AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 438
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 439
Reviews Accepted: 438
Reviews Rejected: 1
438 reviews
Sort by:
Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by IowaHikers, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Hiking and sailing the Lycian Shore.........Fantastic!

In the Fall of 2010 we joined Peter Sommer for an unforgettable experience aboard a gulet. We hiked and sailed and ate our way along the Turkish coast, and enjoyed every minute of it. Our expectations were exceeded in every way.

In the Fall of 2010 we joined Peter Sommer for an unforgettable experience aboard a gulet. We hiked and sailed and ate our way along the Turkish coast, and enjoyed every minute of it. Our expectations were exceeded in every way.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer's knowledge of Turkey and his wonderful way of imparting that knowledge to his guests was what made the trip memorable. He and his colleagues were exceptional and there is no doubt that it was the best tour we have ever been on. The accommodations, cuisine, and education were top notch, and we plan to do another tour with him in the near future.

Cruising to Ephesus by Ann T, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant combination of history, water, wine and company

Sailing on a gulet from Bodrum to Ephesus was one of the best holidays I've had. I love swimming but get utterly bored sitting around resort pools.On this journey, adventures on land exploring the historic sites of Turkey's Aegean Coast were book-ended by a swim in the warm Mediterranean plus wonderful food, wine and conversations. The quality of the guides and boat staff were superlative and the only problem with the entire experience was that ...

Sailing on a gulet from Bodrum to Ephesus was one of the best holidays I've had. I love swimming but get utterly bored sitting around resort pools.On this journey, adventures on land exploring the historic sites of Turkey's Aegean Coast were book-ended by a swim in the warm Mediterranean plus wonderful food, wine and conversations. The quality of the guides and boat staff were superlative and the only problem with the entire experience was that it ended. I'm currently strategising how to have another Peter Sommer tour.

Rating for tour operator:

All my communication with the Peter Sommer tour was by email from Australia and it was all clear, helpful and accurate. They also gave brilliant advice on other aspects of time away. The quality of the guide who introduced us to the history of the area was literally world-class and I have since read a number of his contributions to archaeology and art. The local guide was delightful and information as well.

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by Mr S B 12, 22 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great

Three weeks touring Turkey and the archaeological sites visited by Alexander. Superbly planned - spacious transport, delicious meals and always with very comfortable accommodation. The group dynamics were excellent and I am still in contact with some fellow travellers. In fact next year some of us are meeting to share another tour with peter Sommers Travel.

Three weeks touring Turkey and the archaeological sites visited by Alexander. Superbly planned - spacious transport, delicious meals and always with very comfortable accommodation. The group dynamics were excellent and I am still in contact with some fellow travellers. In fact next year some of us are meeting to share another tour with peter Sommers Travel.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers had such an in depth knowledge of the History and the local Culture - he could refer to the original ancient Greek texts and yet still explain the subtleties of modern Turkish politics. He stimulated and maintained our interest during the three weeks together and despite the huge distances we travelled.

Peter Sommer Travels by Rainshadow, 22 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely incredible from start to finish.

It has been a few years now since our fabulous adventure with Peter and his wonderful crew, however the memories are as vivid as if it were yesterday. We enjoyed the tour so much we ended up living in Turkey for a year. Our ship mates were a varied and interesting bunch and we all got along famously. Every days itinerary was explained to us by Peter and we were given notes on the highlights. After a wonderful full breakfast we would motor, sail ...

It has been a few years now since our fabulous adventure with Peter and his wonderful crew, however the memories are as vivid as if it were yesterday. We enjoyed the tour so much we ended up living in Turkey for a year. Our ship mates were a varied and interesting bunch and we all got along famously. Every days itinerary was explained to us by Peter and we were given notes on the highlights. After a wonderful full breakfast we would motor, sail to our next destination , stopping for lunch and a swim in some hidden cove along the way. Our skipper was a true mariner and tucked us into the most amazing clear water bays. As the day cooled near mid afternoon we grabbed walking sticks and headed onto the beach for our history lesson with Peter. The lessons took place right were the events happened , be it under a Roman aqueduct, walking the roads of Alexander, or deep in a lush tropical forest . Each day was perfectly crafted to maximize the time we had. And at the end of the day , dinner, an ever changing feast of Turkish delights , cooked fresh daily . The gullet ( ship) was a beautiful and comfortable vessel with each guest enjoying a private cabin and en-suite . Our only regret was, like all good things the vacation came to an end. Peter, his amazing crew and guides, and everyone involved with Peter Sommer Travels , will make your holiday something you will never forget. We will have the memories for a lifetime.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter was the tour operator , we booked directly. All was great

A Gastronomic Gulet Cruise by Gale L, 22 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding experience

We booked our trip with Peter Sommer Travels. We chose a Gastronomic Gullet Tour in Turkey. From the first moment we stepped on to the beautiful boat until the moment we got in our taxi to leave we were looked after superbly. The food was delicious. We spent part of every day watching or participation in preparation of and certainly eating Turkish food. As well as this we were treated to visits to ancient sites in the company of a professor ...

