AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 400
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 401
Reviews Accepted: 401
Reviews Rejected: 0
401 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising the Carian Coast - M2A by LenDC2, 14 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous trip

We thoroughly enjoyed our one-week gulet trip along the Turquoise Coast of Turkey. The trip was fabulous - a perfect combination of sailing along beautiful coasts, swimming in secluded coves with truly turquoise water, eating three delicious meals every day, and hiking to an interesting archaeological site every day. Fellow travelers were very nice and guides and crew were excellent.

We thoroughly enjoyed our one-week gulet trip along the Turquoise Coast of Turkey. The trip was fabulous - a perfect combination of sailing along beautiful coasts, swimming in secluded coves with truly turquoise water, eating three delicious meals every day, and hiking to an interesting archaeological site every day. Fellow travelers were very nice and guides and crew were excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer and everyone who works for him and on the boat did everything to make this a superb trip.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Richard from Reading, 13 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Sublime Cyclades

A fantastic trip from Bodrum to Santorini and back on a Turkish gulet with a friendly crew and perhaps more important friendly fellow passengers. The best way to see the Greek Islands. A holiday that combines, phenomenally well researched and guided archaeology with gentle cruising, great local food (and wine) and swimming in isolated coves. My passion is the archaeology but the environment on the boat means you get the best of all worlds ...

A fantastic trip from Bodrum to Santorini and back on a Turkish gulet with a friendly crew and perhaps more important friendly fellow passengers. The best way to see the Greek Islands. A holiday that combines, phenomenally well researched and guided archaeology with gentle cruising, great local food (and wine) and swimming in isolated coves. My passion is the archaeology but the environment on the boat means you get the best of all worlds combining visits to great sites with relaxation and making new friends. Our guides Heinrich and Nota were friendly and knowledgeable about the islands, their history, culture and food! We've booked our next trip already, see you in Crete!

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing is too much trouble and everything seems to run seamlessly. I'm sure that involves a lot of hard work and experience behind the scenes. They provide lots of information prior to travel and will respond to queries and advise how best to add a few days on to your stay in say Athens or Istanbul. Having traveled with them several times now I know that they can be relied upon to go beyond what a customer should reasonably expect!

Cruising the Carian Coast - M2A by CJD- NZ, 8 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Gulet Archeological Cruise of the Carian Coast, Turkey

We joined the gulet in Fetiye and cruised for 7 days, stopping every day at archeological sites. The sites varied in their degree of development and Peter's knowledge of the archeology and passion for the subject made the experience "come alive". He had an excellent assistant, Cem, and the crew were great. Superb Turkish meals were produced 3 times a day - you will not lose weight!! Carole Davies

We joined the gulet in Fetiye and cruised for 7 days, stopping every day at archeological sites. The sites varied in their degree of development and Peter's knowledge of the archeology and passion for the subject made the experience "come alive". He had an excellent assistant, Cem, and the crew were great. Superb Turkish meals were produced 3 times a day - you will not lose weight!! Carole Davies

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is a very knowledgeable archeologist, with a passion for his subject. As mentioned above he, his assistant Cem and the crew were marvellous.

Cruising the Carian Coast - M2A by vickimm, 3 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Best of Holiday Times

I have experienced two of Peter Sommer's gulet trips in Turkey: one with Peter as host and the second with Michael and Cem as hosts. Each trip was a wonderful blend of caring and entertaining hosts that are first and foremost great storytellers; picturesque landscapes and seascapes, a variety of honey-pot and lost places and local delicious food and hospitality. In addition to the gullet trips, both holidays provided the opportunity for ...

I have experienced two of Peter Sommer's gulet trips in Turkey: one with Peter as host and the second with Michael and Cem as hosts. Each trip was a wonderful blend of caring and entertaining hosts that are first and foremost great storytellers; picturesque landscapes and seascapes, a variety of honey-pot and lost places and local delicious food and hospitality. In addition to the gullet trips, both holidays provided the opportunity for extensive extra travel in Turkey, which Peter Sommer Travels assisted with. I returned from these trips feeling renewed and full of energy.

Rating for tour operator:

I had a lot of direct dealings with Peter in the organisation of both trips. Nothing was every too much trouble and Peter and his office and tour staff were always extremely professional. The additional service provided to recommend other places to visit in Turkey and with organising local flights, accommodation and hire cars was seamless.

Cruising the Amalfi Coast by Montana Linda, 1 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful educational/sailing adventure

First trip: learning about and sailing the Dodecanese with Peter Sommer was amazing. Knowledgeable guide Heinrich who has excellent people skills and helped us discover ancient Greek sites. Small sailing boat with great accomodations and fabulous local food. Second trip: Learning about the Southern Coast of Italy and sailing the Amalfi Coast with Peter Sommer. Michael, a knowlegeable guide was so helpful when touring Pompei and other ancient ...

