AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 499
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 500
Reviews Accepted: 499
Reviews Rejected: 1
499 reviews
Sort by:
A Gastronomic Gulet Cruise by Laura from Baltimore, Maryland , 28 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful vistas, lovely accommodations, and fascinating outings

Our week was exactly what we were hoping for -- a happy combination of superb surroundings both on and off the boat, fascinating and enjoyable day outings, interesting people, all led by an informed local guide with great insight on the country and countryside. Because of the small size of the group, we never felt like part of a herd, yet because the boat was so spacious, we had plenty of time and space to nap, read, relax, or just think on ...

Our week was exactly what we were hoping for -- a happy combination of superb surroundings both on and off the boat, fascinating and enjoyable day outings, interesting people, all led by an informed local guide with great insight on the country and countryside. Because of the small size of the group, we never felt like part of a herd, yet because the boat was so spacious, we had plenty of time and space to nap, read, relax, or just think on our own, soaking up the expanse of sun, sea, and sky. And, then to jump each day into the inviting waters of the Mediterranean, made the entire week unforgettable! This was the ideal way to see a part of the world that I never would have known how to reach, and I know we saw and experienced things that a casual tourist could not re-create -- or even get to -- without the boat or the guide.

Rating for tour operator:

Correspondence was always timely and thorough. All descriptions were accurate.

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Mr J C 16, 27 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Lovely relaxing holiday in the Aegean

We spent two week cruising the Dodecanese islands, from Patmos in the north to Rhodes in the south, with a visit to Samos as well. I never get tired of sailing the Greek islands on a gulet. It's such a relaxed and enjoyable way to travel - beautiful blue seas & sky, lots of fresh food (and cold beer!), interesting archaeology & pretty harbours. An unexpected bonus this trip was to stay overnight in the sheltered anchorage of uninhabited Alimia ...

We spent two week cruising the Dodecanese islands, from Patmos in the north to Rhodes in the south, with a visit to Samos as well. I never get tired of sailing the Greek islands on a gulet. It's such a relaxed and enjoyable way to travel - beautiful blue seas & sky, lots of fresh food (and cold beer!), interesting archaeology & pretty harbours. An unexpected bonus this trip was to stay overnight in the sheltered anchorage of uninhabited Alimia - taking refuge from bad weather in a place used 2,300 years ago by the Rhodian fleet for that exact purpose. What a fascinating link to the past.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels are a small firm specialising in small group holidays in various countries around the Mediterranean

Exploring the Peloponnese by Mr J C 16, 27 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

A superb trip round the Peloponnese

Two weeks of excellent archaeology, beautiful scenery and amazing food. We spent a full two weeks in the Peloponnese, visiting not only the well known archaeological sites (Mycenae, Corinth, Tiryns, Epidauros, Olympia, Bassae, Pylos, Messene etc) but also more remote and beautiful places such as the Mani peninsular, mountainous Dimitsana and Monemvasia. Everywhere we had great local food - sausages with orange in the Mani, wild boar in Dimitsana, ...

Two weeks of excellent archaeology, beautiful scenery and amazing food. We spent a full two weeks in the Peloponnese, visiting not only the well known archaeological sites (Mycenae, Corinth, Tiryns, Epidauros, Olympia, Bassae, Pylos, Messene etc) but also more remote and beautiful places such as the Mani peninsular, mountainous Dimitsana and Monemvasia. Everywhere we had great local food - sausages with orange in the Mani, wild boar in Dimitsana, suckling pig in Mavromati, seafood all over!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is a small operator offering tours to several Mediterranean countries; I have used them many times (13 so far) and never been disappointed.

Exploring the Peloponnese by JMR, 26 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Tour of the Pelopponese!

We had an amazing tour of the Pelopponese with a fabulous itinerary and super knowledgeable and fun expert guides. This is our second Peter Sommers tour and we will definitely sign up for more. Highly recommended!

We had an amazing tour of the Pelopponese with a fabulous itinerary and super knowledgeable and fun expert guides. This is our second Peter Sommers tour and we will definitely sign up for more. Highly recommended!

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers is the best tour operator for people who want a small group experience and expert guides.

