AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 504
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 505
Reviews Accepted: 504
Reviews Rejected: 1
504 reviews
Sort by:
Walking Hadrian's Wall by Daphne P, 7 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful scenery, history, hospitality and expertise (as we have come to expect from Peter Sommer)

We spent a week walking sections of Hadrian's Wall, pausing at sites to hear them and the history come alive from our guides, both obviously expert and passionate about the history and archaeology of the area. One of us, a retired archaeologist, had walked the whole wall before, so he was looking forward mainly to the landscape and exercise, but he found there was a surprising amount he had passed by before. At lunch and in the evening, we were ...

We spent a week walking sections of Hadrian's Wall, pausing at sites to hear them and the history come alive from our guides, both obviously expert and passionate about the history and archaeology of the area. One of us, a retired archaeologist, had walked the whole wall before, so he was looking forward mainly to the landscape and exercise, but he found there was a surprising amount he had passed by before. At lunch and in the evening, we were booked into a variety of excellent pubs and restaurants, and the hotel was lovely, unique, set in lovely peaceful grounds. Altogether a great holiday

Rating for tour operator:

We discovered Peter Sommer tours as we heard one of their guides taking a party around the palace of Knossos in Crete. He was giving the best tour we'd ever seen (and we've seen and given a few). We found out that he was working for Peter Sommer and the next year we booked ourselves onto a walking and sailing holiday and found it even better than we'd hoped for.

Walking Hadrian's Wall by EMK16, 20 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

A really fantastic way to learn all about Hadrian's Wall.

I've always wanted to learn more about Hadrian's Wall and this is a fantastic way to do that. I learned so much and our tour guide was simply excellent - giving us both sides of disputed issues, and other (non-Roman) history of the area, which was excellent too. He really brought the history of the Wall to life! And walking it is a lovely way to achieve that.

I've always wanted to learn more about Hadrian's Wall and this is a fantastic way to do that. I learned so much and our tour guide was simply excellent - giving us both sides of disputed issues, and other (non-Roman) history of the area, which was excellent too. He really brought the history of the Wall to life! And walking it is a lovely way to achieve that.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well planned, organised and executed.

Walking Hadrian's Wall by VIM48, 18 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

History and outstanding scenery in one holiday

I was nervous about my first ever walking holiday but needn't have been. The trips were manageable with lots of breaks whilst we heard about the history of the places we stopped. Our guide shared his knowledge is an amusing way which made it much more interesting. We walked through some amazing scenery and saw some wonderful sites.

I was nervous about my first ever walking holiday but needn't have been. The trips were manageable with lots of breaks whilst we heard about the history of the places we stopped. Our guide shared his knowledge is an amusing way which made it much more interesting. We walked through some amazing scenery and saw some wonderful sites.

Rating for tour operator:

We were sent all the information we needed before the trip and any questions were answered very quickly. We had complete confidence in them.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by PamG, 16 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

At last! I made it!

Hadrian’s Wall has always intrigued me being a Northerner … Covid had met it’s match - so to speak. It did not deter Peter Sommer Travels. In spite of the obvious restrictions in force, our Tour went ahead! The company made life easier with patience and thoughtfulness and agility to get things sorted out. That was before we began! It was a superb trip… a world tour! I loved it!! We have been with Paul on another “Exploring tour”. He is an ...

Hadrian’s Wall has always intrigued me being a Northerner … Covid had met it’s match - so to speak. It did not deter Peter Sommer Travels. In spite of the obvious restrictions in force, our Tour went ahead! The company made life easier with patience and thoughtfulness and agility to get things sorted out. That was before we began! It was a superb trip… a world tour! I loved it!! We have been with Paul on another “Exploring tour”. He is an expert Historian, with a friendly style of imparting it.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with Peter Sommer Travels on three previous occasions. They always take care in detailed planning, so, leaving it to their expertise, you have nothing to worry about.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by SXDave, 16 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian's Wall and so much more! Filled a lacuna (no - a LAKE!) in my knowledge of our history!

It was touch and go. Would the Covid rules let us go? Sadly, they didn't allow the international folk to come. We were thus a small, privileged vanguard group of PST travellers, emerging after a long lock-down, and enjoying, for me, at 80, for the first time, the gorgeous Northumbrian countryside and these amazing remains of our island history. We've now had the same tour leader twice. His knowledge of his subject is encyclopaedic. Very nice ...

It was touch and go. Would the Covid rules let us go? Sadly, they didn't allow the international folk to come. We were thus a small, privileged vanguard group of PST travellers, emerging after a long lock-down, and enjoying, for me, at 80, for the first time, the gorgeous Northumbrian countryside and these amazing remains of our island history. We've now had the same tour leader twice. His knowledge of his subject is encyclopaedic. Very nice hotel and excellent pub lunch venues, coping well with the Covid rules. You need to be reasonably fit and you might need walking poles, an umbrella and/or waterproofs. If you go by train (book advance first-class) from London to Carlisle and then across country, and back from Newcastle, there are fine views all the way.

Rating for tour operator:

We've been on three previous tours with Peter Sommer Travels. All, including this one, have been excellent. The planning - the chosen venues in terms of the daytime visits, the accommodation and meals, the lecturer/guide, and the transport have all worked well. The information supplied is helpful and timely. Not cheap, but what you get exceeds our expectations!

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Patrick, 16 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

A curated tour of Greek History

Walking and Cruising the Dodecanese and Athens extension. A curated tour of Greek Antiquity and subsequent history with master guides who are not only knowledgeable, but fun, humorous and lively. A terms our experience virtually unequaled in our travels.

Walking and Cruising the Dodecanese and Athens extension. A curated tour of Greek Antiquity and subsequent history with master guides who are not only knowledgeable, but fun, humorous and lively. A terms our experience virtually unequaled in our travels.

Rating for tour operator:

Organized, efficient and happy to take the time to answer promptly all our questions. For example, some health conditions raised issues that were easily assuaged by the provision of detailed information about some of the hikes. They simply took all the time we needed to provide thorough information about the trip.

Walking and Cruising Dalmatia by peggyann, 13 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Walking and Cruising southern Dalmatia

one week sailing aboard a Turkish gulat with daily excursions

one week sailing aboard a Turkish gulat with daily excursions

Rating for tour operator:

Young, energetic, knowledgable and highly entertaining!

Walking and Cruising Dalmatia by Paolo, 13 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Croatia

We along with 5 other couples we knew stayed on a gulat in Croatia where we sailed and hiked

We along with 5 other couples we knew stayed on a gulat in Croatia where we sailed and hiked

Rating for tour operator:

We cannot praise highly enough Peter Sommer travel and his dedicated, outstanding staff. We always have the best of everything with this tour group: accommodations, food, excellent guides. No other tour operator can compare.

From Split to Dubrovnik by Marco, 7 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Dalmatian coast

Perfect in every way. Great crew, excellent guide, fabulous food and very comfortable accommodations.

Perfect in every way. Great crew, excellent guide, fabulous food and very comfortable accommodations.

Rating for tour operator:

The trip was planned very well with an expert guide.

From Dubrovnik to Split by James P, 26 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding gulet trip in Dalmatia.

Dalmatian Coast tour on a gulet. Outstanding guide, great food and crew. Highly recommended.

Dalmatian Coast tour on a gulet. Outstanding guide, great food and crew. Highly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent preparatory material, organisation, itinerary, staff and vessel.