AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 499
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 500
Reviews Accepted: 499
Reviews Rejected: 1
499 reviews
Sort by:
Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Patrick, 16 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

A curated tour of Greek History

Walking and Cruising the Dodecanese and Athens extension. A curated tour of Greek Antiquity and subsequent history with master guides who are not only knowledgeable, but fun, humorous and lively. A terms our experience virtually unequaled in our travels.

Walking and Cruising the Dodecanese and Athens extension. A curated tour of Greek Antiquity and subsequent history with master guides who are not only knowledgeable, but fun, humorous and lively. A terms our experience virtually unequaled in our travels.

Rating for tour operator:

Organized, efficient and happy to take the time to answer promptly all our questions. For example, some health conditions raised issues that were easily assuaged by the provision of detailed information about some of the hikes. They simply took all the time we needed to provide thorough information about the trip.

Walking and Cruising Dalmatia by peggyann, 13 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Walking and Cruising southern Dalmatia

one week sailing aboard a Turkish gulat with daily excursions

one week sailing aboard a Turkish gulat with daily excursions

Rating for tour operator:

Young, energetic, knowledgable and highly entertaining!

Walking and Cruising Dalmatia by Paolo, 13 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Croatia

We along with 5 other couples we knew stayed on a gulat in Croatia where we sailed and hiked

We along with 5 other couples we knew stayed on a gulat in Croatia where we sailed and hiked

Rating for tour operator:

We cannot praise highly enough Peter Sommer travel and his dedicated, outstanding staff. We always have the best of everything with this tour group: accommodations, food, excellent guides. No other tour operator can compare.

From Split to Dubrovnik by Marco, 7 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Dalmatian coast

Perfect in every way. Great crew, excellent guide, fabulous food and very comfortable accommodations.

Perfect in every way. Great crew, excellent guide, fabulous food and very comfortable accommodations.

Rating for tour operator:

The trip was planned very well with an expert guide.

From Dubrovnik to Split by James P, 26 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding gulet trip in Dalmatia.

Dalmatian Coast tour on a gulet. Outstanding guide, great food and crew. Highly recommended.

Dalmatian Coast tour on a gulet. Outstanding guide, great food and crew. Highly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent preparatory material, organisation, itinerary, staff and vessel.

Exploring Crete by Dr K G 19, 25 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Extraordinary tour offered by an extraordinary company

In short, enlightening and thoroughly enjoyable! Crete presents layer after layer of history and culture, some verging on myth and some speculative. Much of the recent history can be characterized as "turbulent". It all makes for a fascinating place to visit, particularly in the company of our knowledgeable guides.

In short, enlightening and thoroughly enjoyable! Crete presents layer after layer of history and culture, some verging on myth and some speculative. Much of the recent history can be characterized as "turbulent". It all makes for a fascinating place to visit, particularly in the company of our knowledgeable guides.

Rating for tour operator:

It is hard to exaggerate the quality of the experience which Peter Sommer Travels provides. The guides are extremely highly qualified (importantly, they know what they know and what they don't know (i.e., is not known)). They also clearly have a passion for the history and culture which they present, and it shows in their enthusiasm. At the same time, every effort is made to make the trip an enjoyable experience, from beautiful accommodations to fantastic meals which most often explore regional specialties. All in all, I can't recommend Peter Sommer Travel highly enough.

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by Lovey, 22 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Turkish Archeological Holiday Experience of a Lifetime

The South African contingent joined a group from Australia and New Zealand for a second archeological holiday along the beautiful Turkish coast. The 15 of us all interested in walking, archeology and swimming and having fun in the pristine turquoise blue waters. Peter Sommer our resident archeologist enabled us to visualize how the towns and cities vibrated with life some 2000 plus years ago. It was fascinating wandering around the ruins ...

The South African contingent joined a group from Australia and New Zealand for a second archeological holiday along the beautiful Turkish coast. The 15 of us all interested in walking, archeology and swimming and having fun in the pristine turquoise blue waters. Peter Sommer our resident archeologist enabled us to visualize how the towns and cities vibrated with life some 2000 plus years ago. It was fascinating wandering around the ruins feeling as if the previous residents were still alive with us.

Rating for tour operator:

We had traveled with Peter Sommer Travels before and in fact most of us had done trips with him previously and found everything extremely well organized. All the logistics are great. From arriving on the Gulett to being dropped off at the airport at the end of the trip , the team made you feel very special and cared for. Every trip we did on land was properly organized and well researched. What a splendid stimulating holiday and wonderful team giving of their very best to make us all happy.

Exploring Crete by Mr. B V 19, 22 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Great guides and wonderful trip. Terrific insight by well planned tour providing marvelous insight into a fascinating part of the world.

Great guides and wonderful trip. Terrific insight by well planned tour providing marvelous insight into a fascinating part of the world.

Rating for tour operator:

Very responsive and helpful

Peter Sommer Travels by Evil Eight Greek Revival, 21 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Greek Revival

All the sites, from Braniuon to last, Corinth, were alive with history. The food was varied, plentiful and delicious. The hotels were uniquely suited to each location. Very clean and comfortable. The van the perfect size for a party of eight and luggage. The driver handled the city highways of Athens with the same skill as the twisty mountain roads of Greece. He also was friendly and very helpful to all. We all enjoyed his company at lunch and ...

All the sites, from Braniuon to last, Corinth, were alive with history. The food was varied, plentiful and delicious. The hotels were uniquely suited to each location. Very clean and comfortable. The van the perfect size for a party of eight and luggage. The driver handled the city highways of Athens with the same skill as the twisty mountain roads of Greece. He also was friendly and very helpful to all. We all enjoyed his company at lunch and dinner. Each piece fit into the vacation puzzle perfectly It was a wonderful experience enjoyed by all.

Rating for tour operator:

Nota was the perfect person to guide our group through the complex history of each site. She is very knowledgeable about Mycenean, Classical, Macedonian and Roman history. The depth of her knowledge of Byzantine Greece is outstanding. She is a natural teacher and extremely patient answering our many questions. After we left our Peter Sommers Tour and began our Pre-cruise tour, we all realized how much we missed Nota. Everyone kept asking; "Where is Nota when you need her?" She is a wonderful tour operator and we can't wait to travel with Nota and Peter Sommers again.

Walking and Cruising Dalmatia by Alison M, 20 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Archeological cruising holiday of the Croatian Islands in style

We spent 7 magical days learning the fantastic and diverse history of this region. A mixture of cruising, fabulous walks and great food and wine. A perfect combination.

We spent 7 magical days learning the fantastic and diverse history of this region. A mixture of cruising, fabulous walks and great food and wine. A perfect combination.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is an experienced travel operator. All arrangements were seamless and nothing was too much trouble.