AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 435
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 436
Reviews Accepted: 435
Reviews Rejected: 1
435 reviews
Sort by:
From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by Donald, 17 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus and back by gulet - five-star all the way !

A small group of experienced travelers joined with Peter who is an expert and engaging archaeologist to enjoy relaxation and mental stimulation on a a Turkish gulet based tour. Peter is an excellent tour guide who puts incredible attention into the detailed needs of his guests The food and wine on the boat were superb. The crew were highly motivated and endearing. There was an excellent mix of downtime and and enjoyment with daily archaeological ...

A small group of experienced travelers joined with Peter who is an expert and engaging archaeologist to enjoy relaxation and mental stimulation on a a Turkish gulet based tour. Peter is an excellent tour guide who puts incredible attention into the detailed needs of his guests The food and wine on the boat were superb. The crew were highly motivated and endearing. There was an excellent mix of downtime and and enjoyment with daily archaeological site visits. The group had time to to socialise and swap their experiences and knowledge. The vibe was good-humoured, collaborative and thoughtful of the needs of each other.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter and his team are miles ahead of the usual "packages" and superficial subject matter knowledge guides. Peter's admin team are switched on, prompt and able to to respond to individual needs.

Cruising to Ephesus by szk, 16 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cruising to Ephesus

We were thrilled and intellectually stimulated by the ancient sites we visited. The boat was comfortable and relaxing. The meals were excellent.

We were thrilled and intellectually stimulated by the ancient sites we visited. The boat was comfortable and relaxing. The meals were excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Tours are extremely well run. Everything that was promised was delivered. The tour guide was excellent, as was the rest of the staff and the crew of the boat.

Peter Sommer Travels by Carolyn, 11 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Family charter to Ephesus

It was a fabulous trip for our whole family. Every one enjoyed the tours of the archeological sites,even our grandson. It was amazing to go to so many sites off the beaten track and learn about their rich history. The boat was beautiful and comfortable, food was marvelous. And of course you can't beat swimming in the Mediterranean. Loved it!

It was a fabulous trip for our whole family. Every one enjoyed the tours of the archeological sites,even our grandson. It was amazing to go to so many sites off the beaten track and learn about their rich history. The boat was beautiful and comfortable, food was marvelous. And of course you can't beat swimming in the Mediterranean. Loved it!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer tours was helpful from the time we signed up for our tour to the very end. They even scheduled and arranged a private tour of Istanbul for 4 days prior to our charter, and put us in contact with someone to help arrange our flights.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Dana, 28 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

"Exploring Hadrian's Wall"

Absolutely wonderful! Having visited Hadrian's Wall many years ago (as an archaeology student), I was delighted to see the new tourist centers and to learn the new interpretations. The folks at Peter Sommer Travels Ltd., knowing this, made a point of indicating those sites that would be of most interest for me (and had terrific recommendations for dining and drinking out). I'd always wanted to take my husband to see the Wall, and this was the ...

Absolutely wonderful! Having visited Hadrian's Wall many years ago (as an archaeology student), I was delighted to see the new tourist centers and to learn the new interpretations. The folks at Peter Sommer Travels Ltd., knowing this, made a point of indicating those sites that would be of most interest for me (and had terrific recommendations for dining and drinking out). I'd always wanted to take my husband to see the Wall, and this was the perfect blend of Romano-Brisitsh history, archaeology, and British history. Yay!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels Ltd. always does their best (and succeeds!) at pointing out things of interest to their diverse clientele. They also work hard to make sure everyone is comfortable. We've been on two other trips with this company before; the first was our introduction to Turkey, which was SPLENDID (and inspired my writing) and the second was to Wessex, which was also wonderful (I mean, c'mon--Stonehenge at dawn? Whoa!), and gave me even more fodder for my writing. Peter and his fellow guides are so well-versed in their history and archaeology and the local culture. It is always a treat to travel with them, and I heartily recommend their trips.

Reviewer's images:
Exploring Wales by bbaltar - Alaska, 13 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Wales

This was a history and archaeological tour of southern Wales, principally in the southeast and in Pembrokeshire. We tourned a number of Norman era castles, St Davids Cathedral, Tintern Abbey and some Roman sites. The tour was an excellent introduction to the history of Wales, and was expertly organized and led. The tour leader has an almost encyclopedic knowledge of the relevant history.

This was a history and archaeological tour of southern Wales, principally in the southeast and in Pembrokeshire. We tourned a number of Norman era castles, St Davids Cathedral, Tintern Abbey and some Roman sites. The tour was an excellent introduction to the history of Wales, and was expertly organized and led. The tour leader has an almost encyclopedic knowledge of the relevant history.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Travels - this was my third tour with and they have all been excellent, top tier,

Exploring Wales by bbaltar - Alaska, 13 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Wales

This was a history and archaeological tour of southern Wales, principally in the southeast and in Pembrokeshire. We tourned a number of Norman era castles, St Davids Cathedral, Tintern Abbey and some Roman sites. The tour was an excellent introduction to the history of Wales, and was expertly organized and led. The tour leader has an almost encyclopedic knowledge of the relevant history.

