AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 371
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 372
Reviews Accepted: 372
Reviews Rejected: 0
372 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Crete by Ms A M 18, 13 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Astonishing Crete

As ever the trip was a well balanced itinerary of ancient and contemporary Crete, and Heinrich's profound depth of knowledge and evidence based commentary was excellent. This was scholarship at its best - expert subject knowledge, impartial analysis and great story telling. The hotels were also a delight, each giving a different experience and capturing a different facet of this diverse island. I also enjoyed some fantastic food and (more ...

As ever the trip was a well balanced itinerary of ancient and contemporary Crete, and Heinrich's profound depth of knowledge and evidence based commentary was excellent. This was scholarship at its best - expert subject knowledge, impartial analysis and great story telling. The hotels were also a delight, each giving a different experience and capturing a different facet of this diverse island. I also enjoyed some fantastic food and (more surprising to me at least) wine. The effort that goes into sourcing great local food (as opposed to just opting for standard international fare) is always a highlight of your tours and adds enormously to appreciation and understanding of the culture.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels focus on providing enjoyable, enriching and mind expanding travel. They have great attention to detail and deliver a very personal service. As a single traveller I very much appreciate the highly sociable ambience the tour leaders create on every trip.

From Šibenik to Zadar by TonyQ, 30 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Dalmatia Coast. Sebenik to Zabar.

We had a great time. We bonded with the three other couples like we had known each other for years. The guide Helena was wonderful beyond words. The crew couldn't have been more accommodating .

We had a great time. We bonded with the three other couples like we had known each other for years. The guide Helena was wonderful beyond words. The crew couldn't have been more accommodating .

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers does a great job and we plan on going with him again. We plan on contacting him after the holidays.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Kathy E, 24 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Archaeology and the Greek Islands: What could be better?

We were on a Turkish Gullet to access important and interesting archeological sites in the Aegean. This trip was varied, interesting and fun. We were a small group with two archeologists so there were plenty of interactions at the sites and on the gullet. Greece, and Turkey, are beautiful countries and it was very special to see the great variety, history and charm of these places. A highlight for me was when anchored for the night close ...

We were on a Turkish Gullet to access important and interesting archeological sites in the Aegean. This trip was varied, interesting and fun. We were a small group with two archeologists so there were plenty of interactions at the sites and on the gullet. Greece, and Turkey, are beautiful countries and it was very special to see the great variety, history and charm of these places. A highlight for me was when anchored for the night close to Delos so we could be on the island first thing and were able to spend hours there virtually with just our group. Additionally, our gullet/Captain/crew were excellent and the food was great. I particularly enjoyed our guides with their deep knowledge and love of the sites and area. Also, the people who go on these archeological tours are very interesting and engaging. I would go again.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second Peter Sommer's trip and it was excellent. The guides are excellent archeologists and the places you visit are carefully curated. They provide excellent overviews yet are flexible to enable a more individual experience too. The gullet was a beautiful boat, very comfortable and the crew very capable. The food and wines were excellent.

From Šibenik to Zadar by Gigi, 19 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

A perfect combination of beautiful scenery, expert archeological visits, excellent food and wine and great company

From the moment we stepped on board the stunning Turkish gullet in Croatia, we knew we were going to have an amazing week. The other six guests were just as enthusiastic, and we all bonded very quickly. Helena, our Archeologist was a great host and made our site visits come to life with her storytelling. There was a good balance between visits and time foe relaxing, and swimming in secluded bays. The food was delicious, and the wine was excellent ...

From the moment we stepped on board the stunning Turkish gullet in Croatia, we knew we were going to have an amazing week. The other six guests were just as enthusiastic, and we all bonded very quickly. Helena, our Archeologist was a great host and made our site visits come to life with her storytelling. There was a good balance between visits and time foe relaxing, and swimming in secluded bays. The food was delicious, and the wine was excellent . The attention to detail was second to none. Peter Sommer was in regular touch with Helena to ensure everything going well. Impressive!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel. Very personal service. They also helped with contact details of local agent for pre and post stay in hotels.

From Šibenik to Zadar by MNS , 19 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Sunshine, new friends, swimming

Croatia with its history and coastline was a wonderful setting for our holiday. We clicked immediately with the other guests in the gulet and our guide Helena. Helena and the crew treated us like loved (older!) relatives and gave the impression that they had as much fun as we did. We were lucky with the weather and really enjoyed swimming - first of the day at 7, followed by other opportunities whenever our captain, Vlado, found a good spot...

