Peter Sommer Travels

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 172
Reviews accepted: 172
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
171
Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Wonderful Gulet trip cruising the Dalmatian coast

By SW on 29 Dec 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about From Split to Dubrovnik >

We had a superb trip with excellent guides and crew and a very comfortable gulet. The tours were very informative and well planned-the food and wines were very good-especially the seafood-the country is gorgeous. The only negative was that the week was too short.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have been following Peter Sommer travels since the mid 1990s and this was our fist opportunity to take one of his tours.
It was fabulous and certainly lived up to our expectations-we would definitely highly recommend his company

I wish this trip had been longer!

By DM on 1 Dec 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about From Split to Dubrovnik >

I have wanted to visit Croatia for many years, and finally got my wish. Cruising in a gulet along the coast is my idea of heaven. The group size was perfect: 10, and the crew was fantastic (both of them). We got to try out two gulets, because there were engine problems with the first one.Both crews were great in the way in which they handled the problem and the transition. There was enough food to feed 20 guests, the local guides were terrific and the archeologist could have taught a course on the Greek and Roman civilizations, given more time. As for the Croatian people, they were incredibly welcoming and so pleased that we all appreciated the beauty of their country. I really felt that the only problem was not enough time. There was so much to see and learn that I wished we had more days in Dubrovnik in the beginning and Split at the end.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Peter Sommer Travels was the tour operator. Communication was timely and efficient despite the time difference between the U.K. and the U.S.A., thanks to Julie, the operations manager. Pick-ups and drop-offs were well coordinated. The itinerary was interesting and well planned. I would certainly recommend Peter Sommer Travels to my friends and family.

Creative programme in Turkey

By Tots on 24 Nov 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore >

Not a second to be bored during 2 weeks onboard a gulet. Peter has all the details figured out and imagination for all the excursions. He is na extremely attentive and thorough person, knows his trade and is a walking encyclopedia ! Apart from that, his partner is also the most careful guide and takes care of every whim that anybody could have. A pleasure to have them as chapperones for a trip so exquisite in na área that must be more explored. Beautiful settings and fantastic historic sites. And the walks are memorable.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Only positive comments about Peter and Cem. We were pampered and taken care of, Always sharing our concerns and we´d be briefed with details and all information.
It´s a very good organization and the customers are their priority. We were really impressed.

Exploring Rome - October 2016

By JT on 18 Nov 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Rome >

A small group of just five and with two British guides, it was excellent. Very well put together in both the sites we saw and the sequence of visit, it was really made for us by the excellence of our guides - Paul especially was so good in both his knowledge of the subject - the history of Rome and of the Romans - and in the way he put it across, he had our rapt attention all the time and really brought it all to life. The organisation was great, with good attention to where we ate as well as what we saw, which made it a full experience not to be forgotten. In our view too, good value for money.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

As said, the structure of the tour and the quality of the guides was second to none. They really do know what they are talking about and how to bring it alive - and fun - for the visitor. Not just that, but they are great people to chat with too! Everything went very smoothly and there was very little if anything that we would wish to have done differently. Nothing was too much trouble. A good mix on being with the group and time on our own if we wanted it. We would certainly recommend them - and already have to friends who have made a provisional booking!

It was excellent

By Via Garabaldi on 16 Nov 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Rome >

My husband and I went on the Exploring Rome trip.We had been to Rome decades ago and this was a perfect revisit. The hotel on the Via Garabaldi was perfect. The daily schedule was thoughtfully planned. The leader, Dr.Michael Metcalfe,was wonderful and very professional.The city guide,Valeria, was delightful. Paul,the ancient Roman history guide, was extraordinarily filled with knowledge and passion, and good stories.I felt he saw Augustus walking in the Forum.
The restaurants chosen were very nice. Our driver was exellent as well.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I saw an advertisement in Archeology magazine for Peter Sommer Travels. From the time I contacted Julie Brown,the operations manager, it was a pleasurable experience. We feel that Peter Sommer is the best travel operator we have ever used.

