AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 663
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 665
Reviews Accepted: 665
Reviews Rejected: 0
665 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Sicily by Mark & Linda, 22 May 2023
Holiday Rating:

Time-travelling in Sicily

This was our sixth tour with Peter Sommer, which begins to sound like an addiction! People often ask us what was the highlight of the tour. However, we still cannot decide, as every day we were presented with extraordinary archaeological sites, often set in landscapes with amazing views, in terrain covered in wild flowers. As well as these field trips we visited notable churches and were able to see remains of ancient cultural items and even ...

This was our sixth tour with Peter Sommer, which begins to sound like an addiction! People often ask us what was the highlight of the tour. However, we still cannot decide, as every day we were presented with extraordinary archaeological sites, often set in landscapes with amazing views, in terrain covered in wild flowers. As well as these field trips we visited notable churches and were able to see remains of ancient cultural items and even ships in well laid out museums. These experiences were interspersed with tempting meals featuring regional speciality dishes and a succession of local wines, some almost unknown outside Italy. What then of these daily highlights? Here are just six: walking among bronze-age rock-cut tombs and houses at Pantálica; entering through the florid Baroque portico of the Duomo, Syracusa‚Äôs ancient cathedral, to find ourselves surrounded by the huge pillars of the far older Greek temple of Athena; exploring the interior of the Villa Romana del Casale, a unique surviving imperial hunting lodge, with its astonishing mosaic floors, culminating in an amazing 60-metre long hunting scene; viewing the astonishing golden wall mozaics of the Norman cathedral of Monreale and the intricately carved capitals of its cloister; marvelling at the great Greek theatre at Taormina with its natural coastal backdrop; and, for contrast, hiking through the moon-like larva landscape of the upper slopes of Mt Etna. The list could go on and on! Among museum objects, the astonishing workmanship of the ornate ancient ceremonial silverware from the destroyed ancient city of Morgantina stood out. After seeing so many beautiful Greek cities that were destroyed in wars (sometimes multiple times), we were left with an abiding sense of the fragility and impermanence of human societies.

Rating for tour operator:

Despite our late arrival caused by airline delay, we were met at the airport and taken out to join the rest of the group for supper. The whole tour was managed by Paul Beston and Andrea Giardina with the usual calm efficiency and attention to detail which distinguishes Peter Sommer holidays. Paul brought to his guiding a wealth of unobtrusive scholarship and local knowledge based on careful and regularly updated reconnaissance and reading. Andrea communicated his passion for the land and culture of his beloved Sicily, pointing out many things we would otherwise have missed along the way. The combination of guided visits to sites, cities and selected museums helped us to build a composite picture of human cultures in Sicily from the Bronze age to the early modern period, with a particular focus on classical antiquity. Apposite quotations from ancient writers such as Thucidides and Cicero helped us to understand more of the life of the ancient city states and their eventual demise, through the eyes of contemporary observers. The selection of accommodation was always comfortable and especially appealing when staying in rural hotels surrounded by groves of fruit and olive trees. It would be hard to imagine a more enjoyable way to assimilate so much of the history of Sicily in such a short time.

Exploring Sicily by Frogmarch, 13 May 2023
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Introduction to Sicily' Rich History

A thirteen day circular tour of the island of Sicily and its many historic archaeological sites, museums, and architectural and natural landmarks, with expert guidance from a specialist in ancient history and an experienced local guide.

A thirteen day circular tour of the island of Sicily and its many historic archaeological sites, museums, and architectural and natural landmarks, with expert guidance from a specialist in ancient history and an experienced local guide.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the second time we've booked with Peter Sommer, following an excellent trip to the Cyclades last year, and once again they came up trumps.

Exploring Crete by Jim, 11 May 2023
Holiday Rating:

Two excellent weeks in Crete

We covered Crete from East to West: all the major archaeological sites and several world-class museums. We stayed in hotels full of character, and ate wonderful local food in a full range of restaurants.

We covered Crete from East to West: all the major archaeological sites and several world-class museums. We stayed in hotels full of character, and ate wonderful local food in a full range of restaurants.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is a small operator that I have travelled with on over 20 occasions.

Easter in Athens by Falcon Pilot, 5 May 2023
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer Travels Easter in Athens was fun and educational!

This was our second Peter Sommer Travels tour. Both tours were exceptional which is why we recommend friends join us on the second trip. Our guides were both very knowledgeable archaeologists who can explain topics well to non-archaeologists. This tour was a very nice blend of history and culture. It was fascinating to learn about Orthodox Easter and Greek culture surrounding the holy week. The week could easily have been advertised as a Greek ...

This was our second Peter Sommer Travels tour. Both tours were exceptional which is why we recommend friends join us on the second trip. Our guides were both very knowledgeable archaeologists who can explain topics well to non-archaeologists. This tour was a very nice blend of history and culture. It was fascinating to learn about Orthodox Easter and Greek culture surrounding the holy week. The week could easily have been advertised as a Greek Gastronomic tour. Our guides took us to a wide variety of Greek restaurants and markets to experience all kinds of wonderful foods and beverages. We ate very well! We look forward to our next Peter Sommer Travels tour.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is a great company to work with from pre-travel booking thought to the end of the tour. They are very organized and communicate well about what to expect. The expert archaeologist guides are not only subject matter experts but good teachers. We stayed at a first class hotel and ate at numerous wonderful Greek restaurants. We learned so much during our week in Athens.

