AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 853
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 861
Reviews Accepted: 861
Reviews Rejected: 0
861 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Linda, 10 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

great holiday with all the work done by On Foot

Excellent walking tour in the Dordogne Valley. Everything was superbly arranged for us by On Foot - all we had to do was enjoy it - and we did!

Excellent walking tour in the Dordogne Valley. Everything was superbly arranged for us by On Foot - all we had to do was enjoy it - and we did!

Rating for tour operator:

Every single communication with On Foot was met with a prompt friendly reply. Nothing was too much trouble - they are just so efficient. This was our third On Foot Holiday but the first time have been in charge of organising. Booking now for #4 . Cannot speak highly enough of On Foot Holidays.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by London walker, 8 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Glorious walk in the Italian lakes

A truly beautiful walk from Lago Maggiore to Lago d'Orta, just the right amount of moderately strenuous walking each day through stunning scenery, great accommodation and luggage transfer all smoothly arranged by One Foot Holidays.

A truly beautiful walk from Lago Maggiore to Lago d'Orta, just the right amount of moderately strenuous walking each day through stunning scenery, great accommodation and luggage transfer all smoothly arranged by One Foot Holidays.

Rating for tour operator:

We first read about this particular walk in a Guardian travel piece but first used On Foot for another fabulous walk in northern Spain (the billing of 'monasteries and vineyards' sold us on that one!). This was equally wonderful, very well arranged with great pre-walk information, excellent maps and instructions, and local contacts to help with any questions arising.

On Foot Holidays - Andalucia by golfer100, 6 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

a great walking experience

A self-guided walking holiday in Andalucia Spain. The region has fantastic mountain walks, great wildlife, some of the nicest places to stay run by very lovely people. We were very impressed by the walks/holiday put together for us by On Foot Holidays

A self-guided walking holiday in Andalucia Spain. The region has fantastic mountain walks, great wildlife, some of the nicest places to stay run by very lovely people. We were very impressed by the walks/holiday put together for us by On Foot Holidays

Rating for tour operator:

we have returned to use them on many occasions- a very helpful- knowledgeable team- who have some wonderful walking options on offer but are also very flexible with us taking on board our specific wishes and arranging options to suit us.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by CathB, 6 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Amazing local hotels, food and truly spectacular walking

5 Day walking holiday from Amalfi to Sorrento. We reached Amalfi via a boat from Salerno (stunning! what an entrance to start our holiday!). After exploring Amalfi, our first walking trip was a round trip up to the hill villages of Ravello and Pontone - beautiful views and villages (and our first local pizza - wow). Rain hampered the next day and we had to take the bus to praiano which was an experience in itself along the wet windy coastal ...

5 Day walking holiday from Amalfi to Sorrento. We reached Amalfi via a boat from Salerno (stunning! what an entrance to start our holiday!). After exploring Amalfi, our first walking trip was a round trip up to the hill villages of Ravello and Pontone - beautiful views and villages (and our first local pizza - wow). Rain hampered the next day and we had to take the bus to praiano which was an experience in itself along the wet windy coastal road with some very scary hairpins and "interesting" local driving! Another fantastic hotel here (local run) and what a stunning view - right out over the coast! The next day the weather was kind and we walked the much awaited Path of The Gods walk. Everything we imagined and more - from the 996 steps to the abandoned monestary, the scramble to the path and then the views. Oh my! The journey down to Positano was breathtaking (dont cut this short on the bus). Monteperuso and the tiny hut serving fresh lemon juice and vine cut grapes were an absolute delight. The many steps in to Positano were worth it and we were transported in to the bustling and busy tourist haven of Positano. What a contrast to the empty hills above. Again a fabulous hotel and a really well advised meal in a local restaurant. We were then thwarted by the weather for our final days walking which was disappointing but means we have something to go back for. The pretty village of S'Agata and Bar Orlando (and the smoking cat) provided the warmest of welcomes and local food and drink beyond compare. A short trip over the hill down to Sorrento finished our trip with On Foot - what a trip and fantastic memories!

Rating for tour operator:

From start to finish the experience from On Foot was superb. The pre-arrangements and changes we requested were met with patience and exceptionally good customer service. The local walking guide (via whatsapp) was so helpful and provided much needed reassurance in bad weather conditions. The hotels were fabulous and mainly local which meant that we felt like we were really contributing to the local economy. The food recommendations were also faultless. Finally th walking directions - written and GPS, were really top class. The opportunity to get lost in the alleys of the small towns and then in the hills were ample and they had spent real time walking the route and making a set of directions that were good to follow and also made the most of the views and opportunties that the amalfi coast had to offer!

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Betsy, 5 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring rural Portugal

We recently completed a walking trip that took us through small villages in north-western Portugal in October. The route began in Soajo and took us through the Peneda-Geres National Park and on the Roman road. to Santa Maria de Bouro.

We recently completed a walking trip that took us through small villages in north-western Portugal in October. The route began in Soajo and took us through the Peneda-Geres National Park and on the Roman road. to Santa Maria de Bouro.

Rating for tour operator:

We traveled with On Foor Holidays which sets up trips that allow you to travel without a tour guide. The trip was well planned and organized; the extra information provided was helpful in navigating the walks and providing interesting details about the locations being visited. Support services during the walk were available and they made extra efforts to reach out to us with weather updates. Every detail was anticipated in advance, so we were able to enjoy the walk without worry.

