AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 501
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 502
Reviews Accepted: 501
Reviews Rejected: 1
501 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Hadrian's Wall by PamG, 16 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

At last! I made it!

Hadrian’s Wall has always intrigued me being a Northerner … Covid had met it’s match - so to speak. It did not deter Peter Sommer Travels. In spite of the obvious restrictions in force, our Tour went ahead! The company made life easier with patience and thoughtfulness and agility to get things sorted out. That was before we began! It was a superb trip… a world tour! I loved it!! We have been with Paul on another “Exploring tour”. He is an ...

Hadrian’s Wall has always intrigued me being a Northerner … Covid had met it’s match - so to speak. It did not deter Peter Sommer Travels. In spite of the obvious restrictions in force, our Tour went ahead! The company made life easier with patience and thoughtfulness and agility to get things sorted out. That was before we began! It was a superb trip… a world tour! I loved it!! We have been with Paul on another “Exploring tour”. He is an expert Historian, with a friendly style of imparting it.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with Peter Sommer Travels on three previous occasions. They always take care in detailed planning, so, leaving it to their expertise, you have nothing to worry about.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by SXDave, 16 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian's Wall and so much more! Filled a lacuna (no - a LAKE!) in my knowledge of our history!

It was touch and go. Would the Covid rules let us go? Sadly, they didn't allow the international folk to come. We were thus a small, privileged vanguard group of PST travellers, emerging after a long lock-down, and enjoying, for me, at 80, for the first time, the gorgeous Northumbrian countryside and these amazing remains of our island history. We've now had the same tour leader twice. His knowledge of his subject is encyclopaedic. Very nice ...

It was touch and go. Would the Covid rules let us go? Sadly, they didn't allow the international folk to come. We were thus a small, privileged vanguard group of PST travellers, emerging after a long lock-down, and enjoying, for me, at 80, for the first time, the gorgeous Northumbrian countryside and these amazing remains of our island history. We've now had the same tour leader twice. His knowledge of his subject is encyclopaedic. Very nice hotel and excellent pub lunch venues, coping well with the Covid rules. You need to be reasonably fit and you might need walking poles, an umbrella and/or waterproofs. If you go by train (book advance first-class) from London to Carlisle and then across country, and back from Newcastle, there are fine views all the way.

Rating for tour operator:

We've been on three previous tours with Peter Sommer Travels. All, including this one, have been excellent. The planning - the chosen venues in terms of the daytime visits, the accommodation and meals, the lecturer/guide, and the transport have all worked well. The information supplied is helpful and timely. Not cheap, but what you get exceeds our expectations!

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Patrick, 16 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

A curated tour of Greek History

Walking and Cruising the Dodecanese and Athens extension. A curated tour of Greek Antiquity and subsequent history with master guides who are not only knowledgeable, but fun, humorous and lively. A terms our experience virtually unequaled in our travels.

Walking and Cruising the Dodecanese and Athens extension. A curated tour of Greek Antiquity and subsequent history with master guides who are not only knowledgeable, but fun, humorous and lively. A terms our experience virtually unequaled in our travels.

Rating for tour operator:

Organized, efficient and happy to take the time to answer promptly all our questions. For example, some health conditions raised issues that were easily assuaged by the provision of detailed information about some of the hikes. They simply took all the time we needed to provide thorough information about the trip.

Walking and Cruising Dalmatia by peggyann, 13 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Walking and Cruising southern Dalmatia

one week sailing aboard a Turkish gulat with daily excursions

one week sailing aboard a Turkish gulat with daily excursions

Rating for tour operator:

Young, energetic, knowledgable and highly entertaining!

Walking and Cruising Dalmatia by Paolo, 13 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Croatia

We along with 5 other couples we knew stayed on a gulat in Croatia where we sailed and hiked

We along with 5 other couples we knew stayed on a gulat in Croatia where we sailed and hiked

Rating for tour operator:

We cannot praise highly enough Peter Sommer travel and his dedicated, outstanding staff. We always have the best of everything with this tour group: accommodations, food, excellent guides. No other tour operator can compare.

From Split to Dubrovnik by Marco, 7 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Dalmatian coast

Perfect in every way. Great crew, excellent guide, fabulous food and very comfortable accommodations.

Perfect in every way. Great crew, excellent guide, fabulous food and very comfortable accommodations.

Rating for tour operator:

The trip was planned very well with an expert guide.

From Dubrovnik to Split by James P, 26 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding gulet trip in Dalmatia.

Dalmatian Coast tour on a gulet. Outstanding guide, great food and crew. Highly recommended.

Dalmatian Coast tour on a gulet. Outstanding guide, great food and crew. Highly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent preparatory material, organisation, itinerary, staff and vessel.

Exploring Crete by Dr K G 19, 25 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Extraordinary tour offered by an extraordinary company

In short, enlightening and thoroughly enjoyable! Crete presents layer after layer of history and culture, some verging on myth and some speculative. Much of the recent history can be characterized as "turbulent". It all makes for a fascinating place to visit, particularly in the company of our knowledgeable guides.

In short, enlightening and thoroughly enjoyable! Crete presents layer after layer of history and culture, some verging on myth and some speculative. Much of the recent history can be characterized as "turbulent". It all makes for a fascinating place to visit, particularly in the company of our knowledgeable guides.

Rating for tour operator:

It is hard to exaggerate the quality of the experience which Peter Sommer Travels provides. The guides are extremely highly qualified (importantly, they know what they know and what they don't know (i.e., is not known)). They also clearly have a passion for the history and culture which they present, and it shows in their enthusiasm. At the same time, every effort is made to make the trip an enjoyable experience, from beautiful accommodations to fantastic meals which most often explore regional specialties. All in all, I can't recommend Peter Sommer Travel highly enough.

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by Lovey, 22 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Turkish Archeological Holiday Experience of a Lifetime

The South African contingent joined a group from Australia and New Zealand for a second archeological holiday along the beautiful Turkish coast. The 15 of us all interested in walking, archeology and swimming and having fun in the pristine turquoise blue waters. Peter Sommer our resident archeologist enabled us to visualize how the towns and cities vibrated with life some 2000 plus years ago. It was fascinating wandering around the ruins ...

The South African contingent joined a group from Australia and New Zealand for a second archeological holiday along the beautiful Turkish coast. The 15 of us all interested in walking, archeology and swimming and having fun in the pristine turquoise blue waters. Peter Sommer our resident archeologist enabled us to visualize how the towns and cities vibrated with life some 2000 plus years ago. It was fascinating wandering around the ruins feeling as if the previous residents were still alive with us.

Rating for tour operator:

We had traveled with Peter Sommer Travels before and in fact most of us had done trips with him previously and found everything extremely well organized. All the logistics are great. From arriving on the Gulett to being dropped off at the airport at the end of the trip , the team made you feel very special and cared for. Every trip we did on land was properly organized and well researched. What a splendid stimulating holiday and wonderful team giving of their very best to make us all happy.

Exploring Crete by Mr. B V 19, 22 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Great guides and wonderful trip. Terrific insight by well planned tour providing marvelous insight into a fascinating part of the world.

Great guides and wonderful trip. Terrific insight by well planned tour providing marvelous insight into a fascinating part of the world.

Rating for tour operator:

Very responsive and helpful