AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 435
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 436
Reviews Accepted: 435
Reviews Rejected: 1
435 reviews
Sort by:
Peter Sommer Travels by Flamant , 22 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Private Gulet charter on the Carian coast

The Holiday was really great, lots of visit to the Greek ruins, good swimming and relaxing on board of the Salmakis Gulet. The Turkish food and service is excellent. Many pictures and no noise. Very peaceful.

The Holiday was really great, lots of visit to the Greek ruins, good swimming and relaxing on board of the Salmakis Gulet. The Turkish food and service is excellent. Many pictures and no noise. Very peaceful.

Rating for tour operator:

The charter was perfectly organized with very friendly staff on board and Peter who is a great archaeological guide at the same time. He made us visit some very special sites where nobody go's with stones and ruins to visit. Lots of walking but great to digest the Delicious Turkish food we received.

Exploring Crete by Jeanie, 20 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful combination of fascinating visits and fabulous food.

An archaeogogical/historical based tour of Crete which combines expert and highly entertaining tours, accommodation in unique hotels in fabulous locations and amazing food.

An archaeogogical/historical based tour of Crete which combines expert and highly entertaining tours, accommodation in unique hotels in fabulous locations and amazing food.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely friendly, efficient service from all concerned. Everyone in the company is prepared to take every effort to ensure satisfaction with the tours they offer

Cruising to Ephesus by Kathy, 16 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

The perfect trip. To have a real scholar with such charm and ease as a guide to the archeological sites was a true gift.

The combination of our beautiful gleaming gullet, a totally professional crew, a talented chef producing exquisite yet simple dishes, our lovely tour operator Cem and our scholar guide Olivier Henri who led us into the magic of the ancient world with his charm and humour was a rare privilege. An archeologist Olivier has his own dig at Labraunda which we visited. It was a very special day indeed. We were offered a table of food prepared by ...

The combination of our beautiful gleaming gullet, a totally professional crew, a talented chef producing exquisite yet simple dishes, our lovely tour operator Cem and our scholar guide Olivier Henri who led us into the magic of the ancient world with his charm and humour was a rare privilege. An archeologist Olivier has his own dig at Labraunda which we visited. It was a very special day indeed. We were offered a table of food prepared by the caretakers wife from their own produce, delicious. Cem took us to deserted bays to swim every day, when there was wind the sails went up and we gently sailed along the beautiful coastline. Once we stopped at a conservation site and watched the wild horses coming down to the beach. All the sites were fascinating, Priene the pretty ancient Greek town on a ledge in the Meander valley, the temple at Didyma, and so much more ending of course at Ephesus, a jewel indeed. Every night one's head was reeling with what wone had seen and heard. What more can I say? I shall never forget it. I may do a degree in the classical world.

Rating for tour operator:

Cem was a brilliant tour operator. He was quietly efficient, everything was organised seamlessly, you never noticed he was working. Cem is a charming, helpful, lovely man. A diplomat, intelligent and good company a great person to have around. He inspired everyone with confidence, we were in safe hands. Thanks Cem.

Cruising to the Cyclades by Paula, 30 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Cruising the Cyclades

An amazing trip in all respects. The guides were knowledgable and fun. The islands were steeped in history, the museums and ruins were fantastic, the architecture and vistas were breathtakingly beautiful, the food was superb with each meal a dining experience. The ship was comfortable and a very much a part of the adventure. Would highly recommend this trip.

An amazing trip in all respects. The guides were knowledgable and fun. The islands were steeped in history, the museums and ruins were fantastic, the architecture and vistas were breathtakingly beautiful, the food was superb with each meal a dining experience. The ship was comfortable and a very much a part of the adventure. Would highly recommend this trip.

Rating for tour operator:

This trip was very well organized from start to finish. The pretrip information packet was very informative. Transportation to and from airports was efficient, the ship was very comfortable . The trip itself was very well planned. The guides were knowledgable and very personable. No complaints.

Cruising to Ephesus by Ronw, 29 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

A great sailing trip encompassing visitng archealogical sites, good food, and good company.

We travelled with Peter Sommers from Bodrum to Ephesus stopping off on the way to visit places like Priene, Labraunda, and Melitas. The entire trip was brilliantly managed with a lecturer who is in fact in charge of the dig at Labraunda. He had a wealth of knowledge about the area which he was only too happy to share. All questions were answered with full explanations. Nothing was too much trouble. The crew of the gulet were quietly efficient ...

