Peter Sommer Travels

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 253
Reviews accepted: 253
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
252
Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Amalfi Coast cruising on a gulet

By Krin on 29 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Cruising the Amalfi Coast >

We sailed out of Napoli on a beautiful gulet that had a captain, first mate, housekeeper/barmaid, chef and archeologist. All for six cabins! Very reasonably priced for what was offered. Every day was well planned and well suited for the group. We enjoyed relaxing on the boat while sailing but also enjoyed visiting the different towns on the islands and up the coast. It was wonderful having our own onboard guide/archeologist that was always there for us. Plus our local guide who met us in various towns or historic sites was always on time and very friendly and informative. Honestly, this was one of the very best one week trips we have ever taken.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Boat was immaculate. All of the staff were professional and very nice. Onboard archeologist was very organized and always there for us if we had any questions. We always felt safe, well taken care of with a very friendly attitude from crew while they showed us a great time, both fun and educational. Second time cruising with Peter Sommers and we will definitely do it again.

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore was an amazing two week adventure.

By Happy traveller on 14 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore >

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore was my first trip with Peter Sommer Travels. I definitely hope to holiday with this company again in the future.
The two guides were inspirational with their enthusiastic knowledge of the area and its history. During our daily trips ashore they showed us interesting places and stunning views that we would never have found if travelling alone.
The efficient crew of the gullet provided the guests with wonderful sailing and delicious gastronomical experiences.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Brilliant organisation! I appreciate the individual care and attention provided for the small number of guests who were able to share a very special holiday on a very special boat.

gulet based walking and archaeology in Turkey

By Oenone on 9 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore >

great mix of walking to ancient sites well off the beaten track, archaeological expertise, goood company and relaxation when back on board the gulet after the day's outing. Food and comfort on board both excellent and scenery stunning whether on board or on land.Will definitely travel with Peter Sommer again.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Excellent - Peter Sommer knows his subject inside out and entertains as well as educates about the history and sites en route. Organisation was faultless with great attention to detail.

A wonderful combination of exercise and relaxation, archaeology and Turkey’s beautiful southwest coastline

By Theresa on 7 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore >

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore was an excellent tour all around. Every aspect was well planned and organised. We had wonderful guides (tour leader Peter, and local tour manager Cem), walks that often followed the Lycian Way and took us to remote and stunning archaeological sites, as well as superb food. The boat, a traditional gulet, was spotless and its crew always agreeable and quietly efficient. This was my first experience of a Peter Sommer holiday, and I would love to be able to repeat it.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Terrific organisation from start to finish. From the office's help with advice and arrangements, to Peter's enthusiasm for his subject and the easygoing efficiency of leaders and crew, it was simply unbeatable.

Exploring Athens

By Carol on 31 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

My experience, a week-long tour of Athens, was superb. We saw not only the usual tourist sites, but several that were certainly off the beaten track. The visits to the National Archaeological Museum and the Acropolis Museum, as well as several smaller ones, were fascinating. Museums can be overwhelming, but our guides pointed out the most significant items and explained their context and meaning. The organization of the tour and the accommodations were excellent and the meals, superb.Our 2 guides, both archaeologists, were enormously knowledgeable, did a wonderful job of sharing their knowledge, and were charming companions, as well.
Now, for gods's sake (Athena and Poseidon, in particular). give them back their Marbles!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Peter Sommer Travel was a pleasure to work with. The were helpful and prompt with all my inquiries and helpful with additional arrangements. I would be happy to go on one of their tours again.

Walking & cruising the Lycian shore in Turkey, October 2017

By David R on 31 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore >

A two-week extravaganza of Turkish food, culture & archaeology. A perfect combination of relaxation, education and walking adventures back in time. Superb food from start to finish and a first-rate guide in the shape of Peter Sommer and local tour manager Cem Yucesoy. The accommodation on board the gulet was excellent and the crew were quietly efficient and brilliant. Local hospitality everywhere was fantastic.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This is my fourth tour with Peter Sommer Travels and I keep coming back because the quality of the holidays cannot be beaten. The organisation from the office to the boat is faultless and the tireless support of the tour manager made things run as smoothly as they could possibly have been. It was a very easy holiday to enjoy but this was made possible only by the sheer dedication & commitment of Peter's entire team from start to finish.

