AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 657
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 659
Reviews Accepted: 659
Reviews Rejected: 0
659 reviews
Sort by:
Gastronomic Gulet Cruise Croatia by Tom, 10 Jan 2023
Holiday Rating:

Croatia wine and food tour

We spent a week sailing from Split to Dubrovnik on a small sailing vessel - 12 guests max - stopping each day at one of the islands to experience their unique food and wine. The wine of these islands are often only grown there and were excellent. The restaurants were family owned and the meals 5 course- the food was local, wonderful and unique. Each day the tour was delightful and varied. The first day we experienced a cooking class in Split...

We spent a week sailing from Split to Dubrovnik on a small sailing vessel - 12 guests max - stopping each day at one of the islands to experience their unique food and wine. The wine of these islands are often only grown there and were excellent. The restaurants were family owned and the meals 5 course- the food was local, wonderful and unique. Each day the tour was delightful and varied. The first day we experienced a cooking class in Split. We bought, prepared and ate our meal. A wonderful way to meet the other guests.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is located in the UK. Peter is a real person who personally visits and vets all the locations of the cruise. The result is a high quality and unique experience.

Cruising to Ephesus by Gil, 23 Dec 2022
Holiday Rating:

Gulet Cruise from Bodrum to Ephesus and back

Boarded a gulet in Bodrum, and the cruised up the Ionian coast to Ephesus and back, exploring the ruins of Greek and Roman cities along the way. We were accompanied by professor of ancient history and an accomplished Turkish guide throughout the trip, both of whom were able to discuss in depth not only the history of the various sites, but also the culture, traditions and cuisine of Turkey and its ethnic populations.

Boarded a gulet in Bodrum, and the cruised up the Ionian coast to Ephesus and back, exploring the ruins of Greek and Roman cities along the way. We were accompanied by professor of ancient history and an accomplished Turkish guide throughout the trip, both of whom were able to discuss in depth not only the history of the various sites, but also the culture, traditions and cuisine of Turkey and its ethnic populations.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Travels is one of the best, if not THE best, small boat and small group tour operators in the world.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Gil, 23 Dec 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Ancient Greece in Lycia

The trip was in a gulet, which left from Göcek in Turkey, cruised the Carian and Lycian shores to Antalya and then back to Bodrum. Along the way, we stopped at and explored the ruins of the cities of ancient Greece and Rome in the company of a professor of ancient history and a highly competent and educated Turkish guide. It was a relaxing yet highly interesting and informative experience.

The trip was in a gulet, which left from Göcek in Turkey, cruised the Carian and Lycian shores to Antalya and then back to Bodrum. Along the way, we stopped at and explored the ruins of the cities of ancient Greece and Rome in the company of a professor of ancient history and a highly competent and educated Turkish guide. It was a relaxing yet highly interesting and informative experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Travels is well organized, effective and efficient. It selects quality boats and crews and highly qualified guides. One of the best operators for small craft excursions.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Patsy, 23 Dec 2022
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Lycian Shore

It was wonderful. Hot on shore during the summer, but beautiful and cool on the boat. The expeditions were wonderful and fascinating. Our guides, and in particular our Turkish guide Ugur, were exceptional. Helpful, knowledgeable and a lot of fun.

It was wonderful. Hot on shore during the summer, but beautiful and cool on the boat. The expeditions were wonderful and fascinating. Our guides, and in particular our Turkish guide Ugur, were exceptional. Helpful, knowledgeable and a lot of fun.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is an exceptional tour operator. He and his staff are accessible, knowledgeable and unfailingly helpful. We will definitely travel with him again.

Cruising to Ephesus by Patsy , 23 Dec 2022
Holiday Rating:

Cruising to Ephesus. A fabulous trip

It was everything we hoped for, and more. The gulet accommodations were excellent, and the crew and guides were as well.

It was everything we hoped for, and more. The gulet accommodations were excellent, and the crew and guides were as well.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is remarkable. We are delighted with him and his staff. They are full of answers, and respond promptly to any questions we may have. I cannot think of any recommendations for improvement!

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by International Hobo, 3 Dec 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore

Our trip with Peter Sommer Travels was fantastic. The trip itinerary, planning, execution and service level provided were all extraordinary. Peter himself led this tour and he was such a enthusiastic and well prepared host, every detail was well thought out and customer service onboard our gulet was second to none. The idea of hiking daily and coming back to room on a gulet every afternoon was great, antiquities by day and relaxation by ...

