AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 438
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 439
Reviews Accepted: 438
Reviews Rejected: 1
438 reviews
Sort by:
Peter Sommer Travels by vickimm, 3 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Best of Holiday Times

I have experienced two of Peter Sommer's gulet trips in Turkey: one with Peter as host and the second with Michael and Cem as hosts. Each trip was a wonderful blend of caring and entertaining hosts that are first and foremost great storytellers; picturesque landscapes and seascapes, a variety of honey-pot and lost places and local delicious food and hospitality. In addition to the gullet trips, both holidays provided the opportunity for ...

I have experienced two of Peter Sommer's gulet trips in Turkey: one with Peter as host and the second with Michael and Cem as hosts. Each trip was a wonderful blend of caring and entertaining hosts that are first and foremost great storytellers; picturesque landscapes and seascapes, a variety of honey-pot and lost places and local delicious food and hospitality. In addition to the gullet trips, both holidays provided the opportunity for extensive extra travel in Turkey, which Peter Sommer Travels assisted with. I returned from these trips feeling renewed and full of energy.

Rating for tour operator:

I had a lot of direct dealings with Peter in the organisation of both trips. Nothing was every too much trouble and Peter and his office and tour staff were always extremely professional. The additional service provided to recommend other places to visit in Turkey and with organising local flights, accommodation and hire cars was seamless.

Cruising the Amalfi Coast by Montana Linda, 1 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful educational/sailing adventure

First trip: learning about and sailing the Dodecanese with Peter Sommer was amazing. Knowledgeable guide Heinrich who has excellent people skills and helped us discover ancient Greek sites. Small sailing boat with great accomodations and fabulous local food. Second trip: Learning about the Southern Coast of Italy and sailing the Amalfi Coast with Peter Sommer. Michael, a knowlegeable guide was so helpful when touring Pompei and other ancient ...

First trip: learning about and sailing the Dodecanese with Peter Sommer was amazing. Knowledgeable guide Heinrich who has excellent people skills and helped us discover ancient Greek sites. Small sailing boat with great accomodations and fabulous local food. Second trip: Learning about the Southern Coast of Italy and sailing the Amalfi Coast with Peter Sommer. Michael, a knowlegeable guide was so helpful when touring Pompei and other ancient sites, Baia and Capri. Great accomodations on a small sailing boat, with wonderful local Italian food.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is most helpful when planning and executing a trip. He has wonderful choices and tours and is available to answer any questions and advice for travel. His tour guides have PhD's in ancient history and are so knowlegeable. Local guides are also excellent. A first class experience. We have done two tours with Peter Sommer and plan to do more.

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by Matthew from Australia, 28 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Extraordinary - ancient history meets modernity

We travelled in Turkey with Peter in late April and early May 2013 - in the footsteps of Alexander the Great. Peter's seemingly limitless knowledge of Alexander and his conquests, combined with the delights of Turkey - food, weather, history etc, made for a wonderful holiday which we are eager to repeat as soon as we can.

We travelled in Turkey with Peter in late April and early May 2013 - in the footsteps of Alexander the Great. Peter's seemingly limitless knowledge of Alexander and his conquests, combined with the delights of Turkey - food, weather, history etc, made for a wonderful holiday which we are eager to repeat as soon as we can.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer combines the best aspects of what you might seek in a tour guide. He is warm and friendly and, as an archeologist, he has a vast knowledge of the ancient world and an infectious enthusiasm for relating that. And the tour was incredibly well-organised. We could not recommend Peter and his company (Peter Sommer Travels) highly enough. If you are looking to travel with a small group of like-minded people and experience the best of small group travel, you should look no further than Peter Sommer Travels.

Cruising to Ephesus by SimonT, 26 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Relaxing, informative and delicious

We went on an archaeological tour of part of Turkey's coastline by boat. Very comfortable accommodation on board, delicious food, a well thought-through itinerary and led by a knowledgeable archaeologist and tour guide.

We went on an archaeological tour of part of Turkey's coastline by boat. Very comfortable accommodation on board, delicious food, a well thought-through itinerary and led by a knowledgeable archaeologist and tour guide.

Rating for tour operator:

Every aspect of the holiday seemed well planned from the pre-tour reading list to the transfers.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Pixianne, 24 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Truly one of the most amazing trips we have ever taken!

