AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 400
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 401
Reviews Accepted: 401
Reviews Rejected: 0
401 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising to the Cyclades by Chappy, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

A Second Trip of a Life Time

Cruising to the Cyclades was our second gulet cruise with Peter Sommer Travels and it was even better and more special than the first trip (Cruising the Carian Coast) which had been so impressive we were anxious to book a second trip. The fact that 10 of the 15 guest on the Cyclades tour were "repeat" Peter Sommer Travels guests immediately indicated previous happy travel experiences. The cosmopolitan guests were an amazingly congenial and ...

Cruising to the Cyclades was our second gulet cruise with Peter Sommer Travels and it was even better and more special than the first trip (Cruising the Carian Coast) which had been so impressive we were anxious to book a second trip. The fact that 10 of the 15 guest on the Cyclades tour were "repeat" Peter Sommer Travels guests immediately indicated previous happy travel experiences. The cosmopolitan guests were an amazingly congenial and gregarious group and that added to the overall success of the trip. Although Peter Sommer Travels cannot guarantee the personalities of the travelers, these archeology-focused trips attract a to some extent "self-selected" group of people and the fact that such a high percentage are repeat travelers with the company is some "insurance" that the group with be a fun group. The Aegean Clipper is a beautiful and spacious Turkish gulet. The captain was a gregarious, humorous, knowledgeable,delightful person and his crew were friendly, competent, and attentive. The two guides were fantastic, that is knowledgeable, personable, and very caring. These two guides were so good that we and three other passengers signed up for another Peter Sommer Travels tour in 2015 with these two guides! The Turkish food on the boat was terrific and abundant. The Greek food on the islands was terrific and abundant. Finally, the sites visited could scarcely have been any more perfect for a vacation trip. The islands were different and each special. The sites on the islands were often very beautiful and were always very interesting. The variety of sites from ancient temple ruins to a sponge factory to a steamy volcano made for a fascinating trip. The walks, hikes, and climbs were all manageable (and my wife and I are in our late 60's), but vigorous enough to balance the constant supply of excellent food and wine. Many people on our trip were very literally experienced world travelers and most if not all of the guests on this trip indicated that it was one of, if not the, most fabulous trip they had been on.

Rating for tour operator:

We were fortunate to have Peter Sommer himself as a guide on our first trip with his company (Cruising the Carian Coast) and we were so impressed with him and with how perfect the trip was in terms of all arrangements and itinerary, that we thought immediate, "We must do another trip with Peter Sommer Travels." However, I thought we might be very lucky to have had Peter Sommer himself as our main guide and we could have less good fortune on one of the future trips. So, I asked Peter about the selection of the other guides. He proceed to give me a lengthy, detailed history of how additional guides were added to his growing operation. His mini-lecture gave me great confidence that we would have great guides on any future Peter Sommer Travels tours we took. Cruising to the Cyclades proved beyond a doubt that the guides are as good as Peter Sommer himself! Fortunately,at the end of our cruise in Bodrum, Peter Sommer was able to spend some time with all of us on our last evening and he was just as pleasant and gregarious as he had been on our first trip. He had the satisfaction of hearing from me and from other guests how unbelievably wonderful the trip had been. And, he had the pleasure of hearing that five guests had already signed up for a 2015 tour with his firm. I believe it is safe to say that Peter Sommer personally witnessed the amazing esprit d'corps among the guests, captain, and crew at our final dinner/party on the Aegean Clipper. One final observation: Although even Peter Sommer cannot control the weather it is important to note that for our two-week adventure, it rained once but only at night (as in Camelot).

A Gastronomic Tour of Sicily by Lantern5, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Gulet trip in Turkey...Fine food in Sicily

My wife and I have travelled twice with Peter Sommer Travels, to Turkey & Sicily, both times with guide Michael Metcalfe. Peter Sommer Travels is a premium, completely hassle-free experience. They combine small groups with great guides and wonderful destinations to create truly memorable experiences. Our sailboat cruise in Turkey exposed us to several amazing archeological sites and our gastronomic tour of Sicily was the perfect pairing of history ...

