AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 560
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 562
Reviews Accepted: 562
Reviews Rejected: 0
562 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Crete by Univac25, 27 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Crete

Excellent and detailed guided tours of the important sites in Crete from Neolithic through Byzantine times. Fine dining with emphasis on local Cretan ingredients and staying mostly in unique boutique hotels.

Excellent and detailed guided tours of the important sites in Crete from Neolithic through Byzantine times. Fine dining with emphasis on local Cretan ingredients and staying mostly in unique boutique hotels.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely helpful in providing alternate meals for special diet needs. Personally made arrangements to for COVID testing requirements of entry and exit, which would have been awkward to try to do yourself.

Exploring Sicily by Anne, 27 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful experience

Trip around Sicily viewing archaeological sites and tasting Sicilian cuisine and wines

Trip around Sicily viewing archaeological sites and tasting Sicilian cuisine and wines

Rating for tour operator:

We were looked after extremely well, guided carefully and with great information about all the sites we visited and food we ate.

Easter in Athens by Nick, 25 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

A unique exploration of Athenian life

We spent a week in Athens leading up to the Orthodox Easter celebrations. We explored some important classical sites in and around Athens,, and we observed the religious ceremonies of Easter week, as well as some excellent practical sessions decorating pottery and cooking.

We spent a week in Athens leading up to the Orthodox Easter celebrations. We explored some important classical sites in and around Athens,, and we observed the religious ceremonies of Easter week, as well as some excellent practical sessions decorating pottery and cooking.

Rating for tour operator:

The holiday arrangements were top notch. The hotel was excellent and in a perfect location, The guides both came from Athens and knew the city and region extremely well. Furthermore, they were both experts, one in the field of classical Greece and the other in Byzantine architecture. We could not have had a better team.

Exploring Crete by Jeanne, 25 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

exploring Crete and Minoan enthusiasms

thorough tour all around the island, with highly knowledgeable and really pleasant guides

thorough tour all around the island, with highly knowledgeable and really pleasant guides

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is a superbly run tour operator: itineraries are well thought through; logistics quickly and quietly managed; fascinating dinner discussions; and a virtuoso bus driver .

Exploring Sicily by Steph , 25 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

A fantastic holiday, the entertaining and knowledgeable guides made the history come alive and did an excellent job in explaining Sicily's complex past. The historical sites were all amazing and beautifully scenic with abundant wild flowers. All the accommodation was very good and the food everywhere was exceptional.

A fantastic holiday, the entertaining and knowledgeable guides made the history come alive and did an excellent job in explaining Sicily's complex past. The historical sites were all amazing and beautifully scenic with abundant wild flowers. All the accommodation was very good and the food everywhere was exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent throughout. Everything was organised well and the guides were brilliant .

Exploring the Peloponnese by Alexander Grimwade, 25 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful tour of the Peloponnese peninsula

Our 2-week Peter Sommer Travels Tour "Exploring the Peloponnese" was a surprising and wonderful introduction to the history and natural beauty of this area of the Greek mainland. We were accommodated in excellent hotels in beautiful surroundings, introduced to the complexity and variety of Greek history from the Bronze Age to the present day, tasted a huge variety of delicious local food and wine, and were amazed by the gorgeous green and colorful ...

Our 2-week Peter Sommer Travels Tour "Exploring the Peloponnese" was a surprising and wonderful introduction to the history and natural beauty of this area of the Greek mainland. We were accommodated in excellent hotels in beautiful surroundings, introduced to the complexity and variety of Greek history from the Bronze Age to the present day, tasted a huge variety of delicious local food and wine, and were amazed by the gorgeous green and colorful spring scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is a meticulous operator that pays great attention to all the details that make a tour enjoyable and trouble free. The quality of their guides is outstanding, and the choice of hotels and restaurants was excellent.

Easter in Athens by Bal, 24 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Easter in Athens

Well organised, interesting, different. Good fun with interesting activities.

