AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 435
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 436
Reviews Accepted: 435
Reviews Rejected: 1
435 reviews
Sort by:
Alexander The Great: Pt. One by EDG, 31 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Footsteps of Alexander the Great - part1

The Footsteps of Alexander - part 1 was a wonderful, stimulating experience; more than just a holiday! Peter transported us from modern Turkey to ancient Asia Minor, travelling with Alexander's entourage, visually his strategies and battles, and of course his triumphs. It was wonderful and I can't wait for part 2!

The Footsteps of Alexander - part 1 was a wonderful, stimulating experience; more than just a holiday! Peter transported us from modern Turkey to ancient Asia Minor, travelling with Alexander's entourage, visually his strategies and battles, and of course his triumphs. It was wonderful and I can't wait for part 2!

Rating for tour operator:

The combined team of Peter and Cem (logistics) provided a very smooth operation with warm welcomes everywhere. As a solo traveller, I was made to feel welcome and really enjoyed the company of the fellow travellers.

Exploring Crete by Briar, 28 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Introduced at Court: The Minoan Palaces

Ever since I saw a photo of Crete I knew I had to go there. Many years of studying and dreaming followed, fascinated by the Minoan culture in the east and intrigued by the lavish wildness of the west. One day the dream came true and I found myself there. We went directly to the most famous ruins and were guided throughout with an understanding of chronology and purpose of that which is known and a healthy respect for that which is yet to be ...

Ever since I saw a photo of Crete I knew I had to go there. Many years of studying and dreaming followed, fascinated by the Minoan culture in the east and intrigued by the lavish wildness of the west. One day the dream came true and I found myself there. We went directly to the most famous ruins and were guided throughout with an understanding of chronology and purpose of that which is known and a healthy respect for that which is yet to be understood. It was a privilege to be introduced in that way. Every night was spent in a specially chosen setting of great character, charm and comfort. A stone villa overlooking the dramatic Asterousia Mtns and on into the Lybian Sea, The former British Embassy, in Chania, now a hotel set with museum quality decor. There were several more; jewels, each one. And then we went to the naturally gorgeous, lush western side of the island. An introduction to the land itself, and for me, an invitation to return. I swam in the Lybian Sea, and now I know my way back. It was obvious to me the tour was put together with a passion for excellence and delight in the subject at hand.

Rating for tour operator:

From the very beginning the company was responsive, interested, well-mannered and capable. They made all the money transfers, insurance and other necessary forms as simple as possible. We even were able to speak with the tour guide ahead of time to become more familiar with the format. Everything was right, nothing was wrong..

Exploring Sicily by leejohnfini, 25 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

exploring sicily

fantastic trip .great guides covering archeological sites in sicily. peter sommer has the most superb guides.

fantastic trip .great guides covering archeological sites in sicily. peter sommer has the most superb guides.

Rating for tour operator:

professional, superb team and small groups. top class

Exploring Sicily by The Caldy traveller, 24 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Immersed in ancient and modern Sicily

This was an introduction to Sicily on a grand scale. By day we were taken back to the Greeks and Carthagenians and could feel them around us and by sunset we could immerse ourselves in the hospitality, the food and the wine of modern Sicily. The guides were of the highest standard and their organisation and planning resulted in an easy and comfortably paced tour.

This was an introduction to Sicily on a grand scale. By day we were taken back to the Greeks and Carthagenians and could feel them around us and by sunset we could immerse ourselves in the hospitality, the food and the wine of modern Sicily. The guides were of the highest standard and their organisation and planning resulted in an easy and comfortably paced tour.

Rating for tour operator:

From the first contact with Peter Sommer's office to the last farewell to the guides in Sicily the company excelled in everything they did. They do 'what they say on the tin'. Spot on!

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by mj, 23 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Great way to learn about archeology and something of Turkey

My spouse and I chose a Peter Sommer tour because of the subject and because they take small groups. Everything went smoothly allowing us more time to see the sites. The food was fantastic, especially the fish and veggies. In any case they always arranged an alternative to meat for me. We were also happy with the range of hotels, all comfortable and most family owned. We have both lived and worked in non English speaking countries and ...

My spouse and I chose a Peter Sommer tour because of the subject and because they take small groups. Everything went smoothly allowing us more time to see the sites. The food was fantastic, especially the fish and veggies. In any case they always arranged an alternative to meat for me. We were also happy with the range of hotels, all comfortable and most family owned. We have both lived and worked in non English speaking countries and traveled a lot, but neither of us had been on an organized tour before. This was such a great experience I plan to go on another.

Rating for tour operator:

I think this was a unique tour in that Peter Sommer, the tour company owner, led the tour himself and furthermore had walked the route years ago. I have been to many archeological sites without a real comprehension of the context. It was a treat to have someone with such extensive knowledge who could answer our questions, and even better, read from Herodotus! He was genuinely passionate about the archeology and history, loves Turkey, and is a great storyteller to boot. The Turkish guide, Cem, was incredibly competent and a lot of fun.

Exploring Sicily by Gryph, 23 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Sicily-our journey through its past.

Exploring Sicily with Peter Sommer Travels took us back to the ancient past of the island, its invaders,conquerors and settlers.Every day brought new delights:classical temples, fortresses, sculptures, amphitheatres and medieval towns. While at a site one of our group spotted a Bronze Age arrowhead, where else would you see something so rare? The two weeks were filled with fascinating visits to a wide range of destinations. Our Tour leader ...