My wife and I have travelled twice with Peter Sommer Travels, to Turkey & Sicily, both times with guide Michael Metcalfe. Peter Sommer Travels is a premium, completely hassle-free experience. They combine small groups with great guides and wonderful destinations to create truly memorable experiences. Our sailboat cruise in Turkey exposed us to several amazing archeological sites and our gastronomic tour of Sicily was the perfect pairing of history and food. We will travel with Peter Sommer Travels again!

Rating for tour operator:

From the moment that you book a trip with Peter Sommer Travels you understand that you are in good hands. They help to coordinate travel, integrating a Peter Sommer Travels segment with other travel destinations; they provide reading lists to prepare you for your destination; they help with what to wear and what to bring. In short, they serve as your guide, maximizing your travel experience.

Walking & cruising the Dodec by Jenways, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fun, relaxing and educational.

We sailed in a Gulet around the Nthn Dodecanese of the Greek Islands. We stopped at a different island every day and were shown wonderful archeological sites by our two wonderful guides who were experts in Pre History and Byzantine history. The gulet was extremely comfortable and as well as eating very well on board we feasted at Tavernas on each of the islands we visited.

We sailed in a Gulet around the Nthn Dodecanese of the Greek Islands. We stopped at a different island every day and were shown wonderful archeological sites by our two wonderful guides who were experts in Pre History and Byzantine history. The gulet was extremely comfortable and as well as eating very well on board we feasted at Tavernas on each of the islands we visited.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is a qualified archaeologist who specialises in tours in Greece, Turkey and Italy. These are led by experienced guides who endeavour to showcase the most interesting sites in each region they travel to. The gulets moor in quiet coves around the islands where guests can swim, snorkel or kayak. Nothing is too much trouble. The crew are wonderful too.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by IowaHikers, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Hiking and sailing the Lycian Shore.........Fantastic!

In the Fall of 2010 we joined Peter Sommer for an unforgettable experience aboard a gulet. We hiked and sailed and ate our way along the Turkish coast, and enjoyed every minute of it. Our expectations were exceeded in every way.

In the Fall of 2010 we joined Peter Sommer for an unforgettable experience aboard a gulet. We hiked and sailed and ate our way along the Turkish coast, and enjoyed every minute of it. Our expectations were exceeded in every way.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer's knowledge of Turkey and his wonderful way of imparting that knowledge to his guests was what made the trip memorable. He and his colleagues were exceptional and there is no doubt that it was the best tour we have ever been on. The accommodations, cuisine, and education were top notch, and we plan to do another tour with him in the near future.

Cruising to Ephesus by Ann T, 23 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant combination of history, water, wine and company

Sailing on a gulet from Bodrum to Ephesus was one of the best holidays I've had. I love swimming but get utterly bored sitting around resort pools.On this journey, adventures on land exploring the historic sites of Turkey's Aegean Coast were book-ended by a swim in the warm Mediterranean plus wonderful food, wine and conversations. The quality of the guides and boat staff were superlative and the only problem with the entire experience was that ...

Sailing on a gulet from Bodrum to Ephesus was one of the best holidays I've had. I love swimming but get utterly bored sitting around resort pools.On this journey, adventures on land exploring the historic sites of Turkey's Aegean Coast were book-ended by a swim in the warm Mediterranean plus wonderful food, wine and conversations. The quality of the guides and boat staff were superlative and the only problem with the entire experience was that it ended. I'm currently strategising how to have another Peter Sommer tour.

Rating for tour operator:

All my communication with the Peter Sommer tour was by email from Australia and it was all clear, helpful and accurate. They also gave brilliant advice on other aspects of time away. The quality of the guide who introduced us to the history of the area was literally world-class and I have since read a number of his contributions to archaeology and art. The local guide was delightful and information as well.

