AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 381
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 382
Reviews Accepted: 382
Reviews Rejected: 0
382 reviews
Sort by:
Alexander The Great: Pt. One by Ian S, 20 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

A fascinating tour led by experts who helped bring the history to life.

The tour was led by Peter Sommer, whose unrivalled personal and professional knowledge of the area and its history was complemented by special experts of the highest quality in Istanbul, Gallipoli, Troy and Smyrna. On top of this our guide, Cem, ensured that the logistics ran smoothly; that our accommodation, was the best available, with an emphasis on character; and that we ate and drank plentiful and delicious local fare.

The tour was led by Peter Sommer, whose unrivalled personal and professional knowledge of the area and its history was complemented by special experts of the highest quality in Istanbul, Gallipoli, Troy and Smyrna. On top of this our guide, Cem, ensured that the logistics ran smoothly; that our accommodation, was the best available, with an emphasis on character; and that we ate and drank plentiful and delicious local fare.

Rating for tour operator:

The organisation was faultless, and while on tour great care was taken to accommodate our personal needs and interests.

Exploring Sicily by Rikili, 19 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Education, exploration, eating and imbibing...the whole package!

This long-awaited holiday could not have been better. My knowledge of ancient history increased with the discussions and teaching of a renowned history expert, and the other leader was also extremely well-qualified, with local facts, history, dates, stories and details at her fingertips. Both were personable, animated guides with senses of humour. Others in the group were interested in the field, with varying degrees of knowledge, and we all ...

This long-awaited holiday could not have been better. My knowledge of ancient history increased with the discussions and teaching of a renowned history expert, and the other leader was also extremely well-qualified, with local facts, history, dates, stories and details at her fingertips. Both were personable, animated guides with senses of humour. Others in the group were interested in the field, with varying degrees of knowledge, and we all had strong motivation to be there. Our small group got on well, and enjoyed many a delicious Sicilian meal together with fine wines. The accommodation was always comfortable, in either stunning rural locations, or convenient to a city's attractions. Quite a few special occasions punctuated our days, eg, chocolate-making in an historic town, free time to wander lanes of a hilltop village, rambling up Mt Etna with a vulcanologist, and becoming acquainted with olive oil production.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels gives evidence of being an outstanding travel provider. It was easy to appreciate the care and consideration given to the needs of the group in the organisation that must have taken place behind the scenes. You could see the thought that went into designing a holiday for history buffs at the same time as providing treats for all the senses.

Exploring Rome by Caron, 16 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Rome

I had thoroughly researched several cultural tour options and read many great reviews about Peter Sommer Travels before booking so I expected a great tour. However, my experience was beyond what I had imagined. Having been to Rome several times already I was astonished at how much I’d missed during prior visits. Our host/guide took us daily on a lively, fascinating journey, sharing ancient Rome’s people, places, art, architecture, historic sites ...

I had thoroughly researched several cultural tour options and read many great reviews about Peter Sommer Travels before booking so I expected a great tour. However, my experience was beyond what I had imagined. Having been to Rome several times already I was astonished at how much I’d missed during prior visits. Our host/guide took us daily on a lively, fascinating journey, sharing ancient Rome’s people, places, art, architecture, historic sites and mysteries. We experienced some of the world’s top restaurants and stayed in a lovely hotel that was built as a convent in the 15th century. The days flew by and I learned more than I could ever have imagined. This is a unique and unforgettable experience. I highly recommend Peter Sommer Travels, and hope to see them again in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

Super knowledgeable, an outstanding teacher, organized, conscientious, funny, gracious. We moved at a fast pace but never too fast, and he kept us on a tight schedule which ensured we could fit as much as possible into our days

Easter in Athens by JimCleary, 13 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

A deeper look at Athens & Greece

I took this Easter in Athens trip as I wanted to see a bit more of Athens. I have visited many times in the past, and this holiday showed me things I couldn't have experienced on my own. We took part in candlelit processions, ate traditional Easter foods, listened to beautiful singing, all explained by a native Athenian.

I took this Easter in Athens trip as I wanted to see a bit more of Athens. I have visited many times in the past, and this holiday showed me things I couldn't have experienced on my own. We took part in candlelit processions, ate traditional Easter foods, listened to beautiful singing, all explained by a native Athenian.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is a small firm that I have used many times - they have really knowledgeable & helpful guides, excellent organisation, and lovely places to show.

Easter in Athens by Peter, 10 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

A varied cultural & archaeological experience

I spent 7 days in Athens over the Easter period , experiencing the Greek Orthodox religion also we had a good variety of archaeological sites that were visited.