Peter Sommer Travels by GHR, 19 Feb 2023
Holiday Rating:

Turquoise?Lycean Coast Summer Adventure

We traveled on the Sultan 1 with amazing guides and crew. Weather was hot but beautiful. Slept on the deck all 8 nights and loved it so much. This is a once in a life time experience and ever details, food, itinerary, accommodations were top notch! I cannot say enough positive things about this great trip.

We traveled on the Sultan 1 with amazing guides and crew. Weather was hot but beautiful. Slept on the deck all 8 nights and loved it so much. This is a once in a life time experience and ever details, food, itinerary, accommodations were top notch! I cannot say enough positive things about this great trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Wise, experienced, concerned that you have a good time and a once in a lifetime one too.

Peter Sommer Travels by DominicB, 17 Feb 2023
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic 7-day birthday party in Turkey

I arranged a private charter with Peter Sommer to celebrate my 60th birthday with a group of special friends. We explored the Lycian coast in comfort, learning much about its history, seeing some of its incredible ruins, and having the most luxurious and fun time imaginable.

I arranged a private charter with Peter Sommer to celebrate my 60th birthday with a group of special friends. We explored the Lycian coast in comfort, learning much about its history, seeing some of its incredible ruins, and having the most luxurious and fun time imaginable.

Rating for tour operator:

I have no doubt at all that Peter Sommer's operation is unique in terms of its quality, attention to detail, and charm of execution. The combination of deeply specialist knowledge, the beauty of the region, and the calibre of the staff he employs creates a second to none experience. It is not the cheapest way of seeing Turkey, but it is worth every pound/dollar spent if not more!

Gastronomic Gulet Cruise Croatia by Tom, 10 Jan 2023
Holiday Rating:

Croatia wine and food tour

We spent a week sailing from Split to Dubrovnik on a small sailing vessel - 12 guests max - stopping each day at one of the islands to experience their unique food and wine. The wine of these islands are often only grown there and were excellent. The restaurants were family owned and the meals 5 course- the food was local, wonderful and unique. Each day the tour was delightful and varied. The first day we experienced a cooking class in Split...

We spent a week sailing from Split to Dubrovnik on a small sailing vessel - 12 guests max - stopping each day at one of the islands to experience their unique food and wine. The wine of these islands are often only grown there and were excellent. The restaurants were family owned and the meals 5 course- the food was local, wonderful and unique. Each day the tour was delightful and varied. The first day we experienced a cooking class in Split. We bought, prepared and ate our meal. A wonderful way to meet the other guests.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is located in the UK. Peter is a real person who personally visits and vets all the locations of the cruise. The result is a high quality and unique experience.

Cruising to Ephesus by Gil, 23 Dec 2022
Holiday Rating:

Gulet Cruise from Bodrum to Ephesus and back

Boarded a gulet in Bodrum, and the cruised up the Ionian coast to Ephesus and back, exploring the ruins of Greek and Roman cities along the way. We were accompanied by professor of ancient history and an accomplished Turkish guide throughout the trip, both of whom were able to discuss in depth not only the history of the various sites, but also the culture, traditions and cuisine of Turkey and its ethnic populations.

Boarded a gulet in Bodrum, and the cruised up the Ionian coast to Ephesus and back, exploring the ruins of Greek and Roman cities along the way. We were accompanied by professor of ancient history and an accomplished Turkish guide throughout the trip, both of whom were able to discuss in depth not only the history of the various sites, but also the culture, traditions and cuisine of Turkey and its ethnic populations.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Travels is one of the best, if not THE best, small boat and small group tour operators in the world.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Gil, 23 Dec 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Ancient Greece in Lycia

The trip was in a gulet, which left from Göcek in Turkey, cruised the Carian and Lycian shores to Antalya and then back to Bodrum. Along the way, we stopped at and explored the ruins of the cities of ancient Greece and Rome in the company of a professor of ancient history and a highly competent and educated Turkish guide. It was a relaxing yet highly interesting and informative experience.

The trip was in a gulet, which left from Göcek in Turkey, cruised the Carian and Lycian shores to Antalya and then back to Bodrum. Along the way, we stopped at and explored the ruins of the cities of ancient Greece and Rome in the company of a professor of ancient history and a highly competent and educated Turkish guide. It was a relaxing yet highly interesting and informative experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Travels is well organized, effective and efficient. It selects quality boats and crews and highly qualified guides. One of the best operators for small craft excursions.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Patsy, 23 Dec 2022
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Lycian Shore

It was wonderful. Hot on shore during the summer, but beautiful and cool on the boat. The expeditions were wonderful and fascinating. Our guides, and in particular our Turkish guide Ugur, were exceptional. Helpful, knowledgeable and a lot of fun.

It was wonderful. Hot on shore during the summer, but beautiful and cool on the boat. The expeditions were wonderful and fascinating. Our guides, and in particular our Turkish guide Ugur, were exceptional. Helpful, knowledgeable and a lot of fun.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is an exceptional tour operator. He and his staff are accessible, knowledgeable and unfailingly helpful. We will definitely travel with him again.