Peter Sommer Travels

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 221
Reviews accepted: 221
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
220
Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Entertaining educational experience

By Bill on 16 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Wessex >

The only thing that exceeded the depth of knowledge imparted to me on this tour was the depth of ignorance that I possessed prior to it. I cannot compliment PSTours enough on a well-planned itinerary and on the expertise of the two tour leaders, Paul Beston and Michael Metcalfe. The accommodations, the dining and the drinking experiences were superb and the choice of the historical and cultural venues was excellent. Both Paul and Michael excelled at elucidating the history of the Wessex region and made the learning experience both enriching and entertaining. Enjoyed every minute.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This is our second PSTour (first one was to Crete). Both tours have been excellent. PS tour leaders are not only experts in their academic fields but are also masters at making the tours work smoothly and efficiently. The itineraries are excellent, both in terms of venues and in terms of the pace of the tour. The choices of accommodations and the dining locales never disappoint. My wife and I have done many tours with a variety of tour companies. PSTours is definitely the best.

One of our best holidays EVER!

By Mrs G on 14 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Cruising the Aegean: Family >

Cruising the Agean: a family adventure lived up to and went beyond expectations. An excellent service from start to finish. Comfortable and elegant accommodations, friendly and experienced crew and excellent guides who were not only extremely knowledgeable but very personable too. We were so impressed and will definitely choose Peter Sommer Travels again.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I really liked the personal attention we received from Peter and his staff. It makes you feel confident in making your reservation that your custom is important unlike larger companies.

Exploring Wessex

By Caligirl on 13 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Wessex >

Exploring Wessex was one of the best holiday tours I've ever been on. From picking me up at the train station to begin the tour, even though my original train was cancelled, to getting me to the airport at the end, Exploring Wessex was extremely well organized. Hotel accommodations were arranged and ready for us, with no hassle whatsoever. The daily site tours were definitely the highlights of the tour. Each day was something new and wonderful. The absolute highlight was being able to explore Stonehenge in the evening. The small tour group allowed us access to places larger group wouldn't be able to go. Meal arrangements were well planned and delicious. I didn't have a bad meal anywhere. Our tour leaders, Paul and Michael, were excellent guides. Their Wessex knowledge was impressive. Michael kept us on schedule, so that we didn't miss out on anything. I highly recommend Exploring Wessex to anyone who is interested in English history or if you are just looking for a wonderful holiday tour. Peter Sommer Travels is the way to go.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Peter Sommer Travels is such an easy company to work with. As I was planning my Exploring Wessex tour, they were available to answer any questions I had. Julie was a great help in getting my train connections sorted out. Even though my original train was cancelled, which made me arrive in Bath later, Paul was there to pick me up. All of the day-to-day tour arrangements went smoothly, which shows the company is well organized. I'm looking forward to traveling with Peter Sommer Travels again.

Peter Sommer Travels : Exploring Ireland

By mrc on 11 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Ireland >

Absolutely fabulous 10 day trip around the island, exploring the culture, history, and beauty of Ireland - not to mention the cuisine! Led by a wonderful, knowledgeable, and very personable pair of guides. Accommodates were over the top - everything from castles to lovely country homes, surrounded by beautiful gardens.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Peter Sommer Travels, ltd. This trip marks the fifth time that we have traveled with this tour operator, and we know from this experience and the previous four trips that the travel experience will be the best that one could possibly expect. All the trips have been well planned to cover a tremendous amount of history, archeology, and culture, while at the same time providing superb accommodations. As always there are two guides, both of whom are extremely knowledgeable about the area, and both who possess great people skills.

