AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 1154
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 1162
Reviews Accepted: 1162
Reviews Rejected: 0
1162 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Austria by Tosh, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Brilliantly thought through

Everything we needed to prepare was there for us, directions, from walking out of the airport to get a train,to train times and options on the way back. Carefully selected friendly hotels, superb maps and directions for walking ( lovely weather but also alternatives in case it wasn't!). Bags transported without problems, hotels expecting us and happy to change rooms to ones with baths when possible, lovely food in each, and a call the day before ...

Everything we needed to prepare was there for us, directions, from walking out of the airport to get a train,to train times and options on the way back. Carefully selected friendly hotels, superb maps and directions for walking ( lovely weather but also alternatives in case it wasn't!). Bags transported without problems, hotels expecting us and happy to change rooms to ones with baths when possible, lovely food in each, and a call the day before we left to check we were ready and wish us well. The only criticism was the local rep did not call us, tho to be honest we did not need her and we had her number if we had done.

Rating for tour operator:

Called back when they said they would,called us the day before to wish us a good holiday, easy to pay, talked us through the levels of fitness etc needed, one of the staff had done the walks so spoke from experience. Easy to use web site, friendly and open staff, in short, great!

On Foot - Classic Slovenia by Sweetie, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Sweet Slovenia

This was a self guided walking tour from Ljubljana to Trieste. We stayed mostly in tourist farms with our luggae being transported each day. The walking was quite easy, but the scenery was stunning and the villages we passed through and stayed in were always interesting.

This was a self guided walking tour from Ljubljana to Trieste. We stayed mostly in tourist farms with our luggae being transported each day. The walking was quite easy, but the scenery was stunning and the villages we passed through and stayed in were always interesting.

Rating for tour operator:

From our first contact On Foot Holidays were responsive and helpful. When we were finalising our itinerary staff made themselves available to respond to our email enquiries over a weekend and despite the time difference between Australia and England. All tour arrangemnts went according to plan with delightful individual touches.

On Foot Holidays - Alpes Mmes by Mr T M 13, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

French - Alps Maritime walking tour

A self guided walking tour of the French Alps Maritime region. The perfect way to spend 7 days exploring a beautiful part of the world.

A self guided walking tour of the French Alps Maritime region. The perfect way to spend 7 days exploring a beautiful part of the world.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays, professional and personal.

On Foot - Northern Provence by Gigondas, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

On foot in the Cotes du Rhone

Starting in Avignon, we had eleven days walking arranged by On Foot Holidays through delightful scenic countryside and charming villages. The hotels were wonderful and at every place we stayed our host told us that they always reserved their best rooms for their On Foot customers. It was late September and early October. The grapes were ripening and the southern Cotes du Rhone wine typified by Gigondas was rich and spicy. The highlight of the ...

Starting in Avignon, we had eleven days walking arranged by On Foot Holidays through delightful scenic countryside and charming villages. The hotels were wonderful and at every place we stayed our host told us that they always reserved their best rooms for their On Foot customers. It was late September and early October. The grapes were ripening and the southern Cotes du Rhone wine typified by Gigondas was rich and spicy. The highlight of the walk was a circular walk/scramble through the Dentelles de Montmirail. This was the seventh time we have walked with On Foot. We've never had a complaint or a disappointment, and we strongly recommend them to all their potential customers.

Rating for tour operator:

Even though we have never met the On Foot people, we feel like they are our friends. And the very best of friends at that! We are amazed at the quality of the holiday experience they put together for very reasonable prices, and we have found that other walkers we have met being looked after by different companies are always envious of the quality of our maps and guidance notes, and in particular of the places we stay. The hotel in Avignon was a beautiful former Abbey, the hotel in Venasque was perched on a cliff top with spectacular views, in Mazan we stayed in the former chateau of the Marquis de Sade, and in Vaison la Romaine we stayed right in the heart of the beautiful Old town.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by DavidG, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Walking in Liguria

A week walking from Voghera, south of Milan, to Carmogli on the Mediterranean. Extremely well organised by On Foot Holidays, and a most enjoyable trip.

A week walking from Voghera, south of Milan, to Carmogli on the Mediterranean. Extremely well organised by On Foot Holidays, and a most enjoyable trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Well priced, very well organised, and a pleasure to deal with - nothing is too much trouble.