We sailed from Bodrum, Turkey to a great many of the Greek islands (Dodecanese and Cyclades) on a Turkish gulet. We were led by two extremely knowledgable, as well as personable, archeologists. We visited archeological and cultural sites on the islands and were also treated to an amazing array of delicious food - Turkish on the boat and Greek on land. Additionally, we were very fortunate to share this experience with some wonderful fellow passengers ...

We sailed from Bodrum, Turkey to a great many of the Greek islands (Dodecanese and Cyclades) on a Turkish gulet. We were led by two extremely knowledgable, as well as personable, archeologists. We visited archeological and cultural sites on the islands and were also treated to an amazing array of delicious food - Turkish on the boat and Greek on land. Additionally, we were very fortunate to share this experience with some wonderful fellow passengers - two thirds of whom (us, included) had been on one or more previous trips with Peter Sommer Travels. That fact alone should be quite an endorsement. It was a small, only 15 passengers, very personal journey, with plenty of time for relaxation as well as education.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second trip with Peter Sommer Travels. We were thrilled with the first one we took, which was led by Peter Sommer himself. And this, our second, fulfilled every expectation that we had and then some! The trips are for small groups and are led by experienced archeologists who are very knowledgable about the areas visited. Additionally, the guides are genuinely friendly, extremely helpful individuals. And the meals and accommodations are top rate. We have already booked another trip with Peter Sommer Travel for next spring!

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by andoverdba, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

An unforgettable life experience.

We travelled on the "In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great" trip. A three week itinerary retracing Alexander the Great's footsteps across Asia Minor. We visited extraordinary sites each day. Peter regaled us with stories filled with history and myth at every stop. We also enjoyed lovely accommodations and delicious food. All of the guides were excellent; knowledgable, good natured and quick to meet the needs of the guests.

We travelled on the "In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great" trip. A three week itinerary retracing Alexander the Great's footsteps across Asia Minor. We visited extraordinary sites each day. Peter regaled us with stories filled with history and myth at every stop. We also enjoyed lovely accommodations and delicious food. All of the guides were excellent; knowledgable, good natured and quick to meet the needs of the guests.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels runs small group, expert-led archaeological and cultural tours specializing in Turkey, Greece and Italy with a focus on the ruins of the ancient world and the daily pleasures of the modern.

Cruising to Ephesus by Herakleitus, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Unique combination of relaxation, beautiful locations, good company and learning

We travelled along the Turkish coast north from Bodrum stopping in at small towns and ancient cities along with expert guides. The boat and crew were terrific - friendly and helpful and the food was wonderful. Exceeded our high expectations.

We travelled along the Turkish coast north from Bodrum stopping in at small towns and ancient cities along with expert guides. The boat and crew were terrific - friendly and helpful and the food was wonderful. Exceeded our high expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels Efficient and capable and made first class arrangements.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Chappy, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

A Second Trip of a Life Time

Cruising to the Cyclades was our second gulet cruise with Peter Sommer Travels and it was even better and more special than the first trip (Cruising the Carian Coast) which had been so impressive we were anxious to book a second trip. The fact that 10 of the 15 guest on the Cyclades tour were "repeat" Peter Sommer Travels guests immediately indicated previous happy travel experiences. The cosmopolitan guests were an amazingly congenial and ...

Cruising to the Cyclades was our second gulet cruise with Peter Sommer Travels and it was even better and more special than the first trip (Cruising the Carian Coast) which had been so impressive we were anxious to book a second trip. The fact that 10 of the 15 guest on the Cyclades tour were "repeat" Peter Sommer Travels guests immediately indicated previous happy travel experiences. The cosmopolitan guests were an amazingly congenial and gregarious group and that added to the overall success of the trip. Although Peter Sommer Travels cannot guarantee the personalities of the travelers, these archeology-focused trips attract a to some extent "self-selected" group of people and the fact that such a high percentage are repeat travelers with the company is some "insurance" that the group with be a fun group. The Aegean Clipper is a beautiful and spacious Turkish gulet. The captain was a gregarious, humorous, knowledgeable,delightful person and his crew were friendly, competent, and attentive. The two guides were fantastic, that is knowledgeable, personable, and very caring. These two guides were so good that we and three other passengers signed up for another Peter Sommer Travels tour in 2015 with these two guides! The Turkish food on the boat was terrific and abundant. The Greek food on the islands was terrific and abundant. Finally, the sites visited could scarcely have been any more perfect for a vacation trip. The islands were different and each special. The sites on the islands were often very beautiful and were always very interesting. The variety of sites from ancient temple ruins to a sponge factory to a steamy volcano made for a fascinating trip. The walks, hikes, and climbs were all manageable (and my wife and I are in our late 60's), but vigorous enough to balance the constant supply of excellent food and wine. Many people on our trip were very literally experienced world travelers and most if not all of the guests on this trip indicated that it was one of, if not the, most fabulous trip they had been on.