Alexander The Great: Pt. One by Mr S B 12, 22 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great

Three weeks touring Turkey and the archaeological sites visited by Alexander. Superbly planned - spacious transport, delicious meals and always with very comfortable accommodation. The group dynamics were excellent and I am still in contact with some fellow travellers. In fact next year some of us are meeting to share another tour with peter Sommers Travel.

Three weeks touring Turkey and the archaeological sites visited by Alexander. Superbly planned - spacious transport, delicious meals and always with very comfortable accommodation. The group dynamics were excellent and I am still in contact with some fellow travellers. In fact next year some of us are meeting to share another tour with peter Sommers Travel.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers had such an in depth knowledge of the History and the local Culture - he could refer to the original ancient Greek texts and yet still explain the subtleties of modern Turkish politics. He stimulated and maintained our interest during the three weeks together and despite the huge distances we travelled.

Peter Sommer Travels by Rainshadow, 22 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely incredible from start to finish.

It has been a few years now since our fabulous adventure with Peter and his wonderful crew, however the memories are as vivid as if it were yesterday. We enjoyed the tour so much we ended up living in Turkey for a year. Our ship mates were a varied and interesting bunch and we all got along famously. Every days itinerary was explained to us by Peter and we were given notes on the highlights. After a wonderful full breakfast we would motor, sail ...

It has been a few years now since our fabulous adventure with Peter and his wonderful crew, however the memories are as vivid as if it were yesterday. We enjoyed the tour so much we ended up living in Turkey for a year. Our ship mates were a varied and interesting bunch and we all got along famously. Every days itinerary was explained to us by Peter and we were given notes on the highlights. After a wonderful full breakfast we would motor, sail to our next destination , stopping for lunch and a swim in some hidden cove along the way. Our skipper was a true mariner and tucked us into the most amazing clear water bays. As the day cooled near mid afternoon we grabbed walking sticks and headed onto the beach for our history lesson with Peter. The lessons took place right were the events happened , be it under a Roman aqueduct, walking the roads of Alexander, or deep in a lush tropical forest . Each day was perfectly crafted to maximize the time we had. And at the end of the day , dinner, an ever changing feast of Turkish delights , cooked fresh daily . The gullet ( ship) was a beautiful and comfortable vessel with each guest enjoying a private cabin and en-suite . Our only regret was, like all good things the vacation came to an end. Peter, his amazing crew and guides, and everyone involved with Peter Sommer Travels , will make your holiday something you will never forget. We will have the memories for a lifetime.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter was the tour operator , we booked directly. All was great

A Gastronomic Gulet Cruise by Gale L, 22 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding experience

We booked our trip with Peter Sommer Travels. We chose a Gastronomic Gullet Tour in Turkey. From the first moment we stepped on to the beautiful boat until the moment we got in our taxi to leave we were looked after superbly. The food was delicious. We spent part of every day watching or participation in preparation of and certainly eating Turkish food. As well as this we were treated to visits to ancient sites in the company of a professor ...

We booked our trip with Peter Sommer Travels. We chose a Gastronomic Gullet Tour in Turkey. From the first moment we stepped on to the beautiful boat until the moment we got in our taxi to leave we were looked after superbly. The food was delicious. We spent part of every day watching or participation in preparation of and certainly eating Turkish food. As well as this we were treated to visits to ancient sites in the company of a professor from a Turkish University who was our guide and lived with us on the boat. His knowledge of his country and its history both ancient and modern was excellent and he was both fascinating and informative. We also had one day of hiking across a peninsular, stopping for tea with a farming family in the hills. There were 12 cabins on our boat and we found them very comfortable, each had either a double bed or two singles, there was an ensuite bathroom with a proper toilet and shower. We went in late May and although the sea was cold we did swim, every day we stopped in some of the most beautiful places, tiny coves, alongside ruins, small harbours. We went with good friends but still managed to make friends with the others on the boat who were like minded and joined in with everything. Sailing or motoring from place to place gave one time for reading and relaxation but one was never bored. The day we finished we had several hours to spare and our guide found a friend who took us to another wonderful set of tombs to while away some of the time waiting for our plane. We were able to leave our luggage on the boat. We were made to feel so welcome where ever we went and the trip was a wonderful mixture of the fun, the interesting and the intellectual type holiday we were looking for.

