AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 301
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 302
Reviews Accepted: 302
Reviews Rejected: 0
302 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Wessex by jpfx, 12 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

"Exploring Wessex" with Peter Sommer Travels was a great experience historically, socially, and gastronomically...

We enjoyed each day of the tour of Wessex, exploring amazing sites covering the history of England from the neolithic to the present day. Highlights for me were the visits to Stonehenge at sunrise, and the amazing Roman villa at Chedworth. The sequence of sites built a narrative ably illuminated by Paul and Michael, their depth and breadth of knowledge was impressive. They also were both entertaining speakers and great to talk to throughout the trip...

We enjoyed each day of the tour of Wessex, exploring amazing sites covering the history of England from the neolithic to the present day. Highlights for me were the visits to Stonehenge at sunrise, and the amazing Roman villa at Chedworth. The sequence of sites built a narrative ably illuminated by Paul and Michael, their depth and breadth of knowledge was impressive. They also were both entertaining speakers and great to talk to throughout the trip. Every day we had gourmet lunches at pubs where the beer and the food were top notch. All of the restaurants for the evenings where the group dined together were well chosen. The hotels were comfortable and well run, with very nice breakfasts every day. All of our site visits went off without a hitch and we were never left waiting at any time. It was very relaxing to be so well taken care of. We're thinking of doing another tour with these folks of Hadrian's Wall in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our second trip with Peter Sommer Travels and they always do a very professional and careful job in creating and leading their tours. They also put a lot of thought into the structure and content of the tours so that each step along the way is integrated into a narrative. The staff at Peter Sommer have clearly been chosen with care, everyone is very smart, funny, caring and professional. They are experts at logistics, they make you feel like you are cared for and you never feel any indecision or chaotic behavior from them. They deliver an excellent small group tour experience.

Exploring Wessex by mheumann, 12 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Time Exploring Wessex

The Exploring Wessex tour put on by Peter Sommers Travels was amazingly well organized and well executed. My wife and I had a wonderful time visiting sites from the whole breath of English history. The tour operators went out of their way to make our tour pleasurable, dealing with all the hassles of travel so that we could focus on the experience itself.

The Exploring Wessex tour put on by Peter Sommers Travels was amazingly well organized and well executed. My wife and I had a wonderful time visiting sites from the whole breath of English history. The tour operators went out of their way to make our tour pleasurable, dealing with all the hassles of travel so that we could focus on the experience itself.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour operators, Paul and Michael, were tremendous. They did everything they could to make our week-long tour enjoyable.

Reviewer's images:
Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Pottel, 9 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

What have the Romans ever done for us?

Well, Peter and Paul took us to a great selection of important Roman sites along Hadrian’s Wall and give us a deep insight into Roman culture and history. Paul’s extraordinary historical knowledge (essentially aWikipedia on legs) and his ability to bring alive not only well known archeological sites but also lesser known sites where surviving details are sparse. A well thought out tour delivered by experts whose enthusiasm for their subject ...

Well, Peter and Paul took us to a great selection of important Roman sites along Hadrian’s Wall and give us a deep insight into Roman culture and history. Paul’s extraordinary historical knowledge (essentially aWikipedia on legs) and his ability to bring alive not only well known archeological sites but also lesser known sites where surviving details are sparse. A well thought out tour delivered by experts whose enthusiasm for their subject was infectious.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer impressed us from the start when we booked the tour last year. During the tour Peter ensured that nothing was left to chance and made sure that there were no delays in getting on to sites etc. A perfect tour organiser and host.

Cruising the Aeolian Islands by Mac, 8 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

A learning and relaxing treat

A holiday within a dynamic environment of weather and sea constraints generally saw the tour descriptors achieved. The passion of the tour leader and his ability to relate history combined with his love for the area explored, allowed for a relaxed and interesting experience. Each island visited had its own surprises which he enlivened.

A holiday within a dynamic environment of weather and sea constraints generally saw the tour descriptors achieved. The passion of the tour leader and his ability to relate history combined with his love for the area explored, allowed for a relaxed and interesting experience. Each island visited had its own surprises which he enlivened.

Rating for tour operator:

Seamless transfers, attention to detail both on and off the gulet, ability to cope with weather constraints and good crew co-ordination gave an overall impression of thoroughness and good decision making. A holiday experience in a part of Italy that is beautiful and welcoming.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Romanist, 6 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Informative, expert, thoroughly enjoyable

Expert led guiding of the Hadrian’s Wall system & related collections

Expert led guiding of the Hadrian’s Wall system & related collections

Rating for tour operator:

Specialist, hands-on, attention to detail

Gastronomic Gulet Cruise: Turkey by Knute, 25 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Gastronomic Gulet Cruise, Turkey

Sailed (motored in a gulet) along the southwestern coast of Turkey, stopping for the night in beautiful bays. Learned about local archeological sites from a great guide. Learned about local cooking, often with demonstrations on the boat or in local restaurant kitchens, usually at lunch.

Sailed (motored in a gulet) along the southwestern coast of Turkey, stopping for the night in beautiful bays. Learned about local archeological sites from a great guide. Learned about local cooking, often with demonstrations on the boat or in local restaurant kitchens, usually at lunch.

Rating for tour operator:

Would recommend Peter Sommer Travels.

