AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 499
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 500
Reviews Accepted: 499
Reviews Rejected: 1
499 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising the Amalfi Coast by Georgina Foster & Matthew Garey, 26 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Yet again, our trip with Peter Sommer Travels exceeded our expectations

The holiday was called "Cruising the Amalfi Coast" and involved 6 days meandering around the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast on a Turkish gulet. However, like the other holiday we did with Peter a couple of years ago, it was not all simply hedonism but involved wonderful excursions to historic sites, including Pompeii, Herculaneum and the archeological museum in Naples led by expert guides.

The holiday was called "Cruising the Amalfi Coast" and involved 6 days meandering around the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast on a Turkish gulet. However, like the other holiday we did with Peter a couple of years ago, it was not all simply hedonism but involved wonderful excursions to historic sites, including Pompeii, Herculaneum and the archeological museum in Naples led by expert guides.

Rating for tour operator:

The beauty of holidays with Peter Sommer Travels is that you get the benefits of a fully organised and relaxing holiday while at the same time having the opportunity to see and experience historic sites and places that you may not otherwise see yourself. Most importantly, even if you did visit yourself, you would not have the benefit of experiencing the places with in-depth knowledge and passion for their subjects that Peter's guides have. Michael and Francesca were both wonderful. Such different people, but as a team they were splendid! Neither Georgina nor I could recommend Peter Sommer Travels highly enough.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by phil, 25 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Dreamy cruise in a small vessel along the south west Turkey coast.

If you are a sociable sort and like history, lazy cruising along a beautiful coastline in a stylish gulet, good food, good company, expert guidance and swimming in the crystal blue waters of the Mediterranean then you will be in heaven on this 14 day trip. Fabulous

If you are a sociable sort and like history, lazy cruising along a beautiful coastline in a stylish gulet, good food, good company, expert guidance and swimming in the crystal blue waters of the Mediterranean then you will be in heaven on this 14 day trip. Fabulous

Rating for tour operator:

Competent, professional, friendly, excellent communicator.

Cruising to Ephesus by FANTASTIC experience , 24 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

The experience was "over the top"

The Peter Sommer Travel experience was excellent. I had always wanted to go up the Coast of Turkey visiting the incredible ruins. This was every bit what I wanted and then some.

The Peter Sommer Travel experience was excellent. I had always wanted to go up the Coast of Turkey visiting the incredible ruins. This was every bit what I wanted and then some.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel was VERY professional by all standards.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by kaz, 24 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

fantastic summer holiday

Well organized, great boat and crew,beautiful and interesting sites,fantastic food

Well organized, great boat and crew,beautiful and interesting sites,fantastic food

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent travel company strives to ensure guests are looked after and have a great trip

Peter Sommer Travels by The Myrtle St. Gang + The Expats!, 22 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Our trip was the perfect blend of luxury, education, relaxation, activities and cultural emersion. Out of over 49 countries visited this tour and itinerary was one of the best ever!

Peter and his team were excellent to work with from start to finish. The team worked tirelessly before, during and after the cruise to ensure our expectations were met. We had three twelve year olds on the trip who were entertained and educated along the way. The staff on the cruise was extremely accommodating. The Gullet accommodations and food was wonderful. The team was prepared and flexible to adjust to our needs and desires. The archeol...

Peter and his team were excellent to work with from start to finish. The team worked tirelessly before, during and after the cruise to ensure our expectations were met. We had three twelve year olds on the trip who were entertained and educated along the way. The staff on the cruise was extremely accommodating. The Gullet accommodations and food was wonderful. The team was prepared and flexible to adjust to our needs and desires. The archeologist added so much to the trip. We cannot thank you enough for an extraordinary experience. We are beginning to plan our next adventure to the region right away!

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent customer service from planning to implementation. The entire staff was VERY accommodating. The cruise and on land tours were excellent the transportation worked like clockwork...all the guides professional and accommodating! I would not hesitate to use Peter Sommers Travel for all our needs in the region!