We travelled with Peter Sommers from Bodrum to Ephesus stopping off on the way to visit places like Priene, Labraunda, and Melitas. The entire trip was brilliantly managed with a lecturer who is in fact in charge of the dig at Labraunda. He had a wealth of knowledge about the area which he was only too happy to share. All questions were answered with full explanations. Nothing was too much trouble. The crew of the gulet were quietly efficient in maintaining a clean and comfortable boat. The cook, we should call him chef such are his skills, provided many various and tasty meals for us. The trip is worth the food alone. Stopping at quiet anchorages for the night allowing for late afternoon and early morning swims, breaks up the day allowing time to rest and refresh yourself before or after visitjng the fascinating sites. You don't have to be a history buff to enjoy the trip. Just being someone interested in the world at large is all you need.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient, pleasant, ready to help and change itineraries. Peter Sommers' staff are a pleasure to deal with. The tours are of excellent quality, with helpful staff always to hand.

Exploring Sicily by Sometime traveller, 28 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Special Interest holiday: Ancient Greek Sicily, but comprehensive of the many other civilisations evident there.

"Exploring Sicily" was an excellent tour in every respect. A small group, expertly guided tour of Sicily's fascinating past and present and its geography. The accommodation was always pleasing and the meals superior. In all a wonderful, stimulating thirteen days.

"Exploring Sicily" was an excellent tour in every respect. A small group, expertly guided tour of Sicily's fascinating past and present and its geography. The accommodation was always pleasing and the meals superior. In all a wonderful, stimulating thirteen days.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels maintained excellent communication with us prior to the tour. We were impressed by the immediate and responsible actions taken when one of our group on a free day was injured in an attempted bag snatch and was hospitalised. The high standard of accommodation and meals said a great deal about the operator.

Exploring Istanbul by Frances Mary, 24 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

An unforgettable in-depth exploration of Istanbul

My trip with Peter Sommer Travels was one of the best holidays of my life - a high-quality experience worth the expensive price tag. This was a mind-blowing in-depth historical/architectural (and gastronomic!)exploration of the city of Istanbul in the company of two warm and engaging expert guides and interesting, well-travelled fellow guests.

My trip with Peter Sommer Travels was one of the best holidays of my life - a high-quality experience worth the expensive price tag. This was a mind-blowing in-depth historical/architectural (and gastronomic!)exploration of the city of Istanbul in the company of two warm and engaging expert guides and interesting, well-travelled fellow guests.

Rating for tour operator:

The organisation of the trip was excellent and every last detail had been thought about.

Peter Sommer Travels by Turkey, 22 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Turkey

A very special Gastronomic and Archeological trip on a Turkish Gulet sailing coastal waters.

A very special Gastronomic and Archeological trip on a Turkish Gulet sailing coastal waters.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels provides the best tours with attention to detail, interest, organization and comfort.

Cruising to Ephesus by Sals, 21 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

the holiday of a lieftime

this holiday was a sailing holiday around the coast of Turkey, stopping off every day to go ashore and look at archaeological sites from ancient Greece and Rome. For anyone who loves ancient history and also loves the sea, it is the perfect combination. the sail boat was very comfortable with en suite cabins, three freshly cooked meals every day and excellent support from the crew. The professional archaeologist who showed us the sites had fantastic ...

this holiday was a sailing holiday around the coast of Turkey, stopping off every day to go ashore and look at archaeological sites from ancient Greece and Rome. For anyone who loves ancient history and also loves the sea, it is the perfect combination. the sail boat was very comfortable with en suite cabins, three freshly cooked meals every day and excellent support from the crew. The professional archaeologist who showed us the sites had fantastic knowledge, communicated in a personable and informative way.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers had every element of the trip organised well and efficiently. The tour manager was available at all times for questions and was very helpful.

Cruising to Ephesus by V. Satisfied., 19 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

a most memorable holiday

The holiday was a perfect balance of rest & relaxation and stimulating and passionate archeology. I had very high expectations for this holiday and I would have to say that not only were those expectations met but they were exceeded. Everything was of the highest quality - the food, the boat and the itinerary - It has given us one of the most unforgettable holidays we have had in many years and many memories to treasure. We will certainly ...

The holiday was a perfect balance of rest & relaxation and stimulating and passionate archeology. I had very high expectations for this holiday and I would have to say that not only were those expectations met but they were exceeded. Everything was of the highest quality - the food, the boat and the itinerary - It has given us one of the most unforgettable holidays we have had in many years and many memories to treasure. We will certainly be back. It was clear that considerable thought, care and attention to detail went into the planning and delivery of the holiday

Rating for tour operator:

Great attention to detail- nothing too much trouble- very much appreciated.