AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 477
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 478
Reviews Accepted: 477
Reviews Rejected: 1
477 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Istanbul by Mrs I S 15, 13 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful week in Istanbul

We had the most interesting and enjoyable week. The guides were excellent, extremely well informed and helpful to make it a truly memorable week, long to be remembered.

We had the most interesting and enjoyable week. The guides were excellent, extremely well informed and helpful to make it a truly memorable week, long to be remembered.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful. Providing excellent and detailed itinerary information.

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by JW, 10 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

We were well looked after from start to finish. The holiday more than lived up to our expectations. We had a lot of fun.

Our holiday was perfect. We enjoyed, cruising, swimming good food, expert guidance and good company.

Our holiday was perfect. We enjoyed, cruising, swimming good food, expert guidance and good company.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer staff were considerate and helpful from the moment we booked till the moment we left the boat for home.

Cruising to Ephesus by Titch, 9 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Way above my expectation

I really went for the archaeological experience but was thrilled to find that we were given plenty of time to enjoy the boat experience as well. The crew of four ran the boat like a well-oiled machine and the food was nothing short of fantastic. Olivier Henry was passionate about his subject and Cem was very professional, knowledgable and fun. He is a real gem for the company to have.

I really went for the archaeological experience but was thrilled to find that we were given plenty of time to enjoy the boat experience as well. The crew of four ran the boat like a well-oiled machine and the food was nothing short of fantastic. Olivier Henry was passionate about his subject and Cem was very professional, knowledgable and fun. He is a real gem for the company to have.

Rating for tour operator:

I found Julie to be very proactive and friendly and any questions were answered by return.

Peter Sommer Travels by Phil, 8 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Gastronomic Gulet Cruise

This cruise was along the southwestern coast of Turkey from Gocek to Bodrum. It included visits to many archeological sites with tours by an expert guide and archeologist. It also included many special culinary experiences with excellent meals prepared by the chef on board the boat, as well as, cooking demonstrations and meals in local homes or small family-owned restaurants. This gave us an opportunity to meet local people and get a better ...

This cruise was along the southwestern coast of Turkey from Gocek to Bodrum. It included visits to many archeological sites with tours by an expert guide and archeologist. It also included many special culinary experiences with excellent meals prepared by the chef on board the boat, as well as, cooking demonstrations and meals in local homes or small family-owned restaurants. This gave us an opportunity to meet local people and get a better understanding of Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine and culture. The blend of ancient sites, archeology, gastronomic events, beautiful scenery, swims in clear turquoise waters and great ambiance of the wooden gullet was magical.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel provided excellent logistics, first-class archeologist guides and a marvelous boat for our holiday experience.

Cruising the Amalfi Coast by Ischia, 6 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Excellent way to experience the Amalfi Coast!

One week on a Peter Sommer gulet tour. Wonderful week excellently organized and coordinated. It was fun, the food was good, fellow guests were interesting, the crew was great, and the archaeological expeditions featured extremely knowledgeable guides. I look forward to booking my next Peter Sommer Tour..

One week on a Peter Sommer gulet tour. Wonderful week excellently organized and coordinated. It was fun, the food was good, fellow guests were interesting, the crew was great, and the archaeological expeditions featured extremely knowledgeable guides. I look forward to booking my next Peter Sommer Tour..

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels offers well run tours. I was extremely please with the professionalism of every one hired by Peter Sommer Travels. They strived to create a wonderful adventure for their guests.

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Tablet, 5 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Dodecanese

The Company delivered everything that was promised and more. We saw some amazing sites, had the most profound insights and had good fun into the bargain.

The Company delivered everything that was promised and more. We saw some amazing sites, had the most profound insights and had good fun into the bargain.

Rating for tour operator:

A relatively small Company, but one which thereby gives a most personal service with attention to every detail.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by Michael, 30 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

An eye-opening experience.

We got an extraordinary exposure to the history of the Lycian Coast, one that greatly clarified the mysteries of the ancient world. Seeing it from the comfort of a Turkish gulet and journeying with a passionate archaeologist made the experience very special, and the presence of the high rocky coast, and acquamarine waters in the little coves, was unforgettable. It was the journey of a lifetime--which was good because my wife and I were celebrating ...

We got an extraordinary exposure to the history of the Lycian Coast, one that greatly clarified the mysteries of the ancient world. Seeing it from the comfort of a Turkish gulet and journeying with a passionate archaeologist made the experience very special, and the presence of the high rocky coast, and acquamarine waters in the little coves, was unforgettable. It was the journey of a lifetime--which was good because my wife and I were celebrating four decades of life together.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour was impeccably organized and deliciously catered throughout. No aspect of our comfort and safety was overlooked. We were picked up beforehand and delivered to the airport afterwards, and everything in between ran like clockwork. Even so, the atmosphere was leisurely and responsive to the group's levels of energy and interest. All the business details were handled with complete professionalism, and the guidance at ancient sites was passionately committed and informative. Sommer Tours sets the bar for all subsequent tours!

Cruising the South-East Aegean by Simontomp, 28 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Relaxing and informative

The tour of Greek Islands and Turkish archaeological sites was fun, relaxing and very informative. The tour had been well thought out with a good mixture of archaeology, culture, site seeing, food and relaxation. The guides were knowledgeable and great company. We will definitely try and do something similar again.

The tour of Greek Islands and Turkish archaeological sites was fun, relaxing and very informative. The tour had been well thought out with a good mixture of archaeology, culture, site seeing, food and relaxation. The guides were knowledgeable and great company. We will definitely try and do something similar again.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised and with lots of local knowledge.

Cruising the Amalfi Coast by Georgina Foster & Matthew Garey, 26 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Yet again, our trip with Peter Sommer Travels exceeded our expectations

The holiday was called "Cruising the Amalfi Coast" and involved 6 days meandering around the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast on a Turkish gulet. However, like the other holiday we did with Peter a couple of years ago, it was not all simply hedonism but involved wonderful excursions to historic sites, including Pompeii, Herculaneum and the archeological museum in Naples led by expert guides.

The holiday was called "Cruising the Amalfi Coast" and involved 6 days meandering around the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast on a Turkish gulet. However, like the other holiday we did with Peter a couple of years ago, it was not all simply hedonism but involved wonderful excursions to historic sites, including Pompeii, Herculaneum and the archeological museum in Naples led by expert guides.

Rating for tour operator:

The beauty of holidays with Peter Sommer Travels is that you get the benefits of a fully organised and relaxing holiday while at the same time having the opportunity to see and experience historic sites and places that you may not otherwise see yourself. Most importantly, even if you did visit yourself, you would not have the benefit of experiencing the places with in-depth knowledge and passion for their subjects that Peter's guides have. Michael and Francesca were both wonderful. Such different people, but as a team they were splendid! Neither Georgina nor I could recommend Peter Sommer Travels highly enough.

Cruising the Lycian Shore by phil, 25 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Dreamy cruise in a small vessel along the south west Turkey coast.

If you are a sociable sort and like history, lazy cruising along a beautiful coastline in a stylish gulet, good food, good company, expert guidance and swimming in the crystal blue waters of the Mediterranean then you will be in heaven on this 14 day trip. Fabulous

If you are a sociable sort and like history, lazy cruising along a beautiful coastline in a stylish gulet, good food, good company, expert guidance and swimming in the crystal blue waters of the Mediterranean then you will be in heaven on this 14 day trip. Fabulous

Rating for tour operator:

Competent, professional, friendly, excellent communicator.