AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 499
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 500
Reviews Accepted: 499
Reviews Rejected: 1
499 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Sicily by Elly, 3 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily, culture and history

Exploring Sicily was 2 weeks of delving into ancient history, modern food and wine, with great travel companions; superbly well organised and lead by Peter Sommer Travels.

Exploring Sicily was 2 weeks of delving into ancient history, modern food and wine, with great travel companions; superbly well organised and lead by Peter Sommer Travels.

Rating for tour operator:

Exploring Sicily was my 6th Trip with Peter Sommer Travels - and I enjoyed it as much as my 1st! They never fail to enthuse you about ancient cultures; and then combine it with modern culture of food, wine and wonderful travel companions. The Leaders are always excellent, personable, well organised and very professional.

Exploring Sicily by Carolyn's View, 15 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Ancient History, Excellen Sicilliant Wine and Food

The 14 day 'Exploring Sicily' tour with Peter Sommer Tours was outstanding - providing the opportunity for in depth immersion in the complex Ancient (and Medieval) History of Sicily. An additional focus throughout the tour was the opportunity to sample excellent Sicillian food and wine.

The 14 day 'Exploring Sicily' tour with Peter Sommer Tours was outstanding - providing the opportunity for in depth immersion in the complex Ancient (and Medieval) History of Sicily. An additional focus throughout the tour was the opportunity to sample excellent Sicillian food and wine.

Rating for tour operator:

Both of our Guides were professional, exceptionally knowledgeable with excellent communication skills. Comments from other participants with previous experience, suggests that this is a prominent feature of Peter Sommer Tours.

Exploring Crete by Tony, 4 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Comprehensive and enjoyable

The Exploring Crete tour was outstanding in both the historical and geographical coverage that was achieved. We stayed in a selection of both excellent and unusual hotels and enjoyed a range of very fine meals. The guides were hugely knowledgeable and very supportable throughout.

The Exploring Crete tour was outstanding in both the historical and geographical coverage that was achieved. We stayed in a selection of both excellent and unusual hotels and enjoyed a range of very fine meals. The guides were hugely knowledgeable and very supportable throughout.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer provided a very memorable and exciting trip which supplied some lifelong memories.

Exploring Sicily by Ben Australia, 4 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

High quality introduction to Sicily

Comprehensive and well planned two week journey into the history and culture Of Sicily. Led by a guide of considerable knowledge and enthusiasm. Much recommended

Comprehensive and well planned two week journey into the history and culture Of Sicily. Led by a guide of considerable knowledge and enthusiasm. Much recommended

Rating for tour operator:

This is my second trip and was as impressive as the first to Turkey. Certainly hope to travel with Peter Sommer again. A high quality memorable experience .

Exploring Crete by P & A, 3 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Crete: Archaeology, Nature and Food

An inspiring , excellently organised and interesting trip. We were well looked after throughout.

An inspiring , excellently organised and interesting trip. We were well looked after throughout.

Rating for tour operator:

Very knowledgeable and helpful in advance.

Exploring Crete by lindalee, 1 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

THE BEST CRETE TOUR EVER

Food, culture, archeology with the most knowledgeable, personable, thoughtful and experience tour guides ever. An experience impossible to duplicate on your own.

Food, culture, archeology with the most knowledgeable, personable, thoughtful and experience tour guides ever. An experience impossible to duplicate on your own.

Rating for tour operator:

EXCELLENT--every aspect of the tour, perfect. Well-planned, well-timed, thoughtful, complete.

Exploring Crete by EDG, 30 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Crete - Archaelogy, Culture and Food

Had another wonderful trip with Peter Sommer Travels, this time exploring Crete - - the birthplace of Zeus - through Minoan Archaeology, Wine, Food and great hospitality.

Had another wonderful trip with Peter Sommer Travels, this time exploring Crete - - the birthplace of Zeus - through Minoan Archaeology, Wine, Food and great hospitality.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels provide outstanding customer service, through their exceptional planning, local knowledge and expertise and contacts that make it a unique experience.

