AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 315
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 316
Reviews Accepted: 316
Reviews Rejected: 0
316 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising the Amalfi Coast by DC Sommer Fan, 17 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent cruise of the Amalfi Coast with Peter Sommer Travels

Spent one week on a small (gulet) cruise of the Amalfi Coast with Peter Sommer Travels. We visited Capri, Amalfi, and Positano, among other other magnificent locations with time to visit archeological sites and to swim. Our guides were trained not only in archeology but also art history and classical literature, enriching greatly what we saw. And, did I mention the great food? All in all, a trip that made memories for a lifetime.

Spent one week on a small (gulet) cruise of the Amalfi Coast with Peter Sommer Travels. We visited Capri, Amalfi, and Positano, among other other magnificent locations with time to visit archeological sites and to swim. Our guides were trained not only in archeology but also art history and classical literature, enriching greatly what we saw. And, did I mention the great food? All in all, a trip that made memories for a lifetime.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels works very hard to build a well organized trip that is intellectually stimulating and thoroughly enjoyable. The picture uploaded is a magnificent fresco from the Villa of the Mysteries on the outskirts of Pompei. It illustrates the type of places off the beaten path that Peter Sommer Travels is so good at finding.

Exploring the Peloponnese by mr r n 18, 19 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

A Greek road less travelled

this was our fourth Peter Sommer holiday, and the third with our excellent archaeological guide Heinrich Hall. The Peloponnese is something of an undiscovered treasure house in a country often overrun with too many visitors. Not so in this region, where there is so much to see both historically and scenically. In early summer the place is particularly beautiful and the temperature perfect for sightseeing. The hotels were all carefully chosen, ...

this was our fourth Peter Sommer holiday, and the third with our excellent archaeological guide Heinrich Hall. The Peloponnese is something of an undiscovered treasure house in a country often overrun with too many visitors. Not so in this region, where there is so much to see both historically and scenically. In early summer the place is particularly beautiful and the temperature perfect for sightseeing. The hotels were all carefully chosen, as were the restaurants, and we felt we had a good impression of local life everywhere we went. Highly recommended

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer has a wide choice of land and gulet holidays in Greece, Turkey, Italy and Croatia, all accompanied by experts and local guides. Perfect for anyone interested in more than lying on a beach or rushing from A to B without bothering to learn anything

Cruising the Aegean: Family by Busy Bee, 19 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

A perfect balance between culture and relaxation

We took the "Family Tour" around the Dodecanese islands. Our guides were instrumental in making the tour successful as we found the itinerary, the choice of tavernas, the choice of coves to swim in etc... as well as their expertise to be top notch.

We took the "Family Tour" around the Dodecanese islands. Our guides were instrumental in making the tour successful as we found the itinerary, the choice of tavernas, the choice of coves to swim in etc... as well as their expertise to be top notch.

Rating for tour operator:

We were lucky to find them online and we appreciate the special product they offer in today's world of mass tourism.

From Dubrovnik to Split by DDay, 18 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Far Exceeded Our Expectations

We cruised on a Turkish gulet on a Peter Sommers tour from Dubrovnik to Split. The boat is beautiful, the crew made sure our every need was attended to and our beautiful and knowledgeable guide provided one of the best experiences we have had so far in our travel history. The captain was always mindful of providing a calm and private cruise experience. Our chef amazed us with his delicious meals coming from such a small galley, and the wines ...

We cruised on a Turkish gulet on a Peter Sommers tour from Dubrovnik to Split. The boat is beautiful, the crew made sure our every need was attended to and our beautiful and knowledgeable guide provided one of the best experiences we have had so far in our travel history. The captain was always mindful of providing a calm and private cruise experience. Our chef amazed us with his delicious meals coming from such a small galley, and the wines provided onboard were all delicious.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer and his office were checking in with our guide on a daily basis and sometime 3-4 times a day. We were able to take several rounds of photographs that were uploaded right to his office so we felt there was always a team looking out to make sure our experience was spectacular, and it was.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Noel, 12 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Extremely interesting

I was interested in visiting Greece geographically and culturally. The Peter Sommer Tour took it to a different level. I found the Peloponnese tour challenging physically and mentally as there was so much to take in but the archaeological information, sights, food and culture related to the various villages/ areas of the Peloponnese was wonderful. Our Tour guides were friendly, flexibly informative, patient and very aware of the needs of the ...

I was interested in visiting Greece geographically and culturally. The Peter Sommer Tour took it to a different level. I found the Peloponnese tour challenging physically and mentally as there was so much to take in but the archaeological information, sights, food and culture related to the various villages/ areas of the Peloponnese was wonderful. Our Tour guides were friendly, flexibly informative, patient and very aware of the needs of the tour group. The scenery was wonderful and the bus driver did a great job getting us to and from various places

Rating for tour operator:

My husband did all booking and correspondence.

