Peter Sommer Travels

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 195
Reviews accepted: 195
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
194
Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Amazing holiday combining knowledge and leisure

By Eva on 16 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about From Split to Dubrovnik >

Fantastic trip on the Dalmatiancoast and archipelago, with the perfect combination of guided tours and free time spent on deck, sunbathing, swimming or lounging in the shade. Everyone could enjoy time the way suiting them. Also pleasant group of fellow travellers - an international mix that made great lunch and dinner conversations.
Last but not least our fantasic guide Helena Tomas, that made archeology and history fascinating and clear. Her enthusiasm for her topic was captivating and made you want to learn even more. And apart from guiding she was a fun and inspiring person that created a wonderful atmoshere.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Well organized, cared individually for their guests and had an excellent attention to detail. We were so well cared for and the value for money was excellent.

Wonderful, Beyond our Expectations

By Canadian Keith on 15 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Crete >

This was our first trip with Peter Sommer Travel. It was our first time in Crete but the pre tour info gave us a good insight as to what we could expect. The focus was on archaeology and food. The tour guides were experts in these fields. They had a great knowledge of the archaeological sites which were chosen with care so we experienced a variety of sites that covered a wide span of history. A particular strength was their ability to convey their knowledge to the tour participants so we came away with a real understanding of the sweep of history we were exposed to.

As for the food we were able to sample a wide variety of the Cretan regional cuisines and felt the menus never got boring. While we expected a great archaeological tour the food was a great bonus.

We are currently checking out another Peter Sommer tour for next year. Many of the tour members were frequent participants with Peter Sommer. Their enthusiasm for some of the other available tours was infectious, and now we know why. Another plus was that the tour attracted folks from all over the world which added interest and made mixing very enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Peter Sommer tour was a great experience. Both guides were excellent subject matter experts, were approachable and related well with the group. Everything was well organized, and they were able to fit in some extra tour visits. The bus driver was excellent in dealing with narrow village "roads", and edgy mountain switchbacks. Before the tour the office staff were able to answer all our questions in a friendly and timely way.

Exploring the Peloponnese

By denise on 15 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring the Peloponnese >

We took the road less traveled and that made all the difference. The Peter Sommer, Tour Exploring the Peloponnese, truly did explore. Most advertised tours don't include the wild Mani area,and don't include hair-raising mountain bus trips through Central Arcadia, or a boat trip through a flooded magical cave where we were like visitors to Hades Underworld led by Chairon. We discovered Greek wild-flowers, and Greek wine, local Greek food-dishes (including wild boar). We stayed in delightful and unusual small hotels and visited all the usual sites such as Mycenae, and Olympia but with tour leaders, archaelogists Heinrich and Nota, fallen heaps of stones and massed museum displays came alive as buildings and lifestyles, and the history, icons, and wall paintings of Byzantine churches were explained to a group who of travellers much more familiar with western Art. They opened up a world that all the studying from books cannot give. The only trouble is "I want to go back for more"!A wonderful trip.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Communication with Peter Sommer was easy and all questions were replied to quickly. I noted that the special needs of all our group were catered for, and everything was done to make us a harmonious group. The bus driver was excellent, amazingly competent on difficult narrow roads and a lovely person. The hotels and restaurants chosen were interesting and varied, giving a lot of different experiences; the reading list before tour and the notes provided on Greece were great preparation, and the tour leaders were really knowledgeable and went out of their way to answer questions.

Outstanding

By Mrs M W 17 on 12 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring the Peloponnese >

It was a wonderful time, spectacular sights and experiences,intellectually stimulating ,great company and very interesting food.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Wonderful organiser,great attention to detail and extremely knowledgeable.

Discovering History in the Peloponnese

By Huffy on 11 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring the Peloponnese >

Travelling in the Peloponnese was an adventure every day into the history of Greece. Our two archaeologist guides had provided us with maps of the sites and notes about the architecture and were always ready to answer any questions. At the sites we were given a lot of additional of information as we moved around so we could understand different aspects of living in the ancient world.
We also had an up to date insight with visits to an Olive Information Centre having travelled through thousands of olive trees, and also to 3 wineries for great wine tastings. One of the great highlights was to stay on the island of Monemvasia in a restored wonderful old house full of treasures and overlooking the sea.
Our guides were exceptionally helpful and sociable and we found the tour had attracted people really interested in the what the tour was offering and so were good company.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Communicated well when required and gave good advice

Outstanding Tour of Crete

By Molly A on 10 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Crete >

Our holiday in Crete was wonderful. Our travels included curated visits to Minoan sites and museums, tiny and colorful Byzantine village chapels, and agro experiments where mountain villages are turned into lodging. The emphasis is on archeology and history of the island. The food and lodging was incredible with our local tour guide involved the whole way, making sure needs were met.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We are USA based and found Peter Sommer Travels easy to work with. Their tour website was amazingly accurate and we had great confidence embarking on this tour with them. Peter Sommers travels is a highly professional operation.

extremely enjoyable & expertly guided tour of key sites & locations in the Peloponnese

By tony9239 on 6 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring the Peloponnese >

A highly informed and interesting introduction to a rich collection of ancient ruins, temples, sanctuaries and stadia combined with travelling through spectacular & scenic terrain with its charming villages and towns all round the breath-taking peninsula that is Southern Greece. Our two weeks were packed with visits to the delights of Nafplio, Monemvasia, Kalamata and Corinth along with very engaging excursions to the likes of Messene, Sparta, Mycenae and Olympia.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We found Peter Sommer Travels to be a friendly and well organised "family firm" who seem genuinely concerned to ensure its clients have a really enjoyable and rewarding tour. And in Heinrich Hall they have surely secured the perfect guide for such an excursion - a very knowledgeable and engaging German national who's spent much of his life in Ireland and Greece (in which countries he no doubt developed his infectious sense of humour). He certainly knows his archaeology from a pile of stones! He is ably supported by Nota who organises everything seemlessly and provides valuable insights on Art History and the more recent Byzantine period.

Exceed my expectations

By JNeil on 6 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A wonderful introduction to Sicily that I did not expect. The scenery and history of the Greeks, Arabs and Romans was much more than anticipated. The Greek Temples that survived to provide such great experience of what it was like in the 5th century B.C had all of thankful that we were there to see it before some calamity or earthquake might take it from us. Our accommodations and food were first class and our expert tour guide and local guide were very knowledgeable and helpful at all times. We had a great experience and I do not hesitate to recommend this tour and see more of Sicily than just Palermo on a cruise ship. The site selection provided exposure to the various sections of Sicily and it's ancient history.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Well planned itinerary and very little for anyone to have to plan for, Peter Sommer's Travel had it all taken care of for us and very little for the travel to think about other than enjoying the travel experience.

Brilliant Sicilian experience

By Prof W S 17 on 4 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The Peter Sommer tour of Sicily was very well planned and executed. The itinerary covered all the major sights as well as some lesser known ones; the lecturer and local guide were wonderful companions, knowledgeable, patient, and funny; the meal stops and menus were chosen with great care, introducing us to places and dishes we would never have experienced on our own. Pace was relaxed most of the time, with only one day requiring an early departure and many hours on the road.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Professional at every stage. Excellent communication before the tour, and support throughout.

Exploring Crete

By SimonT on 1 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Crete >

We had a highly enjoyable trip with Peter Sommer Travel exploring Crete's architecture, culture and food. With two very knowledgeable guides we learned a lot about the island's rich history as well as enjoying delicious food and wine.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Extremely well organised tour which had clearly been carefully planned.