Rating for tour operator:

Very Efficient. Good joining instructions. Personal - I had several conversations before we went with Peter who explained everything I needed to know. They offer an extraordinary range of holidays for both families and those who wish to understand more about the ancient world in the mediterranean - these are doing holidays and the beautiful boats and places they use to stay are lovely. On our experience we would recommend these holidays to anyone who wants to understand more about the ancient world and still have time for relaxation and reflection.

Exploring Sicily by Leonie, 22 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

A once in a lifetime experience

I joined PST in their spring tour of Sicily. I thoroughly enjoyed all the facets of the island. Discovering, savouring, admiring these marvellous temples, the friendly landscapes, the unique cities, and the choice of superb lodging and excellent food and wine made it an unforgettable holiday. I was over the moon!

I joined PST in their spring tour of Sicily. I thoroughly enjoyed all the facets of the island. Discovering, savouring, admiring these marvellous temples, the friendly landscapes, the unique cities, and the choice of superb lodging and excellent food and wine made it an unforgettable holiday. I was over the moon!

Rating for tour operator:

The guide leading the tour this time was Dr Michael Metcalfe and he excelled in bringing history to life. I have travelled with PST many times over the years and will do so again later this year for I know I cannot go wrong whatever the destination. The trips are always prepared to perfection, led by knowledgeable guides and one never feels to be pressured by time. I always get value for my money, even more than that.

Cruising Western Lycia by JDavidJ, 22 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

An escorted tour of the highest standard, round south-west Turkey: the best way to take a holiday.

This was a relaxing tour of Lycea, looking at the remains of ancient civilisations. OK, it might not be for everyone, but we loved it. We lived on a gulet, an attractive 100ft sailing boat, with an attentive crew, a skilled cook, and a bar. Generally the mornings were spent relaxing and swimming off the boat or from a nearby beach. We would then travel to the day's site, and take the guided tour in the late afternoon or early evening, when it ...

This was a relaxing tour of Lycea, looking at the remains of ancient civilisations. OK, it might not be for everyone, but we loved it. We lived on a gulet, an attractive 100ft sailing boat, with an attentive crew, a skilled cook, and a bar. Generally the mornings were spent relaxing and swimming off the boat or from a nearby beach. We would then travel to the day's site, and take the guided tour in the late afternoon or early evening, when it was beginning to cool. We would then sail to an anchorage, then have dinner eat and chat late into the night. The food was typically Turkish, and though I'm no nutritionist, it struck me as being very healthy, as well as tasty and well presented. The guides were excellent: Alan, a university lecturer and archaeologist, was a knowledgeable and interesting talker, and there was never a yawn or dull moment. Meanwhile a Turkish guide assisted by setting things up, arranging transport and restaurants etc, and generally fixing things so the whole thing ran very smoothly. The itinerary was flexible, so when at one point we found ourselves near an abandoned Greek village, from whence the grandfather of one of us had been expelled in the 1920s - of course we diverted to visit this important and haunting place. It was not a cheap holiday, but it was certainly excellent value, combining good service, interesting excursions, and relaxing in the sun.

Rating for tour operator:

The literature was well presented, informative, and easy to understand. The descriptions were accurate and there were no unpleasant surprises. Booking and admin were very well done, while not being in the least remote - we felt that they were interested in us. Everything went according to plan, and we have not been bombarded with marketing mail afterwards. It would have been helpful if they could have arranged the flights - this was not too difficult on line, but of course it is easier for a company that does it a lot, than for someone who rarely flies. All in all, many other operators could learn a lot about customer service from these guys.