First trip: learning about and sailing the Dodecanese with Peter Sommer was amazing. Knowledgeable guide Heinrich who has excellent people skills and helped us discover ancient Greek sites. Small sailing boat with great accomodations and fabulous local food. Second trip: Learning about the Southern Coast of Italy and sailing the Amalfi Coast with Peter Sommer. Michael, a knowlegeable guide was so helpful when touring Pompei and other ancient sites, Baia and Capri. Great accomodations on a small sailing boat, with wonderful local Italian food.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is most helpful when planning and executing a trip. He has wonderful choices and tours and is available to answer any questions and advice for travel. His tour guides have PhD's in ancient history and are so knowlegeable. Local guides are also excellent. A first class experience. We have done two tours with Peter Sommer and plan to do more.

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by Matthew from Australia, 28 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Extraordinary - ancient history meets modernity

We travelled in Turkey with Peter in late April and early May 2013 - in the footsteps of Alexander the Great. Peter's seemingly limitless knowledge of Alexander and his conquests, combined with the delights of Turkey - food, weather, history etc, made for a wonderful holiday which we are eager to repeat as soon as we can.

We travelled in Turkey with Peter in late April and early May 2013 - in the footsteps of Alexander the Great. Peter's seemingly limitless knowledge of Alexander and his conquests, combined with the delights of Turkey - food, weather, history etc, made for a wonderful holiday which we are eager to repeat as soon as we can.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer combines the best aspects of what you might seek in a tour guide. He is warm and friendly and, as an archeologist, he has a vast knowledge of the ancient world and an infectious enthusiasm for relating that. And the tour was incredibly well-organised. We could not recommend Peter and his company (Peter Sommer Travels) highly enough. If you are looking to travel with a small group of like-minded people and experience the best of small group travel, you should look no further than Peter Sommer Travels.

Cruising to Ephesus by SimonT, 26 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Relaxing, informative and delicious

We went on an archaeological tour of part of Turkey's coastline by boat. Very comfortable accommodation on board, delicious food, a well thought-through itinerary and led by a knowledgeable archaeologist and tour guide.

We went on an archaeological tour of part of Turkey's coastline by boat. Very comfortable accommodation on board, delicious food, a well thought-through itinerary and led by a knowledgeable archaeologist and tour guide.

Rating for tour operator:

Every aspect of the holiday seemed well planned from the pre-tour reading list to the transfers.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Pixianne, 24 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Truly one of the most amazing trips we have ever taken!

We sailed from Bodrum, Turkey to a great many of the Greek islands (Dodecanese and Cyclades) on a Turkish gulet. We were led by two extremely knowledgable, as well as personable, archeologists. We visited archeological and cultural sites on the islands and were also treated to an amazing array of delicious food - Turkish on the boat and Greek on land. Additionally, we were very fortunate to share this experience with some wonderful fellow passengers ...

We sailed from Bodrum, Turkey to a great many of the Greek islands (Dodecanese and Cyclades) on a Turkish gulet. We were led by two extremely knowledgable, as well as personable, archeologists. We visited archeological and cultural sites on the islands and were also treated to an amazing array of delicious food - Turkish on the boat and Greek on land. Additionally, we were very fortunate to share this experience with some wonderful fellow passengers - two thirds of whom (us, included) had been on one or more previous trips with Peter Sommer Travels. That fact alone should be quite an endorsement. It was a small, only 15 passengers, very personal journey, with plenty of time for relaxation as well as education.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second trip with Peter Sommer Travels. We were thrilled with the first one we took, which was led by Peter Sommer himself. And this, our second, fulfilled every expectation that we had and then some! The trips are for small groups and are led by experienced archeologists who are very knowledgable about the areas visited. Additionally, the guides are genuinely friendly, extremely helpful individuals. And the meals and accommodations are top rate. We have already booked another trip with Peter Sommer Travel for next spring!

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by andoverdba, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

An unforgettable life experience.

We travelled on the "In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great" trip. A three week itinerary retracing Alexander the Great's footsteps across Asia Minor. We visited extraordinary sites each day. Peter regaled us with stories filled with history and myth at every stop. We also enjoyed lovely accommodations and delicious food. All of the guides were excellent; knowledgable, good natured and quick to meet the needs of the guests.

We travelled on the "In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great" trip. A three week itinerary retracing Alexander the Great's footsteps across Asia Minor. We visited extraordinary sites each day. Peter regaled us with stories filled with history and myth at every stop. We also enjoyed lovely accommodations and delicious food. All of the guides were excellent; knowledgable, good natured and quick to meet the needs of the guests.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels runs small group, expert-led archaeological and cultural tours specializing in Turkey, Greece and Italy with a focus on the ruins of the ancient world and the daily pleasures of the modern.

Cruising to Ephesus by Herakleitus, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Unique combination of relaxation, beautiful locations, good company and learning

We travelled along the Turkish coast north from Bodrum stopping in at small towns and ancient cities along with expert guides. The boat and crew were terrific - friendly and helpful and the food was wonderful. Exceeded our high expectations.

We travelled along the Turkish coast north from Bodrum stopping in at small towns and ancient cities along with expert guides. The boat and crew were terrific - friendly and helpful and the food was wonderful. Exceeded our high expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels Efficient and capable and made first class arrangements.