We booked our trip with Peter Sommer Travels. We chose a Gastronomic Gullet Tour in Turkey. From the first moment we stepped on to the beautiful boat until the moment we got in our taxi to leave we were looked after superbly. The food was delicious. We spent part of every day watching or participation in preparation of and certainly eating Turkish food. As well as this we were treated to visits to ancient sites in the company of a professor from a Turkish University who was our guide and lived with us on the boat. His knowledge of his country and its history both ancient and modern was excellent and he was both fascinating and informative. We also had one day of hiking across a peninsular, stopping for tea with a farming family in the hills. There were 12 cabins on our boat and we found them very comfortable, each had either a double bed or two singles, there was an ensuite bathroom with a proper toilet and shower. We went in late May and although the sea was cold we did swim, every day we stopped in some of the most beautiful places, tiny coves, alongside ruins, small harbours. We went with good friends but still managed to make friends with the others on the boat who were like minded and joined in with everything. Sailing or motoring from place to place gave one time for reading and relaxation but one was never bored. The day we finished we had several hours to spare and our guide found a friend who took us to another wonderful set of tombs to while away some of the time waiting for our plane. We were able to leave our luggage on the boat. We were made to feel so welcome where ever we went and the trip was a wonderful mixture of the fun, the interesting and the intellectual type holiday we were looking for.

Rating for tour operator:

Very Efficient. Good joining instructions. Personal - I had several conversations before we went with Peter who explained everything I needed to know. They offer an extraordinary range of holidays for both families and those who wish to understand more about the ancient world in the mediterranean - these are doing holidays and the beautiful boats and places they use to stay are lovely. On our experience we would recommend these holidays to anyone who wants to understand more about the ancient world and still have time for relaxation and reflection.

Exploring Sicily by Leonie, 22 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

A once in a lifetime experience

I joined PST in their spring tour of Sicily. I thoroughly enjoyed all the facets of the island. Discovering, savouring, admiring these marvellous temples, the friendly landscapes, the unique cities, and the choice of superb lodging and excellent food and wine made it an unforgettable holiday. I was over the moon!

I joined PST in their spring tour of Sicily. I thoroughly enjoyed all the facets of the island. Discovering, savouring, admiring these marvellous temples, the friendly landscapes, the unique cities, and the choice of superb lodging and excellent food and wine made it an unforgettable holiday. I was over the moon!

Rating for tour operator:

The guide leading the tour this time was Dr Michael Metcalfe and he excelled in bringing history to life. I have travelled with PST many times over the years and will do so again later this year for I know I cannot go wrong whatever the destination. The trips are always prepared to perfection, led by knowledgeable guides and one never feels to be pressured by time. I always get value for my money, even more than that.

Cruising Western Lycia by JDavidJ, 22 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

An escorted tour of the highest standard, round south-west Turkey: the best way to take a holiday.

This was a relaxing tour of Lycea, looking at the remains of ancient civilisations. OK, it might not be for everyone, but we loved it. We lived on a gulet, an attractive 100ft sailing boat, with an attentive crew, a skilled cook, and a bar. Generally the mornings were spent relaxing and swimming off the boat or from a nearby beach. We would then travel to the day's site, and take the guided tour in the late afternoon or early evening, when it ...

This was a relaxing tour of Lycea, looking at the remains of ancient civilisations. OK, it might not be for everyone, but we loved it. We lived on a gulet, an attractive 100ft sailing boat, with an attentive crew, a skilled cook, and a bar. Generally the mornings were spent relaxing and swimming off the boat or from a nearby beach. We would then travel to the day's site, and take the guided tour in the late afternoon or early evening, when it was beginning to cool. We would then sail to an anchorage, then have dinner eat and chat late into the night. The food was typically Turkish, and though I'm no nutritionist, it struck me as being very healthy, as well as tasty and well presented. The guides were excellent: Alan, a university lecturer and archaeologist, was a knowledgeable and interesting talker, and there was never a yawn or dull moment. Meanwhile a Turkish guide assisted by setting things up, arranging transport and restaurants etc, and generally fixing things so the whole thing ran very smoothly. The itinerary was flexible, so when at one point we found ourselves near an abandoned Greek village, from whence the grandfather of one of us had been expelled in the 1920s - of course we diverted to visit this important and haunting place. It was not a cheap holiday, but it was certainly excellent value, combining good service, interesting excursions, and relaxing in the sun.

Rating for tour operator:

The literature was well presented, informative, and easy to understand. The descriptions were accurate and there were no unpleasant surprises. Booking and admin were very well done, while not being in the least remote - we felt that they were interested in us. Everything went according to plan, and we have not been bombarded with marketing mail afterwards. It would have been helpful if they could have arranged the flights - this was not too difficult on line, but of course it is easier for a company that does it a lot, than for someone who rarely flies. All in all, many other operators could learn a lot about customer service from these guys.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Jim, 22 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful holiday cruising the Greek islands on a beautiful motor-yacht

I spent two weeks with 15 other guests on the Aegean Clipper, a lovely wooden gulet. We sailed round the Cyclades, seeing stunning scenery (especially Santorini & Nisyros), visiting fascinating archaeological and historical sites, with marvelous guides who took us to restaurants where we were treated like family & fed like royalty. Some nights we moored in harbours, other times we stayed in small coves where we were the only visitors. Really ...

I spent two weeks with 15 other guests on the Aegean Clipper, a lovely wooden gulet. We sailed round the Cyclades, seeing stunning scenery (especially Santorini & Nisyros), visiting fascinating archaeological and historical sites, with marvelous guides who took us to restaurants where we were treated like family & fed like royalty. Some nights we moored in harbours, other times we stayed in small coves where we were the only visitors. Really delightful.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is a is a small firm that I first traveled with in 2007; since then I've done several trips with them in Greece and Turkey. I've always found them professional, friendly & helpful. They have trained & experienced archaeologists on each holiday, and provide a really varied and enjoyable experience. The welcoming atmosphere on their trips is very important to a single traveler like me, and other guests always seem eager to meet and share their stories.