Cruising the Carian Coast - A2M by Jill , 22 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Perfectly organised

It would be very hard to criticise anything on this cruise. It was sheer luxury right from the initial airport transfer. The food was consistently better than our previous 5 days in Istanbul. The staff were attentive, polite and well dressed. We were honoured to have an archeologist with such a wealth of experience as Serdar and he humbly helped us in many other ways explaining the day's schedule, food, customs, language etc. If you could have ...

It would be very hard to criticise anything on this cruise. It was sheer luxury right from the initial airport transfer. The food was consistently better than our previous 5 days in Istanbul. The staff were attentive, polite and well dressed. We were honoured to have an archeologist with such a wealth of experience as Serdar and he humbly helped us in many other ways explaining the day's schedule, food, customs, language etc. If you could have just cancelled the heatwave it would have been perfect!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers has obviously perfected these cruises down to the last detail. He created a slightly different cruise especially for our party and it went without a hitch

Peter Sommer Travels by ISB, 21 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Exploring the Lycian coast and ruins on a private gulet

2 week private charter of gulet family trip with family membes ranging from 13 to 61 2 guides, one archeological guide focused on the Lycian ruins and classic history and one Turkish guide focused on the natural environment (flora and animals) as well as cultural context and local knowledge Excellent combination of nature and culture Mix of swimming, snorkelling, walking, climbing and cultural discoveries Gulet crew was very professional ...

2 week private charter of gulet family trip with family membes ranging from 13 to 61 2 guides, one archeological guide focused on the Lycian ruins and classic history and one Turkish guide focused on the natural environment (flora and animals) as well as cultural context and local knowledge Excellent combination of nature and culture Mix of swimming, snorkelling, walking, climbing and cultural discoveries Gulet crew was very professional and friendly, cook was extremely gifted and cooked healthy local food. All members of the family thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Travels is a small boutique operator focused on small group tours in Greece, Turkey and Sicily.

Cruising to Ephesus by Charlies, 21 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

History, fun and food

A brilliant gulet cruise where nothing could be faulted. Excellent organisation, superb food, an expert guide who was happy to impart information in an engaging and interesting way. An experience we would repeat

A brilliant gulet cruise where nothing could be faulted. Excellent organisation, superb food, an expert guide who was happy to impart information in an engaging and interesting way. An experience we would repeat

Rating for tour operator:

So well organised that we did not need to worry about a thing

Cruising Western Lycia by Dr R P 15, 20 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Archaeology, swimming, food and congenial company

Our gulet cruise along the Lycian coast was the second Peter Sommer tour we have taken. Like the first one, we loved the mix of archaeology as explained by our expert guide, the delicious traditional Turkish food, the swimming and the camaraderie of our group of eleven fellow travellers. we will definitely consider further Peter Sommer tours.

Our gulet cruise along the Lycian coast was the second Peter Sommer tour we have taken. Like the first one, we loved the mix of archaeology as explained by our expert guide, the delicious traditional Turkish food, the swimming and the camaraderie of our group of eleven fellow travellers. we will definitely consider further Peter Sommer tours.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is efficient, helpful and employs high quality guides.

Exploring Istanbul by Gill, 19 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Istanbul from Roman times to the present day

An exciting city to visit brought to life by enthusiastic and knowledgeable guides. The history, architecture and artefacts made interesting and accessible while the wonderful organisation made the experience trouble free. Each day was a new treat with something different to discover while enjoying fantastic meals and good company to share the experience with.

An exciting city to visit brought to life by enthusiastic and knowledgeable guides. The history, architecture and artefacts made interesting and accessible while the wonderful organisation made the experience trouble free. Each day was a new treat with something different to discover while enjoying fantastic meals and good company to share the experience with.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was taken care of so all we had to do was enjoy the holiday. They were always there to answer questions and the information we were given was most helpful and comprehensive.