AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 356
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 357
Reviews Accepted: 357
Reviews Rejected: 0
357 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Rome by Gaylord , 14 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exploring (ancient) Rome

A week studying the art, architecture, and city planning of ancient Rome

A week studying the art, architecture, and city planning of ancient Rome

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers, a small English tour operator. Outstanding in every way.

Walking & cruising the Dodec by Digger Jeff, 14 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Gulet cruise

Several months ago, I returned from a Peter Sommer guided tour. Normally, I do not like guided tours, as I find that many tour and local guides lack detailed knowledge of the particular site and are rarely able to put it into a wider context. Examples of this were 1) passing a guided tour at Housesteads Roman Fort in 2008, where the guide was explaining how the Pilae in the granary were part of the bath house and 2) at Knossos on Crete in 1987, ...

Several months ago, I returned from a Peter Sommer guided tour. Normally, I do not like guided tours, as I find that many tour and local guides lack detailed knowledge of the particular site and are rarely able to put it into a wider context. Examples of this were 1) passing a guided tour at Housesteads Roman Fort in 2008, where the guide was explaining how the Pilae in the granary were part of the bath house and 2) at Knossos on Crete in 1987, a local guide was explaining that a room contained many columns because the Minoans worshipped columns! Imagine my surprise on returning to Knossos after 31 years, to come across a guide who clearly knew what he was talking about and could also put the site into context. Here we met Dr. Michael Metcalf of Peter Sommer Travels. This year we went on their ‘Walking and Crusing the Dodecanese’ with Michael. I had always wanted to visit these islands, but by ourselves, we would have been based on one island (Kos) and visited the others by ferry. This would have restricted us to the main towns, seeing nothing of the islands or peoples themselves. As an archaeologist and historian, I wanted to see something of the islands and their archaeology. I also love boats and walking. The tour fitted the bill perfectly. We visited a number of islands by Gulet, going into their interiors on foot and returning by minibus or vise versa. We saw a number of archaeological and historical sites, ranging from ancient Greek to WWII. We saw sites we would never have seen or dared to visit. The Gulets are small and you get to know everyone, and you become a tight knit group of friends. One thing I really liked, is that not all the meals were on the boat. We had many meals in local tavernas, meeting local people and putting money into local economy. Don’t get me wrong, the boat meals were excellent, and usually more than we could normally eat or drink. Another cruise we went on, did exactly the opposite. All meals were on the boat, again excellent, but we only saw part of the port town we were in. After the first few, they all looked the same. I can not recommend this tour company too highly.

Rating for tour operator:

Very knowledgeable and helpful

Exploring Rome by Kim, 14 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Rome

We went deep into ancient Rome. Guide Paul astonishing. Brilliant and posessed with the era. 8+ hours a day exploring ruins inside and outside city. So much covered and with such enthusiasm. Well thought out itinerary. The 6 of us on the trip are very experienced travelers, and we all marveled at the breadth of coverage and the fun we had. Even slogging through the Forum in a monsoon rain was great.

We went deep into ancient Rome. Guide Paul astonishing. Brilliant and posessed with the era. 8+ hours a day exploring ruins inside and outside city. So much covered and with such enthusiasm. Well thought out itinerary. The 6 of us on the trip are very experienced travelers, and we all marveled at the breadth of coverage and the fun we had. Even slogging through the Forum in a monsoon rain was great.

Rating for tour operator:

From pick up at airport to delivery back, the trip was well planned and executed. Enough meals covered to keave us time on our own. Excellent hotel: a converted nunnery from 1600's, in keeping with our ancient Rome theme. We were whisked to the front of the line for each of the crowded sites. Materials in advance well explained the trip without overinforming.

Exploring Rome by Clay, 13 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer Rome tour

One week in Rome, exploring ancient sites and more modern ones. We were accompanied by excellent guides, one from the operator and one local.

One week in Rome, exploring ancient sites and more modern ones. We were accompanied by excellent guides, one from the operator and one local.

Rating for tour operator:

All of the arrangements were flawless. Excellent guides, accommodations, meals and transport. The design and execution of the tour were first rate

Exploring Rome by Mrs N D 18, 13 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Classical Rome tour November 2018

We visited numerous complex sites which were presented with a sense of continuity and relationship to each other and to the present day. I appreciated the focus on classical Roman history and as the tour proceeded also appreciated that our guide showed how this history led to the renaissance and beyond. Visited several sites which we had never seen on previous visits. Extremely pleased.

We visited numerous complex sites which were presented with a sense of continuity and relationship to each other and to the present day. I appreciated the focus on classical Roman history and as the tour proceeded also appreciated that our guide showed how this history led to the renaissance and beyond. Visited several sites which we had never seen on previous visits. Extremely pleased.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent knowledge of history, sense of humor, and curiosity. He answered every question while making interesting comparisons and connections. Also showed us so much...kept us very busy and engaged.

Walking and Cruising Dalmatia by Lynne O, 8 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely fantastic trip!

We had a wonderful adventure exploring the islands and coast of Croatia from the comfort of a beautiful gulet ship. Our room was comfortable, the food was superb, and the crew of our ship (My Croatia) were professional and friendly. We couldn't have asked for a more knowledgable, accommodating, enjoyable guide than Helena Thomas. Her enthusiasm for Croatia and history made this trip exceptional. We were also fortunate to find ourselves ...

