AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 434
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 435
Reviews Accepted: 434
Reviews Rejected: 1
434 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising the Carian Coast - A2M by Carole and Jim, 19 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Memorable cruise on the Carian Coast with Peter Sommer cruises

We had been recommended to take this trip. This trip is one of the more memorable trips in our extensive travels. From the start of planning the trip we were delighted at the level of the service offered. From the moment we stepped on board our expectations were exceeded and stayed that way for the week. The food, scenery, our tour leader and guide plus the company of our fellow guests made it a wonderful week. The visits to the sites ...

We had been recommended to take this trip. This trip is one of the more memorable trips in our extensive travels. From the start of planning the trip we were delighted at the level of the service offered. From the moment we stepped on board our expectations were exceeded and stayed that way for the week. The food, scenery, our tour leader and guide plus the company of our fellow guests made it a wonderful week. The visits to the sites each day were a highlight made even better with a swim before and on returning to the Gulet. The crew were attentive and competent anticipating our needs at the same time not being intrusive,. The layout of the boat allowed convivial conversation over meals and space for people to have privacy for reading or snoozing whilst travelling between sites. Carole Ferrier and Jim Harvey Australia

Rating for tour operator:

When I made contact with Peter Sommer cruises, I received a phone call from England in our time zone to discuss what my wishes were and how to select a cruise. There was constant follow up and the cruise was booked. Two weeks before I was due to join the cruise I became very Iill in Hong Kong and had to cancel. Six months later Iwe booked again for a different cruise. Again the same personal service followed up with an international call in my time zone checking details. Also originally I had asked if they could recommend a travel agent to organise our land trip. We received the same or of service from that operator

Peter Sommer Travels by Barry, 19 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Great variety - sailing, archeology and gastronomy!

We were on a Turkish Gulet for a week - no unpacking every night! - traveling to various archeological sites such as Knidos and Kaunos by boat. But not only old civilizations and fine beaches and swimming but also cooking with our boat chef, with our archeologist on board who was the expert accompanying the tour, and also with local village restaurant owners. Plus a cooking class and lunch with one of the local ladies which was fabulous ...

We were on a Turkish Gulet for a week - no unpacking every night! - traveling to various archeological sites such as Knidos and Kaunos by boat. But not only old civilizations and fine beaches and swimming but also cooking with our boat chef, with our archeologist on board who was the expert accompanying the tour, and also with local village restaurant owners. Plus a cooking class and lunch with one of the local ladies which was fabulous - you rarely see into people's daily lives when travelling. Plus walking and some longer hikes. Terrific variety and activities for everyone.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers organises this Turkish tour by Gulet from Bodrum to Gocek and takes care of all the details. We liaised with them from Australia - no in-person contact - and always had very prompt attention and clear responses. Good committed staff were provided on the boat - always helpful - even with limited English; there is great variability from the Gulet operators, so getting top performance is crucial. And our expert, an academic archeologist, who is known by Peter Sommers, was an excellent guide and keen to share his knowledge (while being sensible about just how much various people wanted to know). He's also a good cook! Not sure who organised the cooking classes and participation with the locals in the villages, but assume the travel operator is in that mix somewhere too. Everyone was very welcoming. And our group was the envy of the other travelers as we all piled in to cook with the chefs!

Cruising to the Cyclades by Avb2, 9 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Perfect

I spent 2 weeks cruising the Dodecannese and Cycladic islands in a small group (less than 20 guests). Our guides were experts in archeology as well as extremely gracious hosts, our gullet was comfortable and the food was fantastic. Every detail was attended to from the moment we stepped on board till we ended the cruise. The educational component was a definite "value added" aspect. Impossible to imagine a better trip at this price range, I ...

I spent 2 weeks cruising the Dodecannese and Cycladic islands in a small group (less than 20 guests). Our guides were experts in archeology as well as extremely gracious hosts, our gullet was comfortable and the food was fantastic. Every detail was attended to from the moment we stepped on board till we ended the cruise. The educational component was a definite "value added" aspect. Impossible to imagine a better trip at this price range, I am already planning my next trip with Peter Sommer Travels.

Rating for tour operator:

Informational, intimate, luxurious travel.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Michael, 8 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer Travels review

Informative tour materials, starting with company brochure. Cooperative and helpful office staff for questions and concerns.

Informative tour materials, starting with company brochure. Cooperative and helpful office staff for questions and concerns.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Gazza, 8 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

The standard of service, the quality of the personell, the beauty and the history of the Cyclades made this a highly memorable cruise.

My partner and I had a fabulous cruise, stopping at eleven Greek islands. We are not ancient history buffs and only had hazy memories of high school ancient history and our expert guides made these memories come to life. Ancient ruins and museums interspersed with swimming, a little kayaking and shopping on shore.The excellent food on board complemented by gastronomic forays ashore to sample the local specialities were most enjoyable and all ...