This was a history and archaeological tour of southern Wales, principally in the southeast and in Pembrokeshire. We tourned a number of Norman era castles, St Davids Cathedral, Tintern Abbey and some Roman sites. The tour was an excellent introduction to the history of Wales, and was expertly organized and led. The tour leader has an almost encyclopedic knowledge of the relevant history.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Travels - this was my third tour with and they have all been excellent, top tier,

Exploring Ireland by Bob H., 7 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

the Exploring Ireland tour was a beautiful and informative trip

The tour began and ended in Dublin and otherwise explored rural (often archaeological) sites. Beautiful landscapes, off the beaten path mostly, interesting locations, nice accommodations and cuisine. It was a wonderful way to see and appreciate Ireland.

The tour began and ended in Dublin and otherwise explored rural (often archaeological) sites. Beautiful landscapes, off the beaten path mostly, interesting locations, nice accommodations and cuisine. It was a wonderful way to see and appreciate Ireland.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers is an excellent tour operator, and this was our second trip with them. Their tour guides are outstanding in knowledge and logistics. We will be taking three more trips with them in Greece this year and cannot recommend them more highly.

From Šibenik to Zadar by geo, 6 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

relaxing and stimulating cruise along the Croatian coast

It was a brief (<1 week) cruise on a gullet from Sibenik to Zadar and back. The focus was on the archaeology and history of the sites along the coast from the very well known (Zadar) to the somewhat obscure (Skradin). As usual with a tour like this the experience is made or broken by both the guide and other guests. All of our companions on the trip were great, each with a real personality, just as each of the places we stopped had its own ...

It was a brief (<1 week) cruise on a gullet from Sibenik to Zadar and back. The focus was on the archaeology and history of the sites along the coast from the very well known (Zadar) to the somewhat obscure (Skradin). As usual with a tour like this the experience is made or broken by both the guide and other guests. All of our companions on the trip were great, each with a real personality, just as each of the places we stopped had its own personality.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers as a group seems superb. They were incredibly helpful at every step. Our tour operator in Croatia was an archaeologist who certainly knew his stuff and was able to convey both technical and non-technical information in a pleasing manner.

Exploring Crete by Maggie, 4 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Beyond expectations which were high at the start

Everything about it excellent, our guides not only experts but considerate & warm & able to impart their knowledge with lively & engaging enthusiasm. The days’ events were varied & exciting, our driver quite wonderful, never an anxious moment on even the most demanding mountain roads, our meals carefully considered & delicious, ditto the accommodation, staying in a mountain village an interesting & unique experience.

Everything about it excellent, our guides not only experts but considerate & warm & able to impart their knowledge with lively & engaging enthusiasm. The days’ events were varied & exciting, our driver quite wonderful, never an anxious moment on even the most demanding mountain roads, our meals carefully considered & delicious, ditto the accommodation, staying in a mountain village an interesting & unique experience.

Rating for tour operator:

We had taken a Peter Sommer tour to Sicily previously & had been so happy with this Company & the way we travellers were looked after & informed, we would not have considered using anyone else with whom to explore Crete. It is particularly helpful being able to deal with the people in their office personally. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Peter Sommer to my friends & family.

Exploring Wales by Red Rose, 2 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

"King of the Castle"

Our brilliant tour guide Paul Beston came directly from the Ancient World! He lived the part and therefore in his lectures, you were there too...it was a privilege to share his knowledge and scholarship. Every aspect of Wales linked by archeology/history/geography/economic's AND castles -were observed and covered1 Anyone who is remotely interested in life...how it all came to be...would love this tour.! Experts, in this field of culture ...

Our brilliant tour guide Paul Beston came directly from the Ancient World! He lived the part and therefore in his lectures, you were there too...it was a privilege to share his knowledge and scholarship. Every aspect of Wales linked by archeology/history/geography/economic's AND castles -were observed and covered1 Anyone who is remotely interested in life...how it all came to be...would love this tour.! Experts, in this field of culture would also be well satisfied. Nuggets of stories and information, were the glue! You do need to enjoy AND be fit enough, climbing stone steps of the castles; many of them ruins, to fully appreciate how the great and the good lived... also...going below ground to marvel at their industry and wine cellars! We tasted Welsh cakes for afternoon tea & other traditional treats! Enjoyed local beer in good hotels and pubs for lunch. During the week we stayed in two hotels The staff were extremely kind and hospitable. Nothing was too much trouble. The Angel, in Abergavenny, was very good. The Grove, Narberth, Pembrokeshire-superb!! Luxury - were the Chauffeur's who drove us around to the various sites and castles...they were always cheerful of manner and were ever present...magical! The weather was good! We look back fondly on a very 'full week' of new experiences1 It was enjoyable, exciting and fun in lots of ways....recounting all those castles ...and trying to remember.....those many names.....of men & women.....who turned the history of Wales and beyond......

Rating for tour operator:

This was my second tour with Peter Sommer Travels....We were confident in our booking....EXPLORING WALES... was extremely well organised as before...no grumbles at all! Exceeded expectations as on our previous tour AND we learned a lot! We will return definitely. Looking forward.....