AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 612
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 614
Reviews Accepted: 614
Reviews Rejected: 0
614 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising to the Cyclades by Pixianne, 24 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Truly one of the most amazing trips we have ever taken!

We sailed from Bodrum, Turkey to a great many of the Greek islands (Dodecanese and Cyclades) on a Turkish gulet. We were led by two extremely knowledgable, as well as personable, archeologists. We visited archeological and cultural sites on the islands and were also treated to an amazing array of delicious food - Turkish on the boat and Greek on land. Additionally, we were very fortunate to share this experience with some wonderful fellow passengers ...

We sailed from Bodrum, Turkey to a great many of the Greek islands (Dodecanese and Cyclades) on a Turkish gulet. We were led by two extremely knowledgable, as well as personable, archeologists. We visited archeological and cultural sites on the islands and were also treated to an amazing array of delicious food - Turkish on the boat and Greek on land. Additionally, we were very fortunate to share this experience with some wonderful fellow passengers - two thirds of whom (us, included) had been on one or more previous trips with Peter Sommer Travels. That fact alone should be quite an endorsement. It was a small, only 15 passengers, very personal journey, with plenty of time for relaxation as well as education.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second trip with Peter Sommer Travels. We were thrilled with the first one we took, which was led by Peter Sommer himself. And this, our second, fulfilled every expectation that we had and then some! The trips are for small groups and are led by experienced archeologists who are very knowledgable about the areas visited. Additionally, the guides are genuinely friendly, extremely helpful individuals. And the meals and accommodations are top rate. We have already booked another trip with Peter Sommer Travel for next spring!

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by andoverdba, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

An unforgettable life experience.

We travelled on the "In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great" trip. A three week itinerary retracing Alexander the Great's footsteps across Asia Minor. We visited extraordinary sites each day. Peter regaled us with stories filled with history and myth at every stop. We also enjoyed lovely accommodations and delicious food. All of the guides were excellent; knowledgable, good natured and quick to meet the needs of the guests.

We travelled on the "In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great" trip. A three week itinerary retracing Alexander the Great's footsteps across Asia Minor. We visited extraordinary sites each day. Peter regaled us with stories filled with history and myth at every stop. We also enjoyed lovely accommodations and delicious food. All of the guides were excellent; knowledgable, good natured and quick to meet the needs of the guests.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels runs small group, expert-led archaeological and cultural tours specializing in Turkey, Greece and Italy with a focus on the ruins of the ancient world and the daily pleasures of the modern.

Cruising to Ephesus by Herakleitus, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Unique combination of relaxation, beautiful locations, good company and learning

We travelled along the Turkish coast north from Bodrum stopping in at small towns and ancient cities along with expert guides. The boat and crew were terrific - friendly and helpful and the food was wonderful. Exceeded our high expectations.

We travelled along the Turkish coast north from Bodrum stopping in at small towns and ancient cities along with expert guides. The boat and crew were terrific - friendly and helpful and the food was wonderful. Exceeded our high expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels Efficient and capable and made first class arrangements.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Chappy, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

A Second Trip of a Life Time

Cruising to the Cyclades was our second gulet cruise with Peter Sommer Travels and it was even better and more special than the first trip (Cruising the Carian Coast) which had been so impressive we were anxious to book a second trip. The fact that 10 of the 15 guest on the Cyclades tour were "repeat" Peter Sommer Travels guests immediately indicated previous happy travel experiences. The cosmopolitan guests were an amazingly congenial and ...

Cruising to the Cyclades was our second gulet cruise with Peter Sommer Travels and it was even better and more special than the first trip (Cruising the Carian Coast) which had been so impressive we were anxious to book a second trip. The fact that 10 of the 15 guest on the Cyclades tour were "repeat" Peter Sommer Travels guests immediately indicated previous happy travel experiences. The cosmopolitan guests were an amazingly congenial and gregarious group and that added to the overall success of the trip. Although Peter Sommer Travels cannot guarantee the personalities of the travelers, these archeology-focused trips attract a to some extent "self-selected" group of people and the fact that such a high percentage are repeat travelers with the company is some "insurance" that the group with be a fun group. The Aegean Clipper is a beautiful and spacious Turkish gulet. The captain was a gregarious, humorous, knowledgeable,delightful person and his crew were friendly, competent, and attentive. The two guides were fantastic, that is knowledgeable, personable, and very caring. These two guides were so good that we and three other passengers signed up for another Peter Sommer Travels tour in 2015 with these two guides! The Turkish food on the boat was terrific and abundant. The Greek food on the islands was terrific and abundant. Finally, the sites visited could scarcely have been any more perfect for a vacation trip. The islands were different and each special. The sites on the islands were often very beautiful and were always very interesting. The variety of sites from ancient temple ruins to a sponge factory to a steamy volcano made for a fascinating trip. The walks, hikes, and climbs were all manageable (and my wife and I are in our late 60's), but vigorous enough to balance the constant supply of excellent food and wine. Many people on our trip were very literally experienced world travelers and most if not all of the guests on this trip indicated that it was one of, if not the, most fabulous trip they had been on.