A Fantastic Time Exploring Ireland

By BayouDoc on 11 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Ireland >

We have enjoyed four prvfious tours with Peter Sommer Travels (PST) and we had been searching for a high quality, small group tour of Ireland. Thus, when PST offered the Exploring Ireland tour, we booked withou hesitation. The main tour guidewas Heinrich Hall with whom we had toured twice before and whom we admired for all the reasons you get to "love" a fine tour guide. As usuall with PST tours the itinerary was varied and interesting. The food was always excellent and abundant. The accomodation were all very fi e and, more importantly, uniquely charming - highlights of the trip in and of themselves. Our local guide was Dr. Siobhan Hargis and she proved to be as knowledgeable and as caring and considerate as Heinrich. One could not possibly ask for two more wonderful tour guides. People who choose PST archeology-focused tours may be seen as at least a somewhat self-selected group and, tnus, it is small wonder that our group was a "success" from the start - we met wonderful people, made new friends, and had fun exploring Ireland with them. All or most of us were "alumni" of one or more previous PST tours and that says a lot about the quality of the tours. After this wonderful tour experience, I indicated my eagerness to sign-up for future tours, so I believe that documents my complete pleasure with, and enthusiam for, the Exploring Ireland tour offered for the first time by Peter Sommer Travels.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This was our fifth tour with Peter Sommer Travels and each has been a completely successful, thoroughly enjoyable experience.

A guided tour of Hadrian's wall

By Jo on 8 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Hadrian's Wall >

Amazing time, wonderful trip, well organized, lovely hotel, great food and walks along the wall and through museums that were spectacular.
a week's trip, staying in one hotel which was very nice, a real home base. Daily trips to walk various sections of the Wall, see ruins of the forts, visit museums to get a real sense of Roman Britain.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Peter Sommer Travels provided an excellent trip. Very well organized,every detail was thought out, taking care that we were well looked after every step of the way. Great choices for meals, we went places we would not have found on our own. Highly recommended.

Exploring Ireland with Peter Sommer Travels

By William on 6 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Ireland >

Our first visit to Ireland. We chose Peter Sommer Travels as our tour operator given previous experiences with Peter Sommer Travels. The tour itinerary had been thoroughly researched prior to commencement, the hotels extremely comfortable, mostly country houses and the restaurants, whether in the hotels or stand alone, offering a range of fares, from haute cuisine to country kitchen, all worthy of a return visit and high recommendation. The coach was immaculate and superbly comfortable with a seating configuration which had seats facing each other, separated by tables. This configuration allowed for conversation and interaction between the guests and the guides. The two guides Siobhan and Heinrich , both academics, are superbly versed in their subjects and able to impart their knowledge to their audience in a manner which maintained interest and was suitably peppered with humour. They also hosted the group in an exemplary manner at the dinner table and structured the daily itineraries to afford the guests personal space and comfort.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This was our third Peter Sommer Travel experience. The itineraries offered appear to attract like-minded guests who although of differing nationalities and backgrounds share similar interests. The tours are structured for small groups and are lead by academic tour leaders who are extremely well versed in their subjects and have a caring social disposition towards their guests. The hotels, restaurants and travel arrangements are well researched and are appropriate to the needs of the guests. Peter Sommer Travels perfectly answers to the rhetoric of the Ultimate Questions "Would you Recommend?" and "Would you use their services again?" The answer to both questions being a resounding Yes!

Exploring Ireland - steeped in history, incredible scenery and fabulous food!

By Steffi on 3 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Ireland >

Seamlessly organized with academic guides who knew how to impart knowledge without ever being patronizing. They combined humour, patience and professionalism in equal parts. Well done, Peter Simmers Tours, for the third time!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Knowledgeable, efficient, humerous, patient when necessary!

Wonderful experience both in culture and experience

By Pam on 2 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Hadrian's Wall >

We had a wonderful break in the north of England learning Roman history amongst fabulous Roman remains of Hadrians Wall surrounded by sweeping landscapes .The tour was welll prepared and fun

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very experienced and knowledgable.The two tour leaders were a delight to be with and very informative We loved this trip

terrific trip led by real professionals who truly understand the importance of an historical understanding of England

By Craig on 25 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Hadrian's Wall >

Peter Sommers tours for us are really an adventure back in time. It is one thing to walk Hadrian's Wall as we did....it is a totally different experience to have true professionals sharing their knowledge and experience as to the many thousands of years of history which underpin where we are today.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We travel 3 months or so a year, mostly on guided tours. This is our second adventure with Peter Sommers...."just the best" in terms of quality and service...