AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 499
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 500
Reviews Accepted: 499
Reviews Rejected: 1
499 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Sicily by MC, 26 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous trip "Exploring Sicily" April 10-23, 2016

Extremely enjoyable holiday, led by very knowledgeable and engaging guides..

Extremely enjoyable holiday, led by very knowledgeable and engaging guides..

Rating for tour operator:

We have traveled with Peter Sommer Travels on three previous occasions, and have thoroughly enjoyed each experience. . The combination of beautiful and historic venues, extremely knowledgeable and personable guides, and small group size makes for a wonderful experience. We come away from the trips having learned a great deal of the history and archeology of the region, while also experiencing the bountiful local cuisine.

Exploring Sicily by Jim., 26 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Superb tour of Sicily

This was a two week tour that visited almost all of the island. It was both enjoyable & educational: there is so much more to see in Sicily than I had realised, and this trip really showed us beautiful scenery, superb cooking, fine wines, and complicated history, in addition to the famous temples & churches that I'd anticipated. Our guides were excellent - a great combination of local & historical knowledge and careful organisation.

This was a two week tour that visited almost all of the island. It was both enjoyable & educational: there is so much more to see in Sicily than I had realised, and this trip really showed us beautiful scenery, superb cooking, fine wines, and complicated history, in addition to the famous temples & churches that I'd anticipated. Our guides were excellent - a great combination of local & historical knowledge and careful organisation.

Rating for tour operator:

A small operator that provides holidays with great archaeological & historical content, in addition to showcasing the very best of local produce - small scale hotels, visiting wineries, tasting speciality foods & eating at fine restaurants.

Cruising to Ephesus by Crunch, 18 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

Peter Somers Cruising to Ephesus

Week long gullet cruise from Bodrum to Ephesus featuring archaeological tours each day. Guides included native Turk for cultural interpretation and a PhD archaeologist specializing in the history of the region. Four native crew were wonderful.

Week long gullet cruise from Bodrum to Ephesus featuring archaeological tours each day. Guides included native Turk for cultural interpretation and a PhD archaeologist specializing in the history of the region. Four native crew were wonderful.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Somers had done good research on the route, boat crew, cultural activities, cuisine to ensure a pleasant, relaxing and educational trip.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Carla, 23 Dec 2015
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding

The Peter Sommers Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore Tour was an unbelievable first rate experience that my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed. We are especially appreciative of the expertise and amazing storytelling of our fantastic guides. Their vast knowledge brought Turkish history alive for us and it was exciting to visit historical sites. The combination of cultural/historical visits, the breathtaking scenery and the gulet experience ...

The Peter Sommers Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore Tour was an unbelievable first rate experience that my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed. We are especially appreciative of the expertise and amazing storytelling of our fantastic guides. Their vast knowledge brought Turkish history alive for us and it was exciting to visit historical sites. The combination of cultural/historical visits, the breathtaking scenery and the gulet experience was simply amazing and exceeded our expectations in every way. This was a trip of a lifetime and we would definitely tour again with Peter Sommers Tours again.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers was outstanding. His expertise and knowledge was amazing. The tour went absolutely flawless from start to finish and all logistics were well taken care of and everything was seamless. We appreciated the expert crew and service on the gulet and the care that was taken to create beautiful and delicious meals.

Cruising to Ephesus by fifer, 3 Dec 2015
Holiday Rating:

Relaxation and archeology in Turkey

This was our second gulet cruise with Peter Sommer Travels. Complete relaxation on board the gulet with comfortable accommodation, very attentive crew, good freshly prepared local food, swimming in secluded bays and the company of a small group of interesting international travellers. But what makes a Peter Sommer holiday stand out is the opportunity to visit both well known and little visited archeological sites with a knowledgeable local guide ...

This was our second gulet cruise with Peter Sommer Travels. Complete relaxation on board the gulet with comfortable accommodation, very attentive crew, good freshly prepared local food, swimming in secluded bays and the company of a small group of interesting international travellers. But what makes a Peter Sommer holiday stand out is the opportunity to visit both well known and little visited archeological sites with a knowledgeable local guide and an enthusiastic historian.

Rating for tour operator:

The tours are well planned and organised and as this is a small family business we received personal attention both before and after the holiday.

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by Hali Carnassus, 23 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

Food, Fun and Fantastic Folks with Peter Sommer's Travel

My husband and I took a two-week cruise with Peter Sommer Travel beginning September 18 and returning October 3. In the intimate setting of a Turkish gulet, we swept up the Turkish coast (ancient Caria), visiting seldom-visited spots, culminating with the much-visited Ephesus.The focus of the tour was classical archaeology and we had a first-rate practicing archaeologist on board to explain in considerable detail the history of the various sites...

My husband and I took a two-week cruise with Peter Sommer Travel beginning September 18 and returning October 3. In the intimate setting of a Turkish gulet, we swept up the Turkish coast (ancient Caria), visiting seldom-visited spots, culminating with the much-visited Ephesus.The focus of the tour was classical archaeology and we had a first-rate practicing archaeologist on board to explain in considerable detail the history of the various sites. Not only did he open our eyes to the history of this coast, but I left feeling that I understood some of the challenges facing archaeologists today. Of course there was ample time for more relaxing-type fun as well. We were wined and dined in style three times per day, consistently regaled with several different fresh vegetables from the region to accompany splendid main courses. The other travelers were loads of fun and the regional guide, a native Turk, ensured that everything went like clock-work from the land transport, restaurants on land, to making available swimming and hiking equipment. It is truly a luxury, when traveling as far afield as Turkey, to be able to ignore all the details and simply enjoy the sights! This is the second Peter Sommer tour we've taken (in a row). I'm sure another one is in our future!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel excursions are unique in their focus, I believe. Learning in an appropriate cultural context is central to Peter Sommer's vision of a good holiday. They employ highly qualified archaeologists who are also capable of explaining in lay persons' terms the beauty and historical import of the ruins and sites they select. Both tours we have been on have provided a perfect blend of walking/site-seeing and more relaxed fun. Peter Sommer Tours pays close attention to getting the logistics of travel perfect. The experience of the traveler is one of pure and seamless enjoyment and I have rarely eaten so well. They highlight regional specialties and local produce. The company also pays close heed to sustainable and responsible travel. Both of our trips (both to Turkey) have been absolutely memorable. Bravo Peter Sommer Travel!