On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos by Jules, 30 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Attic Felicity

Our walking holiday on the islands of Naxos and Amorgos organised by On Foot Holidays was an unqualified success. My wife and I had travelled under the firm’s auspices on three earlier occasions, but now we were up against two family problems, which made decisions difficult, one being that, at 88 and with a limp, my walking days are over, and the other the serious illness of a son- in-law which made timing considerations complicated. On Foot ...

Our walking holiday on the islands of Naxos and Amorgos organised by On Foot Holidays was an unqualified success. My wife and I had travelled under the firm’s auspices on three earlier occasions, but now we were up against two family problems, which made decisions difficult, one being that, at 88 and with a limp, my walking days are over, and the other the serious illness of a son- in-law which made timing considerations complicated. On Foot do not arrange group participation by individuals, but the first problem was alleviated by my middle daughter deciding that she could accompany her mum in a walking capacity during the Ictibrf half-term break, and On Foot offering a holiday which involved a return to a central base every evening, meaning that I could accompany them on the trip, awaiting their daily return. To the second problem, On Foot we’re equally sympathetic and delayed asking for a balance payment until we were ready, and went so far as to say that our money would be fully refunded if we cancelled at any time before the due departure date. As we knew in advance, the responsibility of booking the appropriate flights and ferries was ours, but we also knew that we could depend on On Foot for the efficient and reliable precision of the transfer arrangements between airport or ferry arrival and departure points, the excellence of the accommodation and the detailed explanation if the various walks, together with clearly exlicit maps and all the necessary contact numbers should anything go amiss. The holiday made a huge difference to the three of us, and full credit for that should go to On Foot.

Rating for tour operator:

See details of the holiday above.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Jackie, 30 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

#17408 Lake Maggiore and #17409 Tuscany

Lake Maggiore beginning October 4th, 2022 - Very good experience beginning at Hotel Belvedere for 2 nights. Use of the ferry system went very well with beautiful scenery and well planned routes. We enjoyed all of the hiking with use of written instructions and the downloaded GPS. Our trip was well planned and accommodations were very nice as well as dining suggestions.

Lake Maggiore beginning October 4th, 2022 - Very good experience beginning at Hotel Belvedere for 2 nights. Use of the ferry system went very well with beautiful scenery and well planned routes. We enjoyed all of the hiking with use of written instructions and the downloaded GPS. Our trip was well planned and accommodations were very nice as well as dining suggestions.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays prepared us well for the hikes and the drivers were reliable and professional. Contact person Beatrice Bariletta was available and helpful making sure we were aware of route changes. She also had dining suggestions. The ease of making our initial payments went smoothly with On Foot Holidays. We had used the company in the past for numerous hikes and these two hikes were just as well planned out and enjoyable. Our Tuscany hike beginning October 11th, 2022 was just as enjoyable with On Foot Holidays.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by AK, 29 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Amazing journey along the Amalfi Coast

Wonderful, challenging climbs to unsurpassed views, with time for stops in small villages for a tasty cappuccino and croissant!

Wonderful, challenging climbs to unsurpassed views, with time for stops in small villages for a tasty cappuccino and croissant!

Rating for tour operator:

The On Foot Holidays team were wonderful. So responsive, expert trail/route details. All the information you need for a carefree time just being on the trail. Bags transferred, lovely Inns with restaurant recommendations. Simply the best!

On Foot - Northern Provence by IainR, 28 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Experiencing and enjoying new landscapes at a walking pace.

For us walking through countryside that is new to us and staying where we might not otherwise have done so is really enjoyable. The effort that had gone into designing the route really paid off. This was also our first experience of long distance train travel in Europe, encouraging us to do so again in future.

For us walking through countryside that is new to us and staying where we might not otherwise have done so is really enjoyable. The effort that had gone into designing the route really paid off. This was also our first experience of long distance train travel in Europe, encouraging us to do so again in future.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly, efficient and responsive at all times. What more can you ask?

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Todd, 27 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

On Foot Holidays' self-guided walking tour of Southern Tuscany

We went on the full 7-night route, expanding it to 12 nights in order to enjoy several of villages for multiple days. The route took us though a variety of classic Italian hill towns, which provided us with some challenging climbs that were well worth the effort. We thoroughly enjoyed our lodgings, which were a mix of family-run B&Bs and small inns, although we did opt for the upgraded accommodation in Pienza. Each day's hike brought new adventures, ...

We went on the full 7-night route, expanding it to 12 nights in order to enjoy several of villages for multiple days. The route took us though a variety of classic Italian hill towns, which provided us with some challenging climbs that were well worth the effort. We thoroughly enjoyed our lodgings, which were a mix of family-run B&Bs and small inns, although we did opt for the upgraded accommodation in Pienza. Each day's hike brought new adventures, and we found the walking notes at once entertaining and carefully crafted.

Rating for tour operator:

We were delighted with On Foot Holidays' professionalism, from their thorough research and information to their quick and thoughtful responses to our questions. Our local contact, Daniele, reached out to us as soon as we arrived to address any last-minute questions, and he was available throughout our trip for any needs that came up.