Peter Sommer - South Aegean gulet cruise

By Duck on 4 Nov 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Everything about the Peter Sommer Travels gulet 'culture cruise' greatly exceeded any expectations we may have had
beforehand.The company's high standards and attention to every detail from boat/crew to hosts/guides to itinerary
reflects their mission of constantly improving & enhancing our travel experience was evident throughout.
Vacationing on the gulet with 8 other travelers from literally around the world and our British & Greek guides and Turkish crew made for a truly extraordinary holiday. Cruising from island to island, enjoying wonderfully prepared
Mediterranean cuisine and visiting & being guided around special archaeological sites and ports/towns was a full yet
relaxing trip indeed. Thank you Peter Sommer Travels.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

See "holiday response' above… Peter Sommer Travels is first class! Our Greek and English guides were exceptional
in every way. The crew was supremely capable. We would have changed nothing about our holiday experience!!

Education with a twist - great food and wine and wonderful tour guides

By Gillie on 2 Nov 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Crete >

Touring Crete was magical. Wonderful weather, interesting places to stay, knowledgeable guides who took care of everything. The food and wine just kept coming with Maria explaining everything. The places of interest we visited were explained thoroughly and Heinrich brought history alive for us.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very professional with a personal touch. Nothing left to chance and everything ran like clockwork.

A superb week exploring Rome

By Jim Cleary on 1 Nov 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Exploring Rome >

We had a grand week: this was my first visit to Rome, and it was wonderful. We had a tour manager, an expert guide and a local guide to take us round & show us the sites.
The hotel (in Trastevere) was excellent, full of character, quiet & secluded, yet a very short walk from bustling streets full of bars & restaurants, and not much further from the Ponte Sisto and central Rome.
The itinerary was a great mix - awe-inspiring Imperial sites, and some more recent buildings, all presented in context with details of their long stories, some truly superb museums, and some more day-to-day places, such as Ostia, all drawn together to provide a fascinating mosaic of Rome. We visited good restaurants, where we were guided & encouraged to sample local specialities - cacio e pepe and saltimbocca were especially fine. There was free time for us to see some essential sites independently (eg the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps), and there was guidance on how to use the free time we had - my favourite of my personal visits was the Villa Borghese.
All in all a great week. I'm now slightly annoyed with myself for not visiting Rome before, and I will go back soon!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Peter Sommer Travel are a provider who take small groups on holidays that are primarily based on seeing archaeology, but also look to ensure that you enjoy a place as much as possible: you always stay in hotels with character, and eat the finest of local foods. I have now taken 14 holidays with them.

An Unforgettable Holiday Walking & Cruising The Lycian Shore - We Ate, Sailed, Swam, Walked, and Learned!

By The Lovely Betty on 31 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore >

Our excellent archaeology, history and local culture guides, Peter and Cem, were extremely knowledgable, well prepared, energetic, entertaining, understanding and flexible. They, as well as the cruise crew of four, took care of our every need in a very professional manner to ensure we had a safe and enjoyable time.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Peter Sommer Travels is a very experienced company and it shows as everything involved with the delivery of this tour was well planned and organized.

WALKING AND CRUISING THE CARIAN COAST

By Squint on 28 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent

As an Individual traveler I Boarded a Gullet In marmaras and met the remainder of the group. We sailed around the Carian ismus to Bodrum. Each day accompanied by a very knowledgble guide an Archeologist who had excavated some of the sites we walked to visit Greeko/Roman sites and some villages abandoned by their inhabitants circa 1920. The captain and crew of the Gullet was excellent and very entertaining. The food on the Gullet was excellent and a perfect introduction to Turkish food.
Highly recommended .

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Peter Sommer were very easy to contact and maintained contact at all times. Instructions were clear and all arrangements met.