AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 477
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 478
Reviews Accepted: 477
Reviews Rejected: 1
477 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising to the Cyclades by EDG, 5 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer Travels review

Peter Sommer Travel is a very professional, organised team of people. They make their trips so easy to enjoy, stimulating sites to see, great food to eat,and no decisions to make

Peter Sommer Travel is a very professional, organised team of people. They make their trips so easy to enjoy, stimulating sites to see, great food to eat,and no decisions to make

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by JKG, 2 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Engaging, entertaining, educational and fun

My husband an I went on a small group tour, In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great, with Peter Sommer. It surpassed our expectations on all levels. Peter is such a passionate and knowledgeable archeologist and a consummate story teller. He brought Alexander the Great to life along with many other historical charters and incidents. The itinerary from Istanbul to Bodrum was scenic, historical and fascinating. On a practical level, the accommodation ...

My husband an I went on a small group tour, In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great, with Peter Sommer. It surpassed our expectations on all levels. Peter is such a passionate and knowledgeable archeologist and a consummate story teller. He brought Alexander the Great to life along with many other historical charters and incidents. The itinerary from Istanbul to Bodrum was scenic, historical and fascinating. On a practical level, the accommodation was excellent - a series of unique hotels, each with its own character, which added to the whole experience. The food was consistently outstanding as both Peter and Jem (the fixer) are very aware of the importance of delicious fresh food. The organisation was excellent, the small group (13) got on very well and I would recommend this tour to anyone with a reasonable fitness level and an interest in Alexander the Great. It was definitely the highlight of our holiday and we plan to do another Peter Sommer trip in 2016.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer was and is totally professional from the first email I sent. Questions were answered promptly, all the administration was handled efficiently and it was a pleasure to deal with Peter Sommer Travel.

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by EDG, 31 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Footsteps of Alexander the Great - part1

The Footsteps of Alexander - part 1 was a wonderful, stimulating experience; more than just a holiday! Peter transported us from modern Turkey to ancient Asia Minor, travelling with Alexander's entourage, visually his strategies and battles, and of course his triumphs. It was wonderful and I can't wait for part 2!

The Footsteps of Alexander - part 1 was a wonderful, stimulating experience; more than just a holiday! Peter transported us from modern Turkey to ancient Asia Minor, travelling with Alexander's entourage, visually his strategies and battles, and of course his triumphs. It was wonderful and I can't wait for part 2!

Rating for tour operator:

The combined team of Peter and Cem (logistics) provided a very smooth operation with warm welcomes everywhere. As a solo traveller, I was made to feel welcome and really enjoyed the company of the fellow travellers.

Exploring Crete by Briar, 28 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Introduced at Court: The Minoan Palaces

Ever since I saw a photo of Crete I knew I had to go there. Many years of studying and dreaming followed, fascinated by the Minoan culture in the east and intrigued by the lavish wildness of the west. One day the dream came true and I found myself there. We went directly to the most famous ruins and were guided throughout with an understanding of chronology and purpose of that which is known and a healthy respect for that which is yet to be ...

Ever since I saw a photo of Crete I knew I had to go there. Many years of studying and dreaming followed, fascinated by the Minoan culture in the east and intrigued by the lavish wildness of the west. One day the dream came true and I found myself there. We went directly to the most famous ruins and were guided throughout with an understanding of chronology and purpose of that which is known and a healthy respect for that which is yet to be understood. It was a privilege to be introduced in that way. Every night was spent in a specially chosen setting of great character, charm and comfort. A stone villa overlooking the dramatic Asterousia Mtns and on into the Lybian Sea, The former British Embassy, in Chania, now a hotel set with museum quality decor. There were several more; jewels, each one. And then we went to the naturally gorgeous, lush western side of the island. An introduction to the land itself, and for me, an invitation to return. I swam in the Lybian Sea, and now I know my way back. It was obvious to me the tour was put together with a passion for excellence and delight in the subject at hand.

Rating for tour operator:

From the very beginning the company was responsive, interested, well-mannered and capable. They made all the money transfers, insurance and other necessary forms as simple as possible. We even were able to speak with the tour guide ahead of time to become more familiar with the format. Everything was right, nothing was wrong..

Exploring Sicily by leejohnfini, 25 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

exploring sicily

fantastic trip .great guides covering archeological sites in sicily. peter sommer has the most superb guides.

fantastic trip .great guides covering archeological sites in sicily. peter sommer has the most superb guides.

Rating for tour operator:

professional, superb team and small groups. top class

Exploring Sicily by The Caldy traveller, 24 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Immersed in ancient and modern Sicily

This was an introduction to Sicily on a grand scale. By day we were taken back to the Greeks and Carthagenians and could feel them around us and by sunset we could immerse ourselves in the hospitality, the food and the wine of modern Sicily. The guides were of the highest standard and their organisation and planning resulted in an easy and comfortably paced tour.

This was an introduction to Sicily on a grand scale. By day we were taken back to the Greeks and Carthagenians and could feel them around us and by sunset we could immerse ourselves in the hospitality, the food and the wine of modern Sicily. The guides were of the highest standard and their organisation and planning resulted in an easy and comfortably paced tour.