I spent 7 days in Athens over the Easter period , experiencing the Greek Orthodox religion also we had a good variety of archaeological sites that were visited.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels , excellent service , first class service & first rate guides.

Peter Sommer Travels by Laura B, 3 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Crete: Archaeology, Nature And Food was a great tour that met all expectations

This tour provided an excellent overview of the various civilizations that occupied Crete but concentrated on the Minoan period which was of special interest to me. The tour was well designed and for the most part we had the various sites to ourselves, avoiding conflicts with other tours. The tour was expertly guided by Heinrich Hall and Maria Girtzi who gave us freely of their knowledge and experience. A bonus was the extensive flowers throughout ...

This tour provided an excellent overview of the various civilizations that occupied Crete but concentrated on the Minoan period which was of special interest to me. The tour was well designed and for the most part we had the various sites to ourselves, avoiding conflicts with other tours. The tour was expertly guided by Heinrich Hall and Maria Girtzi who gave us freely of their knowledge and experience. A bonus was the extensive flowers throughout the island

Rating for tour operator:

This was the first time my husband and I had been with Peter Sommer having had a recommendation from others. We were not disappointed as the real strength was the quality of the two tour guide leaders not forgetting the experience of our driver, very expert in driving our bus through the small villages we needed to pass through to to get to out of the way sites

Exploring Crete by Rob B, 30 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

An rewarding tour of a richly historic and beautiful island

The tour met our expectations of learning more about the history of Crete. The knowledge and experience of Heinrich Hall and Maria Girtzi, both experienced archaeologists enabled us to understand the Minoan sites so much better than if we had visited them on our own. The comprehensive design of the tour program is to be commended.

The tour met our expectations of learning more about the history of Crete. The knowledge and experience of Heinrich Hall and Maria Girtzi, both experienced archaeologists enabled us to understand the Minoan sites so much better than if we had visited them on our own. The comprehensive design of the tour program is to be commended.

Rating for tour operator:

Our experience with Peter Sommer Travels was very positive and when the tour program had to be changed on one day due to two bridges having been washed away the guides took part of their day off to organize a replacement program. Our dealings with head office was very responsive.

Peter Sommer Travels by GGS, 27 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring and exploring Crete.

I spent eleven days discovering fascinating development of life on Crete during the past 4,000 years

I spent eleven days discovering fascinating development of life on Crete during the past 4,000 years

Rating for tour operator:

Both Maria and Heintich not only had the facts, but were able to present and explain the history. I loved Maria’s telling the myths,

Exploring Crete by Avid Traveler, 26 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

Getting to Know and Love Crete

We had a fantastic tour of Crete with Peter Sommer Travels. The guides provided in-depth, engaging and highly knowledgeable interpretation of each site, with a good deal of humour and passion thrown in. The itinerary was thoughtfully designed and very well prepared. The choice of destinations, food and accommodations were excellent, with awesome and really interesting settings. We could not have chosen a better way to see and learn about Crete!

We had a fantastic tour of Crete with Peter Sommer Travels. The guides provided in-depth, engaging and highly knowledgeable interpretation of each site, with a good deal of humour and passion thrown in. The itinerary was thoughtfully designed and very well prepared. The choice of destinations, food and accommodations were excellent, with awesome and really interesting settings. We could not have chosen a better way to see and learn about Crete!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels provided excellent organization and logistics, smoothly delivered. The food and accommodation were top notch, the guides were also top notch, the transportation by bus was very comfortable with expert driving, airport trasnfers were well organized and smooth, and the overall experience was terrific.

Exploring Crete by Al, 26 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

Well travelled couple had the best experience in our lives primarily due to the qualified Archaeologists leading our tour

Experienced archaeologists interpret almost 4000 year old Minoan and Dorian sites from a perspective that no other guide could give. Because they have done many excavations themselves, they really know their subject. One a PHD and lecturer at the Hellenic Open University and the other a co-editor of the Blue Book on the Aegean. Maria gives great perfomances while presenting Greek mythology in the context of the site visit. Heinrich is a wealth ...

Experienced archaeologists interpret almost 4000 year old Minoan and Dorian sites from a perspective that no other guide could give. Because they have done many excavations themselves, they really know their subject. One a PHD and lecturer at the Hellenic Open University and the other a co-editor of the Blue Book on the Aegean. Maria gives great perfomances while presenting Greek mythology in the context of the site visit. Heinrich is a wealth of knowledge.

Rating for tour operator:

they obviously have done a great job planning. What Michelin describes as a 3 week adventure, they accomplish in 10 days in depth.