AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 1123
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 1131
Reviews Accepted: 1131
Reviews Rejected: 0
1131 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot - La Gomera by outrock, 7 Mar 2024
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful self-guided holiday with brilliant support

A lot thought had gone into the choice of route making this a brilliant walking holiday. The vegetation and terrain were very varied. The supporting app made route-finding simple, even when it was so windy that checking a map would have been well-nigh impossible.

A lot thought had gone into the choice of route making this a brilliant walking holiday. The vegetation and terrain were very varied. The supporting app made route-finding simple, even when it was so windy that checking a map would have been well-nigh impossible.

Rating for tour operator:

Unfailingly helpful - making the whole experience enjoyable from choosing the holiday to its completion

On Foot - La Gomera by Happy Walker, 2 Mar 2024
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful experience, great people.

On Foot are a brilliant team who always give personal service. This was a 10 day holiday to La Gomera, full of fantastic scenery and lovely hotels. They have a real talent for finding excellent quality 3 and 4 star hotels with character, like Hotel Anaterve in Vallehermoso, or the Parador de San Sebastien de la Gomera. Their walking notes are easy to follow and very comprehensive. Crucially, they always offer opportunities to shorten the routes ...

On Foot are a brilliant team who always give personal service. This was a 10 day holiday to La Gomera, full of fantastic scenery and lovely hotels. They have a real talent for finding excellent quality 3 and 4 star hotels with character, like Hotel Anaterve in Vallehermoso, or the Parador de San Sebastien de la Gomera. Their walking notes are easy to follow and very comprehensive. Crucially, they always offer opportunities to shorten the routes to 3 or 4 hours as well as providing longer walks. Their local contact was really helpful with recommending and booking restaurants and with organising our transfers. On Foot holidays are always a delight - great walks in wonderful locations - and La Gomera was no exception.

Rating for tour operator:

Very flexible, interested in what we wanted, expert in their offerings. Tailor made the holiday to fit us. Always very friendly.

On Foot - La Gomera by Mark, 23 Feb 2024
Holiday Rating:

Excellent walking holiday on La Gomera

We decided on our On Foot holiday to La Gomera after reading a review in The Times last year. The whole experience from initial contact to support during out holiday was outstanding. The support materials provided, accommodation bookings, travel arrangements and daily contact with On Foot was absolutely fantastic.

We decided on our On Foot holiday to La Gomera after reading a review in The Times last year. The whole experience from initial contact to support during out holiday was outstanding. The support materials provided, accommodation bookings, travel arrangements and daily contact with On Foot was absolutely fantastic.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot go out of their way to provide personal friendly professional support in a way which allowed us to feel very independent

On Foot - La Gomera by Fair Weather Walker, 21 Feb 2024
Holiday Rating:

dramatic walking

A self guided walking holiday with clear walking notes and a useful walking app, following a route from hotel to hotel. OnFoot organised everything very competently and provided a friendly service and all appropriate support. OnFoot's choices of hotels were all good. La Gomera is an excellent destination for walking in January.

A self guided walking holiday with clear walking notes and a useful walking app, following a route from hotel to hotel. OnFoot organised everything very competently and provided a friendly service and all appropriate support. OnFoot's choices of hotels were all good. La Gomera is an excellent destination for walking in January.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot.

On Foot - La Gomera by Jono, 21 Feb 2024
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking holiday in La Gomera

6 days of walking between 3 hotels in La Gomera. The routes laid down by On Foot were excellent and sent us places we would probably not have gone on our own. Instructions were top notch and having a helper on hand via text was very reassuring. The walk challenged us and we were able to by pass some Too challenging ascents by judicious use of taxis or the luggage transport.

6 days of walking between 3 hotels in La Gomera. The routes laid down by On Foot were excellent and sent us places we would probably not have gone on our own. Instructions were top notch and having a helper on hand via text was very reassuring. The walk challenged us and we were able to by pass some Too challenging ascents by judicious use of taxis or the luggage transport.

Rating for tour operator:

Always very helpful and attentive. Felt we had personal service.

On Foot - La Gomera by Todd, 13 Feb 2024
Holiday Rating:

Ridges, Valleys and More, Oh My!

La Gomera is a typical volcanic island in form, with a dominant peak and a radiating series of sharp ridges and steep valley walls. Formed in the subtropics, the island is enveloped in green to windward and arid to the lee. This provides On Foot Holidays with a stunning landscape for a week long trek, with a huge bonus of the Spanish island culture to revel in. Each hike, and each hotel, were very unique, and excellent. With the informative ...

