AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 853
Good 6
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 861
Reviews Accepted: 861
Reviews Rejected: 0
861 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Todd, 26 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

On Foot Holidays - Classic France in the beautiful Dordogne valley

We went on a self-guided walking tour through France's Dordogne valley, with stops at charming B&Bs or small inns each night. The trails were sometimes physically challenging, with some good hills, but they were always beautiful, and we knew that there were options for shortening each day's route if we felt the need to.

We went on a self-guided walking tour through France's Dordogne valley, with stops at charming B&Bs or small inns each night. The trails were sometimes physically challenging, with some good hills, but they were always beautiful, and we knew that there were options for shortening each day's route if we felt the need to.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided excellent support, information, directions and response before and during our trip, and they chose superb options for our accommodations. Whenever we had questions before our trip, they got back to us within 24 hours, 7 days a week. Their locally-based contact reached out upon our arrival and was readily available throughout our visit, providing invaluable assistance and suggestions whenever needed.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by BillF, 26 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Stunning walk through the Apennines

A challenging seven day walk over 120km through the Apennines, partly on an old Salt Route, from Voghera down to the coast at Camogli. Supported by some excellent AgriTurismos and small hotels, memorable meals and friendly welcomes. The walk takes in some long ridges and a variety of terrain before finishing on the Mediterranean coast.

A challenging seven day walk over 120km through the Apennines, partly on an old Salt Route, from Voghera down to the coast at Camogli. Supported by some excellent AgriTurismos and small hotels, memorable meals and friendly welcomes. The walk takes in some long ridges and a variety of terrain before finishing on the Mediterranean coast.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays are the class act in walking holidays. They have researched and developed some challenging routes walking day by day usually with an overall objective. Supported by small hotels, excellent food and friendly local support if you need it. The walking notes and GPS files work well, timings are realistic and there are good options to reduce the walks if you want to do that.

On Foot Holidays - Andros by Mark Orton , 26 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Great walking in beautiful scenery

We had a 5 day walking holiday on the Greek island of Andros. The walking routes were varied but all of them beautiful and very well way marked. Andros is a green and bounteous island so quite different from many of the Cyclades. On Foot holidays provided great support both before our trip and through their support network on the island. We stayed at the lovely Anemomiloi Apartments in Chora where our host George was so welcoming and generous.

We had a 5 day walking holiday on the Greek island of Andros. The walking routes were varied but all of them beautiful and very well way marked. Andros is a green and bounteous island so quite different from many of the Cyclades. On Foot holidays provided great support both before our trip and through their support network on the island. We stayed at the lovely Anemomiloi Apartments in Chora where our host George was so welcoming and generous.

Rating for tour operator:

Great support during the booking process, prior to departure and when our ferry got delayed en route to Andros

On Foot - Naxos and Amorgos by Still hiking at 68, 25 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Perfect way to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary

We saw the Greek Isles the way they used to be (before the tourists overran the islands), while staying in very comfortable lodgings. We visited two islands (Amorgos and Naxos), and had a choice of daily hikes on each. Lodging and transfer logistics and hiking instructions were all taken care of by On Foot, meaning all we had to do was put one foot in front of the other and enjoy the scenery.

We saw the Greek Isles the way they used to be (before the tourists overran the islands), while staying in very comfortable lodgings. We visited two islands (Amorgos and Naxos), and had a choice of daily hikes on each. Lodging and transfer logistics and hiking instructions were all taken care of by On Foot, meaning all we had to do was put one foot in front of the other and enjoy the scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays takes care of everything (lodging, transfers, local hosts, hiking instructions). Their local hosts are well-informed and welcoming. As the guest, you can enjoy your holiday without any of the preparation and without having to put up with fellow tourists. They find the authentic places to visit in each locale.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by PaulaC, 23 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking through beautiful Slovenia and tasting their excellent wines

We started in Ljubljana with a few days in the delightful capital city, then walked across the beautiful Slovenian countryside arriving in Trieste in Italy six days later. The routes were around 15km each day and we stayed in small owner-run hotels, open attached to farm or vineyard. Wine tasting was available at all the locations and we enjoyed locally produced food alongside indigenous wines.

