiful and delicious local fare.

The tour was led by Peter Sommer, whose unrivalled personal and professional knowledge of the area and its history was complemented by special experts of the highest quality in Istanbul, Gallipoli, Troy and Smyrna. On top of this our guide, Cem, ensured that the logistics ran smoothly; that our accommodation, was the best available, with an emphasis on character; and that we ate and drank plentiful and delicious local fare.

Rating for tour operator:

The organisation was faultless, and while on tour great care was taken to accommodate our personal needs and interests.

Exploring Sicily by ColinMacca, 19 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

First time in Sicily, tour experience intellectually stimulating and exceptionally delivered. Top guides.

An stimulating intellectual experience delivered by our two excellent guides Tony and Lucia. Learned extensively of the historical, archeological and antiquity of ancient Sicily. First class accommodation, seamless venue transfers, wonderful group and heaps of fun with our very personable guides.

An stimulating intellectual experience delivered by our two excellent guides Tony and Lucia. Learned extensively of the historical, archeological and antiquity of ancient Sicily. First class accommodation, seamless venue transfers, wonderful group and heaps of fun with our very personable guides.

Rating for tour operator:

A highly efficient organisational operation, administratively, prompt courteous communications on all matters. Attention to operational detail including transport management, quality venue locations and exceptional teamwork also Informative detailed technical handouts were invaluable complementing our travel experience.