A happy combination of relaxation , activity , education and fabulous cuisine.

By Mark G , Auckland NZ. on 30 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Cruising to the Cyclades >

The holiday far exceeded our expectations , not only in regard to sites visited , but also in regard to friendliness of the crew , the delicious meals on board and the experience of eating local food at various small restaurants.

Our tour guides looked after , educated and entertained us beautifully. The experience of travelling onboard a Gulat was just magical and very nice being a small number of visitors when visiting islands and sites.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Peter Sommer Travel were extremely professional , friendly , responsive and helpful to deal with.
Really felt we were receiving personal treatment.
Couldn't fault the experience in any way.

Walking and Cruising Southern Dalmatia- an intimate view of Croatia

By Steve & Jody on 29 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Walking and Cruising Dalmatia >

This was our fourth trip with Peter Sommer Travels and it lived up to our very high expectations. It was a wonderfully organized trip with beautiful cruising and swimming spots, great hikes, and fascinating lectures on the region and history. The ship is beautiful, comfortable, and excellently crewed. The guide was wonderfully informed and participated enthusiastically in all the activities. A shout-out also to the local guides who each brought their own perspective.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This is a small tour operator that provides an intimate cultural and historical perspective on the places visited. The guides are all highly qualified archeologists who are able to recreate vividly the past from the ruins before you. We have learned so much on each trip. It's like attending a week of lectures at the Smithsonian (Washington, D.C.) or a university but in the fresh air with the places before you.

Peter Sommers owns Sicily

By Steve on 26 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about A Gastronomic Tour of Sicily >

A perfect blend of history and architecture blended with food and wine. A true immersion in Sicilian culture. We felt like Sicily was opened us in a way that only our guides, Marcello and Lucia could have accompkished. We have been traveling internationally for nearly 25 years, often multiple trips a year. No other trip exceeded pur week in Sicily. We hated to leave.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Our best tour operator yet. The itinerary was carefully thought thru and well balanced. The trip represented great travel for the cost. Our booking was easy, the pre information packet was timely and thorough.interim questions were handled promptly and thoroughly, including going out of their way to help us with some hard to get reservations. The transfers were perfect and done with Mercedes.
Everything worked like clockwork.
However, it was the genius of the itinerary, coupled with our two passionates professionals, Marcello and Lucia, that put this trip into the A plus category.

Cruising the Coast of Dalmatia in style

By patriciaiow on 26 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about From Split to Dubrovnik >

This was a superb holiday cruising the coast of Dalmatia in a gulet with an expert guide showing us archaeological sites on the islands off the coast, and local guides taking us round Dubrovnik and Split. Perfect number of guests (8), comfortable accommodation, gourmet meals and opportunity for swimming off the boat, relaxation on board, and an opportunity to learn through our knowledgeable and engaging guides.
The best way to see Croatia is by sea, and our Peter Sommer tour exceeded all expectations with its well thought out itinerary, attention to detail, balance of activity and leisure, relaxed atmosphere and good fun. Much credit is due to all ground staff, guides and gulet crew for a perfect holiday.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This was the first time I had travelled with Peter Sommer. The company specialises in expert - led cultural and gulet tours in Europe. Group numbers are small, accommodation comfortable and food excellent. The expert guide who accompanied us was outstanding - passionate, informative, engaging and entertaining. The itinerary was very well thought out, combining leisure time with activity and not-to-be-missed opportunities to swim in the Adriatic sea off the gulet. The client is obviously at the heart of the itinerary planning, and attention to detail is second to none.
I would highly recommend this company to anyone wanting a fun, relaxed, educational holiday with fine food -they will deliver!