Our trip with Peter Sommer Travels was fantastic. The trip itinerary, planning, execution and service level provided were all extraordinary. Peter himself led this tour and he was such a enthusiastic and well prepared host, every detail was well thought out and customer service onboard our gulet was second to none. The idea of hiking daily and coming back to room on a gulet every afternoon was great, antiquities by day and relaxation by night!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer was a fantastic tour guide and host. His knowledge of the area and the subject matter was incredible and his right hand man Cym was another jewel! Between the two of them we had a incredible breadth of knowledge and service. Peter and company did a great job for us and it will be a trip to remember and I will definitely be recommending Peter Sommer Travels to other travellers!

From Šibenik to Zadar by CanadaGirl, 28 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exceeded Expectations Once Again

This was my 2nd gulet trip with Peter Sommer Travel, and it was every bit as wonderful as my first one 3 years ago. Our boat crew was fantastic and our tour guide was so enthusiastic and thoughtful to want to ensure that each one of our small group had the best time possible. Not even the smallest detail was overlooked. I only wish my travel budget could afford to do one of their trips each and every year!

This was my 2nd gulet trip with Peter Sommer Travel, and it was every bit as wonderful as my first one 3 years ago. Our boat crew was fantastic and our tour guide was so enthusiastic and thoughtful to want to ensure that each one of our small group had the best time possible. Not even the smallest detail was overlooked. I only wish my travel budget could afford to do one of their trips each and every year!

Rating for tour operator:

The level of personalization and professionalism throughout the whole process, from coordinating details with the head office to the trip itself, was exceptionally well thought-out. Worth every penny and would recommend them to anyone who would listen!

Exploring Athens by Cynthia, 27 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Very satisfying

This was a perfect follow-up to Cruising to the Cyclades, consolidating and expanding on what we had seen and learned. It was also a pleasure to explore contemporary Athens with our knowledgeable guide. Our hotel was excellent and well located for independent exploration.

This was a perfect follow-up to Cruising to the Cyclades, consolidating and expanding on what we had seen and learned. It was also a pleasure to explore contemporary Athens with our knowledgeable guide. Our hotel was excellent and well located for independent exploration.

Rating for tour operator:

Low-key efficiency, perfect logistics, no add-on costs

From Šibenik to Zadar by BPT, 24 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Cruising Dalmatia Sibenik to Zadar; 5 Sep 2022.

An exceptional itinerary of such an enticing part of the world that was expertly executed by the gulet staff and the Peter Sommer Travels guide! Very enjoyable.

An exceptional itinerary of such an enticing part of the world that was expertly executed by the gulet staff and the Peter Sommer Travels guide! Very enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator:

I have done a number of gulet and land tours with the operator and each has been expertly planned and executed!

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Linda & Mark, 17 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Hadrian's Wall: Romans, Reivers and Romantics

We were housed in lovely accommodation in beautiful countryside just south of Hadrian's Wall. Our guide, Paul, was a wonderfully knowledgeable and attentive companion who took us to all the key sites and arranged everything to run smoothly, despite temporary restrictions on access at some places. Food was delicious and varied. The fellow-travellers in our small group were congenial and interesting people. The combination of visits to the ...

We were housed in lovely accommodation in beautiful countryside just south of Hadrian's Wall. Our guide, Paul, was a wonderfully knowledgeable and attentive companion who took us to all the key sites and arranged everything to run smoothly, despite temporary restrictions on access at some places. Food was delicious and varied. The fellow-travellers in our small group were congenial and interesting people. The combination of visits to the actual field sites and selected museums provided an overall understanding of the life of Roman legionaries at this wind-swept edge of empire. There was just enough walking, a passing brush with later periods of history and a tasting visit to a gin distillery to complete a memorable tour.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our fifth tour with Peter Sommer and the first we had undertaken within UK. As always, everything was thoughtfully arranged with all the information one needed available. As a small company, Peter Sommer Travels maintains a personal touch and the guides are of the highest quality with many years of professional knowledge and tour-leading experience. Coming out of the covid pandemic, there were doubts about the viability of this tour as some people had dropped out, but we were kept informed as decisions were made and we were delighted when Peter Sommer agreed to go ahead with the tour despite reduced numbers. We are very much looking forward to our next tour with Peter Sommer in 2023, which will also be led by Paul.