Rating for tour operator:

From the first contact with Peter Sommer's office to the last farewell to the guides in Sicily the company excelled in everything they did. They do 'what they say on the tin'. Spot on!

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by mj, 23 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Great way to learn about archeology and something of Turkey

My spouse and I chose a Peter Sommer tour because of the subject and because they take small groups. Everything went smoothly allowing us more time to see the sites. The food was fantastic, especially the fish and veggies. In any case they always arranged an alternative to meat for me. We were also happy with the range of hotels, all comfortable and most family owned. We have both lived and worked in non English speaking countries and ...

My spouse and I chose a Peter Sommer tour because of the subject and because they take small groups. Everything went smoothly allowing us more time to see the sites. The food was fantastic, especially the fish and veggies. In any case they always arranged an alternative to meat for me. We were also happy with the range of hotels, all comfortable and most family owned. We have both lived and worked in non English speaking countries and traveled a lot, but neither of us had been on an organized tour before. This was such a great experience I plan to go on another.

Rating for tour operator:

I think this was a unique tour in that Peter Sommer, the tour company owner, led the tour himself and furthermore had walked the route years ago. I have been to many archeological sites without a real comprehension of the context. It was a treat to have someone with such extensive knowledge who could answer our questions, and even better, read from Herodotus! He was genuinely passionate about the archeology and history, loves Turkey, and is a great storyteller to boot. The Turkish guide, Cem, was incredibly competent and a lot of fun.

Exploring Sicily by Gryph, 23 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Sicily-our journey through its past.

Exploring Sicily with Peter Sommer Travels took us back to the ancient past of the island, its invaders,conquerors and settlers.Every day brought new delights:classical temples, fortresses, sculptures, amphitheatres and medieval towns. While at a site one of our group spotted a Bronze Age arrowhead, where else would you see something so rare? The two weeks were filled with fascinating visits to a wide range of destinations. Our Tour leader ...

Exploring Sicily with Peter Sommer Travels took us back to the ancient past of the island, its invaders,conquerors and settlers.Every day brought new delights:classical temples, fortresses, sculptures, amphitheatres and medieval towns. While at a site one of our group spotted a Bronze Age arrowhead, where else would you see something so rare? The two weeks were filled with fascinating visits to a wide range of destinations. Our Tour leader Michael's deep well of knowledge and his abiding enthusiasm brought every thing we saw into sharp focus .Michael encouraged us to hypothesise and share our opinions. There was much lively talk along the paths we walked together. Michael's depth and experience in his special field - we were the beneficiaries.His delightful personality was appreciated by all of us. He was friendly and accommodating. Our local Guide Lucia was invaluable, being Sicilian born she gave us many insights into Sicily's past and future.We enjoyed the culinary delights of Sicily, its seafood, the regional dishes and the excellent wine. Every meal was an epicurean treat.Our accommodation was wonderful. We stayed in an olive grove and two wineries sampling the produce. We loved the variety.

Rating for tour operator:

It was our first trip with the company and we were impressed with all aspects of the experience. The Peter Sommer team in the UK were helpful at all stages of the process. Any queries were answered promptly and clearly. We felt we were in good hands from the outset. Travellers can rely on receiving updates and information prior to their trip. Our Discovering Sicily tour was memorable, stimulating and convivial. Our Tour leader Michael fired everyone's imagination with his knowledge and love of the ancient world. Michael has depth,experience and passion for his field of archeology. We were the lucky beneficiaries. He also worked tirelessly on the details that made the logistics of the trip flawless. We hope to travel with Peter Sommer Travel again, we know that all our friends are envious of our holiday! They are also impressed with the high quality brochure that is sent to potential travellers.

Exploring Sicily by Maggie, 22 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily with With People who Love It

Peter Sommer 's " Exploring Sicily " tour was memorable on many, many levels . Reflecting on this trip since my return home, I think it was not just because of the depth of knowledge & courtesy of the guides, the impeccable organisation, the great accommodation & wonderful meals but also because we were shown Sicily by people who really love it & made us respect & love it too.

Peter Sommer 's " Exploring Sicily " tour was memorable on many, many levels . Reflecting on this trip since my return home, I think it was not just because of the depth of knowledge & courtesy of the guides, the impeccable organisation, the great accommodation & wonderful meals but also because we were shown Sicily by people who really love it & made us respect & love it too.

Rating for tour operator:

See the comment above

Exploring Sicily by The Granny Traveller, 22 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

This was a very special holiday led by Michael Metcalfe,and we couldn't have had a better leader, because Michael absolutely made the history of Sicily come alive for us with the wonderful stories that he told us about the ruins. But the trip was not just about ruins it encompassed the whole story of Sicily, as well as delicious food & wine & excellent accomodation we saw so much of the country & met such lovely welcoming people

This was a very special holiday led by Michael Metcalfe,and we couldn't have had a better leader, because Michael absolutely made the history of Sicily come alive for us with the wonderful stories that he told us about the ruins. But the trip was not just about ruins it encompassed the whole story of Sicily, as well as delicious food & wine & excellent accomodation we saw so much of the country & met such lovely welcoming people

Rating for tour operator:

Michael Metcalfe was without doubt the best tour leader I have ever experienced & I have been travelling with small group operators for a very long time, his enthusiasm & love of the country & it's history made it all come alive for us