On Foot - Northern Provence by Notchy, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Walking holidays in Croatia, Turkey, and France

In 2013, my wife and I did the Cotes du Rhone walk. In 2012, my wife and I did the Lycian Way walk, along the south coast of Turkey. In 2011, my wife and I did the Croatian coastal walk, from Dubrovnik.

In 2013, my wife and I did the Cotes du Rhone walk. In 2012, my wife and I did the Lycian Way walk, along the south coast of Turkey. In 2011, my wife and I did the Croatian coastal walk, from Dubrovnik.

Rating for tour operator:

OnFoot Holidays have been most satisfactory. Once one has booked with them, they keep one up-dated on changed conditions on the trail, so one starts the walk with great confidence that one has up-to-date info. If we find unreported changes to the trail (new paths, rockfalls etc), we report them to On Foot on our return, and they always acknowledge receipt. The OnFoot team walk the trails, so they speak with recent knowledge. Their instructions are detailed, and several times, walkers with other companies have told us that our instructions and maps are better than those supplied by their tour operators. The hotels and meals provided have without exception been of good quality, and the staff friendly and helpful.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Canuck, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Exhilarating

We hiked daily between 6 towns in Tuscany with our luggage picked up daily & transported to our next hotel. The route was well chosen, avoiding traffic & generally following tracks through the beautiful Tuscan landscape, Often, we could imagine we were medieval wayfarers approaching the hillside town. Accommodation was good & of course the food was exceptional.

We hiked daily between 6 towns in Tuscany with our luggage picked up daily & transported to our next hotel. The route was well chosen, avoiding traffic & generally following tracks through the beautiful Tuscan landscape, Often, we could imagine we were medieval wayfarers approaching the hillside town. Accommodation was good & of course the food was exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot holidays were very accommodating. I have no complaints. In discussing another walking tour with me they have pointed out potential problems.

On Foot Holidays - Lycian Coast by Kiwi, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Walkig the Lycian Way

A week of walking through the spectacular countryside and along the coast of SW Turkey, passing through the ancient, ruined cities of Phaselis and Olympos and ending in the bustling city of Antalya. A great combination of exercise and culture. The walking was enjoyably moderately strenuous in parts, on well marked tracks, with very few others on the track. Perfect!

A week of walking through the spectacular countryside and along the coast of SW Turkey, passing through the ancient, ruined cities of Phaselis and Olympos and ending in the bustling city of Antalya. A great combination of exercise and culture. The walking was enjoyably moderately strenuous in parts, on well marked tracks, with very few others on the track. Perfect!

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient and responsive to any questions. Definitely felt that we received individual attention and help with arrangements specific to our needs. On the ground support in Turkey was excellent. The walking guide information was accurate, thorough and everything we needed.

On Foot Holidays - El Priorat by Greedymort, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

A memorable and very beautiful journey through a hidden landscape

A walking trip through woods and mountains in the Priorat region of Spain, with visits to fascinating monasteries and stays in sleepy towns and villages. Fabulous wines and great walking, with interesting places to stay, and stunning landscape. Strenuous walking, but a hugely enjoyable experience.

A walking trip through woods and mountains in the Priorat region of Spain, with visits to fascinating monasteries and stays in sleepy towns and villages. Fabulous wines and great walking, with interesting places to stay, and stunning landscape. Strenuous walking, but a hugely enjoyable experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Very friendly and efficient to deal with, this felt like an organisation with a real interest in its customers. Really excellent maps and walking directions, and a good level of information about the area.

On Foot Holidays - El Priorat by keep walking, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

fantastic

Planned holiday walking from Ljubljana to Trieste. The walking schedule was excellent and wonderful/interesting scenery and good hotels. There was flexibilty with length of stay with the hotels in Trieste and Ljubjana. The accompanying paperwork was very good regarding maps and information about the areas through which we were travelling. All the luggage transfers went without a hitch. Pre travel information excellent and all contact with On ...

Planned holiday walking from Ljubljana to Trieste. The walking schedule was excellent and wonderful/interesting scenery and good hotels. There was flexibilty with length of stay with the hotels in Trieste and Ljubjana. The accompanying paperwork was very good regarding maps and information about the areas through which we were travelling. All the luggage transfers went without a hitch. Pre travel information excellent and all contact with On Foot Holidays has always been a delight with helpful and enthusiastic staff

Rating for tour operator:

The On Foot Holidays website is excellent and whenever we have contacted On Foot Holidays staff have responded in a timely way, have been knowledgable and have always been very friendly and enthusiastic. This was our second holiday with the company and we are planning another one in 2014.