Exploring the Peloponnese by K&A, 9 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Another great tour with expert guides

Touring the Peloponnese was a deep dive into the archaeology of the region. The guides kept us fascinated as our small group of international travelers toured for 2 weeks. There was lots of opportunity to ask questions on site, on the comfortable bus, and at mealtimes. The hotels were great and daily we had the opportunity to taste a wide variety of regional food specialties. After touring with Peter Sommer in Crete we knew this tour would be ...

Touring the Peloponnese was a deep dive into the archaeology of the region. The guides kept us fascinated as our small group of international travelers toured for 2 weeks. There was lots of opportunity to ask questions on site, on the comfortable bus, and at mealtimes. The hotels were great and daily we had the opportunity to taste a wide variety of regional food specialties. After touring with Peter Sommer in Crete we knew this tour would be equally wonderful. We stayed on in Greece after the tour and the guides were happy to provide information and make suggestions.

Rating for tour operator:

Before the tour we could get questions answered and received a complete package of information. The website was up to date. What was promised was delivered and even more as they were able to fit in other experiences that happened to align with our itinerary.

Peter Sommer Travels by Linda, 29 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

a bucket list experience!!!

Visited Wessex and Wales. What a trip of a lifetime for my husband and myself. We saw sites first hand and up close that we have on ly read about or seen on TV.

Visited Wessex and Wales. What a trip of a lifetime for my husband and myself. We saw sites first hand and up close that we have on ly read about or seen on TV.

Rating for tour operator:

a fount of knowledge

Peter Sommer Travels by GBK, 27 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Croatian cruise

Our family of seven (including parents + 5 in their twenties) traveled by private gulet from Split to Dubrovnik over a week. We had an outstanding dedicated guide on board with us and also met up with local guides in several locations.

Our family of seven (including parents + 5 in their twenties) traveled by private gulet from Split to Dubrovnik over a week. We had an outstanding dedicated guide on board with us and also met up with local guides in several locations.

Rating for tour operator:

They were very thorough and did a very good job, even checking in with our guide from time to time during the trip to make sure all was well.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Bruce from Alaska, 25 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful introduction to the Hadrian's Wall Country and Northumberland!

The tour explores the highlights of Hadrian's Wall, how it was preserved, and other aspects of the history of the border country. Plus Bamburgh Castle! Day hikes in beautiful countryside with an expert historian, great lodging and wonderful food (and beer)! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in Roman or British history, or just an interest in spending a week in this beautiful part of England.

The tour explores the highlights of Hadrian's Wall, how it was preserved, and other aspects of the history of the border country. Plus Bamburgh Castle! Day hikes in beautiful countryside with an expert historian, great lodging and wonderful food (and beer)! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in Roman or British history, or just an interest in spending a week in this beautiful part of England.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is a small company specializing in small-group cultural tours. This tour seemed very well planned; the logistics worked well, and the guide really was an expert in his field. An advantage of small-group tours of this nature is that the participants self-select by interest. It was a very enjoyable group to spend a week with.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Marie I., 23 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Hadrian's Wall

This was an extremely well organized tour of Hadrian's Wall, its forts and related museums, and of the later cultural history of the Borders. The tour was comprehensive but conducted at a relaxed pace that allowed us to appreciate the spectacular landscapes and historic settings of northern England. The unique accommodations at our castle hotel were very comfortable and we particularly appreciated the convenience of staying there for the entire ...

This was an extremely well organized tour of Hadrian's Wall, its forts and related museums, and of the later cultural history of the Borders. The tour was comprehensive but conducted at a relaxed pace that allowed us to appreciate the spectacular landscapes and historic settings of northern England. The unique accommodations at our castle hotel were very comfortable and we particularly appreciated the convenience of staying there for the entire tour. The pubs and inns chosen for our dining venues were also superb. A great deal of our enjoyment of this tour must be attributed to the congenial company of the expert guide (Paul Beston) and the tour manager (Peter Sommer) who generously shared with us their passion for the Wall country. As someone who’s always wanted to see the Wall, I can’t imagine a better experience and it was worth waiting many years to do this tour with Paul and Peter.

Rating for tour operator:

Exploring Hadrian’s Wall was our third tour with Peter Sommer Travels and again it was a wonderful experience. Their small group tours are led by extremely knowledgeable guides and impeccably organized by their equally congenial tour managers. Accommodations are very comfortable, often unique, and the dining venues always interesting, with excellent food and beverages. When you travel with the Peter Sommer company, you feel part of a family in which the office manager, the expert guides, the tour managers, and Peter Sommer himself work together to ensure your comfort and enjoyment and to provide you with the best possible travel experience. Peter Sommer Travels is by far the best tour company we’ve travelled with and we give them our highest recommendation.