Walking and Cruising the Carian by Tony, 23 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

Walking and Cruising the Carian Way

This was a great combination of cruising the Carian coast of Turkey and walking in the coastal hills. We visited many remote ancient sites and our guide (and owner) was extremely personable and informative. It was well organized and things went along smoothly despite having to adjust the itinerary on occasion because of weather conditions. Special care was taken to ensure that everyone was looked after especially when the terrain was uneven ...

This was a great combination of cruising the Carian coast of Turkey and walking in the coastal hills. We visited many remote ancient sites and our guide (and owner) was extremely personable and informative. It was well organized and things went along smoothly despite having to adjust the itinerary on occasion because of weather conditions. Special care was taken to ensure that everyone was looked after especially when the terrain was uneven and rocky. Gem our aptly named local guide was always there on our walks to make sure none of us got lost. The Captain and his crew were very friendly and helpful, and it was obvious that the Captain himself was very experienced and capable. Lastly the food was always excellent with lots of local wine. A very enjoyable and informative week.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour operator "Peter Somner Travels" was excellent. It was easy to book and pay. All appropriate information was provided upfront ( and additional reading recommendations ) and we were able to follow our instructions easily. Pickup and transfer from the airport was flawless, as was the transport to the airport at the end of the trip. The principle of our tour group Peter Somner was actually with us and we were kept well informed of all aspects of our trip throughout the week. Overall organization was excellent courtesy of Mr Somner, along with Gem our local guide, and the Captain who was obviously extremely experienced and capable .

Walking and Cruising the Carian by Rich, 23 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

Don't tell everyone !

We went on a "Walking and Cruising the Carian Shore" holiday with Peter Sommer Travel, the archaeological travel specialists. The cruising part involved gulet cruising between Marmaris and Bodrum via various archaeological sites along the Carian Shore, and the walking part involved walks along sections of the recently completed Carian Coastal Path taking in both beautiful scenery and some wonderful, little explored ancient sites. We were accomp...

We went on a "Walking and Cruising the Carian Shore" holiday with Peter Sommer Travel, the archaeological travel specialists. The cruising part involved gulet cruising between Marmaris and Bodrum via various archaeological sites along the Carian Shore, and the walking part involved walks along sections of the recently completed Carian Coastal Path taking in both beautiful scenery and some wonderful, little explored ancient sites. We were accompanied not only by an excellent gulet crew, but also by Peter Sommer himself, a hugely experienced archaeologist, and a very charming and knowledgeable local expert. The trip was even more enjoyable than we had anticipated, helped by the beautiful scenery, the comfortable gulet, the good food and the company of like-minded fellow travellers.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel excelled themselves in the efficiency of all their preparations for the trip. It seemed that they had overlooked nothing, and both Peter Sommer himself and his local archaeological guide went out of their way to ensure that everyone's needs were met, and that we all enjoyed ourselves as much as possible and left both charmed and fascinated by what we had seen.

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus by Mr K K 15, 22 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

From Halicarnassus to Ephesus: Swimming, Eating, and Learning

We went on a 2-week tour with Peter Sommer Travels along the Carian shore on a gulet with a dozen or so other guests. Our meals were generally on board, provided by the crew, and we motored along the coast. Each day we had two or three chances to swim in the Aegean capped by a visit on shore to an archaeological site led by a guide and an expert of Caria.

We went on a 2-week tour with Peter Sommer Travels along the Carian shore on a gulet with a dozen or so other guests. Our meals were generally on board, provided by the crew, and we motored along the coast. Each day we had two or three chances to swim in the Aegean capped by a visit on shore to an archaeological site led by a guide and an expert of Caria.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second trip with Peter Sommer Travels, and this tour was as good as the last. They took great care in preparing us for the trip, and we all felt like royalty on board the boat. Yet, we also learned much about the region we were touring (in this case the Carian coast) with knowledgeable and approachable guides, an impressive library of books on the geography and history of the region on board, and maps of each site we visited. With each trip we have taken our enthusiasm for the history and for the region has grown.

Walking & Cruising Western Lycia by kimshoe1, 21 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

A great way to learn about the history of Turkey, great hiking, swimmining and sailing

A great way to learn about the history of Turkey. Staying on the Gulet was a great experience as we cruised the coast of Turkey. The accomodation was superb along with the food. Walking the Lycian trail was fantastic and you were able to get some exercise on your holiday including a nice swim after your hikes. Peter and Cem were very knowledgeable on the history, great presenters and awesome hosts. I will definetely search out more of these ...

A great way to learn about the history of Turkey. Staying on the Gulet was a great experience as we cruised the coast of Turkey. The accomodation was superb along with the food. Walking the Lycian trail was fantastic and you were able to get some exercise on your holiday including a nice swim after your hikes. Peter and Cem were very knowledgeable on the history, great presenters and awesome hosts. I will definetely search out more of these types of trips with Peter and Cem.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter has extensive knowledge in history. His presentation skills are some of the best I have seen, as he keeps it interesting and keeps you engaged. Hospitality is second to none. He is also very flexible to ensure everyones needs are met! Cem is also very knowledgable, accomodating and a great host.