La Gomera is a typical volcanic island in form, with a dominant peak and a radiating series of sharp ridges and steep valley walls. Formed in the subtropics, the island is enveloped in green to windward and arid to the lee. This provides On Foot Holidays with a stunning landscape for a week long trek, with a huge bonus of the Spanish island culture to revel in. Each hike, and each hotel, were very unique, and excellent. With the informative and personable Aznar, the trip contact, a text away, we were always confident we were in the right place at the right time. And hiking in warm weather in November and December? We’re glad we stayed in the Canary Islands for a month!

Rating for tour operator:

This was our sixth trip with On Foot Holidays. They continue to amaze us with their professionalism, friendliness, knowledge, and joy in providing their clients with superb service. On the trail or at our trip inns, we often compare notes with other hikers and their tour operators. No one compares to On Foot, so we’re always happy to spread the word. When we meet other On Footers, eyes light up when we discover we share the same good fortune. We plan to keep coming back until we can’t trek anymore!

On Foot - La Gomera by Alice, 8 Feb 2024
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking in beautiful scenery.

Eight nights in La Gomera with six days self guided walking.

Eight nights in La Gomera with six days self guided walking.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot holidays offered the best itinerary for La Gomera. They do care if all the logistics in a friendly and personal way.

On Foot - La Gomera by Kirky, 5 Feb 2024
Holiday Rating:

Hikers heaven

This was probably my best holiday of all-time. My son and I absolutely loved it. All completely enjoyable and perfectly pleasant. Thrilling scenery, superb trails, spring-like weather and everywhere so unbusy, pristine and peaceful. At times it was like walking on a winding path through an ornamental garden with unusual plants at your feet but with Alpine views all around. The holiday provided the best of both worlds: the sense of discovery ...

This was probably my best holiday of all-time. My son and I absolutely loved it. All completely enjoyable and perfectly pleasant. Thrilling scenery, superb trails, spring-like weather and everywhere so unbusy, pristine and peaceful. At times it was like walking on a winding path through an ornamental garden with unusual plants at your feet but with Alpine views all around. The holiday provided the best of both worlds: the sense of discovery you get from independent travel but with the security and convenience of a one-click package. The app, our ghost guide Aznar and the head office information and organisation was a perfect combination. All the arrangements worked seamlessly. The taxi/bus options were very useful too and we shamelessly took them all!

Rating for tour operator:

A very high class organisation from the first point of contract, to the material sent out pre-holiday, right through to correspondence in the week or two prior to departure.

On Foot - La Gomera by Walkers, 16 Jan 2024
Holiday Rating:

Perfect

A week walking holiday on La Gomera with On Foot. Accommodation excellent, arrangements, directions and app were perfect. All went smoothly and we had our local rep to contact with any queries.

A week walking holiday on La Gomera with On Foot. Accommodation excellent, arrangements, directions and app were perfect. All went smoothly and we had our local rep to contact with any queries.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot were very good at all communications before and during the holiday. They provided us with excellent directions for our walking and were also trialing an app which was very good.

On Foot - Ribeira Sacra by Ali, 8 Jan 2024
Holiday Rating:

We never want to travel without On Foot Holidays

We have booked multiple trips throughout Italy and Spain with On Foot Holidays and continue to be thankful for their impeccable organization, helpful staff, and wonderfully curated trips! This particular trip was our first time booking two separate walking holidays back-to-back and everything went quite well! Both were in Galicia, Spain; the first being a coastal walk along the Lighthouse Way and the second being an inland walk in Ribeira Sacra.

We have booked multiple trips throughout Italy and Spain with On Foot Holidays and continue to be thankful for their impeccable organization, helpful staff, and wonderfully curated trips! This particular trip was our first time booking two separate walking holidays back-to-back and everything went quite well! Both were in Galicia, Spain; the first being a coastal walk along the Lighthouse Way and the second being an inland walk in Ribeira Sacra.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays' (OFH) local operator in northern Spain was Aznar Fernando Pinedo. He was very knowledgeable and helpful in coordinating a few short cuts we required, as well as assisting through a disconnect we had with one of the accommodations along the way. We would certainly recommend him and in fact plan to return to the Basque Pyrenees with OFH this year and are happy he will be our local operator again.