Well organised, interesting, different. Good fun with interesting activities.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient

Exploring the Peloponnese by TwinLin, 24 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

A magical trip to learn about Greek culture, history and archaeological treasures

Lovely weather and colorful spring wildflowers enhanced the stunning archaeological sites. The warm and friendly reception at great hotels and restaurants complemented the expertise and deep knowledge of our guides. Our always thoughtful bus driver was exceptional and kept his bus immaculate. Greek food was varied, healthy, colorful and delicious.

Lovely weather and colorful spring wildflowers enhanced the stunning archaeological sites. The warm and friendly reception at great hotels and restaurants complemented the expertise and deep knowledge of our guides. Our always thoughtful bus driver was exceptional and kept his bus immaculate. Greek food was varied, healthy, colorful and delicious.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organized, with flexibility to make appropriate changes where necessary. The pre-trip advice and information provided was useful, comprehensive and up-to-date. Consideration was given to the individual needs and challenges of participants at all times.

Exploring Sicily by Lisa, 7 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily was a wonderful adventure

We spent two weeks exploring Greek, Roman, Norman, and Byzantine sites and learning about the many layers of culture in Sicily. The experience was fantastic! Our expert guides led us through Sicily's history, beginning with its pre-historic sites and taking us through subsequent layers of culture through Greek, Roman, Norman, Byzantine, and European conquests.

We spent two weeks exploring Greek, Roman, Norman, and Byzantine sites and learning about the many layers of culture in Sicily. The experience was fantastic! Our expert guides led us through Sicily's history, beginning with its pre-historic sites and taking us through subsequent layers of culture through Greek, Roman, Norman, Byzantine, and European conquests.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer. com has a great staff. Because it is a small organization, we knew who to contact as we were planning the trip. When Covid reared its ugly head again in the winter and we were contemplating cancelling, Peter himself called to talk to us about the situation. We are so glad we went. Tour guides were fantastic and the whole experience was very enjoyable.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Robert A, 3 Jan 2022
Holiday Rating:

A beautul vaction along the Lycian Shore

Originally, I was signed up for the Cyclades trip, but it was canceled due to the Turkish Greek border being closed. I was able to change my trip to Cruising the Lycian Shore which was within the Turkish borders. While I was disappointed that I wasn't taking the trip to Greece, I ended up loving the Lycian Shore. Since it was a 2 week cruise, there was a perfect balance between exploring the ruins and time for relaxation (snorkeling, kayaking, ...

Originally, I was signed up for the Cyclades trip, but it was canceled due to the Turkish Greek border being closed. I was able to change my trip to Cruising the Lycian Shore which was within the Turkish borders. While I was disappointed that I wasn't taking the trip to Greece, I ended up loving the Lycian Shore. Since it was a 2 week cruise, there was a perfect balance between exploring the ruins and time for relaxation (snorkeling, kayaking, swimming, or lounging on the deck). Our archeologist, Heinrich, was extremey knowledgeable and a wonderful storyteller. He really made the history come alive. And our guide, Ugar, anticpated every want and need even before I knew what I wanted or needed. In the end, I was so happy that I had taken the cruise, and I am booked on the Cyclades crusie this summer. An amazing experience.

Rating for tour operator:

This was the second trip I took with Peter Sommers and on each trip my expectations were exceeded. In short Peter Sommers Travel is a first class operation -- from booking until you leave for the airport on your return. I think one thing that makes the trip special is that Peter is very involved with the itieneray and has traveled to the ruins and places himself. On one of our excursions we had lunch at the home of one of Peter's Turkish friends! Being able to experience the culture in such a personal and intimate way is a hallmark of the two trips I have taken with Peter Sommers. The guide and archeologist could not have been more informed and helpful. And I cannot forget the incredible food prepared on the boat. Our chef was creative and inspired, and offered a wondrful variety of dishes which were rarely repeated. The boat was absolutely beatutiful with a skilled and friendly crew. An excellent rating for my experience with Peter Sommers Travel does not seem high enough.