Exploring Sicily with Peter Sommer Travels took us back to the ancient past of the island, its invaders,conquerors and settlers.Every day brought new delights:classical temples, fortresses, sculptures, amphitheatres and medieval towns. While at a site one of our group spotted a Bronze Age arrowhead, where else would you see something so rare? The two weeks were filled with fascinating visits to a wide range of destinations. Our Tour leader Michael's deep well of knowledge and his abiding enthusiasm brought every thing we saw into sharp focus .Michael encouraged us to hypothesise and share our opinions. There was much lively talk along the paths we walked together. Michael's depth and experience in his special field - we were the beneficiaries.His delightful personality was appreciated by all of us. He was friendly and accommodating. Our local Guide Lucia was invaluable, being Sicilian born she gave us many insights into Sicily's past and future.We enjoyed the culinary delights of Sicily, its seafood, the regional dishes and the excellent wine. Every meal was an epicurean treat.Our accommodation was wonderful. We stayed in an olive grove and two wineries sampling the produce. We loved the variety.

Rating for tour operator:

It was our first trip with the company and we were impressed with all aspects of the experience. The Peter Sommer team in the UK were helpful at all stages of the process. Any queries were answered promptly and clearly. We felt we were in good hands from the outset. Travellers can rely on receiving updates and information prior to their trip. Our Discovering Sicily tour was memorable, stimulating and convivial. Our Tour leader Michael fired everyone's imagination with his knowledge and love of the ancient world. Michael has depth,experience and passion for his field of archeology. We were the lucky beneficiaries. He also worked tirelessly on the details that made the logistics of the trip flawless. We hope to travel with Peter Sommer Travel again, we know that all our friends are envious of our holiday! They are also impressed with the high quality brochure that is sent to potential travellers.

Exploring Sicily by Maggie, 22 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily with With People who Love It

Peter Sommer 's " Exploring Sicily " tour was memorable on many, many levels . Reflecting on this trip since my return home, I think it was not just because of the depth of knowledge & courtesy of the guides, the impeccable organisation, the great accommodation & wonderful meals but also because we were shown Sicily by people who really love it & made us respect & love it too.

Peter Sommer 's " Exploring Sicily " tour was memorable on many, many levels . Reflecting on this trip since my return home, I think it was not just because of the depth of knowledge & courtesy of the guides, the impeccable organisation, the great accommodation & wonderful meals but also because we were shown Sicily by people who really love it & made us respect & love it too.

Rating for tour operator:

See the comment above

Exploring Sicily by The Granny Traveller, 22 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

This was a very special holiday led by Michael Metcalfe,and we couldn't have had a better leader, because Michael absolutely made the history of Sicily come alive for us with the wonderful stories that he told us about the ruins. But the trip was not just about ruins it encompassed the whole story of Sicily, as well as delicious food & wine & excellent accomodation we saw so much of the country & met such lovely welcoming people

This was a very special holiday led by Michael Metcalfe,and we couldn't have had a better leader, because Michael absolutely made the history of Sicily come alive for us with the wonderful stories that he told us about the ruins. But the trip was not just about ruins it encompassed the whole story of Sicily, as well as delicious food & wine & excellent accomodation we saw so much of the country & met such lovely welcoming people

Rating for tour operator:

Michael Metcalfe was without doubt the best tour leader I have ever experienced & I have been travelling with small group operators for a very long time, his enthusiasm & love of the country & it's history made it all come alive for us

Exploring Sicily by Margaret, 18 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

The joys of exploring Sicily in spring when the country is ablaze with fragrant smelling wildflowers and herbs

Our Exploring Sicily trip with Peter Sommer Travel was a sheer delight. The itinerary was well thought out and planned; all aspects of our travel from the breathtaking sites, beautiful accommodation and delicious food and wine were superb. Added to this mix were expert guide Michael Metcalfe's vivid historical re-enactments! Definitely a trip to savour and remember well into the future. I thoroughly recommend this small group tour to anyone ...

Our Exploring Sicily trip with Peter Sommer Travel was a sheer delight. The itinerary was well thought out and planned; all aspects of our travel from the breathtaking sites, beautiful accommodation and delicious food and wine were superb. Added to this mix were expert guide Michael Metcalfe's vivid historical re-enactments! Definitely a trip to savour and remember well into the future. I thoroughly recommend this small group tour to anyone interested in Sicily, it's history, culture, peoples, food and wine. Margaret Melbourne, Australia

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel is an excellent company. Their itineraries are thoughtfully conceived and executed with superb attention to detail and extremely well executed. The company provides excellent support both before and during each trip. The expert and local guides are first class. Each trip we have taken with Peter Sommer have been a totally enjoyable and immersive experience.

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by JMR, 15 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Tour!

This tour was amazing! The itinerary, accommodations and food were fabulous. There is no way we could have seen and learned so much on our own or with any other tour. Peter was incredibly knowledgeable, informative, enthusiastic and FUN. Cem was such an amazing "fixer," we wanted to bring him home with us. Definitely signing up for more Peter Sommers tours!

This tour was amazing! The itinerary, accommodations and food were fabulous. There is no way we could have seen and learned so much on our own or with any other tour. Peter was incredibly knowledgeable, informative, enthusiastic and FUN. Cem was such an amazing "fixer," we wanted to bring him home with us. Definitely signing up for more Peter Sommers tours!

Rating for tour operator:

This tour operator was excellent!