Croatia with its history and coastline was a wonderful setting for our holiday. We clicked immediately with the other guests in the gulet and our guide Helena. Helena and the crew treated us like loved (older!) relatives and gave the impression that they had as much fun as we did. We were lucky with the weather and really enjoyed swimming - first of the day at 7, followed by other opportunities whenever our captain, Vlado, found a good spot. We enjoyed cruising while relaxing on deck on sumptuous cushions, trips to interesting sites, towns, museums, restaurants, bars, trips in the inflatable dinghy.... it was wonderful!

Rating for tour operator:

A very personal and caring company. Our guide, Helena, said Peter checked with her every day that we were all having fun.

From Šibenik to Zadar by Dns, 18 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

A trip which exceeded our expectations

Everything was first rate from the quality of the gulet, the standard of food on board, the friendliness and professionalism of the crew, through to the overall organisation. Our tour guide Helena was exceptional taking us through the intricacies of Roman History (and much more besides) without overloading our capacity for knowledge! Otherwise the ice cream and cocktail excursions were highlights as were the numerous swimming opportunities.

Everything was first rate from the quality of the gulet, the standard of food on board, the friendliness and professionalism of the crew, through to the overall organisation. Our tour guide Helena was exceptional taking us through the intricacies of Roman History (and much more besides) without overloading our capacity for knowledge! Otherwise the ice cream and cocktail excursions were highlights as were the numerous swimming opportunities.

Rating for tour operator:

With Peter Sommer we felt in very good hands from the very first contact before we booked and the on ground organisation during the trip was excellent including responding to comments and suggestions from us and our fellow travellers along the way.

Cruising the Carian Coast - M2A by Bill and Ana, San Francisco, 16 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Carian Cruise

Excellent trip! Excellent crew! Guides were informative and made our site visits most interesting.

Excellent trip! Excellent crew! Guides were informative and made our site visits most interesting.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was well planned and well executed. We had no unwelcome surprises. Would highly recommend Peter's services.

Cruising the Carian Coast - M2A by Pete, 16 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Asia Minor Gullet Cruising

Spectacular ancient Greek sites accompanied by an exceptionally knowledgeable and friendly Professor of Archeology, Dr Julian Bennet. Lovely vessel, plenty of swimming in the med.

Spectacular ancient Greek sites accompanied by an exceptionally knowledgeable and friendly Professor of Archeology, Dr Julian Bennet. Lovely vessel, plenty of swimming in the med.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers were very professional at every point in our holiday.

From Šibenik to Zadar by Tracey from Collingwood, Australia , 14 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

An exceptional holiday

I cruised the Dalmatian coast for a week with Peter Sommer on a magnificent Gulet. Everything about the holiday was perfect. We visited beautiful and interesting places. The trip was well planned so that we had a great balance between time to relax and interesting things to see and learn about. Swimming off the boat was a joy, especially in the morning before breakfast. Helena was an outstanding tour leader and we had an excellent crew. We were ...

I cruised the Dalmatian coast for a week with Peter Sommer on a magnificent Gulet. Everything about the holiday was perfect. We visited beautiful and interesting places. The trip was well planned so that we had a great balance between time to relax and interesting things to see and learn about. Swimming off the boat was a joy, especially in the morning before breakfast. Helena was an outstanding tour leader and we had an excellent crew. We were so well looked after and nothing was too much trouble. We were well fed and had wonderful local wines. I thoroughly enjoyed the company of my fellow travellers and made some lasting friendships. I couldn’t imagine cruising with anyone but Peter Somner.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Somner is an outstanding tour operator. All my initial enquiries were handled promptly and my questions addressed with thoughtfulness and patience. The booking experience was handled very well and they provided an excellent local tour operator to assist with arrangements prior to my cruise. The tour was extremely well organised. Attention was paid to every detail and nothing was too much trouble. The tour was carefully planned. The tour leader and crew on the gulet were excellent. I have nothing but the highest praise for Peter Sommer tours.

From Split to Dubrovnik by Mr M Y 18, 13 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Average Review Revised: Peter working hard to make it right!

See below

See below

Rating for tour operator:

We posted an average review of this cruise due the air conditioning not working. Peter contacted us directly several times apologising for the maintenance issue. He generously gave us a partial refund goodwill gesture on our cruise and assured us that this issue would not happen again. Therefore, since we enjoyed all other aspects of this trip, we revise our review to Excellent.