AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 536
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 537
Reviews Accepted: 537
Reviews Rejected: 0
537 reviews
Sort by:
From Šibenik to Zadar by Joe, 24 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Educational but decadent

The cruise through the northern Croatian waters was spectacular. The food wonderful. The guides were very informative. And the Adriatic was refreshing!

The cruise through the northern Croatian waters was spectacular. The food wonderful. The guides were very informative. And the Adriatic was refreshing!

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was just taken care of for us.

From Šibenik to Zadar by Debbie, 24 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Cruising Dalmation coast Sibenik to zadar

One of my favorite trips! Accommodations were comfortable, food excellent, pace of trip perfect. Our guide was knowledgeable, energetic, and fun to be with, as were my fellow companions in travel. I can honestly report, there was nothing I did not like.

One of my favorite trips! Accommodations were comfortable, food excellent, pace of trip perfect. Our guide was knowledgeable, energetic, and fun to be with, as were my fellow companions in travel. I can honestly report, there was nothing I did not like.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter was helpful, kept in contact during the very confusing, disruptive COVID events. I always felt he was on top of the situation,, and maintaining health and safety standards. This was our second Peter Sommers trip, and I cannot say enough positive about him.

From Šibenik to Zadar by Bernie Powers, 22 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Coast of Dalmatia: from Šibenik to Zadar.

A deferred and deflected vacation because of COVID and other world events. We originally planned to tour the Aegean by Gulet but when this was not possible, Peter Sommers offered us this as an alternative. In a group of ten, affable people with a well informed and attentive guide, we had a splendid time. It was a wonderful combination of relaxation and intense education from Filip, who possesses a doctorate in classical history and many ...

A deferred and deflected vacation because of COVID and other world events. We originally planned to tour the Aegean by Gulet but when this was not possible, Peter Sommers offered us this as an alternative. In a group of ten, affable people with a well informed and attentive guide, we had a splendid time. It was a wonderful combination of relaxation and intense education from Filip, who possesses a doctorate in classical history and many tour guides for each point of debarkation. The ages of Greece, Rome, the Ostrogoth invasions, the kingdoms of Croatia, Hungary, the occupation under Napoleon, Venice and Austria all became real to those of us who live in times and distances remote. The food was great as well and the crew. Overall a very enriching experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Exceeded our expectations, especially considering the time of the COVID pandemic.

From Šibenik to Zadar by Mrs. P P 21, 21 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful trip on the Dalmatian coast

This was a one week archeological tour in Croatia. The crew provided us with excellent meals and service aboard the gulet, and we enjoyed the land adventures led by our knowledgeable guides. What a wonderful opportunity for learning the history- both ancient and modern - and meeting the friendly people of this area!

This was a one week archeological tour in Croatia. The crew provided us with excellent meals and service aboard the gulet, and we enjoyed the land adventures led by our knowledgeable guides. What a wonderful opportunity for learning the history- both ancient and modern - and meeting the friendly people of this area!

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent service and communication. Despite the many concerns of traveling during Covid we felt well-provided for by Peter’s attention to detail. Every effort was made to address our health and safety issues during the tour, aboard the boat and on land.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Cybele, 15 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Fascinating

Leaders eager to give us interesting and memorable experiences, good meals, and in-depth explanations about historical sites from ancient to post World Wars

Leaders eager to give us interesting and memorable experiences, good meals, and in-depth explanations about historical sites from ancient to post World Wars

Rating for tour operator:

Caring about tour participants wishes and comforts. Well organized down to the last detail.

Exploring the Peloponnese by JIT, 15 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

EXPLORING THE PELOPOPONNESE OCTOBER 2021

The idea was to explore the ancient archeological sites of this historic part of Greece and educate the guests about the spread of Civilisation, Ideas and Culture dating back to 2000 BCE. The Tour leaders traveled pre-trip to all the sites to select the "best" and then proceed to seamlessly "connect the dots" and provide insight into ancient Greece. I learnt an enormous amount. Further, all aspects of the tour : bus, food, accomodation and ...