Rating for tour operator:

We were fortunate to have Peter Sommer himself as a guide on our first trip with his company (Cruising the Carian Coast) and we were so impressed with him and with how perfect the trip was in terms of all arrangements and itinerary, that we thought immediate, "We must do another trip with Peter Sommer Travels." However, I thought we might be very lucky to have had Peter Sommer himself as our main guide and we could have less good fortune on one of the future trips. So, I asked Peter about the selection of the other guides. He proceed to give me a lengthy, detailed history of how additional guides were added to his growing operation. His mini-lecture gave me great confidence that we would have great guides on any future Peter Sommer Travels tours we took. Cruising to the Cyclades proved beyond a doubt that the guides are as good as Peter Sommer himself! Fortunately,at the end of our cruise in Bodrum, Peter Sommer was able to spend some time with all of us on our last evening and he was just as pleasant and gregarious as he had been on our first trip. He had the satisfaction of hearing from me and from other guests how unbelievably wonderful the trip had been. And, he had the pleasure of hearing that five guests had already signed up for a 2015 tour with his firm. I believe it is safe to say that Peter Sommer personally witnessed the amazing esprit d'corps among the guests, captain, and crew at our final dinner/party on the Aegean Clipper. One final observation: Although even Peter Sommer cannot control the weather it is important to note that for our two-week adventure, it rained once but only at night (as in Camelot).

A Gastronomic Tour of Sicily by Lantern5, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Gulet trip in Turkey...Fine food in Sicily

My wife and I have travelled twice with Peter Sommer Travels, to Turkey & Sicily, both times with guide Michael Metcalfe. Peter Sommer Travels is a premium, completely hassle-free experience. They combine small groups with great guides and wonderful destinations to create truly memorable experiences. Our sailboat cruise in Turkey exposed us to several amazing archeological sites and our gastronomic tour of Sicily was the perfect pairing of history ...

My wife and I have travelled twice with Peter Sommer Travels, to Turkey & Sicily, both times with guide Michael Metcalfe. Peter Sommer Travels is a premium, completely hassle-free experience. They combine small groups with great guides and wonderful destinations to create truly memorable experiences. Our sailboat cruise in Turkey exposed us to several amazing archeological sites and our gastronomic tour of Sicily was the perfect pairing of history and food. We will travel with Peter Sommer Travels again!

Rating for tour operator:

From the moment that you book a trip with Peter Sommer Travels you understand that you are in good hands. They help to coordinate travel, integrating a Peter Sommer Travels segment with other travel destinations; they provide reading lists to prepare you for your destination; they help with what to wear and what to bring. In short, they serve as your guide, maximizing your travel experience.

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Jenways, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fun, relaxing and educational.

We sailed in a Gulet around the Nthn Dodecanese of the Greek Islands. We stopped at a different island every day and were shown wonderful archeological sites by our two wonderful guides who were experts in Pre History and Byzantine history. The gulet was extremely comfortable and as well as eating very well on board we feasted at Tavernas on each of the islands we visited.

We sailed in a Gulet around the Nthn Dodecanese of the Greek Islands. We stopped at a different island every day and were shown wonderful archeological sites by our two wonderful guides who were experts in Pre History and Byzantine history. The gulet was extremely comfortable and as well as eating very well on board we feasted at Tavernas on each of the islands we visited.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is a qualified archaeologist who specialises in tours in Greece, Turkey and Italy. These are led by experienced guides who endeavour to showcase the most interesting sites in each region they travel to. The gulets moor in quiet coves around the islands where guests can swim, snorkel or kayak. Nothing is too much trouble. The crew are wonderful too.