We started in Ljubljana with a few days in the delightful capital city, then walked across the beautiful Slovenian countryside arriving in Trieste in Italy six days later. The routes were around 15km each day and we stayed in small owner-run hotels, open attached to farm or vineyard. Wine tasting was available at all the locations and we enjoyed locally produced food alongside indigenous wines.

Rating for tour operator:

As above

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Pamela, 21 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring the mountains and villages of remote northern Portugal

We walked the 5-day "Roman Road to the Monastery of Santa Maria" route. The paths were at times challenging, but the countryside was magnificent, the accommodations wonderful, and our experience overall extremely positive. We learned about espiguieros, the Geira (Roman road), long-horned cattle, granite-posted vineyards, native chestnut trees, gushing natural streams, and more. We loved the experience of being on our own while hiking, and yet ...

We walked the 5-day "Roman Road to the Monastery of Santa Maria" route. The paths were at times challenging, but the countryside was magnificent, the accommodations wonderful, and our experience overall extremely positive. We learned about espiguieros, the Geira (Roman road), long-horned cattle, granite-posted vineyards, native chestnut trees, gushing natural streams, and more. We loved the experience of being on our own while hiking, and yet having the security of GPS maps, detailed directions, and hosts who were expecting us.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays staff were unfailingly friendly, helpful, and quick to respond to all queries. They prepared a detailed "walkers pack" for each of us, with maps, instructions, and booklets with helpful information. They arranged the accommodations and luggage transfer and the phone number of a local guide to contact for questions and help. All in all, a superbly organized tour.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by SJC, 21 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Well organised with excellent route notes and transfer notes

Walked the Amalfi coast from Amalfi to Sorrento-

Walked the Amalfi coast from Amalfi to Sorrento-

Rating for tour operator:

Great detail in organised hotels, recomendations and route planning for a trekking route- lots of options

On Foot - Basque Pyrenees by Andy, 20 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

A beautiful walk in the Basque Pyrenees from the Baztan valley to Donostia

7 days walking through the foothills of the Pyrenees, with full route information. All accommodation and luggage transfer booked. Friendly people and excellent accommodation. A local contact available to help with any and every query.

7 days walking through the foothills of the Pyrenees, with full route information. All accommodation and luggage transfer booked. Friendly people and excellent accommodation. A local contact available to help with any and every query.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent and knowledgeable. Helpful, professional and friendly from first contact to last.

On Foot Holidays - Cornwall by Snbvt, 18 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Rugged, dramatic, beautiful Cornwall coast walk

This was a most beautiful walk around the SW coast of England. The scenery was beautiful and varied including rugged coastal cliffs, pretty beaches with turquoise waters, idyllic village harbors, moorland, bronze age standing stones and a bustling pretty coastal town. Around every corner was another beautiful scene. Stunning.

This was a most beautiful walk around the SW coast of England. The scenery was beautiful and varied including rugged coastal cliffs, pretty beaches with turquoise waters, idyllic village harbors, moorland, bronze age standing stones and a bustling pretty coastal town. Around every corner was another beautiful scene. Stunning.

Rating for tour operator:

The On Foot Holidays team provides a wonderful experience. They are professional and attentive. When a potential train strike threatened to interfere with our travel to the start of walk, they came up with an alternative travel arrangement for us. The route notes were spot on and fun to read because they offered background information on areas of interest that we passed along the way. Our fifth trip with On Foot; planning our sixth.

On Foot - Basque Pyrenees by Wayne, 18 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful exploration of Basque Pyrenees and coast

7 days of walking from Zigo to San Sebastián with fabulous scenery, lovely accommodations. We had some rain but at least some sun most days. Routes were well described, challenging but satisfying.

7 days of walking from Zigo to San Sebastián with fabulous scenery, lovely accommodations. We had some rain but at least some sun most days. Routes were well described, challenging but satisfying.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot is very responsive to all inquiries and needs. All accommodations and connections made without difficulty. Routes were described well with GPS to help with small details.