Peter Sommer Travels

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 233
Reviews accepted: 233
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
232
Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Archaeology and Greek Is heaven

By Penny, Australia on 18 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about From Kos to Patmos >

I travelled with Peter Sommer's gulet Kos to Patmos trip in September and had a wonderful week cruising around some of the lesser known Greek islands. We were accompanied by an expert guide and tour manager, both of whom made our onshore site and museum visits come alive, providing just the right amount of detail. Food on board was spectacular, a real feat given the small galley.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The company was professional right from the time of inquiry and booking, through to my airport transfer at the end of the week.

Outstanding travel experience

By Barry on 15 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Excellent tour all around. Wonderful guides, boat, crew. Well planned, organized and carried out. A very insightful educational as well as great holiday experience.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very helpful and forthcoming in arranging our booking and responding to concerns with prompt and useful responses.

Interesting and filled with things to do

By Kimberley on 12 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about From Kos to Patmos >

It was really nice to have such a structured holiday where everything was planned out for us. The crew of the ship were welcoming and helpful and the food provided was delicious. There was plenty of opportunity for us to go swimming or do exercise and I felt like we could easily have a say in what we wanted to do.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Everything was very well prepared and planned and the two tour guides were so helpful and informative

Excellent relaxing time cruising the Dodecanese

By Mr J S 17 on 9 Oct 2017

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Professional, well organised.

Cruising the Cyclades was a wonderful experience

By Janet on 7 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Cruising to the Cyclades >

We were part of a group that sailed round the Cyclades with Peter Sommers in Septembe
What a wonderful experience!
The two tour leaders who were archeologists enthralled us with the history of the Islands. Maria was very entertaining and informative as she acted out the Greek Mythological tales
Henrich was amazingly adept at being able to inform us about the previous history of all the Islands.
The food was bountiful. On the boat the meals were wholesome and delicious.. We were treated to wonderful meals on the the Islands that let us sample each Islands speciality.
There was free time on each of the Islands that allowed for shopping, exploring or sitting round watching island life sipping a drink!
The acomodation on the gullet was more than adequare with rooms being serviced everyday. They're was ample deck space to loung reading or talking. . The staff on the Gulet were lovely and attentive.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Peter Sommers in all contacts were professional and informative.
They updated us regulary and made sure we had the pre tour information in time. Very eAsy to deal with.

Cruising the Cyclades

By Dave on 6 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Cruising to the Cyclades >

Led by two experienced archaeologists, this was both educational and highly informative, as well as very enjoyable. The Cyclades islands has a history extending to the Neolithic, Bronze Age, archaic, Greek and Roman eras with many remarkably well preserved sites to visit. Travel between the islands by Turkish gullet was relaxing and efficient.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Everything went as we expected, with our guides Heinrich and Maria very good communicators and organisers.

Cruising the Aegean: from Kos to Patmos

By dalliance on 1 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about From Kos to Patmos >

We are repeat customers with Peter Somer Cruises. We spent a week in company with a small number of like minded travellers, cruising the northern Dodacanese Islands with frequent excursions ashore to examine ancient and current attractions. The crew of four looked after our every need on board and provided excellent meals, our tour guide and our academic history commentator were excellent.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The tour operator provided detailed information before and during the tour, including background history of the region. Additional information regarding local accommodation and arrangements was promptly supplied to suit our individual travel needs before and after the tour, and airport transfers were seamless. The gullet we travelled on was well equipped and maintained, and kept in pristine condition throughout. The crew operated the ship's tender and gangway system with competence, taking extra care with less able passengers, and also operated an efficient bar and refreshment service.

As mentioned above, catering was excellent with three generous meals provided on board or occasionally on shore.

Lovely gulet cruise in the Greek Dodecanese

By Susan and Bill on 17 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about From Kos to Patmos >

Our first trip to Greece included a weeklong gulet cruise with Peter Sommers cruising the Dodecanese islands. With 2 guides (an art historian and an archaeologist), an excellent staff, 10 other congenial passengers, and outstanding weather, we could not have had a better time.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels/Cruise from Kos to Patmos/September 2-9, 2017

By Brian on 14 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about From Kos to Patmos >

Our gulet cruise from Kos to Patmos was everything and more than expected. It lived up to the Peter Sommer Travels emphasis on culture, history, archaeology, comfort and camaraderie. Exceptional guides attended to each guest's interests and needs, and were exceptional hosts. Very enjoyable were swimming in secluded bays, the wonderful food quality and selection, and the sites visited on each island. It was all one could hope for and a strong inducement to do another Peter Sommer Travels adventure very soon.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Our gulet cruise from Kos to Patmos was everything and more than expected. It lived up to the Peter Sommer Travels emphasis on culture, history, archaeology, comfort and camaraderie. Exceptional guides attended to each guest's interests and needs, and were exceptional hosts. Very enjoyable were swimming in secluded bays, the wonderful food quality and selection, and the sites visited on each island. It was all one could hope for and a strong inducement to do another Peter Sommer Travels adventure very soon.

Amazing family tour cruising the Aegean

By Ilya S. on 2 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Cruising the Aegean: Family >

We had the most remarkable family tour with Peter Sommer Travels. Not only everything was perfect, but we felt, in every instance, that our guides and our gulet crew truly cared about us, both the kids and adults, and did their best to make this trip memorable. For our well-traveled children (aged 9 and 6) this definitely has become the most eye-opening, adventurous, and stunning journey of their life -- something they will remember, draw upon, and cherish for many years to come. For adults, we were pleasantly surprised by the diversity of our trip: from neolithic archaeological sites to medieval castles, from swimming to get the obsidian to lectures on board of our wonderful gulet, from ever-changing and filled with surprises meals offered on board to culinary experiences on the shore (yes, we do recall Simi shrimps all the time!), every island and every new activity offered new experiences. We definitely will be back!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Simply amazing. Everybody was thoughtful and made our journey smooth and wonderful.