The idea was to explore the ancient archeological sites of this historic part of Greece and educate the guests about the spread of Civilisation, Ideas and Culture dating back to 2000 BCE. The Tour leaders traveled pre-trip to all the sites to select the "best" and then proceed to seamlessly "connect the dots" and provide insight into ancient Greece. I learnt an enormous amount. Further, all aspects of the tour : bus, food, accomodation and interaction with guests were diligently attended to. Bravo to Nota and Heinrich our Tour archeology leaders.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is a family operation and every aspect of our tour was choreographed with the customer in mind. I called Peter (he in the UK, I in the USA) multiple times and he was unfailingly courteous and helpful. There were 12 other guests on our tour and not one had a bad thing to say about the Company or our tour leaders.

Exploring Crete by Denise S., 11 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Crete: Archaeology, Nature & Food

We were on this tour October, 2021. This is an in depth view of the many Minoan sites on Crete. This tour is superb because of the two experts, Maria Girtzi Phd., archeologist, and Paul Besson, historian. We stayed at a range of lodging across the island and experienced town and mountain-top venues. One must understand how active this tour is with many marvelous experiences, but only for the truly fit.

We were on this tour October, 2021. This is an in depth view of the many Minoan sites on Crete. This tour is superb because of the two experts, Maria Girtzi Phd., archeologist, and Paul Besson, historian. We stayed at a range of lodging across the island and experienced town and mountain-top venues. One must understand how active this tour is with many marvelous experiences, but only for the truly fit.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Travel has assembled a group of expert guides that differentiate these tours from others by virtue of the expertise of the "on the ground" tour leaders.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Sue , 6 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

A beautiful tour of the Peloponnese

A wonderful trip! We feel so lucky to have traveled with our two excellent guides to fantastic and varied sites, and, with our small touring group size, it all made for a terrific experience. Great food and wine and companionship in addition to learning from our knowledgeable guides about this fascinating area.

A wonderful trip! We feel so lucky to have traveled with our two excellent guides to fantastic and varied sites, and, with our small touring group size, it all made for a terrific experience. Great food and wine and companionship in addition to learning from our knowledgeable guides about this fascinating area.

Rating for tour operator:

A great tour itinerary and we were constantly impressed with the care given to every detail. Heinrich and Nota are special human beings in addition to their ability to impart their knowledge and excitement. They made every aspect of travel in this time of Covid a pleasure. Well done all.

From Šibenik to Zadar by Mr M B 21, 6 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Very enjoyable and informative gulet cruise

A gulet was a very enjoyable and pleasant way of seeing the Dalmatian coast. Filip the guide was very knowledgeable and good at imparting his knowledge and also very good company. The other passengers were good company. And all the arrangements worked well

A gulet was a very enjoyable and pleasant way of seeing the Dalmatian coast. Filip the guide was very knowledgeable and good at imparting his knowledge and also very good company. The other passengers were good company. And all the arrangements worked well

Rating for tour operator:

Particularly good at providing well- qualified expert guides

Exploring the Peloponnese by Dave, 5 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Marvelous trip around the Peloponnese

During an extensive exploration of the peninsula we were treated to Bronze Age and Classical ruins, Byzantine churches, Frankish forts, still-functioning monasteries, highlights at a number of museums, and beautiful scenery, all in the company of excellent guides. Heinrich and Nota were super-knowledgeable and fun; it is hard to imagine a better way to experience the Peloponnese, or Greece for that matter. Very highly recommended!

During an extensive exploration of the peninsula we were treated to Bronze Age and Classical ruins, Byzantine churches, Frankish forts, still-functioning monasteries, highlights at a number of museums, and beautiful scenery, all in the company of excellent guides. Heinrich and Nota were super-knowledgeable and fun; it is hard to imagine a better way to experience the Peloponnese, or Greece for that matter. Very highly recommended!

Rating for tour operator:

The folks at Peter Sommer Travels were excellent-attentive and great at communicating during these stressful times. Every aspect of the tour was executed flawlessly. We look forward to traveling with PST again...and again!