Rating for tour operator:

We were fortunate to have Peter Sommer himself as a guide on our first trip with his company (Cruising the Carian Coast) and we were so impressed with him and with how perfect the trip was in terms of all arrangements and itinerary, that we thought immediate, "We must do another trip with Peter Sommer Travels." However, I thought we might be very lucky to have had Peter Sommer himself as our main guide and we could have less good fortune on one of the future trips. So, I asked Peter about the selection of the other guides. He proceed to give me a lengthy, detailed history of how additional guides were added to his growing operation. His mini-lecture gave me great confidence that we would have great guides on any future Peter Sommer Travels tours we took. Cruising to the Cyclades proved beyond a doubt that the guides are as good as Peter Sommer himself! Fortunately,at the end of our cruise in Bodrum, Peter Sommer was able to spend some time with all of us on our last evening and he was just as pleasant and gregarious as he had been on our first trip. He had the satisfaction of hearing from me and from other guests how unbelievably wonderful the trip had been. And, he had the pleasure of hearing that five guests had already signed up for a 2015 tour with his firm. I believe it is safe to say that Peter Sommer personally witnessed the amazing esprit d'corps among the guests, captain, and crew at our final dinner/party on the Aegean Clipper. One final observation: Although even Peter Sommer cannot control the weather it is important to note that for our two-week adventure, it rained once but only at night (as in Camelot).

A Gastronomic Tour of Sicily by Lantern5, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Gulet trip in Turkey...Fine food in Sicily

My wife and I have travelled twice with Peter Sommer Travels, to Turkey & Sicily, both times with guide Michael Metcalfe. Peter Sommer Travels is a premium, completely hassle-free experience. They combine small groups with great guides and wonderful destinations to create truly memorable experiences. Our sailboat cruise in Turkey exposed us to several amazing archeological sites and our gastronomic tour of Sicily was the perfect pairing of history ...

My wife and I have travelled twice with Peter Sommer Travels, to Turkey & Sicily, both times with guide Michael Metcalfe. Peter Sommer Travels is a premium, completely hassle-free experience. They combine small groups with great guides and wonderful destinations to create truly memorable experiences. Our sailboat cruise in Turkey exposed us to several amazing archeological sites and our gastronomic tour of Sicily was the perfect pairing of history and food. We will travel with Peter Sommer Travels again!

Rating for tour operator:

From the moment that you book a trip with Peter Sommer Travels you understand that you are in good hands. They help to coordinate travel, integrating a Peter Sommer Travels segment with other travel destinations; they provide reading lists to prepare you for your destination; they help with what to wear and what to bring. In short, they serve as your guide, maximizing your travel experience.

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Jenways, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fun, relaxing and educational.

We sailed in a Gulet around the Nthn Dodecanese of the Greek Islands. We stopped at a different island every day and were shown wonderful archeological sites by our two wonderful guides who were experts in Pre History and Byzantine history. The gulet was extremely comfortable and as well as eating very well on board we feasted at Tavernas on each of the islands we visited.

We sailed in a Gulet around the Nthn Dodecanese of the Greek Islands. We stopped at a different island every day and were shown wonderful archeological sites by our two wonderful guides who were experts in Pre History and Byzantine history. The gulet was extremely comfortable and as well as eating very well on board we feasted at Tavernas on each of the islands we visited.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is a qualified archaeologist who specialises in tours in Greece, Turkey and Italy. These are led by experienced guides who endeavour to showcase the most interesting sites in each region they travel to. The gulets moor in quiet coves around the islands where guests can swim, snorkel or kayak. Nothing is too much trouble. The crew are wonderful too.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by IowaHikers, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Hiking and sailing the Lycian Shore.........Fantastic!