Walking/Cruising the Dodecanese by Prof B T 16, 26 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Excellent

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent

Exploring Sicily by Dono, 23 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

Two activity packed weeks that contained a cornucopia of experiences--wonderful historic cities and antique villages,marvelous boutique hotels,intriguing archeological sites,fascinating people,remarkable ancient places of worship,splendid vistas, excellent museums,and great food and wine--all packed into full days with an easy rhythm that was wholly enjoyable.

Two activity packed weeks that contained a cornucopia of experiences--wonderful historic cities and antique villages,marvelous boutique hotels,intriguing archeological sites,fascinating people,remarkable ancient places of worship,splendid vistas, excellent museums,and great food and wine--all packed into full days with an easy rhythm that was wholly enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator:

The home staff was courtesy personified and generously helpful.The field staff carefully chosen,well informed,accessible and with no hype.They were also excellent managers.The program was thoughtfully planned,and a well orchestrated mix of experiences. The quality of accommodation,transport and food and wine was outstanding.Whether affordable is a personal consideration but,based on experience, the package provided great value for money.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Rene, 23 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

It was a great learning experience, guided by expert archeologists.

We travelled the Peloponnese peninsula visiting many interesting sites sucha as Olimpia, Micenea, Messenia. We enjoyed the local food and had tastings of local wines.At each site the guides would start with a general introduction and then we went around the place doing detailed viewing of interesting items.

We travelled the Peloponnese peninsula visiting many interesting sites sucha as Olimpia, Micenea, Messenia. We enjoyed the local food and had tastings of local wines.At each site the guides would start with a general introduction and then we went around the place doing detailed viewing of interesting items.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer has top archeologists as guides and local archelogists as fixers. This combination allows for good understanding of the sites visited and close contact with local costumes.

Exploring Sicily by Bill, 12 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Ancient and modern Sicily

This archeological tour of Sicily was well organized, covering sites over the entire expanse of the island, with first class lodging and meals and comfortable transportation. The van driver was expert in reassuringly negotiating all traffic conditions. Unforeseen personal needs of the group's members were quickly accommodated by the guides as if they were routine. The two guides were thorough and knowledgeable in presenting the rich history ...

This archeological tour of Sicily was well organized, covering sites over the entire expanse of the island, with first class lodging and meals and comfortable transportation. The van driver was expert in reassuringly negotiating all traffic conditions. Unforeseen personal needs of the group's members were quickly accommodated by the guides as if they were routine. The two guides were thorough and knowledgeable in presenting the rich history surrounding the beautiful archeology and the early Greek settlements, as well as more recent history of the island. In the end I came away with the memory of beautiful ancient temples, with a historical and cultural enlightenment, and some understanding of and fondness for the present day Sicilian.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator organized excellent coverage of the must-see ancient sites of Sicily, combined with the best accommodations for hotels, food and wine.

Exploring Sicily by MRL, 9 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Introduction to Sicily

This was an excellent two-week tour of Sicily, covering historical, archaeological and culinary highlights from all around the island.

This was an excellent two-week tour of Sicily, covering historical, archaeological and culinary highlights from all around the island.

Rating for tour operator:

The guides -- a professor of archaeology and a local tour guide -- were terrific. They were extremely knowledgeable, very pleasant to be around, and on top of all the logistics. The accommodations and food were first-rate. The bus driver was skilled and also very pleasant.

Exploring Sicily by bcalta, 6 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Tour of archaeological sites of Sicily

We visited most of the major archaeological sites of Sicily during the two week tour. In addition to the major sites, we visited chocolate-making and olive oil processing sites. One of my favourite locations was an ancient quarry where we could see how the Greeks carved the column pieces from the native limestone. It was fascinating!

We visited most of the major archaeological sites of Sicily during the two week tour. In addition to the major sites, we visited chocolate-making and olive oil processing sites. One of my favourite locations was an ancient quarry where we could see how the Greeks carved the column pieces from the native limestone. It was fascinating!

Rating for tour operator:

It was a small group, so the bus was small and able to get to sites that large tour buses would not be able to access. The subject matter expert, Spencer, was very enthusiastic and was always willing to provide answers to our questions, no matter how arcane. I learned so much from him. Our local guide, Lucia, was also very knowledgeable and patient with us and our idiosyncrasies. Together, they were a strong team who made the entire trip a wonderful experience. The food was also varied and always enjoyable. The tour made an effort to provide us with meals that were locally sourced and were spcialities of the area.