My partner and I had a fabulous cruise, stopping at eleven Greek islands. We are not ancient history buffs and only had hazy memories of high school ancient history and our expert guides made these memories come to life. Ancient ruins and museums interspersed with swimming, a little kayaking and shopping on shore.The excellent food on board complemented by gastronomic forays ashore to sample the local specialities were most enjoyable and all washed down with numerous high quality local wines.We had a highly intelligent and well educated group of international passengers and had spirited discussions on a wide range of issues long into the night over a glass or two. A wonderful experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Travels provided excellent guides, a beautiful and well maintained boat, excellent high quality food, service and attention to detail that would be difficult to fault.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Robin, 8 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Cruising to the Cyclades

The cruise came up to our very best expectations. We had a very good leader, interesting companions and the food was the best I have ever encountered on an organized tour.

The cruise came up to our very best expectations. We had a very good leader, interesting companions and the food was the best I have ever encountered on an organized tour.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our second holiday with Peter Sommer Travels. I have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone interested in a gulet based archaeological tour around the islands of the Aegean and along the Turkish coast.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Liz, 5 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

An exceptional experience of the Dodecanese and Cyclades Islands

The variety of the islands was evident in the range of sites we visited including prehistoric to Greek, Roman, Byzantine, Venetian and Ottoman archaeology, extant buildings and museum collections through to the impact of the Italian occupation and Wotld War 11. Combined with the stunning beauty of the islands and their varied social, economic and cultural circumstances, our expectations were well exceeded. There could be no better way of travelling ...

The variety of the islands was evident in the range of sites we visited including prehistoric to Greek, Roman, Byzantine, Venetian and Ottoman archaeology, extant buildings and museum collections through to the impact of the Italian occupation and Wotld War 11. Combined with the stunning beauty of the islands and their varied social, economic and cultural circumstances, our expectations were well exceeded. There could be no better way of travelling this route than on 'Aegean Clipper'' with Heinrich and Anth our guides, the congenial company on board and the experienced crew.

Rating for tour operator:

The high standard of organisation, execution of daily itineraries and meals and the historical information provided was faultless.

Cruising to the Cyclades by EDG, 5 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer Travels review

Peter Sommer Travel is a very professional, organised team of people. They make their trips so easy to enjoy, stimulating sites to see, great food to eat,and no decisions to make

Peter Sommer Travel is a very professional, organised team of people. They make their trips so easy to enjoy, stimulating sites to see, great food to eat,and no decisions to make

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by JKG, 2 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Engaging, entertaining, educational and fun

My husband an I went on a small group tour, In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great, with Peter Sommer. It surpassed our expectations on all levels. Peter is such a passionate and knowledgeable archeologist and a consummate story teller. He brought Alexander the Great to life along with many other historical charters and incidents. The itinerary from Istanbul to Bodrum was scenic, historical and fascinating. On a practical level, the accommodation ...

My husband an I went on a small group tour, In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great, with Peter Sommer. It surpassed our expectations on all levels. Peter is such a passionate and knowledgeable archeologist and a consummate story teller. He brought Alexander the Great to life along with many other historical charters and incidents. The itinerary from Istanbul to Bodrum was scenic, historical and fascinating. On a practical level, the accommodation was excellent - a series of unique hotels, each with its own character, which added to the whole experience. The food was consistently outstanding as both Peter and Jem (the fixer) are very aware of the importance of delicious fresh food. The organisation was excellent, the small group (13) got on very well and I would recommend this tour to anyone with a reasonable fitness level and an interest in Alexander the Great. It was definitely the highlight of our holiday and we plan to do another Peter Sommer trip in 2016.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer was and is totally professional from the first email I sent. Questions were answered promptly, all the administration was handled efficiently and it was a pleasure to deal with Peter Sommer Travel.

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by EDG, 31 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Footsteps of Alexander the Great - part1

The Footsteps of Alexander - part 1 was a wonderful, stimulating experience; more than just a holiday! Peter transported us from modern Turkey to ancient Asia Minor, travelling with Alexander's entourage, visually his strategies and battles, and of course his triumphs. It was wonderful and I can't wait for part 2!

The Footsteps of Alexander - part 1 was a wonderful, stimulating experience; more than just a holiday! Peter transported us from modern Turkey to ancient Asia Minor, travelling with Alexander's entourage, visually his strategies and battles, and of course his triumphs. It was wonderful and I can't wait for part 2!

Rating for tour operator:

The combined team of Peter and Cem (logistics) provided a very smooth operation with warm welcomes everywhere. As a solo traveller, I was made to feel welcome and really enjoyed the company of the fellow travellers.