In the Fall of 2010 we joined Peter Sommer for an unforgettable experience aboard a gulet. We hiked and sailed and ate our way along the Turkish coast, and enjoyed every minute of it. Our expectations were exceeded in every way.

In the Fall of 2010 we joined Peter Sommer for an unforgettable experience aboard a gulet. We hiked and sailed and ate our way along the Turkish coast, and enjoyed every minute of it. Our expectations were exceeded in every way.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer's knowledge of Turkey and his wonderful way of imparting that knowledge to his guests was what made the trip memorable. He and his colleagues were exceptional and there is no doubt that it was the best tour we have ever been on. The accommodations, cuisine, and education were top notch, and we plan to do another tour with him in the near future.

Cruising to Ephesus by Ann T, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant combination of history, water, wine and company

Sailing on a gulet from Bodrum to Ephesus was one of the best holidays I've had. I love swimming but get utterly bored sitting around resort pools.On this journey, adventures on land exploring the historic sites of Turkey's Aegean Coast were book-ended by a swim in the warm Mediterranean plus wonderful food, wine and conversations. The quality of the guides and boat staff were superlative and the only problem with the entire experience was that ...

Sailing on a gulet from Bodrum to Ephesus was one of the best holidays I've had. I love swimming but get utterly bored sitting around resort pools.On this journey, adventures on land exploring the historic sites of Turkey's Aegean Coast were book-ended by a swim in the warm Mediterranean plus wonderful food, wine and conversations. The quality of the guides and boat staff were superlative and the only problem with the entire experience was that it ended. I'm currently strategising how to have another Peter Sommer tour.

Rating for tour operator:

All my communication with the Peter Sommer tour was by email from Australia and it was all clear, helpful and accurate. They also gave brilliant advice on other aspects of time away. The quality of the guide who introduced us to the history of the area was literally world-class and I have since read a number of his contributions to archaeology and art. The local guide was delightful and information as well.

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by Mr S B 12, 22 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great

Three weeks touring Turkey and the archaeological sites visited by Alexander. Superbly planned - spacious transport, delicious meals and always with very comfortable accommodation. The group dynamics were excellent and I am still in contact with some fellow travellers. In fact next year some of us are meeting to share another tour with peter Sommers Travel.

Three weeks touring Turkey and the archaeological sites visited by Alexander. Superbly planned - spacious transport, delicious meals and always with very comfortable accommodation. The group dynamics were excellent and I am still in contact with some fellow travellers. In fact next year some of us are meeting to share another tour with peter Sommers Travel.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers had such an in depth knowledge of the History and the local Culture - he could refer to the original ancient Greek texts and yet still explain the subtleties of modern Turkish politics. He stimulated and maintained our interest during the three weeks together and despite the huge distances we travelled.

Peter Sommer Travels by Rainshadow, 22 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely incredible from start to finish.

It has been a few years now since our fabulous adventure with Peter and his wonderful crew, however the memories are as vivid as if it were yesterday. We enjoyed the tour so much we ended up living in Turkey for a year. Our ship mates were a varied and interesting bunch and we all got along famously. Every days itinerary was explained to us by Peter and we were given notes on the highlights. After a wonderful full breakfast we would motor, sail ...

It has been a few years now since our fabulous adventure with Peter and his wonderful crew, however the memories are as vivid as if it were yesterday. We enjoyed the tour so much we ended up living in Turkey for a year. Our ship mates were a varied and interesting bunch and we all got along famously. Every days itinerary was explained to us by Peter and we were given notes on the highlights. After a wonderful full breakfast we would motor, sail to our next destination , stopping for lunch and a swim in some hidden cove along the way. Our skipper was a true mariner and tucked us into the most amazing clear water bays. As the day cooled near mid afternoon we grabbed walking sticks and headed onto the beach for our history lesson with Peter. The lessons took place right were the events happened , be it under a Roman aqueduct, walking the roads of Alexander, or deep in a lush tropical forest . Each day was perfectly crafted to maximize the time we had. And at the end of the day , dinner, an ever changing feast of Turkish delights , cooked fresh daily . The gullet ( ship) was a beautiful and comfortable vessel with each guest enjoying a private cabin and en-suite . Our only regret was, like all good things the vacation came to an end. Peter, his amazing crew and guides, and everyone involved with Peter Sommer Travels , will make your holiday something you will never forget. We will have the memories for a lifetime.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter was the tour operator , we booked directly. All was great