We had a wonderful adventure exploring the islands and coast of Croatia from the comfort of a beautiful gulet ship. Our room was comfortable, the food was superb, and the crew of our ship (My Croatia) were professional and friendly. We couldn't have asked for a more knowledgable, accommodating, enjoyable guide than Helena Thomas. Her enthusiasm for Croatia and history made this trip exceptional. We were also fortunate to find ourselves with a delightful group of co-travelers to share this experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer tours are very carefully planned and all details are taken care of. From the travelers perspective, there are no worries or concerns. The hikes led by an entertaining and knowledgable archeologist, the lunches at small family wineries, picnics, and local guides with intimate knowledge of the area all combined to make the experience a relaxing, unique, memorable way to explore Croatia.

From Šibenik to Zadar by A Cruise Sceptic, 7 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

A chance to explore the scenery and history of a less travelled part of the Croatian coast

A combination of glorious scenery, a wonderful gulet and a superb guide made for an unforgettable trip

A combination of glorious scenery, a wonderful gulet and a superb guide made for an unforgettable trip

Rating for tour operator:

He pays constant attention to every detail of the operation, even phoning our guide to ensure that we had all enjoyed our twice daily swims

From Šibenik to Zadar by Annie, 6 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful journey along the Dalmatian coast

Our Peter Sommers gullet cruise on the Dalmatian Coast with the wonderful and knowledgable guide Helena, our amazing crew on board Perla, new friends from around the world, and spectacular scenery, was the most relaxing holiday we have had. Add to this a journey into the fascinating and complex history of Croatia and the Adriatic, it was a holiday we will not forget. We will be back for another Peter Sommers adventure! Tim and Ann, Australia

Our Peter Sommers gullet cruise on the Dalmatian Coast with the wonderful and knowledgable guide Helena, our amazing crew on board Perla, new friends from around the world, and spectacular scenery, was the most relaxing holiday we have had. Add to this a journey into the fascinating and complex history of Croatia and the Adriatic, it was a holiday we will not forget. We will be back for another Peter Sommers adventure! Tim and Ann, Australia

Rating for tour operator:

Incredibly well organised and thought out tour by Peter Sommer Travels. The Peter Sommer team is great to deal with and they really care about their tours. The trip was amazing, with every detail taken into consideration. It ran like clockwork - you could tell so much preparation had gone into ensuring the adventure was perfect.

Walking and Cruising Dalmatia by SPO, 3 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Our Outstanding Fall Cruising & Hiking Expedition in the Adriatic

My wife and I recently enjoyed a week-long excursion along the Croatian coast, booking "Walking and Cruising the Coast of Dalmatia" through Peter Sommer Travels. Our trip included cruising along the Croatian coast and islands in the gulet "Croatia" with Captain Vladimir and his highly professional and attentive crew of Josef, Marino and Ure, and hiking in the Croatian islands and mainland with our guide, Dr. Helena Tomas, a professor of Archaeology ...

My wife and I recently enjoyed a week-long excursion along the Croatian coast, booking "Walking and Cruising the Coast of Dalmatia" through Peter Sommer Travels. Our trip included cruising along the Croatian coast and islands in the gulet "Croatia" with Captain Vladimir and his highly professional and attentive crew of Josef, Marino and Ure, and hiking in the Croatian islands and mainland with our guide, Dr. Helena Tomas, a professor of Archaeology at the University of Zagreb. Captain Vlad and his crew performed flawlessly and proved to be extremely accomplished at operating the Croatia and its Zodiac boat, in attending to the cabins, and in preparing and serving excellent meals and snacks. The crew was attentive to all details, from modifying the menu to accommodate their guests to finding the perfect bays to drop anchor for a quick swim in the Adriatic. Certainly much of the credit for our outstanding experience goes to our guide, Helena, whose knowledge of the incredible and extensive history of this region is only matched by her passion for this work. Helena also teamed us with other local guides who were able to provide their unique perspectives on the culture and history of the region, and we visited villages and enjoyed meals and wine with local families that really enriched our understanding of the local culture. The entire experience was absolutely delightful, and we would certainly book another trip with Peter Sommers. I have already recommended this particular trip to colleagues at work, knowing they will not be disappointed with this adventure!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers knows how to do things the right way...he teams an outstanding, knowledgeable guide with expert seamen and provides personal specific attention to each trip to make sure everything goes flawlessly. All connections and contacts occurred right on time and were highly professional, and there were no surprises or mistakes along the way. Excellent job.

Cruising the Dodecanese by Patsy & Christopher, 3 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding in every respect. The best holiday either of us have been on.

The holiday was a conducted cruise on a gulet, our two ‘experts’ were both outstanding in every respect and wore their knowledge lightly but clearly had a deep knowledge of the whole area, its history, its place in Greek myth and not least its cuisine. The gulet was very well run with an outstanding master and a very willing, well trained friendly crew. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone and the catering on board very good as well. In ...

The holiday was a conducted cruise on a gulet, our two ‘experts’ were both outstanding in every respect and wore their knowledge lightly but clearly had a deep knowledge of the whole area, its history, its place in Greek myth and not least its cuisine. The gulet was very well run with an outstanding master and a very willing, well trained friendly crew. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone and the catering on board very good as well. In sum we cannot rate the whole experience highly enough in every respect - we are going again next season to a different area!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer runs a very efficient, very friendly, very knowleable and very helpful Team. Their pre-cruise brief was also outstanding - very helpful, full of interesting hints and advice and clearly written by those who run the cruises and not some PR rubbish! In our view they provide a unique experience and the cruise was excellent value for money.