Exploring Crete by Ms C H 16, 28 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

We're not "tour" people, but we had a good time!

We don't like being on a schedule, but that comes with a tour. Generally, we enjoyed every day, but we thought we'd get more nature and less archaeology....and we love archaeology. We thought the hotel in Chania was really a poor choice, especially after we had been in such good hotels. We did not agree on the choices for dinner. We were in fish country. We saw some fish but not enough!

We don't like being on a schedule, but that comes with a tour. Generally, we enjoyed every day, but we thought we'd get more nature and less archaeology....and we love archaeology. We thought the hotel in Chania was really a poor choice, especially after we had been in such good hotels. We did not agree on the choices for dinner. We were in fish country. We saw some fish but not enough!

Rating for tour operator:

OK, but I give tours differently. I believe shorter is better.

Exploring Sicily by Russ C., 28 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Yet Another Amazingly Wonderful Tour Experience

Having enjoyed three previous truly wonderful tours with Peter Sommer Travels, I had prepared myself to not expect too much during our two-week tour of Sicily since I did not want to be disappointed. From the onset, I realized that our fourth tour was going to be another amazingly wonderful tour experience comparable to the first three. First, the hotels were varied in type and style, but all absolutely nice places to stay (to say the least)...

Having enjoyed three previous truly wonderful tours with Peter Sommer Travels, I had prepared myself to not expect too much during our two-week tour of Sicily since I did not want to be disappointed. From the onset, I realized that our fourth tour was going to be another amazingly wonderful tour experience comparable to the first three. First, the hotels were varied in type and style, but all absolutely nice places to stay (to say the least). Second, the tour content was once again a thoroughly satisfying mixture of ancient ruins, lovely landscapes, magnificent churches, fine museums, and vibrant cities. Third, the two guides (Michael Metcalfe and Lucia Iacono) were fantastic (more on them later). Fourth, the food and wine were a fabulous taste of Sicily literally and figuratively. Fourth, the 14 guests were a "self-selected" group of well educated, intelligent, travelers who sought an archeology-focused tour experience rather than a tourist vacation. And they were wonderful people with whom to be traveling. Of the 14, six of us had traveled together previously on Perter Sommer Travels tours. Fifth, given the winding mountain roads and the outrageously creative city traffic, our tour was a great success in no small part to a fabulous, careful, conscientious driver Giancarlo Gradino, who was also a most pleasant fellow traveler during the tour.

Rating for tour operator:

Michael Metcalfe was assisted by Lucia Iacono and the two of them were phenomenal guides/tour operators. They each had wonderful personalities and exhibited a) concern for each traveler's needs, b) patience in dealing with situations, and c) wonderful senses of humor which helped make the two-week experience truly wonderful. Given all the sites, all the ruins, all the museum exhibits, it is important to note that these two group leaders are phenomenally knowledgeable. They conveyed portions of their knowledge to us without ever talking down to us and encouraged us to ask questions if they had not touched upon some point of interest. Although their knowledge was impressive, their enthusiasm for their subjects was infectious. They really enhanced our appreciation of what we were seeing and why it was important in an historical and/or socioeconomic context.

Exploring Sicily by Serial Traveler, 27 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Archaeology, Food, Wine & Walking...perfect!

Spring was glorious, Sicily has much more varied food than its reputation has it. Tour guides were great as were their selections of hotels, restaurants, sites & more. The occasional closed museum or missing collection (we experienced 3 to various degrees) were a disappointment, but we're learning this happens on most European tours at least once.

Spring was glorious, Sicily has much more varied food than its reputation has it. Tour guides were great as were their selections of hotels, restaurants, sites & more. The occasional closed museum or missing collection (we experienced 3 to various degrees) were a disappointment, but we're learning this happens on most European tours at least once.

Rating for tour operator:

Thorough and customer-oriented, unlike larger operators with which we've dealt. All personnel in direct contact were polite and attentive, helpful and never misleading.