From Dubrovnik to Split by Happy Sailors, 22 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exceptional Gulet holiday in Croatia

Our week on the gulet "Croatia" was wonderful. We enjoyed perfect weather, a warm and professional crew and an outstanding archeologist, Helena Tomas. The itinerary was both stimulating and relaxing with a perfect combination to suit everyone's tastes.

Our week on the gulet "Croatia" was wonderful. We enjoyed perfect weather, a warm and professional crew and an outstanding archeologist, Helena Tomas. The itinerary was both stimulating and relaxing with a perfect combination to suit everyone's tastes.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our first experience with Peter Sommer and it certainly showcased the talents and equally importantly the standards to which his company subscribes. We are very impressed.

From Dubrovnik to Split by Midonz, 22 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer Travels - An Expert Guided Gulet Cruise of the Dalmatian Coast Beyond Our Wildest Dreams!

Archeologist Dr, Helena Tomas was our guide as we toured sites and cities along the Dalmatian Coast on a stunningly beautiful, luxurious Turkish gulet, M/Y Croatia, manned by Captain Vladimir Šabić and his expert, professional and friendly crew. We were lavished with gourmet meals and local wines on the ship and at local restaurants. We swam daily in the azure Adriatic waters in picture perfect coves early in the mornings and in the evenings...

Archeologist Dr, Helena Tomas was our guide as we toured sites and cities along the Dalmatian Coast on a stunningly beautiful, luxurious Turkish gulet, M/Y Croatia, manned by Captain Vladimir Šabić and his expert, professional and friendly crew. We were lavished with gourmet meals and local wines on the ship and at local restaurants. We swam daily in the azure Adriatic waters in picture perfect coves early in the mornings and in the evenings. When our ship encountered a school of dolphins swimming along side us I (who can be quite cynical) laughed out loud-- the trip was perfect-- even more incredible than the sales brochures could ever capture. Our itinerary took us to Dubrovnik, Korčula, Mljet, Hvar, Vis, Brač (the stonemasonry school of Pučišća), Škrip (An olive oil museum and a ride to the summit of Vidova Gora,) Split (Palace of Diocletian) and (sadly) ended at Marina Baotić near Trogir. This was our first Peter Sommer cruise but it will not be our last!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels offered an exceptional travel experience. From our initial inquiry to our transportation to the departure terminal at the airport every detail was expertly attended to. We chose the tour because of our expert guide's credentials and were not disappointed. We wouldn't have thought to be concerned about the gulet's crew but quickly realized how thankful we were that Peter Sommer had. Our captain and his crew were top notch. They adapted our route to account for local weather conditions and assured that we had plenty of leisure time to swim in protected areas. (A less knowledgeable or confident captain could have put a big damper on the trip.) The ship was gobsmackingly gorgeous. The drivers and local guides were professional, helpful, and pleasant to spend time with. The fascinating sites and expeditions were chosen with great care. Not one disappointed. We saw so much of Croatia that we would never have been able to book on our own. We didn't want to leave the ship! We couldn't be happier with our choice of Peter Sommer Travels.

Reviewer's images:
Cruising the Amalfi Coast by Gib H., Az, USA, 21 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Best Vacation Ever

My wife and I were due for a great vacation and after much consideration decided on a September gulet cruise along the Amalfi Coast in 2017 with Peter Sommer Travels. It was an inspired decision as it was the best vacation ever! The Deriya Deniz is a lovely gulet and our crew did everything possible to make the trip a relaxing, unique time at sea. We will never forget our captain who was all things Italiano as well as experienced and personable...

My wife and I were due for a great vacation and after much consideration decided on a September gulet cruise along the Amalfi Coast in 2017 with Peter Sommer Travels. It was an inspired decision as it was the best vacation ever! The Deriya Deniz is a lovely gulet and our crew did everything possible to make the trip a relaxing, unique time at sea. We will never forget our captain who was all things Italiano as well as experienced and personable. Our chef created one wonderful meal after another. Our guides, Sophie and Francesca, made our experience educational, authentic, and always enjoyable even when weather didn't cooperate. Peter Sommer was right about this being the ideal way to experience the Amalfi Coast and the islands of Ischia and Capri. Ours was an unforgettable vacation and opportunity to make new friends from the US and Europe. The memories are vivid and unique. We will definitely travel with Peter Sommer Travels again, and look forward to more experiences like this one. Thanks to all who worked so hard to make our Italy vacation absolutely perfect.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is experienced in gulet cruises and offers a unique easy way to travel abroad. His staff is knowledgable, personable, and hard-working. It was easy to arrange for all aspects of our vacation with their assistance. We highly recommend this tour to new and seasoned travelers.

From Kos to Patmos by Minou, 21 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Consummate care and attention by the staff and crew used for Peter Sommer's Travel: Cruising the Aegean, from Kos to Patmos

A perfect combination of excellent descriptions of the history of the locations we visited, really interesting local restaurants, good food on board the gullet and lovely scenery. The perfect weather and interesting sailing added greatly to the experience as did the congenial company.

A perfect combination of excellent descriptions of the history of the locations we visited, really interesting local restaurants, good food on board the gullet and lovely scenery. The perfect weather and interesting sailing added greatly to the experience as did the congenial company.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels provides an extremely competent service with all the extras like taxi pickups completely covered. They assess the likes and competence of their guests and provide all the extra services required.